أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

The White House Situation Room

المرصد السياسي 2036

عام الحسم: سياسة الولايات المتحدة تجاه إيران في عام 2013

جيمس جيفري و توماس بيكرينغ

متاح أيضاً في English

12 شباط/فبراير 2013


"في 7 شباط/فبراير 2013، خاطب جيمس إف. جيفري وتوماس بيكرينغ منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. والسفير جيفري هو مساعد سابق للرئيس الأمريكي ونائب مستشار الأمن القومي، ومؤلف دراسة المعهد الجديدة: "التحرك نحو اتخاذ قرار: سياسة الولايات المتحدة تجاه إيران". والسفير بيكرينغ شغل العديد من المناصب الرئيسية في الولايات المتحدة وخارجها على مدى خمسة عقود، بما في ذلك منصب وكيل وزارة الخارجية للشؤون السياسية. وفيما يلي ملخص المقرر لملاحظاتهما".

 

جيمس إف. جيفري

يعتبر التحرك نحو اتخاذ قرار بشأن إيران مسألة حساسة وخطيرة على أجندة الولايات المتحدة والأجندة الدولية في عام 2013. وسوف يتحدد خلال هذا العام وبشكل كبير أمر الصراع الطويل القائم بين واشنطن وطهران في حين أن المخاطر الكبيرة ذات الصلة تجعل التوصل إلى تسوية سريعة وقاطعة أمراً حاسماً بكل معنى الكلمة. ومع ذلك، فبغض النظر عما ستسفر عنه القضية النووية، سوف تستمر إيران في تشكيل تحدٍ طويل الأمد للولايات المتحدة بسبب الأيديولوجيات المتناقضة وأهداف السياسة الخارجية المتعارضة وبسبب الطموح الإيراني في الهيمنة الإقليمية.

هناك أربع نتائج محتملة في هذه القضية النووية وهي: قرار إيراني أحادي الجانب بوقف التقدم نحو امتلاك سلاح نووي أو إبطاء هذا التقدم بشكل كبير؛ أو نتيجة تفاوضية يتم التوصل إليها من خلال مجموعة P5 +1 (أي الدول الخمس الدائمة العضوية في مجلس الأمن بالإضافة الى ألمانيا) أو المفاوضات الثنائية؛ أو توجيه ضربة عسكرية، كما تم التهديد بها من قبل الرئيس الأمريكي أوباما ورئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو؛ أو تحول صريح أو ضمني نحو سياسة الاحتواء -- بما يشير إلى أن واشنطن سوف تكون مستعدة للتعايش مع إيران المسلحة نووياً.

إن أكثر الحلول فعالية سوف يكون النتيجة التفاوضية -- ولتحقيق ذلك، ستحتاج واشنطن إلى اتخاذ خطوات أولية على عدة جبهات. ولا بد من وضع تسوية جادة على الطاولة، تشمل عرضاً بتعليق العقوبات النفطية التعجيزية في مقابل خطوات إيرانية معينة يمكن التحقق منها من أجل إنهاء أية قدرات اختراق نووية. وعلى نفس الدرجة من الأهمية بلورة تهديد عسكري ذو مصداقية، نظراً لأن طهران كانت تنوي تحمل الضغط الاقتصادي المتزايد من أجل مواصلة برنامجها النووي. ولا يبدو أن النظام سوف يتنازل عن أي شيء أثناء المفاوضات إذا لم يوقن بأن واشنطن سوف تمضي في تطبيق هذه التهديدات على أرض الواقع. وعلى الرغم من أن وجود خطوط حمراء محددة غالباً ما يكون أمراً غير مستساغ، إلا أنه يتعين على إدارة أوباما أن توضح على الصعيد الداخلي متى ستتخذ الخطوات العسكرية، مع إظهار هذه النوايا بصورة واضحة لكي يعلمها الإيرانيون.

وفي السياق ذاته، يتطلب الخيار العسكري تتمة تفاوضية معقولة، كما رأينا في أوائل التسعينيات مع العراق. فلإضفاء الشرعية على العمل العسكري ضد نظام صدام حسين، كان على واشنطن أن تثبت نفاد كافة الخيارات الأخرى. وبالمثل، فإن الطريقة الوحيدة لترسيخ الأساس الذي يستند إليه العمل العسكري ضد إيران هو تقديم البيان للنظام وللمجتمع الدولي بأن كل شيء قد تم تجربته وأن واشنطن قد تركت لطهران سبيلاً للخروج. إن عدم القيام بذلك سوف يقوض من شرعية أية ضربات.

