أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2247

الانقطاع مع قطر والكويت بشأن تمويل الإرهاب

لوري بلوتكين بوغارت

متاح أيضاً في English

2 أيار/مايو 2014


في 30 نيسان/أبريل لاحظت وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية أن التبرعات الخاصة التي تصدر عن دول الخليج العربي تشكل "مصدر تمويل كبير للجماعات الإرهابية السنية، ولا سيما … في سوريا"، واعتبرت هذه المشكلة واحدةً من أهم القضايا المتعلقة بمكافحة الإرهاب التي شهدها العام المنصرم. إذ يُعتقد أن مجموعاتٍ على غرار «جبهة النصرة» - الحركة السورية التابعة لـ تنظيم «القاعدة» - وجماعة «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام»، المعروفة سابقاً باسم تنظيم «القاعدة في العراق»، تتلقى باستمرار بعض من مئات ملايين الدولارات التي يتبرع بها المواطنون الأثرياء وغيرهم من أبناء شبه الجزيرة العربية خلال النزاع السوري.

ولطالما استاءت واشنطن من شركائها الخليجيين بسبب امتناعهم عن اتخاذ إجراءات أكثر صرامة لإيقاف تدفق الأموال الخاصة إلى الإرهابيين. وفي السنوات الماضية تم تصنيف قطر والكويت بشكل خاص كنقاط للتمويل الإرهابي. كما أن أحدث التقارير السنوية عن "البلدان الخاصة بالإرهاب" لعام 2013 الصادرة عن وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية أشارت إلى "تقارير متزايدة" عن إقدام أفراد مقيمين في الكويت على تمويل المتطرفين في سوريا، وكذلك لفتت إلى "خطر التمويل الإرهابي الكبير" الناشئ عن جامعي التبرعات في قطر. إلا أن هذه اللغة الدبلوماسية تقلل من شأن الفكرة الشائعة بين صفوف الخبراء الأمريكيين والقائلة إن الكويت هي "بؤرةٌ لجمع الأموال للجماعات الإرهابية في سوريا" وإنّ قطر هي "بيئة متساهلة مع التمويل الإرهابي"، كما جاء على لسان ديفيد كوهين، مساعد وزير الخزانة الأمريكية لشؤون الإرهاب والاستخبارات المالية، في خطاب ألقاه في الرابع من آذار/مارس.

وينبع الانقطاع الأساسي بين واشنطن وهاتين الدولين حول مسألة التمويل الإرهابي من دينامياتهما السياسية الفريدة وحساباتهما الأمنية التي تدفع كلتيهما إلى السماح بوجود بعض القنوات المحلية المعنية بجمع الأموال لصالح الجماعات المتطرفة الأجنبية وغيرها من الجماعات. وكذلك تحدد هذه الديناميات مدى تعاون الكويت وقطر مع أجندة الولايات المتحدة لمكافحة تمويل الإرهاب. ومن هذا المنطلق، لا يجدر بواشنطن أن تتوقع تغييرات جوهرية في نهج هاتين الدولتين لعمليات تمويل الإرهاب ما لم يحدث تحولٌ في إحدى نواحي هذه الحسابات الأساسية.

التعاون

تُعتبر كل من الكويت وقطر شريكاً استراتيجياً مهماً في عدد من القضايا الإقليمية. وغالباً ما يشير المسؤولون الأمريكيون في تصريحاتهم العلنية إلى التعاون الوثيق [مع الدولتين] في قضايا مكافحة الإرهاب، ومن ضمنها تمويل الإرهاب. فعلى سبيل المثال، كثيراً ما أبرزت واشنطن تنسيق الدوحة مع وزارة الخزانة الأمريكية في فرض العقوبات على "بنك سورية الدولي الإسلامي" في أيار/مايو 2012. أما بالنسبة للكويت فقد هنّأت الولايات المتحدة حليفتها علناً على الخطوات التي اتخذتها خلال العام الماضي لمكافحة التمويل غير المشروع.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، عمدت كلتا الدولتين الخليجيتين إلى إقرار قانون ينص على تحقيقات ومقاضاة أكثر فعالية للأطراف الممولة للإرهاب، وذلك بتشجيع وضغط من واشنطن وأطراف دولية أخرى. فالقانون الكويتي الصادر في عام 2013 يجرّم تمويل الإرهاب ويجيز تجميد الأصول الإرهابية على الفور كما أنه ينصّ على تشكيل "وحدة استخبارات مالية" هي عبارة عن مكتب يتم تأسيسه في الإدارات الحكومية في جميع أنحاء العالم ليكون مركزاً للتقارير والتحقيقات المتعلقة بتمويل الإرهاب وتبييض الأموال. كما أقرت قطر من جهتها قانونها الخاص لمكافحة هذه المشاكل في عام 2010، ويستوجب هذا القانون، من بين أمور أخرى، تجميد الأموال التابعة للمنظمات المدرجة على لائحة الأمم المتحدة للمنظمات الإرهابية.

