أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

تركيا في أزمة

سونر چاغاپتاي

متاح أيضاً في English

"يو إس نيوز أند وورلد ريبورت"

18 نيسان/أبريل 2017


في استفتاء يوم الأحد، السادس عشر من نيسان/أبريل، فاز الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان بفارقٍ ضيق، الأمر الذي يوسع سلطاته الى حد كبير، ولكن لا يبشّر بالخير لمستقبل تركيا. وفي أعقاب الاستفتاء، أصبح أردوغان المسؤول التركي الأكثر نفوذاً منذ تأسيس تركيا الحديثة مِن قبل مصطفى كمال أتاتورك في عام 1923. ولكن في حين أنّ نصف الشعب التركي معجب بأردوغان، إلا أن النصف الآخر يمقته. وهنا تكمن الأزمة التركية الراهنة.

يعود سبب هذا الاستقطاب في البلاد إلى سياسة أردوغان الشعبوية. وحيث شغل منصب رئيس وزراء تركيا في الفترة بين عامي 2003 و 2014 ورئيس الجمهورية بعدها، شوّه أردوغان سمعة شريحةٍ من الناخبين واتخذ إجراءات صارمة بحقهم، بدءاً من الأكراد والديمقراطيين الإشتراكيين ووصولاً إلى اليساريين والليبراليين، الذين من غير المرجح أن يصوّتوا له، وذلك من أجل تعزيز قاعدته اليمينية والإسلامية والقومية.

وإلى جانب النمو الاقتصادي القوي الذي شهدته تركيا، ولّدت الاستراتيجية الانتخابية لأردوغان استقطاباً عميق الجذور في البلاد، إذ أن مؤيديه المحافظين، الذين يشكلون حوالي نصف سكان تركيا، احتشدوا حوله بحماسةٍ للدفاع عنه، في حين يسود استياءاً واسعاً من سياسته في صفوف النصف الآخر، الذي عانى من إجحافه. وعلى نحو متزايد، هناك القليل من الأرضية المشتركة بين هذين الجمهوريين الانتخابيين.

وعلى الرغم من أنّه فاز في الانتخابات بشكلٍ ديمقراطي (حتى موعد التصويت في السادس عشر من نيسان/أبريل)، فقد أصبح أردوغان استبدادياً بصورة تدريجية، إذ حرص شيئاً فشيئاً على إبقاء الساحة السياسية غير متّزنة من أجل تفادي إفلات السلطة من يديه. وأفادت "منظمة الأمن والتعاون" في أوروبا، وهي هيئة اوروبية ترصد الانتخابات، في تقريرها الأولي حول الاستفتاء التركي يوم الأحد أنّ حكام المقاطعات عمدوا إلى التطاول على "الحقوق والحريات الأساسية" عبر استخدام "حالة استثنائية من السلطة في حالات الطوارئ" التي أعلنها اردوغان في أعقاب الانقلاب الفاشل عام 2016، لتقييد "حرية التجمع والتعبير".

وقد رفعت المعارضة التركية نتائج الانتخابات إلى المحاكم، وطلبت أيضاً من مجلس الانتخابات فى البلاد الغاء الاستفتاء. إلّا أنّ المؤسسات التركية متحفظة جداً عندما يتعلق الأمر بإلغاء الانتخابات أو قلب نتائجها. وبالنسبة لأردوغان ومؤيديه فقد انتهى السباق. وبعد ذلك، سوف ينتقل إلى إعادة تشكيل تركيا على صورته متمثلاً بأتاتورك، مؤسس البلاد الذي يريد أردوغان أن يقتدي به ويحل محله.

في أوائل القرن العشرين، أسس أتاتورك تركيا الحديثة كدولةٍ علمانية وأوروبية وغربية. وقد قام بتوجيه موارد الدولة نحو هندسةٍ اجتماعية في إطار تنازلي (البدء بالمفاهيم العليا ثم النزول إلى التفاصيل)، وخاصة سياسة التعليم، من أجل تشكيل الشباب التركي على صورته. واليوم، يريد أردوغان استخدام سلطته في تشكيل تركيا في قالبه الخاص، كبلد شرق أوسطي، ومحافظ وإسلامي سياسياً. وتحقيقاً لهذه الغاية، يسعى أردوغان إلى الاستعانة بأساليب أتاتورك المتعنتة في إطار تنازلي (من الأعلى إلى الأسفل).