ومن المهم أيضاً أن نفهم أن قطع طريق تقدم إيران نحو السلاح النووي لن يغير في حد ذاته من أجندة النظام الإقليمية -- فالطموحات النووية ليست إلا امتداداً لتطلعات إيران الأكبر تجاه فرض الهيمنة في الشرق الأوسط. وللأسف، لا تبدو أياً من المقترحات الأطول أمداً بأنها عملية في معالجة تلك القضية في الوقت الراهن (بمعنى تغيير النظام بالوسائل الداخلية أو الخارجية؛ أو حدوث تحول في آراء طهران حول المرشد الأعلى والخلافة؛ أو إبرام "صفقة كبرى" بين واشنطن وإيران والمجتمع الدولي).

هناك درس ينبغي تعلمه من التفاعلات السابقة مع طهران (أو من غياب تلك التفاعلات) وهو أنه عندما تستبق الولايات المتحدة بمعارضة العدوان الإيراني في الشرق الأوسط، يلين النظام، ولكن عندما تقدم واشنطن رداً أكثر سلبية، يزداد العدوان الإيراني. وبخصوص سوريا، على سبيل المثال، لا يمكن الافتراض بأن بشار الأسد سوف يسقط على الإطلاق، ناهيك عن سقوطه سريعاً، دون تدخل فعال من الولايات المتحدة. وإذا نجا نظام الأسد في الواقع فسوف يزداد تجرؤ إيران مما يُحتمل أن يترتب عليه وقوع تبعات كارثية تؤثر على الولايات المتحدة وحلفائها ومصالحها في الشرق الأوسط.

كما أن ترك القوات الأمريكية دون غطاء في المنطقة لتوفير نقطة ارتكاز إلى آسيا يعد أمراً محفوفاً بالمخاطر. وليس هناك أي مكان في العالم أكثر ترجيحاً من الخليج الفارسي من ناحية نشر الولايات المتحدة لقواتها فيه لمعارضة لإيران، كما أنه ليس هناك ساحة أخرى ذات أهمية بالغة يتحتم فيها تحقيق انتصار قاطع في أي مجابهة محتملة في السنوات الخمس إلى العشر القادمة أكثر من الجمهورية الإسلامية.

وفي المرحلة القادمة، يتعين على واشنطن أن تميز بين التصرفات الإيرانية التي تعتبرها غير مقبولة -- مثل دعم الإرهاب وطموحات الهيمنة والسعي لامتلاك سلاح نووي -- وبين تلك التي يمكن أن تتقبلها. بإمكان المسؤولين الأمريكيين فتح باب المفاوضات عن طريق التوضيح للإيرانيين بأنهم لا يسعون إلى تغيير النظام، والخطوة الأولى في هذا الصدد تكون بإعلام إيران أن واشنطن تكُن لها الاحترام باعتبارها أمة وليس حركة ثورية انتقالية.

وأخيراً، يقف سوء التنظيم الحاصل في الحكومة الأمريكية وعقلية "العمل الفردي" وراء العديد من صعوبات واشنطن الداخلية في الرد على التحدي الإيراني. ولتخفيف حدة هذه المشكلة، يتعين على جميع المسؤولين على المستوى الوزاري أن يكونوا في حال من الاتساق والتعاون المستمر والكامل، ومجردين عن المعيقات البيروقراطية الروتينية. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك إن تعيين مسؤول كبير تابع للحكومة الأمريكية تنصب مسؤوليته الوحيدة على إيران (أو، بدلاً من ذلك، تعيين مجموعة صغيرة من المسؤولين يربط بينهم تنسيق مستمر) يمكن أن يسمح لإدارة أوباما بإعادة التنظيم بطريقة بيروقراطية في التحضير لعام الحسم هذا.

 

توماس بيكرينغ

المناقشات حول سياسة الاحتواء تعني بصورة عامة قبول الجمهورية الإسلامية كقوة نووية حتمية واستخدام الردع للتعامل مع إيران المسلحة نووياً. لكن مثل هذه النتيجة قد تكون كارثية بالنسبة للسياسة الأمريكية لمنع الانتشار النووي، التي تقوم على فكرة أنه إذا قل عدد الدول النووية تقل فرصة الاستخدام الخاطئ. وإذا حازت إيران على سلاح نووي، هناك قوى إقليمية أخرى سوف تحذو حذوها على الأرجح -- وهذه بلا شك نتيجة غير مرغوب فيها بالنسبة المجتمع الدولي.

