أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2776

المشاكل المصرفية في اليمن قد تُسفر عن آثار إنسانية وخيمة

كاثرين باور و إريك بيلوفسكي

متاح أيضاً في English

24 آذار/مارس 2017


في أعقاب زيارةٍ إلى اليمن في وقتٍ سابقٍ من هذا الشهر، أعلنت رئيسة "برنامج الأغذية العالمي" التابع للأمم المتحدة أن تفادي المجاعة في تلك البلاد هو "سباقٌ مع الزمن". وقد ورد تقديرها في تقرير متعدد الوكالات صدر في وقت لاحق حول الأزمة، ووجد أن سبعة عشر مليون يمني يعانون من انعدام الأمن الغذائي، وقد ازداد عددهم بأكثر من 2.5 مليون منذ حزيران/يونيو 2016. ونظراً إلى صعوبة نقل المساعدة الإنسانية المادية عبر خطوط المعركة ومناطق النزاع، غالباً ما يؤمّن "برنامج الأغذية العالمي" وغيره من المنظمات الدولية المساعدة النقدية للأسر المحتاجة حيث تستمر الأسواق في العمل، مما يسمح لها بشراء السلع الأساسية بنفسها. لذلك، يشكّل الحفاظ على توافر تدفق الأغذية المتاحة لعملية الشراء التجارية، وضمان القوة الشرائية أولويتيْن ملحّتيْن في وضعٍ  مثل اليمن.

وفي العام الماضي، نقلت حكومة الرئيس عبده ربو منصور هادي المعترَف بها دوليّاً مقر "البنك المركزي اليمني" من العاصمة صنعاء التي يسيطر عليها الحوثيون إلى عدن. لكن ما زالت علامات الاستفهام تحيط بسلطة "البنك المركزي اليمني"، التي تعيق وصوله إلى احتياطيات اليمن المحدودة. وبالمثل، لاقى المصرف صعوبة في دفع الرواتب العامة في جميع أنحاء البلاد، فعرّض العاملين الحكوميين ومُعاليهم الذي يبلغ عددهم بأكثر من ثمانية ملايين شخص في المجموع، للخطر.

الخلفية

بعد أن اضطرَّت حكومة هادي إلى الخروج من صنعاء في شباط/فبراير 2015، بقي "البنك المركزي اليمني" يضطلع بدورٍ نقدي ومالي من العاصمة، فدفع الرواتب في جميع أنحاء البلاد وفقاً للمخصصات في ميزانية عام 2014 التي سبقت الحرب. ومع ذلك، سرعان ما بدأ المسؤولون يشكّون في حياد المصرف، خشية من أن تؤدي المدفوعات إلى الوزارات التنفيذية من أجل تغطية الرواتب إلى تمكين الحوثيين من الدفع إلى مواليهم وتمويل جهودهم الحربية.

وفي آب/أغسطس الماضي، سعت حكومة هادي إلى تغيير قيادة "البنك المركزي اليمني" عندما انتهت ولاية أعضاء مجلس الإدارة الراهن. وفي منتصف أيلول/سبتمبر، في خضم اجتماعات الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة في نيويورك، أصدر الرئيس هادي قرارات بنقل مقر المصرف إلى عدن.

الاحتياطيات الأجنبية المتضائلة

في وقت نقل "البنك المركزي اليمني"، كان المصرف يواجه بالفعل تحديات هائلة. فمن دون تصدير النفط بشكلٍ منتظم، لم يتمكّن من سد عجز احتياطاته الأجنبية. وقد وفرت وديعة سعودية بقيمة مليار دولار تم تقديمها في عام 2012 بعضاً من الاستقرار إلى المصرف والريال اليمني، لكن الرياض لم ترغب في توفير أموال إضافية لمؤسسة يُنظر إليها على أنها تموّل خصومها في الصراع.

ومنذ انتقاله إلى عدن، جاهد "البنك المركزي اليمني" من أجل تولي العديد من الواجبات التي تُلقى على عاتق أي مصرف مركزي. وتفيد التقارير بأنه ما زال من الصعب الوصول إلى عدد كبير من حساباته الأجنبية بسبب استمرار عدم اليقين بشأن مطالبته باحتياطات النقد الأجنبي الخاصة باليمن. وفي حين يُدرِج "صندوق النقد الدولي" محافظ البنك الجديد، منصّر صالح القعيطي، على لائحته كممثل اليمن الرئيسي في الصندوق، لا يزال الحاكم السابق محمد بن همام مدرجاً كبديل عنه على اللائحة.

