أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

هل يمكن أن يتعايش الأكراد مع العرب في عراق متّحد مدعوم من إيران؟


متاح أيضاً في English

7 تشرين الثاني/ نوفمبر 2017

فيما كنت أشاهد حواراً تلفزيونياً الأسبوع الماضي حول التوتّر الراهن بين إقليم كردستان والعراق، رأيت هيثم الجبوري، وهو عضو في مجلس النواب العراقي من حزب "الدعوة" المهيمن، يعلن ما يلي: "لقد انتهك آل برزاني حقوق الشعب الكردي من خلال سوء استخدام السلطة والثروة. سنصحّح كل هذه المصائب من خلال تحطيم رأسَي مسعود برزاني ونيجيرفان برزاني!".

وللأسف، إنّ هكذا ذمّ موجّه ضدّ الرئيس السابق ورئيس الوزراء الحالي لإقليم كردستان يوحي بأنّه بالنسبة لعدد كبير من السياسيين الشيعة في بغداد، لا يقوم الخلاف بالفعل حول الدستور أو الاستفتاء، بل حول الرغبة في الهيمنة العرقية والطائفية وقمع الآخرين. وبالفعل، على مدى الأيام القليلة الأخيرة، تحدّث البعض عن تعديل الدستور بذاته الذي ادّعوا الدفاع عنه، وذلك بكل بساطة من أجل حرمان الأكراد من المزيد من حقوقهم المضمونة بموجبه.

وقد وقعت أحداث أكثر سخريةً وغرابة حتّى. فاشتكاء بغداد من الفساد في إربيل عاصمة كردستان نفاقٌ ما بعده نفاق. وأن ينسى سياسيو حزب "الدعوة" أنّهم لجأوا في كردستان العراق خلال عهد الترهيب في ظلّ حكم صدّام حسين أمرٌ معيب. فلطالما عانى الأكراد من الشوفينية العربية والتركية والفارسية، لكنّ هذه المشكلة تفاقمت في العراق اليوم بحكم التطرّف الطائفي الشيعي المدعوم من التوسّع والجشع الإيراني.

لكن مهما كانت صوابات وإخفاقات محنتنا الحالية، تُظهر الأحداث التي تعاقبت منذ الاستفتاء حول الاستقلال الذي أجري في 25 أيلول/ سبتمبر أنّ الأكراد هم في موقع أكثر ضعفاً بكثير ممّا كنّا نعتقد. فالجيش العراقي وميليشيات "الحشد الشعبي" الشيعية قد سحقت بسهولة قوّات البشمركة الكردية في كركوك وحقول النفط الحيوية فيها، كما في سنجار وأماكن أخرى وصولاً إلى حدودنا في العام 2003 وهي تسيطر اليوم على المعابر إلى تركيا وسوريا أيضاً. وإنّ نوايا هذه القوّات المستقبلية أكثر من واضحة بالرغم من وقف إطلاق النار الهشّ في الوقت الراهن.

وعلى الصعيد الدولي أيضاً، يواجه أكراد العراق ضغوطات اقتصادية وسياسية أكثر شدّة ممّا توقّعنا من الدول المجاورة الأخرى تركيا وإيران، إذ إنّ التجارة وتدفّقات النفط معرّضة للانقطاع، ولو أنّها لا تزال مستمرّة. وتُعتبر الخطابات العنيفة ضدّ "حكومة إقليم كردستان" والدعم التركي والإيراني لجدول أعمال بغداد والتعاون الأمني معه أمورًا روتينية. وقد انهارت علاقاتنا الدبلوماسية الودّية مع أنقرة وعلاقاتنا الصحيحة مع طهران بشكل مفاجئ.

وكان مستوى الدعم من الولايات المتحدة مخيّبًا للآمال بالفعل. فقد علمنا أنّ الحكومة الأمريكية عارضت الاستفتاء، لكنّنا أملنا أنّ تحمينا المشاعر المساندة للأكراد في كل الأحوال. لكن في الواقع، يبدو أنّ الولايات المتحدة قد قررت أنّ مصلحتها في موازاة إيران قد تُخدم بشكل أفضل من خلال الاصطفاف مع بغداد.

