أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2377

العلاقات الأمريكية - الإسرائيلية: مشهد متغير؟

جوناثان رينهولد و إليوت أبرامز

متاح أيضاً في English

27 شباط/فبراير 2015


"في 23 شباط/فبراير خاطب جوناثان رينهولد وإليوت أبرامز منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. ورينهولد هو باحث بارز في "مركز بيغن- السادات للدراسات الاستراتيجية" ("بيسا")، ومدير مركز آرغوف لدراسة إسرائيل والشعب اليهودي، ومؤلف كتاب صدر مؤخراً "الصراع العربي-الإسرائيلي في الثقافة السياسية الأمريكية" ("كيمبريدج يونيفرسيتي بريس" - "مطبعة جامعة كامبريدج"). وأبرامز هو زميل أقدم لدراسات الشرق الأوسط في "مجلس العلاقات الخارجية" ونائب سابق لمستشار الأمن القومي في إدارة جورج دبليو بوش. وفيما يلي ملخص المقررة لملاحظاتهما."

جوناثان رينهولد

تعزّز دراسات حديثة أجراها "مركز بيغن-السادات للدراسات الاستراتيجية" ومنظمات أخرى، الفكرة بأن الجمهور الإسرائيلي قلقٌ بشأن العلاقات الأمريكية الإسرائيلية، وخاصة في ضوء الخطاب القادم لرئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو أمام الكونغرس الأمريكي. في تسعينيات القرن الماضي، حاولت حكومة "حزب الليكود" العمل مع الجمهوريين في الكونغرس لتعطيل السياسات غير المواتية التي كانت تتقدم بها إدارة كلينتون، ولكنّ معظم تلك المحاولات جرت دون علم الجمهور. ويبدو اليوم أنّ التوجّه نفسه يحصل ولكن بطريقة أكثر علنية.

في الماضي، وجدت غالبية الإسرائيليين بأن نهج الرئيس أوباما في التعامل مع بلادهم إيجابياً. ولكن مع ذلك، هم الآن أكثر انقساماً بشكلٍ متساوٍ وفقاً لانتماءاتهم الحزبية، ولا يوافقون على السياسات الأوسع للرئيس الأمريكي بشأن الشرق الأوسط بفروقات كبيرة. ولعل حساباتهم المتغيّرة بشأن القضية النووية الإيرانية هي الأكثر إثارةً للدهشة؛ فقد بدأ كثيرون يفكّرون في الكيفية التي يمكن فيها لهجوم إسرائيلي دون دعم أمريكي أن يؤثّر على العلاقات الثنائية. وتخفّف هذه الآراء من تأثير قرار نتنياهو التحدث أمام الكونغرس على الرغم من معارضة الرئيس الأمريكي.

وعلى مستوى أعمق، لا يفهم الإسرائيليون عموماً - وبالتالي يقللون من تقدير - أهمية القيم الديمقراطية المشتركة مع الأمريكيين. ولا يكتفي العديد من الأمريكيين بالتعاطف مع إسرائيل فحسب، بل يتماهون معها أيضاً. بيد، برزت مفارقة بشأن الطريقة التي يتعلّقون بها مع إسرائيل. فمن جهة، تصاعدت درجة تعاطفهم مع إسرائيل إلى مستويات غير مسبوقة في هذا القرن. ومن جهة أخرى، انقسمت هذه الآراء على نحو متزايد بشأن الصراع الإسرائيلي-الفلسطيني، ويترافق هذا الصدع مع الانقسامات السياسية والأيديولوجية والدينية الرئيسية في الولايات المتحدة.

ويقيناً، إن مدى التعاطف مع إسرائيل لا يزال أوسع بكثير في الولايات المتحدة مما هو عليه في أوروبا. ويرجع ذلك إلى حدّ كبير إلى أسباب تاريخية وثقافية مرتبطة بالأسس البروتستانتية في الولايات المتحدة ووضع إسرائيل كدولة ديمقراطية. أما في أوروبا، فيُنظر إلى الديمقراطية عادةً كنظام وليس كجزء من هوية الفرد.

