أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

مع بوتين أو بدونه، إسرائيل مستعدة لفرض الخط الأحمر في لبنان

ديفيد ماكوفسكي

متاح أيضاً في English

1 شباط/فبراير 2018


خلال اللقاء الذي استضاف فيه الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين رئيسَ الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو في التاسع والعشرين من كانون الثاني/يناير، تركز الحديث بينهما على الحرب في سوريا كما جرت العادة في اللقاءات العديدة التي جمعت بينهما في الآونة الأخيرة. غير أنهما ناقشا أيضاً على نحو غير متوقع احتمال وجود منشآت إيرانية للأسلحة في لبنان وما يعنيه ذلك من إمكانية تحويل القذائف إلى صواريخ دقيقة التوجيه قادرة على استهداف البنية التحتية والمراكز السكانية في إسرائيل. وفي هذا السياق صرّح نتنياهو للمراسلين الصحفيين في أعقاب الاجتماع أن "الأسلحة الدقيقة الصادرة عن لبنان تشكل تهديداً كبيراً لإسرائيل ونحن لن نقبله، وإذا استدعت منّا هذه المسألة التصرف أيضاً، فلن نتردد في ذلك."

لقد اجتمع نتنياهو بالرئيس بوتين سبع مرات منذ دخول روسيا الحرب السورية عام 2015. ومن بين القضايا الأولى التي ناقشاها وضع آلية لتجنّب المواجهة العسكرية بين قواتهما، وضمنا بالنتيجة لإسرائيل إمكانية التحرّك ضد العناصر الإيرانيين ووكلاء إيران في سوريا حسب الضرورة (أي عندما يحاول هؤلاء نقل منظومات الأسلحة الاستراتيجية، أو تنفيذ عمليات على مسافة قريبة جداً من حدود الجولان، أو يشكلون تهديداً على إسرائيل بطريقة أو بأخرى). كما سعى نتنياهو إلى الحصول على دعم روسيا لجهود أوسع نطاقاً للحد من النشاط الايراني في المنطقة. ولكن موسكو لم ترد علناً على مثل هذه الطلبات، والتزم نتنياهو الصمت أيضاً حول هذه المسألة، مكتفياً بالقول إن العلاقات الإسرائيلية الروسية "ممتازة" وأن هناك تقارباً بينهما حول القضايا الرئيسية.

وفي الواقع أن نتنياهو سبق أن أثار مسألة المنشآت الإيرانية في لبنان. ففي اجتماع عقده مع الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة أنطونيو غوتيريس في 28 آب/أغسطس، تحدث ضد "التحصينات" الإيرانية في لبنان، ومن بينها الجهود المبذولة لبناء مصانع لإنتاج الصواريخ هناك، مشيراً إلى أن "هذا أمر لا يمكن أن تقبله إسرائيل، وهذا أمر لا يجدر بالأمم المتحدة أن تقبله." وقد صدرت تحذيراتٌ مماثلة من رئيس أركان "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي" غادي أيزنكوت بشأن تنظيم «حزب الله» العامل بوكالة إيرانية، وذلك في خطاب ألقاه في 30 كانون الثاني/يناير أشار فيه إلى أن «حزب الله» ينتهك قرارات مجلس الأمن الدولي من خلال الحفاظ على وجوده العسكري في المناطق المحظورة في لبنان وتحسين قدراته الصاروخية.

