أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

من القامشلي إلى قامشلو: رحلة إلى عاصمة روجاڨا الجديدة


متاح أيضاً في English


لم أقصد القامشلي منذ عشرين سنة. فقد ذهبت إلى شمال شرق سوريا، كطالب دكتوراه في المعهد الفرنسي للشرق الأدنى، برفقة صديقين في أواخر التسعينات لاستكشاف تلك المنطقة، في رحلة قادتني إلى كل من الرقة ودير الزور والحسكة والقامشلي. ومنذ العام 1997، عدت إلى مدن سورية أخرى في عدة مناسبات ولكن لم تتسن لي زيارة روجاڨا. منذ عشرين سنة، نزلت في فندق سميراميس المحترم. فقد شُيِّد هذا الفندق الفاخر على طراز الآرت ديكو في الخمسينات، وهي "العصر الذهبي" لمقاطعة الجزيرة، عندما كانت القامشلي المركز الاقتصادي لتلك المنطقة الغنية المنتجة للحبوب والقطن. وكان فندق سميراميس يستقبل التجار وتجار الأقمشة وطحّاني حلب الذين كانوا يقصدون المنطقة لشراء المحاصيل، في ما كان وجهاء القامشلي يقصدون مطعم الفندق لتذوق النبيذ الفرنسي بمختلف أنواعه وتناول شرائح اللحم المعروفة بـ "فيليه مينيون". كانت مدينة القامشلي تضم بشكل أساسي مسيحيين، إذ لم يكن النزوح الريفي قد طالها بعد. فقد هرب الأرمن والسريان من تركيا نحو الأراضي الخاضعة للسيطرة الفرنسية في ظل الانتداب الفرنسي الجديد لسوريا إثر الحرب العالمية الأولى، ووضعهم الفرنسيون في تلك المنطقة شبه الفارغة بغية الحد من مطامع مصطفى كمال أتاتورك في شمال سوريا. وجعل المسيحيون الصحراء مزدهرة باستخدام الأراضي الممنوحة لهم من قبل السلطات.

عناقيد الغضب

ولكن عندما رأيت القامشلي عام 1997، كان العصر الذهبي قد ولّ. فالرفاهية المفرطة التي كانت تطبع فندق سميراميس قد تلاشت، تمامًا كالمدينة، إذ زال الطلاء واختفت الشمعادين لتُستبدل بمصابيح النيون الرخيصة. وأصبحت غرف الفندق تضم عدة أسرّة مفردة، بما أن معظم الزبائن هم اليوم عمال يتشاركون الغرف. وباتت "باريس الصغيرة" (وهو لقب يُطلق على القامشلي) المشهورة في الخمسينات محاطة بمخيمات غير نظامية. فمع النزوح الريفي، تزايد عدد سكان المدينة عشرة أضعاف. كما كانت تمتد على مد العين والنظر ضواحٍ هائلة مؤلفة من بيوت قرميدية على الطراز النمطي الشائع، بحيث كان التصميم الفني يتناقض بشدة مع وسط المدينة النظيف، الذي كان يشبه آنذاك المنطقة المركزية في حلب. وكانت القامشلي تضم سوقًا شعبيًا يعمل فيه السكان الريفيون بشكل ناشط، بالإضافة إلى شوارع تسوق شبيهة بحي العزيزية، وهو الحي المسيحي الغني في حلب. تناولنا العشاء في مطعم ممتاز شبيه بمطاعم حلب، غير أنه لم يكن يملك سوى قارورة نبيذ فرنسي واحدة فقط.

