أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الجسر البري الإيراني ليس كارثة


متاح أيضاً في English

يسيطر الخوف من أن تكون إيران بصدد بناء جسر يصلها بمنطقة البحر المتوسط كوسيلة لبسط هيمنتها على المنطقة على تفكير الجيش الأمريكي وأفعاله في العراق وسوريا. ومن شأن السماح لهذه الشكوك بأن توجه دفة الإستراتيجية أن يدفع بالولايات المتحدة إلى صراع غير متوقّع قد يستمر لفترة طويلة بعد دحر تنظيم "داعش".

وكانت بدأت هذه التكهنات بعدما استحدثت الميليشيات الشيعية العراقية المدعومة من إيران لنفسها دورًا في الحملة ضد تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" في الموصل، لتواصل بسط سيطرتها على قرى صغيرة في القسم الصحراوي جنوب المدينة وغربها. وقد حققت مكاسب منذ تشرين الأول/أكتوبر من العام الماضي: حاصرت قرية تلعفر التي كانت خاضعة للتنظيم واستولت على مطارها، واحتلت عددًا من المدن والقرى الأخرى الصغيرة في سنجار، وقطعت خطوط "الدولة الإسلامية" غرب الموصل وتقدمت جنوبًا على طول الحدود العراقية-السورية. 

وفي ذلك الوقت، أثار تقدّم الميليشيات المدعومة من إيران نحو الخطوط الأمامية الكردية شمال العراق مخاوف القادة الأكراد العراقيين، ظلت "حكومة إقليم كردستان" منهمكة عمومًا في الدفاع عن أراضيها المحاذية. وقد تنامت هذه المخاوف بعد الاستفتاء المثير للجدل الذي أجراه الإقليم على الاستقلال في 25 أيلول/سبتمبر. وخلال الأسبوع الجاري، ازدادت خشية الأكراد مع صدور تقارير مفادها أن القوات الحكومية العراقية والميليشيات الموالية لإيران تتركز حول مدينة كركوك الغنية بالنفط والمتنازع عليها. وبات القادة الأكراد الآن يفكرون أن المواجهة وشيكة. وبالنسبة للأطراف الفاعلة الخارجية، دق تقدم الميليشيات الشيعية العراقية باتجاه الحدود العراقية-السورية من جهة والقوات الموالية للأسد من جهة أخرى، ناقوس الخطر إزاء احتمال إعداد إيران مشروعًا يربطها بساحل البحر المتوسط. 

ورغم أنه لم تعمد أي جهة إلى صياغة كيفية نجاح المخطط الإيراني بدقة، يبدو أن الإدارة الأمريكية تفترض أن إيران رسمت خطة سرية. وقد أوردت صحيفة "واشنطن بوست" في 21 حزيران/يونيو أن كبار المسؤولين في البيت الأبيض يعتقدون الآن أن إيران "تركّز على إقامة رابط مع القوات الموالية لها في الجانب الآخر من الحدود [العراقية-السورية] ...لمنعنا من تنفيذ ما رآه قادتنا وواضعو الخطط ضروريًا لإنجاز الحملة ضد تنظيم [الدولة الإسلامية]". 

وكان الطرفان يسعيان إلى تأكيد حضورهما العسكري شرق سوريا. وقد أسفر ذلك عن حوادث خطيرة شملت، في أيار/مايو وحزيران/يونيو، قصف الولايات المتحدة لقوافل عسكرية سورية، وإسقاط طائرة حربية سورية وطائرة إيرانية من دون طيار إلى جانب مواجهة إطلاق صواريخ باليستية  إيرانية ولو من دون جدوى. 

وتشير ردات الفعل العسكرية، أقله لبعض الوقت، إلى أن إستراتيجية الإدارة غير المنجزة بعد لمستقبل سوريا تشمل إبقاء القوات الموالية للأسد خارج شرق سوريا. لكن القول سيكون حتمًا أسهل من الفعل في ما يخص منع دمشق من الحصول على منفذ إلى الحدود. 

