أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2762

ما هي المواضيع التي سيناقشها نتنياهو مع ترامب؟

ديفيد ماكوفسكي

متاح أيضاً في English

10 شباط/فبراير 2017


"تستند هذه المقالة على الملاحظات التي أدلى بها زميل "زيغلر" المميز ديفيد ماكوفسكي في منتدى سياسي بمعهد واشنطن في 8 شباط/فبراير. بإمكانك قراءة وجهات نظره حول هذه القضايا بمزيد من التفاصيل في الورقة الانتقالية 2017 "نحو صيغة جديدة لمعالجة الصراع الإسرائيلي الفلسطيني" التي كتبها مع دينيس روس. إقرأ ملاحظات روبرت ساتلوف من نفس الحدث".

 

في 15 شباط/فبراير، سيعقد رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو أول اجتماع عمل له مع الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب. وقد تسلّمت الإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة مهامها للتو ولم يكتمل بعد طاقم موظفيها، وما زال عليها الكشف عن مجموعة السياسات الكاملة التي ستنتهجها في الشرق الأوسط. لكن لا شكّ في أن موعد الزيارة المبكر يكتسي طابعاً مهماً بالنسبة إلى الزعيمين.

وعلى الرغم من العلاقة الدفاعية الوثيقة جداً التي جمعت إدارة أوباما بإسرائيل، إلّا أنّ التوترات الكبيرة بين الرئيس الأمريكي السابق ونتنياهو بشأن قضايا السياسة الرئيسية قد خلّفت آثارها. ولكن الرئيس ترامب أعلن خلال حملته الانتخابية أنه سيعتمد نبرة مختلفة إزاء إسرائيل مشدداً على أنه سيعزز العلاقة الثنائية من ناحية المضمون والمواقف. ويُعد الاجتماع المبكر الذي يخلو من أي توقّعات بشأن الكشف عن إعلانات مهمة، فرصة لإثبات موقف جديد وأكثر ودية من جهة، وإقامة علاقة وثيقة من جهة أخرى.

ومن جهته، يَعتبر نتنياهو أن الزيارة تمثل فرصة رمزية لكي يُظهر للعالم أنه زائر مرغوب فيه إلى حدّ كبير من قبل الإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة في واشنطن، علماً بأنه الزعيم العالمي الثالث الذي يتلقى دعوة للاجتماع مع ترامب حيث يأتي هذا اللقاء مباشرة في أعقاب زيارتين قام بهما رؤساء حليفتي الولايات المتحدة الرئيسيتين بريطانيا واليابان [بالإضافة إلى رئيس وزراء كندا]. (وفي هذا الصدد، تجدر الإشارة إلى أن اجتماع العاهل الأردني الملك عبدالله مؤخراً مع الرئيس ترامب لم يكن مخططاً له كجزء من زيارة مقررة سابقاً إلى واشنطن). ويأمل نتنياهو على الأرجح أن يحظى بفكرة أفضل حول تفكير ترامب، وعلى نحو أكثر أهمية، أن يؤثّر في حسابات واشنطن بشأن المسائل المهمة والحساسة لا سيما في وقت لا يزال جو من الضبابية يخيم على السياسات.

ما هي القضايا التي سيعرضها نتنياهو في واشنطن؟

خلال زيارته إلى البيت الأبيض، من المحتمل أن يركز رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي على أربع قضايا هي:

1. تنفيذ الاتفاق النووي الإيراني بدلاً من إلغائه. استناداً إلى الجلستين اللتين عقدهما مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي مؤخراً للمصادقة على تعيين وزير الخارجية ريكس تيلرسون ووزير الدفاع جيمس ماتيس، يبدو أن إدارة ترامب تعتقد أنه لا بدّ من تنفيذ الاتفاق بحذافيره بدلاً من إلغائه. ويتماشى ذلك مع وجهة النظر الجلية لمسؤولي الأمن القومي في إسرائيل. ويُذكر أن الحكومتين تعتبران أن تأجيل برنامج إيران النووي لمدة تتراوح بين عشرة وخمسة عشر عاماً يعود عليهما بالمنافع. ولكن لا شكّ أن نتنياهو يتوق إلى فهم الخطوات التي يعتزم ترامب اتخاذها في الوقت الراهن استعداداً للتحديات على المدى الأطول عندما تنتهي صلاحية أحكام الاتفاق الرئيسية وتصبح إيران دولة على العتبة النووية.

