أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

الطريقة الذكية لوقف سياسة "المال مقابل القتل"

ديفيد ماكوفسكي, دينيس روس, و ليا وينر

متاح أيضاً في English

"فورين بوليسي"

2 آب/أغسطس 2017


أخيرًا بدأ الكونغرس بدراسة قانون لمنع "السلطة الفلسطينية" من التحريض على العنف. فلطالما قدمت "السلطة الفلسطينية" لأسر الفلسطينيين الذين يشنون هجمات ضد الإسرائيليين مكافآت مالية ترتبط بفترة بقائهم في السجون الإسرائيلية، إلى جانب الأسر التي يلقى أقرباؤها حتفهم خلال أعمال عنف ضد أبرياء. وقد بررت "السلطة الفلسطينية" هذه الممارسة إلى حدّ كبير من خلال الادعاء بأنها إن لم توفر هذه المزايا فحركة "حماس" ستفعل. إلا أن هذه الحجة واهية؛ ففي حين تتنافس "السلطة الفلسطينية" حتمًا على النفوذ السياسي مع "حماس" لا يمكنها اكتساب ميزة على خصمها الإسلامي من خلال اعتماد سياسة تبرر العنف.
ولا بدّ لهذه الممارسة من أن تتوقف، وهذا ما يحاول "قانون تايلور فورس" - الذي سُمي تيمّنًا بخريج مثالي من "ويست بوينت" ومحارب سابق قُتل في اعتداء إرهابي في إسرائيل العام الفائت - فعله. وبوضعه الحالي، سيقلّص القانون المساعدات الأجنبية الأمريكية إلى الضفة الغربية وغزة بكاملها في حال لم يتوقف "تسديد أي مدفوعات لقاء أعمال إرهابية ضد مواطنين أمريكيين وإسرائيليين إلى أي فرد سُجن بعد محاكمة عادلة وأُدين بارتكاب أفعال إرهابية مماثلة، بما في ذلك أي دفعات إلى أفراد أسرته". وأصبح التشريع حاليًا في مرحلة الصياغة أمام مجلس الشيوخ حيث من المزمع أن تقوم "لجنة العلاقات الخارجية في مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي" في وقت لاحق من هذا الأسبوع بمناقشة القانون وتعديله.
وفي حال تمّ تمرير القانون، سيحمل رسالة واضحة إلى "السلطة الفلسطينية" مفادها أن ممارسة تقديم المزايا إلى الذين ينفذون أعمال عنف ضد إسرائيليين أو أمريكيين مقيتة وغير مقبولة. ويقول المسؤولون الإسرائيليون الذين استجوبوا منفذي الهجمات الفلسطينيين إن العديد منهم صرحوا بأنهم أقدموا على فعلتهم لكي تحصل أسرهم على مكافآت. ولهذا السبب، أعلنت الحكومة الإسرائيلية عن تأييدها العام للقانون رغم أن أحد كبار المستشارين ذكر أن رئيس الوزراء بنيامين نتنياهو لن يدلي برأيه حول الأحكام الخاصة كيلا تتداخل مع العملية التشريعية الأمريكية.
لكن الصواب في هذه الحالة يختلف عن التصرف بذكاء حيالها. فالولايات المتحدة تريد من "السلطة الفلسطينية" أن توقف تشريع الإرهاب من خلال تقديم المزايا إلى مرتكبيه، لكن عليها التصرف بطريقة لا تتسبب في زيادة الوضع بين الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين سوءًا. فالتهديدات بخفض المساعدات إلى الفلسطينيين بشكل كبير قد تلحق الضرر بالقضية أكثر مما تساعدها.
ويتمثل أسوأ السيناريوهات في شعور "السلطة الفلسطينية" بأن القانون ملزم لها لإثبات أنها لا تخضع لضغوط خارجية، وبالتالي تقوّض مشروعًا تدعمه واشنطن بشدة: التعاون الأمني مع الإسرائيليين. فتطور مماثل ينذر بإطلاق شرارة وضع متوتر أساسًا في الضفة الغربية والقدس، ما يهدّد حياة الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين والأمريكيين.
ولطالما تعاونت الأجهزة الأمنية التابعة "للسلطة الفلسطينية" والإسرائيلية، لأسباب جيدة، بغية إبقاء "حماس" والجماعات الجهادية خارج الضفة الغربية. وفي "مؤتمر هرتسيليا" السنوي حول الأمن والسياسة الخارجية الذي عُقد في حزيران/يونيو،  صرّح رئيس أركان "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي" الجنرال غادي أيزنكوت علنًا بأن سلوك "جهاز الأمن الفلسطيني" يستحق الاحترام والتقدير، ما يعكس فهمه لمصالحنا المشتركة". ويتطابق قوله هذا مع عدة تصريحات في محادثاتنا أثناء رحلة إلى إسرائيل مؤخرًا مع مسؤولين عسكريين إسرائيليين يرغبون بشدة باستمرار التعاون الأمني.