والجدير بالذكر أن إسرائيل ردّت على معامل الأسلحة التي أنشأتها إيران في سوريا بإطلاقها صواريخ على أهداف بالقرب من بلدة مصياف الغربية، وفقاً لبعض التقارير. ومع ذلك، فعلى الرغم من أن إسرائيل قد شنت العديد من الضربات في سوريا طوال الحرب، إلا أنها ستواجه تحديات مختلفة إذا ما قررت استهداف لبنان. ويقول مسؤولون إسرائيليون إن «حزب الله» يمتلك أكثر من 100,000 صاروخ، وقد يكون ذلك السبب الذي دفعهم إلى تفادي إعطاء الأوامر بتنفيذ ضربات جوية على لبنان على مدى السنوات الثلاث الماضية، واكتفوا باستهداف قوافل الأسلحة التابعة لـ «حزب الله» على الأراضي السورية. وفي آب/أغسطس، ذكر قائد سلاح الجو الإسرائيلي عند انتهاء فترة ولايته أمير إيشل أن إسرائيل استهدفت التنظيم بما يقرب من 100 ضربة خلال السنوات الخمس الماضية، وجميعها نُفّذت تقريباً في سوريا. ونظراً إلى نجاح إسرائيل الظاهر في إعاقة عمليات نقل الأسلحة التابعة لـ«حزب الله» من سوريا إلى لبنان، فمن المرجح أن تحاول إيران إنشاء مرافق إنتاج في لبنان نفسه.

وعقب اجتماع نتنياهو مع بوتين، أشار وزير الدفاع الإسرائيلي أفيغدور ليبرمان إلى حساسية ضرب «حزب الله» داخل لبنان قائلاً لأعضاء حزبه «إسرائيل بيتنا» "إننا نسخّر كل الإمكانات السياسية وغيرها لمنع تصنيع الصواريخ... وآخر ما أريده هو أن تدخل إسرائيل في حرب لبنانية ثالثة. أعتقد أننا ما زلنا نملك ما يكفي من الوسائل تحت تصرفنا."

وفي الوقت نفسه، كتب الناطق بلسان "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي" رونين مانليس مقالاً نادراً باللغة العربية نُشر في وسائل الإعلام اللبنانية في 28 كانون الثاني/يناير، حذر فيه القرّاء من أنهم يمهّدون الطريق للحرب بالسماح لإيران بتحويل بلادهم إلى "لعبة"، ففي رأيه، لم تعد إيران تكتفي بنقل "أسلحة أو أموال أو استشارة" - بل "فتحت أساساً فرعاً جديداً" في لبنان.

وحتى الآن، لم تقدّم روسيا أي دليل على تحرّكها بشكل فعال لتقييد «حزب الله» في لبنان، ولكن يبدو أن نتنياهو لا يزال حريصاً على إيصال رسالة إلى التنظيم وراعيه الإيراني عبر موسكو. كما أصدر تحذيراته علناً من خلال البيانات الصحفية في حال لم يمضِ بوتين في هذا الطريق، معتقداً على ما يبدو بأن هذه التصريحات ستكون معلّلاً إذا قررت إسرائيل شن ضربات في لبنان. ومن ناحية الرهانات السياسية المترتبة على الساحة المحلية من المضي في هذا المسار، يميل الشعب الإسرائيلي إلى ترك مثل هذه الأمور في أيدي القادة العسكريين، إذ يثق بأنهم سيأخذون في الاعتبار التداعيات المحتملة للانتقام والتصعيد.

إنّ تصريحات نتنياهو توضح بطريقة أو بأخرى أن التهديد الناشئ عن منشآت إنتاج الأسلحة المتطورة في لبنان يغيّر مقاييس اللعبة نظراً إلى قدرتها على تجهيز «حزب الله» بصواريخ دقيقة التوجيه. وبالتالي فإن خطر التصعيد سيكون حقيقياً للغاية إذا فشلت محادثات نتنياهو مع بوتين فضلاً عن تحذيراته العلنية وغيرها من الأساليب الدبلوماسية المحتملة الأخرى في ردع إيران.

 

ديفيد ماكوفسكي هو زميل "زيغلر" المميز ومدير مشروع عملية السلام في الشرق الأوسط في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

With or Without Putin, Israel Is Willing to Enforce Lebanon Redline

David Makovsky

Also available in العربية

February 1, 2018


Through Moscow meetings and public statements, Israeli officials have made clear that Iranian weapons facilities in Lebanon are a game changer, so escalation is quite possible if Tehran ignores their warnings.

