أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

بناء "قوة مشتركة" للسيطرة على المدن اليزيدية المحررة


متاح أيضاً في English

بعد مرور أكثر من أسبوعيْن على إطلاق عملية "محمد رسول الله الثانية"، وصلت "قوات الحشد الشعبي" إلى الحدود السورية-العراقية غربي الموصل في 29 أيار/مايو 2017. وقد أعلن هادي العامري، وهو أمين عام "منظمة بدر" وأحد قادة "قوات الحشد الشعبي" الأكثر نفوذًا، من الحدود أن "قوات الحشد الشعبي" سوف "تطلق عملية تطهير الحدود انطلاقًا من هذه النقطة باتجاه القائم" في محافظة الأنبار. وكان العامري قد أطلق سابقًا على هذه العمليات اسم "معركة الحدود".

ويبدو جليًا أن عملية "محمد رسول الله الثانية" لم تكن مجرد مسعىً لضرب "الدولة الإسلامية" بل جهدًا حثيثًا بذلته الحكومة العراقية و"قوات الحشد الشعبي" من أجل إعادة نشر القوات الفدرالية في مناطق كانت تخضع سابقًا لسيطرة "حكومة إقليم كردستان." يُذكر أن "قوات الحشد الشعبي" طردت التنظيم من مجموعة من المدن والقرى اليزيدية جنوب سنجار، حيث كانت القحطانية آخر المدن اليزيدية المهمة التي تمّ تطهيرها من قبل "قوات الحشد الشعبي" في 28 أيار/مايو. وتقع هذه المناطق اليزيدية داخل "الحدود الداخلية المتنازع عليها" بين بغداد وإقليم كردستان على السواء. ويتضح أن عملية "قوات الحشد الشعبي" كان مخططًا لها بدقة وعناية إذ سرعان ما تمركزت القوات اليزيدية ضمن "قوات الحشد الشعبي"، أي فوج "لالش"، في المناطق المحررة حديثًا. وقد رحبّت "وحدات مقاومة سنجار" ذات القيادة اليزيدية بـ “قوات الحشد الشعبي" وأُطلق على المرحلة النهائية من العملية شعار "شهداء سنجار" كتذكير بمعاناة اليزيديين.

وبالنسبة إلى "حكومة إقليم كردستان"، يشكّل تقدّم "قوات الحشد الشعبي" نحو المناطق اليزيدية مرحلةً صعبة. فقد تعرّض اليزيديون للإبادة بسبب فشل آلية الأمن التي اعتمدتها "حكومة إقليم كردستان" في مناطق مثل سنجار والقيروان والقحطانية. ورغم نجاح الحكومة في تحرير سنجار، تخوض نزاعًا منذ ذلك الحين مع "وحدات مقاومة سنجار" اليزيدية ومقاتلي "حزب العمال الكردستاني" في هذه المنطقة. وبعد تموضعها على بعد 20 كيلومترًا فقط شمالي المدن اليزيدية طوال العام الفائت، اكتفت قوات "البيشمركة" التابعة لـ “حكومة إقليم كردستان" بمراقبة تجاوز "قوات الحشد الشعبي" لها وسيطرتها على المنطقة. وفي الأيام الأولى من عملية "محمد رسول الله الثانية"، تردّد أن رئيس حكومة الإقليم مسعود بارزاني أخبر المسؤولين في سنجار أنه "يجب ألا تدخل "قوات الحشد الشعبي" إلى هذه المناطق [اليزيدية]". وكان تقدّم هذه القوات قد أظهر "حكومة إقليم كردستان" في موقع الضعف وقد تدعو "قوات الحشد الشعبي" إلى اختبار السيطرة الكردية في مناطق أخرى متنازع عليها مثل طوزخورماتو، شمالي ديالا، وسهل نينوى، شرقي الموصل. وكان القادة الأكراد قد أشاروا إلى أنه قد يكون تمّ تجاوز خط أحمر كردي. وقد عبّر وزير الخارجية العراقي السابق والشخصية البارزة في "الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني" هوشيار زيباري عن المخاوف الكردية في هذا الخصوص. وأطلع قناة "الشرقية" الإخبارية في 30 أيار/مايو على "أننا نشهد توسّع "قوات الحشد الشعبي"، ليس على حدود "إقليم كردستان" فحسب، ولكن أيضًا داخل الإقليم نفسه".

