أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 1968

الحرب الخفية: التاريخ السري لصراع أمريكا ثلاثين عاماً مع إيران

كريست و جيمس جيفري

متاح أيضاً في English

2 آب/أغسطس 2012


في 31 تموز/يوليو، خاطب ديفيد كريست والسفير جيمس جيفري منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. والدكتور كريست هو مؤرخ بارز في الحكومة الأمريكية ومستشار خاص لرئيس القيادة المركزية الأمريكية ومؤلف الكتاب الجديد "الحرب الخفية: التاريخ السري لصراع أمريكا ثلاثين عاماً مع إيران." أما السيد جيفري فقد كان سفيراً للولايات المتحدة في كل من العراق وتركيا. وفيما يلي خلاصة المقررة لملاحظاتهما.

 

ديفيد كريست

منذ الثورة الإسلامية عام 1979 والولايات المتحدة وإيران تخوضان حرباً خفية شملت حملات موازية للتجسس وعمليات سرية وأخرى عسكرية. ورغم أن الأزمة حول برنامج طهران النووي قد أشعلت عدم الثقة المتجذرة بين الحكومتين إلا أن هذه هي فقط إحدى القضايا الكثيرة المسببة للخلاف بينهما. ونتيجة لذلك، فإنه حتى لو يتمكن الطرفان من حسم المشكلة النووية دبلوماسياً إلا أن الحرب الأمريكية الكبرى القادمة ستكون على الأرجح ضد إيران. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن أي صراع يُشعله عدوان إيراني والذي من المرجح أن يظهر بسرعة - سيكون حرباً تشمل قوات مسلحة متواجدة بالفعل في المنطقة، ومن ثم فإن الولايات المتحدة لن تتوفر لها رفاهية الدفع بقواتها تدريجياً إلى المنطقة كما كان بمقدورها القيام به في الماضي. ولذا تحتاج واشنطن إلى الحفاظ على وجود قوي في منطقة الخليج الفارسي لمواجهة أعمال عدائية ومجابهات طويلة الأجل مع إيران.

ويُعتبر تاريخ العلاقات بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران إحدى الفرص الضائعة حيث عندما كان أحد الطرفين مستعداً للتقارب لم يكن الآخر متحفزاً لذلك، والعكس بالعكس. وفي مناسبات عدة عرض محاورون إيرانيون ما ظنه البعض في واشنطن بأنه "صفقات كبرى" إلا أن مبادرات كهذه كانت هي أصل الريبة. وتحديداً، فإن بالون الاختبار الشهير من عام 2003 كانت وراءه على الأرجح رغبة طهران في تجنب وقوع غزو أمريكي محتمل، من خلال فكرة فتح المفاوضات وإضفاء مظهر للتقدم لكن دون معالجة الفجوة الأساسية بين البلدين.

وعلاوة على ذلك، على الرغم من الاعتقاد بأن الإدارات الأمريكية - الديمقراطية والجمهورية - سوف تتفادى أخطاء سابقيها، إلا أنها وجدت نفسها تتصارع مع الكثير من التحديات ذاتها، كالبحث عن معتدلين إيرانيين مراوغين، وتحديد ما إذا كان الأنسب هو التقارب مع طهران أم التصادم معها، وتوضيح النوايا الإيرانية. والأهم من ذلك أنها فشلت في التوصل إلى إجماع واضح في واشنطن فيما يتعلق بوسائل وغايات السياسة الأمريكية تجاه إيران. وحتى في ظل الخلافات الواضحة والعميقة بين البلدين كانت معظم الإدارات الأمريكية منقسمة داخلياً بشأن أهدافها في إيران حيث أن بعض الفئات كانت تسعى إلى العمل مع النظام في طهران فيما حاولت فئات أخرى إلى الإطاحة به. وقد كان البيت الأبيض عاجزاً أحياناً عن الاختيار بين تلك الرؤى المتصارعة مما أنتج انحرافاً سياسياً. ومراراً تسببت تلك الخلافات الداخلية في تعقيد مساعي جَسْر الخلافات مع إيران.