2. إبرام اتفاق مع روسيا لتهميش الدور الإيراني في سوريا. يَفترض نتنياهو على الأرجح أن ترامب يرغب في إبرام اتفاق مع موسكو بشأن محاربة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في سوريا. ولا يثير هذا الاحتمال قلق المسؤولين الإسرائيليين الذين يعتقدون على ما يبدو أنه سيتعين على واشنطن استحداث حزمة مغرية لضمان إقامة علاقة تعاونية مع الروس. وبالنسبة لإسرائيل، لا بدّ أن تؤدي الحزمة المثالية إلى إحداث شرخ بين موسكو وطهران في سوريا حيث أن الجهتين الفاعلتين الخارجيَيْن لا تتشاركان الاهتمامات والمصالح نفسها على الرغم من المساعدة العسكرية المستمرة التي تزوّدها روسيا للإيرانيين. وعلى نحو خاص، تبدي طهران التزاماً أكبر بإبقاء بشار الأسد في السلطة ولذلك قد يشكل هذا العامل النقطة التي تؤدّي إلى انهيار العلاقات مع موسكو.

وفي المقابل، قد يدعو نتنياهو إلى التوصل إلى حل وسط أكثر دقة وحذاقة يحدّ من تحركات إيران و«حزب الله» في جنوب سوريا، لا سيما على طول مرتفعات الجولان. وقد ترغب إسرائيل أيضاً في أن يتم إنفاذ قضايا اعتيادية أخرى، مثل منع نقل الأسلحة المتطورة من سوريا إلى «حزب الله» في لبنان ووقف الانتاج الصناعي العسكري السوري الذي تموّله إيران.

3. إخراج التعاون الإسرائيلي-السنّي إلى العلن. أسفرت مجموعة مشتركة من التهديدات عن قيام تقارب إستراتيجي بين إسرائيل والدول السنية البراغماتية المجاورة لها وهي، مصر، والأردن، ودول الخليج. ويساور جميع هذه الحكومات القلق إزاء النفوذ الإيراني في المنطقة، أو التهديدات التي يمثلها الجهاديون المتطرفون، أو كليهما. ونتيجة لذلك، زاد  التعاون الإسرائيلي-العربي في المجال الأمني على نحو مطرد خلال السنوات الأخيرة، على الرغم من أن معظم التحركات في هذا المجال لا تزال تجري بشكل سري.

ويرغب نتنياهو في أن يكون هذا التعاون أكثر علانية وسيسعى على الأرجح إلى الحصول على مساعدة ترامب في هذا المجال. وتكمن إحدى حججه لتحقيق ذلك في أن خطوة من هذا القبيل ستعزز مقاربة إقليمية لعملية السلام، الأمر الذي يمنح الفلسطينيين غطاءً سياسياً للإقدام على تنازلات لم يكونوا ليقوموا بها في إطار ثنائي. غير أن الشكوك لا تزال تساور العرب إزاء رغبة إسرائيل واستعدادها الفعليين للقيام بتنازلات لصالح الفلسطينيين. وقد يعتقدون أيضاً أنه طالما يحظون بمنافع أمنية بفضل التعاون السري مع إسرائيل، فليس هناك سبب يدعوهم إلى الكشف عن هذه الأنشطة والمخاطرة بدفع ثمن ذلك مع شعوبهم.

ولمعالجة هذه التصورات، قد يحاول نتنياهو رفع رصيده لدى الزعماء السنة خلال زيارته إلى واشنطن، ربما عبر دعم القضايا المهمة لهم بعيداً عن الأضواء (على سبيل المثال، زيادة المساعدات الاقتصادية لمصر). ومن خلال قيامه بذلك، قد يشير على الأرجح إلى أن الدعم الأمريكي لاستقرار الدول السنية وأمنها هو الطريقة الأفضل للحد من طموحات الهيمنة الإيرانية.