ومن حيث الاستنتاج المنطقي، قد تؤدي هذه المقاربة وتوسيع أهداف المهمة، إلى جعل القوات الأمريكية تتمركز بشكل دائم شرق سوريا، أو حتى إلى بناء دولة بهدف وضع دويلة سنّية في درب إيران. وقد يؤدي التوجس بفكرة هذا الممر البري المبهم إلى وضع الولايات المتحدة على درب محفوف بالمخاطر يقود إلى أزمة أخرى في الشرق الأوسط. 

وفي حين يؤمل أن يكون انعدام الأعمال العدائية بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران في شرق سوريا خلال الأشهر الثلاثة الماضية مؤشرًا على سيادة العقول الهادئة، إلا أن العجز عن التنبؤ بمقررات البيت الأبيض في ظل عهد ترامب قد يساهم في تصعيد آخر طالما أن دوائر السياسة الحذرة تواصل إثارة المخاوف

وقبل السماح لهذه النظرية بقيادة دفة سياسة الولايات المتحدة، يجب أن نفكر في ما إذا كان ممرًا مماثلًا إلى البحر يحتل سلّم أولويات إيران، لا سيما أن هناك ثلاثة أسباب رئيسية تدعو إلى استبعاد هذا الأمر. 

أولًا، ترسل إيران أساسًا مقاتلين وإمدادات إلى سوريا و"حزب الله" بأحجام كبيرة. فتحسين لوجستيات النقل الإيرانية عبر سوريا إلى لبنان ليس بحدّ ذاته حافزًا مقنعًا. 

ثانيًا، كان هناك ممر بري بين إيران والبحر المتوسط -- طريق بغداد-دمشق السريع -- منذ 2003 وحتى عام 2013، إلى أن قطعه تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية". ولم تبدّل هذه الخطوة قواعد اللعبة في ذلك الوقت. فما الذي سيجعلها تخلف أثرًا الآن؟

ثالثًا، سيمتد ممرًا جديدًا على طول مئات الأميال عبر العراق تحت مراقبة الجيش الأمريكي والقبائل السنّية وخلايا "الدولة الإسلامية" النائمة ومتمردين سابقين. ومن المستبعد أن يكون أكثر أمانًا أو أكثر ملاءمة من البدائل الجوية أو البحرية الحالية.

وهناك خمسة تفسيرات محتملة لتحركات فروع إيران. ففي شمال العراق، كانت الميليشيات الشيعية تعمل على ترسيخ حضور قوي يمنع بقايا "الدولة الإسلامية" من التوحد مجددًا. وكانت هذه المنطقة جنوب الموصل مسرحًا لعمليات التنظيم قبل سقوط الموصل في حزيران/يونيو 2014، ما جعل الجماعات العراقية المحبطة التي تكافح للدفاع عن خطوط أنابيب النفط الإستراتيجية القريبة تطلق عليها لقب "تورا بورا".  ويجعل إعلان بغداد هذا الأسبوع عن خططها لإصلاح خط أنابيب التصدير إلى تركيا ضمان أمن هذه المنطقة أولوية. 

علاوةً على ذلك، قد تعتبر إيران أنه ليس من مصلحتها بناء قاعدة غرب الموصل قريبة من مناطق "حكومة إقليم كردستان" لفرض ضغوطات إضافية على هذه الأخيرة ومنعها من دمج هذه الأراضي في أي دولة كردية مستقلة قد تبرز في المستقبل. وبعد استفتاء الأكراد على الاستقلال، الذي أدانته إيران بشدة، سيتّم على الأرجح تسليط ضوء أكبر على هذا العنصر في ظل سعي طهران إلى منع "حكومة إقليم كردستان" من اتخاذ أي خطوات إضافية باتجاه الانفصال عن العراق.