وعلى صعيد خفض المساعدة الأمريكية، حرص أولئك المسؤولون على ألا يُظهروا أنهم يدلون بآرائهم حول مسألة سياسية. وعليه، في حين يرغبون بإيصال رسالة شديدة اللهجة إلى "السلطة الفلسطينية" حول تداعيات التحريض على العنف، يريدون في الوقت نفسه منع أي تدهور في نوعية حياة الفلسطينيين خشية أن يؤدي ذلك إلى المزيد من التطرف. وقد عارض "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي" سرًا السياسيين الذين فضلوا أحيانًا العقاب الجماعي للتعامل مع منفذي أعمال العنف المنفردة - بحجة أن تضييق الخناق على كافة الفلسطينيين هو الطريق المؤكد إلى إطلاق شرارة انتفاضة أوسع نطاقًا.
وبالتالي سيؤدي وقف المساعدات الأمريكية بالكامل إلى الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة إلى عرقلة التقدم الاقتصادي والاجتماعي الذي يرى المسؤولون العسكريون الإسرائيليون أنه يصب في مصلحة الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين المتبادلة على السواء. كما أيدت إدارة الرئيس دونالد ترامب أجندة التنمية الاقتصادية لفلسطينيي الضفة الغربية، وحتمًا ستتأثر سلبًا في حال انقطع التمويل الأمريكي بالكامل.
لذا، تتمثل نقطة الانطلاق لتطوير سياسة أمريكية فعالة في فهم هيكلية المساعدة إلى "السلطة الفلسطينية" ومكامن نفوذ واشنطن. وبعدما أرغم الرئيس محمود عباس رئيس حكومة "السلطة الفلسطينية" سلام فياض على المغادرة في 2014، تمّ خفض المساعدات بشكل ملحوظ؛ فقد قلصت الولايات المتحدة دعم الميزانية بنحو 200 مليون دولار. كما أوقفت تحويل الأموال إلى حساب "السلطة الفلسطينية"، وجرى نقل الأموال بدلًا من ذلك عبر دفعات مباشرة إلى دائنين مدعومين من الولايات المتحدة. يُذكر أن مستوى التمويل الأمريكي الحالي إلى "السلطة الفلسطينية" يبلغ 260 مليون دولار سنويًا.
يمكن تقسيم هذه الأموال إلى ثلاث حقائب. الأولى تتألف من حوالى 70 مليون دولار وتخصص لرسوم الكهرباء والاستشفاء في الضفة الغربية. كما يخصص مبلغ 25 مليون دولار تقريبًا من هذه الحقيبة لدفع تكاليف العناية الطبية التي تقدمها المستشفيات إلى الفلسطينيين في القدس الشرقية. وكان شهود في أحدث جلسة عقدتها "لجنة العلاقات الخارجية في مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي" بشأن "قانون تايلور فورس" قد قدموا شهاداتهم، عاكسين اتفاق الحزبين على كون الدفعات المقدمة إلى المستشفيات شكلًا أساسيًا من أشكال المساعدات الإنسانية التي يجب الإبقاء عليها.
ويُدفع مبلغ 45 مليون دولار المتبقي من هذه الحقيبة مباشرة إلى شركات الكهرباء الإسرائيلية لتسديد ديون الكهرباء المتوجبة على "السلطة الفلسطينية" لقاء الخدمات المقدمة إلى مبانيها والديون المتراكمة على الفلسطينيين. وفي حال أوقفت الولايات المتحدة هذه المساعدة، ستُجبر "السلطة الفلسطينية" على إعادة تخصيص هذه الأموال من ميزانيتها من أجل الوفاء بالديون. بعبارة أخرى، إنها الحصة الوحيدة من المساعدة الأمريكية إلى الضفة الغربية وغزة التي يمكن استبدالها؛ ومن شأن وقف هذه الأموال أن يرغم "السلطة الفلسطينية" على تعديل ميزانيتها التي تتضمن دفعات إلى الأسرى وعوائل "الشهداء". 
أما الحقيبة الثانية، البالغة قيمتها 85 مليون دولار، فتتألف من مساعدة أمريكية بالكاد ترتبط بـ"السلطة الفلسطينية"، حيث أن معظم هذه المشاريع تتعلق بالطرق وتحلية المياه والتعليم والحوكمة الجيدة. وعلى الأرجح، سيتمّ التخلي عن هذه المشاريع في حال سحبت الولايات المتحدة التمويل. فلن يتمّ إنجاز الطرق وستكون كميات المياه النظيفة المتوافرة أقل، ما يعزّز إمكانية اندلاع مواجهة أخرى بين الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين. وكذلك، سيتمّ التخلي عن مشاريع الحوكمة الجيدة التي ترمي إلى التشجيع على أطر عمل قانونية وإجراءات شفافة ومشاركة القطاع الخاص، وهي عوامل من شأنها تمكين الإصلاح الاقتصادي، حيث ستكون تداعيات هذا الأمر ملموسة مع مرور الوقت.     
