أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2300

الاستفادة من المعابر الحدودية في غزة لوقف إطلاق النار

نيري زيلبر

متاح أيضاً في English

7 تموز/أغسطس 2014


في الوقت الذي ربما تتحلحل الأوضاع في قطاع غزة بعد مرور أكثر من شهرٍ على بداية الصراع، سيكون التفصيل الأول والأهم الذي يتم التفاوض حوله في أي اتفاق لوقف إطلاق النار هو مصير المعابر الحدودية التي تربط أراضي القطاع بمصر وإسرائيل. ولا بد لأي قرار برفع الحصار عن غزة أن يكون مرهوناً بانتهاء سيطرة «حماس» الفعلية على غزة. وبذلك يكون للمعابر الدور المحوري في ضمان أهداف المجتمع الدولي على المدى الطويل، ألا وهي: (1) تسهيل عودة السلطة الفلسطينية إلى غزة، وتحديداً إعادة نشر القوات الأمنية التابعة لها؛ (2) تنفيذ برنامج واسع للتنمية وإعادة الإعمار مع الحرص على عدم استيلاء «حماس» والجماعات المسلحة الأخرى على المواد المخصصة لهذا البرنامج؛ (3) بدء عملية لنزع السلاح تعني أولاً من الناحية العملية منع «حماس» من إعادة التسلح.

نظرة عامة على المعابر

هناك حالياً خمسة معابر حدودية بين غزة وإسرائيل، ومعبر واحد بين غزة ومصر. ووفقاً لمنظمة "غيشا" ("مسلك") غير الحكومية التي مقرها في إسرائيل، كانت جميع هذه المعابر مغلقة فعلياً حتى قبل بدء الصراع الأخير باستثناء اثنين منها:

·         "معبر ناحل عوز": قبل إغلاقه عام 2010، كان هذا المعبر يسهّل دخول الغاز والبنزين ووقود الديزل الصناعي إلى غزة عبر أنابيب تحت الأرض.

·         "معبر المنطار (كارني)": كان سابقاً نقطة النقل الرئيسية (بواسطة الشاحنات) للسلع بين إسرائيل وغزة؛ وقد أُغلق هذا المعبر جزئياً في عام 2007 ولكنه أبقى على حركة الحبوب وعلف الحيوانات عبر الحزام الناقل إلى أن أوقف العمل بهذا الأخير في عام 2011.

·         "معبر صوفا": تم إغلاقه في عام 2008 بعد أن كان نقطة نقل رئيسية لمواد البناء.

·         "معبر كرم أبو سالم (كيرم شالوم)": هو نقطة النقل العاملة الوحيدة التي تدخل عبرها السلع والمساعدات الإنسانية إلى غزة (بالشاحنات). وتقل قدرات هذا المعبر عن مثيلاتها في "معبر المنطار" في ذروة نشاطه.

·         "معبر إيريز": هو المعبر الوحيد للسفر الفردي بين غزة وإسرائيل. ولا يزال مفتوحاً مع أنّه يستوجب من الفلسطينيين تصريح دخول إلى إسرائيل يتم إصداره عادةً لأسباب إنسانية أو صحية أو مرتبطة بالأعمال فقط. ويؤمّن "معبر إيريز" أيضاً وصول عمال المساعدات الأجانب والصحفيين والفلسطينيين القادمين من إسرائيل والضفة الغربية إلى غزة.

·         "معبر رفح": هو المعبر الوحيد الذي لا تسيطر عليه إسرائيل بشكل مباشر، ويربط قطاع غزة بمصر. لقد شهدت السياسة المصرية بشأن هذا المعبر تقلبات كثيرة خلال السنوات الأخيرة إلى أن قامت الحكومة المدعومة من الجيش بإقفاله فعلياً اعتباراً من الصيف الماضي. ويستخدم "معبر رفح" في المقام الأول لتنقل الناس ولكن يمكن أن يعمل كذلك كنقطة تصدير للسلع من غزة. وقد سمحت الحكومة المصرية في الماضي أيضاً بدخول السلع والمساعدات الإنسانية إلى القطاع إنما على نطاق ضيق.

