أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

العبادي و«قوات الحشد الشعبي»


متاح أيضاً في English

07 فبراير /شباط 2018

تخبّطت الساحة السياسية في العراق في حالة من الارتباك خلال الأسابيع الماضية حين أقدم رئيس الوزراء حيدر العبادي على المقاربة لفترة وجيزة بين حلفه الانتخابي وتحالف «الفتح» الانتخابي الذي يرأسه بعض قياديي الميليشيات العراقية الشهيرة والمدعومة من إيران. ومع أن هذا التقارب دام أقل من 24 ساعة، إلا أن الواقعة أثارت لدى الكثيرين داخل العراق وخارجه تساؤلات جدية حول الوجه الحقيقي لرئيس الوزراء.

فما الذي دفع العبادي إلى السعي وراء مثل هذا التحالف المُخجل؟ لعله سوء تقدير، أو ربما تركيزه على احتواء المنافسة – بمعنى أنه تصرّف على أساس مبدأ إبقاء الروابط بالأصدقاء وثيقة والروابط بالأعداء أوثق. لكن واقع أن السياسيين المنتمين إلى الميليشيات هم الذين أعلنوا عن فضّ هذا التقارب يوحي بأنهم هم الذين اعتبروه خطأ. وفي الواقع، يهدف انسحاب الميليشيات من التحالف إلى تشويه سمعة العبادي وإحباط خطته في نزع سلاح تلك المليشيات. وقد بدأ كل ذلك مع نوري المالكي الذي خدع العبادي بتسجيل كتلة حزب "الدعوة" تحت اسمه، وذلك على عكس الاتفاق الذي ابرمه مع العبادي الذي كان رده مفرطا حيث سارع وانضم التحالف التابع لـ «قوات الحشد الشعبي». ومن الواضح أن أحداث الأسبوع الماضي تركت العبادي في مكانة أضعف في عيون مناصريه وأبقت العراقيين بعيدين عن أي حلٍّ للسؤال الأكبر المطروح في العراق ما بعد «داعش»، ألا وهو: ماذا سيحلّ بكل التنظيمات المسلّحة التي خلّفتها الحرب؟

والجدير بالذكر هو أنّ الدولة العراقية عاجزة منذ عام 2003 عن الانفراد بصلاحية استعمال القوة. واليوم، بعد إعلان النصر على تنظيم «داعش» في كانون الأول/ديسمبر، يتمثل التحدي الكبير التالي أمام رئيس الوزراء حيدر العبادي أو خلفه لعام 2018 في إيجاد سبيلٍ لتفكيك «قوات الحشد الشعبي» حبّيًا أو استلام إدارتها بشكل فعلي، علمًا أن قوات المتطوعين أدت دورًا مهمًا في زيادة عدد قوات أمن الدولة العراقية فيما كانت تكافح لاستعادة قوتها وإعادة بناء نفسها بعد غزو «داعش» عام 2014.

ولكن لا بد من الإشارة إلى أن «قوات الحشد الشعبي» ليست تنظيمًا موحّدًا، إنما تتألف عمومًا من فئتين هما الوحدات المنضوية تحت إمرة رجل الدين البارز آية الله علي السيستاني والمقامات الشيعية المقدسة والموالية له وهي القوات الخيّرة من «الحشد الشعبي»، والوحدات التابعة والموالية لوكلاء «حرس الثورة الإسلامية» الإيراني وحلفائه وتشمل تنظيم «بدر» و«عصائب أهل الحق» و«كتائب حزب الله»، وهي القوات السيئة. فالتحدي المطروح إذًا هو تحديدًا التعامل مع الفئة الثانية. فتجمع فصائل «الحشد الشعبي» هذه روابط وثيقة بإيران، وهي متورطة في أعمال إجرامية وانتهاكات لحقوق الإنسان ― بما فيها جرائم قتل خارجة عن اختصاص المحاكم ومنع عودة النازحين داخليًا، ناهيك عن أن قيادييها بدأوا يترجمون الانتصارات الحربية إلى انتصارات سياسية، وسبق أن شكلوا قائمة حزبية بأسماء المرشحين للانتخابات المقبلة، وزعيمها المدعو هادي الأميري هو من السياسيين القلائل القادرين على خوض منافسة جدية في وجه العبادي.

