أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2361

'تجنب المواجهة غير المنسقة' في سوريا: حل لاحتواء «داعش» وليس هزيمته

أندرو جيه. تابلر

متاح أيضاً في English

26 كانون الثاني/يناير 2015


صحيح أن سياسة واشنطن الحديثة المنشأ، التي تقضي "بتجنب المواجهة غير المنسقة" مع نظام بشار الأسد في الحرب ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش»)/«الدولة الإسلامية»، قد لا تشكل تحالفاً رسميّاً، لكنها من المحتمل أن تسبب مشاكل جدية. فالموافقة الضمنية للنظام على تجنب استهداف طائرات الائتلاف، بالإضافة إلى التأخير المطول في برنامج التدريب والتجهيز الذي تنفذه إدارة الرئيس الأمريكي أوباما للمعارضة السورية ورسالة الرئيس في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2014 للمرشد الأعلى للثورة الإسلامية حول التعاون ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، جميعها عوامل تولد انطباعات شائعة بأن الولايات المتحدة تتوجه نحو حلف فعلي مع الأسد وطهران ضد الجهاديين. وإذا استمرت واشنطن بهذه السياسة على ما هي عليه، لن تتمكن سوى من احتواء تنظيم «داعش» وليس "هزيمته" أو "القضاء عليه" كما دعا الرئيس أوباما. والأسوأ من ذلك، هو أن هذه السياسة قد تؤدي إلى مأزق دموي من التطرف في سوريا بين قوات «حزب الله» التي تحظى بالدعم الإيراني والجهاديين، مما يزيد من التهديدات على مصالح الأمن القومي للولايات المتحدة.

التوصل إلى تجنب المواجهة غير المنسقة

على أثر اندلاع شرارة الثورة السورية في عام 2011، تخلت الولايات المتحدة عن سياسة "التعاون البناء" التي كانت تتبعها مع النظام السوري ودعت الأسد إلى "التنحي". ولكن مع تطور النزاع، واتخاذ الرئيس أوباما قرار عدم تسليح الثوار بشكل حاسم وعدم تطبيقه لـ"خطوطه الحمراء" على الهجمات الكيميائية التي شنها النظام، شغل الجهاديون - من أمثال تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» و «جبهة النصرة» التي تدور في فلك تنظيم «القاعدة» - المناطق السورية الواقعة تحت سيطرة المعارضة بسرعة، مكتسبين بذلك عمقاً استراتيجيّاً لشنّ الهجمات ثانية في العراق. إلا أن الحملة الشعواء التي شنها «داعش» على الموصل، وانهيار قوات الأمن العراقية المدربة من قبل الولايات المتحدة، وإعدام الرهينتين الأمريكيتين، عوامل دفعت بالرئيس أوباما إلى الدعوة للقضاء على الجماعة. ومن أجل تحقيق هذا الهدف، أطلق الائتلاف الدولي بقيادة الولايات المتحدة مقاربة ذات شقّين تعتمد أولاً على القيام بعمليات قصف وثانياً على تسليح قوى مختارة مضادة لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في العراق وسوريا.

وبهدف تنفيذ الشق الأول من هذه الاستراتيجية، وضعت واشنطن سياسة بواسطة بغداد أشار إليها مسؤول أمريكي لم يُذكر اسمه في مقال نُشر في صحيفة "واشنطن بوست" في الأول من كانون الأول/ ديسمبر بالمصطلح "تجنب المواجهة غير المنسقة". وفي أيلول/سبتمبر الماضي، مباشرةً قبل توسيع الضربات الجوية الأمريكية إلى سوريا، أرسلت الحكومة العراقية ذات القيادة الشيعية المتحالفة مع إيران مستشار الأمن الوطني فالح الفياض لمقابلة الأسد. وفي حين أنه لم يتم الكشف عن تفاصيل الاجتماع، إلا أن فحواه كان واضحاً - ومنذ ذلك الحين نفذ الائتلاف أكثر من 900 طلعة جوية حلقت فوق سوريا دون أن تتعرّض لها قوات النظام.

