أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 1912

تقلبات المعركة في سوريا

جيفري وايت

متاح أيضاً في English

23 آذار/ مارس 2012


 

"ما يزال «الجيش السوري الحر» في المعركة وينبغي دعمه وتسليحه لمواصلة الضغط العسكري على النظام."

إن استمرار هجوم النظام السوري على قوات «الجيش السوري الحر» الذي بدأ في أواخر كانون الثاني/ يناير 2012 قد ترك لدى الكثيرين انطباعاً بأن النظام يكسب الحرب وأن المعارضة المسلحة في طريقها إلى الهزيمة. لكن واقع هذه الحرب - مثل معظم الحروب - هو أنها تشهد تقلبات دائمة حيث يتمتع أحد الطرفين بميزة في القتال في أوقات مختلفة. ففي كانون الثاني/ يناير بدا أن تشكيلات «الجيش السوري الحر» تكسب مزية في العديد من المواقع بينما بدا النظام في وضع دفاعي. ويبدو الآن أن النظام أصبحت له اليد الطولى حيث "تتراجع" تشكيلات «الجيش السوري الحر» على جميع الجبهات. ومع ذلك، لم يتعرض «الجيش السوري الحر» "للهزيمة" أو "الفرار" كما أن النظام لم يكسب المعارك في العمليات القتالية. إن التوقعات بأن «الجيش السوري الحر» يستطيع أن يواجه جيش النظام في معركة مفتوحة ويكسبها ليست في موضعها وغير واقعية وتتعارض مع الطريقة التي خاض بها «الجيش السوري الحر» الحرب. فـ «الجيش السوري الحر» هو قوة وليدة وليس قوة نشأت بتدرجات مكتملة وبمقدرة كاملة أفرزها إلحاح التمرد. فلديه نقاط ضعف كبيرة لكنه مع ذلك مرنٌ وتنمو قدراته باستمرار. وقد غيَّر «الجيش السوري الحر» طبيعة الصراع في سوريا، وإذا ما حصل على المساعدات الملائمة يمكن أن يصبح بصورة متزايدة جزءاً مهماً من الاستراتيجية السياسية والاقتصادية والعسكرية لدحر النظام.

حالة «الجيش السوري الحر»

لم تتعرض قوات «الجيش السوري الحر» للهزيمة من خلال هجمات النظام أثناء فصل الشتاء. ففي حين تعرضت هذه القوات لخسائر في الأرواح وأُجبرت على ترك مناطق سيطرت عليها سابقاً إلا أنها لم تُنزع سلاحها أو تُهزم (كما ذُكر آنفاً) أو حتى تبدي علامات على ضعف المعنويات. ورغم ما ظهر من تراجعات في شباط/ فبراير وآذار/ مارس إلا أن «الجيش السوري الحر» قد حقق مكاسب هامة.

إن العلاقة بين الشعب في الشارع والجنود الأحرار المسلحين هي مركز ثقل «الجيش السوري الحر» بل في الواقع مركز ثقل الثورة نفسها. ولا يستطيع «الجيش السوري الحر» أن يتواجد بدون دعم مادي ومعنوي من الشعب، وقد حاز حتى الآن على هذا الدعم. وهناك القليل من الأدلة أو ربما لا توجد أدلة على أن السكان في المناطق التي حارب فيها «الجيش السوري الحر» قد تخلوا عنه أو ألقوا عليه باللائمة عن الموت والدمار الذي لحق بهم على يد قوات النظام. فالمظاهرات الشعبية لدعم «الجيش السوري الحر» ما تزال تجري في مختلف أنحاء البلاد، وهو الحال بالنسبة للاحتجاجات السلمية ضد النظام.