وقد قدمت بغداد الدعم الكامل للعملية التي قادتها "قوات الحشد الشعبي" ولكنها تسعى في الوقت عينه إلى تقليص حدة التوترات مع الأكراد. فبعد يوم واحد فحسب على إطلاق عملية "محمد رسول الله الثانية"، زار وزير الدفاع العراقي عرفان الحيالي واللواء الركن عبد الأمير رشيد يارالله، وهو القائد الأعلى لعملية تحرير نينوى، مقر "قوات الحشد الشعبي" في تل عبطة وعقدوا مؤتمرًا صحفيًا مشتركًا مع نائب رئيس هيئة "قوات الحشد الشعبي" أبو مهدي المهندس. وفى 29 أيار/مايو، زار رئيس الوزراء حيدر العبادي المقر في تل عبطة وشدّد على أن كافة عمليات "الحشد" غرب نينوى تجري بأمر من قيادته. وفى اليوم التالي، عاد وكرّر أن "كافة قواتنا الأمنية تخضع للقيادة العامة للقوات المسلحة ... بما فيها "قوات الحشد الشعبي" وأعيد وأكرر: بما فيها "قوات الحشد الشعبي"". وأضاف أن ""قوات الحشد الشعبي" لم تتقدم باتجاه الحدود من تلقاء ذاتها". ومن خلال هذه التصريحات، حاول العبادي أن يُظهر أن "قوات الحشد الشعبي" ستبقى تحت سيطرة الحكومة العراقية ولن تتخذ أي خطوات ضد الأكراد في المستقبل.
 
غير أن كلمات العبادي - وزيارة فالح الفياض، وهو مستشار الأمن الوطني العراقي ورئيس هيئة "الحشد الشعبي" - لم تنجح كثيرًا في تبديد غضب الأكراد وخوفهم. وكان استطلاع أجراه مؤخرًا "المعهد الديمقراطي الوطني" (امتد من نيسان/أبريل إلى أيار/مايو 2017) قد أظهر أن أكراد العراق يمثّلون المجتمع الأشدّ معارضةً لـ “قوات الحشد الشعبي" والأكثر خوفًا منها ضمن الدولة العراقية. (على سبيل المثال، كانت نظرة 85% من المستطلعين الأكراد سلبية إزاء "الحشد الشعبي" مقابل 23% في المناطق السنية في العراق، و80% من الأكراد يرغبون في حلّ هذه القوات). وربما يتمثّل أمل العبادي الأخير في طمأنة الأكراد في تشكيل قيادة عسكرية موحدة للمناطق المحررة حديثًا في القيروان والقحطانية. وفي 30 أيار/مايو، تحدث العبادي عن هذه الخطة قائلًا: "إن [هذه العمليات] ليست توسّعًا ... لقد اتفقنا [مع "حكومة إقليم كردستان"] على تشكيل قوة مشتركة مؤلفة من القوات العراقية، بما فيها "البيشمركة"... للسيطرة على [هذه المناطق]".

ومن شأن تشكيل قوة مشتركة مماثلة أن يكون حافلًا بالتحديات. فقبل تقدّم "الدولة الإسلامية" في 2014، كانت مناطق على غرار سنجار والقيروان والقحطانية منقسمة بين سيطرة الحكومة الاتحادية و"حكومة إقليم كردستان". وكانت "البيشمركة" وقوات الاستخبارات الكردية توفر أمن هذه المدن، في حين كانت قوات الجيش العراقي الاتحادي (من الجنود اليزيديين بشكل رئيسي) وحرس الحدود تقوم بدوريات في المناطق الريفية. أما الآن، فالوضع أكثر تعقيدًا حتى. ففضلًا عن الأكراد و"قوات الحشد الشعبي" والجيش العراقي، تضمّ المنطقة أيضًا "حزب العمال الكردستاني" ومجموعة من الميليشيات اليزيدية وبعض العناصر الموالية لـ"حكومة إقليم كردستان" وآخرين لـ"قوات الحشد الشعبي" وبعض المرتبطين بـ"حزب العمال الكردستاني" مثل "وحدات مقاومة سنجار". لذلك، لا بدّ من تشكيل قوات شرطة محلية وحرس حدود، علمًا إنّ وكالات الاستخبارات العراقية الرئيسية الستّ إضافةً إلى الوكالات الكردية المشابهة ستنشط في هذه المنطقة. 