ويقضي الشق الثاني من الاستراتيجية بتسليح فاعلين على مستوى الجهات الحكومية الفرعية، أبرزهم قوات اليبشمركة في العراق والمعارضة المعتدلة في سوريا. وتتم المساندة الأمريكية للبيشمركة بإذن من الحكومة العراقية، بيد أن العلاقة أكثر تعقيداً في سوريا حيث يجب تدريب المعارضة وتجهيزها من دون موافقة الحكومة المضيفة "الشرعية". ومع أن الجيش الأمريكي لا يحبذ هذا الإجراء إلا أنه سبق أن اضطر إلى اللجوء إليه كما شاهدنا مع قوات البيشمركة خلال "عملية المراقبة الشمالية" في التسعينيات. وما يزيد الأمر تعقيداً هو أن الثوار السوريين أظهروا اتساقاً سياسياً أقل من ذلك الذي أعرب عنه نظراؤهم الأكراد، الأمر الذي يدفع إلى التساؤل حول الجهة التي يُفترض أن تكون مسؤولة عن القوى التي ستحظى بتدريب أمريكي.

وفي حين نجحت هذه الاستراتيجية حتى الآن في العراق، بيد أن لشقيها أهداف متعارضة في سوريا. فأثناء ضرب أهداف «داعش» تفضل القوات الأمريكية أن تحلق طائراتها فوق الأراضي السورية من دون أن تتعرض لنيران النظام. لكن من أجل هزيمة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» بالفعل، على الولايات المتحدة وحلفائها أن تدرب قوة معارضة وتجهزها للسيطرة على المناطق ذات الأغلبية السنية التي يسيطر عليها تنظيم «داعش» حاليّاً الأمر الذي يثير استياء الأسد.

للأسف، أعاق التصور الشعبي للشق الأول من الاستراتيجية شقها الثاني بشكل كبير. فحين توسعت الضربات الأمريكية التي تستهدف تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» بشكل غير متوقع في أيلول/سبتمبر لتشمل «جبهة النصرة» في محافظة إدلب الغربية، وجّهت هذه الأخيرة هجماتها على جماعات «الجيش السوري الحر» المدعومة من الغرب في منطقتها، وشمل ذلك هجوماً كاسحاً على «جبهة ثوار سوريا» و «حركة حزم». وكانت الجماعات المهزومة مسلحة بصواريخ "تاو" الأمريكية وبالتالي تعتبر إلى حد كبير جزءاً من برنامج الدعم الأمريكي غير العلني. ومع أن بعض هذه القوات عاد وجمع قواه، فإن حملة الضربات الجوية الأمريكية - بالإضافة إلى تصريحات الرئيس أوباما في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر بأن واشنطن لا تناقش بشكل فاعل سبل التخلص من الأسد - كادت على وشك تدمير دعم الثوار للولايات المتحدة الذي يتدهور منذ وقت طويل. وفي الوقت نفسه، فإن القتال بين الأسد والجهاديين يزداد احتداماً.

وصفة للتقسيم واستمرار الفوضى

إن قلب السياسة المتبعة لدعم نظام الأسد ضد «داعش» لن تحل مشاكل واشنطن؛ وناهيك عن نظرة الرأي العام السلبية جداً تجاه مساعدة رئيس، كان قد استخدم السلاح الكيميائي وصواريخ سكود ضد شعبه، يعاني نظام الأسد من شلل مالي وعسكري وبالتالي ليس قادراً على استرجاع المناطق التي يسيطر عليها تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» الآن وإحكام قبضته عليها. واعتمد استرجاع النظام للأراضي في العام الماضي على عمليات "وقف إطلاق نار" مثيرة للجدل فُرضت بشكلٍ رئيسي على سكان يعيشون تحت الحصار وعلى عمليات عسكرية قامت بها جماعات مسلحة غير نظامية من «قوات الدفاع الوطني» ذات أغلبية علوية إلى جانب الجيش النظامي. وهذا يعني أن المناطق التي سيحاول النظام السيطرة عليها في الأشهر المقبلة ستشهد تدفقاً لقوات تسيطر عليها الأقليات أكثر فأكثر وتكون خاضعة لتوجيه إيراني. وباختصار، إن عودة بشار الأسد لوضعه السابق لن تكون عودة حاكم شرعي يعيد النظام لبلاده بل ستأتي في الأساس نتيجة وجود فيلق إيراني مؤلف من لاعبين أجانب يؤدون دوراً على مستوى الجهات الحكومية الفرعية. وبالتالي إن الجزء القتالي من مسعى طهران لتغيير "الهلال الخصيب" بشكل جذري هو أمر ستستمر القوى السنية في المنطقة بمعارضته وبشكل خاص تركيا ودول الخليج العربي.