على النهاية الأخرى من الطيف، إن اللجوء للوسائل العسكرية على المدى القصير لضمان الإعاقة سوف يستلزم استخداماً هائلاً للقوة -- وجوهرياً احتلال إيران بصورة غير رسمية وشبه دائمة. وهذا ليس مساراً قابلاً للتطبيق، خاصة إذا لم تُستنفد بعد السبل الدبلوماسية الأخرى.

كذلك تعتبر العقوبات غير كافية وإن كانت فعالة في حد ذاتها. ولا بد من التوفيق بين العقوبات والمفاوضات -- ففي الوقت الذي تكثف فيه واشنطن وحلفاؤها من الضغط على الإيرانيين، يتعين الالتفات أيضاً إلى إجراء محادثات فعالة ومثمرة مع تقديم تنازلات مماثلة. وقد جادل البعض بأن المفاوضات يجب أن تمتد إلى آفاق "أوسع من ذلك"، بيد أن إرث عقود من انعدام الثقة بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران يجعل المقاربات الصغيرة أكثر عملية. ومن شأن هذا التقارب أن يركز على إنهاء أنشطة التخصيب التي تقوم بها إيران والتي تمثل معضلة كبيرة وهي: تخصيب اليورانيوم إلى عتبة 20 في المائة، الأمر الذي يمثل بأن القفزة لصنع الأسلحة النووية هي أسهل بكثير. وكحل بديل، يمكن أن يقتصر النظام على مستوى تخصيب قدره 5 في المائة فقط، وتحت رقابة صارمة من قبل "الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية".

ويؤمن مجتمع الاستخبارات الأمريكي إيماناً راسخاً أنه بغض النظر عن عدم اتخاذ إيران بعد قرار بصنع أسلحة نووية، إلا أنه لا تزال هناك تحركات من جانبها للحصول على جميع القدرات اللازمة إذا ما اختارت السير في هذا الطريق. لذا ستحتاج واشنطن إلى الحصول على ضمانة ملموسة من إيران بتحويل مخزونها من اليورانيوم الغازي الجاهز للتخصيب إلى عناصر الوقود المعدنية، التي تشكل تهديداً أقل بكثير. كما يلزم تطبيق نظام تفتيش صارم من أجل مراقبة الالتزام بهذه المتطلبات. وفي المقابل، سيتوقع الإيرانيون رفع العقوبات النووية. كما أنه من المرجح أن يطالب الإيرانيون بالاعتراف بأن لديهم الحق في مواصلة برنامج التخصيب المدني لديهم، سواءً للاستخدام المفترض في علاج السرطان أو التحصين ضد أية قرارات روسية محتملة بوقف توفير الوقود لمفاعل بوشهر.

وحتى الآن، يشعر الرئيس أوباما بالإحباط من عدم إحراز أي تقدم كاستجابة لانفتاحه نحو إيجاد انفراجة جديدة تجاه النظام الإيراني، كما أن حكومته الجديدة ملتزمة من جانبها بمساعدته في تسهيل محاولات التفاوض التي من شأنها تحسين الوضع. فإذا ما واصل الإيرانيون رفضهم لمواقف الولايات المتحدة التي على ما يبدو أنها في طريقها للاستجابة لبعض مطالبهم، فإنه يجب على الإدارة الأمريكية البدء في تطبيق ضغوط أخرى. وينبغي اتخاذ هذه الخطوات عاجلاً وليس آجلاً حتى يتسنى للأطراف التحرك مجدداً نحو التوصل إلى حلول مقبولة للطرفين.

كما يجب على واشنطن أن تضع في اعتبارها أن المرشد الأعلى علي خامنئي هو صاحب الكلمة الأخيرة في جميع القضايا في إيران، لذا لن يجلس الإيرانيون على طاولة المفاوضات إلا إذا سمح لهم بذلك. وفي السنوات الماضية، أصدر خامنئي فتوى ندد فيها باستخدام الأسلحة النووية -- وهو الأمر الذي يمكن لواشنطن الاستفادة منه من خلال صياغة قرار لمجلس الأمن للمصادقة على هذه الفتوى. وبغض النظر عن أن هذا يمثل خطوة صغيرة نحو تعزيز مكانة خامنئي الدولية إلا أنه في الوقت نفسه يمثل ورقة ضغط على إيران للامتثال لأحكام دينهم.