When Russian president Vladimir Putin hosted Israeli prime minister Binyamin Netanyahu on January 29, they focused on the Syria war, much as they have done in their numerous other recent meetings. Unexpectedly, however, they also discussed potential Iranian weapons facilities in Lebanon, which could transform rockets into precision-guided missiles capable of hitting Israeli infrastructure and population centers. As Netanyahu told reporters after the meeting, "The threat of accurate weapons from Lebanon is a major threat to Israel and we will not accept it, and in this matter too, if we have to take action, we will. "

Since Russia entered the Syria war in 2015, Netanyahu has met with Putin seven times. Among the first issues they discussed was establishing a deconfliction mechanism for their forces; subsequently, they have ensured that Israel can operate against Iranian personnel and their proxies in Syria as needed (namely, when they attempt to transfer strategic weapons systems, operate too close to the Golan frontier, or otherwise pose a threat to Israel). He has also sought Russian backing for a more general effort to curb Iranian activity in the region. Moscow has not responded publicly to such requests, however, and Netanyahu has been silent on the matter as well, saying only that Israeli-Russian relations are "excellent" and that there is convergence between them on key issues.

Netanyahu has also publicly raised the issue of Iranian facilities in Lebanon before. In an August 28 meeting with UN secretary-general Antonio Guterres, he spoke out against Iranian "entrenchment" in Lebanon, including efforts to build missile-production sites there, stating, "This is something Israel cannot accept. This is something the UN should not accept." Israel Defense Forces chief of staff Gadi Eisenkot offered similar warnings about Iranian proxy Hezbollah in a January 30 speech, noting that the group is breaking UN Security Council resolutions by maintaining a military presence in restricted areas of Lebanon and improving its missile capabilities.

When Iran established weapons facilities in Syria, Israel reportedly responded last September by launching missiles at targets near the western town of Masyaf. Yet despite conducting numerous strikes in Syria throughout the war, Israel would face different challenges if it decided to target Lebanon. Israeli officials say that Hezbollah possesses more than 100,000 rockets; this may be why they have avoided ordering airstrikes in Lebanon for the past three years, only targeting Hezbollah weapons convoys on Syrian soil. In August, outgoing air force commander Amir Eshel stated that Israel had struck the group close to 100 times in the past five years, almost always in Syria. Given Israel's apparent success in impeding Hezbollah weapons transfers from Syria to Lebanon, Iran will likely try to establish production facilities in Lebanon itself.

Following Netanyahu's meeting with Putin, Israeli defense minister Avigdor Liberman referred to the delicacy of striking Hezbollah inside Lebanon, telling members of his Yisrael Beitenu Party, "We're operating all political leverages, as well as others, to prevent missile manufacturing...The last thing I'd want is for Israel to enter the Third Lebanon War. I think we still have enough means at our disposal."

At the same time, IDF spokesman Ronen Manelis wrote a rare Arabic article for Lebanese media outlets on January 28, warning readers that they were paving the way for war by enabling Iran to turn their country into a "pawn." In his view, Iran is no longer just transferring "arms, funds, or consultation"—it has essentially "opened a new branch" in Lebanon.

Thus far, Russia has offered no evidence of actively constraining Hezbollah in Lebanon, but Netanyahu still seems keen on relaying a message to the group and its Iranian patron via Moscow. He has also made his warnings public through press statements in case Putin does not follow through, apparently believing that such statements will set the predicate if Israel decides to conduct strikes in Lebanon. As for the domestic political stakes of going that route, the Israeli public tends to defer to military leaders on such matters, trusting that they will take into account the potential ramifications of retaliation and escalation.

One way or another, Netanyahu's statements make clear that the threat of upgraded weapons-production facilities in Lebanon is a game changer given their ability to equip Hezbollah with precision-guided missiles. Therefore, the risk of escalation is very real if his conversations with Putin, public warnings, and other potential diplomatic approaches fail to deter Iran.

David Makovsky is the Ziegler Distinguished Fellow and director of the Project on the Middle East Peace Process at The Washington Institute.