أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

حزب الله …. أحلام التمدد


متاح أيضاً في English

2 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2017

في منتصف أغسطس الماضي نقلت لنا شاشات التلفزة لقطات تبدو شاذة للناظرين، مقاتلي تنظيم "داعش" ينتقلون برفقة أسرهم في حافلات يحميها الجيش اللبناني وحزب الله والجيش السوري. فأعداء الأمس، أي الجيش اللبناني وحزب الله والجيش السوري، صاروا اليوم حريصين على نقل عناصر التنظيم بأمان من الحدود اللبنانية إلى الحدود السورية العراقية، منهين بذلك أحد فصول رواية لحرب داخلية طويلة بالوكالة.

تأتي معركة عرسال بعد دخول حسن نصرالله  الحرب في سورية والتي بالطبع كان للتكليف الإيراني له بدخولها دورا بارزا، لكنها أيضا كانت  نقلة في مسار حزب الله الذي يسعى جاهدا للتحول من حركة مقاومة في بلد صغير مثل لبنان إلى قوة إقليمية لها ثقل في المنطقة ، وهذا ما أكده بالفعل خلال معركته الأخيرة في جرود عرسال التي أعلن فيها انتهاء وجود "داعش" على الحدود اللبنانية والسورية وإحكام سيطرته على الداخل اللبناني بشكل كبير ومحاولة حزب الله إشراك الجيش اللبناني معه في كل شيء بهدف تكرار النموذج الإيراني (الحرس الثوري والجيش النظامي).

ومع قيام الثورة السورية في 2011 وما أعقبها من انقسامات وتطاحن بين القوى المختلفة، نزح عدد غير قليل من سكان مدينة القلمون السورية (اغلبهم من السنة) وعبروا الحدود اللبنانية واستقروا ببلدة "عرسال" اللبنانية، التي تقع على الحدود السورية اللبنانية. وربما بسبب وجودها على مرتفعات جبلية اكتسبت عرسال التي لا يتجاوز عدد سكانها 35,000 نسمة اسمها والذي يعني باللغة الآرامية القديمة "عرش الرب" البلدة الصغيرة التي باتت مسرحا جديدا لصراعات إقليمية.

ونظرا لان البلدة الصغيرة لا تستوعب الأعداد النازحة، تم إنشاء مخيمات للاجئين. وبمرور الوقت أحكم تنظيم "جبهة النصرة" قبضته بدرجة كبيرة على مخيم عرسال، وبدأت الاحتكاكات بين المسلحين بعضهم البعض تزداد، وكثيرا ما كان الجيش اللبناني نفسه يتعرض لإصابات أو لاختطاف جنوده، حين كان يحاول السيطرة على الموقف، وفي الوقت ذاته كان حسن نصر الله يعلن بوضوح أن حزب الله يحارب إلى جانب بشار فيما أسماه بالحرب المقدسة، وهم ما جعل المسلحين يبدأون بتوجيه ضربات للداخل اللبناني.

وفي منتصف أبريل عام   2013، تحدث بشار الأسد عن عرسال واصفا إياها بانها باتت معسكر لمن اسماهم بالمسلحين والتي يجب قصفها. وبالفعل زادت حدة الغارات والاختراقات من جانب الجيش السوري للأجواء اللبنانية لتوجيه ضربات لهذا المعسكر.

لكن التحول الدراماتيكي الأكبر في المشهد حدث في أغسطس 2014 مع واقعة اختطاف 16 جندي لبناني على يد جبهة النصرة، وهنا بدأت أصوات التذمر تعلو داخل الشارع اللبناني من حسن نصر الله وتنظيم حزب الله، الذي اعتبر اللبنانيون أن تدخله في الحرب السورية دعما لبشار هو الذي جلب الدواعش إلى بلادهم.