ولم يخلُ الأمر من بعض التوقعات أغلبها من خارج العراق بأن يفكك السيستاني قواته بعد الحرب – فما عليه إلا أن يعطي الأمر بذلك. ولكن السيستاني يعتقد للوقت الراهن أنه يجب الإبقاء على سلاح قواته واستخدامها في خدمة الدولة، وهذا قرار ناتج في الظاهر عن التخوف من معاودة ظهور «داعش»، مع أنه قد يعني أيضًا أن العلاّمة يأخذ حذره من حلفاء إيران ويريد الحفاظ على ولاء الوحدات له كقوة موازنة في وجه وكلاء إيران. ففي النهاية، ظهرت تقارير تفيد عن حدوث دمجٍ وتوحيد داخل "«وحدات الحشد الشعبي» الخيّرة".

بيد أن تفكيك الميليشيات أو حتى السيطرة عليها يستدعي اهتمامًا أكبر كون العراق مُقدمًا على انتخاباته العامة الأولى منذ سقوط الموصل عام 2014. وتعود أهمية هذه الانتخابات إلى أنها ستشكل فرصةً لإعادة بدء العملية السياسية بعد مرور أربعة أعوام مدمّرة فقد فيها الكثير من ممثلي الشعب مصداقيتهم. فالوجود غير المنظّم للميليشيات في زمن الانتخابات يضع العراق أمام مفترق طرق، حيث سيقاس مستقبل الدولة بما إذا كانت نتيجة الانتخابات ستوجِد الظروف اللازمة لاستمرار الحالة نفسها، أي احتكار الأقليات القديمة وأسياد الحرب الجدد لزمام اللعبة، أم أن هذه الانتخابات ستتيح للعراقيين اتخاذ قرارٍ حر وإنتاج حكومة قوية قادرة على المضي بعملية نشطة لمكافحة الفساد وحكومة متجاوبة مع الشعب لا مع المصالح المستحكمة.

وإذا وضعنا جانبًا اللحظة العابرة التي تودد فيها العبادي إلى تحالف«الفتح» في الأسبوع الماضي، فإن لهجة العبادي على مدى الأسابيع الأخيرة كانت تحذّر من "تقدّم قريب" ضد "رؤوس الفساد" ونحو نزع سلاح التنظيمات المسلحة. ومنذ ذلك الوقت، نفذت القوات الحكومية عدة عمليات لمصادرة الأسلحة غير الشرعية في مدينة الصدر، وآخرها عملية اعتقال ابن محافظ النجف الحالي. وقد تكون طبيعة هذه العمليات استقصائية هدفها جسّ النبض قبل الإقدام على عمليات أضخم. فمشكلتا الفساد والميليشيات متشابكتان للغاية في العراق، ويصعب تصوّر إمكانية تنفيذ قمع لواحدة بدون ارتدادها على الأخرى.

إلا أن التقارير التي تصف الآلية التي يفترض أن يتبعها العبادي لنزع سلاح الميليشيا، أملفّقةً كانت أو متّسمة بشفافية غريبة، ستصعّب أي إجراءات مفاجئة في هذا الخصوص. فهل يا ترى يدرس العبادي حملةً واسعة النطاق مشابهة لعملية "صولة الفرسان" التي أطلقها خلفه نوري المالكي عام 2008 حين سعى إلى القضاء على التهديد الأكبر آنذاك، أي "جيش المهدي" التابع لمقتضى الصدر. لقد كانت مناورة المالكي لتؤول إلى نهاية كارثية لولا الدعم المباشر من الجيش الأمريكي. وصحيحٌ أن الجيش العراقي بات اليوم متمرّسًا بفضل خبرته في المعارك وصار يمتلك قوةً جويةً مؤهلة، إلا أن قدرات الميليشيات آخذةٌ هي أيضًا في التعاظم.

