أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

هل نحن بحاجة إلى "مؤشر" عربي للإرهاب العالمي؟


متاح أيضاً في English

29 آذار/مارس 2018

المؤشر هو أداة قياس إحصائية رقمية (كمّية) تُحوّل بموجبها الوحدات المقاسة للأحداث والاتجاهات والظواهر الطبيعية والإنسانية إلى وحدات وأرقام. وتستخدم لغرضين أساسيين: الأول، تحديد حجم المشكلة وقياسها قياسا دقيقاً للوقوف على الوضع الراهن لها. والثاني، استخدام المؤشر في متابعة الخطة الموضوعة وتقييم الأداء أولا بأول والوقوف على التقدم نحو تحقيق الأهداف سواء كانت قصيرة أم متوسطة أم طويلة.

وهناك الآن مئات المؤشرات المعروفة في العالم في مختلف المجالات ومناحي الحياة، وتصدر أهمها عن الأمم المتحدة والبنك الدولي، والبعض الآخر يصدر عن مؤسسات ومراكز دراسات وأبحاث ربحية وغير ربحية، ومنظمات غير حكومية. وفي النهاية فإن معظمها متاح للجميع على شبكة الأنترنت لاستخدامها والاستفادة منها.

هناك ضرورة لأن تمتلك الدول مؤشراتها الخاصة، وأن تصدر بصورة دورية منتظمة بما يساعد ويساهم في صحة ودقة وشمولية المؤشرات العالمية مثل تلك الصادرة عن الأمم المتحدة والبنك الدولي. وفي الدول العربية – تحديداً- هناك الكثير من المؤشرات الخاصة، وإن كان معظمها في القطاعات الاقتصادية. وقد يكون هذا مردة إلى عقلية تحسين الصورة وحملات العلاقات العامة والدعاية أمام الدول والمؤسسات المانحة؟

وفى المقابل، تبدو التجربة الأمريكية صاحبة الريادة في هذا المجال وتحديدًا فيما يتعلق بقضايا مكافحة الإرهاب. تعاونت الحكومة الأمريكية مع إدوارد ميكولس وأخرين لإنشاء مؤشرات للإرهاب منذ عام 1982، تركز على خصائص الجماعات الإرهابية والبيئة التي تنشط بها وتأثيرها العالمي، وتغطي الإرهاب منذ عام 1960 تحت اسم " مؤشرات الإرهاب الدولي في قاعدة بيانات الأحداث الإرهابية، وهي مثال باهر على كيفية تعاون الدولة مع القطاع الخاص في سبيل المصلحة العليا للدولة وأمنها العام. ما زالت أدبيتها تُنشر بالتعاون مع مطبوعات جامعة ايوا، وغرين وود. ومتوفرة على شبكة الأنترنت.

كذلك فقد موّلّ ودعم “مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالية" ووزارة العدل ومديرية الأمن الداخلي الأمريكية البرفسور (غاري لافري)، أستاذ علم الجريمة في جامعة ميرلاند –كولج بارك وزملائه منذ 2005 لإنشاء ما يسم بقاعدة بيانات " دراسة الإرهاب والرد على الإرهاب " التي تهتم بتغطية ظاهرة الإرهاب العالمي منذ عام 1970 حتى الآن. وهي قاعدة البيانات نفسها التي يعتمد عليها "مؤشر الإرهاب العالمي" الذي يصدره مركز دراسات "معهد الاقتصاد والسلام" الذي أنشأه رجال الأعمال الأسترالي (ستيفن كليليا) والذي يعتبر من أهم وأشمل مؤشرات الإرهاب العالمي المعاصرة.

كذلك قام "مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالية" وزارة العدل بدعم وتمويل ما يسمى بالمعهد الوطني لمكافحة الإرهاب لمدينة أوكلاهوما، وهو منظمة غير ربحية تم تأسيسها بمبادرة فردية من أهالي ولاية أوكلاهوما الذين فقدوا أبناءهم جراء العملية الإرهابية للذئب المنفرد (تيموثي ميكفي) بتفجير مبنى الحكومة في مدينة أوكلاهوما عام 1995.