التحديات

مما يؤسف له، أن التزام قطر والكويت بهذه القوانين كان وما يزال متقلباً على أبعد تقدير. فالنسخة الأخيرة من "تقارير البلدان الخاصة بالإرهاب" الصادرة عن وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية وصفت منهجية الدوحة لرصد المساهمات المحلية في المنظمات الأجنبية بأنها "غير متوافقة"، واعتبرت آليتها العامة لتطبيق وتنفيذ قانونها المتعلق بمكافحة تبييض الأموال وتمويل الإرهاب "شائبة" وتشكو من "ثغرات كبيرة". وفي غضون ذلك لم يتم بعد تفعيل "وحدة الاستخبارات المالية" في الكويت. صحيحٌ أن مكافحة النواحي غير الشرعية من المساعدات الخليجية الخاصة للمنظمات الأجنبية تطرح تحديات لوجستية، إلا أنّ هذه التحديات لا تبرر بالكامل التأخير في آليات التنفيذ الكويتية والقطرية. حتى أن أجندة واشنطن لمكافحة تمويل الإرهاب تنافس في بعض الأحيان، لا بل تتعارض مع ما يعتبره شركاؤها الخليجيون كمصالحهم الأمنية الخاصة. ويساعد هذا الانقسام على تفسير التأخير في تطبيق [القوانين] وتنفيذها من قبل قطر والكويت.

وفي هذا السياق، تقضي الاستراتيجية الأمنية للدوحة بدعم عددٍ واسع من الأطراف الفاعلة على المستويين الإقليمي والدولي بهدف حماية قطر من عددٍ مماثل من التهديدات المحتملة. وقد شملت هذه الاستراتيجية تقديم الدعم السخي للإسلاميين، لا سيما «الإخوان المسلمين»، ولكن أيضاً لمنظمات أخرى أمثال حركة طالبان. إنّ فتح المجال أمام جمع الأموال المحلية للجماعات الإسلامية المتطرفة في الخارج هو جزء من هذا النهج. فالدوحة، شأنها شأن العديد من الحكومات الخليجية، تعتبر أن الحفاظ على القنوات التنظيمية لدعم الجماعات الإسلامية الأجنبية يساعد هو أيضاً على حمايتها من النشاط السياسي الإسلامي على أرضها. وباختصار، فإن إعاقة هذه القنوات المحلية قد يضرّ بمقاربة الدوحة الأساسية لأمنها الخاص.

أما الكويت فتتمتع بزخم سياسي أكبر وبتقلب أكثر من قطر. ويتمثل أحد مكامن قلقها الرئيسية في أن يتسبب تضييق الخناق على عمليات جمع الأموال المحلية لصالح الجماعات المتطرفة في سوريا بإثارة سخط السياسيين ورجال الدين السلفيين المتنفذين، علماً بأن هؤلاء يقفون في مقدمة الساحة المحلية الكويتية لجمع التبرعات. كما أن العديد من بين الغالبية السنية في الكويت قد انتقد الحكومة على تقصيرها في تزويد المعارضة السورية بالدعم العسكري اقتداءً بالمملكة العربية السعوية وقطر. وتم الإعراب عن هذه الشكاوى على خلفية التوترات المحلية القائمة منذ مدة طويلة - فلفترة دامت عدة سنوات، ابتلت الكويت بحل البرلمان، ومقاطعة الانتخابات، وقيام احتجاجات عامة، وإثارة استياء رئيسي من حكم غير فعال؛ وقد يخشى البعض أن اتخاذ إجراءات قوية إضافية ضد ممولين يتمتعون بشعبية يمكن أن يكون فاتحة لفترة من الاضطرابات لم يسبق لها مثيل.