إن الذي تغيّر في الولايات المتحدة هو الطريقة التي تنظر فيها مجموعات مختلفة إلى الصراع الإسرائيلي الفلسطيني. وفي هذا الصدد، حقّق دعم الجمهوريين لإسرائيل قفزة هائلة، بينما بقي الدعم الديمقراطي على ما هو عليه تقريباً. وأصبحت فجوة السياسة بين المجموعتين أعمق من ذي قبل. فالجمهوريون ينظرون إلى دعم إسرائيل باعتباره وسيلةً لتبنّي القيم المشتركة ضمن صراع أوسع ضدّ أعداء مشتركين، ويلومون الفلسطينيين على عدم إحراز تقدّم في عملية السلام. أما الديمقراطيين، فهم متّحدون في دعمهم لحلّ الدولتين ومعارضة المستوطنات، ولكن ينقسمون بشأن الجهة التي ينبغي إلقاء اللوم عليها ودرجة الحزم المطلوبة من الولايات المتحدة في الشرق الأوسط.

وتنعكس هذه الاختلافات جزئياً بين الأجيال، فالمعلقين الليبراليين الأصغر سناً هم أكثر انتقاداً إلى حد كبير للسياسة الأمنية التي تتبعها إسرائيل ويجدون أنّ هذه الأخيرة تتحمّل مسؤولية الصراع إلى حدّ أكبر. والجيل الألفي في الولايات المتحدة هو الأوّل الذي يضمّ نسبة ليبراليين أكبر من نسبة المحافظين. وحيث ينقسم الطرفان بشدّة بشأن السياسة الخارجية، وخاصة تجاه الشرق الأوسط، تشكّل إسرائيل مركز الاستقطاب الأوسع في السياسة الأمريكية.

ولا تظهر فجوة كبيرة بين وجهات النظر النخبوية والعامة بشأن معظم هذه القضايا في أيّ من الحزبيْن، على الرغم من أنّ النخب تميل إلى أن تكون أكثر اعتدالاً. ولكن لا تزال حتى الشريحة الديموغرافية الأقل موالاة لإسرائيل في الولايات المتحدة أكثر دعماً من الشريحة الديموغرافية الأكثر تأييداً لإسرائيل في أوروبا.

وما زال الإسرائيليون والأمريكيون على توافق على نطاق واسع بشأن قضية واحدة على الأقل، ألا وهي أمن إسرائيل. ولا يمكن اعتبار ذلك أمراً مفروغاً منه، بل ينبغي أن يكون نقطة انطلاق لتعزيز العلاقة بين الطرفين. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، وبما أنّ حلّ الدولتين وسياسة الاستيطان أصبحا مهمّين بشكل متزايد للديمقراطيين والليبراليين، تحتاج إسرائيل إلى التركيز على هاتين القضيتين إذا كانت ترغب في الحفاظ على علاقات ثنائية قوية. وسيكون حشد الدعم الأمريكي أسهل بكثير إذا تخطّت إسرائيل عتبة المصداقية بشأن مسألة تحقيق السلام.

وبعد الإشارة إلى هذا الموضوع، فإن أحد مصادر القلق الرئيسية هو فشل العديد من الديمقراطيين الليبراليين في فهم واقع الشرق الأوسط وتداعياته المحتملة المترتبة على السياسات. وتميل المناقشات في الجامعات اليوم إلى أن تعكس التحول نحو المزيد من المواقف الليبرالية في الولايات المتحدة؛ وقد شهدت الدول الأوروبية اتجاهاً مماثلاً من قبل. ولكن يتعيّن أن يدرك أولئك الذين يهتمون بالسلام أنه يجب أن يكون جيّداً لكلا الجانبين. وعند التعامل مع أي قضية سياسية معينة، ينبغي أن يسألوا باستمرار، "هل هي جيدة [لتحقيق] السلام؟". وسيجبر ذلك الناس على الإجابة على الأسئلة الصعبة التي لا يمكن الاستفادة منها كشعارات رنانة.

وخلاصة القول، أنّ العلاقة الخاصة التي تجمع بين الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل ليست في خطر فوري، ولكن يجب ألا يسمح مناصروها بتدهور طبيعة العلاقة القائمة منذ فترة طويلة بين الحزبين الجمهوري والديمقراطي.