4. السعي إلى تحقيق هدف راسخ واحد مع الفلسطينيين بدلاً من سلسلة من المكاسب الكبرى، على الأقل في الوقت الراهن. انحسرت الأهمية التي كانت تحظى بها القضية الإسرائيلية-الفلسطينية في بداية عهد الإدارات الأمريكية السابقة، ويعود ذلك بدرجة كبيرة إلى انهماك الدول العربية إلى حد كبير بالأزمات الإقليمية الخاصة بها. ومع ذلك، شدد ترامب على أنه يرغب في التوصل إلى اتفاق كلّي بين الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين. غير أن القيود التي تواجهها القيادة الحالية تشير إلى أن الاحتمالات قاتمة لتحقيق مكاسب مهمة حول هذا الموضوع، وأن الأخذ بنهج تحقيق جميع الأهداف أو عدم تحقيق أي منها لا تنطوي على ضمانات وقد تفضي حتى إلى نتائج عكسية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، من المرجح أن يحاول نتنياهو إقناع ترامب بأن مقاربة إدارة أوباما الأكثر صرامةً تجاه إسرائيل فيما يتعلق بموضوع السلام دفعت بالجانب الفلسطيني إلى اتخاذ موقف أكثر تعنتاً لا يقبل بالمساومات، نظراً إلى عدم رغبته في أن يكون موضع مناورة تنفذها الولايات المتحدة.

غير أن الجمود الراهن له مخاطره أيضاً. فقد ينحدر الوضع بسهولة نحو المزيد من التطرّف وأعمال العنف أو يعزز انطلاق حملة فلسطينية جديدة للحل المتمثل بـ "شخص واحد، صوت واحد" في إسرائيل والضفة الغربية، وهو ترتيب لا يمكن لإسرائيل أن تقبله أبداً.

وبما أنه لا يمكن بعد تنفيذ الحل النهائي المتمثل بوجود دولتين ونظراً إلى أن حالة الجمود المستمرة تهدد بالإفضاء إلى دولة واحدة لا يكتب لها النجاح، تكمن أفضل الآمال في المحافظة على قدرة تطبيق مقاربة الدولتين من خلال مبادرات أكثر محدودية. ولابدّ من الإشارة إلى أن أي إستراتيجية من هذا القبيل قد تحتاج إلى إحلال توازن بين السياسات المعقدة للجانبين. فمن الجانب الفلسطيني، يبلغ الرئيس محمود عباس الحادية والثمانين من عمره ولم تتضح بعد معالم هوية خلفه، لذلك يوشك الشعب الفلسطيني على الدخول في مرحلة سياسة الخلافة التي تحيط بها الضبابية. ومن الجانب الإسرائيلي، فيُعد نتنياهو من بين الأعضاء القلائل في تحالفه الحاكم الذي يعرب علناً عن تفضيله لحل الدولتين. وفي الواقع، قام تحالفه للتو بتمرير قانون يخوّل المستوطنين الإسرائيليين في الضفة الغربية إرغام الفلسطينيين على التخلي عن أراضيهم في بعض الحالات لقاء تعويضات غير مرغوب فيها. وقد أعلن المدعي العام الإسرائيلي أنه لن يدافع عن القانون في المحاكم ويتوقّع أن يتم إلغاؤه، غير أن إقراره يكشف إلى حدّ كبير الضغوط التي تدفع بالحكومة نحو المزيد من المسار إلى اليمين.

وفي الآونة الأخيرة وبعد لقاء العاهل الأردني الملك عبدالله الثاني مع الرئيس ترامب، أُخذ منافسو نتنياهو في المعسكر اليميني على حين غرة من بيان صدر عن البيت الأبيض أشار إلى أن المستوطنات الإسرائيلية الجديدة لا تساهم في عملية السلام. ولعل هذا الإعلان أرضى نتنياهو الذي يفضل سراً سياسة مغايرة في ما يخص المستوطنات من أجل تفادي البناء الموسع في مناطق قد تغير الوضع الراهن في إسرائيل/الضفة الغربية وتحوّله إلى دولة واحدة بحكم الأمر الواقع. وساهمت سياسة إدارة أوباما المعارضة لجميع أعمال بناء المستوطنات الجديدة في توفير بعض الدعم لنتنياهو، الأمر الذي خوله السيطرة على منافسيه اليمينيين. واذا تخلى ترامب عن هذا الموقف المعارض بالكامل، قد يرزح نتنياهو تحت وطأة ضغوط أكبر لتوسيع المستوطنات.  