التنقل والوصول والأمن

بعد مرور شهرين على خطة فك الارتباط من غزة التي وضعتها إسرائيل في أيلول/سبتمبر 2005، وقّعت إسرائيل مع السلطة الفلسطينية على "اتفاقية التنقل والوصول" التي تناولت في أحكامها الرئيسية معابر غزة: فاقتضت من السلطة الفلسطينية أن تبسط سيطرتها على "معبر رفح" بينما يتم تحديث المعابر مع إسرائيل للسماح بتسيير العمليات المتواصلة وزيادة الصادرات.

وفي أواخر تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2005، استلمت قوات أمن السلطة الفلسطينية زمام الأمور في "معبر رفح" وكانت تلك هي المرة الأولى والوحيدة التي تُمنح فيها السلطة الفلسطينية صلاحيات على معبر حدودي دولي. وتم تشكيل "بعثة الاتحاد الأوروبي للمساعدة الحدودية" (EUBAM) في رفح، وهو فريق تفتيش وتدريب برعاية أوروبية، كآلية إشراف من قبل طرف ثالث بهدف تنمية قدرات إدارة الحدود لدى القوات الفلسطينية. وبالإضافةً إلى ضباط الحدود والجمارك الأوروبيين الذين تمركزوا في رفح، عُهد دورٌ إشرافي إضافي عن بُعد إلى ضابط ارتباط في "كرم أبو سالم" حيث تولى ممثلون عن "بعثة الاتحاد الأوروبي للمساعدة الحدودية" ومندوبون إسرائيليون وفلسطينيون مراقبة "معبر رفح" عبر البيانات وصور الفيديو التي كانت تُبث في وقت حدوثها.

ووفقاً لتقرير صادر عن الأمم المتحدة بعد مرور عام على توقيع "اتفاقية التنقل والوصول"، عرفت الاتفاقية بدايةً واعدة إلى حدٍّ كافٍ، خصوصاً في ما يتعلق بالمعبرين الرئيسيين في "رفح" و "المنطار". فبين تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2005 وحزيران/يونيو 2006، كان "معبر رفح" مفتوحاً في جميع أيام الأسبوع باستثناء يوم واحد وذلك لمدة تزيد عن تسع ساعات في اليوم، عبر خلالها 650 شخص يومياً - أي نحو ضعفَي المعدل المسجل خلال الأشهر الستة التي سبقت التوصل إلى "اتفاقية التنقل والوصول". وفي "معبر المنطار"، سجّل شهر كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2005 ذروة نشاط المعبر حيث كان مفتوحاً طيلة الساعات المقررة وتضاعف عدد الشاحنات التي تنقل الصادرات إلى ستة وستين شاحنة يومياً.

لكن المخاوف الأمنية كانت ستحكم بالموت على "اتفاقية التنقل والوصول" وعلى الإطار العام لعمل المعابر الحدودية. فعند "معبر المنطار" وحده مثلاً، سجل "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي" تسعة حوادث أمنية على الأقل في أواخر عام 2005، فيما وثّقت الأمم المتحدة أحداثاً إضافياً عام 2006: فقد اكتشفت السلطة الفلسطينية نفقاً تحت الأرض في "معبر المنطار" خلال شهر كانون الثاني/يناير من ذلك العام، ووقع انفجار بالقرب من المعبر في شباط/فبراير، وشنّ مسلحون فلسطينيون هجوماً على المحطة النهائية في نيسان/أبريل. أما أخطر الأحداث الأمنية فوقع في 25 حزيران/يونيو 2006 حيث نفّذ المسلحون هجوماً بواسطة نفق بالقرب من "كرم أبو سالم" واختطفوا العريف في "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي"، جلعاد شاليط.

وردّت إسرائيل بتقليص العمليات في العديد من المعابر، من ضمنها "معبر رفح"، حيث نجحت السلطات الإسرائيلية في ممارسة حق النقض ومنعت دخول مراقبي "بعثة الاتحاد الأوروبي للمساعدة الحدودية" (كان المراقبون متمركزين في إسرائيل وعادة كانوا يدخلون قطاع غزة عبر "كرم أبو سالم"). ثم تلقى نظام المعابر ضربة قاضية بعد عام واحد على ذلك، حين نفّذت «حماس» انقلاباً عنيفاً على السلطة الفلسطينية في حزيران/يونيو 2007. فعلّقت "بعثة الاتحاد الأوروبي للمساعدة الحدودية" على الفور جميع العمليات في "رفح"، دون أن يقدَّر لها العودة مجدداً، فيما فرضت إسرائيل حصاراً اقتصادياً على النظام الجديد بزعامة «حماس» في غزة وهو مستمر حتى يومنا هذا.