ويبدو أن عناصر «الجيش السوري الحر» قد أدركت الحاجة إلى قيام مستوى أكبر من التعاون والتنظيم سواء داخل سوريا أو خارجها. فداخل سوريا هناك أدلة على التعاون المتزايد بين تشكيلات «الجيش السوري الحر». وقد ظهرت المجالس الإقليمية أو المحلية العسكرية في دمشق وحلب ودرعا وحماة بينما تم الإعلان مؤخراً عن تشكيلات بحجم ألوية في محافظتي حلب ودير الزور. إن ذلك يؤشر على ظهور هياكل قيادة على مستوى أعلى داخل سوريا بين التشكيلات الفردية وفي مقر قيادة «الجيش السوري الحر» الاسمية في تركيا. ويبدو أيضاً أن عمليات الكتائب المتعددة والتعاون بين الكتائب آخذ في التصاعد. وهناك كتائب تنتسب إلى بعض الألوية كما أن العديد من السرايا تنتسب إلى هذه الكتائب. وعلاوة على ذلك ترتبط بعض الكتائب والألوية بشكل واضح بقيادة «الجيش السوري الحر» في تركيا، على الرغم من أنه يبدو ببساطة بأن الكثير من الكتائب تعمل تحت مظلة «الجيش السوري الحر». وتوجد أيضاً أدلة على التعاون الوثيق بين عناصر «الجيش السوري الحر» في حمص والمعارضة السياسية المحلية. أما خارج سوريا فإن فرص الاندماج الأفضل للمعارضة المسلحة والأخرى غير المسلحة تبدو أيضاً في تحسن حيث يتردد أن «المجلس الوطني السوري» و «الجيش السوري الحر» يتجهان نحو تعاون أكبر. ومن المهم أن يتطور «الجيش السوري الحر» من كونه مجموعة من الكتائب هي في أغلبها مستقلة عن بعضها إلى قوة أكثر اندماجاً وهيكلة وجاهزية للتوجيه السياسي والعسكري الأعلى، ولذا فإن كل هذه العلامات تبشر بالأمل.

و«الجيش السوري الحر» ليس كله لغزاً، فقدرٌ كبير من المعلومات معروف عن بعض تشكيلاته على الأقل. فهناك وحدات مثل كتيبة خالد بن الوليد وكتيبة الحمزة في الرستن وكتيبة الفاروق في حمص قد أقامت مناطق عمليات وسجلات قتال مطولة وقادة معروفون، بعضهم بقي في القيادة لعدة أشهر. ومنذ نهاية كانون الثاني/ يناير أعلنت أعداد متزايدة من عناصر المقاومة المسلحة عن وجودها أو تم تحديدها على أنها داخل سوريا وقد بلغ مجموعها حوالي الستين في الفترة ما بين 1 شباط/ فبراير و 17 آذار/ مارس. على أن الكثير من هؤلاء ربما يكون بقاؤهم قصيراً والبعض ليسوا مرتبطين بـ «الجيش السوري الحر» لكن يبدو أن عدداً منهم لديه قاعدة وجود حقيقية إلى حد ما. ويزيد نموهم بفضل الانشقاقات المستمرة من قوات النظام.

وتتعلم وحدات «الجيش السوري الحر» الآن كيفية مقاتلة النظام. فمن الناحية التكتيكية تقوم بالكثير من الأشياء الصحيحة، حيث تتكرر الهجمات على نقاط أو مواقع النظام المكشوفة وغالباً ما تظهر بأنها ناجحة إذ تؤدي إلى تدمير المعدات والاستيلاء على أسلحة وذخيرة وقتل أفراد النظام أو إصابتهم بجروح. وتؤدي هذه الأعمال أيضاً إلى حدوث انشقاقات من جانب قوات النظام. إن التكتيك المفضل هو نصب كمائن للمركبات واستهداف المواكب بالنيران المباشرة أو استخدام العبوات الناسفة لتعطيل خطوط الاتصالات الطويلة والصعبة. ويتردد أن العبوات الناسفة هي المستخدمة بازدياد، وقد بدأت عناصر «الجيش السوري الحر» في استخدام العديد من العبوات الناسفة ضد مركبة واحدة لزيادة فرص تدميرها. وقد شوهدت حالياً الصواريخ الموجهة المضادة للدبابات لدى عناصر من «الجيش السوري الحر» في محافظات إدلب وحماة ودرعا مما يمثل زيادة في القدرات المضادة للمدرعات على حساب قذائف الدفع الصاروخية الـ "آر پي جي" المنتشرة جداً والتي ما تزال فعالة. وفي تطور أخير دمرت عناصر «الجيش السوري الحر» معبراً في محافظة درعا مما يؤكد فهمها لأهمية نظام الطرق بالنسبة للتحرك الاستراتيجي والعملياتي لقوات النظام.