غير أنّ هذه الاستراتيجية الأمريكية تبدو منقوصة، فقد زار وزير الخارجية الأمريكي ريكس تيلرسون مؤخراً المنطقة وقام بتصريحات ضد "حرس الثورة الإسلامية" الإيراني والميليشيات الحليفة له. ولكن ماذا لو لم يأخذ أحد هذه التصريحات على محمل الجدّ؟ فبوجود ما يقارب 5 آلاف جندي فحسب من قوّاتها في العراق، هل ستتمكّن الولايات المتحدة حقًا من طرد إيران وتحلّ قوّاتها الوكيلة؟ بأخذ هذا في عين الاعتبار، ليس من المستغرب أن يعتبر عدد كبير من سكان العراق والمنطقة ككل أنّ قاسم سليماني طرفًا فاعلًا أقوى بكثير من بريت ماكغورك أو أي مبعوث أمريكي آخر.

حتّى أن بعض الأكراد، لاسيّما حزب "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" على سبيل المثال لا الحصر، أو في مدينة السليمانية القريبة من إيران، قد يرغبون اليوم في النظر إلى طهران للحصول على أدنى درجة من الحماية. يقاوم معظم الأكراد حتى الآن هذه الرغبة بالرغم من انقساماتهم الداخلية على مدار الثلاث سنوات الماضية ويصرّون على موقف موحّد لـ"حكومة إقليم كردستان" في المفاوضات السياسية الرسمية مع بغداد، مع العلم أنّه لا يزال على هذه الأخيرة الموافقة عليها. وبالرغم من ذلك، لا تنفكّ كل من بغداد وطهران تحاولان تطبيق سياسة "فرّق تسد" مع الأكراد، وذلك من خلال الإشارة في الملفات الرسمية فجأةً ليس إلى إقليم كردستان، بل إلى محافظاته المختلفة، وكذلك من خلال التلويح بعروض دفع بعض الرواتب الحكومية على المستويات المحلّية، ومن خلال التفاوض بشكل غير رسمي مع أعضاء أكراد في مجلس النواب بشكل منفرد أو مع مسؤولين سياسيين أو أمنيين آخرين، وإلى ما هنالك. وتتعامل آخر ميزانية فيدرالية مقترحة مع حكومة إقليم كردستان كحكومة موحدة، وهو ما يمثل انفراجه وذلك بالمقارنة مع البالونات التجريبية الأخيرة حول فصل كل مقاطعة من مقاطعات الإقليم، ولكنه أيضا يقلل بشكل تعسفي حصة ميزانية حكومة إقليم كردستان من 17 إلى 12.6 في المئة.

وفي المرحلة المقبلة، ما هو إذاً الطريق الأفضل للأكراد في ظل هذه الظروف الجديدة الوخيمة؟ وكيف يمكن للولايات المتحدة أن تعدّل سياستها لخدمة مصالحنا المشتركة التي تقضي بمكافحة طموحات إيران في العراق وخارجه بشكلٍ أفضل؟ يبقى الأمل الأكبر فيما نقترب من الانتخابات العراقية الوطنية في 15 أيار/ مايو المقبل في أن تساهم الولايات المتحدة في التوصّل إلى صفقة لأكراد العراق والعرب السنّة لدعم تحالف يرأسه رئيس الوزراء العراقي الحالي حيدر العبادي عوضًا عن المخاطرة بوصول خلف موالٍ أكثر لإيران. وفي هذه الأثناء، ونظراً للاحتمال الفوري بحصول المزيد من التغيرات الأساسية على الأرض، قد تمنح هكذا صفقة العبادي حافزًا مضموناً أكثر لتفادي انتهاكات إضافية لحقوق الأكراد وأرضهم.

وبالنسبة إلى معظم أكراد العراق، قد تنقذ هذه النتيجة على الأقلّ شيئاً مفيداً من حطام الاستفتاء. فمن الأفضل أن نكون شركاء مع عرب العراق من أن نكون تابعين لتركيا أو إيران. وقد يكون من الأفضل أن نبقى إقليماً ذات حكم ذاتي بحقّ في المستقبل القريب بدلًا من أن نكون دولةً مستقلةً معلنة ذاتياً تدخل في صراع خاسر مع كل الدول المجاورة لها. ولا يزال عددًا كبيرًا من الأكراد يطمحون بالاستقلال ذات يوم، لكن على أولويّتهم أن تكون الحفاظ على كرامتهم اليوم.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Can Kurds Coexist with Arabs in Iraq?


Also available in العربية

November 7, 2017

Watching a televised debate last week on the current tension between Kurdistan and Iraq, Haitham al-Jibouri, an Iraqi parliamentarian from the dominant Da’awa Party, made this proclamation: “The Barzanis violated the rights of the Kurdish people by misusing power and wealth. We will correct all these misfortunes by smashing the heads of Masoud Barzani and Nechirvan Barzani!”