فعلى سبيل المثال دعم البعض في إدارة كارتر انقلاباً عسكرياً في طهران فيما أراد آخرون العمل مع آية الله روح الله الخميني والمعارضة الإيرانية من أجل تقليل الخسائر الأمريكية. وكانت النتيجة فوضى سياسية. وقد واجه الرئيس جورج دبليو بوش عائقاً مماثلاً في فترة رئاسته الأولى حيث كانت إدارته منقسمة بيأس بين أولئك الذين سعوا إلى كسب مساعدة طهران في أفغانستان والعراق وأولئك الذين ساندوا فكرة تغيير النظام. وعلى النقيض من ذلك، حاولت إدارة ريغان اتباع سياسة الاحتواء والتقارب في وقت واحد حيث أقامت علاقات عسكرية مع دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" وطورت خطط حرب ضد إيران في الوقت الذي باعت فيه أسلحة إلى طهران لتعزيز العلاقات مع المعتدلين هناك.

كما أن الجدل الداخلي حول اتباع سياسة تغيير النظام كان ملمحاً ثابتاً في السياسة الأمريكية تجاه إيران. فقد فكرت كل إدارة في هذه الاحتمالية سواء بالعمل مع المعارضين الداخليين أو الخارجيين أو من خلال عمل أحادي الجانب. ومع ذلك ففي كل حالة كانت واشنطن عاجزة عن تحديد جماعات المعارضة المنظمة والقوية، وخشيت من أن يؤدي تسليح مختلف الفصائل إلى "بلقنة" إيران. وفي نهاية المطاف توصلت كل إدارة إلى أن مساوئ العمل السري الهادف إلى تغيير النظام تفوق المكاسب المحتملة.

وعلاوة على ذلك، ففي حين أن الكثير من الرؤساء الأمريكيين لم يرغبوا في الاعتراف بذلك إلا أنهم استفادوا من سياسات سابقيهم. فقد استمر ريغان إلى حد كبير باتباع سياسة كارتر التي كانت ترمي إلى تقوية العلاقات الأمريكية مع الدول العربية سعياً لاحتواء إيران. كما استفاد أوباما من "خطة عمل إيران" التي تبناها بوش وواصل جهود الأخير لتطوير درع دفاعي صاروخي في الخليج. إن ذلك يُبرز الدرجة التي واجهت بها إدارات متعاقبة تحديات مماثلة في إيران ووضعت لها حلول مماثلة أيضاً.

وأخيراً نجد أن الولايات المتحدة قد تلكأت أيضاً وبشكل ثابت في وجه العدوان الإيراني. فتفجير ثكنات بيروت عام 1983 والهجوم على "أبراج الخُبَر" في عام 1996 واستخدام الجماعات الوكيلة لإيران لتقويض الجهود الأمريكية في العراق ومحاولة اغتيال السفير السعودي لدى واشنطن في العام الماضي، جميعها ووجهت بردود غير كافية. ويرى الزعماء الإيرانيون بأن انعدام الانتقام السريع هو بمثابة دعوة لمواصلة الحرب بالوكالة ضد الولايات المتحدة. وهم إذ يدركون أن أفعالهم تعتبر تخطياً للخطوط الحمراء الأمريكية إلا أنهم مع ذلك يتمسكون بنهج عملي لاختبار طاقة الصبر لدى واشنطن، بمعنى أنه ما دامت هذه الهجمات تمر دون عقاب، فلن يضطر النظام إلى إعادة النظر في نهجه. غير أنه كلما استخدمت الولايات المتحدة قوة صارمة ضد إيران أثمر ذلك عن نتائج. فعلى سبيل المثال في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2006 اعتقلت إدارة بوش نشطاء إيرانيين في العراق مما خفض من حماس قائد "قوة القدس" قاسم سليماني. وبالعكس، فقد جاء انسحاب الولايات المتحدة من العراق عام 2011 - والذي تصورته طهران بأنه هزيمة أمريكية - ليعزز النفوذ الإيراني هناك.

