أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

عندما فشلت الضمانات الدولية فشلاً ذريعاً

ديفيد ماكوفسكي

متاح أيضاً في English

"جيروزاليم بوست"

4 أيار/مايو 2017


مع اقترابنا من الذكرى السنوية الخمسين لحرب عام 1967 التي تصادف الشهر المقبل، حري بنا ألا ننسى إحدى العبر الثابتة المستقاة من الفترة التي سبقت اندلاع الصراع. وتحديداً أنه لا بدّ من تقييم الاتفاقات بصورة موضوعية وكلية ولا يجب إسنادها إلى ضمانات دولية غير ملموسة بشأن المستقبل. وقد انطبعت هذه الفكرة في وجدان إسرائيل في أيار/مايو 1967. وعزّزت هذه العبرة المؤلمة الروح الصهيونية القائمة على الاعتماد على الذات. وفي هذا الإطار، قال مناحيم بيغن عبارته الشهيرة في وقت لاحق: "لا يوجد ضمانة تضمن ضمانة".

وفي 22 أيار/مايو 1967، أغلق الرئيس المصري جمال عبد الناصر مضيق (أو مضائق) تيران، مما شكّل ضربة موجعة لإسرائيل التي كانت تعتمد على واردات النفط من إيران. واعتقدت إسرائيل أنها تلقت ضمانة من المجتمع الدولي فى عام 1957 بأنه سيعيد فتح المضيق إذا أغلقه عبد الناصر مرة أخرى كما فعل في عام 1956. 

وبعد أزمة السويس ("حملة سيناء") في عام 1956، وافق رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي ديفيد بن غوريون على مضض من حيث المبدأ على الانسحاب من شبه الجزيرة، لكنه طلب عدة ضمانات قبل أن تنفذ إسرائيل هذه الخطوة: ومن بين الضمانات التي طلبها كان عدم إغلاق مضيق تيران مرة أخرى، وتمكُّن السفن الإسرائيلية من دخول خليج العقبة والميناء الإسرائيلي في إيلات. كما طلب ضمانة بعدم سحب "قوات الطوارئ الدولية" التابعة للأمم المتحدة من سيناء بناء على طلب المصريين فقط.

وقد شعر الرئيس الأمريكي دوايت آيزنهاور بأن إسرائيل مرغمة على الامتثال لقرار الأمم المتحدة القاضي بالانسحاب، وتعجز عن فرض شروطها على عملية الانسحاب. وفي الوقت نفسه، أقرّ بأنه تساورها مخاوف مشروعة. وبغية حلّ هذه الأزمة في آذار/مارس عام 1957، عرض على إسرائيل نصاً عُرف على أنه مذكرة عبر وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية جاء فيها أنه "لا يحق لأي دولة أن تمنع بشكل قسري العبور الحر والبريء في الخليج وعبر المضيق الذي يتيح الوصول إليه"، وأن "الولايات المتحدة، نيابةً عن سفن السجل الأمريكي، مستعدة لممارسة حق المرور الحر والبريء والانضمام إلى الآخرين لضمان الاعتراف العام بهذا الحق"، بإشارته صراحةً إلى أن غلق المضائق غير مقبول. كما ألمحت المذكرة ضمناً من دون أي إشارة صريحة إلى أن الولايات المتحدة ستكون مستعدة لاستخدام الوسائل العسكرية لدعم كلامها.

وفي رسالة إلى بن غوريون بعد المذكرة، كتب آيزنهاور أن إسرائيل "لن يكون لديها ما يدعو الى الندم" على قرارها بالانسحاب. بدوره، أوضح بن غوريون لآيزنهاور أنه "يعتبر أن حرية الملاحة في المضيق وخليج العقبة مضمونة نوعاً ما".  

