أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 1681

الحرب الأبدية في اليمن: التمرد الحوثي

متاح أيضاً في English

20 يوليو 2010


"في 13 تموز/يوليو 2010، خاطب باراك سلموني وكريستوفر بوسيك والسيدة إيبريل لونغلي آلي، منتدى سياسي خاص على مأدبة غداء استضافها معهد واشنطن. وعمل الدكتور سلموني عالماً سياسياً في "معهد أبحاث الدفاع الوطني في مؤسسة راند"، ونائب مدير "مركز مشاة البحرية للتعليم الثقافي العملياتي المتقدم"، وأستاذ مساعد في "المدرسة البحرية للدراسات العليا"، وهو مؤلف الدراسة الحديثة بعنوان: "النظام ومحيطه في شمال اليمن: الظاهرة الحوثية". وفيما يلي ملخص المقرِّر لملاحظاته حول التمرد الحوثي في شمال اليمن. ويظهر ملخص ملاحظات الدكتورة آلي في نشرة "المرصد السياسي #1680"، بينما ستنشر ملاحظات الدكتور بوسيك وكذلك التوصيات السياسية للمتحدثين الثلاثة في نشرة المرصد السياسي رقم 1682".

بصرف النظر عن "عملية تحرير العراق"، ربما يكون تمرد الحوثيين في شمال اليمن أكبر حرب شهدها العالم العربي على مدار عقد من الزمن. لقد أثبت هذا التمرد أنه أكبر مستنزف للموارد المادية والبشرية اليمنية كما أنه الشغل الشاغل لحكومة صنعاء على مدى السنوات الخمس الماضية. ونظراً للعديد من الأزمات المالية والسياسية وأزمات الموارد التي تعاني منها الدولة، لا يمكن أن تتحمّل اليمن هذا الصراع. ومن المفارقات، يبدو أيضاً أن التمرد هو واحد من أكبر التحديات الأمنية القابلة للحل في اليمن.

الخلفية

بدأت الحرب بين الحكومة الفيدرالية وعشائر الحوثيين في حزيران/يونيو 2004، وكانت تتميز بالقتال المستمر بدرجات كثافة متفاوتة تخللتها عدة اتفاقات لوقف إطلاق النار ومحاولات للتوسط بين الأطراف (حيث تحصي الحكومة اليمنية ست مراحل من القتال النشط).

وفي لب هذا الصراع، نجد أنه نزاع على السلطة بين الأطراف الفيدرالية والأطراف المحلية. وتشكل محافظة صعدة في شمال غرب اليمن بالقرب من الحدود السعودية بؤرة هذا التمرد. وقد انتشرت المناوشات إلى صنعاء بل وحتى إلى المملكة العربية السعودية التي تم جرها عسكرياً إلى القتال في بعض الأحيان.

ويقال بأن الصراع قد أسفر عن إصابة ما بين 20,000 و 30,000 شخصاً، من بينهم مقاتلون وغير مقاتلين. وكثيراً ما يكون من الصعب التمييز بين هاتين الفئتين لأن كلاً من الحوثيين والميليشيات القبلية التي تساندها الحكومة يقاتلان من داخل مناطق السكان المدنيين. وتتأرجح تقديرات عدد الأشخاص المشردين داخلياً في حدود الـ 150,000 شخص وأكثر من 3,000 آخرين يقال أنهم تحت الإحتجاز الحكومي في شمال البلاد.

وقف إطلاق النار الحالي

يشير تبنّي الحكومة لاتفاق وقف إطلاق النار في شباط/فبراير 2010 إلى أن سياسة الأرض المحروقة التي كانت تطبقها صنعاء في المرحلة السادسة من الحرب لم تكن ناجحة. ومن جانبهم، سعى الحوثيون إلى تجنب حرب على جبهتين تشمل المملكة العربية السعودية، التي بدأ جيشها يواجههم بصورة مباشرة قبل الهدنة. وليس من الواضح ما إذا كانت القوات البرية قد انخرطت في هذه المواجهات أم لا، لكن قد تم تأكيد قيام الضربات الجوية السعودية ضد الأهداف الحوثية. وقد أتى اتفاق وقف إطلاق النار أيضاً في الوقت الذي كانت فيه التهديدات التي شكلها تنظيم «القاعدة في شبه الجزيرة العربية» وتلك التي أتت من الإنفصاليين الجنوبيين آخذة في التصاعد، بحيث فاقت قدرات قوات الأمن الحكومية.