هذا وتخصص الحقيبة الثالثة المؤلفة من مبلغ 106 ملايين دولار المتبقي مباشرة لمشاريع مستقلة تمامًا عن "السلطة الفلسطينية". وتتضمن هذه المشاريع عدة مبادرات تعليمية ومشاريع تطوير في القطاع الخاص. وترأس أحد أهم المشاريع في هذه الحقيبة منظمة "ميرسي كور" الأمريكية، وهو مشروع يهدف إلى التأثير في حياة مئات الآلاف من سكان غزة من خلال تحسين النمو الاقتصادي والتعليم والرعاية الصحية في القطاع. ويمكن القول إنه في حال اختارت الولايات المتحدة عدم تمويل هذه المشاريع، فلن تتدخل "السلطة الفلسطينية" لإحيائها. فسوف تختفي هذه المشاريع ببساطة من الوجود - في وقت تشارف فيه الظروف الإنسانية في غزة أساسًا على الانهيار، حيث يتمّ تزويدها بثلاث ساعات فقط من الكهرباء في اليوم.
في الواقع، ثمة حقيبة رابعة تتأتى من مجموعة مختلفة من الأموال. وهي عبارة عن دعم إلى الجنرال في الجيش الأمريكي فريدريك روديشيم، منسق الفريق الأمني الذي نجح ببراعة في العمل مع طرفيْ النظام الأمني الإسرائيلي والفلسطيني من أجل تسهيل التعاون الأمني الوطيد. ولا يتم النظر في وقف هذا الجزء من التمويل الأمريكي بموجب "قانون تايلور فورس". غير أنه في حال وقف المساعدة الاقتصادية، قد لا يكون التعاون الأمني - الذي لا يحظى بشعبية كبيرة في أوساط الفلسطينيين - مستدامًا من الناحية السياسية. 
وبدلًا من قطع الجزء الأكبر من المساعدة الأمريكية، يجب سنّ القوانين لتحفيز "السلطة الفلسطينية" على إصلاح سلوكها - وليس تقليل روابطها أكثر فأكثر مع الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل. يبدو أن هذا هو ميل كبار أعضاء الكونغرس من الحزبيْن. وفي هذا السياق، أشار السيناتور بن كاردين (الديمقراطي عن ماريلاند)، كبير الديمقراطيين في "لجنة العلاقات الخارجية في مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي"، خلال الجلسة الأخيرة إلى أنه يدعم بشدة مبادئ "قانون تايلور فورس" ولكنه شكّك في تداعياته غير المقصودة. وعلى نحو مماثل، علّق السيناتور بوب كوركر (الجمهوري عن تينيسي)، رئيس اللجنة، قائلًا "أعتقد أنه يوجد على الأرجح وسيلة أكثر توجيهًا للتعامل مع هذه المسألة".   
قد يكون السيناتور كوركر على علم ببعض الأمور. كما أن "للسلطة الفلسطينية" أساليبها لدعم من هم بحاجة من دون تقديم مكافآت ومزايا مالية هائلة إلى عائلات الإرهابيين. على سبيل المثال، لديها مكتب إنعاش اجتماعي لدعم العائلات التي فقدت معيلها. ثمة فرق كبير بين توفير دفعات مماثلة لمن هم بحاجة وبين تقديم معاملة تفضيلية ومبالغ مالية أكبر بكثير لعائلات من ارتكبوا أعمالًا إرهابية. وكان مسؤولو الأمن الإسرائيليون قد أعلنوا في المجالس الخاصة أن هذه الخطوة ستكون الممارسة الأفضل لموازنة الحاجة إلى دعم العائلات مع تجنب أي محفزات لإثارة أعمال عنف.  
وفي مسعى لوقف سياسة "السلطة الفلسطينية" المقيتة هذه، يتعين على أعضاء الكونغرس الذين يصيغون "قانون تايلور فورس" المضي قدمًا بحذر. وحتمًا يجب عدم اعتماد ممارسة "المال مقابل القتل"، غير أنه لا بدّ من أن تأخذ المقاربة في الحسبان أن ظلالًا رمادية تدخل ضمن التعامل مع مسألة مماثلة. الذكاء في هذا السياق أفضل من أن تكون على حق. كما أن المقاربة الذكية هي من بين تلك التي تقرّ بأن الفلسطينيين البريئين، الذين لم يتمكنوا من التصويت في أي انتخابات منذ أكثر من عقد من الزمن، يجب ألا يرغموا على دفع ثمن أخطاء حكومة لا يمكنهم التحكم بها.