وفي الوقت نفسه، هناك دلائل تشير إلى إمكانية تغيير الرغبة العامة في الكويت بتمويل الجماعات السورية، حيث خاب أمل الجهات المانحة المحلية من الاقتتال الشديد في صفوف الجهاديين. ويبقى أن نرى إلى أي مدى سيغيّر هذا الأمر من حسابات الحكومة بشأن اتخاذ إجراءات ضد تمويل الإرهاب.

وعند النظر إلى الصورة الكبرى، يبدو أحياناً أن الولايات المتحدة وشركاءها الخليجيين ليسوا على الموجة نفسها عندما يتعلق الأمر بدعم الإرهاب. ففي الخطاب الذي ألقاه مساعد وزير الخزانة كوهين في آذار/مارس، على سبيل المثال، ذكّر جمهوره بأن قطر قد موّلت علناً ولسنواتٍ عديدة حركة «حماس» التي صنفتها الولايات المتحدة على قائمة الجماعات الإرهابية. ومن الصعب تخيّل توافق واسع بين أجندات الولايات المتحدة ودول الخليج حول هذه المواضيع في غياب اتفاق كامل على تعريف من هو إرهابي.

التداعيات للسياسة الأمريكية

هناك عوائق كبيرة تحول دون حدوث فرض وتطبيق أكثر صرامة لقوانين مكافحة تمويل الإرهاب في الكويت وقطر. وحتى أدنى تغيير في الحسابات السياسية لهذين البلدين قد يمنح واشنطن الفرص لدعم أي إجراءات إيجابية تتخذها هناك. فعلى سبيل المثال، قد تُرسّخ الحكومات الخليجية عزمها على إغلاق بعض قنوات التمويل إذا ما شعرت بتهديد مباشر من الجماعات القائمة في سوريا والمدعومة من الجهات المانحة المحلية، أو إذا ما رأت أن الجهاديين الذين يعودون إلى وطنهم من ساحة النزاع السوري يشكلون تهديداً على أرض الوطن. ولا بد كذلك للمسؤولين الأمريكيين أن ينتبهوا إلى العلامات الأخيرة التي تدل على تراجع اهتمام المانح الكويتي في الجماعات المتمردة في سوريا بسبب اقتتال الجهاديين الداخلي - وهذا تطور يفتح أمام واشنطن مجالاً واسعاً لتجديد حثها على اتخاذ إجراءات أكثر صرامة لمكافحة تمويل الإرهاب من جانب حليفٍ خليجي بارز.

 

لوري بلوتكين بوغارت هي زميلة أبحاث في برنامج سياسة الخليج في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2247

The Terrorist Funding Disconnect with Qatar and Kuwait

Lori Plotkin Boghardt

Also available in العربية

May 2, 2014


Washington should look for small changes in Kuwait and Qatar's political and security calculus that could provide opportunities to support counter-terrorist financing measures there.

On April 30, the U.S. State Department noted that private donations from Persian Gulf countries were "a major source of funding for Sunni terrorist groups, particularly...in Syria," calling the problem one of the most important counterterrorism issues during the previous calendar year. Groups such as al-Qaeda's Syrian affiliate, Jabhat al-Nusra, and the Islamic State of Iraq and al-Sham (ISIS), previously known as al-Qaeda in Iraq, are believed to be frequent recipients of some of the hundreds of millions of dollars that wealthy citizens and others in the Gulf peninsula have been donating during the Syrian conflict.

Washington has long been frustrated with Gulf partners for not taking stronger measures to stem the flow of private money to terrorists. In recent years, Qatar and Kuwait have been singled out as terrorist financing trouble spots. The State Department's latest annual Country Reports on Terrorism, covering 2013, refers to "increased reports" of Kuwait-based individuals funding extremists in Syria, and to the "significant terrorist financing risk" of Qatar-based fundraisers. This diplomatic language downplays the common perception among U.S. experts that Kuwait is "the epicenter of fundraising for terrorist groups in Syria," and that Qatar is "a permissive terrorist financing environment," as articulated in a March 4 speech by David Cohen, the Treasury Department's undersecretary for terrorism and financial intelligence.

The core disconnect between Washington and these two countries on the issue of terrorist financing stems from their unique political dynamics and security calculations, which drive them both to allow some local fundraising channels for foreign extremist and other groups. These dynamics also determine the extent of Kuwaiti and Qatari cooperation with America's counter-terrorist financing agenda. Accordingly, Washington should not expect substantive changes in their approach to terrorist financing unless a shift occurs in some aspect of these basic calculations.