وحتى بعد استيلاء «حماس» على القطاع، كانت معظم المعابر الحدودية بين غزة وإسرائيل لا تزال مفتوحة وعاملة، وإن كان ذلك على نطاق محدود. غير أن المسلحين استمروا باستهداف هذه المعابر، مثل هجوم نيسان/أبريل 2008 على معبر "ناحل عوز" الذي أدى إلى مقتل عاملين إسرائيليين، وحادثة التفجير بشاحنة مفخخة في أيار/مايو 2008 عند "معبر إيريز"، فضلاً عن الانفجار بواسطة سيارة مفخخة في نيسان/أبريل 2009 عند "معبر كرم أبو سالم" الذي أسفر عن إصابة 11 جندي من الجيش الإسرائيلي على أثره، والهجوم في حزيران/يونيو 2009 على "معبر المنظار" بقذائف الهاون والأحصنة المدججة بالمتفجرات، ناهيك عن الاعتداء بقذائف الهاون على "معبر كرم أبو سالم" في كانون الثاني/يناير 2010. وأمام جميع هذه المشاكل وتضاؤل الحاجة إلى تعدد المعابر، أغلقت إسرائيل جميعها باستثناء "معبرَي إيريز وكرم أبو سالم"، حيث اعتبرت السلطات أنه من السهل الدفاع عن هذا المعبر الأخير أكثر من سواه نظراً لموقعه الكلي عند الجانب الإسرائيلي من الحدود.

رفح أولاً

بينما تستمر المحادثات في القاهرة للتوصل إلى وقف إطلاق النار، لا تزال المعالم المحددة التي ستصيغ التسوية الأكثر تفاؤلاً لوضع غزة غير معروفة. فالمجتمع الدولي وإسرائيل يدركان الحاجة إلى إعادة فتح غزة على العالم الخارجي - وقبل كل شيء لأسباب إنسانية واقتصادية واجتماعية. ولكن من وجهة النظر الإسرائيلية والمصرية، يجب أن يكون رفع الحصار مشروطاً بإنهاء سيطرة «حماس» على القطاع. وفي هذا السيناريو، من المرجّح أن تقبل الأطراف بتسوية تعود بموجبها السلطة الفلسطينية إلى غزة لتؤكد فعلياً سيطرتها السياسية والأمنية وتزيل تدريجياً تداعيات انقلاب عام 2007.

ووفقاً لمسؤولين فلسطينيين وتقارير وسائل الإعلام الفلسطينية، طُرح هذا السيناريو للمناقشة بعد توقيع اتفاق المصالح بين حركتَي «فتح» و«حماس» في نيسان/أبريل، كما جرى التطرق إلى مسألة نشر القوات الأمنية التابعة للسلطة الفلسطينية عند "معبر رفح". وحتى في أعقاب حوادث العنف والاضطرابات التي أخلّت بالاستقرار خلال الشهرين الماضيين، لم يتبرّأ أيٌّ من قادة «فتح» أو «حماس» من اتفاق المصالحة علناً، ولذلك ستتمتع عودة هذه القوات الأمنية بدرجة عالية من الشرعية الفلسطينية الداخلية. كما أن الحكومة المصرية صرّحت أن إعادة فتح "معبر رفح" سيكون رهناً باستعادة القوات الأمنية الفلسطينية للسلطة هناك.