وهنا، يمكن أن يكون للولايات المتحدة دور، على أن يكون تركيز واشنطن على ثلاثة محاور وهي: الحفاظ على اتصال وثيق بالعبادي لتفادي أي تصرف عسكري متسرّع  وغير منسّق، ومساعدة العبادي على تحديد أولوية الأهداف الصحيحة لأي تدابير حكيمة لمكافحة الفساد ونزع السلاح، ووضع خطة طوارئ لمساعدة بغداد في حال نشوب مواجهة مسلحة واسعة النطاق مع الميليشيات. وعلاوةً على الاعتبارات الأمنية الفورية، من شأن الفعاليات المماثلة لمنتدى إعادة الإعمار المزمع إقامته الشهر المقبل في الكويت أن تتيح الفرصة أمام مجموعة المعنيين الكبرى أن تناقش المبادرات الاقتصادية والسياسية الكفيلة بالتشجيع على تفكيك القوات بصورة طوعية.

ويشكل وجود «قوات الحشد الشعبي» ― بلا حسيب ولا رقيب وإمكانية تناميها وتحوّلها إلى نسخة عن «حرس الثورة الإسلامية» الإيراني أو «حزب الله» ― تهديدًا للعراق وللولايات المتحدة والدول العربية المجاورة التي تتخوف من النفوذ الإيراني المتنامي في العراق وسوريا. وثمة مصلحة مشتركة في تفكيك القوات المسلحة، والعمل مع العبادي يخدم هذه المصلحة المشتركة. ولذلك، يتعين على الولايات المتحدة وحلفائها أن يتفادوا الإدلاء بتصريحات تؤتي بنتائج عكسية وتستند إلى معلومات غير دقيقة يطلبون فيها من "الإيرانيين" مغادرة العراق، أو بتصريحات تفتقر إلى الدبلوماسية بشكل فادح وتقوّض التعاون. إذ يجب أن يتمثل الهدف في مساعدة بغداد على الابتعاد عن النزاع المفتوح فيما تتخلص البلاد شيئًا فشيئًا من الميليشيات وتطبّق الإصلاحات الحكومية المحيّرة، كما وفي الاستعداد لنجدة العراق في حال تكرر سيناريو عام 2008. ومن ثم، يجدر بالدول التي تنادي بسياسة لجم الميليشيات أن تكون مستعدةً لدعم تطبيق هذه السياسة بما هو أكثر من مجرد تمنيات.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Abadi and the PMF


Also available in العربية

February 07, 2018

In the past few weeks, Iraqi politics were thrown into confusion as Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi briefly aligned his electoral coalition with the Fatih Coalition, the electoral alliance led by some of notorious Iran-backed Iraqi militia (PMF) leaders. The union lasted less than 24 hours, but for many in Iraq and outside, the episode brought into serious question the Prime Minister’s true colors. 

Why did Abadi seek such a cringeworthy alliance? Possibly a lapse of judgment. Possibly he did it with the containment of his competition in mind―an act of keeping one’s friends close and enemies closer. The fact that it was the militia-affiliated politicians who announced pulling the plug suggests that they thought it was a mistake. In fact, the militia’s withdrawal from this coalition was intended to discredit Abadi and his disarmament plan. It all had started with Nouri al-Maliki, who tricked Abadi by registering both Dawa Party blocs under his name, contrary to deals he made with Abadi ― who then overreacted by joining forces with the PMUs. What is clear though is that the events of last week left Abadi weaker in the eyes of his supporters, and Iraqis not any closer to finding a solution for the biggest question for post-Islamic State Iraq: what to do with all the armed groups leftover from the war?

Establishing the state’s monopoly on violence has eluded the Iraqi government since 2003. After declaring victory over the Islamic State in December, the next major challenge for Prime Minister Abadi or his successor after the May 2018 election will be finding a way to amicably demobilize or take actual control of the PMF. The volunteer force played a major role in augmenting Iraq’s state security forces as they struggled to recover and rebuild following the Islamic State onslaught in 2014.