Sadly, such violent abuse directed against the former president and the current prime minister of Kurdistan suggests that for too many Shia politicians in Baghdad, the dispute is not really about the constitution or the referendum, but about their desire for ethnic and sectarian domination and oppression of others.  Indeed, over the past few days, some are already talking of amending the very constitution they just pretended to champion, simply in order to further abridge the Kurdish rights guaranteed therein.

Other ironies are even more grotesque. For Baghdad to complain about corruption in Erbil, Kurdistan’s capital, is absurdly hypocritical. And for Da’awa politicians to forget that they found refuge in Kurdistan during Saddam’s reign of terror is shameful.  Kurds have always suffered from Arab, Turkish, or Persian chauvinism; but in Iraq today, that problem is compounded by Shia sectarian extremism, backed by Iranian expansionism and greed.

Yet whatever the rights and wrongs of our current plight, events since the September 25 independence referendum demonstrate that Kurds are in a much weaker position than we believed. The Iraqi army and Popular Mobilization Shia militias easily overran Kurdish Peshmerga forces in Kirkuk and its vital oil fields, Sinjar, and elsewhere back to our 2003 borders, and now control the crossings to Turkey and Syria as well. The future intentions of these forces are far from clear, despite the recent fragile cease-fire.

On the international front, too, Iraqi Kurds are facing tougher economic and political pressures than we anticipated from our other neighbors, Turkey and Iran. Trade and oil flows, while still moving, are subject to interruption. Rhetorical blasts against the KRG, and Turkish and Iranian support for and security coordination with Baghdad’s agenda, are routine. Our friendly diplomatic ties with Ankara, and correct ties with Tehran, have abruptly collapsed.     
 
The level of support from the United States has also proved disappointing. We knew that the United States government opposed the referendum, yet hoped that pro-Kurdish sentiment would protect us anyway. In reality, however, it seems the United States decided that its interest in balancing Iran would be better served by aligning with Baghdad.

But this U.S. strategy appears grievously flawed. Secretary of State Tillerson recently visited the region and made statements against Iran’s IRGC and its allied militias. But what if nobody takes those statements seriously? With just 5,000 or so troops in Iraq, will the United States really kick Iran out and dissolve its proxy forces? With this in mind, it is no wonder that many in Iraq, and in the region as whole, now see Qasem Soleimani as a much stronger player than Brett McGurk, or any other American envoy.

Even some Kurds -- particularly but not only in the PUK party, or in the city of Sulaimani closer to Iran – may be tempted today to look toward Tehran for some minimal degree of protection. So far most Kurds, despite their deepening internal divisions over the past three years, are resisting this temptation, and insisting on a unified KRG stand in formal political negotiations with Baghdad (which the latter has yet to accept). Nevertheless, both Baghdad and Tehran keep trying to divide and conquer the Kurds: by suddenly referring, in official documents, not to the Kurdistan Region but to its separate provinces; by dangling offers to pay some government salaries at local levels; by informally negotiating with individual Kurdish parliamentarians or other political and security officials; and so on. The latest proposed federal budget deals with the KRG as a unit -- a relief compared to recent trial balloons about separating each of the region's provinces. But it also arbitrarily reduces the KRG's budget share from 17 to 12.6 percent.

Looking ahead, what then is the best course for Kurds in these dire new circumstances? And how can the United States adjust its policy to better serve our common interests in countering Iran’s ambitions, in Iraq and beyond? The greatest hope, as we approach the Iraqi national election due next May 15, is for the United States to help broker a deal for Iraq’s Kurds and Sunni Arabs to support a coalition headed by Iraq’s incumbent prime minister, Haidar al-Abadi, rather than risk a more pro-Iranian successor. In the meantime, given the immediate prospect of further major changes on the ground, such a deal might also provide Abadi with a surer incentive to avoid additional encroachments on Kurdish rights or territory.

For most Iraqi Kurds, this outcome would at least salvage something worthwhile from the rubble of the referendum. Better to be a partner with the Arabs of Iraq than a vassal of Turkey or Iran.  And better, perhaps, to remain a truly autonomous region for the foreseeable future, rather than a self-proclaimed independent state in a losing conflict with all of its neighbors. Many Kurds will still aspire to independence someday, but their top priority must be to preserve their dignity today.

Customize your RSS Feed