وفي هذا السياق، تحدثت الصحافة الفلسطينية عن انتقال 3 آلاف جندي من نخبة "الحرس الرئاسي" للسلطة الفلسطينية من الضفة الغربية إلى قطاع غزة. وبالتأكيد إن هذا العدد مبالغاً فيه - ويعود ذلك على الأقل لأن عدد عناصر "الحرس الرئاسي" يقدّر بنحو 2650 شخص بالإجمال. والسيناريو الأكثر ترجيحاً هو استلام مفرزة صغيرة من هذا "الحرس" السيطرة على "معبر رفح" كما فعلت في الماضي، بينما تتولى فرقة عسكرية أكبر من "قوات الأمن الوطني" - الجناح شبه العسكري والأكثر عمومية للقوات الأمنية التابعة للسلطة الفلسطينية - المسؤولية الأوسع بضبط أمن الحدود والمنشآت.

أما النقص في عدد رجال قوات أمن السلطة الفلسطينية المتوفرين من الضفة الغربية فيجب تعويضه بمرور الوقت عبر التدقيق الأمني في مجموعة من رجال الأمن التابعين لـ حركة «فتح» والذين لا يزالون يعيشون في غزة - وعددهم 34000 شخص - وإعادة تدريب هذه المجموعة. وينحدر رجال الأمن هؤلاء من مختلف فروع قوات الأمن التابعة للسلطة الفلسطينية (الشرطة المدنية، والشرطة الساحلية، وقوات الأمن الوطني، الخ) ويشكلون العديد من بين موظفي القطاع العام التابعين لـ حركة «فتح» والذين استمروا بتقاضي رواتبهم من السلطة الفلسطينية بعد الانقلاب الذي قامت به «حماس». وبفضل المساعدة التي قدمتها بعثة "المنسق الأمني" بقيادة الولايات المتحدة في القدس، أصبحت هذه القوات الأمنية - خاصة رجال الاستخبارات العسكرية - أكثر إتقاناً لعمليات التدقيق الأمني لمقدمي طلبات الالتحاق للكشف عن صلاتهم بالجماعات المسلحة. وفي النهاية، سيتعين تطبيق هذه العملية على موظفي القطاع العام التابعين لـ «حماس» والمقدر عددهم بأربعين ألفاً في غزة، ويعتقد أن نصفهم من قوات الأمن.

وأخيراً، تجدر الإشارة إلى أنّ لـ "معبر رفح" تاريخاً من الأحداث الأمنية الفلسطينية الداخلية التي أدت إلى إغلاقه، بما فيها الاشتباكات بين «فتح» و«حماس» (على سبيل المثال، فيما يتعلق بمحاولات سابقة لنقل الأموال إلى داخل غزة) والخلافات داخل حركة «فتح» نفسها. لذلك يعدّ الوجود الملحوظ للقوات الأمنية التابعة للسلطة الفلسطينية ضرورياً لتخفيف المخاوف الأمنية المصرية وضمان حسن سير الأمور.

الدور الدولي

إنّ العديد من المزايا المحتملة من اعتماد نهج يقوم على "رفح أولاً" يتوقف على دور المجتمع الدولي في مرحلة ما بعد الحرب. وستكون بعثة "المنسق الأمني" بقيادة الولايات المتحدة ضرورية لغزة، شأنها شأن الآليات الدولية الأخرى القائمة. وعلى الرغم من تعليق العمليات في "معبر رفح" منذ سبع سنوات، ظلّت مهمة "بعثة الاتحاد الأوروبي للمساعدة الحدودية" تُجدد سنوياً فيما بقي فريق مصغر يعمل من مقره شمال تل أبيب. وسيكون من الضروري استئناف أعمال "بعثة الاتحاد الأوروبي للمساعدة الحدودية" بالكامل للأسباب نفسها التي أنشئت من أجلها - تدريب ضباط الحدود/الجمارك الفلسطينيين وبناء الثقة بين الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين.