وفي أعقاب خطوة عبد الناصر حول المضيق، أوفد رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي ليفي إشكول وزير خارجيته آبا إيبان في جولة مكوكية إلى باريس ولندن وواشنطن، ليرى ما إذا كان المجتمع الدولي سيُعيد فتح المضائق وتجنب الحرب. غير أن إيبان واجه سياقاً سياسياً متغيراً عن العقد السابق. ففي ذلك الوقت كانت فرنسا بزعامة شارل ديغول تتصالح مع العالم العربي بعد خروجها من الجزائر ولم تعد منبوذة كما كانت عليه خلال خمسينيات القرن الماضي. وقد أكّد ديغول لإيبان بأنه تم التعهد بإبقاء مضيق تيران مفتوحاً. وكما كتب [عضو الكنيست الإسرائيلي] مايكل أورين في كتابه "ستة أيام من الحرب"، أعلن ديغول آنذاك إنه "كان ذلك عام 1957"، مضيفاً "نحن الآن في عام 1967". أما الرئيس الأمريكي جونسون فكان منشغلاً في فيتنام، واضطر مساعدوه إلى التوجه بسرعة إلى مقر تقاعد آيزنهاور في غيتيسبيرغ في ولاية بنسيلفانيا، لمعرفة ماهية الوعد الذي قطعه.

 [وقد عُرضت] فكرة بريطانية تمثلت بـ"سباق السفن" أو إبحار مجموعة سفن من دول مختلفة عبر المضيق لإرغام عبد الناصر على إعادة فتحه، لكنها لم ترق للجنرال ايرل ويلر رئيس هيئة الأركان المشتركة الأمريكية في عهد الرئيس جونسون. ولدى سؤاله عما سيحصل إذا أطلقت مصر النيران على الجيش الأمريكي في حال شق طريقه بالقوة عبر المضيق في مثل هذه الحالة، كان ردّه "هذا يعني الحرب". إلا أن فكرة سباق السفن لم يُكتب لها النجاح. 

ومع ذلك، لا ينبغي الخلط بين الفكرة بأن الضمانات الدولية ليست حازمة مع التفكير القائل بأنه يجب على إسرائيل الاعتماد فقط على القوة. فقد صمدت معاهدة السلام الموقعة بين مصر وإسرائيل عام 1979 ومعاهدة السلام بين الأردن وإسرائيل عام 1994 في وجه صدمات إقليمية وثنائية هائلة خلال العقود القليلة الماضية. 

وقد سخر النقّاد من كل معاهدة معتبرين أنها مجرد سلام بارد. غير أن هذه الاتفاقات درّت على إسرائيل عائدات كبيرة جاءت من عملية السلام.

ففي الفترة التي أعقبت حرب عام 1973، قدّرت الأرقام الرسمية الأمريكية أن إسرائيل قد خصصت نصف ناتجها القومي الإجمالي للنفقات العسكرية. واستناداً إلى هذه الحسابات، فإن هذا سيعني أن إسرائيل ستنفق اليوم ما يقرب من 150 مليار دولار سنوياً. وفي الواقع، تقلّ نفقات إسرائيل العسكرية عن 19 مليار دولار، وفقاً لـ "المعهد الدولي للدراسات الإستراتيجية" الذي مقره في لندن. (وتأتي 3.1 مليارات دولار من أصل هذا المبلغ من الولايات المتحدة بالإضافةً إلى 500 مليون دولار كدعم لنظام الدفاع الصاروخي الإسرائيلي. والتزمت الولايات المتحدة بزيادة هذا المبلغ إلى 3.8 مليارات دولار اعتباراً من عام 2018). ومن الواضح أن الفرق بين الرقمين هائل للغاية - أي إن العائدات من السلام تتجاوز 130 مليار دولار سنوياً. وبدلاً من ذلك، يُخصص هذا الإنفاق للطرق والمدارس والعيادات وعدد كبير من البرامج الأخرى التي أدّت إلى تحسّن نوعية حياة الإسرائيليين بشكل هائل.     

كما يعني السلام أن العلاقات العسكرية والأمنية الثنائية بين إسرائيل ومصر وبين إسرائيل والأردن عند أعلى مستوياتها بسبب التهديدات المشتركة التي يطرحها تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» («داعش») وحركة «حماس» وغيرهما من الجهاديين. وخلاصة القول إن الاتفاقات ذات الأسس السليمة كانت ذات أهمية كبيرة لأمن إسرائيل وصمدت أمام اختبار الزمن. إن الاتفاقات الناجحة هي التي تخدم مصالح الطرفيْن.  