 

السفير جيمس جيفري

على الرغم من أن تحليل العلاقات الأمريكية الإيرانية بشكل غير متحيز أمر صعب إلا أنه من الصحيح أن نستنتج أن طهران قد ظلت تشن حرباً في الظل ضد الولايات المتحدة على مدار عقود. وبقيامها بذلك فإنها تعتمد على اتباع تكتيكات غير متناظرة أي على الإرهاب واستخدام الوكلاء. ففي العراق "لعبت" طهران بشكل دفاعي وهجومي لمواجهة النفوذ الأمريكي. وقد تلخصت أهداف النظام في ضمان عدم ظهور أي تهديد أمريكي من العراق وبقاء الأحزاب الشيعية مهيمنة في بغداد - على الرغم أنه من المثير للاهتمام أن لواشنطن وطهران أيضاً مصالح تكميلية معينة في العراق خاصة فيما يتعلق باستقرار البلاد.

بيد، ما تزال كيفية التقارب الفعال مع إيران تمثل قضية جوهرية حيث لم تنجح الولايات المتحدة تاريخياً في هذا المسعى. وقد استمر المسؤولون الأمريكيون في الاختلاف ما بين الرغبة في الاحتواء أو تغيير النظام، وبالتالي فإن التشوش في نهجهم قد أثر سلباً على الديناميات الأمريكية الإيرانية. لكن القضية الأكبر هي التنافس بين مراكز القوى المتصارعة في إيران وعدم وجود اتفاق فيما يتعلق بأهدافها حيال الولايات المتحدة. وهذا إنما يُعقد مسألة تحديد أي القنوات التي ينبغي أن يستغلها المسؤولون الأمريكيون للتواصل مع إيران.

والخلاصة هي أن واشنطن يجب أن تحدد موقفاً واضحاً عبر إداراتها وأجهزتها الحكومية وحلفائها فيما يتعلق بإيران، وما إذا كانت السياسة الشاملة ينبغي أن تكون هي الاحتواء أم تغيير النظام. وإلى أن يُحدَّد ذلك بوضوح ستتعرض السياسة الأمريكية تجاه إيران إلى التشوش بسبب التناقضات، وستظل إيران في حيرة من أهداف واشنطن. وربما الأهم من كل هذه المُعطيات هو حقيقة أن إيران ترفض جوهرياً أية فكرة ترسخ "عصر الهيمنة الأمريكية" على الشرق الأوسط. وما دام الأمر على هذا الحال فإن هذين البلدين محكوم عليهما أن يظلا عدوَّيين.

 

أعد هذا الملخص المقررة غويف روزين.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 1968

The Twilight War: The Secret History of America's Thirty-Year Conflict with Iran

David Crist and James F. Jeffrey

Also available in العربية

August 2, 2012


On July 31, David Crist and Ambassador James Jeffrey addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Dr. Crist, a senior historian for the U.S. government and a special advisor to the head of U.S. Central Command, is author of the new book The Twilight War: The Secret History of America's Thirty-Year Conflict with Iran. Mr. Jeffrey has served as U.S. ambassador to both Iraq and Turkey. The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks.

DAVID CRIST

Since the 1979 Islamic Revolution, the United States and Iran have been engaged in a twilight war involving parallel campaigns of espionage, covert action, and military action. Although the deep-seated distrust between the two governments has been heightened by the crisis over Tehran's nuclear program, this is only one of many issues dividing them. As a result, even if the two sides are able to resolve the nuclear issue diplomatically, the next major U.S. war will still likely be against Iran. In addition, any conflict sparked by Iranian aggression would likely emerge quickly -- it would be a “come as you are war” involving armed forces already on hand in the region, so the United States would not have the luxury of gradually flowing forces into the area as it has in the past. Therefore, Washington needs to maintain a robust presence in the Persian Gulf region to counter long-term hostilities and confrontations with Iran.

The history of the U.S.-Iran relationship is one of missed opportunities: when one side was ready for a rapprochement, the other was not, and vice versa. On several occasions, Iranian interlocutors offered what some in Washington thought were "grand bargains," but such initiatives were of dubious provenance. In particular, the famous 2003 trial balloon was more likely motivated by Tehran's desire to stall and to avert a possible U.S. invasion, with the idea of opening negotiations and giving the appearance of progress, but without addressing the fundamental divide between the two nations.