كذلك تدعو الحاجة إلى قيام برنامج أمني وإشرافي موسّع مخصص لمواد البناء وغيرها من السلع ذات الاستخدام المزدوج التي تتدفق إلى داخل غزة. يشار إلى أن جميع مشاريع البناء تقريباً التي جرت في غزة خلال العام الماضي كانت أعمالاً تحظى برعاية الأمم المتحدة وبموافقة وتدقيق "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي". فقد طبّقت الأمم المتحدة برنامج مراقبة مشدد على المواد التي تم استيرادها لهذه المشاريع، تضمّن وضع مفتشين دوليين وحراس محليين موثوقين وكاميرات مراقبة. ووفقاً لمسؤولي الجيش الإسرائيلي والأمم المتحدة، نجح البرنامج في ضبط أمان تسلسل العهدة والاستخدام النهائي لكي لا تتمكن «حماس» وغيرها من الجماعات المتشددة من تهريب المواد لاستعمالها الخاص (يعتقد أن «حماس» بنت شبكة أنفاقها المكثفة مستخدمةً الإسمنت المهرّب من مصر أو، بدرجة أقل، من المشروع السكني القطري في غزة - وليس من مشاريع الأمم المتحدة التي نُفذت بعد أن أصبح نظام التفتيش سارياً). ولكي تسير الخطط الدولية لإعمار غزة حسب النطاق الذي يناقش حالياً، لا بد من قيام برنامج أمني وإشرافي موسع.

من الخارج إلى الداخل

لابد لأهداف المجتمع الدولي من أجل غزة أن تتمحور حول دحر سيطرة «حماس» السياسية والأمنية بصورة منهجية مع فتح القطاع في الوقت نفسه على العالم الخارجي بحيث تصبح الإغاثة الإنسانية وإعادة الإعمار أمراً ممكناً. والآلية الوحيدة لتحقيق كلا الهدفين هي عودة السلطة الفلسطينية إلى غزة بصفتها السلطة الشرعية الوحيدة - والخطوة الأولى في هذه العملية هي توطيد مركزها في "معبر رفح". كما أن التركيز على "رفح" والمعابر الحدودية مع إسرائيل قد يزيد من تدفق السلع ومواد البناء إلى غزة بينما يعيق محاولات «حماس» لإعادة بناء ترسانتها العسكرية وشبكة أنفاقها. وإذا أدّت محادثات القاهرة - على حد قول وزير الخارجية الأمريكي جون كيري والأمين العام للامم المتحدة بان كي مون - إلى "وقف إطلاق نار ثابت"، سيكون من الضروري معالجة مسألة المعابر. غير أن الحصيلة الإيجابية الوحيدة التي قد تنتج عن أكثر من شهر من الحرب هي إذا كانت تُشير إلى بداية النهاية لسيطرة «حماس» الكارثية على قطاع غزة، بدءاً من الخارج والاستمرار نحو الداخل.

 

نيري زيلبر هو  باحث زائر في معهد واشنطن، وصحفي وباحث في مجالي السياسة والثقافة في الشرق الأوسط.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2300

Using Gaza's Border Crossings to Cement a Ceasefire

Neri Zilber

Also available in العربية

August 7, 2014


The international community should focus on systematically rolling back Hamas political and security control while opening Gaza to the outside world -- beginning with a reestablished PA foothold at the Rafah crossing.

With the month-long conflict in the Gaza Strip perhaps nearing its denouement, the first and most important detail to be negotiated in any ceasefire agreement will be the fate of the border crossings connecting the territory with Israel and Egypt. Any lifting of the blockade surrounding Gaza must be contingent on the end of effective Hamas rule over the territory. The crossings therefore hold the key to securing the international community's longer-term objectives: (1) facilitating the Palestinian Authority's return to Gaza, particularly the redeployment of the PA security forces (PASF); (2) undertaking a massive reconstruction and development program while ensuring that materials for this program are not siphoned off by Hamas and other militant groups; and (3) beginning a demilitarization process, which in practical terms would initially mean preventing Hamas from rearming.

OVERVIEW OF THE CROSSINGS

Currently, there are five border crossings between Gaza and Israel, and one between Gaza and Egypt. According to the Israel-based NGO Gisha, all but two of these crossings were effectively closed even prior to the latest conflict:

