أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

تحديد دور جديد لإيطاليا في ليبيا وأفريقيا


متاح أيضاً في English

"منتدى فكرة"

28 نيسان/إبريل 2016

بعد مرور نصف عقد على بدء الثّورة اللّيبيّة عام 2011، يحارب "الجيش اللّيبي الشّرقي" المقاتلين الإسلاميّين في بنغازي، فيما تحاول حكومة موقّتة متّحدة في طرابلس، بقيادة فايز السّراج وبرعاية الأمم المتّحدة، إعادة النّظام وفقاً للاتّفاق السّياسي اللّيبي الّذي أُبرم في كانون الأوّل/ديسمبر الماضي. وقد وعد الاتّحاد الأوروبّي "حكومة الوفاق الوطني في ليبيا" بتقديم مساعدة ماليّة تبلغ قيمتها مئة مليون يورو. لكن ما زالت ترتسم علامة استفهام كبيرة حول الدور الذي يجب أن تلعبه أوروبّا بشكلٍ عامّ، وإيطاليا بشكلٍ خاصّ، في ليبيا وخاصّةً بسبب تاريخ إيطاليا وليبيا المضطرب.

عندما أعلنت إيطاليا الحرب من جانب واحد على الإمبراطوريّة العثمانيّة عام 1911 لاحتلال محافظة طرابلس، الّتي أصبحت لاحقاً "ليبيا الإيطاليّة"، أثار النّزاع القوميّة البلقانيّة، ممّا شكّل إحدى بوادر الحرب العالميّة الأولى. وبعد قرنٍ من الزّمن، وقفت إيطاليا ضدّ التّدخّل العسكري في ليبيا - المنقسمة بين الفصائل المتمركزة في طبرق وطرابلس والميليشيات القبَليّة والإسلاميّة - على الرّغم من أنّ الجهات الفاعلة الدّوليّة الأخرى، بما فيها الولايات المتّحدة، أيّدت الغارات الجوّيّة. إلّا أنّ إيطاليا اختارت أن تدعم "حكومة الوفاق الوطني اللّيبيّة" من خلال تجديد دورها في ليبيا كداعم خارجي بدلاً من محتلٍّ أو جهة مشارِكة فاعلة.

ومن الواضح أنّه من مصلحة إيطاليا العمل على الدّبلوماسيّة والتّعاون في حوض البحر الأبيض المتوسّط لأسباب جغرافيّة وتاريخيّة جليّة. فقد وقفت ذات مرّةً في وسط السّاحة المتعدّدة الأعراق في الإمبراطوريّة الرّومانيّة، حيث كان النّورمانديّون والعرب والأتراك والبربر وآخرون يهاجرون ويتاجرون قبل بروز الدّول القومية والحدود المغلقة. واليوم، استعاد حوض المتوسّط دوره كمحور للهجرة، لكنّ أزمة اللّاجئيين جعلت من البحر مكاناً للموت واليأس. فانقلاب القوارب الّذي أدّى إلى مئات القتلى أحدث مثال على ذلك.

وفيما يبقى حلّ النّزاع السّوري مستعصياً، فإن التركيز الأوروبّي على ليبيا ضرورياً لتفادي أي انهيار آخر أو أزمة لاجئيين ليبيّة جديدة. وقد قامت الدّولة الإيطاليّة وأوروبّا بخطوات من أجل تطوير حلّ لهذه الكارثة الإنسانيّة الهائلة، فطُلِب من ليبيا إغلاق حدودها مقابل المساعدة على النّهوض مجدّداً بعد المرحلة الكارثيّة الّتي تلت موت القذّافي. فإيطاليا الّتي تؤيّد الموقف المصري الرّسمي لا تؤمن أنّ التّدخّل العسكري في ليبيا هو الحلّ. كما لا يمكن النّجاح في محاربة توسًع تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» («داعش») أو أزمة الهجرة من خلال الجهود العسكريّة الخارجيّة.