كانت المدينة والريف متناقضين بالكامل. ففي حين كانت تحفل "الساحة الفرنسية" في القامشلي بأبنيتها الفخمة ومتاجرها الغربية، كان الجزء الباقي من القامشلي يشبه قرية مفرطة النمو، ولكن أكثر حداثة نوعًا ما. وكانت مساكن المدينة مصنوعة من قوالب بناء إسمنتية وذات سقوف إسمنتية وكان كل منزل موصولًا بشبكة الكهرباء. أما في الريف، فكانت البيوت ذات جدران طينية وسقوف مصنوعة من القش وكانت معظم القرى غير موصولة بشبكة الكهرباء. كان الفلاحون في الأجزاء الباقية من سوريا قد حصلوا على أراضٍ خلال إصلاح الأراضي في الستينات، ما عدا محافظة الحسكة في القامشلي. فقد احتفظت الدولة بالأرض المصادرة وقامت بتأجيرها لمالكيها السابقين، وعام 1970، أوقف حافظ الأسد توزيع الأراضي لتجنب إنشاء طبقة صغيرة من المالكين الأكراد.

كان الهدف من ذلك دفع الأكراد للهجرة إلى المدن السورية الكبرى حيث يكون "تعريبهم" أكثر ترجيحًا. فالوحدوية الكردية كانت تُعتبر خطرًا محتملًا من قبل السلطات السورية حتى قبل نظام البعث. في ظل النظام "الليبرالي" عام 1961، جُرد عشرات آلاف الأكراد من جنسيتهم السورية وأصبحوا بدون، أي مقيمين بصورة غير قانونية في بلدهم. تعهد الرئيس بشار الأسد بمنح الجنسية لجميع البدون بعد تمرد الأكراد عام 2004، في محاولة لتهدئة الأكراد، غير أنه لم يتذكر تعهده إلا بعد اندلاع الثورة عام 2011.

كان هناك فئتان من البدون: "البيض" و"الحمر". كان يُسمح للـ "بيض" بالتنقل بحرية داخل محافظة الحسكة مع أوراقهم البيضاء التي يحصلون عليها من مخاتير القرى. أما "الحمر" فكان لديهم رخصة من دمشق تتيح لهم حرية التنقل عبر كافة أنحاء سوريا. وكان يُحظَر على الفئتين تملك الأراضي أو المباني. فإذا ما أرادتا تملك عقارات، كان لا بد من وجود كفيل، هو إما مواطن سوري كردي محظوظ أم صديق عربي. ويمكن لأولاد البدون ارتياد المدرسة حتى سن الثامنة عشر والخضوع لامتحان البكالوريوس، ولكن لا يحق لهم الحصول على شهادة أو ارتياد الجامعات، سواء أكانت سورية أم لا. أما الأكراد الذين يملكون جنسية سورية فيمكنهم التنقل بحرية ولكنهم عرضة لتمييز واسع النطاق على خلفية انتمائهم العرقي. بالتالي، أدى وضع البدون الأكراد الذين يبلغ عددهم 300 ألف فرد، عام 2011 إلى تأجيج حدة التظاهرات ضد النظام السوري. ففي العقد الذي سبق اندلاع الثورة في سوريا، كان الوضع الاقتصادي والاجتماعي لمقاطعة الجزيرة يتدهور، إذ أن الجفاف ونقص الاستثمارات والقيود الإضافية المفروضة على البناء وإنشاء شركات جديدة جعل وضع تلك المنطقة أكثر تفجرًا من وضع بقية المناطق في سوريا.

مدينة منقسمة

في آذار/مارس 2017، أصبح فندق سميراميس دار البلدية الجديد الخاص بالقامشلي والخاضع لـ "حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي" الكردي منذ العام 2013. فدار البلدية الأصلي خاضع لسيطرة الجيش السوري وغير متاح لـ "حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي". القامشلي مدينة مقسمة بين ثلاثة جيوش: "حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي" والجيش السوري وميليشيا السوتورو. يسيطر "حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي" على معظم المدينة، في حين يسيطر الجيش السوري على "المربع الأمني" بين السوق والحدود التركية، ومحيط المطار. يخضع الحي المسيحي جزئيًا لسيطرة السوتورو، وهي ميليشيا مسيحية مرتبطة بالنظام السوري، إذ أن الشوارع مقفلة بأواني الزهور البسيطة، التي ترسم حدود أراضي السوتورو. ولا يدخل عناصر "حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي" والشرطة الكردية (الأسايش) المنطقة الخاضعة لسيطرة السوتورو تجنبًا لأي مواجهات. فعام 2016، حاولت الأسايش السيطرة على الحي المسيحي، مما نتج عنه اشتباكات عنيفة أدت إلى مقتل عنصر واحد من السوتورو وثمانية عناصر من الأسايش. بالمقابل، يمكن للمدنيين التنقل بسهولة من حي إلى آخر.