وقد أثبتت وحدات «الجيش السوري الحر» مرونتها. ففي حين إنها غير قادرة على الوقوف ضد الأعداد الغفيرة والنيران الكثيفة التي يستطيع النظام استخدامها متى شاء إلا أن تشكيلات «الجيش السوري الحر» قد أثبتت كفاءتها في تجنب التدمير بينما تُلحق في الوقت نفسه خسائر بالنظام. ولو أُجبرت على الانسحاب من منطقة معينة فإنها تعيد الانتشار في منطقة أخرى أو تعاود الظهور عندما تنتقل قوات النظام. وقد كان هذا هو النموذج المطبق منذ بداية المقاومة المسلحة.

مشاكل «الجيش السوري الحر»

رغم نجاحاتها ومرونتها إلا أن تشكيلات «الجيش السوري الحر» ما تزال تعاني من مشاكل كبيرة. وبادئ ذي بدء هي غير قادرة على مضاهاة قوة نيران العدو إلا في اشتباكات صغيرة على مستوى الوحدات مثل هجمات على نقاط التفتيش ونصب الكمائن. وفي الاشتباكات الأكبر التي يستطيع فيها النظام حشد القوات وجلب المدرعات والمدفعية، تصبح تشكيلات «الجيش السوري الحر» عاجزة عن الصمود لفترة طويلة. والذي يزيد في هذا النقص هو عدم توفر إمدادات ذخيرة مضمونة. ويتردد أن تشكيلات «الجيش السوري الحر» تعاني من نقص أو نفاد الذخيرة في عدد من المعارك ضد قوات النظام.

ورغم تحسن القيادة والتحكم إلا أنه ما تزال هناك نقطة ضعف لدى «الجيش السوري الحر» سواء من القيادة في تركيا أو الألوية والكتائب في سوريا أو داخل الألوية والكتائب نفسها. وما تزال تبدو قيادة «الجيش السوري الحر» وهي تقدم التوجيهات أكثر من ممارستها السيطرة. كما لا يبدو أيضاً أن ألوية «الجيش السوري الحر» وكتائبه هي هياكل مندمجة بإحكام أو أنها تقوم بالتنسيق أو التعاون مع الوحدات المنتسبة لها بدلاً من القيادة والتحكم فيها بالمعنى التقليدي. والعدد المتزايد للتشكيلات المرتبطة بـ «الجيش السوري الحر» هي نفسها تفرض تحدياً من حيث الاندماج وتنسيق أنشطتها. وعلاوة على ذلك فإن تطور هياكل القيادة المتوسطة المستوى داخل سوريا (مجالس وألوية) تشير إلى إمكانية حدوث نزاعات في المستقبل بين مجموعات قيادة «الجيش السوري الحر» الداخلية والخارجية.

وقد أدت نقاط الضعف في القيادة والتحكم إلى وقوع سلسلة من "المعارك الفردية"، تحارب فيها كل كتيبة بصورة منفردة أو بأدنى تعاون من الكتائب الأخرى حتى تلك الموجودة في نفس المناطق. ورغم أن هذا الوضع قد بدأ في التغير كما ذُكر في وقت سابق إلا أن ثمة حاجة واضحة لتحسين القيادة والتحكم.