إليوت أبرامز

توالت حكومات يمينية على إسرائيل لمدة دامت خمسة عشر عاماً حتى اليوم، الأمر الذي يفسّر الكثير من التوتر مع الإدارة اليسارية القائمة حالياً في الولايات المتحدة. وإذا فازت حكومة يسارية في الانتخابات القادمة في إسرائيل، من المرجح أن تخفّ حدّة التوترات الحالية مع إدارة أوباما. وقد أجبر هذا الوضع أيضاً العديد من اليهود الأمريكيين على اختيار الانتماء الأكثر أهمية بالنسبة إليهم، أي - الليبرالي الأمريكي أو اليهودي الموالي لإسرائيل. وهذا بدوره يطرح مسألة أوسع عمّا إذا كان يهود الشتات ما زالوا يشعرون بصلة تربطهم بإسرائيل، وهذه قضية تتخطّى الاختلاف بين اليسار واليمين. والأسئلة التي تطرح نفسها هي، كيف يمكن الحفاظ على الشعوبية في حين أنّ الجالية اليهودية الأمريكية تفقد يهوديتها؟ وهل سيحافظ اليهود الأمريكيون على الشعور بالشعوبية إذا لا يمارسون اليهودية؟

ثمة اتجاه مدهش آخر يقضي "بإضفاء الطابع الفلسطيني" على العلاقات الأمريكية الإسرائيلية. على سبيل المثال، عند سؤال الناس في مصر أو المملكة العربية السعودية أو الإمارات العربية المتحدة، لا تبدو علاقتهم مع إسرائيل متمحورة حصراً أو حتى في المقام الأول حول القضية الفلسطينية. وهناك العديد من القضايا الهامة الأخرى، مثل إيران و تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» و «حزب الله»، وهكذا دواليك. ولكن بالنسبة إلى الأمريكيين من يسار الوسط، فإنّ المسائل الحيوية هي الفلسطينيين والمستوطنات وإقامة الدولة الفلسطينية. وبغية زيادة الدعم لإسرائيل بين التابعين لهذه الدائرة، في أوروبا والولايات المتحدة على حدّ سواء، ينبغي نزع الطابع الفلسطيني من العلاقة، على الرغم من أنّ ذلك قد يتطلب إدارة أمريكية مختلفة.

ويواجه الإسرائيليون أيضاً مشكلةً مع ما يبدونه من آراء بشأن عملية السلام. ويسهل بالنسبة إليهم أن يقولوا: "نحن نريد السلام، ولكنّ الفلسطينيين لا ينفكون يرفضونه." ويستطيع الأمريكيون تفهّم هذا النمط من التفكير. ولكن من الأصعب لهم أن يقنعوا الغير بالحجة القائلة: "إن الأمر ميؤوساً منه، ولا جدوى من التفاوض لأنّه لا يوجد شريك في الجانب الآخر." وعند تقديم حجج مماثلة للعديد من الأمريكيين، وخاصة اليساريين منهم، فإن ما يفهمونه هو أنّ "الاحتلال دائم." ولا يريدون أن يسمعوا هذه العبارة. فالأمريكيون لا يتوقعون تحقيق السلام غداً، ولكنهم يتوقعون من إسرائيل أن تعمل لتحقيق ذلك.

إذاً ما الذي يمكن القيام به لتحسين العلاقات؟ تحتاج إسرائيل أولاً إلى زيادة التواصل مع الديمقراطيين الأمريكيين، وقد يتحقق ذلك بالاستعانة بمساعدة من سياسييها اليساريين (اعتماداً بالطبع على نتائج انتخابات الكنيست الإسرائيلية في الشهر المقبل). ثانياً، يصعب القول إنّ تحسين الحياة اليومية للفلسطينيين من شأنها أن تحسّن وجهة نظر بعض الأمريكيين وغيرهم من الأجانب بشأن إسرائيل، لأنّ حكومة نتنياهو بذلت جهوداً كبيرة في هذا الإطار في الضفة الغربية دون أن تحظى بالكثير من التقدير. ثالثاً، سيحقق توضيح سياسة الاستيطان الإسرائيلية خطوةً هامةً إلى الأمام. وفي الواقع، تمّ الجزء الأكبر من عمليات البناء المثيرة للجدل داخل الكتل الاستيطانية الكبرى في قلب الحاجز الأمني، وليس في وسط الأراضي التي ستشكّل جزءاً من فلسطين ذات يوم، وقد كان ذلك أساس الإتفاق الذي عقدته إدارة بوش مع إسرائيل، ونشاط البناء الناتج عنها لم يغيّر خريطة السلام جذرياً. وعلى الرغم من أنّ إسرائيل لم تتمكّن من التعبير عن هذه المصطلحات بشكلٍ فعال خلال الإدارة الحالية، ينبغي أن تتمكّن واشنطن من إيجاد صيغة توضح أنّ سياسة الاستيطان لا تطعن في إمكانية التوصل إلى حلّ الدولتين.

