Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Scholar-Statesman Award Dinner

Watch the conversation at the 2016 Scholar-Statesman Award Dinner with Gen. John R. Allen, USMC (Ret.), and Adm. James G. Stavridis, USN (Ret.).

The Washington Institute was proud to honor Gen. John R. Allen, USMC (Ret.), and Adm. James G. Stavridis, USN (Ret.), two men who have served on the frontlines of America’s fight against terrorism and extremism, as recipients of the Institute's 2016 Scholar-Statesman Award. The Institute conferred its most prestigious prize, now in its tenth year, at a gala dinner in New York City on December 6, 2016. The evening also paid tribute to Washington Institute Trustees Carol and Roger Einiger.

The Scholar-Statesman Award celebrates outstanding leaders who, through their public service and professional achievements, exemplify the idea that sound scholarship and a discerning knowledge of history are essential to wise and effective policy and the advancement of peace and security in the Middle East.

The 2017 Scholar-Statesman Award will be conferred at a gala event in the late fall in New York City. For more information, please contact Barbi Zakin.

Scholar-Statesman Award Honorees

2016: Gen. John R. Allen, USMC (Ret.), and Adm. James G. Stavridis, USN (Ret.)
2015: Ehud Barak and Leon Panetta
2014: Ambassador Michael B. Oren and Ambassador Itamar Rabinovich
2013: Dr. Condoleezza Rice
2012: Elliott Abrams and Dennis B. Ross
2011: Natan Sharansky and Saad Eddin Ibrahim
2010: Tony Blair
2009: William Jefferson Clinton
2008: Henry Kissinger
2007: Bernard Lewis and George P. Shultz

Since 2010, the event has also recognized luminaries from the Institute's board of trustees and board of advisors, respected leaders in business, philanthropy, and civic life who believe in the power of ideas. Their leadership and vision has strengthened their communities and the Institute's ability to fulfill its mission.

Washington institute Leaders

2016: Carol and Roger Einiger
2015: Martin J. Gross
2014: Noni and Alan Aufzien
2013: Mortimer B. Zuckerman
2012: Lorraine and Richard Abramson
2011: John M. Shapiro
2010: Howard P. Berkowitz

For information about the Scholar-Statesman Award, email the Institute's press office or call 202-452-0650.