وكان يجول على الأرجح في خاطر صناع المخططات الإيرانيين والميليشياويين هدفان مضادان لتركيا. فإقامة قاعدة عسكرية غرب الموصل قد تمكّن إيران من دعم أكراد سوريا المجاورين التابعين لـ "حزب العمال الكردستاني" الرازحين تحت وطأة تهديدات خصم الجمهورية الإسلامية، تركيا. وللمفارقة، إنهم الأكراد السوريون نفسهم الذين تعتبرهم الولايات المتحدة حلفاء لها. فضلًا عن ذلك، من شأن إقامة قاعدة إيرانية هناك أن يرسي ثقلًا موازنًا للوجود العسكري التركي في بعشيقة شمال الموصل. وسيسمح لإيران بأن يكون لها رأي في مستقبل الموصل، ربما من أجل منع أي مسعى إلى الاستقلال قد يطلقه رجال سياسة سنّة بدعم من تركيا ودول الخليج العربي.

وقد يصبح هذان الاعتباران أقل أهمية، على الأقل بشكل مؤقت، في وقت تسعى فيه إيران وتركيا إلى العمل بشكل مشترك من أجل معاقبة "حكومة إقليم كردستان" ومنع انفصالها عن العراق. غير أنه لا يمكن تجاهل قيمتهما الإستراتيجية.

أخيرًا، في حال تمكنت إيران من الادعاء أن لها بعض الفضل في مساعدة العراق وسوريا على دحر تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" وطالبت بالسيطرة على حدودهما، قد يحسّن ذلك صورتها - وصورة وكلائها - في المنطقة. 

ويمكن أن يعتري الولايات المتحدة القلق من أن تكون أفعال إيران تقوي حلفاء طهران وتعمل ضد مصالح حلفاء أمريكا في المنطقة. لكن يجب ألا يغيب عن بال واشنطن أنه حتى لو كانت الجمهورية الإسلامية تهدف إلى بناء جسر بري من إيران إلى سوريا، فإن هذا الجسر كان قائمًا في السابق. وسيكون مصدر إزعاج جغرافيًا يمكن السيطرة عليه ستتعلم الولايات المتحدة كيفية الحدّ منه، ويُستحسن أن يتمّ ذلك من خلال التعاون مع العراقيين في الجانب الآخر من الحدود.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

An Iranian Land Bridge Is Not the End of the World


Also available in العربية

October 16, 2017

Fear that Iran is working to build a bridge to the Mediterranean as a path to regional hegemony is hanging over U.S. military thinking and actions in Iraq and Syria. Allowing this suspicion to drive strategy could drag America into an unpredictable conflict that may continue long after the Islamic State is gone.

The speculation started after Iran-backed Iraqi Shia militias created a role for themselves in the campaign against the Islamic State in Mosul, pursuing control of small towns in the desert south and west of the city. They made gains since October of last year: they surrounded the Islamic State-held town of Tal Afar and captured its airport, took a number of other small towns and villages around the town of Sinjar, cut Islamic State lines west of Mosul, and advanced south along the Iraq-Syria border.

The Iranian-backed militias’ advance toward Kurdish frontlines in northern Iraq at that time alarmed Iraqi Kurdish leaders. The Kurdish Regional Government (KRG) is concerned mostly with defending their adjacent territory. These concerns grew more intense in the aftermath of the Kurdish region’s controversial independence referendum on September 25. Kurdish anxiety spiked this week with reports of Iraqi government forces and pro-Iranian militias concentrating around the disputed oil-rich city of Kirkuk. Kurdish leaders now think confrontation is imminent. To outside actors, the advance to the Iraq-Syria border from one side by the Iraqi Shia militias, and from the other side by pro-Assad forces, raised warnings of an Iranian project to connect with the Mediterranean shore.

Despite the fact that nobody has articulated how exactly this Iranian scheme would work, the administration seems to assume that Iran has a secret plan at work. The Washington Post reported on June 21, that senior White House officials now believe Iran to be “focused on making that link-up with Iran-friendly forces on the other side of the [Iraqi-Syrian] border…to block us from doing what our commanders and planners have judged all along is necessary to complete the [Islamic State] campaign.”

