أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

الطريق الأقصر إلى السلام في الشرق الأوسط يمرّ بالمملكة العربية السعودية

هيثم حسنين

متاح أيضاً في English

"ذي سايفر بريف"

13 آب/أغسطس 2017


ذكّرت الاندلاعات الأخيرة لأعمال العنف في جبل الهيكل، المعروف أيضاً باسم الحرم الشريف، في القدس صانعي السياسة الخارجية الأمريكية بخطورة القضية الإسرائيلية-الفلسطينية. فقد شددت إسرائيل حراستها للحرم القدسي الشريف في الشهر الماضي بعد إطلاق النار في المسجد الأقصى مما أسفر عن مقتل شرطيين إسرائيليين، وأدى إلى وقوع احتجاجات في الأردن وغيرها من المناطق فى الشرق الاوسط، وقيام الصحف العربية الكبرى بشن هجوم على إسرائيل على خلفية اتخاذها إجراءات أمنية صارمة. إن سلسلة الأحداث هذه يجب أن تشكّل إنذاراً لإدارة ترامب لتتوقف عن تسويف الوقت بحلول مؤقتة بدلاً من ايجاد حلول جذرية.

وبسبب التحوّلات الإقليمية الكبيرة على مدى العقود القليلة الماضية، يبدو الآن أن أفضل طريق وأقصره لتحقيق حل الدولتين وتأسيس دولة فلسطينية يمرّ بالمملكة العربية السعودية ولم يعد يمرّ بمصر والأردن، اللتان اعتمدت عليهما واشنطن لسنوات عديدة . فقد فقدت الدولتان مكانتهما في قيادة العالم العربي، حيث تعاني مصر من صعوبات اقتصادية شديدة وانقسامات سياسية داخلية، بينما يفتقر الأردن إلى النفوذ السياسي الإقليمي الذي يخوّلها إقناع العالم العربي بضرورة إبرام اتفاقية سلام مع إسرائيل.

وبالتالي، لا بد من تشجيع اعتماد نهج أمريكي جديد يشرك السعوديين بشكل مباشر لعدة أسباب.

أولاً، تتمتع السعودية بنفوذ سياسي ومالي قوي في المنطقة. ومن شأن الانخراط المباشر من قبل المملكة الغنية بالنفط ومعقل الإسلام أن يمكّن "السلطة الفلسطينية" على أخذ المفاوضات على محمل الجد. إن رفض التعلیمات السعودیة سیأتي بکلفة عالیة جداً للسلطة الفلسطینیة من حیث المساندة الشعبية والدعم المادي. ومن شأن الدعم السعودي أن يوفر مزيداً من الشرعية الدينية والمالية والسياسية للسلطة الفلسطينية، التي كانت مترددة في اتخاذ قرارات مهمة تتعلق بالنزاع بسبب خوفها من فقدان شرعيتها.

ثانياً، اتخذ الجيل القادم من القادة السعوديين، وعلى رأسهم ولي العهد الأمير محمد بن سلمان، نهجاً أكثر استباقيةً للسياسة الخارجية وأظهر إحساساً بالحاجة الملحة إلى مواجهة النفوذ والتطرف الإيرانيين في المنطقة. ويدرك هؤلاء القادة كيف أن المحور الإيراني قد أساء للقضية الفلسطينية واستخدم دعايتها لحشد التأييد لقضيته. ويعتبر الشعب السعودي بشكل عام متعاطفاً مع القضية الفلسطينية، وبالتالي فقد يكون هذا التوقيت الأمثل لولي العهد محمد ليعزز شعبيته في الداخل والمنطقة بأسرها، وفي الوقت نفسه مواجهة النفوذ الإيراني المتنامي إذا نجح في التوصل إلى إبرام اتفاق للفلسطينيين.

ثالثاً، من المرجح أن يؤدي انخراط السعوديين المباشر إلى تحفيز الحكومة اليمينية الإسرائيلية على تقديم المزيد من التنازلات للفلسطينيين. وقد سعت إسرائيل لسنوات عديدة إلى توسيع نطاق علاقاتها مع العالم العربي. وعلى خلاف الانخراط المصري والأردني، ستتيح رعاية السعوديين للمحادثات الفرصة أمام رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو لإقناع الأعضاء اليمينيين من مؤيديه [لتقديم مثل هذه التنازلات] على أساس تطبيع العلاقات مع العالم العربي. وقد يشكل انعقاد مؤتمر سلام في جدّة بحضور إسرائيليين وفلسطينيين تحت رعاية خادم الحرمين الشريفين خطوةً أولى باتجاه إجراء محادثات سلام حقيقية. ومن الناحية التاريخية، قدّمت الحكومة الإسرائيلية تنازلات غير متوقعة من أجل تطبيع العلاقات مع الدول العربية، كما يتضح من تراجع رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي السابق مناحم بيغن عن وعده بعدم إخلاء المستوطنات في شبه جزيرة سيناء مقابل التوصل إلى معاهدة السلام الإسرائيلية الأولى مع دولة عربية.