 

ديفيد ماكوفسكي هو زميل زيغلر المميز ومدير مشروع عملية السلام في الشرق الأوسط في معهد واشنطن. دينيس روس هو مستشار وزميل "ويليام ديفيدسون" المتميز في معهد واشنطن. ليا وينر هي مساعدة باحثة في المعهد.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

The Smart Way to End 'Pay to Slay'

David Makovsky, Dennis Ross, and Lia Weiner

Also available in العربية

Foreign Policy

August 2, 2017


Rather than seeking indiscriminate cuts to Palestinian aid, U.S. legislators must craft a bill that encourages the PA to reform its behavior.

Congress is finally considering legislation to stop the Palestinian Authority from incentivizing violence. The PA has long provided families of Palestinians who carried out attacks against Israelis with financial rewards tied to the amount of time they serve in Israeli jail, as well as to those whose relatives died while engaging in violence against innocents. The PA has largely justified this practice by claiming that if it doesn't provide these benefits, Hamas will. This is a losing argument; while the PA certainly does compete for political influence with Hamas, it cannot gain an advantage over its Islamist rival by adopting its policy of justifying violence.

This has to stop, and the Taylor Force Act, named after an exemplary West Point graduate and veteran who was killed in a terrorist attack in Israel last year, attempts to do that. As it currently stands, the act would cut U.S. foreign assistance to the West Bank and Gaza in its entirety if the "payments for acts of terrorism against United States and Israeli citizens to any individual who has been imprisoned after being fairly tried and convicted for such acts of terrorism, including to a family member of such individuals," do not stop. The legislation before the Senate is currently in the drafting phase, and a markup of the bill is scheduled for later this week in the Senate Foreign Relations Committee.

If passed, the legislation will send an unambiguous message to the PA that its practice of providing benefits to those who carry out acts of violence against Israelis or Americans is abhorrent and unacceptable. Israeli officials who have interrogated Palestinian perpetrators of violence find many who say they carried out attacks because they know their families will be rewarded. For this reason, the Israeli government has expressed general support for the bill, though a senior advisor said Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu will not offer views about the specific provisions in order not to interfere with the American legislative process.

But being right about an issue is not the same as being smart about it. The United States wants the PA to stop legitimizing terror by rewarding violence, but it needs to act in a way that does not make the situation between Israelis and Palestinians even worse. Threats of sweeping cuts to Palestinian aid may hurt the cause more than they help.

The worst-case scenario is that the PA feels compelled by the legislation to prove that it is not bowing to external pressure, and thus severs a project Washington strongly favors: security cooperation with the Israelis. Such a development would risk igniting the already tense situation in the West Bank and Jerusalem, further endangering the lives of Israelis, Palestinians, and Americans.

The PA and Israeli security services have long cooperated, for good reason, to keep Hamas and jihadi groups out of the West Bank. At the annual Herzliya Conference on security and foreign policy in June, Israel Defense Forces (IDF) Chief of Staff Lt. Gen. Gadi Eisenkot publicly declared, "The Palestinian security apparatus' conduct is worthy of notice and admiration, reflecting their understanding of our mutual interests." Eisenkot's public comment was echoed time and again in a recent trip to Israel during our conversations with Israeli military officials, who very much want the security cooperation to continue.

In terms of cutting U.S. assistance, these officials were very careful not to appear to be weighing in on a political issue. That said, while they would like to see a tough message sent to the PA about the consequences of incentivizing violence, they also want to prevent any deterioration in the quality of life for Palestinians lest that lead to greater radicalization. The IDF has quietly pushed back at politicians who, at times, have favored collective punishment to deal with lone perpetrators of violence -- arguing that making life difficult for all Palestinians is the surest way to ignite a much wider uprising.

To entirely defund U.S. aid to the West Bank and Gaza is thus to halt economic and social progress there that Israeli military officials see as in the mutual interest of Israelis and Palestinians. President Donald Trump's administration has also favored an economic development agenda for Palestinians in the West Bank, and this is bound to be impacted if all U.S. funding is discontinued.