إن الاستقلال النسبي لتشكيلات «الجيش السوري الحر» يخلق الفرصة لارتكاب سلوك سيء من جانب وحدات محلية. ونظراً للعدد المتزايد من التشكيلات المرتبطة بـ «الجيش السوري الحر» وكذلك منظمات الدفاع المحلية وبعض العناصر القتالية الإسلامية المحتملة فلن يكون من المفاجئ ظهور انتهاكات لحقوق الإنسان على يد قوات المقاومة المسلحة.

إن وحدات «الجيش السوري الحر» ليست قوات ميدانية بل هي في المقام الأول قوى محلية مرتبطة بمدينة أو منطقة داخل محافظة. وحتى الآن لم تظهر هذه الوحدات المقدرة على إعادة الانتشار عبر المحافظات أو الاحتشاد للعمليات رغم إظهارها بعض المقدرة على المناورة العملياتية، وذلك لتجنب تدميرها من قبل قوات النظام في المقام الأول. إن هذه القدرة المحدودة على المناورة تجعل من الصعب على الوحدات استغلال حاجة النظام لنشر قواته في جميع أنحاء البلاد - مما يخلق بذلك نقاط ضعف محتملة - أو مساعدة غيرها من وحدات «الجيش السوري الحر».

لقد وقعت وحدات «الجيش السوري الحر» في أخطاء عملياتية. فمعركة ضواحي دمشق في كانون الثاني/ يناير 2012 التي تحدت فيها تشكيلات «الجيش السوري الحر» مباشرة النظام بالاستيلاء على مناطق قريبة من مركز العاصمة ربما كانت مثالاً على ذلك. وكانت أخطاء مماثلة أخرى هي استيلاء «الجيش السوري الحر» على مناطق مثل الزبداني وأجزاء من حمص وإدلب وكذلك استيلاؤه على جيوب معزولة من الأرض - على الرغم من أنها أحرجت النظام - مما أتاح لقوات النظام التعامل مع وحداته بشكل متعاقب وحشد القوات وتقليل كل جيب بالتسلسل.

وكما ذُكر سابقاً تعتمد وحدات «الجيش السوري الحر» على دعم السكان لكن وجودها بين السكان - سواء في المدن أو الريف - يُعرض الناس لهجمات النظام الذي تقوم قواته بعمليات الحصار والقصف والهجوم على المناطق التي هي في حوزة وحدات «الجيش السوري الحر» أو في المناطق التي يتواجد فيها «الجيش السوري الحر». وتهدف هذه التكتيكات ليس فقط إلى تدمير تشكيلات «الجيش السوري الحر» بل أيضاً إلى معاقبة الناس وتقليل دعمهم لـ «الجيش السوري الحر».

قياس فعالية «الجيش السوري الحر»

بالنظر إلى أن مجريات المعركة في سوريا من المرجح أن تواصل التحول فكيف ينبغي قياس فعالية «الجيش السوري الحر»؟ إن المقاييس المباشرة تشمل اتجاهات في الفعالية القتالية لـ «الجيش السوري الحر» وقدراته العملياتية ونموه وتماسكه التنظيمي ونطاق أنشطته (مناطق عملياته وأعداد اشتباكاته) والدمار الذي يُلحقه بقوات النظام. ووفقاً لهذه المقاييس نجد أنه يتحسن الآن من حيث الفعالية.