Moreover, despite the belief that they would avoid the mistakes of their predecessors, both Democratic and Republican administrations have found themselves grappling with many of the same challenges: searching for elusive Iranian moderates, deciding whether to engage or confront Tehran, clarifying Iranian intentions, and, most important, failing to establish clear consensus in Washington regarding the means and ends of policy toward Iran. Even in the face of clear, profound differences between the two countries, most U.S. administrations have been internally divided regarding their goals in Iran, with some factions seeking to work with the regime in Tehran and others seeking its overthrow. At times, the White House has been unable to decide between these competing views, resulting in policy drift. These internal differences have also repeatedly complicated efforts to bridge differences with Iran.

For example, some in the Carter administration supported a military coup in Tehran, while others wanted to work with Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini and the Iranian opposition in order to cut U.S. losses. The result was a policy muddle. President George W. Bush faced a similar predicament in his first term; his administration was hopelessly divided between those who sought to gain Tehran's help in Afghanistan and Iraq, and those who supported regime change. By contrast, the Reagan administration attempted to pursue containment and engagement simultaneously, establishing military ties with Gulf Cooperation Council states and developing war plans for Iran while selling arms to Tehran in order to foster ties with moderates there.

Internal debate about pursuing regime change has also been an enduring aspect of U.S. policy toward Iran. Every administration has looked into this possibility, whether by working with internal or external oppositionists or by unilateral action. In each case, however, Washington was unable to identify organized, viable opposition groups and feared that arming various factions could lead to the Balkanization of Iran. Every administration ultimately concluded that the downside of covert action aimed at regime change outweighed the potential gains.

Furthermore, while they have been loath to admit it, many presidents have benefitted from the policies of their predecessors. Reagan largely continued Carter's policy of strengthening U.S. ties with Arab states in order to contain Iran. Obama benefitted from Bush's "Iran Action Plan" and continued the latter's efforts to develop a missile defense shield in the Gulf. This underscores the degree to which successive administrations have faced similar challenges in Iran and devised similar solutions.

Finally, the United States has also consistently faltered in the face of Iranian aggression. The 1983 Beirut barracks bombing, the 1996 Khobar Towers attack, the use of Iranian proxy groups to undermine U.S. efforts in Iraq, and last year's attempted assassination of the Saudi ambassador in Washington were all met with insufficient responses. Iranian leaders see this lack of swift retribution as an invitation to continue proxy warfare against the United States. They know that these actions cross U.S. red lines, and they have maintained a pragmatic approach to testing Washington's temperament -- namely, as long as such strikes go unpunished, the regime will not be forced to reevaluate its approach. Yet whenever the United States does use resolute force against Iran, it yields results. In December 2006, for example, the Bush administration detained Iranian operatives in Iraq, quelling the enthusiasm of Qods Force commander Qasem Soleimani. Conversely, the 2011 U.S. withdrawal from Iraq -- which Tehran perceived as an American defeat -- has enhanced Iranian influence there.

AMBASSADOR JAMES JEFFREY

Although analyzing the U.S.-Iran relationship in an unbiased fashion is difficult, it is correct to conclude that Tehran has been waging a shadow war against the United States for several decades now. In so doing, it relies on asymmetric tactics, namely, terrorism and the use of proxies. In Iraq, Tehran has played both defense and offense to counter U.S. influence. The regime's objectives are to ensure that no U.S. threat emerges from Iraq and that Shiite parties remain dominant in Baghdad -- though, interestingly enough, Washington and Tehran also have certain complementary interests in Iraq, specifically regarding the country's stability.

How to effectively engage Iran remains a key issue; historically, the United States has not succeeded in this endeavor. American officials continue to argue between containment and regime change, and the incoherence in their approach has negatively affected the U.S.-Iran dynamic. But the larger issue is the competition between rival power centers in Iran, and the lack of agreement regarding their goals vis-a-vis the United States. This complicates the question of which channels U.S. officials should use to communicate with Iran.

The bottom line is that Washington must establish a clear position across administrations, bureaucracies, and U.S. allies regarding Iran, including whether the overarching policy is containment or regime change. Until that is clearly established, U.S. policy toward Iran will be muddled by contradictions, and Tehran will remain confused about Washington's goals. Perhaps most important of all is the fact that Iran fundamentally rejects any notion of a "Pax Americana" for the Middle East -- as long as this is the case, the two countries are condemned to be enemies.

This rapporteur's summary was prepared by Guive Rosen.