وباءت كل محاولات إنقاذ هؤلاء الجنود بالفشل، إلا أن تدخلت قطر ونجحت في إقناع "جبهة النصرة" بإطلاق سراح الجنود المختطفين في مقابل إطلاق سراح 26 سجينا لهم في السجون اللبنانية (من ضمنهم سجى الدليمي طليقة أبو بكر البغدادي). ومع ذلك، فإن نفوذ جبهة النصرة (داعش) لم ينتهي أو يقل بالعكس، زاد نفوذهم ليصل إجمالي المساحة التي تحت سيطرتها داخل البلدين لما يقرب من 300 كم² واستمر اقتناص الجنود والمناوشات، وبدأت النصرة توجه عملياتها للداخل اللبناني عقابا لحزب الله على مشاركته بالحرب السورية.

وفي ذكرى احتفالات نصر تموز، أعلن نصر الله انه حان الوقت لاستعادة عرسال، لم يكتف نصر الله بإعلان الحرب هذا بل أعلن تقسيم الأدوار قائلا: بفضل القرار السياسي الحكيم مع الرئيس ميشال عون سيخوض المعركة من ناحية حدود لبنان الجيش اللبناني ونحن والجيش السوري سنقود المعركة من القلمون بسورية وخلال أيام سنعلن النصر".

وبالفعل تحرك الجيش اللبناني ليحرر ١٢٠كم من أصل ١٤٠كم كانت تحت سيطرة تنظيم "داعش" على الحدود اللبنانية وفي المقابل على الحدود السورية كانت داعش تسيطر على ٣١٠كم استعاد منها حزب الله والجيش السوري ٢٧٠كم على عدة مراحل ثم تمت المفاوضات.

قرار نصر الله دخول الحرب الأن رغم أنّ حزب الله كان قادرا منذ العام 2015 على إنهاء وجود المسلحين القادم معظمهم من القلمون التي سيطر عليها الحزب، يشي بوضوح عن نوايا نصر الله الذي من جانب رآها فرصة لاستعادة شعبيته المفقودة نسبيا في لبنان، ليظهر من جديد كالبطل الذي حررهم من الإسرائيليين في تموز وها هو يحررهم من الدواعش اليوم مستفيدا من التوافق الدولي على حتمية الخلاص من الكابوس الداعشي، ومن جانب أخر يعزز مكانته الإقليمية، وأخيرا يساعد حليفة الأول إيران على بسط نفوذها بالإقليم.

لكن نصر الله فاجئ الجميع بقبوله التفاوض مع الدواعش منفردا، لينهي المشهد باتفاق يضمن خروج النصرة (670 فرد)  من لبنان متجهين إلي البوكمال بشرق سوريا في مقابل أن يرشدهم على مكان جثث شهداء حزب الله والجنود اللبنانيين إضافة إلى جثة الجندي الإيراني محسن حججي (اللي أعدمته داعش أمام الكاميرات) - ليعلن بعدها نصر الله انتهاء الحرب مهنئا الشعب اللبناني بالنصر، وهو ما ازعج الحكومة العراقية بشده، إذ فجأة وجدوا الدواعش مرة أخرى على حدودهم، وهو ما عبر عنه رئيس الوزراء العراقي حيدر العبادي قائلا "نقل أعداد كبيرة من داعش إلى المناطق الحدودية مع العراق أمر غير مقبول".

ما يعتبره الإيرانيون خطوة للأمام لبسط النفوذ، يراه السعوديين خطر محدق بهم. وقد التزمت السعودية رسميا الصمت خلال المعركة، لكن نظرة على عناوين المقالات الصادرة في جريدة الشرق الأوسط المملوكة للأمير تركي بن سلمان والتي تعتبر لسان البلاط الملكي، تدرك أنها تبنت خط واحد وهو الحديث عن الأطماع الإيرانية في لبنان، مشيرة إلى أن قرار الحرب اتخذ في طهران .