ويختلف ذلك اختلافاً جوهرياً عن الوعود العامة بتدخل دولي من أطراف ثالثة في الأزمات المستقبلية حيث لا يوجد تحالف تعاقدي. وكان هناك العديد من العوامل التي ساهمت في حرب حزيران/يونيو 1967، أحدها أن الضمانات الدولية قبل عقد على هذا التاريخ كانت سريعة الزوال وعابرة. فحين تغيّر السياق السياسي للأطراف الخارجية، تبددت الضمانات.   

ولكي نكون منصفين، تختلف الضمانات الدولية عن الترتيبات الأمنية. فهل يجب أن تحول دروس عام 1967 دون إمكانيات إجراء ترتيبات أمنية بقيادة حلف "الناتو" أو الولايات المتحدة في وادي الأردن مستقبلاً في حال إحراز تقدّم على الجبهة الإسرائيلية-الفلسطينية؟ لقد أصبحت المسألة نظرية للغاية فى الوقت الحالي لعدة أسباب، من بينها الفجوات الهائلة حول القضايا بين إسرائيل والفلسطينيين وعدم الاستقرار الشامل الذي تشهده منطقة الشرق الأوسط خلال فترة ما بعد "الربيع العربي". وبطبيعة الحال، هناك الكثير من العوامل التي يجب أخذها في الاعتبار، ولا شكّ في أن مذكرة من آيزنهاور بشأن سيناريو مستقبلي نظري ستكون مختلفة للغاية عن ترتيبات أمنية مفصلة وملموسة ومستمرة تتمكن بموجبها إسرائيل من العمل بنجاح بمفردها إذا انهارت هذه الترتيبات.     

ولا يزال التردد في الفترة التي سبقت حرب عام 1967 يعطي درساً تحذيرياً هاماً، يُظهر مكامن فشل الضمانات الدولية بالكامل. وإذا ساءت الأمور، يجب أن تكون إسرائيل قادرة على الدفاع عن نفسها بنفسها.  

 

ديفيد ماكوفسكي هو زميل "زيغلر" المميز ومدير مشروع عملية السلام في الشرق الأوسط في معهد واشنطن. وتشمل منشوراته المذكرة السياسية لعام 2017 "نحو صيغةٍ جديدة لمعالجة الصراع الإسرائيلي الفلسطيني" (التي شارك في تأليفها دينيس روس).

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

When International Guarantees Utterly Failed

David Makovsky

Also available in العربية

Jerusalem Post

May 4, 2017


The international community's vacillation and vague guarantees in the run-up to the 1967 war taught the Israelis an important cautionary lesson: when the chips are down, they need to be able to defend themselves by themselves.

As we approach next month's 50th anniversary of the 1967 war, we should not forget one of the enduring lessons learned from the run-up to the conflict. Namely, that agreements need to stand on their own merits and cannot be based on abstract international guarantees about the future. This idea was seared into Israel's consciousness in May 1967. This painful lesson reinforced the Zionist ethos of self-reliance. Menachem Begin would later famously say: "There is no guarantee that can guarantee a guarantee."

On May 22, 1967, Egypt's president Gamal Abdel Nasser closed the Straits of Tiran, a critical blow to Israel, which relied on oil imports from Iran. Israel believed it had received a guarantee from the international community in 1957 that it would reopen the Straits if Nasser again closed them, as he had in 1956.

After the Suez Crisis (Sinai Campaign) of 1956, prime minister David Ben-Gurion conceded in principle to withdraw from the peninsula, but requested several assurances before Israel could move ahead: Among the assurances he sought were that the Straits of Tiran wouldn't be blockaded again, and that Israeli ships would have access to the Gulf of Aqaba and the Israeli port at Eilat. He also sought assurance that the UN Emergency Force (UNEF) in Sinai couldn't be withdrawn just due to the sole demand of the Egyptians.

President Dwight Eisenhower felt Israel was obligated to adhere to the UN resolution and withdraw, and could not put forward conditions for a pullout. At the same, he acknowledged, it had legitimate concerns. To square this circle in March 1957, he offered Israel a text known as an aide-memoire through the State Department, which stated that "no nation has the right forcibly to prevent free and innocent passage in the Gulf and through the Straits giving access thereto," and that "the United States, on behalf of vessels of United States registry, is prepared to exercise the right of free and innocent passage and to join with others to secure general recognition of this right," explicitly stating that blocking the straits is unacceptable. It implied but did not state that the US would be willing to use military means to back up its words.