من جهة أخرى، إنّ انخراط إيران المباشر والمعمق في محاولة الأسد إخراج نفسه من المأزق السوري قد أدى إلى توريط طهران في مذبحة واسعة النطاق للسنة وقد أطلق حرباً طائفية طغت على العراق وتهدد بالتوسع خارج حدود البلاد. وكانت حملة إيران في سوريا لتبدو منطقية أكثر لو لم يعلب التوزيع الطائفي للسكان دوراً سلبيّاً ضدها للغاية. فالنسيج السوري يتألف بنسبة 75 في المائة من العرب السنة، وهي نسبة تصح في كافة أنحاء الشرق الأوسط تقريباً باستثناء إيران. كما أن المناطق الريفية التي يسيطر عليها تنظيم «داعش» في سوريا والعراق تتألف من السنة بنسبة عالية تصل إلى 95 في المائة. وتشير هذه النسب إلى أن إيران لن تتمكن من إخضاع السنة من خلال العنف، لا بل قد تجد نفسها في النهاية منخرطة في نزاع مهلِك وصفه العديد بالفعل بأنه "فيتنام إيران".

أربع خطوات لحل مستدام في سوريا

على الرغم من أنه ليس من المحتمل أن يفرز هذا التوجه "انتصاراً للنظام" إلا أنه قد يدفع الأسد ورعاته الإيرانيين إلى التركيز على الأجزاء التابعة لهم من سوريا الصغرى والالتزام بمعاهدة عدم اعتداء تأتي بحكم الأمر الواقع مع الجهاديين. وقد يساعد ذلك على تجنب سيناريو "فيتنام إيران"، لكنه قد يؤدي إلى أسوأ السيناريوهات بالنسبة للولايات المتحدة وحلفائها وهو تشبث كل من الأسد و تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» بأراضيهما ربما بشكل نهائي. ولتجنب هذا السيناريو والسعي إلى تحقيق المصالح الأمنية الأمريكية في سوريا بشكلٍ أفضل، على واشنطن اعتماد المقاربة التالية:

1.      التقبل أن سوريا ستبقى دولة مقسمة وفاشلة طالما يُسمح للأسد بالبقاء في السلطة - ما يشبه وضع صدام حسين في التسعينيات حين كلفت سياسات النظام هذا الأخير سيطرته على الشمال الكردي. لكن خلافاً لهذا السيناريو، سيشكل استمرار وجود الأسد نقطة جذب قوية للجهاديين ومحركاً رئيسيّاً للتوتر السني الشيعي.

2.      لا ينبغي تخفيف الضغط على الأسد. فعوضاً عن السماح للنظام بتعزيز قوته، على واشنطن إضعاف كل من الأسد و «داعش» من خلال تشجيع الصراع بينهما لإضعاف القوات الإيرانية الأجنبية والجهاديين في الوقت نفسه. وكثيراً ما يتفاخر الأسد بمحاربة الإرهاب، لذا يجب على الولايات المتحدة ترك الأمر على عاتقه وإلقاء مسؤولية تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» على الرئييس السوري مما سيضعفه ويضعف القوى الإيرانية في النهاية. وتشمل المسائل الرئيسية التي يجب على واشنطن أخذها بعين الاعتبار: متى تصعِّد الضربات الجوية أو تخفِّف منها ليس فقط ضد «داعش» بل أيضاً ضد قوات النظام لاسيما إذا نفّذ الأسد التهديد الذي أطلقه في 20 كانون الثاني/يناير حين قال لمجلة "فورين أفيرز" بأن النظام سيهاجم أياً من قوات المعارضة المعتدلة المدربة من قبل الولايات المتحدة التي تدخل سوريا. عندها فقط ستشعر دمشق وطهران بالضغط لتقديم تنازلات كبيرة.

3.      التركيز على مساعدة المعارضة المعتدلة على رص صفوفها ضد الجهاديين والنظام على حد سواء، بالإضافة إلى زيادة المساعدات الإنسانية بشكل بارز للنازحين وبذل مجهود أكبر بكثير لحماية المدنيين. بالطبع لا يمكن للولايات المتحدة أن تنظم وتقود المعارضة كلها، لكن يمكنها أن تدعم أي فصيل يسيطر على مناطق استعادتها من يد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». إن الطريقة الوحيدة لتحفيز الثوار على القيام بذلك هي تقديم الدعم العلني لموقفهم المبرر ضد بقاء الأسد في السلطة.