لم تكن الرياض فقط هي من تراقب ما يحدث في عرسال، إسرائيل أيضا يقلقها التواجد الإيراني في محيطها. وفي مكالمة هاتفية مع أحد كبار المسئولين الإسرائيليين السابقين عبر الرجل لي عن المخاوف الإسرائيلية مما يحدث في عرسال قائلا:

"لنكن واضحين أن حسن نصر الله الأن هو لبنان ولبنان هي حسن نصر الله، لكن ما يهمنا هنا هو التغول الإيراني بواسطة حزب الله في سورية، لن نسمح لإيران أو حزب الله بإنشاء أي قواعد في سوريا، ويمجرد اقترابهم من مرتفعات الجولان سنضرب بقوه دون تردد، ولعل الغارة الأخيرة التي استهدفت مصنعاً لإنتاج الصواريخ والأسلحة الكيماوية في حماه -سورية جعل واضحا لهم إننا لن نتردد في استخدام القوة حال تجاوزهم الخطوط الحمراء ".

دير الزور هي ثاني أكبر المحافظات السورية وترجع أهميتها إلى عدة أسباب، فهي   المعبر الجغرافي الأهم بين سوريا والعراق، نظرا لملامستها محافظتي (نينوى والأنبار) العراقيتين، واحتوائها على حقول غاز ونفط كثيرة.  ولأهمية دور الزور الاستراتيجية واللوجستية حرص تنظيم " داعش" على إحكام السيطرة عليها منذ 2014.

وبالقطع ترى واشنطن وموسكو أن دير الزور من اهم النقاط الذي يجب القضاء على داعش بها، وكلاهما ينظر إلى ما بعد الحرب ومن سيبسط نفوذه بها، وقد لقى الجنرال فاليري اسابوف (كبير المستشارين العسكريين الروس في سوريا) مصرعه في تلك المعركة، ولعل اشتراك قائد عسكري بحجم اسابوف في المعركة، يعكس مدى الاهتمام الذي توليه موسكو لتلك البقعة الاستراتيجية.

التحالفات في تلك المعركة عكست ما يمكن أن نسميه الحرب بالوكالة، فمن جانب تحالفت قوات سوريا الديمقراطية (المدعومة من أمريكا) والأكراد، ومن جانب آخر تحالف الجيش السوري وإيران وحزب الله (المدعوم من روسيا) - للخلاص من عناصر داعش بالمحافظة.

من جانبه وجد نصر الله في معركة دير الزور فرصة مناسبة للإعلان عن قوته الإقليمية أو إرهاصاتها، وهو ما يفسر لماذا (ولأول مرة) يرفع الحزب السرية عن قيادة عسكرية ميدانية له، فقد كشف «حزب الله» عن القائد الميداني لقواته بدير الزور والملقب باسم الحاج أبو مصطفى من خلال لقاء تلفزيوني له ظهر فيه شارحا دور حزب الله في المعركة موجها الشكر لحلفائهم الروس وبشار مهنئا الشعب السوري بهذا النصر.

ظهور الحاج أبو مصطفى عبر شاشات التلفزة لم يكن عشوائيا أو صدفه، بل كان مقصود تماما فيما يعتبر نقلة نوعية في سياسة حزب الله الإعلامية، يمكن القول أن التنظيم قرر أخيرا الظهور من تحت الأرض، مصدرا بيانا حربيا شبه رسمي هنأ فيه الشعب السوري بانتصاره مؤكدا "أن سوريا الواحدة الموحدة ستبقى عصية على المؤامرة الكبرى".

لكن دور حزب الله الذي يحلم بالتمدد لا يقف عند سورية، ففي العراق أيضا يلعب جنود الله دورا بارزا وان كان مختلفا نسبيا، ففي الوقت الذي يقاتل حزب الله في سوريا بنفسه، فان دوره في العراق يقتصر على التدريب حيث يشرف حزب الله على تدريب لواء فاطميون الإيراني أشراف كامل في العراق ووفقا لروايات بعض المقاتلين فان أحيانا ترسل بعض العناصر إلى مخيمات الحزب في جنوب لبنان لتلقى تدريب نوعي على حرب الشوارع.

لا يمكن الجزم ما الخطوة القادمة لنصر الله، وهل سينجح في خلق نموذج جديد من الحرس الثوري الإيراني؟ أو هل يمكن وقفه؟

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Hezbollah: Dreams of Expansion


Also available in العربية

November 2, 2017

In mid-August, TV screens showed us the strange footage of Islamic State militants and their families travelling in buses protected by the Lebanese Armed Forces (LAF), Hezbollah, and the Syrian Arab Army (SAA). Yesterday enemies, today the LAF, Hezbollah, and SAA are keen to move the Islamic State safely from the Lebanese border to the Syria-Iraq border, in an attempt to end yet another chapter in the long narrative of an internecine proxy war.

