أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

ما الخطأ الذي حدث في العلاقة بين الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل - وكيف يمكن إصلاح وضع التحالف

براين كاتوليس ومايكل سينغ

متاح أيضاً في English

"وول ستريت جورنال"

4 آذار/مارس 2015


تدهورت العلاقات الأمريكية - الإسرائيلية إلى أدنى مستوياتها منذ عقود في خضم المشاحنة التي أحاطت بخطاب رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو أمام الكونغرس. إلا أن أسس العلاقات الثنائية بين الدولتين لا تزال مستقرة، وتتضمن لائحة طويلة من الأهداف الأمنية المشتركة، والانخراط المتواصل والعميق في كافة نواحي الحكومة والمجتمع، فضلاً عن دعم شعبي كبير في كلا البلدين للعمل المشترك بينهما. وبينما تندر هذه المزايا لدى شركاء الولايات المتحدة في الشرق الأوسط، تحتاج إسرائيل إلى أكبر قدر ممكن من المساعدة - ولهذا السبب ينبغي على القادة الأمريكيين والإسرائيليين أن يتخذوا الخطوات اللازمة لإصلاح العلاقات بين البلدين بعد تشكيل الحكومة الإسرائيلية الجديدة، بغض النظر عن الزعيم الذي سيرأسها.

وغالباً ما تعزى الأزمة الحاصلة في العلاقات الأمريكية - الإسرائيلية إلى خلاف إيديولوجي أو شخصي بين الرئيس الأمريكي أوباما والسيد نتنياهو، غير أن جذور هذه الأزمة أعمق من ذلك.

لقد كافحت الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل لتكييف استراتيجياتهما الأمنية القومية مع المشهد الإقليمي المتغير. وقد مرّ الشرق الأوسط خلال العقد المنصرم بعدة صدمات استراتيجية من بينها تنامي النفوذ الإيراني في المنطقة بعد حرب العراق عام 2003، والتهديدات المتصاعدة الناشئة عن الجماعات الإسلامية الإرهابية كحركة «حماس» و «حزب الله» و تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش»/«الدولة الإسلامية»)، وانتفاضات العام 2011 التي فتحت الباب أمام سلسلة من عمليات انتقال السلطة في مصر، والحرب الأهلية في سوريا.

بيد أن إسرائيل والولايات المتحدة تعاملتا مع هذه الصدمات بشكل مختلف. فقد أعطى الرئيس أوباما الأولوية للمساعي الدبلوماسية مع إيران وللصراع الإسرائيلي - الفلسطيني، ولكن على خلاف ذلك سعى إلى الابتعاد عن القضايا الإقليمية. ولم يكن أمام إسرائيل إلا أن تتشبث بموقفها لأن خيار الانسحاب لم يكن وارداً. وقد اعتبر نتنياهو أن السياسة الأمريكية تفرض الأعباء على الحلفاء بينما تخفف الضغوط عن الخصوم، كما أنها تمهد الطريق لانفصال أكبر وأعمق من شأنه أن يترك إسرائيل وحدها في مهب الريح. وقد اعتبر الرئيس أوباما أن إسرائيل تتصدى للأفكار الأمريكية من دون أن تقدم بدائل عملية.

وعلى الرغم من هذه الديناميات، ما زالت تصّح العبارة المبتذلة القائلة إنه "لا غنى عن" هذه العلاقة. فإسرائيل تعد حليفاً من نوع نادر في الشرق الأوسط اليوم: فهي لا تشارك المصالح نفسها مع الولايات المتحدة فحسب، بل إنها مستعدة وقادرة على النهوض بها لتخفف العبء عن كاهل واشنطن. كما تعتبر إسرائيل أن التحالف مع الولايات المتحدة هو ركيزة من ركائز الأمن القومي، إذ يوحي لخصومها بأنها تتمتع بالقوة والدعم اللذين لولاهما لربما حاول هؤلاء الخصوم استغلال صغر حجم إسرائيل وانعزالها.