أما بالنسبة إلى الانتخابات الإسرائيلية، فإنّ نتنياهو سيكون أفضل حالاً بتشكيل حكومة ائتلافية موسّعة وليس يمينية في حال فوزه، على الأقل من حيث العلاقات مع إدارة أوباما. وعلاوةً على ذلك، في حين أنّ التوترات مع واشنطن تكون عادةً سلبية لشاغل المنصب خلال الحملة الانتخابية، فهي قد تؤذي المعارضة في هذه الانتخابات لأنّ نتنياهو قد يلجأ إلى تهديدات أمنية كبيرة لتصوير خصومه كضعفاء. على سبيل المثال، عندما سُئل رئيس "حزب العمل" يتسحاق هرتسوغ مؤخراً عن إيران، عبّر عن ثقته بالرئيس أوباما بشأن هذه القضية، وهذه ربما إجابة خاطئة من وجهة النظر السياسية الإسرائيلية. وخلافاً للاعتقاد الشائع، تشكّل هذه الانتخابات استفتاءً لشعبية هرتسوغ وليس نتنياهو. ويعرف الإسرائيليون بالفعل ما يفكرون به عن نتنياهو بعد السنوات الطويلة الذي قضاها في منصبه؛ ولكن يبقى السؤال ما إذا كانوا يثقون بهرتسوغ ما يكفي ليصبح رئيساً للوزراء.

 

أعدت هذا الملخص راكيل ساكس.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2377

U.S.-Israel Relations: A Changing Landscape?

Jonathan Rynhold and Elliott Abrams

Also available in العربية

February 27, 2015


On February 23, Jonathan Rynhold and Elliott Abrams addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Rynhold is a senior researcher at the Begin-Sadat Center for Strategic Studies (BESA), director of the Argov Center for the Study of Israel and the Jewish People, and author of the just-released book The Arab-Israel Conflict in American Political Culture (Cambridge University Press). Abrams is a senior fellow for Middle Eastern studies at the Council on Foreign Relations and former deputy national security advisor in the George W. Bush administration. The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks.

JONATHAN RYNHOLD

Recent studies by BESA and other organizations reinforce the notion that the Israeli public is concerned about the U.S.-Israel relationship, especially in light of Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu's upcoming speech before Congress. In the 1990s, the Likud Party government tried to work with Republicans in Congress to block unfavorable policies by the Clinton administration, yet much of this was below the public's radar. Today, the same trend is occurring more openly.

In the past, a majority of Israelis viewed President Obama's approach to their country favorably. Now, however, they are more evenly divided depending on partisan affiliations, and they disapprove of the president's wider Middle East policies by large margins. Perhaps most surprising is their changing calculus on the Iranian nuclear issue; many are beginning to think about how an Israeli attack without American support might affect the bilateral relationship. These views dilute the impact of Netanyahu's decision to speak before Congress despite the president's opposition.

On a deeper level, Israelis generally do not understand -- and therefore underestimate -- the importance of shared democratic values to Americans. Many Americans do not just sympathize with Israel, they identify with Israel. Yet a paradox has emerged in the way they relate to Israel. On the one hand, their sympathy for Israel has surged to new heights this century. On the other hand, they are increasingly divided about the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, and this rift aligns with major political, ideological, and religious divides in the United States.

To be sure, the extent of sympathy for Israel is still vastly greater in America than in Europe. This is due largely to historical and cultural reasons, tied to America's Protestant foundations and Israel's status as a democracy. In Europe, democracy is typically viewed as a system and not part of one's identity.

What has changed in the United States is the way different groups relate to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. In this regard, Republican support for Israel has made a huge jump while Democratic support has stayed about the same. The policy divide is even starker. Republicans see support for Israel as a matter of embracing common values in a wider struggle against common enemies, and they blame Palestinians for lack of progress in the peace process. Democrats are united in their support for two states and opposition to settlements, but divided about who is to blame and how assertive America should be in the Middle East.

These differences are partly generational -- younger liberal commentators are far more critical of Israel's security policy and believe it bears more responsibility for the conflict. The millennial generation in America is the first in which there are more liberals than conservatives. With the two parties sharply divided on foreign policy and especially the Middle East, Israel is at the center of a broader polarization in American policy.