The two sides have been trying to assert their military presence in Eastern Syria. This has precipitated serious incidents, including, in May and June, the U.S. bombing of Syrian military convoys, shooting down Syrian aircraft and Iranian drones, and brazen, if ineffective, Iranian ballistic missile launches.

The military tit for tat suggested, at least for a while, that the administration’s yet-to-be finalized strategy for Syria’s future involves keeping pro-Assad forces out of eastern Syria, but denying Damascus access to the border would be easier said than implemented.

Taken to its logical conclusion, this approach and mission creep could lead to U.S. troops permanently stationed in eastern Syria, or even to state-building to create a Sunni statelet in Iran’s path. Obsessing over this vague land corridor notion can put the United States on a perilous path to another Middle East entanglement.

The lack of hostilities between the United States and Iran in eastern Syria in the last three months is hopefully a sign that cooler heads prevailed, but the unpredictability of the Trump White House could produce another escalation so long as wary policy circles continue to stoke the fears.

Before letting this theory drive U.S. policy, we must consider whether such a path to the sea is a top Iranian priority. There are three primary reasons to think not.

First, Iran already sends fighters and supplies to Syria and Hezbollah on a significant scale. Improving Iran’s transportation logistics through Syria to Lebanon is not, in itself, a convincing motive.

Second, a land corridor from Iran to the Mediterranean--the Baghdad-Damascus highway-- existed from 2003 until almost 2013, until the Islamic State cut the link. It was not a game-changer then. What would make it so now?

Third, a new corridor would pass hundreds of miles through Iraq under the watch of the U.S. military, Sunni tribes, Islamic State sleeper cells, and former insurgents. It is unlikely to be safer or more convenient than current air or sea alternatives.
There are five more likely explanations for the movements by Iran’s affiliates.

In northern Iraq, Shia militias have been working to establish a strong presence that keeps Islamic State remnants from regrouping. That area south of Mosul was a staging ground for the group before Mosul’s fall in June 2014. So much so, it earned the nickname “Tora Bora” by dispirited Iraqi crews struggling to defend nearby strategic oil pipelines. Baghdad’s announcement this week of plans to repair the export pipeline to Turkey makes securing this area a priority. 

Further, Iran may consider it advantageous to establish a base west of Mosul close to KRG areas, in order to apply further pressure on the KRG and prevent them from incorporating these territories into a future independent Kurdistan. Following the Kurdish independence referendum, which Iran strongly condemned, this element will likely receive more emphasis as Iran seeks to deter the KRG from taking further steps toward secession from Iraq.

There may have been two counter-Turkish objectives in the minds of Iranian and militia planners. An outpost west of Mosul can enable Iran to support the nearby Kurdistan Worker’s Party (PKK)-affiliated Syrian Kurds who are under threat from Iran’s rival Turkey. Ironically, these are the same Syrian Kurds the United States considers allies. Moreover, an Iranian outpost there would counterbalance Turkish military presence in Bashiqa to the north of Mosul. It would allow Iran to have a say in Mosul’s future, perhaps to deter a push for autonomy by Sunni politicians backed by Turkey and Gulf Arab states.

These two considerations may become, at least temporarily, less important as Iran and Turkey explore joint action to punish the KRG and prevent its secession from Iraq. Their strategic value, however, cannot be overlooked.

Finally, if Iran can claim some credit for helping Iraq and Syria defeat the Islamic State and reclaim control over their borders, it could improve Iran’s - and its proxies’-image in the region.

The United States could be concerned that Iran’s actions are shoring up Tehran’s allies and working against the interests of U.S. regional allies. But, Washington needs to remember that even if a land bridge from Iran to Syria is Iran’s goal, such a bridge existed before today. It would be a manageable geographic nuisance the United States could learn to mitigate, preferably by working with Iraqis on their side of the border.

Customize your RSS Feed