أردت من العرض أعلاه إعطاء مثال بسيط على كيفية تعاون مؤسسات المجتمع المدني خاصة الجامعات مع مؤسسات الدولة حتى الأمنية والاستخبارية منها. وهذا للأسف ما يفتقده العالم العربي حتى الآن. هذا إذا استثنينا بعض التجارب الشكلية في بعض الجامعات العربية. المثير في الأمر؛ أنه حسب علمي - ليس هناك أي دولة عربية لديها "مؤشر عام للإرهاب" سواء الداخلي أو الخارجي، حسب المواصفات التي أشرنا إليها في الأمثلة الأمريكية أعلاه. وخطورة ذلك؛ أن أي باحث أو مهتم بظاهرة الإرهاب يجد نفسه ضائعا وعاجزاً عن رصد تطور الظاهرة تاريخيا؛ وحتى أن كان هناك أرشيف صحفي فأنه مشتت وليس مبوباً باسم الظاهرة، وأن كان موجوداً فهو على الأغلب في خزائن وملفات الأجهزة الأمنية وهي الأخرى غير معنية بالترتيب والتأريخ لتطور الظاهرة؛ لأنها ببساطة معنية - كمعظم الأجهزة الاستخبارية العالمية – بملفات قضايا محددة والعمل عليها حتى إغلاقها.

ومن المخيب ِللآمال أن هناك نفوراً عجيباً في العالم العربي من استخدم المناهج العلمية والتجريبية في مقاربات العلوم الإنسانية في حقول السياسة والاقتصاد والاجتماع، ودعم مؤسسات المجتمع المدني وعلى رأسها الجامعات ومراكز البحث والدراسات التي تهتم بهذه المناهج. وهذا سلوك ٌ أحسبه مرتبطاً بالمنظومة المعرفية الجامدة لنا كعرب، ولا علاقة له بالصراع الديناميكي بين العلم التجريبي والعلوم الإنسانية الذي ما يزال محتدما في المنظومة المعرفية الغربية. هذه المنظومة الكسولة من "المعرفة العربية" تم التواطؤ عليها بين النخب العلمية المؤهلة والقادرة على البحث والسلطة في كافة الدول العربية بهدف توطين وترسيخ الواقع وتسهيل عملية تزيفه وإعادة تشكيله عند الحاجة حتى يبقى كل شيء في حالة سيولة معرفية؛ خاضع للتخمينات والانطباعات الشخصية والجدل العقيم.

ولأن عالمنا العربي؛ ومعه الإسلامي بات المُنتج والمُصدر الأول في العالم لخام ومعدن الإرهاب العالمي من مناجم التطرف الديني المنتشرة الآن في كل مكان تقريباً، تبدو الحاجة ملحة جداً لبناء مؤشر شامل للإرهاب، ليكون عونا ً للباحثين والدارسين والأكاديميين وصناع لقرار في الدول العربية والإسلامية والعالم أجمع في دراسته، وبناء الخطط ولاستراتيجيات للتعامل معه بمنهجية علمية بعيداً عن الانطباعات الشخصية.
وفي هذا المجال أرجو أن أشير هنا إلى تجربتي ومحاولتي الشخصية عندما قمت عام 2007 خلال إعدادي لأطروحة الماجستير في جامعة اليرموك – الأردن عام ببناء وصياغة ما أطلقت عليه اسم (مؤشرات الإرهاب البديلة -S) التي تتكون من (26) مؤشرا فرعياً، ثم طورتها لاحقاً في أطروحة الدكتوراه عام 2010؛ قبل أن أنشرها في كتابي (العولمة والإرهاب: عالم مسطح أم وديان عميقة؟) عام 2011. وأزعمُ أن هذه هي المؤشرات الوحيدة –على الأقل عربيا ً- الموجودة التي عالجت ظاهرة الإرهاب العالمي من منظور (كلانّي) وربطت بين أثر التكنولوجيا المتطورة والأبعاد الاجتماعية والسيكولوجية للإرهاب والمنفذين للعمل الإرهابي وتأثيرات سيرورة العولمة.

وأرجو أن أكد أنه لا بد من تظافر كافة الجهود الحكومية الرسمية وتحديداً الأجهزة الاستخبارية والأمنية التي تعتبر بنوك معلومات عن الجماعات المتطرفة والإرهابية، وتعاون مؤسسات المجتمع المدني خاصة مراكز البحث والجامعات والمعاهد لبذل الجهد وتوفير الدعم المادي والمعنوي للباحثين للإسراع في نجاز هذا المشروع البحثي الطموح. لأنه بدون وجود هذه المؤشرات ستبقى كافة دراساتنا ومقارباتنا وخططنا لمكافحة الإرهاب والتطرف الديني واتجاهات الحالة الدينية، ونقد الخطاب الحضاري والثقافي للدين وأشكال لتدين مجرد رجم بالغيب.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Do we need an Arab index of terrorism?


Also available in العربية

03-29-2018

An index is a quantitative, statistical measurement tool by which observed events, trends, and natural and human phenomena are converted to units and numbers. It serves two basic purposes: first, to identify the size of the problem and accurately measure it in order to grasp the current situation; and second, to follow up on a plan, gradually measure performance, and be informed of progress towards achieving goals, whether short-, medium-, or long-term.