وبالأحرى، لا يمكن تحقيق الشّرعيّة إلّا عبر تعزيز المؤسّسات الأمنيّة في الحكومة اللّيبيّة الجديدة بالإضافة إلى تعزيز المجتمع المدني اللّيبي، مع التّشديد على الشّموليّة. ويجب أن تدعم الحكومات الخارجيّة جهود حكومة ليبيا الموقّتة لإرجاع النّازحين إلى بيوتهم وطرد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» من ليبيا. كما يجب على الحكومة أن تدعم تشكّل هويّات سياسيّة واجتماعيّة في المجتمع المدني اللّيبي، عبر تطوير بنية المجتمع من أحزاب سياسيّة إلى منظّمات غير حكوميّة محلّيّة. كذلك، على إيطاليا أن تشجّع التّبادل الثّقافي، فتعيد الحكومة مثلاً فتح "المعهد الثقافي الإيطالي" الّذي أُغلق مع السّفارة الإيطاليّة في شباط/فبراير 2015، بناءً على طلب اللّيبيّين.

لكنّ تعزيز المؤسّسات الأمنيّة والمجتمع المدني غير كافٍ: فمن دون التّطوّر الاقتصادي، لن تسير الأمور على ما يرام في البلاد. وإيطاليا هي حاليّاً أحد أعضاء الاتّحاد الأوروبّي الّتي تُعنى كثيراً بالتّطوّر الاقتصادي ليس في ليبيا فحسب، بل في باقي أنحاء أفريقيا أيضاً. ومؤخّراً، اقترحت الحكومة الإيطاليّة، الّتي يترأسها الإصلاحي الشّابّ والرّئيس السّابق لفلورنسا ماتيو رينزي، "ميثاق الهجرة" على الاتّحاد الأوروبّي. وهو يسعى إلى دعم تطوير أفريقيا عبر اتّفاقات تعزّز التّضامن الاقتصادي لمحاربة الظّروف الاقتصاديّة الهشّة الّتي تقود ملايين النّاس إلى الهجرة نحو الشّمال الأكثر ازدهاراً. وللأسف، رفضت المستشارة الألمانية انجيلا ميركل الخطّة على الفور، بالرّغم من إعراب معظم الممثّلين في الاتّحاد الأوروبّي عن اهتمامهم بها، ومن بينهم رئيس "المفوّضيّة الأوروبّيّة" جان كلود يونكر ورئيس "المجلس الأوروبي" دونالد تاسك.

ومن شأن هذا الاقتراح تعزيز السّيطرة على الهجرة من الدّول الأفريقيّة، وخاصّةً ليبيا، مقابل المساعدة الاقتصاديّة الأوروبّيّة لتطوير اقتصادات أكثر ثراءً واستقراراً في البلدان المذكورة، بطرق مشابهة للاتّفاق الحالي مع الحكومة التّركيّة. ويدعو "ميثاق الهجرة" إلى إنشاء صندوق أوروبّي يؤمّن استثمارات نافعة اجتماعيّاً في البلدان الأفريقيّة. ثانياً، من شأن هذا "الميثاق" أن ينشئ أيضاً "سندات أفريقيّة" على غرار "يوروبوند" - وهي سندات حكوميّة أصدرتها بلدان منطقة اليورو التّسعة عشر على نحو مشترك - من أجل مساعدة الشّركاء الأفريقيّين على الاستثمار في الابتكار والتنمية. ثالثاً، من شأن هذا "الميثاق" أن يعوّض أيضاً التّكاليف المستحقة على البلدان الّتي ستعتمد قانون اللّجوء لمن هو بحاجة إليه. وأخيراً، يتمّ اختيار المهاجرين لأسباب اقتصاديّة وفقاً لبعض الشّروط، على غرار الولايات المتّحدة، أي قبول هجرة من تلقّى تدريباً تحضيريّاً وتعلّم لغة البلد الّذي ينوي الهجرة إليه فحسب.

إذا كان سيتم حل مشكلة اللّاجئين من خلال سلام دائم في الشّرق الأوسط ومن خلال الشّفقة الّتي أظهرها مؤخّراً بعضهم كالحبر الأعظم، فستُحلّ أخيراً مشكلة الهجرة لأسباب اقتصاديّة من قبل حكومات مستقرّة وديمقراطيّة حقّقت التّنمية المستدامة. فالتّوصّل إلى حلّ سياسي يقبله الاتّحاد الأوروبي وأفريقيا على حدٍّ سواء سيتطلّب وقتاً، لكنّ الدّعم والتّعاون المتبادليْن هما السّبيل الوحيد الّذي سينجح. نحن بحاجة للبدء في هذا الطريق عاجلاً وليس آجلاً.

 

ماوريتسيو جيري هو مرشح لدرجة الدكتوراه ومساعد باحث في الدراسات الدولية في جامعة أولد دومينيون. وقد تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من على موقع "منتدى فكرة".