ولا بدّ من أخذ التدخل الأجنبي من قبل تركيا و"حزب العمال الكردستاني" وإيران وسوريا في الحسبان. فستكون تركيا الأكثر امتنانًا في حال ضمّت القوة المشتركة المقترحة "حكومة إقليم كردستان" والشرطة والجيش العراقيين، فضلًا عن يزيديين محليين، إذ سيعني ذلك إضعاف القوات التابعة لـ “حزب العمال الكردستاني" في سنجار وإقصاء العناصر الشيعية من "قوات الحشد الشعبي" وإشراك حليفها "الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني" في اللعبة. ومن ناحية أخرى، سيسعى "حزب العمال الكردستاني" إلى الحفاظ على علاقته الخاصة مع "وحدات مقاومة سنجار" اليزيدية، لكنه سيخضع الآن للضغوطات من التحالف القائم بين "حكومة إقليم كردستان" وتركيا من جهة، ومن مساعي "قوات الحشد الشعبي" التوسعية من جهة أخرى، إذ تعتبر هاتان الجهتان "حزب العمال الكردستاني" مصدر تعقيد غير مرغوب فيه لأجندتهما المحلية. فعلى سبيل المثال، لا يجب افتراض أن تقدّم القوات التابعة لـ “حزب العمال الكردستاني" في العراق وسوريا سوف يدعم بالضرورة إقامة ممر خاضع لسيطرة الإيرانيين بين إيران والبحر المتوسط.
وعند محاولة نسج هذه العناصر المختلفة معًا، برز نموذج واحد قد يتمنى العراق اعتماده، ألا وهو نظام "الآليات الأمنية المشتركة" الذي تمّ تأسيسه في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2009، وكان يهدف أساسًا إلى تعزيز التعاون بين الأكراد وبغداد لضمان الأمن خلال الانتخابات العراقية التي جرت في آذار/مارس 2010 في المناطق المتنازع عليها. وقد سهّلت القوات الأمريكية و” نظّمت" سير العمل في "مركز تعاون مشترك في نينوى" حيث تعاون عمداء عراقيون وأكراد وضباط أركان للسماح معًا بتحركات الجنود في "المناطق الأمنية المشتركة". كما ضبط نظامٌ يشمل "نقاط تفتيش مشتركة" تجري إداراتها بشكل مشترك في النقاط الجغرافية الأساسية وتقاطعات الطرق. وبيد أن النظام لم يكن مثاليًا، وفرض على الولايات المتحدة أن تكون وسيطًا صادقًا، تمثلت نتيجته بتراجع الصدامات غير المقصودة بين القوات العراقية والكردية وبإرساء استقرار أكبر. وحيث أنه من المزمع أن تجري انتخابات مجلس محافظة نينوى في وقت لاحق من هذا العام (علمًا بأنها قد تجري في ربيع عام 2018 بالتزامن مع الانتخابات الوطنية العراقية)، ثمة مبرر منطقي واضح لنظام جديد قائم على مبدأ "الآليات الأمنية المشتركة".
وسيكون تأسيس نظام مماثل أصعب بكثير الآن. فبخلاف عام 2009، لا تملك الولايات المتحدة عشرات الآلاف من الجنود في العراق، كما أنها لا تعمل كالقوة الوحيدة التي تتدخل في شؤون البلاد: فحاليًا، أصبح عددٌ كبير من عناصر "قوات الحشد الشعبي" منضوين تحت لواء الميليشيات المعادية للأمريكيين والخاضعة لإمرة الوكالات الإيرانية على غرار نائب رئيس هيئة "قوات الحشد الشعبي" أبو مهدي المهندس المصنف على لائحة الإرهاب الأمريكية. ويجب أن يكون التركيز على الدور المحتمل لـ “قوة المهام المشتركة -» عملية العزم الصلب «" أقل مستوىً مما كان عليه في عهد نظام "الآليات الأمنية المشتركة". وسيقوم القادة العراقيون بتشكيل مجموعة عمل بارزة وبوضع "قواعد اللعبة" في المناطق المتنازع عليها. كما ستستلم الفصائل العراقية والكردية واليزيدية زمام الأمور على الأرض، ولن تتدخل عمليًا "قوة المهام المشتركة" في نقاط التفتيش، بل قد تكون مساهمتها على مستوى "مركز التعاون المشترك"، مع عدد محدود من مسؤولي الروابط والأصول الاستخباراتية لمساعدتها على مراقبة الأوضاع الخطرة وتعقّب التحركات.
ونظرًا إلى تخوّف الأكراد الخاص من "قوات الحشد الشعبي"، لا بدّ من طمأنتهم من خلال وجود ما يُطلق عليه العراقيون اسم "قوات الحكومة الرسميّة" أي الجيش العراقي و"جهاز مكافحة الإرهاب" وحرس الحدود والشرطة. ومن الضروري منح هذه القوات دعمًا لوجستيًا قويًا لتعيد بناء قواعدها في المناطق الصحراوية وتتلقى إمدادات الطعام والمياه والوقود، وهي حاجات قد تتمكن "قوة المهام المشتركة" من تأمينها إلى حين إعادة بناء البنى التحتية. وقد تمتد فترة تجربة القوة المشتركة الجديدة من الآن ولغاية الانتخابات العراقية (وانتخابات نينوى) عام 2018. ولن تجري الانتخابات في المناطق المحررة غربي الموصل إلا في ظل نظام مماثل، وستُعتبر النتائج مقبولة فقط في حال كانت جميع الفصائل حاضرة. أما إن لم يتم انتخاب مجلس المحافظة في نينوى، فلن يكون لديها أساس للتسوية على المدى الطويل. وستُعتبر القيادة العراقية-الكردية والمساعدة الدولية لإنشاء قوة مشتركة عاملًا أساسيًا لضمان المكاسب التي تمّ تحقيقها في ساحات المعارك في نينوى.
 