لقد كانت هناك [عدة] بنود ضمن الشروط الي تم ذكرها لوقف إطلاق النار، مثل إزالة حواجز الطرق والألغام الأرضية، وإنهاء التحصينات للمناطق الحوثية، وإعادة الأسلحة والبضائع المدنية السعودية التي تم الاستيلاء عليها، وإطلاق سراح المعتقلين العسكريين والمدنيين السعوديين واليمنيين، وإنهاء الأعمال العدائية في الأراضي السعودية. ومع ذلك، يصعب قياس هذه الشروط بموضوعية بل وربما سيثبت من الصعب تنفيذها، في ضوء وجهات نظر [سكان] شمال البلاد حول المنطقة. ومن المرجح أيضاً أن تؤدي المعايير الثقافية -- وخاصة العرف القائم منذ فترة طويلة والمتمثل بامتلاك الذكور للأسلحة -- إلى استباق أية محاولة لنزع السلاح. وبالمثل، فإن الحاجة الثقافية لكلا الطرفين بأن يُنظر إليهما كمتكافئين في المفاوضات، تميل إلى التناقض مع المفاهيم الحديثة لسيادة الدولة. ونتيجة لذلك، من المرجح أن ينهار اتفاق وقف إطلاق النار مثل حالات أخرى قبله: ويمكن للمرء أن يجد بالفعل دلائل على أن المرحلة السابعة من الصراع آخذة في الإقتراب بصورة أكثر.

القدرات الحكومية والحوثية

لدى جيش اليمن أعداد كبيرة من الأسلحة الثقيلة لكنه يعتمد على الخدمة العسكرية الإلزامية والتجهيزات غير المنظمة. ورغم ادعاءات الحكومة بأنها قامت بهجمات قصف دقيقة ضد أهداف حوثية، إلا أن القوات الجوية السعودية والأمريكية هي التي قامت في الواقع بتنفيذ تلك الغارات. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تم استخدام بعض التجهيزات، التي قدمتها الولايات المتحدة لمحاربة تنظيم «القاعدة في شبه الجزيرة العربية»، ضد الحوثيين. وقد وفرت صور تلك المعدات الأمريكية -- التي تم الإستيلاء عليها أو تدميرها -- تعزيزاً دعائياً للحوثيين.

ومن جانبهم يحارب الحوثيون كخلايا مرتكزة على أساس القرابة العائلية، وعلاقات الشبكة الإجتماعية المرتبطة بالثقة، والقتال على أراضيهم، غير أن تنظيمهم فضفاض مما يضمن عدم إمكانية القضاء على قيادتهم بسهولة، عن طريق الهجمات الحكومية.

كما أن الحوثيين مسلحون جيداً وبصورة متزايدة. وهناك لقطات فيديو مفتوحة المصدر لمقاتلين متمردين يبدو أنها تُظهر قاذفات قنابل جديدة تدفعها الصواريخ، بما في ذلك رؤوس حربية متقدمة لصواريخ "آر. پي. جي. 29". وقد تمكنوا أيضاً من الإستيلاء على أسلحة حكومية في كل مرحلة من مراحل الحرب، بما في ذلك أسلحة وفرتها أوروبا أو الولايات المتحدة -- حسب المعايير المستعملة في حلف شمال الأطلسي. وقد تم أسر بعض الحوثيين الذين كشفوا عن معدات سعودية للرؤية الليلية وأجهزة تعيين المدى عن طريق أشعة الليزر، على الرغم من عدم وجود إشارة بأنهم حصلوا على كميات كبيرة من مثل هذه "الأجهزة والمواد العسكرية" أو قاموا بتشغيل هذه المعدات بكفاءة.

