أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

التعامل مع خطب الكراهية


متاح أيضاً في English

برز في الآونة الأخيرة جدال آخر حول خطبة مدتها ساعة ألقاها الإمام عمار شاهين في "مركز دافيس الإسلامي" في ولاية كاليفورنيا الأميركية. فقد بدت كلماته مليئة بالحقد ومعادية لليهود إذ قال: "اللهم حرر الأقصى من دنس اليهود. اللهم أهلكهم ولا تبقي منهم أحدًا". وكثرت الخطب المماثلة التي يلقيها أئمة مسلمون. ففي المسجد الأقصى في القدس، على سبيل المثال، قال الشيخ عمر أبو سارة في خطبته: "أقولها بشكل واضح لليهود: لقد حان الوقت لذبحكم، حان الوقت لمقاتلتكم وقتلكم". وفي مونتريال، كندا، أدلى الشيخ محمد بن موسى آل نصر بخطبة في مسجد دار الأرقم طالب فيها بقتل اليهود. وردد الإمام باللغة العربية مقولة منسوبة للرسول: "يَا مُسْلِمُ يَا عَبْدَ اللَّهِ هَذَا يَهُودِيٌّ خَلْفِي تَعَالَ فَاقْتُلْهُ".

وغالبًا خلال هذه الخطب ما يلجأ الخطيب إلى حديث نبوي مزعوم حول وقوع معركة فاصلة يوم الآخرة استنادًا إلى تعاليم دينية خاطئة قائلة إن عشية يوم القيامة سيقاتل المسلمون اليهود ويقتلوهم. وعندها يقول الحجر والشجر: "يا مسلم! يا عبد الله! هذا يهودي خلفي تعال فاقتله". وهنالك ما يزيد على أكثر من 10 آلاف حديث نبوي تمّ جمعها بعد مرور 150 عامًا على وفاة الرسول، ولا زالت صحة بعض تلك الأحاديث محل خلاف.  وقد أصبح هذا الحديث على وجه الخصوص محط جدل لأنه يتناقض والنص القرآني  وينمّي مشاعر العداء في أوساط المسلمين تجاه اليهود، ويمثل ذريعة لروح العنصرية والتعصب.

ومن خلال تحريضهم على إبادة اليهود، يطبّق هؤلاء الخطباء القليلون عقيدتهم بطريقة خاطئة تتعارض مع القرآن الكريم. فخطب الكراهية هذه لا تعكس قيم الإسلام الحقة أو ما يعنيه أن تكون مسلمًا، بل تنشر صراحةً مبادئ مناهضة للمجتمع الديمقراطي الليبرالي. كما أنها تعيق التقدّم الانساني وتزيد من الهجمات الإرهابية التي تستهدف مدنيين أبرياء. وهي تهدّد علاقات المحبة والصداقة المجتمعية، مما يثير الريبة تجاه المسلمين في عالم شفاف.

وردًا على خطب الكراهية التي يلقيها الشيوخ ورجال الدين، أصبحت جرائم الحقد المرتكبة محتمة، لا سيما في ظل بروز جماعات على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي تشيد بالعنف والكراهية وتشيد بالاعتداء على الآخر. وهذا أمر غير مقبول البتة ليس فقط لأنه مخالف للتعاليم والعقيدة السمحة فحسب، بل لأنه انتهاك للقانون. فكلام الكراهية الذي يتسبب بالضرر للآخرين لا يدخل ضمن حرية التعبير. 

وما لم يتوقف هذا المنحى، فإن احتمال وقوع نزاع دموي داخل المجتمعات المتعددة الثقافات كبيرًا، ويجب أن يحتل ردع تفشي هذه الظاهرة أولويات اليهود والمسلمين والمسيحيين وغيرهم.