ومن بين الآليات التي قد تساعد نتنياهو في هذا الصدد هي الرسالة التي وجهها الرئيس جورج بوش الابن في عام 2004 إلى رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي أريئيل شارون في إطار الانسحاب الإسرائيلي المزمع من غزة. وميزت الرسالة في مضمونها بين المستوطنات وأقرّت بأن أغلبية كبيرة من المستوطنين يعيشون في كتل كبيرة تقع بشكل رئيسي ضمن الحاجز الأمني في الضفة الغربية، في حين أن الأغلبية الكبيرة من الفلسطينيين يعيشون خارج هذه المناطق.

وقد يرغب ترامب في توجيه رسالته الخاصة، ولكن رسالة بوش قد تشكل خطاً أساسياً ومرجعياً مهماً. وفي الفترة القادمة، قد تتفق واشنطن وإسرائيل على مقاربة مغايرة على نحو مماثل فيما يخص موضوع المستوطنات من أجل البدء بتحديد الملامح الديمغرافية والجغرافية لحل الدولتين. وقد يتطلب ذلك قيام إسرائيل بتقييد أعمال البناء ضمن مناطق مختارة داخل الحاجز الأمني الذي يشمل نحو 8 في المائة من أراضي الضفة الغربية والتزامها بشكل واضح تماماً بعدم البناء خارج الحاجز. وقد يستلزم ذلك أيضاً التنسيق مع الولايات المتحدة بالطريقة نفسها التي سعى بموجبها شارون سراً إلى الحصول على تأييد إدارة بوش الضمني في تحديد مسار الحاجز قبل عرضه على حكومته للموافقة عليه.

وقد تستطيع واشنطن أن تشجع إسرائيل أيضاً على السماح للفلسطينيين بقدر أكبر من الحوكمة والقدرة على تنفيذ عدد أكبر من المشاريع الاقتصادية ضمن أقسام محددة من المنطقة ("ج")، التي لا يعيش فيها عدد كبير من السكان وتشمل 60 في المائة من الضفة الغربية لكنها لا تزال تحت السيطرة الإسرائيلية الكاملة. وقد تتطلب التنازلات من هذا القبيل توفير غطاء دبلوماسي أمريكي هام. وفي المقابل، سيتعين على الفلسطينيين وقف تمويل "مؤسسات الشهداء" التي تمنح رواتب لأقارب أولئك الذين يقتلون إسرائيليين أو أجانب، والقيام عوضاً عن ذلك بتشجيع تشكيل المزيد من حركات السلام الشعبية في الضفة الغربية.   

وأخيراً، من المؤكد أن يناقش الزعيمان فكرة نقل السفارة الأمريكية من تل أبيب. وإذا طُرح السؤال، من المرجح أن يؤكد نتنياهو أن نقل مقر السفارة إلى القدس الغربية ليس بمثابة إصدار حكم مسبق بشأن وضع القدس الشرقية، الذي تعهدت إسرائيل التفاوض بشأنه مع الفلسطينيين. وفي مقابلات أُجريت معه مؤخراً، أشار ترامب إلى أن الولايات المتحدة لن تناقش هذه المسألة علناً في الوقت الراهن.

ويقيناً، من المستبعد أن يطرح أي من الزعيمين أي اتفاقات محددة بشأن هذه القضايا خلال هذا الاجتماع الأولي، وبدلاً من ذلك قد تشكل مناقشتهما للمواضيع الرئيسية الواسعة النطاق أسساً تحدد القاعدة التي ستستند إليها القرارات التي يجب أن تُتخذ خلال الأشهر المقبلة.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2762

What Will Netanyahu Discuss with Trump?