من هنا أصبح إصلاح العلاقات بين الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل أولوية أمنية بقدر ما هو قضية سياسية. ولا بد من أن تتم مساعي الإصلاح عبر أعوانٍ مفوّضين بالصلاحيات اللازمة يكونون محل ثقة لدى الطرفين، مثلما نجح السفير الفرنسي جان - دافيد ليفيت ومستشار الأمن القومي الأمريكي ستيفن هادلي في إصلاح العلاقات الفرنسية - الأمريكية في أعقاب حرب العراق. وفي هذا الإطار، يجب أن تركز هذه المساعي على ثلاث جبهات أساسية:

1. إيران: يجب أن يدرك البيت الأبيض أن رئيس الوزراء نتنياهو قد يكون المنتقد الأكثر احتداداً لاستراتيجية أمريكا الدبلوماسية تجاه إيران، إلا أن المخاوف الإسرائيلية هي نفسها التي يشعر بها الحلفاء الآخرون في المنطقة - وهذه ليست المسألة الوحيدة التي تفصل الولايات المتحدة عن الحلفاء. فالاتفاق النووي ليس مضموناً ولن يحل المخاوف الأمريكية من الدعم الإيراني للإرهاب أو للأعمال الأخرى المخلة بالاستقرار. وتحتاج واشنطن إلى ضمان اتفاق يستحق العناء، ولكنها بحاجة أيضاً إلى طمأنة الحلفاء بأن الولايات المتحدة ستظل ملتزمة بالتعامل مع هذه التهديدات. والخطوة الأولى في هذا المجال هي وضع استراتيجيات مشتركة تخدم هذا الغرض وتعزيز قدرة حلفاء واشنطن على المساهمة معها. وتفتقر الولايات المتحدة منذ وقت طويل إلى استراتيجية إقليمية أوسع نطاقاً، لذلك سوف تستفيد من مثل هذه الاستراتيجية مهما كانت حصيلة المباحثات مع إيران.

2. مكافحة الإرهاب على حدود إسرائيل: إنّ المجموعة الواسعة من الشبكات الإرهابية التي تنشط في سوريا وشبه جزيرة سيناء المصرية وجنوب لبنان والأراضي الفلسطينية في الضفة الغربية وغزة تشكل خطراً على إسرائيل والولايات المتحدة. وفي حين كانت إسرائيل تخشى في السابق من قوة العرب، إلا أنها تتخوف اليوم من حالة الفوضى والضعف التي يعانون منها. لذلك لا يجدر بالولايات المتحدة أن تكتفي بمواجهة هذه التنظيمات مباشرةً بل عليها أيضاً أن توفر الدعم لشركائها المتبادلين، كالأردن، عبر التعاون العسكري والاستخباراتي والتشاور الوثيق والمبكر حول الأجندة الإقليمية المشتركة.

3. الصراع الفلسطيني - الإسرائيلي: تدعو الحاجة في هذا السياق إلى اتباع نهج أكثر ثباتاً. فقدرة واشنطن على النهوض بعملية السلام مرهونة بمدى الثقة التي تكسبها من كافة الجهات - إسرائيل والفلسطينيين والدول العربية - وبمدى نفوذها في المنطقة. غير أن هذه الثقة وهذا النفوذ تراجعا على كل جبهة إذ أصبح كل طرف يائساً من إمكانية التوصل إلى حل الدولتين عن طريق التفاوض.

وبالتالي، يجب أن تكون الولايات المتحدة مستعدة للانخراط في المجهود التدريجي وغير المغري لاستعادة الثقة - من كافة الجهات - من أجل إيقاف التراجع الذي تشهده عملية السلام وإعادة بناء أسس هذه العملية. ومن جانبها، يجب على إسرائيل أن تدرك أن الأفكار السيئة ستستمر في ملء الفراغ الدبلوماسي طالما أنها تهمل وضع خطة لحل النزاع.

وتخيم شكوكٌ على أجندة واشنطن بين حلفاء الولايات المتحدة حول التزامها تجاه المنطقة، وتجاه حلفائها ومصالحهم فضلاً عن التزامها باتخاذ خطوات فعلية. ويشكل التحالف الأمريكي - الإسرائيلي مؤشراً رئيسياً على هذا الالتزام وقيمةٌ استثنائية لأمن الولايات المتحدة. من هنا تستدعي مساعي الإصلاح من قادة كلا البلدين اتخاذ خطوات بنّاءة للعمل سويّة [للنهوض بالعلاقات بين الدولتين].

 

براين كاتوليس وهو زميل أقدم في "مركز التقدم الأمريكي". مايكل سينغ هو المدير الإداري وزميل أقدم في زمالة لين- سوينغ في معهد واشنطن. وقد نشرت هذه المقالة في الأصل من على مدونة "ثينك تانك" على موقع الـ "وول ستريت جورنال".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

What Went Wrong Between the U.S. and Israel -- and How to Fix the Alliance

Brian Katulis and Michael Singh

Also available in العربية

Wall Street Journal

March 4, 2015

Repair efforts should focus on shaping a worthwhile Iran agreement, addressing the growing instability and terrorist threats on Israel's borders, and rebuilding trust in the peace process.