وتتعلق المقاييس غير المباشرة برد الفعل الذي يستقبله «الجيش السوري الحر» من الناس والنظام والمجتمع الدولي. وفي الواقع، كان «الجيش السوري الحر» قادراً على كسب وامتلاك تأييد الشعب في المناطق التي يعمل بها رغم محاولات النظام كسر هذا الرابط. إن جهود النظام التي تتزايد عنفاً من أجل سحق «الجيش السوري الحر» هي نفسها مرآة لفعالية «الجيش السوري الحر». وفي اضطراره لإلزام القوات على مستوى الفرقة أو ما هو أكبر بدفع «الجيش السوري الحر» إلى خارج ضواحي دمشق والزبداني وحمص أظهر النظام رؤيته لـ «الجيش السوري الحر» كونه يشكل تحدياً خطيراً. غير أن نقص الدعم الكبير من المجتمع الدولي لـ «الجيش السوري الحر» - على الرغم من أن ذلك لا يتعلق فقط بنقاط ضعفه - هو مقياس سلبي لفعاليته مما يعكس مشاكل الوحدة والهوية والتنسيق مع المعارضة السورية الخارجية. وعلى نطاق أوسع، فإن التوقعات بشأن أداء «الجيش السوري الحر» ينبغي أن تكون واقعية وغير مبنية على أحدث العناوين الرئيسية سواء كانت تُنبئ بحصول فوز أو حدوث خسارة لـ «الجيش السوري الحر».

الدلالات

في هذه المرحلة من الحرب يصبح مركز جهد «الجيش السوري الحر» في سوريا - حيث تحارب تشكيلاته ضد النظام - وليس قيادة «الجيش السوري الحر» في تركيا. وتحتاج هذه التشكيلات إلى تعزيزها وتقويتها لكي تظل في المعركة وتلحق المزيد من الخسائر والجهد بقوات أمن النظام وجيشه. ويبدو أن هناك وحدات وقادة أكفاء في «الجيش السوري الحر». ويمكن أن يتدفق الدعم إليهم إلى أن تصبح القيادة ذات المستوى الأعلى فعالة أو تتطور هياكل قيادة عليا مؤهلة داخل سوريا. وأيّاً ما كان مصدر القلق لدى الدول الغربية وبقية المجتمع الدولي حول «الجيش السوري الحر» وتشكيلاته فإنه ينبغي حله عن طريق الاتصال - السري إذا لزم الأمر- فضلاً عن جمع المعلومات الاستخباراتية وتحليلها. وأخيراً ينبغي تسليح «الجيش السوري الحر» ليس لدحر النظام في حد ذاته بل كجزء من استراتيجية سياسية واقتصادية وعسكرية للإطاحة بالنظام.

 

جيفري وايت هو ضابط كبير سابق في الاستخبارات الأمريكية وزميل دفاع في معهد واشنطن، متخصص في الشؤون العسكري

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 1912

The Tides of Battle in Syria

Jeffrey White

Also available in العربية

March 23, 2012


The Free Syria Army remains in the fight and should be sustained and armed to maintain military pressure on the regime.

The progress of the Syrian regime's offensive against Free Syrian Army (FSA) forces that began in late January 2012 has left many with the impression that the regime is winning the war, that the armed opposition is headed for defeat. But the reality of this war, like most wars, is that the tides of battle shift, with one side or the other enjoying the advantage at different times. In January, FSA formations appeared to have the advantage in many locations, with the regime appearing on the defensive. Now, seemingly, the regime has the advantage, with FSA formations in "retreat" on all fronts. Nevertheless, the FSA has not been "defeated" or "routed," and the regime has not won. Expectations that the FSA can meet the regime's army in open battle and win are misplaced, unrealistic, and inconsistent with the way the FSA has fought the war. The FSA is an emerging force, not one that has sprung whole and fully capable from the instant of the rebellion. It has significant weaknesses -- but it is growing more capable and is resilient. The FSA has changed the nature of the conflict in Syria and, given appropriate assistance, it can become an increasingly important part of a political, economic, and military strategy to defeat the regime.

The State of the Free Syrian Army

FSA forces have not been defeated by the regime's winter offensive. While suffering losses in personnel and forced to abandon areas they had formerly controlled, they were not disarmed, routed (as noted before), or apparently demoralized. And despite seeming setbacks in February and March, the FSA has made important gains.