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Building a “Joint Force” to Control Liberated Yazidi Towns


Also available in العربية

More than two weeks after the launch of the Muhammad Rasallah II operation, the Popular Mobilization Units (PMUs, or al-Hashd al-Shabi) reached the Syria-Iraq border west of Mosul on May 29, 2017. Hadi al-Ameri, leader of the Badr Organization and one of the most influential PMU commanders, announced from the border that the PMUs will "clear the borders from this point down to al-Qaim" in Anbar province. Ameri had previously called these operations "the battle of the borders."

It seems clear that the Muhammad Rasallah II operation was not only an attempt to strike a blow at the so-called Islamic State (IS) but also a concerted effort by the Iraqi government and the PMUs to redeploy federal forces into areas that were previously controlled by the Kurdistan Regional Government (KRG). The PMUs expelled IS from a string of Yazidi towns and villages in south Sinjar. Qahtaniyah was the last important Yazidi town to be cleared by the PMUs on May 28. These Yazidi areas are located inside the Disputed Internal Boundary (DIB) districts, which are claimed by both Baghdad and the Kurdistan region. Clearly, the PMU move was carefully planned because Yazidi PMU forces, the Lalish regiment, were quickly established in the recently liberated areas. The PMUs were welcomed by the Yazidi-manned Sinjar Resistance Units (YBS) and the final phase of the operation was named under the slogan "Martyrs of Sinjar" as a reminder of Yazidi suffering.

For the KRG, the advance of the PMUs into Yazidi areas is a bitter pill. The Yazidi genocide occurred because the KRG security mechanism failed in areas such as Sinjar, Qaraywan, and Qahtaniyah. The KRG liberated Sinjar but has since feuded with the Yazidi YBS and Kurdistan Workers Party (PKK) fighters in the area. After sitting just twenty kilometers to the north of the Yazidi towns for the last year, the KRG Peshmerga just watched the PMUs sweep past them to control the area. In the early days of the Muhammad Rasallah II operations, the president of the KRG, Masoud Barzani, reportedly told Sinjar officials that "Hashd must not enter those [Yazidi] areas." The PMU advance has made the KRG look weak and may invite tests of Kurdish control by the PMUs in other disputed areas like Tuz Khormatu, northern Diyala, and the Ninawa Plains, east of Mosul. Kurdish leaders have suggested that a redline, for them, may have been crossed. Hoshyar Zebari, former Iraqi foreign minister and a prominent figure in the Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP), voiced the Kurdish concerns on this. He told al-Sharqiya news on May 30 that "we are witnessing an expansion by the PMUs, not only on the Kurdistan region's borders but inside the region itself."

Baghdad has fully backed the PMU operation but has also sought to reduce tensions with the Kurds. Just one day after the launch of Muhammad Rasallah II, Iraqi defense minister Arfan al-Hayali and the overall commander of the Ninawa liberation, Lt. Gen. Abdul Ameer Rasheed Yarallah, visited the PMU headquarters in Tal Abta and held a joint news conference with PMU deputy commander Abu Mahdi al-Muhandis. On May 29, Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi visited the Tal Abta headquarters and stressed that all PMU operations in west Ninawa are conducted under his command. The next day, Abadi reiterated that statement, saying, "All our security forces are under the General Command of the Armed Forces...including the PMUs...And I want to emphasize, including the PMUs." He added that "the PMUs did not drive toward the borders all by themselves." With these statements, Abadi tried to show that the PMUs would remain under Iraqi government control and would not act against the Kurds in the future.