يمكن للقوات الكردية الاستيلاء بسهولة على جزء المدينة الخاضع لسيطرة الحكومة. إلا أن الحكومة ستعمد عندها على الأرجح إلى إقفال المطار، وهو وسيلة اتصال أساسية لبلوغ دمشق وبيروت ومدن أخرى في الخارج، ولتلقي الأدوية. فضلًا عن ذلك، سينتقم النظام السوري من منطقتي تمركز الأكراد عفرين والشيخ مقصود الواقعتين في حلب، واللتين تمر إمداداتهما عبر المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة الحكومة. علاوةً على ذلك، لم يعد الجيش الكردي مؤيدًا للأعمال العدائية ضد دمشق. لذلك، ينبغي على "حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي" التوصل إلى اتفاق مع الأسد للسيطرة على شمال سوريا. ويجب ألا يشكل حكم "حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي" مصدر قلق لدمشق.

التقسيم بحسب البلدات والتكريد

أنشأ "حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي" إطارًا إداريًا جديدًا وفقًا للمبادئ التي وضعها عبد الله أوجلان. تضم كل وحدة أو ما يعرف ب “جمعية" وهي حوالي ألف شخص وتديرها لجنة منتخبة مؤلفة مما يقارب خمسة عشر شخصًا يمثلون مختلف عائلات الحي أو القرية. يجب على الجمعية معالجة مشاكلها اليومية ولعب دور الوسيط بين الأفراد والإدارات. وتُعد الجمعية قوائم المستفيدين من عمليات توزيع الوقود والخبز، كما تلعب دورًا تعليميًا من خلال تنظيم دورات اللغة الكردية. بالنسبة إلى "حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي"، تشكل الجمعيات العنصر الأساسي من شبكة أراضيه. تحمل كل جمعية اسم شهيد فيما تزين صور أوجلان وعدة شهداء جدران المنازل.  ويُفترض أن تتمتع الجمعية بالاكتفاء الذاتي نسبيًا من الناحية الاقتصادية، مع قيام الجمعيات ببعض الأعمال التجارية في ما بينها. لذلك، يجب على الجمعية أن تشجع إنشاء تعاونية إنتاجية تضم حوالي خمسة عشر عاملًا. ففي نهاية المطاف، يتمثل الهدف بإبعاد التجار وفرض المقايضة العامة على أساس محلي. غير أن السلطات الجديدة لا تشدد على الناحية الاقتصادية من إطار العمل، بما أن توحيد روجاڨا والمعركة ضد تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" يشكلان الأولوية بالنسبة إليها وهي لا تريد أن يثور السكان.