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Defining a New Italian Role in Libya and Africa


Also available in العربية

Half a decade after the 2011 Libyan uprising, the Libyan Eastern Army is fighting against Islamist militants in Benghazi while a unified interim government in Tripoli, guided by Fayez Sarraj and sponsored by the United Nations (UN), is attempting restore order according to the Libyan political agreement of last December. The Libyan Government of National Accord has been promised €100 million in financial support by the European Union. But there is a broader question remaining on the role that Europe in general, and Italy in particular, should play in Libya -- especially due to Italy and Libya’s fraught history.

When Italy unilaterally declared war on the Ottoman Empire in 1911 to conquer the Tripolitania province, which would become the “Italian Libya,” the conflict stimulated Balkan nationalism, a precursor of the First World War. A century later, the Italian government chose against military intervention in Libya—fractured between Tobruk and Tripoli-based factions and tribal and Islamist militias—even as other international actors, including the United States, advocated for air strikes. Italy instead chose to support the Libyan Government of National Accord by renewing its role in Libya as an outside supporter rather than an occupant or active participant.

It is clearly beneficial for Italy to work for diplomacy and cooperation throughout the Mediterranean basin for geographical and historical reasons. Notably, Italy once stood at the center of the multiethnic hub of the Roman Empire, where Normans, Arabs, Turks, Berbers and others immigrated, traded, and made migration the norm before the rise of nation-states and hard borders. Today, the Mediterranean basin has reprised its role as a hub of migration, but the refugee crisis has made the sea a place of death and desperation, with the recently capsized boat and its hundreds of fatalities only the latest instance.

As the Syrian conflict remains intractable, European focus on Libya is necessary to prevent another collapse and a new Libyan refugee crisis. The Italian state and the European Union have both taken steps to develop a solution to this massive humanitarian catastrophe by asking Libya to seal its borders in exchange for help resettling displaced persons and restarting the Libyan economy after the disastrous post-Gadhafi period. Italy, agreeing with the official Egyptian position, does not believe that a military intervention in Libya is the solution. Neither ISIS expansion nor the migration crisis can really be successfully combated by external military efforts.

Rather, legitimacy will only come through strengthening the new Libyan government’s security institutions and the Libyan civil society, with an emphasis on inclusiveness. Outside governments must support to the interim Libyan government’s efforts to return displaced people to their homes and dislodge ISIS in Libya. The government must also support Libyan civil society’s formation of political and social identities, developing community structures from political parties to local NGOs. Moreover, Italy must encourage cultural exchange. For example, the government should reopen the Italian Cultural Institute that was closed along with the Italian embassy in February 2015, as Libyans have requested.

But the empowerment of security institutions and civil society is not enough: without economic development the country will not be able to function properly. Italy is currently one of the foremost members of the EU concerned with economic development, not only for Libya but also the rest of Africa. The Italian government, led by the young reformist former mayor of Florence Matteo Renzi, recently proposed the “Migration Compact” to the EU. This is a project that seeks to support the development of Africa through agreements promoting economic solidarity to combat the poor economic conditions that drive millions of people to migrate to the more prosperous north. Unfortunately, Angela Merkel has already refused the plan outright, despite expressions of interest from a majority of EU representatives, including the president of European Commission Jean-Claude Juncker and president of the European Council Donald Tusk.

This proposition would promote stricter control on migration from the African states, especially Libya, in exchange for European economic aid to develop richer and more stable economies in said countries. It is in some ways similar to the current agreement with the Turkish government. The Migration Compact calls for the creation of a European fund that would provide socially-driven investments in African countries. The Compact would also create “Africa bonds” in the style of Eurobonds – government bonds issued jointly by the nineteen Euro countries. These bonds would be designed to help African partners invest in innovation and development. This would also allow countries to compensate for the costs accrued by adopting the asylum law. Ultimately, economic migration should be based on “entrance quotas” similar to the US, focusing on those who have acquired some preparatory training and have learned the language of the country to which they want to migrate.

If the refugee issue will be solved through a lasting peace in the Middle East and through the recently demonstrated compassion of those like the Pope, then the issue of economically motivated migration will ultimately be solved by stable and democratic governments that have achieved sustainable development. To reach a mutually acceptable political solution for the EU and Africa will take time, but support and cooperation from all sides is the only path that will succeed. We need to start down this path sooner rather than later.

Maurizio Geri is a PhD Candidate and Research Assistant in International Studies at Old Dominion University. This article was originally published on the Fikra website.

Customize your RSS Feed