غير أن إلقاء اللوم على الإسلام وشجب الخطب والسعي إلى تقديم اعتذارات ورفع شكاوى إلى الشرطة وكتابة العرائض ضد الأئمة تدعو إلى طردهم من مناصبهم وترحيلهم، كلها خطوات لن تساعد وحدها على الحد من هذه الظاهرة، بل إن دعم الإسلاميين المعتدلين لنشر رسالتهم التي تنادي بالتسامح، والمحبة، والتعاون، والتعايش السلمي، هو الاسلوب الصواب. فلا يمكن الوقوف في وجه ترويج إيديولوجيا متطرفة شريرة مقدمة تحت غطاء ديني وتقويضها سوى من خلال تعزيز إيديولوجيا الإسلام الليبرالي المعتدل المنمثل بالوسطية، وهي لفظ مأخوذ من القرآن الكريم:}"وَكَذَلِكَ جَعَلْنَاكُمْ أُمَّةً وَسَطاً"{[سورة البقرة، الآية 286:143]. فالإسلام، كما تدعو الوسطية، يتبنى الحوار والعدل والاعتدال والتوازن والتسامح والحرية الدينية للجميع، ويعطي الأولوية إلى حرية الدين قبل الهوية الدينية.     

وتستشهد الوسطية بالقرآن الكريم، الذي يدين العنف والقتل صراحةً، حيث جاء: "مَن قَتَلَ نَفْسًا بِغَيْرِ نَفْسٍ أَوْ فَسَادٍ فِي الأَرْضِ فَكَأَنَّمَا قَتَلَ النَّاسَ جَمِيعًا" (سورة المائدة، الآية 5:32) وقوله تعالى: "فَإِنِ اعْتَزَلُوكُمْ فَلَمْ يُقَاتِلُوكُمْ وَأَلْقَوْا إِلَيْكُمُ السَّلَمَ فَمَا جَعَلَ اللَّهُ لَكُمْ عَلَيْهِمْ سَبِيلًا"، (سورة النساء، الآية 4:90).

وإن للإسلام عرف متجذر من الاعتدال والمصالحة والسلام لمقاومة قوى الشر. كما أن تعاليم الإسلام سلمية وتشدد بانتظام على العفو والرحمة ومسامحة الآخرين واحترامهم والابتعاد عن أي أعمال عدائية تجاه الآخر. وجاء في القرآن الكريم ما نصّه: "لا يَنْهَاكُمُ اللَّهُ عَنِ الَّذِينَ لَمْ يُقَاتِلُوكُمْ فِي الدِّينِ وَلَمْ يُخْرِجُوكُمْ مِنْ دِيَارِكُمْ أَنْ تَبَرُّوهُمْ وَتُقْسِطُوا إِلَيْهِمْ إِنَّ اللَّهَ يُحِبُّ الْمُقْسِطِينَ" (سورة الممتحنة، الآية 60:8). وترمي الآية إلى التشجيع على بناء علاقات جيدة مع كافة الأديان والطوائف والمذاهب وتحظر إيذاء الآخرين. 

وتسعى الوسطية الى نشر أصوات المسلمين المعتدلين الليبراليين الذين يمارسون الوفاق بين الأديان من خلال الحوار والتعاون.  

ويتعين على المسلمين المعتدلين مواجهة المسلمين المتطرفين بالدعوة إلى الانفتاح وتقبّل التنوع والتعددية ورفض سوء تفسير الإيمان غير المبرر والتلاعب بعقول المؤمنين الأبرياء.  

ومن خلال التعبير عن مخاوفنا، نأمل حثّ المجتمع المسلم على شجب الدعوات إلى إبادة الأديان الأخرى. ومن خلال إطلاق دعوة صادقة من القلب لوقف استخدام منابر المساجد أو أية منابر أخرى من أجل الدعوة للعنف مما قد يقود في نهاية المطاف إلى الإبادة والمذابح، ترمي الوسطية إلى بناء عالم أكثر محبة وأكثر إنسانيةً.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Dealing with Hate Sermons


Also available in العربية

September 5, 2017

Recently, another controversy erupted over a one-hour sermon delivered at the Islamic Center of Davis in California by Imam Ammar Shahin. His words sounded hateful and anti-Jewish in tone bidding to "liberate Al- Aqsa mosque from the filth of the Jews. Annihilate them down to the very last one." Other examples of such Muslim sermons abound. In Jerusalem, at Al-Aqsa Mosque, preacher Omar Abu-Sarah stated in one of his sermons, “I say to the Jews loud and clear: The time for your slaughter has come.” In Montreal, Canada, Sheikh Muhammad bin Musa Al Nasr delivered a sermon in Dar Al-Arqam Mosque in which he asked for Jews to be killed. The imam recited in Arabic the saying attributed to the Prophet: "O Muslim, O servant of Allah, there is a Jew behind me, come and kill him."