The FSA's center of gravity, indeed the center of gravity for the revolution, is the relationship between the people in the street and the free soldiers at arms. The FSA cannot exist without the moral and practical support of the people and, so far, the FSA has held this support. There is little or no evidence that the population of the areas where the FSA fought has abandoned it or blames it for the death and destruction inflicted by regime forces. Popular demonstrations of support for the FSA are still occurring around the country, as are peaceful protests against the regime.

FSA elements appear to have recognized the need for a greater level of cooperation and organization both within Syria and without. Within Syria, there is evidence of increasing cooperation among FSA formations. Regional or provincial military councils have appeared in Damascus, Aleppo, Deraa, and Hama, while brigade-level formations were recently announced in Aleppo and Deir al-Zour provinces. This indicates the emergence within Syria of higher-level command structures between individual formations and the nominal FSA headquarters in Turkey. Multibattalion operations and cooperation among battalions also appear to be on the rise. Some brigades have affiliated battalions, and numerous battalions have affiliated companies. Furthermore, some battalions and brigades are clearly associated with the FSA command in Turkey, although many battalions seem to simply operate under the FSA umbrella. There is also evidence of close cooperation between FSA elements in Homs and the local political opposition. Outside Syria, the prospects for better integration of the armed and unarmed opposition also appear to be improving, with the Syrian National Council and FSA reportedly moving toward greater cooperation. It is important for the FSA to evolve from a collection of largely independent battalions to a more integrated and structured force, one responsive to higher political and military direction, so all of these signs are hopeful.

The FSA is not a complete mystery. A great deal is known about at least some of its formations. Units such as the Khaled bin Walid Battalion and Hamza Battalion in Rastan, and the Farouq battalion in Homs, have established areas of operations, lengthy combat records, and known commanders, some of whom have been in command for months. Since the end of January, increasing numbers of armed resistance elements have announced their existence or been identified within Syria, some sixty between February 1 and March 17. Many of these may be ephemeral, and some are not associated with the FSA, but a number seem to have some real basis of existence. This growth is fueled by continuing defections from the regime's forces.

FSA units are learning how to fight the regime. Tactically, they are doing many of the right things. Attacks on exposed regime posts or positions are frequent and often appear to be successful, destroying equipment, capturing arms and ammunition, and killing or wounding regime personnel. These actions also produce defections from the regime forces. The ambush of vehicles and convoys by direct fire or the use of improvised explosive devices (IEDs) to interrupt long and difficult lines of communication is a favorite tactic. IEDs in fact are reportedly increasingly in use, and FSA elements have begun employing multiple IEDs against a single vehicle to increase the chances of destroying it. Antitank guided missiles (ATGMs) have now been seen with FSA elements in Idlib, Hama, and Deraa provinces, representing an increase in antiarmor capabilities over the ubiquitous and still effective rocket-propelled grenade (RPG). And in a recent development, FSA elements destroyed a road overpass in Deraa province, suggesting an understanding of the importance of the road system to the strategic and operational mobility of the regime's forces.

FSA units have proven resilient. While unable to stand against the mass and firepower the regime can employ at any given point, FSA formations have proven capable of avoiding destruction while inflicting losses on the regime. If forced to withdraw from an area, they redeploy to another, or reemerge when regime forces move on. This has been the pattern since the beginning of the armed resistance.

FSA Problems

Despite their successes and resilience, FSA formations still suffer from significant problems. To begin with, they are unable to match regime firepower except in small unit-level engagements such as attacks on checkpoints and ambushes. In larger engagements, in which the regime can mass forces and bring armor and artillery to bear, FSA formations are unable to stand for long. Contributing to this shortcoming is a lack of assured ammunition supplies. FSA units have reportedly run low or out of ammunition in a number of battles with regime forces.