تمييز التمرد

سيكون من الخطأ تسمية التمرد بأنه حركة شيعية لمجرد كون الحوثيين زيديون. وعلى الرغم من أن أبناء الطائفة الزيدية يجلُّون الرموز الدينية الشيعية إلا أن عقيدتهم السياسية مختلفة بصورة مميزة عن الشيعة الإثنى عشرية؛ فعلى سبيل المثال، تبنت الأخيرة ولاية الفقيه بينما تخلى الحوثيون عن المطالبة بإمامة سياسية.

إن الجوانب القبلية للتمرد [هي الأخرى] معقدة أيضاً. فعلى الرغم من أن القتال ليس قبلياً محضاً في طبيعته إلا أن الروابط القبلية أصبحت الآن وسيلة للتعبئة، مما يخلق صراعاً مستداماً بذاته ومرتكزاً على الثأر القبلي. وتحديداً، إن قيام الحكومة باستقطاب القوات القبلية المحلية المجندة لخوض الحرب، هي خطوة تخاطر بتفاقم الموقف.

وعلاوة على ذلك، وبعد تدقيق أقرب، لا يبدو حقاً أن الثورة مشابهة لتمرد -- الذي تعرّفه المبادئ [السياسية] الأمريكية بأنه حركة منظمة متمسكة باغتصاب السلطة من الحكومة القائمة. ولا يوجد شيء يدل على أن هذه هي غاية الحوثيين في الوقت الحالي-- فالصراع هو على محيط السلطة بين الدولة وأقلية مهمشة معتادة على الحكم الذاتي.

وفيما يخص مزاعم الخصوم [عن قيام] مساعدات إيرانية سرية إلى الحوثيين، لا توجد أدلة دامغة عن وجود مثل هذه الروابط. فلا يظهر المتمردون اليمنيون أية أنواع من القدرات المستخدمة من قبل وكلاء إيران مثل «حزب الله» و«حماس» وميليشيات عراقية معينة (على سبيل المثال، صواريخ 107 و122 ملم؛ وقنابل متطورة مزروعة على جانب الطريق). إن الحوثيين ليسوا بحاجة إلى السعي للحصول على أسلحة خفيفة من إيران، لأن مثل هذه الأسلحة متوفرة بسهولة في اليمن.

وتجدر الإشارة [هنا] أيضاً بأنه على الرغم من قيام الحوثيين بتعزيز شعار غير ودي تماماً -- "الموت لأمريكا وإسرائيل، واللعنة على اليهود، والنصر للإسلام" -- إلا أنهم لم يشنوا ولو عملاً عدائياً واحداً ضد الولايات المتحدة أو الأصول الأمريكية في المنطقة. وفي الواقع، يشارك الحوثيون نفس العداء الذي تكنه الولايات المتحدة تجاه الإسلام السني السلفي الراديكالي الذي ساعد على تحريض ظهورهم كحركة تمرد في المقام الأول.

وماذا بعد؟

يجذب مستوى الصراع في الوقت الحالي، اهتمام وموارد اليمن بدلاً من التركيز على المشاكل المُلحة الكثيرة التي تعاني منها تلك البلاد. وكلما يتم جرّ دول إقليمية إلى القتال، قد يصبح حل المشكلة أكثر صعوبة.

من المرجح أن يستمر القتال حتى تقوم الحكومة اليمنية بالإستثمار في إعادة الإعمار وإضفاء الشرعية على المنتمين للحوثيين كممثلين سياسيين في عملية المصالحة. وسوف تستمر التوترات أيضاً ما لم تقم صنعاء بإضفاء الشرعية على نقاط مثل الزيدية والهوية القبلية الشمالية كأجزاء متممة ومميزة من الهوية اليمنية. وتعتبر حرب الدعايات التي تشوه صورة كل طرف، وكذلك الوجود المستمر للقوات العسكرية من كلا الطرفين في المناطق المتنازع عليها بمثابة عقبة في طريق السلام. وربما يكون الوجود الدولي ضرورياً لمراقبة وقف إطلاق النار، وفرض شروط عادلة، وتسهيل محادثات الوساطة، والمساعدة على تمويل إعادة الإعمار.