  • Nahal Oz: Closed in 2010, this crossing facilitated the entry of gas, benzene, and industrial diesel fuel into Gaza via underground pipes.
  • Karni: Formerly the main transit point (via truck) for goods between Israel and Gaza, this crossing was partially closed in 2007 save for the movement of grain and animal feed via conveyer belt. The conveyer belt was shut down in 2011.
  • Sufa: Closed in 2008, it was formerly a key transit point for construction materials.
  • Kerem Shalom: The sole operational transit point into Gaza for goods and humanitarian aid (via truck). It has less capacity than Karni did at its peak.
  • Erez: The sole crossing point for individual travel between Gaza and Israel. It is still operational, though Palestinians require entry permits into Israel that are usually issued for humanitarian, medical, or business purposes only. Erez also provides access to Gaza for foreign aid workers, journalists, and Palestinians from Israel and the West Bank.
  • Rafah: The sole crossing not directly controlled by Israel, Rafah connects Gaza with Egypt. Cairo's policy toward the crossing has fluctuated widely in recent years, with the military-backed government effectively closing it as of last summer. Rafah is used primarily for the movement of people but could serve as an export point for Gazan goods as well. In the past, the Egyptian government has also permitted small-scale deliveries of goods and humanitarian aid there.

ACCESS, MOVEMENT, AND SECURITY

Two months after its September 2005 disengagement from Gaza, Israel joined the PA in signing the Agreement on Access and Movement (AMA). The document's main provisions dealt with the Gaza crossings: the PA was to assume control over Rafah while the crossings with Israel would be upgraded to allow for continuous operation and increased exports.

The PA security forces took control of Rafah in late November 2005, marking the first and only time the PA was given authority over an international border crossing. A European-sponsored training and inspection team, the EU Border Assistance Mission in Rafah (EUBAM), was created to provide a third-party supervision mechanism and build border management capacity among Palestinian forces. In addition to EU border and customs officers stationed at Rafah, an added supervisory role was also undertaken remotely via a liaison office in Kerem Shalom, where EUBAM, Israeli, and Palestinian representatives monitored Rafah through a realtime video and data feed.

According to a UN report issued one year after the AMA signing, the agreement started promisingly enough, especially with respect to the two major crossings at Rafah and Karni. Between November 2005 and June 2006, Rafah was open every day save one, for over nine hours a day, with an average of 650 people crossing daily -- nearly double the rate for the six months prior to the AMA. At Karni, December 2005 proved to be the high-water mark, with the crossing open for all scheduled hours and the number of trucks moving exports doubling to sixty-six per day.

Yet security concerns would prove to be the undoing of the AMA and the overall border crossings framework. At Karni alone, for example, the Israel Defense Forces (IDF) reported at least nine security incidents in late 2005. The UN documented further incidents in 2006: the PA discovered a tunnel underneath Karni in January of that year, an explosion occurred near the crossing in February, and Palestinian militants attacked the terminal in April. The most serious incident took place on June 25, 2006, when militants launched an attack via a tunnel near Kerem Shalom, kidnapping IDF corporal Gilad Shalit.

Israel responded by curtailing operations at many of the crossings, including Rafah, where Israeli authorities effectively wielded a veto by denying access to EUBAM monitors (the monitors were based in Israel and typically entered Gaza via Kerem Shalom). The crossings regime received a fatal blow one year later, when Hamas launched a violent coup against the PA in June 2007. EUBAM immediately suspended all operations at Rafah, never to return, while Israel established an economic blockade against the new Hamas regime in Gaza that has lasted to the present day.

Even after the Hamas takeover, most of Gaza's border crossings with Israel were still operating, albeit on a limited basis. Yet militants continued to target them, including an April 2008 attack at Nahal Oz that killed two Israeli workers, a May 2008 truck bomb at Erez, an April 2009 car bomb at Kerem Shalom that injured 11 IDF soldiers, a June 2009 assault involving mortars and explosive-laden horses at Karni, and a January 2010 mortar attack on Kerem Shalom. In response to these problems and the diminished need for multiple crossings, Israel shuttered all save Erez and Kerem Shalom. Authorities believed the latter crossing was easier to defend than others given its location entirely on the Israeli side of the border.

RAFAH FIRST

With ceasefire talks ongoing in Cairo, the exact contours of a more hopeful arrangement for Gaza are still unknown. The international community and Israel are aware of the need to reopen Gaza to the outside world -- for humanitarian, economic, and social reasons above all else. But from Israel and Egypt's perspective, lifting the blockade would have to be contingent on ending effective Hamas rule over the territory. In that scenario, the parties would be most likely to accept an arrangement in which the PA returns to Gaza, effectively reasserting political and security control while gradually rolling back the 2007 coup.