Abadi's words -- and a visit to Kurdistan by Faleh al-Fayyad, the Iraqi national security advisor and head of the PMUs -- have done little to lessen Kurdish anger and fear. Recent polling by the National Democratic Institute in April and May found the Kurds to be the Iraqi community most strongly opposed to and most fearful of the PMUs . For instance, 85% of Kurdish respondents had an unfavorable view of the PMUs, versus 23% in the Sunni areas of Iraq, and 80% of Kurds want the disbandment of the PMUs. Abadi's last hope of reassuring the Kurds may be the formation of unified military command for the newly liberated areas in Qaraywan and Qahtaniyah. On May 30, Abadi talked about this plan: "[These operations] are not an expansion...We have agreed [with the KRG] to form a joint force that includes Iraqi forces, including the Peshmerga...to control [these areas]."

Building such a joint force is a daunting challenge. Before the IS advance in 2014, areas like Sinjar, Qaraywan, and Qahtaniyah were split between federal and KRG control. The towns were secured by Peshmerga and Kurdish intelligence forces, while the rural areas were patrolled by federal Iraqi army forces -- mostly Yazidi troops -- and border guards. Now the situation is even more complex. In addition to the Kurds, the PMUs, and the Iraqi army, the area also contains the PKK and an array of Yazidi militias, some pro-KRG, some pro-PMU, and some, like the YBS, tied to the PKK. Local police forces and border guard units need to be formed, and the six main Iraqi intelligence agencies plus their Kurdish equivalents will be active in the area.

Then there is the foreign involvement of Turkey, the PKK, Iran, and Syria. Turkey will be most content if the proposed joint force includes the KRG, Iraqi police and army, and local Yazidis. This will mean the weakening of the PKK-affiliated forces in Sinjar as well as the exclusion of the Shia elements of the PMUs and inclusion of its ally, the KDP, in the game. The PKK will seek to maintain its special relationship with the Yazidi YBS, but it will now be squeezed by the KRG-Turkey alliance on one side and expansionist PMUs on the other, both of which view the PKK as an unwanted complication to their local agendas. For example, it should not be assumed that the PKK-affiliated forces in Iraq and Syria will necessarily support the development of an Iranian-controlled corridor between Iran and the Mediterranean.

When trying to weave together these disparate elements, one model that Iraq may wish to adapt is the Combined Security Mechanism (CSM) system that was established in December 2009, initially to forge Kurdish-Baghdad cooperation in securing the March 2010 Iraqi elections in the disputed areas. U.S. forces facilitated and "umpired" the operation of a Ninawa Combined Cooperation Center in which Iraqi and Kurdish generals and staff officers worked together to jointly authorize troop movements in the so-called Combined Security Areas (CSAs). A system of jointly manned Combined Check Points controlled key geographic points and road junctions. Though the system was not perfect, and required the United States to act as an honest broker, the result was fewer unintended clashes between Iraqi and Kurdish forces and greater stability. With Ninawa Provincial Council elections due later this year -- and likely to take place in spring 2018 alongside Iraqi national elections -- there is a clear rationale for a new CSM-type system.

Building such a system will be far more difficult now. Unlike in 2009, the United States does not have tens of thousands of troops in Iraq. Nor is the United States operating as the sole intervening power; now many elements of the PMUs are anti-American militias controlled by Iranian proxies like PMU deputy commander Muhandis, a U.S.-designated terrorist. The potential role for the Combined Joint Task Force (CJTF) Operation Inherent Resolve would need to be lower-profile than in the CSM days. Iraqi leaders would need to form a senior working group and set the rules of the road in disputed areas. Iraqi, Kurdish, and Yazidi factions would lead on the ground, and there would be practically no CJTF involvement at the checkpoint level. Instead the CJTF contribution could be at the Combined Cooperation Center level, with a small liaison staff and intelligence assets to help monitor dangerous situations and track movements.

Due to their special concern regarding the PMUs, the Kurds need to be reassured by the presence of what Iraqis call the "formal forces" of the government (al-quwwat al-rasmiyya, meaning the Iraqi army, Counter-Terrorism Service, border guards, and police). Such forces need to be allocated strong logistical support to rebuild their bases in the desert areas and receive food, water, and fuel supplies, which are needs that CJTF may be able to meet until infrastructure has been reconstructed. A trial run for the new joint force might cover the period from now until Iraqi (and Ninawa) elections in 2018. Only with such a system in place will the elections be held in the liberated areas west of Mosul, and only if all factions are present will the results be accepted. If Ninawa has no elected provincial council, it will have no basis for long-term normalization. Iraqi-Kurdish leadership and international assistance for a joint force will be a critical factor in securing the gains that have been made on the battlefields of Ninawa.

Customize your RSS Feed