4.      تطوير استراتيجية لإسقاط الأسد بالطرق الدبلوماسية وإرسال المعلومات والقوة العسكرية/الاقتصادية. فكلما طال بقاؤه طال الانقسام في سوريا. وحين يتم التخلص من الأسد، سيصبح من الممكن لملمة شمل سوريا من جديد.

 

أندرو تابلر هو زميل أقدم في برنامج السياسة العربية في معهد واشنطن. وتشمل مؤلفاته باللغة الانكليزية "انهيار سوريا وكيف بإمكان واشنطن وقفه" (فورين أفيرز، تموز/يوليو - آب/أغسطس 2013) والكتاب الذي صدر عام 2011، "في عرين الأسد: رواية شاهد عيان لمعركة واشنطن مع سوريا".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2361

'Uncoordinated Deconfliction' in Syria: A Recipe to Contain, Not Defeat, ISIS

Andrew J. Tabler

Also available in العربية

January 26, 2015

If Washington continues to bomb ISIS while sidestepping the question of Assad's future, Syria may wind up partitioned between jihadist and Iranian-backed forces.

Washington's nascent policy of "uncoordinated deconfliction" with Bashar al-Assad's regime in the fight against the "Islamic State"/ISIS may not be a formal alliance, but it does have the potential to foster serious problems. The regime's tacit agreement to avoid firing on coalition strike aircraft -- juxtaposed with long delays in the Obama administration's train-and-equip program for the Syrian opposition and the president's October 2014 letter to Iran's Supreme Leader on cooperation against ISIS -- is creating widespread perceptions that the United States is heading into a de facto alliance with Assad and Tehran regarding the jihadists. If Washington continues this policy as is, it will merely contain ISIS, not "defeat" or "destroy" the group as called for by President Obama. Worse, it could lead to a deadly extremist stalemate in Syria between Iranian-backed/Hezbollah forces and jihadists, amplifying threats to U.S. national security interests.


Following the outbreak of the Syrian uprising in 2011, the United States discarded its policy of "constructive engagement" with the regime and called on Assad to "step aside." Yet as the conflict progressed and President Obama decided not to decisively arm the rebels or enforce his "redline" on regime chemical attacks, jihadists such as ISIS and al-Qaeda affiliate Jabhat al-Nusra quickly filled opposition-controlled areas of Syria, providing strategic depth for offensives back into Iraq. The dramatic ISIS campaign against Mosul, the collapse of the U.S.-trained Iraqi security forces, and the execution of U.S. hostages led President Obama to call for the group's destruction. To reach this goal, the U.S.-led coalition launched a two-pronged approach: a bombing campaign and the arming of selected anti-ISIS forces in Iraq and Syria.

To carry out the first part of the strategy, Washington orchestrated a policy via Baghdad that one unnamed U.S. official referred to in a December 1 Washington Post story as "uncoordinated deconfliction." Last September, right before U.S. airstrikes expanded into Syria, Iraq's Shiite-led, Iranian-allied government sent National Security Advisor Faleh al-Fayyad to see Assad. While the meeting's exact details were not made public, the understanding forged was clear -- since then, over 900 coalition sorties have flown over Syria without regime forces firing a shot at them.

The second part of the strategy involves arming substate actors, most notably the Peshmerga in Iraq and Syria's moderate opposition. U.S. assistance to the Peshmerga is carried out with the permission of the Iraqi government, but the situation is much more complicated in Syria, where the opposition must be trained and equipped without the consent of the "legal" host government. This is something the U.S. military does not like to do but has pulled off in the past, as seen with the Peshmerga during Operation Northern Watch in the 1990s. A complicating factor is that Syrian rebels have shown less political cohesion than their Kurdish counterparts, raising the question of what entity a U.S.-trained force would report to.

While implementing the strategy has worked thus far in Iraq, its two prongs have been at cross-purposes in Syria. When striking ISIS targets, U.S. forces prefer to fly over Syrian territory without the Assad regime shooting at them. In order to truly defeat ISIS, however, the United States and its allies need to train and equip an opposition force to take over Sunni-dominated areas now controlled by ISIS, much to Assad's chagrin.