Neither party shows a significant gap between elite and public views on most of these issues, though elites tend to be more moderate. Yet even the least pro-Israel demographic in the United States is still more supportive than the most pro-Israel demographic in Europe.

Israelis and Americans still broadly agree on at least one issue: the security of Israel. This cannot be taken for granted and should be a starting point for strengthening the relationship. Additionally, since the two-state solution and settlement policy are increasingly important to Democrats and liberals, Israel needs to focus on these issues if it wants to maintain strong bilateral relations. It will be much easier to garner American support if Israel crosses the threshold of credibility on peace.

That said, one major concern is the failure among many liberal Democrats to understand the realities of the Middle East and their potential policy implications. Debates on college campuses today tend to reflect the shift toward more liberal attitudes in America; European countries went through a similar trend. Yet those who care about peace must realize that it has to be good for both sides. When dealing with any given policy issue, they must constantly ask, "Is this good for peace?" This will force people to answer the difficult questions that cannot be sloganized.

In sum, while the special connection between the United States and Israel is not in immediate danger, supporters should not allow the relationship's longstanding bipartisan nature to be eroded. 

ELLIOTT ABRAMS

Israel has had right-wing governments for fifteen years now, a situation that explains much of the tension with America's current left-wing administration. If a left-wing government were to win Israel's upcoming election, tensions with the Obama administration would likely decline. The situation has also forced many American Jews to choose which affiliation -- liberal American or pro-Israel Jew -- is more important to them. This in turn raises the broader question of whether diaspora Jews still feel connected to Israel, which is more than a left-right issue. How do you sustain peoplehood when much of the American Jewish community is de-Judaizing? Will American Jews maintain a sense of peoplehood if they do not practice Judaism?

Another striking trend is the "Palestinianization" of American-Israeli relations. For example, if you ask people in Egypt, Saudi Arabia, or the United Arab Emirates, their relationship with Israel does not turn exclusively or even primarily on the Palestinian issue. There are many other important issues -- Iran, ISIS, Hezbollah, and so forth. For left-of-center Americans, however, the critical issues are the Palestinians, settlements, and statehood. To increase support for Israel among this constituency -- in Europe as well as the United States -- one must de-Palestinianize the relationship, though that may require a different U.S. administration.

Israelis also face a problem with their message on the peace process. It is one thing for them to say "We want peace, but the Palestinians keep saying no"; Americans can understand that line of reasoning. It is harder to sell the argument that "It's hopeless, there's no point in negotiating because there is no partner on the other side." When many Americans, particularly those on the left, are presented with such arguments, what they hear is "The occupation is permanent." They don't want to hear that -- Americans do not expect peace tomorrow, but they expect Israel to be working toward it.

So what can be done to improve relations? First, Israel would need to increase its outreach to American Democrats, perhaps by enlisting the help of its own left-wing politicians (depending of course on the outcome of next month's Knesset election). Second, it is difficult to argue that improving daily life for Palestinians would improve how some Americans and other foreigners view Israel, since the Netanyahu government has made great efforts toward that end in the West Bank without receiving much credit. Third, clarifying Israel's settlement policy would be a significant step forward. In reality, the vast majority of controversial construction has taken place within the major settlement blocs lying inside the security barrier, not in the middle of what will someday be Palestine -- this was essentially the deal the Bush administration struck with Israel, and the resultant construction activity has not fundamentally altered the peace map. Although Israel has been unable to convey those terms effectively during the current administration, Washington should be able to find a formula for making clear that the settlement policy does not challenge the possibility of a two-state solution.

As for Israel's election, Netanyahu would be better off creating a grand coalition than a right-wing government if he wins, at least in terms of relations with the Obama administration. Moreover, while tensions with Washington are typically a negative for the incumbent during a campaign, they may hurt the opposition in this election because Netanyahu can use major security threats to portray his opponents as weak. For example, when Labor Party chair Isaac Herzog was asked recently about Iran, he said he trusts President Obama on the issue -- perhaps the wrong answer from an Israeli political view. Contrary to popular belief, this election is a referendum on Herzog, not Netanyahu. Israelis already know what they think of Netanyahu after his many years in office; the question is whether they trust Herzog to be prime minister.

This summary was prepared by Raquel Saxe.