David Makovsky

Also available in العربية

February 10, 2017


The following is based on remarks delivered by Ziegler Distinguished Fellow David Makovsky at a Washington Institute Policy Forum on February 8. His views on these issues are spelled out in greater length in the Transition 2017 paper "Toward a New Paradigm for Addressing the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict," coauthored with Dennis Ross. Read Robert Satloff's remarks from the same event.

On February 15, Israeli prime minister Binyamin Netanyahu will hold his first working meeting with President Donald Trump. The administration just took office and is not fully staffed up, so it has yet to announce its full array of Middle East policies. Yet the early timing of the visit is undoubtedly important for both leaders.

Although the Obama administration had a very close defense relationship with Israel, the bruising tension between the president and Netanyahu on core policy issues left its mark. Trump campaigned on setting a different tone with Israel, insisting he would rejuvenate the bilateral relationship in both substance and attitude. An early meeting without any expectation of major announcements is an opportunity to demonstrate a new, friendlier mood and establish a solid rapport.

For his part, Netanyahu sees the visit as a symbolic opportunity to show the world that he is a much-desired visitor in the new Washington. He is the fourth world leader invited to meet with Trump, coming just on the heels of visits by the leaders of bedrock U.S. allies Britain, Japan, and Canada. (The Jordanian king's recent meeting was conducted on the fly as part of a previously scheduled visit to Washington.) Netanyahu likely hopes to get a better grasp of President Trump's thinking and, more important, influence Washington's calculus on critical issues precisely at a time when policies are still in flux.

WHAT ISSUES WILL NETANYAHU BRING TO WASHINGTON?

The prime minister will probably focus on are four issues during his White House visit:

1. Enforce the Iran nuclear deal rather than scrapping it. Judging by the recent confirmation hearings for Secretary of State Rex Tillerson and Defense Secretary James Mattis, the Trump administration seems to believe that the deal should be scrupulously enforced rather than scrapped. This fits with the apparent view of Israeli national security officials. Both governments see the advantages of delaying Iran's nuclear program for ten to fifteen years. Yet Netanyahu is no doubt keen on understanding what steps Trump plans to take now in preparation for challenges in the longer term, when the agreement's key provisions expire and Iran becomes a threshold nuclear state.

2. Use a deal with Russia to marginalize Iran in Syria. Netanyahu likely assumes that Trump wants to cut a deal with Moscow on fighting the Islamic State in Syria. This prospect does not worry Israeli officials, who seem to believe that Washington will need to come up with an enticing package to ensure a cooperative relationship with the Russians. In Israel's view, the ideal package would drive a wedge between Moscow and Tehran in Syria, where the two outside players do not share identical interests despite Russia's continued military assistance to the Iranians. In particular, Tehran is more wedded to keeping Bashar al-Assad in power, so that could be a breaking point with Moscow.

Alternatively, Netanyahu may push for a subtler compromise that limits Iran and Hezbollah's movements in southern Syria, particularly along the Golan Heights. Israel would also want other standard concerns to be enforced, such as preventing the transfer of advanced weaponry from Syria to Hezbollah in Lebanon and closing down Syrian military-industrial production financed by Iran.

3. Bring Israeli-Sunni cooperation out from under the table. A common set of threats has created strategic convergences between Israel and its pragmatic Sunni neighbors in Egypt, Jordan, and the Gulf states. All of these governments are worried about Iranian regional influence, radical jihadist threats, or both. As a result, Israeli-Arab security cooperation has steadily increased in recent years, though much of this activity is still conducted under the table.

Netanyahu wants to make this cooperation more overt and will likely seek Trump's assistance in this regard. One of his arguments for doing so is that it would foster a regional approach to the peace process, giving the Palestinians political cover to make concessions that they could not make in a bilateral context. Yet Arabs remain suspicious about Israel's actual willingness to make concessions to the Palestinians. They may also believe that as long as they are receiving security benefits from covert cooperation with Israel, they have no reason to make this activity public and risk paying a price with their own peoples.

To address these perceptions, Netanyahu may try to gain points with Sunni leaders during his Washington visit, perhaps by quietly advocating issues they care about (e.g., increasing economic aid to Egypt). In doing so, he would likely argue that U.S. support for the stability and security of Sunni states is the best way to curb Iran's hegemonic aspirations.