ويقيناً، أن تغيير النظام لا يزال بديلاً جذاباً على الورق، وينظر إليه البعض في واشنطن على أنه بمثابة وثيقة تأمين. بيد أنه من المعروف تاريخياً أن تغيير النظام لم يكن خياراً ناجحاً بالنسبة للولايات المتحدة، كما أن المحاولات الداخلية لإسقاط القيادة الإيرانية لم تأتي بثمارها حتى الآن حيث تم سحقها من خلال ممارسة أعمال القمع الستالينية، بما في ذلك الانتفاضة عام 2009. وبغض النظر عن تلك المحاولات الفاشلة ونفوذ واشنطن المحدود في الشؤون الداخلية الإيرانية، إلا أن سياسة الولايات المتحدة لا بد أن تثبت دعمها للحركات الديمقراطية الشعبية.

 

أعد هذا الملخص المقرر غويف روزين.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

The White House Situation Room

PolicyWatch 2036

Year of Decision: U.S. Policy toward Iran in 2013

James F. Jeffrey and Thomas Pickering

Also available in العربية

February 12, 2013


On February 7, 2013, James F. Jeffrey and Thomas Pickering addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Ambassador Jeffrey, a former assistant to the president and deputy national security advisor, is author of the new Institute study Moving to Decision: U.S. Policy toward Iran. Ambassador Pickering served in numerous key posts at home and abroad over a five-decade career, including undersecretary of state for political affairs. The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks.

JAMES F. JEFFREY

The move to decision on Iran is the most pressing and dangerous issue on the U.S. and international agenda in 2013. The year ahead will largely define the longstanding struggle between Washington and Tehran, and the considerable stakes involved make it absolutely crucial that a swift and decisive resolution be achieved. Regardless of the outcome of the nuclear issue, however, Iran will continue to present a long-term challenge to the United States because of clashing ideologies, conflicting foreign policy goals, and Iran's claim to regional hegemony.

There are four likely outcomes to the nuclear issue: a unilateral Iranian decision to halt or dramatically slow its progress toward a nuclear weapon; a negotiated outcome, whether through the P5+1 (i.e., the five permanent members of the UN Security Council plus Germany) or bilateral negotiations; a military strike, as threatened by President Obama and Israeli prime minister Binyamin Netanyahu; and an explicit or implicit shift to containment, indicating that Washington would be prepared to coexist with a nuclear-armed Iran.

The most effective resolution would be a negotiated outcome -- to achieve it, Washington will need to take preliminary steps on several fronts. A serious compromise needs to be put on the table, including an offer to suspend crippling oil sanctions in return for specific, verifiable Iranian steps to eliminate any nuclear breakout capabilities. Equally significant is establishing a credible military threat, given that Tehran has been willing to endure increasing economic pressure in order to continue its nuclear program. The regime is unlikely to concede anything during negotiations if it does not believe that Washington will actually follow through on such threats. Although specific public redlines are often unpalatable, the Obama administration must clarify internally when it would take military steps, and these intentions must be made clear to the Iranians.

In the same vein, the military option requires a credible negotiating complement, as seen in the early 1990s with Iraq. To legitimize military action against Saddam Hussein's regime, Washington had to prove that all other options had been exhausted. Similarly, the only way to set the predicate for military action against Iran is to show the regime and the international community that everything has been tried, and that Washington has left Tehran with a way out. Failure to do so would undermine the legitimacy of any strikes.

It is also important to understand that curtailing Iran's nuclear progress will not by itself alter the regime's regional agenda -- nuclear ambitions are but an extension of Tehran's wider aspirations toward hegemony in the Middle East. Unfortunately, none of the longer-term proposals for addressing that issue seem feasible at the moment (e.g., regime change by internal or external means; a shift in Tehran's views on the Supreme Leader and succession; a "grand deal" between Washington, Iran, and the international community).

One lesson to be learned from past interactions with Tehran (or lack thereof) is that when the United States proactively opposes Iranian aggression in the Middle East, the regime relents, but when Washington offers a more passive response, Iranian aggression increases. With respect to Syria, for example, it cannot be assumed that Bashar al-Assad will fall at all, let alone quickly, without active U.S. engagement. If the Assad regime does in fact survive, Iran would become increasingly emboldened, with potentially disastrous consequences for the United States and its allies and interests in the Middle East.