U.S.-Israel relations hit their lowest point in decades in the fracas that enveloped Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu's address to Congress. Yet the foundation for bilateral ties is still stable. It includes a long list of shared security goals, continuous and deep engagement across government and society, and strong public support in both countries for working together. These features are in short supply among U.S. partners in the Middle East, and Israel needs all the help it can get -- which is why U.S. and Israeli leaders should take steps to repair relations after Israel forms its new government, no matter who leads it.

The crisis in U.S.-Israeli relations is often attributed to an ideological or personal conflict between President Barack Obama and Mr. Netanyahu. But the roots of the crisis run deeper.

The United States and Israel have struggled to adapt their national security strategies to a changed regional landscape. Strategic shocks to the Middle East in the past decade include the rise of Iran's regional influence after the 2003 Iraq war; growing threats from Islamist terrorist groups such as Hamas, Hezbollah, and the Islamic State (ISIS or ISIL); and the 2011 uprisings that opened the door to a series of transitions in Egypt and Syria's civil war.

Israel and the United States reacted to these shocks differently. President Obama prioritized diplomacy toward Iran and the Israeli-Palestinian conflict but otherwise sought distance from regional issues. Israel, having no option to withdraw, hunkered down. Mr. Netanyahu saw U.S. policy as imposing burdens on allies while relieving pressure on adversaries, and paving the way for a deeper disengagement that would leave Israel to fend for itself. Mr. Obama saw Israel as resisting U.S. ideas without offering viable alternatives.

Despite these dynamics, the cliche that the relationship is "indispensable" is true. Israel is a rare sort of ally in today's Middle East: It not only shares U.S. interests but also is willing and able to advance them, easing our burden. For Israel, the U.S. alliance is a national security pillar, conveying strength and support to adversaries that might otherwise be tempted to try to take advantage of Israel's small size and isolation.

This makes repairing the U.S.-Israel relationship a security priority as well as a political matter. Repair efforts should happen in a channel of empowered aides trusted by each side, much as French ambassador Jean-David Levitte and U.S. national security adviser Stephen Hadley were able to repair Franco-American relations in the wake of the Iraq war. Efforts should focus on three key fronts:

1. Iran. The White House must recognize that while Mr. Netanyahu may be the most vociferous critic of U.S. diplomacy with Iran, Israeli concerns are shared by other allies in the region -- and this is not the only issue that divides us from allies. A nuclear deal is not assured, nor would one resolve our concerns about Iranian support for terrorism or other destabilizing activities. In addition to securing a worthwhile agreement, we need to reassure allies about continuing U.S. commitment to address these threats. Devising joint strategies for doing so and bolstering our allies' capacity to contribute is a start. The United States has lacked a broader regional strategy for a long time and would benefit from one, regardless of the outcome with Iran.

2. Counterterrorism on Israel's borders. The panoply of terrorist networks operating in Syria, Egypt's Sinai Peninsula, southern Lebanon, and the Palestinian territories of the West Bank and Gaza pose a threat to Israel and to the U.S. Israel used to worry about Arab strength; now, it fears Arab disarray and weakness. We should not only confront these groups directly but also offer to mutual partners such as Jordan support in the form of military and intelligence cooperation as well as close and early consultation on a shared regional agenda.

3. The Israeli-Palestinian conflict. A steadier approach is needed. Washington's ability to advance peace is a function of the extent to which it enjoys the trust of all sides -- Israel, the Palestinians, and the Arab states -- and influence in the region. That trust and influence have receded on every front as each party despairs of reaching a negotiated two-state solution.

The U.S. must be willing to engage in the incremental, unglamorous work of restoring trust -- among all sides -- to halt the regression of the peace process and rebuild its foundation. For its part, Israel must recognize that bad ideas will continue to fill the diplomatic vacuum as long as it neglects to put forward a plan to resolve the conflict.

Hanging over our agenda is doubt among U.S. allies about our commitment to the region, to our allies and their interests, and to action. The U.S.-Israel alliance is a leading indicator of this commitment and is of surpassing value to U.S. security. Repair efforts will require leaders in both countries to take constructive steps together.

Brian Katulis is a senior fellow at the Center for American Progress. Michael Singh is the managing director and Lane-Swig Senior Fellow at The Washington Institute. This article originally appeared on the Wall Street Journal blog "Think Tank."