Unfortunately the optics of the first part of the strategy have seriously hindered the second. When U.S. bombing raids targeting ISIS unexpectedly expanded in September to include Jabhat al-Nusra in western Idlib province, the latter turned on the Western-backed Free Syrian Army groups in their area, dramatically overrunning the Syrian Revolutionaries Front (SRF) and Harakat Hazm. The decimated groups had been armed with U.S. TOW missiles and were therefore widely reported to be part of the American covert support program. While some of these forces have since regrouped, the U.S. bombing campaign -- combined with President Obama's November statements that Washington was not actively discussing ways to remove Assad -- has nearly collapsed the long-fraying rebel support for the United States. Meanwhile, the jihadist vs. Assad fight has been escalating.


Flipping back to support the Assad regime against ISIS will not solve Washington's problems, however. Beyond the terrible optics of assisting a president who has used chemical weapons and Scud missiles against his own people, the Assad regime is financially and militarily crippled and therefore unable to retake and hold areas currently controlled by ISIS. Its capture of territory over the past year has been the product of controversial "ceasefires" essentially imposed on besieged populations, as well as military operations carried out by Iranian-trained, Alawite-dominated irregulars from the National Defense Forces as much as army regulars. This means that whatever areas the regime attempts to retake in the coming months will see an influx of increasingly minority-dominated, Iranian-directed forces. In short, Bashar's comeback is not a legitimate ruler returning order to his country, but substantially a product of Iran's foreign legion of substate actors. This fight -- part of Tehran's effort to radically transform the Fertile Crescent -- is something that the region's Sunni powers will continue to oppose, most notably Turkey and the Gulf Arab countries.

Iran's deep and direct involvement in Assad's attempt to shoot his way out of the Syria crisis has implicated Tehran in the mass slaughter of Sunnis and set off a sectarian war that has engulfed Iraq and threatens to spread beyond. Iran's Syria campaign would make more sense if sectarian demographics were not so firmly against it. Syria is 75 percent Sunni Arab, roughly the same percentage as the overall Middle East minus Iran. And the rural areas that ISIS dominates in Syria and Iraq are upwards of 95 percent Sunni Arab. Such figures indicate that Iran will not be able to shoot Sunnis into submission; rather, it could end up in a grinding conflict that many have already described as "Iran's Vietnam."


Although this trend is unlikely to produce a "regime victory," it could spur Assad and his Iranian sponsors to focus on their parts of lesser Syria and commit to a de facto nonaggression pact with the jihadists. This might help avoid Iran's Vietnam scenario, but it would lead to the worst of both worlds for the United States and its allies: Assad and ISIS both holding on, perhaps permanently. To avoid this scenario and better pursue U.S. security interests in Syria, Washington should adopt the following approach:

  1. Accept that Syria will be a divided, failed state as long as Assad is permitted to remain in power -- something akin to Saddam Hussein in the 1990s, when the regime's policies cost it control over the Kurdish north. Unlike that scenario, however, Assad's continued presence would be a powerful magnet for jihadists and a major driver of Sunni-Shiite tension.
  2. Do not lessen the pressure on Assad. Instead of allowing the regime's strength to grow, Washington should weaken both Assad and ISIS by encouraging the fight between them, weakening Iran's foreign legions and the jihadists at the same time. Assad often brags about fighting terrorism, so the United States should let him do it on his own dime, hanging responsibility for ISIS around his neck and weakening him and Iran's forces in the process. Key issues for Washington to consider include when to ramp up or scale back airstrikes against not only ISIS, but also regime forces -- especially if Assad follows through with the threat he issued on January 20, when he told Foreign Affairs that the regime would attack any U.S.-trained moderate forces entering Syria. Only then would Damascus and Tehran be pressured to make substantial concessions.
  3. Focus on helping the moderate opposition consolidate their lines of control against the jihadists and regime alike, in addition to sharply increasing humanitarian assistance for displaced persons and efforts to protect civilians. The United States cannot organize and regiment the entire opposition, but it can back any faction that retakes areas from ISIS. The only way to motivate the rebels to do so is to openly support their justified stance against Assad remaining in power.
  4. Develop a strategy to remove Assad via diplomacy, information messaging, and military/economic power. The longer he is in place, the longer Syria will be divided. Once Assad goes, it will be possible to put the pieces of Syria back together again.

Andrew Tabler is a senior fellow in The Washington Institute's Program on Arab Politics. His publications include "Syria's Collapse and How Washington Can Stop It" (Foreign Affairs, July-August 2013) and the 2011 book In the Lion's Den: An Eyewitness Account of Washington's Battle with Syria.