Denuding U.S. forces in the region to enable a pivot to Asia is also risky. Nowhere else in the world is America more likely to deploy forces than in the Persian Gulf in opposition to Iran, and nowhere else is it of utmost importance that any potential confrontation be won decisively in the next five to ten years than with the Islamic Republic.

Going forward, Washington must discriminate between Iranian behaviors it considers unacceptable -- such as support for terrorism, hegemonic ambitions, and progress toward nuclear weapons -- and those it can tolerate. U.S. officials could open the door for negotiations by making clear to Tehran that they do not seek regime change; the first step in that regard would be to let Iran know that Washington respects it as a nation-state and not a transnational revolutionary movement.

Finally, disorganization within the U.S. government and a "go it alone" mentality have accounted for many of Washington's internal difficulties in responding to the Iranian challenge. To alleviate this problem, all cabinet-level officials must be in constant and complete coordination, devoid of routine bureaucratic obstacles. In addition, the appointment of a senior subcabinet official whose sole responsibility is Iran (or, alternatively, a small group of officials in constant coordination) could allow the administration to reorganize bureaucratically in preparation for this year of decision.

THOMAS PICKERING

Discussions of containment policy typically imply accepting the Islamic Republic as an inevitable nuclear power and using deterrence to deal with a nuclear-armed Iran. Yet such an outcome would be disastrous for U.S. nonproliferation policy, which is based on the notion that fewer nuclear states means less chance of miscalculated use. If Iran attains a nuclear weapon, other regional powers would likely follow suit -- clearly an undesirable outcome for the international community.

At the other end of the spectrum, using military means in the short term to guarantee prevention would entail a vast use of force -- essentially an unofficial, semipermanent occupation of Iran. This is not a viable path, particularly since other diplomatic possibilities have not yet been exhausted.

Similarly, sanctions, while effective, are not sufficient by themselves. They must be intertwined with negotiations -- as Washington and its allies increase the pressure, cohesive and meaningful talks with equivalent concessions should follow suit. Some have argued that negotiations should expand to a "big for big" format, but decades of mistrust between the United States and Iran make smaller deals more practical. Such an approach would have to focus on ending Iran's most problematic enrichment activity: processing uranium to the 20 percent threshold, which makes the leap to weapons-grade material much easier. Instead, the regime could limit itself to 5 percent enrichment, and under strict supervision by the International Atomic Energy Agency.

The intelligence community widely believes that although Iran has not yet decided to make a nuclear weapon, it is still moving to acquire all the necessary capabilities in case it chooses that path. Accordingly, Washington will need to obtain a concrete Iranian commitment to convert its stocks of readily upgradeable gaseous uranium into metallic fuel elements, which pose significantly less of a threat. A serious inspection system would need to be implemented in order to monitor these requirements. In return, the Iranians would expect the lifting of nuclear-related sanctions. They would also likely ask for acknowledgement that they have the right to continue their civil enrichment program, whether for supposed use in cancer treatment or to safeguard against a potential Russian decision to cease fueling the Bushehr reactor.

Thus far, President Obama has been frustrated at the lack of progress in response to his openness toward the Iranian regime, and his new cabinet has an obligation to help him solidify a negotiating position that improves the situation. If the Iranians continue to reject U.S. positions that seemingly respond to some of their demands, then the administration should begin applying other pressures. These steps should be taken sooner rather than later so that the parties can move toward a mutually acceptable conclusion.

Washington must also keep in mind that Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei has the last word on all matters in Iran, and that negotiations will go only as far as he allows them to go. In years past, he issued a fatwa condemning nuclear weapons -- Washington could take advantage of this fact by drafting a UN Security Council resolution endorsing the fatwa. This could be a small step toward boosting Khamenei's international profile while simultaneously pressuring Iran to follow its own religious decree.

To be sure, regime change remains an attractive alternative on paper, and some in Washington view it as an insurance policy. Historically, however, regime change has not been a successful option for the United States, and internal attempts at toppling Iran's leadership have thus far been crushed by Stalinesque suppression, including the 2009 uprising. Despite such failures and Washington's limited influence in Iranian domestic affairs, U.S. policy should be to demonstratively support popular democratic movements.

This rapporteur's summary was prepared by Guive Rosen.