إلّا أنّ أردوغان يواجه مشكلةً اليوم: ففي حين وصل أتاتورك إلى السلطة كعميدٍ عسكري، يحكم أردوغان بلاده في ولايةٍ ديمقراطية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تنقسم تركيا اليوم إلى النصف بين المعسكرات المؤيدة لأردوغان وتلك المعارضة له.

ومن غير المرجح أن يتمكّن أردوغان من فرض رؤية الإسلام السياسي الخاصة به على المجتمع التركي بأكمله، الذي يتألّف من مزيجٍ من الجماعات الاجتماعية والسياسية والعرقية والدينية، والكثير منهم يعارضون جدول أعمال أردوغان: وفي استفتاء يوم الأحد، صوت العديد من سكان المدن على طول ساحل البلاد بأعداد هائلة ضد أردوغان. حتى أنّ الزعيم التركي قد خسر دعم مدينة اسطنبول، مسقط رأسه والعاصمة التجارية للبلاد.

وقد أصبحت تركيا بكلّ بساطة متنوعة جداً ديموغرافياً، وكبيرة جداً اقتصادياً وأكثر تعقيداً على المستوى السياسي من أن يتمكّن شخصٌ واحد من إعادة تشكيلها على صورته. وعلى الرغم من جهود أردوغان لخلق فئة من الرأسماليين الإسلاميين المحسوبين، على سبيل المثال، فإن الجزء الأكبر من ثروة البلاد لا يزال منحازاً إلى "جمعية الصناعيين ورجال الأعمال الأتراك" ["توسياد"]، التي تُعتبر نادي "فورتشن 500" التركي، المتمسكة بالقيم العلمانية والديمقراطية والليبرالية والموالية للغرب. وطالما أنّ تركيا دولةٌ ديمقراطية بحقّ، لن يتمكّن أردوغان من الاستمرار في الحكم كما يريد. ولهذا السبب تماماً، سيصبح أكثر استبدادياً في المرحلة القادمة، بل قد ينهي الديمقراطية في تركيا.

إلّا أنّ الأحداث في تركيا قد تسير بشكلٍ أقلّ قساوةً تشمل معارضة أردوغان. ومع ذلك، قد يكون هذا البديل طلباً صعباً. ففي الوقت الحالي، يتألّف المعسكر المعارض لأردوغان من تحالف فضفاض يشمل الأتراك والأكراد القوميين، والعلمانيين والمحافظين، والسنّة (وهم من المسلمين المتشدّدين) والعلويين (وهم من المسلمين الليبراليين)، وغيرهم.

وغالباً ما تكون الفجوة بين هذه الفصائل المعارضة أوسع من تلك التي تفصلهم عن أردوغان. وتواجه المعارضة مشكلة أخرى وهي أنه في حين أصبح أردوغان "أتاتوركاً" معارضاً لأتاتورك يشكّل البلاد على الصورة المحافظة والإسلامية الخاصة به - من المفارقات هنا أنّ إرث أتاتورك لا يزال يؤثّر على استراتيجيات "الأتاتورك" الجديد - إلا أن أتاتورك المعارضة (أي أتاتورك الحقيقي) قد توفّي بطبيعة الحال.

ومن أجل التقدّم نحو بديلٍ مجدي لأردوغان، يتعين على الحركة المعارضة المستقبلية في تركيا أن تجمع بين الجناح السلمي للحركة القومية الكردية والأتراك العلمانيين والأتراك القوميين المناهضين لأردوغان وجناح يمين الوسط المؤلّف من الأتراك المحافظين تحت قيادة "أتاتورك" خاص بها، يكون زعيماً يتمتع بشخصية كارزماتية - على الأقل من حيث المبدأ - وذو رؤية توحيدية وكونية ليبرالية. ولم يظهر بعد هذا القائد التركي، إلا أنّه لا بدّ من أن يظهر عاجلاً وليس آجلاً لكي يمنع أردوغان من إنهاء الديمقراطية تماماً في تركيا.

 

سونر چاغاپتاي هو زميل "باير فاميلي" ومدير برنامج الأبحاث التركية في معهد واشنطن، ومؤلف الكتاب الجديد: "السلطان الجديد: أردوغان وأزمة تركيا الحديثة".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

Turkey in Crisis

Soner Cagaptay

Also available in العربية

U.S. News & World Report

April 18, 2017


Without an organized opposition, Erdogan's expanded powers may end Turkish democracy.

Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan's narrow win in Sunday's referendum, which significantly expands his powers, is not promising for Turkey's future. Following the referendum, Erdogan has become the most powerful Turk since Mustafa Kemal Ataturk founded modern Turkey in 1923. But while half of the country loves Erdogan, the other half loathes him: Herein lies Turkey's crisis.

Erdogan's populist brand of politics is the cause of this polarization. Prime minister of Turkey between 2003 and 2014 and president since, Erdogan has demonized and cracked down on constituencies, ranging from Kurds and social democrats to leftists and liberals, that are not likely to vote for him in order to boost his right-wing, Islamist and nationalist base.

Coupled with strong economic growth, Erdogan's electoral strategy has created deeply entrenched polarization in Turkey: His conservative supporters, constituting about half of the country, have zealously rallied around him in his defense; the other half of the country, brutalized by Erdogan, holds a profound resentment for him. Increasingly, there is little common ground between these constituencies.

Although he has won elections democratically (until Sunday's vote), Erdogan has gradually become more autocratic, ensuring little by little that the political playing field is uneven in order to prevent power from escaping his hands. In its preliminary report covering Sunday's Turkish referendum, the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe, a European body that does election monitoring, said that provincial governors impinged on "fundamental rights and freedoms" by using "extraordinary state of emergency powers," declared by Erdogan in the aftermath of the 2016 failed coup, to restrict "freedom of assembly and expression."

The Turkish opposition has taken the election outcome to the courts, also asking the country's election board to annul the referendum. But the Turkish institutions are notoriously conservative when it comes to annulling elections or overturning their outcomes. As far as Erdogan and his supporters are concerned, the race is over. Next, he will move to shape Turkey in his own image, taking his cue from Ataturk, the country's founder whom Erdogan wants to both emulate and replace.

In the early 20th century, Ataturk established modern Turkey as a secular, European, Westernized state. He funneled state resources into top-down social engineering, especially education policy, to shape young Turks in his own image. Now, Erdogan wants to use his own power to shape Turkey in his own mold, as a country that is Middle Eastern, conservative and politically Islamist, and to this end, he aims to use Ataturk's top-down Jacobin methods.

But Erdogan has a problem: Whereas Ataturk came to power as a military general, Erdogan has had a democratic mandate to govern. Furthermore, Turkey is split down the middle between pro- and anti-Erdogan camps.

It is unlikely that Erdogan will be able to impose his vision of political Islam on the whole of Turkish society, a melange of social, political, ethnic and religious groups, many of whom oppose Erdogan's agenda: In Sunday's referendum, many of the cities along the country's coast voted in overwhelming numbers against Erdogan. The Turkish leader even lost his hometown of Istanbul, the country's commercial capital.

Turkey has simply become too diverse demographically, too big economically and too complicated politically for one person to shape it in his own image. Despite Erdogan's efforts to create a class of crony Islamist capitalists, for instance, the bulk of the country's wealth is still aligned with TUSIAD, Turkey's Fortune 500 club, which is wedded to secular, democratic, pro-Western and liberal values. So long as Turkey is genuinely democratic, Erdogan cannot continue to govern the way he likes, which is why he will become more autocratic going forward. He could even end democracy in Turkey.

There is another, less grim trajectory for Turkey -- one that includes Erdogan's opposition. However, this alternative may be a tall order. At the moment, the anti-Erdogan camp is a loose coalition including Turkish and Kurdish nationalists, seculars and conservatives, Sunnis (who are orthodox Muslims) and Alevis (who are liberal Muslims), among others.

The gap between those opposition factions is often wider than the gap separating them from Erdogan. Another problem for the opposition is that while Erdogan has become an anti-Ataturk "Ataturk," shaping the country in his own conservative and Islamist image -- ironically, the legacy of Ataturk continues to influence the strategies of the new "Ataturk" -- the opposition's Ataturk (that is, the real Ataturk) is, of course, dead.

To coalesce in a viable alternative to Erdogan, Turkey's future opposition movement will have to bring together the peaceful wing of the Kurdish-nationalist movement, secular Turks, anti-Erdogan nationalist Turks and the center-right wing of conservative Turks under its own "Ataturk," a charismatic leader with a unifying and -- at least in principle -- liberal Weltanschauung. Such a leader has yet to emerge, and he or she must appear sooner than later in order to prevent Erdogan from completely ending democracy in Turkey.

Soner Cagaptay is the Beyer Family Fellow and director of the Turkish Research Program at The Washington Institute, and author of the new book The New Sultan: Erdogan and the Crisis of Modern Turkey.