According to Palestinian officials and media reports, such a scenario was discussed after the Hamas-Fatah reconciliation agreement was signed in April, with talk of the PASF redeploying to the Rafah crossing. And even after the violence and instability of the past two months, neither Hamas nor Fatah leaders have publicly disavowed the reconciliation, so a PASF return would have a high degree of internal Palestinian legitimacy. Moreover, the Egyptian government has stated that any reopening of Rafah would be contingent on the PASF resuming authority there.

The Palestinian press has spoken of 3,000 elite PA Presidential Guard troops deploying from the West Bank to Gaza, though this figure is assuredly inflated -- not least because there are only an estimated 2,650 Presidential Guards in total. The more likely scenario is that a small detachment of Presidential Guards would take direct control of the Rafah terminal as they have in the past, with a larger contingent of National Security Forces, the more generic PASF paramilitary arm, providing wider border and installation security.

The shortfall in PASF personnel available from the West Bank will have to be met over time by vetting and retraining a portion of the estimated 34,000 Fatah-affiliated security personnel still living in Gaza. These personnel hail from the various branches of the PASF (civil police, coastal police, National Security Forces, etc.) and are among the numerous Fatah public-sector employees who continued receiving salaries from the PA after the Hamas coup. With assistance from the U.S.-led Security Coordinator mission in Jerusalem, the PASF -- particularly Military Intelligence personnel -- have become adept at vetting applicants for ties to militant groups. Eventually, such a process would have to be undertaken for the estimated 40,000 Hamas-affiliated public-sector workers in Gaza, approximately half of whom are believed to be security forces.

Finally, it should be noted that Rafah has a history of internal Palestinian security incidents that have forced its closure, including Hamas-Fatah clashes (e.g., over the former's attempts to move cash into Gaza) and intra-Fatah disputes. A significant PASF presence is therefore essential to ameliorate Egyptian security concerns and ensure smooth functioning.

THE INTERNATIONAL ROLE

Many of the potential advantages of taking a "Rafah first" approach hinge on the international community's postwar role. The U.S.-led Security Coordinator mission will be crucial, as will other existing international mechanisms for Gaza. Despite suspending operations at Rafah seven years ago, EUBAM's mandate has been extended yearly, with a skeleton crew working from headquarters just north of Tel Aviv. Resuming the EUBAM mission in full would be necessary for the same reasons it was originally created -- training Palestinian border/customs officers and building confidence between Israelis and Palestinians.

An expanded monitoring and security program would also be needed for construction materials and other dual-use goods flowing into Gaza. Almost all of the construction projects taking place in Gaza over the past year were UN-sponsored jobs approved and verified by the IDF. The UN implemented a rigorous monitoring program on materials imported for these projects, including international inspectors, trusted local guards, and closed-circuit cameras. According to IDF and UN officials, the program was successful in ensuring chain of custody and end use, so that Hamas and other militant groups could not siphon off materials for their own purposes (Hamas is believed to have built its extensive tunnel network using cement smuggled from Egypt or, to a lesser degree, from Qatari housing construction in Gaza -- not from UN projects carried out after the inspection system was in place). If international plans for the reconstruction of Gaza are to move forward on the scale now being discussed, then an expansive monitoring and security program is essential.

OUTSIDE IN

The international community's objectives for Gaza should center on systematically rolling back Hamas political and security control while opening the territory to the outside world so that humanitarian relief and reconstruction are possible. The only mechanism for meeting both objectives is the PA's return to Gaza as the sole legitimate authority -- beginning with a foothold at the Rafah crossing. Focusing on Rafah and the border crossings with Israel would also increase the flow of goods and construction materials into Gaza while stymieing Hamas attempts to reconstitute its military arsenal and tunnel networks. If the Cairo talks are to produce -- as Secretary of State John Kerry and UN secretary-general Ban Ki-moon put it -- "a durable ceasefire," then addressing the crossings is imperative. The one positive that may yet come from a month of war is if it signals the beginning of the end of Hamas's disastrous reign over Gaza, starting from the outside and working in.

Neri Zilber, a visiting scholar at The Washington Institute, is a journalist and researcher on Middle East politics and culture.