وبما أن الصراع مع الحوثيين قد أصبح غير مُحتمل بشكل متزايد، يبدو أنه يدفع صنعاء باتجاه التسوية مع المقاتلين المحليين من العرب السنة. ومن غير المرجح أن تكون اليمن شريكاً كاملاً في النضال الذي تقوده الولايات المتحدة ضد التطرف المسلح، إلى أن تستطيع حل التمرد، وإنهاء الإستنزاف المتواصل للموارد النادرة.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 1681

Yemen's Forever War: The Houthi Rebellion

Barak Salmoni

Also available in العربية

Policy #1681

July 20, 2010


On July 13, 2010, Barak Salmoni, along with Christopher Boucek and April Longley Alley, addressed a special Policy Forum luncheon at The Washington Institute. Author of the recent study Regime and Periphery in Northern Yemen: The Huthi Phenomenon, Dr. Salmoni has served as a political scientist at the RAND National Defense Research Institute, deputy director of the Marine Corps Center for Advanced Operational Cultural Learning, and assistant professor at the Naval Postgraduate School. The following is a rapporteur's summary of his remarks on the Houthi rebellion in northern Yemen. A summary of Dr. Alley's remarks appears in PolicyWatch #1680, while Dr. Boucek's remarks, as well as the policy recommendations by all three speakers, will be distributed as PolicyWatch #1682.

Aside from Operation Iraqi Freedom, the Houthi rebellion in northern Yemen is perhaps the largest war the Arab world has seen in a decade. It has proven to be the single largest drain on Yemeni material and human resources, as well as a central government preoccupation for the past five years. Given the country's numerous economic, resource, and political crises, Sana can ill afford the conflict. Ironically, the rebellion also seems to be one of Yemen's most resolvable security challenges.

Background

The war between the federal government and the Houthi clans began in June 2004. It has been characterized by continuous fighting of varying intensity, punctuated by multiple ceasefires and mediation attempts (the government counts six phases of active fighting).

At its heart, the conflict is a power struggle between federal and local actors. The epicenter of the rebellion is Saada governorate in the northwest, adjacent to the Saudi border. Skirmishes have spread to Sana, and even Saudi Arabia has been militarily drawn into the fighting at times.

The conflict has reportedly caused between 20,000 and 30,000 casualties, including combatants and noncombatants. Distinguishing between these two categories is often difficult because both the Houthis and the government-backed tribal militias fight from within the civilian populations. Estimates of the number of internally displaced persons hover around 150,000, and more than 3,000 people are reportedly under government detention in the north.

Current Ceasefire

The government's adoption of a February 2010 ceasefire indicates that its scorched-earth policy in the sixth phase of the war was unsuccessful. For their part, the Houthis sought to avoid a two-front war involving Saudi Arabia, whose military had begun to directly confront them prior to the truce. It is unclear whether ground forces were involved in these confrontations, but Saudi airstrikes on Houthi targets have been confirmed. The ceasefire also came at a time when the threats posed by al-Qaeda in the Arabian Peninsula and southern secessionists were on the rise, overstretching government security forces.

Among the reported ceasefire conditions were items such as the removal of roadblocks and landmines; an end to fortification of Houthi areas; the return of captured Saudi weapons and civilian goods; the release of Saudi and Yemeni civilian and military detainees; and an end to aggressive acts in Saudi territory. These conditions are tough to measure objectively, however, and may prove difficult to implement, given the north's views on territory. Cultural norms -- particularly the longstanding custom of males possessing weapons -- will also likely preempt any attempt at disarmament. Similarly, the cultural need for both sides to be viewed as equals in negotiations tends to conflict with modern concepts of state sovereignty. As a result, the ceasefire is likely to collapse like others before it; one can already find signs that a seventh phase of conflict is drawing close.