إن إطار العمل الجديد الخاص بروجاڨا يشجع الطبقة العاملة وطبقة الفلاحين الصغيرة على حساب مالكي الأراضي والطبقة الوسطى الحضرية، الذين يخشون أن يقعوا ضحية ثورة. فالشروخات القديمة بين السكان الحضريين والريفيين من جهة وسكان المدن القدامى والجدد من جهة أخرى تصبح انقسامات ملموسة. تعارض الأقلية المسيحية بشدة نظام "حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي" وتتطلع إلى عودة النظام السوري. وسبق أن غادر نصف مسيحيي القامشلي المدينة في حين لم يكن القتال يطالها. فالتجار والمحترفون الليبراليون المسيحيون يهربون من الركود الاقتصادي عوضًا عن القتال. إلا أن التباطؤ الاقتصادي يسبب مشاكل خطيرة لأولئك الذين بقوا في المدينة. وسيولد تكريد نظام التعليم موجة هجرة جديدة لدى المسيحيين والعرب المسلمين الذين لا يتخيلون مستقبلهم في مقاطعة كردية. بعد فرض اللغة الكردية في معظم المدارس العامة، تريد السلطات أيضًا فرضها على المدارس المسيحية الخاصة بدءًا من أيلول/سبتمبر 2017. كما ستُلزم المدارس الثانوية العامة بتعليم اللغة الكردية. وسيجد آلاف المعلمين العرب أنفسهم عاطلين عن العمل بعد استبدالهم بمعلمين أكراد تم اختيارهم من بين مؤيدي "حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي".

من القامشلي إلى قامشلو

تشهد القامشلي عملية تكريد متقدمة. من الصعب معرفة إلى أي مدى سيصل "حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي" في مشروعه الاقتصادي المتمثل بـ "التعاونية" ولكن لن يؤدي هذا الأخير على الأرجح سوى إلى عكس مسار علاقات السلطة بين الأكراد والعرب. فكما قال لي مفكر كردي عام 2011: "لطالما عاش الأكراد كأقلية في أراضيهم، وبالتالي سيتوجب على العرب تعلم العيش كأقلية في الأراضي العائدة للأكراد عبر التاريخ إذا أرادوا البقاء". تشكل الأيديولوجية الكردية القائمة على مبادئ المساواة ستارًا للمشروع القومي الكردي. ويحاول "حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي" الإبقاء على هذا الستار لأطول وقت ممكن من أجل التحالف مع القبائل العربية في المنطقة ضد تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" والمحافظة على الدعم الدولي. بالطبع، قد يعتبر البعض أن مشروع "حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي" يشكل انتقامًا لسنوات القمع تحت حكم السلطات العربية وخطوة لصالح العدالة الاجتماعية للشعب الكردي. ولكن ابن خلدون يعتبر أن المشروع السياسي لـ "حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي" هو مجرد عملية نهب جديدة لصالح عصبية جديدة. لا بد أيضًا من أخذ العامل الطائفي بعين الاعتبار في عملية التطهير العرقية السياسية، بما أن الطبقة الوسطى الكردية الموالية لـ "الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني" هي أيضًا ضحية. فالقامشلي أصبحت قامشلو وفندق سميراميس، الذي كان قبلة أنظار الطبقة المخملية في "باريس الصغيرة" في الخمسينات، بات يأوي أطفال البروليتاريا الزراعية. هذا وقد فرّ صاحب الفندق السابق، وهو من السريان الكاثوليك، إلى كندا وولت أيام النبيذ الفرنسي.

واشنطن، 13 نيسان/إبريل 2017.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

From Qamishli to Qamishlo: A Trip to Rojava’s New Capital


Also available in العربية

May 8, 2017

I had not been to Qamishli for twenty years. As a Ph.D. student at the French Institute for the Near East, I went with two friends in the late 1990s to explore northeast Syria. This journey led us to Raqqa, Deir al-Zour, Hasaka, and Qamishli. Since 1997 I have returned to other Syrian cities on several occasions but did not have the opportunity to go to Rojava. Twenty years ago, I stayed in the venerable Semiramis Hotel. This luxurious Art Deco hotel was built in the 1950s, the ‘’Golden Age’’ of Jazira when Qamishli was the economic center of this rich grain and cotton producing area. The Semiramis welcomed the tradesmen, textile merchants, and millers of Aleppo who came to buy crops, and the restaurant hosted the high society of Qamishli who came to taste French wines and eat filet mignon. The city was mainly Christian, the rural exodus having not yet engulfed Qamishli. The Armenian and Syriac populations had fled Turkey for France after the First World War, and the French installed them in this almost empty region in order to limit the land claims of Mustafa Kemal in northern Syria. The Christians made the desert bloom using the land that was granted to them by the authorities.