Often in such sermons, preachers cite this Hadith predicting an apocalyptic battle based on theological teachings that on the eve of Judgment Day Muslims would annihilate Jews. Rocks and trees will callout to Muslims and say, “O Muslim, there is a Jew hiding behind me, come and kill him.” This presumed Hadith is one of more than 10,000 collected 150 years after the death of the Prophet; the authenticity of such a Hadith is disputed this particular Hadith has become controversial for promoting anti-Jewish sentiments among Muslims, providing a presumed pretext for racism and bigotry. In provoking genocide against the Jews, those few preachers are pursuing faith in the very manner against which the Quran warned. These hate sermons are not indicative of the values of Islam or what it means to be a Muslim. Such sermons openly promote concepts that directly contradict those of a liberal society. They resist progression and increase discontent, leading to more terror attacks against innocent civilians. They threaten friendly, communal relationships, stirring suspicions of Muslims in a fragile world.

In reaction to hate sermons delivered by preachers and religious leaders, hate crimes taking place against the other became inevitable, especially with the rise of social media accounts glorifying violence and encouraging violent attacks. It is completely unacceptable. Not only against the faith; it is also against the law. Hate speech that aims to inflict injury on people does not typically fall under freedom of speech protection.

Unless stopped, the likelihood of a bloody conflagration within multi-cultural communities is very high. Stopping this phenomenon should be a priority not only of Jews, but of Muslims, Christians, and others.

Blaming Islam, denouncing the sermons, seeking apologies, filing police complaints, and launching petitions against the imams calling for their dismissal or deportation will not help alone, but supporting moderate Islamists to spread their message of tolerance and peaceful coexistence will. The rhetoric of radical and evil ideology offered in a religious wrapping can only be successfully challenged and undermined by promoting a moderate, liberal Muslim ideology referred to as wasatia, or “middle ground.” Wasatia is a term extracted from the Quran: “Thus have We made of you justly balanced nation” (al-Baqarah 2:143). Islam, as advocated by Wasatia, embraces justice, temperance, balance, tolerance, and religious liberty for all, and puts freedom of religion above that of religious identity.

As its reference, Wasatia refers to the Holy Quran, which explicitly condemns murder, stating, “Whoever kills a soul it is as if he has slain all humanity” (al-Maidah 5:32) and, “So if they withdraw and do not fight you, and offer you peace, then God gives you no way against them” (an-Nisa 4:90).

Islam has a well-established tradition of moderation, reconciliation, and peace resisting the forces of evil. Islamic teachings are peaceful and consistently emphasize kindness, compassion, and respect for others, and steering clear of aggression. In the words of the Quran, “God instructs you to deal kindly and justly with anyone who has not fought you for your faith or driven you out of your homes: God loves the just” (al-Mumtahana 60:8). This verse encourages good relations with all faiths, sects, and creeds, and prohibits harming others.

Wasatia amplifies the voices of open-minded liberal Muslims practicing interfaith reconciliation through dialogue and cooperation.

Moderate Muslims need to call on radical Muslims to come out and embrace diversity and pluralism, and to speak out against the inexcusable misinterpretation of the faith and the manipulation of innocent worshipers.

In voicing our concern, we hope to bring the Muslim community together to publicly denounce calls for genocide against other faiths. In voicing a deeply passionate call to end using mosque pulpits, or any pulpit, for advocating violence that could ultimately lead to genocide, Wasatia aims to create a more humanistic future.

Customize your RSS Feed