Command and control, although improving, remains a weak point for the FSA, whether from FSA headquarters in Turkey to brigades and battalions in Syria or within brigades and battalions themselves. FSA headquarters still seems to provide guidance more than exercise control. FSA brigades and battalions also do not appear to be tightly integrated structures, coordinating or cooperating with affiliated units rather than commanding and controlling them in a traditional sense. The increasing number of FSA-associated formations itself poses a challenge in terms of integrating and coordinating their activities. Furthermore, the development of intermediate-level command structures inside Syria (councils and brigades) suggests the potential for future disputes between internal and external FSA leadership groups.

Weaknesses in command and control have led to a series of "lonely fights," with each battalion fighting on its own or with minimal cooperation from other battalions, even those in the same areas. Although this situation is beginning to change, as indicated earlier, a clear need exists for improved command and control.

The relative independence of FSA formations creates the opportunity for bad behavior on the part of local units. Given the increasing number of FSA-associated formations, as well as local defense organizations and some probable Islamist combat elements, the appearance of human rights violations by armed resistance forces would not be surprising.

FSA units are not field forces. They are primarily local forces linked to a city or an area within a province. So far, they have not demonstrated the ability to be redeployed across provinces or massed for operations, although they have shown some ability to maneuver operationally, primarily to avoid destruction by regime forces. This limited maneuver capability makes it difficult for the units to exploit the regime's need to spread its forces across the country, thereby creating potential vulnerabilities, or to assist other FSA units.

FSA units have made operational mistakes. The January 2012 battle of the Damascus suburbs, in which FSA formations directly challenged the regime by seizing areas close to the center of the capital, was probably one. Other likely errors were FSA captures of areas such as Zabadani and parts of Homs and Idlib. The FSA's seizure of isolated pockets of territory, even though embarrassing to the regime, allows regime forces to deal with them sequentially, massing forces and reducing each pocket in turn.

As noted, FSA units depend on the support of the population. But their presence within the population -- whether in cities or the countryside -- subjects the people to regime attack. Regime forces engage in siege, bombardment, and assault on areas held by FSA units or in areas of an FSA presence. These tactics are intended not only to destroy FSA formations but also to punish the people and reduce their support for the FSA.

Measuring FSA Effectiveness

Given that the tides of battle in Syria are likely to continue shifting, how should the effectiveness of the FSA be measured? Direct measures include trends in the FSA's combat effectiveness and operational capabilities, its growth, its organizational coherence, its scope of activities (areas of operations, numbers of clashes), and the damage it inflicts on regime forces. By these measures, it is now improving in effectiveness.

Indirect measures relate to the reaction the FSA has drawn from the people, the regime, and the international community. Indeed, the FSA has been able to win and hold the support of the people in the areas in which it operates, despite regime attempts to break this link. The regime's increasingly violent efforts to crush the FSA are themselves a mirror of the FSA's effectiveness. In having to commit forces at a divisional or greater level to push the FSA out of the suburbs of Damascus, Zabadani, and Homs, the regime has demonstrated its view of the FSA as a serious challenge. Lack of major support from the international community, while not related only to FSA weaknesses, is a negative measure of its effectiveness, reflecting problems of unity, identity, and coordination with the external political opposition. More broadly, expectations about the FSA's performance should be realistic and not based on the latest headlines, whether they have the FSA winning or losing.

Implications

At this point in the war, the center of effort for the FSA is in Syria, with the formations fighting against the regime, not the FSA command in Turkey. These formations need to be sustained and strengthened in order to keep them in the fight and inflict more losses and strain on the regime's military and security forces. There appear to be capable units and commanders in the FSA, and support could be funneled to them until the higher level of command becomes effective, or competent higher-level command structures develop within Syria. Whatever concerns Western states and the rest of the international community have about the FSA and its formations should be resolved through contact -- clandestine if necessary -- as well as intelligence collection and analysis. Finally, the FSA should be armed, not to defeat the regime by itself, but as part of a political, economic, and military strategy to cause the regime to break.

Jeffrey White, a former senior intelligence officer, is a defense fellow at The Washington Institute, specializing in the military and security affairs of the Levant and Iran.