4. Play for a solid single with the Palestinians instead of a home run, at least for now. The Israeli-Palestinian issue has lost the salience it had at the start of previous U.S. administrations, in large part because Arab states are so distracted with their own regional crises. Even so, President Trump has insisted that he wants to reach a grand deal between Israelis and Palestinians. Yet current leadership constraints suggest that the chances of hitting a home run on this issue are bleak -- an all-or-nothing approach guarantees nothing and may even be counterproductive. Moreover, Netanyahu will likely try to convince Trump that the Obama administration's tougher approach toward Israel on peace issues forced the Palestinians into a more uncompromising stance, since they did not want to be outflanked by the United States.

Yet the current impasse has its risks as well. The situation could easily drift toward greater radicalization and violence, or spur a new Palestinian campaign for a "one person, one vote" solution in Israel and the West Bank -- an arrangement that Israel can never accept.

Since a final two-state outcome cannot yet be implemented, and since ongoing stagnation threatens to produce nonstarter one-state outcomes, the best hope is to maintain the viability of the two-state approach through more limited initiatives. Any such strategy would need to balance complex politics on both sides of the ledger. On the Palestinian side, President Mahmoud Abbas is eighty-one years old and has no identifiable successor, so his people are on the cusp of murky succession politics. And in Israel, Netanyahu is one of the only members of his governing coalition to publicly favor a two-state solution. In fact, his coalition just passed a law that would enable Israeli settlers in the West Bank to force Palestinians to yield their land in certain instances for unwanted compensation. Netanyahu's attorney-general has said he would not defend the law in the courts and expects it to be overturned, yet its passage speaks volumes about the pressures that are pushing the government toward a more rightward trajectory.

Recently, after King Abdullah of Jordan met with Trump, Netanyahu's right-wing rivals were caught off guard by a White House statement suggesting that new Israeli settlements do not contribute to peace. This may have pleased Netanyahu, who quietly favors a more differentiated policy on settlements in order to avoid expanded construction in areas that could change the current Israel/West Bank situation into a de facto one-state reality. The Obama administration's policy of opposing all new settlement construction provided an anchor of sorts for Netanyahu, enabling him to keep his right-wing rivals in check. If Trump abandoned that opposition entirely, Netanyahu would come under more pressure to expand the settlements.

One mechanism that could help Netanyahu in this regard is the 2004 letter that President George W. Bush sent to Prime Minister Ariel Sharon in the context of Israel's planned pullout from Gaza. At its core, the letter differentiated between settlements, acknowledging that a large majority of settlers live in large blocs located mainly inside the West Bank security barrier, while a large majority of Palestinians live outside these areas.

Trump may want his own letter, but the Bush letter could be an important baseline. Going forward, Washington and Israel could agree on a similarly differentiated approach to settlements in order to begin shaping the demographic and geographic contours of a two-state solution. This would require Israel to restrict construction to select areas inside the security barrier that comprise some 8 percent of the West Bank, while making a very clear commitment not to build outside the barrier. It would also require coordination with the United States, much like when Sharon quietly sought the Bush administration's tacit endorsement in shaping the barrier's route before bringing it to his cabinet for approval.

Washington could also encourage Israel to allow more Palestinian governance and economic projects in defined segments of Area C, a sparsely populated zone that comprises 60 percent of the West Bank but remains under full Israeli control. Such concessions would require serious American diplomatic cover. In return, the Palestinians would need to stop funding "martyrs foundations" that provide stipends to relatives of those who kill Israelis or foreigners, instead encouraging the formation of more grassroots peace groups in the West Bank.

Finally, the two leaders are certain to discuss the idea of relocating the U.S. embassy from Tel Aviv. If asked, Netanyahu will likely assert that moving the embassy to West Jerusalem is not tantamount to prejudging the status of East Jerusalem, which Israel has committed to negotiating with the Palestinians. In recent interviews, Trump has indicated that the United States will not discuss this issue publicly at this time.

To be sure, neither leader is likely to put forward any concrete agreements on such issues during this initial meeting. Rather, their wide-ranging discussion of key topics will probably be foundational, setting the basis for which decisions will need to be made in the months ahead.