There are now hundreds of known indexes in the world in different fields and areas of life. The most important of these are published by the UN and the World Bank, while others come from various institutes, for-profit and non-profit research and study centers, and NGOs. Most indexes are available on the internet for the use and benefit of everyone.

It is imperative that states with their own indexes publish them on a regular basis to contribute to the validity, accuracy, and comprehensiveness of world indexes, such as those published by the UN and the World Bank. In the Arab states, specifically, there are many private indexes, most of them for economic sectors. But some are selectively released, perhaps due to a mindset of image improvement and public relations campaigns directed at donor countries and institutions.

In contrast, the American experience of openness and public-private partnership leads in this area, specifically in relation to counterterrorism issues. The U.S. government in 1982 began cooperating with Edward Mickolus, and others to establish terrorism indicators, focusing on terrorist group statistics, their operating environment, and their global impact since 1960, under the name, International Terrorism: Attributes of Terrorist Events (ITERATE). ITERATE is an outstanding example of how the state cooperates with the private sector in the interest of the state and public safety. It is still published in cooperation with the University of Iowa Press and the Greenwood Press and is available on the internet.

Likewise, the FBI, Department of Justice, and Department of Homeland Security have funded Professor Gary LaFree, a criminologist at the University of Maryland, College Park, and his colleagues since 2005 to establish the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START) database on global terrorism from 1970 to the present. START informs the Global Terrorism Index (GTI), published by the research center, Institute for Economics and Peace, founded by Australian businessman Stephen Killelea. The GTI is considered one of the most important and comprehensive contemporary indexes of global terrorism.

In addition, the FBI and Department of Justice also supported and funded the National Memorial Institute for the Prevention of Terrorism in Oklahoma City. This is a non-profit organization founded by the individual initiative of the people of Oklahoma who lost loved ones in a lone-wolf terrorist attack in 1995, during which Timothy McVeigh blew up a government building.

These are prime examples of how civil society institutions, especially universities, cooperate with state institutions for counterterrorism purposes. Unfortunately, this is what is missing in the Arab world so far, except for some formal experiments in some Arab universities. To my knowledge, no Arab country has a publicly available terrorism index, either internal or external, on the model of the American examples above. The result is that any researcher interested in the phenomenon of terrorism finds himself lost and unable to monitor the historical development of the phenomenon. To the extent that there is a news archive, it is dispersed and disorganized. And if a more professional such product exists, it is mostly in the vaults and files of the security apparatuses. They are unconcerned with advance the study of this phenomenon because, like most global intelligence agencies, their priority is to work specific files until they are closed.

It is disappointing to witness this aversion in the Arab world toward scientific and experimental methods in approaching human sciences, in the fields of politics, economics, and sociology, or toward supporting civil society institutions, particularly universities and research centers interested in these programs. I consider this behavior to be connected to the rigid cognitive system we have as Arabs, in contrast to the dynamic conflict between empirical sciences and the humanities still raging in Western cognitive systems. This lazy system of “Arab knowledge” was contrived by intellectual elites capable of research and possessed of authority in all Arab countries. Yet, they preferred to keep everything in a state of epistemological fluidity, subject to conjecture, personal impressions, and fruitless debates.

Because our Arab and Islamic world has become the foremost producer and exporter of the raw material of global terrorism, from the mines of religious extremism, there is an urgent need to build a comprehensive indigenous index of terrorism. Such an index would be an aid to researchers, scholars, academics, and decision-makers in the Arab and Muslim countries and the throughout the world who are studying terrorism. And it would help develop plans and strategies for dealing with terrorism using scientific methodology far removed from personal impressions. 

In this regard, I would refer here to my personal research in 2007 when formulated, in my introductory master’s thesis at Yarmouk University, Jordan, what I called Alternative Indicators of Terrorism. This index consists of twenty-six sub-indicators that I later developed in my doctoral thesis in 2010, before publishing them in my 2011 book, The Globalization of Terror: Flat World or Deep Valleys? I believe these are the only Arab indicators that deal systematically with the phenomenon of global terrorism from a macro-perspective -- linking the impact of advanced technology, the psychosocial dimension, the individuals who commit terrorist acts, and the effects of globalization.

Official government agencies (especially the security and intelligence apparatuses, which are practically data banks on extremist and terrorist groups) need to cooperate with civil society institutions (especially research centers, universities, and institutes) to speed up implementation of such research projects. Without these indicators, all our plans to combat terrorism and religious extremism, and religious trends will be mere conjecture.

Customize your RSS Feed