ويشير المسؤولون اليمنيون أيضاً إلى أن التحديات االتي واجهها "البنك المركزي اليمني" مؤخراً قد عقّدت استلام المدفوعات الخاصة بصادرات النفط المحدودة للبلاد. ففي الصيف الماضي، أُودعت عائدات إحدى عمليات البيع النفطية إلى شركة "جلينكور" المتعددة الجنسيات في حسابٍ تمتلكه وزارة المالية اليمنية في السعودية بدلاً من الحسابات الموجودة الخاصة بـ"البنك المركزي اليمني". وبينما أفادت الحكومة اليمنية في أواخر شباط/فبراير أنها بصدد الانتهاء من المفاوضات مع الرياض لإيداع مبلغ ملياريْ دولار في "البنك المركزي اليمني"، لا يمكن استخدام هذه الأموال بشكلٍ كامل من دون الوصول إلى حسابات الدولار الأمريكي، ولا يتضح إذا كان "البنك المركزي اليمني" يتمتع بإمكانية الوصول إليها عمليّاً.

النقص في الأوراق النقدية

واجه "البنك المركزي اليمني" ومصارف يمنية أخرى أيضاً نقصاً في العملة المادية منذ فترة طويلة قبل الانتقال إلى عدن. فخلال الحرب التي دامت عامين، أصبح هذا النقص أكثر تواتراً، حتى عندما كانت الأموال متوافرة إلكترونيّاً لتسديد مدفوعات الرواتب. وأُلزِمَت فروع "البنك المركزي اليمني" على تأجيل التدمير المزمع للأوراق النقدية المتدهورة من أجل ضمان امتلاك القطاع المصرفي ما يكفي من النقود المادية. كما قام "البنك المركزي اليمني" بالتفاوض على اتفاق مع الشركة الروسية "غوزناك" المعنية بطباعة العملات، لطباعة أربع مئة مليار ريال يمني في العام الماضي، لكن ما أن أصبحت حكومة هادي غير سعيدة من قيادة المصرف، اتخذت خطوات لمنع تسليم النقود الجديدة إلى صنعاء من أجل منع التحالف الحوثي من الوصول إليه.

فور انتقال "البنك المركزي اليمني"، وَضع الصيغة النهائية لترتيبات العملة الجديدة التي سيتم تسليمها حصراً إلى عدن. وقامت شركة "غوزناك" بتسليم الدفعة الأولى مؤخّراً إلى هناك، ويقوم المصرف بنشر النقود في الأراضي الخاضعة لسيطرة هادي عبر فروع البنك ومكاتبه البريدية. ومن أجل المساعدة في دفع الرواتب في المناطق التي يسيطر عليها المتمردون، يعتمد "البنك المركزي اليمني" على بعض المصارف الخاصة ومؤسسات الصيرفة التي تمكّنت من الحفاظ على مستويات كافية من العملة المادية. ويُرجَّح أن هذه المؤسسات الخارجية حصلت على نقدها من تجّار يُحضرون إليها عملة محلية لدفع ثمن الواردات من الخارج. ومن المحتمل أن يتم تعويض هذه المعاملات الأجنبية في الخارج عن طريق تحويلات العملات الأجنبية من المغتربين اليمنيين. وبهذه الطريقة، يبدو أن بعض المؤسسات اليمنية قادرة على مواصلة المدفوعات العابرة للحدود من دون المرور بالمزيد من قنوات المقاصة التقليدية الخاصة بـ"البنك المركزي اليمني". ويمكن أن يشرح وجود هذا النظام المتوازي أيضاً كيفية عدم خروج أسعار السلع الأساسية كليّاً عن السيطرة.

ومع ذلك، لم يتقاضَ العديد من الموظفين الحكوميين أجورهم منذ أن قررت حكومة هادي التوقف عن تزويد الوزارات بمبالغ مالية كبيرة للتوزيع. ويسعى المسؤولون الآن إلى تصديق جداول الرواتب في كل وزارة ومقاطعة على أمل ضمان عدم دفع أي أموال للموظفين الذين تم تعيينهم بعد الانقلاب الحوثي، أو تم تحويلها إلى المتمردين خلافاً لذلك.

كما أن "البنك المركزي اليمني" ما فتئ يبذل جهوداً لإتمام واجبات أساسية أخرى منذ انتقاله إلى عدن. وتشمل هذه الأنشطة الرقابة على المؤسسات المالية ومكافحة غسل الأموال ووضع الضوابط المتعلقة بمكافحة تمويل الإرهاب - وهي واجبات مهمة خاصةً في بلدٍ سيطر فيه «تنظيم القاعدة في جزيرة العرب» بين حين وآخر على بعض الأراضي واستغل الفراغ الأمني الذي ولّدته الحرب الأهلية. وتنطوي مواصلة التدهور في القطاع المالي الرسمي على مخاطر دخول المزيد من المعاملات ضمن شبكات غير رسمية خارجة عن السيطرة التنظيمية لـ "البنك المركزي اليمني".