The Grapes of Wrath

But when I saw Qamishli in 1997, the golden age had passed. The decadence of the Semiramis, like the city, was no longer. The paint was falling, the chandeliers had disappeared, and tawdry neon had replaced them. The rooms had several single beds, as the majority of the clientele were now laborers who shared rooms. The "Petit Paris" of the 1950s was surrounded by informal settlements. With the rural exodus, the population of the city had multiplied tenfold. Immense suburbs of cookie cutter brick houses stretched as far as the eye could see. This aesthetic contrasted strongly with the clean city center, which resembled, at the time, the central district of Aleppo. Qamishli had a popular market where the rural population worked busily but also shopping streets similar to those of Azyzyeh, the rich Christian quarter of Aleppo. We had dinner in an excellent restaurant which would not have been out of place in Aleppo but only had one bottle of French wine.

The city and the countryside were complete opposites. Outside of Qamishli’s "French Square" with its plush buildings and westernized shops, the rest of Qamishli resembled an overgrown, if slightly more modern, village. The city houses were made of cinderblocks, the roofs were cement, and every house was connected to electricity. In the countryside, the houses had clay walls and straw roofs and most of the hamlets were not on electrical grids. The peasantry in the rest of Syria had received land during the 1960s land reform, with the exception of Qamishli’s Hasaka governorate. The state retained the expropriated land and rented it to the former landowners, and in 1970, Hafez al-Assad blocked the distribution of land to avoid creating a small Kurdish landowning class.
The objective was to push the Kurdish population to emigrate to the big Syrian cities where it would be more likely to Arabize. Kurdish irredentism was seen as a potential danger by the Syrian authorities even before the Baathist regime. Under the "liberal" regime in 1961, tens of thousands of Kurds were stripped of their Syrian nationality and became bidoun  - paperless - in their own country.  President Bashar al-Assad promised to grant citizenship to all bidoun after the 2004 Kurdish revolt in an attempt to calm the Kurdish population, but only remembered his promise after the uprising in 2011.

There were two categories of bidoun: the "whites" and the "reds." The “whites” were allowed to move freely within Hassaka province with their white papers from the village mayors. The "reds" had a permit from Damascus which gave them freedom of movement throughout all of Syria. Both categories were forbidden to own land or buildings. If they acquired real estate, they had to have a sponsor; a lucky Kurdish Syrian national or an Arab friend. The children of the bidoun could attend school until the age of eighteen and pass the baccalaureéat, but they did not get a diploma and did not have access to universities – Syrian or otherwise. Kurds with Syrian nationality could move freely but still faced widespread discrimination based on their ethnicity. The 300,000-strong Kurdish bidoun population in 2011 was thus in a situation that fueled the protest against the Syrian regime. In the decade preceding the uprising in Syria, the economic and social situation of Jazira was deteriorating. Drought, lack of investment, additional restrictions on construction, and the creation of new businesses made the situation even more explosive than in the rest of Syria.