In a letter to Ben-Gurion following the aide-memoire, Eisenhower wrote that Israel "will have no cause to regret" its decision to withdraw. Ben-Gurion conveyed to Eisenhower that he "saw freedom of navigation in the Straits and Gulf of Aqaba as more or less assured."

In wake of Nasser's move on the Straits, prime minister Levi Eshkol dispatched foreign minister Abba Eban on a whirlwind trip to Paris, London and Washington, to see if the international community would re-open the Straits, and avert war. However, Eban faced a changed political context from a decade earlier. Charles de Gaulle's France was now making up with the Arab world in the aftermath of the French exit from Algeria, and was no longer the pariah that it was in the 1950s. De Gaulle conceded to Eban that the commitment to keep the Straits of Tiran open had been made. As Michael Oren writes in his Six Days of War, de Gaulle then declared, "that was 1957," adding "now was 1967." President Lyndon Johnson was preoccupied with Vietnam and his aides had to scurry to Eisenhower's retirement residence in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, to find out what had been promised.

Johnson's chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, Gen. Earle Wheeler, did not like the British idea of a "regatta" or a group of ships from different countries to sail through the Straits, forcing Nasser to re-open them. When asked what if Egypt fires on the US in the event it forces its way through the Straits in such an instance, "it means war," Wheeler declared. The regatta idea fizzled.

However, the notion that international guarantees are not ironclad should not be confused with the thinking that Israel should only rely on force. The peace treaty between Egypt and Israel of 1979 and the peace treaty between Jordan and Israel of 1994 have withstood enormous regional and bilateral shocks in the last few decades.

Critics derided each treaty as merely a cold peace. However, these agreements have paid major peace dividends for Israel.

In the period after the 1973 war, US official figures estimated that Israel devoted half of its gross national product to military spending. On that percentage basis, this would mean that Israel would spend close to $150 billion per annum today. In fact, Israel's military spending is less than $19b., according to the London-based International Institute for Strategic Studies. (Of that amount, $3.1b. comes from the US with another $500 million supporting Israel's missile defense. Starting in 2018, the US is committed to the figure of $3.8b.) The difference in the two figures is obviously enormous -- a peace dividend equivalent of over $130b. for every single year. That spending instead goes for roads, schools, clinics and a myriad of other programs that have led to a skyrocketing in the quality of life for Israelis.

Peace has also meant that bilateral military-security relationships between Israel and Egypt and between Israel and Jordan are at a high-water mark due to common threats from ISIS, Hamas and other jihadis. The bottom line is that properly constructed agreements have been hugely important to Israel's security and have withstood the test of time. Agreements work that serve the interests of both parties.

This is fundamentally different from general promises of international intervention from third parties in future crises where there is no contractual alliance. There were many factors contributing to the 1967 June war, and one such factor was that international guarantees of a decade earlier were ephemeral. When the political context changed for the external parties, the guarantees evaporated.

To be fair, international guarantees and security arrangements are not the same thing. Should the lesson of 1967 preclude the prospects of NATO- or US-led security arrangements in the Jordan Valley down the road in the event of an Israeli-Palestinian breakthrough? The issue has become extremely theoretical for now due to a variety of reasons, including the enormous gaps on issues between Israel and the Palestinians and the overall instability of the Mideast during the post-Arab Spring era. Of course, there are myriad factors to consider, and an aide-memoire from Eisenhower about a theoretical future scenario would be critically different from detailed, concrete, ongoing security arrangements where Israel would have to be able to act successfully by itself if these arrangements collapse.

The vacillation in the run-up to the 1967 war still teaches an important cautionary lesson, illustrating where international guarantees utterly failed. If the chips are down, Israel needs to be able to defend itself by itself.

David Makovsky is the Ziegler Distinguished Fellow and director of the Project on the Middle East Peace Process at The Washington Institute. His publications include the Transition 2017 paper "Toward a New Paradigm for Addressing the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict" (coauthored with Dennis Ross).