توصيات سياسية

سعى المسؤولون اليمنيون باستمرار إلى حصول "البنك المركزي اليمني" المنقول على الدعم الأمريكي والدولي، وذلك جزئياً لدعم ادعائهم الأوسع بأنهم قادرون على حكم البلاد وتحقيق الاستقرار الاقتصادي. ونظراً للظروف الاقتصادية والإنسانية التي بلغت حد الأزمة في البلاد، يجب أن تحث واشنطن حكومة هادي على الوفاء بوعودها ودفع الرواتب الحكومية في جميع أنحاء البلاد. لكنّ ما أعاق هذا الجهد إلى حد كبير هو نهجها البطيء لتصديق جدول الرواتب في كل وزارة، مقاطعةً تلو الأخرى، الأمر الذي قوّض مصداقية الحكومة. والأهم من ذلك أنه جعل الأسر عاجزة عن شراء الأغذية.

كما يجب على واشنطن أن تحث الحكومة اليمنية على معالجة مشاكل السيولة في جميع أنحاء البلاد، بما في ذلك خارج مناطق سيطرتها. وقد يعني ذلك توفير السيولة للمناطق الحوثية مقابل ضمانات يمكن التحقق منها، بأن الأموال لن يتم تحويلها لأغراض عسكرية، وكذلك الاعتراف باستقلالية "البنك المركزي اليمني" في جميع أنحاء البلد. وبالمثل، يجب على الحكومة الأمريكية أن تضغط على اليمنيين للتأكد من أن مخصصات العملة الصعبة لشراء الأغذية والأدوية ستفسح المجال لوصول الواردات إلى كل من مينائي الحديدة وعدن.

وفي النهاية، لن تكون معالجة قدرة "البنك المركزي اليمني" سوى جزء من المسافة التي يجب اجتيازها من أجل التخفيف من المشاكل الإنسانية في اليمن. على الحكومة أيضاً تأمين المزيد من العملة الأجنبية وضمان خدمة الأموال لجميع احتياجات البلاد. ويمكن أن تأتي هذه الأموال من صادرات النفط المتجددة، أو من قرض/إيداع يدعمه التحالف السعودي، أو من المساعدة الإنسانية الدولية. وعلى الرغم من أن هذه القرارات الاقتصادية قد لا تحتل الصفحات الأولى من الصحف، إلا أنه من المرجح أن يكون لها تأثير هائل على أرض الواقع، حتى أنها قد تحدد إذا ما كان اليمن قادراً على تفادي المجاعة.

 

كاثرين باور هي زميلة "بلومنستين كاتس" في برنامج مكافحة الإرهاب في معهد واشنطن ومسؤولة سابق في وزارة الخزانة الأمريكية. إريك بيلوفسكي هو زميل زائر في المعهد، وقد شغل منصب مساعد خاص للرئيس الأمريكي والمدير الأقدم لشؤون شمال أفريقيا واليمن في "مجلس الأمن القومي".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2776

Yemen's Banking Problems Could Have Dire Humanitarian Implications

Katherine Bauer and Eric Pelofsky

Also available in العربية

March 24, 2017


Clarifying the Central Bank's authority, resuming the payment of public salaries nationwide, and addressing currency shortages could help the Hadi government avert a looming famine.

Following a visit to Yemen earlier this month, the head of the United Nations World Food Programme (WFP) declared that it was "a race against time" to avoid famine in the country. Her assessment was echoed in a subsequently released multiagency report on the crisis, which found that 17 million Yemenis are food insecure, up by more than 2.5 million since June 2016. Given the difficulty of moving material humanitarian aid across battle lines and conflict zones, the WFP and other international organizations often provide cash assistance to needy families where markets continue to function, allowing them to purchase basic commodities themselves. Thus, maintaining the flow of food available for commercial purchase and ensuring buying power are urgent priorities in a situation like Yemen's.

Last year, the internationally recognized government of President Abdu Rabu Mansour Hadi relocated the Central Bank of Yemen from the Houthi-controlled capital of Sana to Aden. Yet questions about the CBY's authority persist, hindering its access to Yemen's limited reserves. Likewise, the bank has struggled to pay public salaries countrywide, putting government workers and their dependents, over 8 million people in total, at risk.

BACKGROUND

After the Hadi government was forced out of Sana in February 2015, the CBY continued to play a monetary and fiscal role from the capital, paying salaries throughout the country based on allocations made in the prewar 2014 budget. Yet officials soon began to question the bank's neutrality, fearing that payments made to line ministries in order to cover salaries were enabling the Houthis to pay their loyalists and fund their war effort.

Last August, the Hadi government sought to change the CBY leadership when the terms of sitting board members expired. And in mid-September, amid the UN General Assembly meetings in New York, President Hadi issued orders to move the bank's headquarters to Aden. 