So, the place to start in developing an effective U.S. policy is understanding how assistance to the Palestinian Authority is structured and where Washington's levers of influence lie. After President Mahmoud Abbas forced the departure of PA premier Salam Fayyad in 2014, aid was slashed significantly; the United States cut approximately $200 million in budgetary support. It also ceased to transfer money into the PA's account, transferring funds instead by direct payments to American-backed creditors. The current U.S. funding level of the PA is $260 million per year.

This money can be divided into three baskets. The first basket, consisting of roughly $70 million, goes to electricity costs in the West Bank and medical treatment. Approximately $25 million of this basket serves to reimburse hospitals for the medical care of Palestinians in East Jerusalem. Witnesses at the Senate Foreign Relations Committee's recent Taylor Force Act hearing gave testimonies reflecting bipartisan agreement that the payments to hospitals are an essential form of humanitarian aid that must be maintained.

The remaining $45 million of this basket is paid directly to Israeli electricity companies to settle the PA's electricity debts for services to PA buildings and debts accrued by Palestinians. If the United States cuts this aid, the PA will be forced to reallocate funds from its budget to meet the debt payments. In other words, this is the only portion of U.S. aid to the West Bank and Gaza that is fungible; cutting this money would force the PA to adjust its budget that includes the payments to prisoners and the families of "martyrs."

The second basket, $85 million, consists of U.S. aid that is tangentially related to the PA. Most of these projects pertain to roads, water desalination, education, and good governance. In all likelihood, these projects will be abandoned if the U.S. pulls funding. Roads will be left unfinished and less clean water will be available, increasing the likelihood of another confrontation between Israelis and Palestinians. Good governance projects that work to foster the legal frameworks, transparent procedures, and private-sector participation that can enable economic reform will be similarly abandoned -- and their consequences will be felt over time.

A third basket, made up of the remaining $106 million, goes directly to projects that are completely independent of the PA. These include various educational initiatives and private sector development. One of the notable projects in this basket is headed by the U.S.-based Mercy Corps, which aims to affect the lives of hundreds of thousands of Gazans by improving economic growth, education, and health in the Strip. It is safe to say that if the United States chooses to defund these projects, the PA will not step in to resuscitate them. The projects will simply cease to exist -- at a time when the humanitarian conditions in Gaza are already near collapse, with only three hours of electricity a day.

There is actually a fourth basket, which comes out of a different set of funds. This is support for U.S. Army Lt. Gen. Frederick Rudesheim, the security coordinator who has skillfully succeeded in working with both sides of the Israeli-Palestinian security system to facilitate close security cooperation. This portion of U.S. funding is not being considered for cuts under the Taylor Force Act. However, if the economic assistance is zeroed out, the security cooperation -- which is very unpopular among Palestinians -- may not be politically sustainable.

Rather than placing the bulk of U.S. aid on the chopping block, legislation must be crafted to incentivize the PA to reform its behavior -- not further downgrade its ties with the United States and Israel. This seems to be the sentiment of senior members of Congress on both sides of the aisle. Sen. Ben Cardin (D-Md.), the ranking Democrat on the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, conveyed in the recent hearing that he strongly supports the principles underlying the Taylor Force Act but questioned its unintended consequences. Similarly, Sen. Bob Corker (R-Tenn.), the committee chairman, commented, "I think there is probably a more targeted way of dealing with that issue."

Sen. Corker may be on to something. The PA has ways of supporting those who are in need without providing rewards and outsized financial benefits to the families of terrorists. For instance, it has a welfare bureau to support families who have lost their breadwinners. There is a big difference between providing comparable payments to those in need and giving preferential treatment and substantially greater money to the families of those who commit acts of terrorism. Israeli security officials have privately maintained that this would be the best practice to balance the need to support the families, while avoiding any incentivization of violence.

In attempting to bring this pernicious PA policy to a halt, members of Congress who are formulating the Taylor Force Act should proceed carefully. There should definitely be no "pay to slay," but the approach needs to recognize that shades of gray enter into dealing with an issue like this. Being smart counts for more than being right. And the smart approach is one that also recognizes that innocent Palestinians, who have not been able to vote in an election for more than a decade, should not be forced to pay for the mistakes of a government they cannot control.

David Makovsky is the Ziegler Distinguished Fellow and director of the Project on the Middle East Peace Process at The Washington Institute. Dennis Ross is the Institute’s  William Davidson Distinguished Fellow and former special assistant to President Obama. Lia Weiner is an Institute research assistant.