A Divided City

In March 2017 the Hotel Semiramis became the new Qamishli town hall under the Kurdish Democratic Union Party (PYD). Today it is under the control of the Syrian army and inaccessible to the PYD. Qamishli is a city divided by three armies: the PYD, the Syrian army, and the Sottoro militias. The PYD controls the majority of the city, while the Syrian army controls the "security square" between the souk and the Turkish border, and the around the airport. The Christian quarter is partly held by the Sottoro, a Christian militia linked to the Syrian regime. Simple pots of flowers block the streets and indicate the boundaries of Sottoro territory. The YPG and the Kurdish police (assaych) do not enter the Sottoro-held area in order to avoid any confrontations. In 2016, an attempt by the assaych to control the Christian quarter resulted in violent clashes that killed one Sottoro member and eight assaych. Civilians, however, can move from one neighborhood to another without difficulty.
The Kurdish forces could easily seize the government-controlled part of the city. However, the government would shut down the airport; a means of communication essential to reach Damascus, Beirut, and other cities abroad, and to receive medicine. Additionally, the Syrian regime would retaliate against the Kurdish enclaves of Afrin and Sheikh Maqsoud in Aleppo, whose supply passes through government areas. Moreover, the Kurdish military is no longer in favor of hostilities with Damascus. The PYD must, therefore, reach an agreement with Assad for the control of northern Syria. PYD governance should not worry Damascus.

‘’Communalism’’ and Kurdification

The PYD installed a new administrative framework according to the principles laid down by Abdullah Ocalan. Each unit, called a "commune," contains about one thousand people. It is managed by an elected committee of about fifteen people representing the different families that make up the neighborhood or the village. The "commune" must handle the problems of daily life and be the intermediary between individuals and administrations. Communes draw up lists of the beneficiaries of the distributions of fuel and bread and also have an educational role in organizing courses in Kurdish. For the PYD, communes are the essential element of its territorial network. Each commune bears the name of a martyr, and the walls of the public house are decorated with portraits of Ocalan and numerous martyrs. The commune is supposed to be relatively economically self-sufficient, with some trade between the communes. To this end, it must encourage the creation of a production cooperative with about fifteen workers. Ultimately, the goal is to remove traders and oblige public bartering on a local basis. However, the new authorities do not insist on the economic aspect of the framework because the unification of Rojava and the fight against the Islamic State is the priority and they do not want the population to revolt.

Rojava’s new framework favors the working-class and small peasantry to the detriment of the landowners and urban middle class who fear they will be the victims of a revolution. The old cleavages – urban-rural and city-dwellers and neo-city dwellers are becoming concrete divisions. The Christian minority is fiercely opposed to the PYD system, and look forward to the return of the Syrian regime. Half of the Qamishli Christians have already left while the fighting is not touching the city; Christian traders and liberal professionals are fleeing economic stagnation rather than fighting. But the economic sluggishness is causing serious problems for those who have stayed. The Kurdification of the education system will provoke a new wave of departures among Christians and Muslim Arabs who do not conceive of their future in a Kurdish canton. After imposing Kurdish in most public schools, the authorities also want to impose it on private Christian schools starting in September 2017. Public secondary schools will also be forced to teach Kurdish. Thousands of Arab teachers will find themselves unemployed and replaced by Kurdish professors.
Qamishli Becomes Qamishlo

Qamishli is experiencing an advanced Kurdification process. It is hard to know how far the PYD will go in its "cooperative" economic project, but it is likely that it will only serve to reverse the power relations between the Kurds and the Arabs. As a Kurdish intellectual said to me in 2011: ‘’Kurds have lived as a minority on their territory, Arabs will have to learn to live as a minority in the historical territory of the Kurds if they wish to remain.’’ Behind the smoke screen of their egalitarian ideology, the Kurdish national project manifests itself. The PYD tried to disguise it as long as possible to ally the Arab tribes of the area against the Islamic State and to maintain international support. Some will surely argue that the PYD project is revenge for years of oppression under Arab authorities and a measure of social justice for the Kurdish people. However, according to Ibn Khaldun, the PYD political project is just spoliation in favor of a new assabiyya (group cohesion). It is also necessary to consider the sectarian factor in the process of ethnopolitical purge since the Kurdish pro-KDP middle class is also a victim. Qamishli becomes Qamishlo, and the Hotel Semiramis, the high place of the "little Paris" of the 1950s, is occupied by the small children of the agricultural proletariat. The former owner, a Syriac Catholic, has fled to Canada, and there is no more French wine.

Washington, April 13, 2017

Customize your RSS Feed