وأخيراً، وفي المشهد الحالي للشرق الأوسط، أصبحت إيران والجماعات الإسلامية المتطرفة تشكّل تهديداً أكثر خطورةً على المملكة العربية السعودية من إسرائيل. وقد أدى هذا الواقع إلى إدراك المسؤولين السعوديين والإسرائيليين بأن مخاوفهم الأمنية الوطنية الأساسية تتلاقى وأن الجانبين يشاطران بعض الأهداف الاستراتيجية مثل احتواء إيران. ومن خلال حلّ النزاع الإسرائيلي-الفلسطيني، ستتمكن السعودية وإسرائيل من إزالة حجرة العثرة الناتجة عن هذا الصراع والتركيز بدلاً من ذلك على تعزيز العلاقات والعمل الجماعي لمواجهة التهديدات في المنطقة.

وكما كان عليه الحال بالنسبة للإدارات الأمريكية السابقة، يشكّل حل القضية الإسرائيلية-الفلسطينية من أبرز أولويات الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب. إن النجاح في إتمام هذه المهمة سيطلق العنان للجهود الدبلوماسية الأمريكية والسلطة لاحتواء إيران والتصدي لتهديدات طهران في المنطقة. وقد يكون التدخل السعودي المباشر القطعة المفقودة من المعضلة الإسرائيلية-الفلسطينية.

 

هيثم حسنين هو زميل "غليزر" في معهد واشنطن لعام 2016-2017.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

The Shortest Route to Mideast Peace Is Through Saudi Arabia

Haisam Hassanein

Also available in العربية

The Cipher Brief

August 13, 2017


A peace conference in Jeddah attended by Israelis and Palestinians could be a first step toward serious talks.

The recent flare-up at the Temple Mount, also known Haram Al Sharif, in Jerusalem reminds American foreign policy makers of the sensitivity of the Israeli-Palestinian issue. Israel increased security on the Haram Al Sharif last month after a shooting at the holy site left two Israeli policemen dead, prompting protests in Jordan, among other places in the Middle East, and major Arab newspapers to attack Israel for its security crackdown. This series of events should serve as a wake-up call to the Trump Administration to stop kicking the can down the road.

Due to significant regional shifts over the past few decades, it now appears that the best and shortest route to achieve a two-state solution and a Palestinian state is through Saudi Arabia and no longer through Egypt and Jordan, which Washington relied on for many years. Both countries have lost their places at the helm of the Arab world, as Egypt is plagued by severe economic hardships and internal political divisions while Jordan lacks the regional political clout to sell a peace deal with Israel to the Arab world.

Hence, a new American approach that involves the Saudis directly should be encouraged for several reasons.

First, the kingdom has strong political and financial influence in the region. Direct involvement from the oil-wealthy kingdom and the birthplace of Islam would put the Palestinian Authority (PA) in a position to take the negotiation seriously. Rejecting Saudi instructions would come at a very high cost to the PA in terms of both public and material support. Saudi backing would provide additional religious, financial, and political legitimacy to the PA, which has been reluctant to make important decisions related to the conflict due to its fear of losing legitimacy.

Second, the next generation of Saudi leaders, headlined by Saudi Crown Prince Mohammad bin Salman, has taken a more proactive foreign policy approach and has demonstrated a sense of urgency toward countering Iranian influence and extremism in the region. They realize how the Iranian axis has abused the Palestinian question and used its propaganda to rally support to its cause. The Saudi public is generally sympathetic toward the Palestinian cause, and therefore it could be a perfect time for Crown Prince Mohammad to boost his popularity at home and across the region and simultaneously counter growing Iranian influence if he successfully brokered a deal for the Palestinians.

Third, direct involvement of the Saudis is likely to incentive the current Israeli right-wing government to make more concessions to the Palestinians. For many years, Israel has been seeking to broaden its relations with the Arab world. Unlike Egyptian and Jordanian involvement, sponsorship of the talks by the Saudis will afford Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu the opportunity to sell the deal to his right-wing constituents on the grounds of normalizing relations with the Arab world. A peace conference in Jeddah attended by the Israelis and Palestinians under the auspices of the custodian of the holy mosques could be a first step toward real peace talks. Historically, the Israeli government has made unexpected concessions for normalized relations with Arab states, as demonstrated by former Israeli Prime Minister Menachem Began reneging on his promise not to evacuate settlements in the Sinai Peninsula in exchange for Israel's first peace treaty with an Arab country.

Lastly, in today's Middle East landscape, Iran and radical Islamist groups are more dangerous threats to Saudi Arabia than Israel. This reality has led to a realization by both Saudi and Israeli officials that their primary national security concerns intersect and that the two sides share certain strategic goals such as containing Iran. By resolving the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, Saudi Arabia and Israel could remove the stumbling block this conflict has become and instead focus on strengthening ties and working collectively to counter threats in the region.

Resolving the Israeli-Palestinian issue has been one of U.S. President Donald Trump's main priorities, as it has been for previous U.S. administrations. Success here would free U.S. diplomatic efforts and power to contain Iran and address Tehran's threats in the region. Direct Saudi involvement could be the missing piece of the Israeli-Palestinian puzzle.

Haisam Hassanein is the 2016-17 Glazer Fellow at The Washington Institute.