COOPERATION

Kuwait and Qatar are important strategic partners on a host of regional issues. In public statements, U.S. officials often point to their strong cooperation on counterterrorism issues, including terrorist financing. For example, Washington has frequently highlighted Doha's coordination with the Treasury Department in designating the Syrian International Islamic Bank in May 2012. As for Kuwait, the United States has publicly congratulated its ally on the steps it has taken over the past year to combat illicit financing.

With encouragement and pressure from Washington and other international parties, both Gulf countries have passed legislation that provides for more effective investigation and prosecution of terrorist financiers. A Kuwaiti law enacted in 2013 criminalized terrorist financing, allowed for immediate freezing of terrorist assets, and created a Financial Intelligence Unit (FIU) -- an office established in government bureaucracies across the globe as an epicenter for reports and investigations of terrorist financing and money laundering. Qatar passed its own law to counter these problems in 2010; among other things, it requires the freezing of funds belonging to UN-designated terrorist organizations.

CHALLENGES

Unfortunately, Qatar and Kuwait's implementation of this legislation has been uneven at most. The State Department's latest Country Reports on Terrorism describes Doha's monitoring of local contributions to foreign organizations as "inconsistent," and general enforcement and implementation of its money laundering and terrorist financing law as "lacking" and marked by "significant gaps." Meanwhile, Kuwait's FIU has not yet been operationalized. Countering the illicit aspects of private Gulf contributions to foreign organizations certainly poses logistical challenges, but these challenges do not fully account for the protracted implementation process in Kuwait and Qatar. Rather, Washington's counter-terrorist financing agenda sometimes competes and even conflicts with what its Gulf partners perceive as their own security interests, and this divide helps explain Qatar and Kuwait's delays in implementation and enforcement.

Doha's security strategy has been to support a wide range of regional and international actors in order to help shelter Qatar from an equally broad range of potential threats. This strategy has included providing generous support to Islamists, particularly the Muslim Brotherhood but also other organizations such as the Taliban. Allowing local fundraising for radical Islamist groups abroad forms part of this approach. Doha and several other Gulf governments believe that preserving organic channels of support to foreign Islamist groups also helps shield them from Islamist political activity at home. In short, obstructing these local channels would be inimical to Doha's fundamental approach to its own security.

Kuwait is more politically vibrant as well as more volatile than Qatar. A key concern there has been that tightening the noose around local fundraising for Syria-based extremist groups would invite the wrath of powerful Salafist politicians and clerics who have been at the forefront of Kuwait's private fundraising scene. Also, many among Kuwait's Sunni majority have criticized the government for not providing military support to the Syrian opposition as Saudi Arabia and Qatar have done. These complaints are voiced against a backdrop of longstanding domestic tensions -- for several years, Kuwait has been beset by dissolutions of parliament, election boycotts, public protests, and major disgruntlement with ineffective governance, and some have feared that adding strong measures against popular financiers could usher in a period of unprecedented upheaval.

At the same time, there are signs that the public appetite for financing Syrian groups may be changing in Kuwait, as local donors have become disillusioned with deadly jihadist infighting. To what extent this changes the government's calculus about taking action against terrorist financing remains to be seen.

The larger picture is that the United States and its Gulf partners sometimes seem to be on a different page when it comes to terrorist support. During his March speech, for example, Undersecretary Cohen reminded his audience that for many years Qatar has openly financed Hamas, a U.S.-designated terrorist organization. It is difficult to imagine a broad alignment of U.S. and Gulf agendas on these issues when there is not full agreement on what constitutes a terrorist.

U.S. POLICY IMPLICATIONS

The obstacles to more robust implementation and enforcement of terrorist financing legislation in Kuwait and Qatar are significant. But even small changes in these countries' political calculations could give Washington opportunities to support positive action there. For example, Gulf governments might strengthen their resolve to close certain fundraising channels if they perceive a direct threat from Syria-based groups that are supported by local donors, or if they believe that jihadists returning home from the Syrian conflict pose a domestic threat. U.S. officials should also note the recent signs of declining Kuwaiti donor interest in Syria-based rebel groups due to jihadist infighting -- a development that gives Washington a solid opportunity to reinvigorate its push for stronger counter-terrorist financing action by a key Gulf ally.

Lori Plotkin Boghardt is a fellow in Gulf politics at The Washington Institute.