It is fundamental to note that the PMF is not a monolithic group. Broadly speaking, there are two categories: units organized under and loyal to the senior clergy of Ayatollah Sistani and the holy Shiite shrines aka, “the good PMF;" and units organized by and loyal to proxies and allies of Iran’s Revolutionary Guard Corps ― including Badr, Asa’ib Ahl al-Haq, and Kata’ib Hezbollah, aka, “the bad PMF." The challenge is dealing with this second category: those factions of the PMF that maintain close relations with Iran, have engaged in criminal acts or human rights abuses — including extrajudicial killings and preventing IDPs’ return — and whose leaders have political ambitions with Iranian flavors and sectarian underpinnings. These have stuck around, and their leaders have begun to translate the battle gains to political ones. They have already formed a party list to compete in the next election, and their leader, Hadi al-Amiri, is one of the few politicians who could give Abadi a run for his money.

There were expectations -- mainly outside Iraq -- that Sistani might demobilize his follower after the war; if he said the word, they would. For now, however, Sistani thinks his followers within the PMF should remain under arms and be used in the service of the state. This decision is ostensibly out of concern about possible resurgence of the Islamic State. It may also imply that the senior cleric is wary of Iran’s allies and wants to keep units loyal to him as a counterbalance to Iran’s proxies. There are corresponding reports of consolidation among the “good PMF” units.

Demobilizing or reining in the militias deserves closer attention as Iraq is headed toward its first general election since the 2014 fall of Mosul. This elections is important because it offers a chance to reboot the political process after four destructive years, in which many representatives lost their credibility. The unregulated presence of militias at this time of elections puts Iraq at a crossroad. The future of Iraq will be measured by whether the election outcome sets the conditions for more of the same: a stacking of the deck by old oligarchs and new warlords. The much better alternative would be for this election to allow Iraqis to make a free choice, producing an empowered government that can undertake an invigorated anti-corruption push and respond to the public rather than entrenched interests.

Setting aside the fleeting moment of cozying up to the Fatih Coalition, Abadi’s tone in recent weeks has been warning of an “imminent breakthrough” against the “heads of corruption” and toward disarmament of armed groups. Since then, state forces conducted operations to confiscate illegal arms in Sadr City, and more recently arrested the son of the sitting governor of Najaf. These may be probing operations designed to test the water before a larger effort. In Iraq, the problems of corruption and militias are highly intertwined. It is difficult to imagine that a serious crackdown on one could proceed without backlash by the other.

Reports, whether fake or simply strangely transparent, describing how Abadi supposedly plans to disarm the militias will make surprise action difficult. Could Abdi be contemplating a large- scale campaign similar to the 2008 operation Charge of the Knights? Abadi’s predecessor, Nouri al-Maliki, sought then to neutralize the major menace of that time, the Mahdi Army of Moqtada al-Sadr. Maliki’s gambit nearly ended in disaster, but for the hands-on support of the U.S. military. The Iraqi military today is battle-hardened and has acquired a capable air power, but the militias too have grown increasingly capable.

The U.S. can play a role again. For Washington, the focus should be threefold: stay in close contact with Abadi to prevent rash uncoordinated military action; help him prioritize the right targets for sensible anti-corruption and disarmament measures; and have a contingency plan for coming to Baghdad’s aid if a large-scale armed confrontation with militias ensues. Beyond the immediate security considerations, events such as next month’s reconstruction forum in Kuwait offers an opportunity for the broader community of stakeholders to discuss economic and political initiatives that can encourage voluntary demobilization.

The unrestrained presence of the PMF ― and their possible growth and transformation into another IRGC or Hezbollah ― is a threat to Iraq, as well as to the U.S. and Iraq’s Arab neighbors, who are wary of Iran’s expanding influence in Iraq and Syria. There is a shared interest in demobilization, and this common interest is served by working with Abadi. The United States and its allies should avoid making counterproductive, poorly informed statements asking “Iranians” to leave Iraq, or other grossly undiplomatic comments that undermine cooperation. The objective should be to help Baghdad steer away from open conflict while the country gradually phases out the militias and pursues the elusive government reforms, while being prepared to come to its aid should 2008 scenario play out again. Countries advocating a policy to rein in the militias should be ready to back its implementation with more than just wishes.

Customize your RSS Feed