The Battle of Arsal comes on the heels of Hassan Nasrallah’s entry into the war in Syria, which is itself the result of an Iranian mandate for the party to play a more prominent role. The move was also a shift in Hezbollah’s trajectory.

Hezbollah has worked hard to transform itself from a resistance movement in a small country like Lebanon into a regional power. Indeed, during its latest battle in Jaroud Arsal, in which Hezbollah declared the end of any Islamic State presence along the Lebanon-Syria border, Hezbollah underscored just such a reality. Meanwhile, the group continues to tighten its grip over the Lebanese interior and attempts to involve the Lebanese Army in everything it does in an effort to replicate the Iranian model of the Revolutionary Guard and the regular army.

With the advent of the Syrian revolution in 2011, and the ensuing divisions and quarrels among various forces, a considerable number of the residents of the Syrian city of Qalamoun—most of whom are Sunni—fled across the Lebanese border and settled in the town of Arsal. Arsal, which in Aramaic means “throne of the Lord,” likely earned its name due to its location in the mountainous highlands along the Syria-Lebanon border. Today, however, the small town of no more than 35,000 has become a new arena for regional conflict.

Since the small town could not support the displaced in such large numbers, refugee camps were set up.  Over time, Jabhat al-Nusra tightened its grip on the Arsal camp, and friction grew between militants. Likewise, the Lebanese army was frequently the victim of casualties and kidnappings while trying to take control of the situation. Meanwhile, Nasrallah made it clear that Hezbollah was fighting alongside Bashar al-Assad in a “holy war,” which in turn prompted militants to direct attacks inside Lebanon.

By mid-April, Assad spoke of Arsal as an epicenter of so-called “militants” that must be bombed. The severity of SAA airstrikes and violations of Lebanese airspace increased in order to strike the camp.

The most dramatic shift, however, took place in August 2014 when sixteen Lebanese soldiers were kidnapped by Nusra.  It was only then that grumbling voices began to rise up in the streets against Nasrallah and Hezbollah. Lebanese citizens now thought that Hezbollah’s involvement in support of Assad had brought the Islamic State to their doorstep.

All attempts to rescue the soldiers failed until Qatar intervened and succeeded in persuading Nusra to release the kidnapped soldiers in exchange for the release of twenty-six prisoners in Lebanese prisons, including Saja al-Dulaimi, Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi’s ex-wife. However, the influence of Nusra did not end or diminish. On the contrary, its influence increased. The total area under Nusra control in the two countries reached 300 square kilometers as clashes and kidnappings continued and Nusra began directing attacks in the Lebanese interior to punish Hezbollah for its involvement in Syria.

On the anniversary of the July War, Nasrallah declared that it was the time to reclaim Arsal. Nasrallah not only declared war, but announced a division of labor, saying, “Thanks to the wise political decision of President Michel Aoun, we and the Lebanese Army will fight the battle on the Lebanese side of the border and the Syrian army will lead the battle from Qalamoun in Syria, within days we will be declaring victory.”

Indeed, the LAF mobilized to liberate 120 km of the 140 km under Islamic State control along the Lebanese border. In contrast, Hezbollah and the SAA recaptured, in stages, 270 km of the 310 km controlled by the Islamic State along the Syrian border before negotiations were held.

Nasrallah’s decision to enter the war at this point, despite the fact that the party has been able to stem the flow of militants coming from Hezbollah-controlled Qalamoun since 2015, is clearly indicative of his intentions. By taking advantage of the international consensus regarding the inevitable demise of the Islamic State and freeing Lebanon of its supporters, Nasrallah would once again show himself to be the hero who liberated Lebanon from the Israelis in the July War.  It was an opportunity to restore his relatively nonexistent popularity in Lebanon. At the same time, he spotted a chance to strengthen his regional position and finally help Iran exert its influence in the region.