DWINDLING FOREIGN RESERVES

At the time of its relocation, the CBY was already facing formidable challenges. Without regular oil exports, it had been unable to replenish its foreign reserves. A $1 billion Saudi deposit made in 2012 had provided some stability to the bank and the Yemeni rial, but Riyadh was unwilling to provide additional funds to an institution perceived to be financing its opponents in the conflict. 

Since moving to Aden, the CBY has struggled to take on many of the duties of a central bank. Several of its foreign accounts reportedly remain out of reach due to continuing uncertainty over its claim to Yemen's foreign exchange reserves. While the IMF lists the bank's new governor, Munasar Saleh al-Quaiti, as Yemen's primary representative to the fund, former governor Muhammad bin Humam continues to be listed as the alternate.

Yemeni officials also note that the CBY's recent challenges have complicated the receipt of payments for the country's limited oil exports. Last summer, proceeds from an oil sale to the multinational firm Glencore were deposited into an account held by the Yemeni Finance Ministry in Saudi Arabia rather than existing CBY accounts. And while the Yemeni government reported in late February that it was finalizing negotiations with Riyadh to put $2 billion on deposit with the CBY, these funds cannot be fully utilized without access to U.S. dollar accounts, and it is not clear that the CBY has such access in practice.

BANKNOTE SHORTAGES

The CBY and other Yemeni banks have also faced shortages of physical currency since well before the Aden relocation. Over the course of the two-year war, such shortfalls have become more frequent, even when funds were available electronically to effectuate salary payments. CBY branches were forced to postpone the planned destruction of deteriorating banknotes in order to ensure that the banking sector had sufficient physical cash. The CBY had also negotiated a deal with the Russian currency printer Goznak to print 400 billion Yemeni rials last year, but once the Hadi government became unhappy with the bank's leadership, it took steps to prevent delivery of the new cash to Sana in order to prevent the Houthi alliance from accessing it.

Once the CBY was relocated, it finalized arrangements for the new currency to be delivered exclusively to Aden. Goznak recently made its first delivery there, and the bank is dispersing the cash in Hadi-controlled territory through its branches and post offices. To help with salary payments in rebel-controlled areas, the CBY is relying on select private banks and exchange houses that have been able to retain adequate levels of physical currency. These outlier institutions likely obtained their cash from merchants bringing them local currency to pay for imports from abroad. Such foreign transactions are probably offset abroad by foreign currency remittances from Yemeni expatriates. In this way, some Yemeni institutions seem able to continue cross-border payments without going through traditional CBY clearing channels. The existence of this parallel system could also explain how prices for basic goods have not spiraled completely out of control.

Nevertheless, the salaries of many public employees have gone unpaid since the Hadi government decided to stop providing ministries with lump sums for distribution. Officials now seek to confirm the payrolls in each ministry and district in the hope of ensuring that no money is paid to personnel hired after the Houthi coup or otherwise diverted to the rebels.

The CBY has also struggled with other basic duties since moving to Aden. These include financial institution oversight and anti-money laundering and counter-terrorist financing controls -- duties that are especially important in a country where al-Qaeda in the Arabian Peninsula has periodically controlled territory and taken advantage of the security vacuum created by the civil war. Further deterioration of the formal financial sector carries the risk of pushing more transactions into informal networks outside the CBY's regulatory reach.

POLICY RECOMMENDATIONS

Yemeni officials have repeatedly sought U.S. and international support for the relocated CBY, in part to support their wider claim that they are capable of governing the country and stabilizing the economy. Given the country's crisis-level economic and humanitarian conditions, Washington should urge the Hadi government to live up to its promises and pay public salaries countrywide. Its slow approach of confirming each ministry payroll district-by-district has significantly hobbled this effort, thereby undermining the government's credibility. More important, it has left many households without the ability to purchase food.

Washington should also urge the government to address liquidity problems throughout the country, including outside its areas of control. This could mean offering liquidity to Houthi areas in exchange for verifiable assurances that the money will not be diverted for military purposes, as well as recognition of the CBY's independence throughout the entire country. Similarly, the U.S. government should press the Yemenis to ensure that hard-currency allocations for purchasing food and medicine enable imports into both Hodeida and Aden ports.

Ultimately, addressing the CBY's capacity will only go part of the way toward mitigating Yemen's humanitarian problems. The government also needs to secure additional foreign currency and ensure that the funds serve all of the country's needs. Such funds could come from renewed oil exports, a Saudi-coalition-backed loan/deposit, or international humanitarian assistance. Although these economic decisions may not make the front pages of newspapers, they will likely have an enormous impact on the ground, perhaps even determining whether Yemen is able to avoid a famine.

Katherine Bauer is the Blumenstein-Katz Family Fellow at The Washington Institute and a former Treasury Department official. Eric Pelofsky, a visiting fellow at the Institute, previously served as a special assistant to the president and senior director for North Africa and Yemen at the National Security Council.