Government and Houthi Capabilities

Yemen's military has large numbers of heavy weapons but is conscription-based and unevenly equipped. Although the government claims to have undertaken precision bombing attacks against Houthi targets, these raids were actually carried out by Saudi and U.S. air forces. In addition, some equipment supplied by the United States to fight al-Qaeda has been used against the Houthis. Images of this captured or destroyed American equipment have provided the Houthis with a propaganda boost.

For their part, the Houthis fight as cells based on kinship and social network ties, linked by trust, and fighting on their own territory. They are loosely organized, ensuring that their leadership cannot be easily decapitated by government strikes.

The Houthis are also increasingly well armed. Open-source video footage of rebel fighters appears to show new rocket-propelled grenade launchers, including advanced RPG-29 warheads. They have also been able to capture government weapons in each phase of the war, including NATO-standard European- or U.S.-supplied weapons. Some Houthis have even captured and displayed Saudi laser rangefinders and night-vision equipment, though there is no indication they acquired significant quantities of such items or effectively employed the equipment.

Characterizing the Rebellion

It would be a mistake to call the rebellion a Shiite movement merely because the Houthis are Zaidis. Although Zaidis do venerate Shiite religious figures, their political theology is distinctly different from Twelver Shia; for example, the latter has adopted velayat-e faqih (Islamic governance) while the former has abandoned claims to a political imamate.

The rebellion's tribal aspects are complex as well. Although the fighting is not purely tribal in nature, tribal ties are now becoming a vehicle for mobilization, creating a self-perpetuating conflict based on tribal vendettas. In particular, government recruitment of local tribal levies to fight the war risks exacerbating the situation.

Moreover, upon closer inspection, the rebellion does not really seem like an insurgency, defined by U.S. doctrine as an organized movement committed to usurping power from the established government. Nothing indicates that this is the Houthis' goal at present -- the conflict is between the state and a marginalized minority on the periphery of power who are accustomed to autonomy.

Regarding opponents' claims of covert Iranian assistance to the Houthis, no hard evidence of such links exists. The Yemeni rebels do not display the kinds of capabilities deployed by Iranian proxies such as Hizballah, Hamas, and certain Iraqi militias (e.g., 107 mm and 122 mm rockets; advanced roadside bombs). And the Houthis have no need to seek small arms from Iran, because such weapons are readily available in Yemen.

Also noteworthy is that despite boasting a decidedly unfriendly slogan -- "Death to America, Israel, curse upon the Jews, victory to Islam" -- the Houthis have not launched a single act of aggression against the United States or U.S. assets in the region. In fact, the Houthis share the same enemy as America: radical Salafi Sunni Islam, which helped instigate their emergence as a rebel movement in the first place.

What Next?

At present, the conflict's scale is taking attention and resources from Yemen's many other urgent problems. And as regional states are drawn into the fighting, resolving the problem may become more difficult.

The fighting is likely to continue until the Yemeni government invests in reconstruction and legitimizes Houthi affiliates as political actors in the reconciliation process. Tensions will also persist unless Sana legitimizes points such as Zaidism and northern tribal identity as distinct and integral parts of Yemeni identity. The propaganda war that demonizes each side is an obstacle to peace, as is the continued presence of military forces from both sides in disputed areas. An international presence may be necessary to monitor ceasefires, fairly impose terms, facilitate mediation talks, and help fund reconstruction.

Increasingly stretched thin, the conflict with the Houthis seems to be pushing Sana toward accommodation with local Sunni Arab militants. Until it can resolve the rebellion and end the ongoing drain on scarce resources, it is unlikely that Yemen will be a full partner in the U.S.-led struggle against militant extremism.

This rapporteur's summary was prepared by Andrew Engel.