Instead, Nasrallah surprised everyone by agreeing to unilaterally negotiate with the Islamic State, in order to reach an agreement that would guarantee the evacuation of 670 Nusra fighters from Lebanon to Albukamal, in eastern Syria. This was in exchange for guiding them to the location of the bodies of martyred Hezbollah and Lebanese soldiers, in addition to the body of Iranian soldier Mohsen Hajji, who was executed by ISIS on camera. Afterwards, Nasrallah declared an end to the war and congratulated the Lebanese people on their victory.  The sudden renewed presence of Islamic State militants on its borders deeply troubled the Iraqi government and prompted Iraqi Prime Minister Haidar al-Abadi to call the transfer “unacceptable.”

Furthermore, what the Iranians see as a step forward to exert their influence is perceived by the Saudis as an imminent threat.  Officially, Saudi Arabia has remained silent on this particular issue, but one look at the titles of the articles published in Asharq al-Awsat–—the newspaper owned by Prince Turki Bin Salman and considered the mouthpiece of the royal court—will show that a single talking point dominates: the ambitions of Iran in Lebanon. The paper also suggests that the Lebanese decision to go to war was made in Tehran.

Riyadh is not the only one keeping an eye on what is happening in Arsal. Israel is also concerned by the Iranian presence on its periphery. A former senior Israeli official recently told the author, “Let’s be clear that now, Hassan Nasrallah is Lebanon and Lebanon is Hassan Nasrallah, but what concerns us here is Iranian interference via Hezbollah in Syria. We will not allow Iran or Hezbollah to set up any bases in Syria. If they approach the Golan Heights, we will strike hard without hesitation.  Maybe the last strike targeting a missile and chemical weapons factory in Hama made it clear to them that we will not hesitate to use force should they cross any red lines.”

Deir al-Zour is the second-largest province in Syria and is important for several reasons.  It is the most important crossing point between Syria and Iraq because it is connected to the Iraqi provinces of Nineveh and Anbar and contains many oil and gas fields. Due to Deir al-Zour’s strategic and logistical importance, the Islamic State has made a point to tighten its control over the province since 2014.

After all, Washington and Moscow believe that Deir al-Zour is one of the most important places in Syria where the Islamic State must be eliminated, with both looking past the war to see who will be able to exert their influence. General Valery Asapov, a senior Russian military advisor in Syria, was killed in Deir al-Zour; the involvement of a military commander like Asapov reflects the level of interest Moscow attaches to that strategic location.

Alliances in the battle highlight how this has become a proxy war: the U.S.-backed Syrian Democratic Forces and the Kurds on one side, and the Russian backed SAA coalition, Iran, and Hezbollah on the other, to rid the province of the Islamic State.

In the battle for Deir al-Zour, Nasrallah found a suitable opportunity to announce and lay the foundations of his regional strength. This would explain why, for the first time, the party peeled back some of the secrecy surrounding its military leadership in the field. Hezbollah revealed the name of its field commander in Deir al-Zour to be Haj Abu Mustafa during a television interview, in which he explained Hezbollah’s role in the battle, thanked its allies—the Russians and Bashar al-Assad—and congratulated the Syrian people on their victory.

Mustafa’s appearance on TV, as a semi-official military source announcing Hezbollah’s victory to the Syrian people and stressing that "a single unified Syria will remain resistant to the grand conspiracy," was not random or coincidental. It was an entirely intentional and specific step in Hezbollah’s media strategy to bring Hezbollah out from the underground.

Yet the role of Hezbollah, which dreams of expansion, does not stop in Syria. The self-proclaimed “soldiers of God” also play a prominent role in Iraq, albeit a relatively different one. While Hezbollah is fighting in Syria, its role in Iraq is limited to training.  Hezbollah is overseeing the training of Iranian Liwa al Fatemiyoun in Iraq, and according to some fighters, it will send some elements to Hezbollah camps in southern Lebanon  to receive urban warfare training.

It is not clear what Nasrallah’s next step will be. Will he succeed in creating a new Revolutionary Guard? Or can he be stopped?

Customize your RSS Feed