أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2156

تسليط الضوء على حملة المرأة السعودية لقيادة السيارة

لوري بلوتكين بوغارت

متاح أيضاً في English

15 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2013


من المتوقع أن تستجيب النساء السعوديات لنداء أخواتهن الناشطات في البلاد في حملة تدعم حق المرأة في قيادة السيارة في المملكة في 26 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، وهو الأمر الذي قد يفضي إلى الحجز والغرامة، وحتى إلى السجن في أسوأ سيناريو ممكن. ولقد لقيت هذه الحملة دعماً كبيراً على الانترنت في ضوء الالتماس الذي رفع على الشبكة الإلكترونية والذي جذب نحو 15000 توقيع خلال ثلاثة أسابيع. ومع ذلك، فمن غير الواضح إذا كانت المظاهرات الفعلية ستؤدي إلى جذب عشرات المشاركين فقط على غرار حملة مماثلة كانت قد جرت في حزيران/يونيو 2011، أم أنها ستجذب أعداداً أكبر في ضوء الرغبة الكبيرة لدى السعوديين للحشد من أجل التغيير، كما يظهر في منتديات وسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية.

أصول نشأة الحملة

إن الحظر السعودي المفروض على قيادة المرأة للسيارة يجبر النساء السعوديات على الاعتماد على أزواجهن وإخوانهن وآبائهن وأبنائهن، وتوظيف رجال للمساعدة على أخذ أطفالهن إلى المدرسة وقضاء الحاجيات الأساسية فضلاً عن السفر إلى أماكن العمل ومنها. كما أن مسألة حقوق المرأة السعودية في القيادة لا تعد سوى واحدة من مجموعة من القضايا التي دفعت السعوديين إلى النزول إلى الشوارع لدعمها منذ بداية ثورات "الربيع العربي" في أوائل عام 2011.

وتمثل الحملة الحالية المحاولة الكبرى الثالثة من نوعها في المملكة خلال ثلاثة وعشرين عاماً. ففي 17 حزيران/يونيو 2011، قادت حوالي خمسون إمرأة السيارة في مدن في مختلف أنحاء المملكة كجزء من حملة قيادة المرأة (Women2Drive) بعد اعتقال وسجن ناشطة في مجال حقوق المرأة السعودية كانت قد نَشرت شريط فيديو لنفسها على موقع يوتيوب وهي تقود السيارة. وقبل ذلك بأكثر من عقدين من الزمن، في 6 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 1990، قادت سبع وأربعين إمرأة سعودية السيارة في شوارع الرياض كجزء من حملة مماثلة، ولم ينتج عن مثل هذه الفعلة سوى اعتقالهن، وفي بعض الحالات وقفهن عن أعمالهن ومنعهن من السفر.

وترتبط الحملة الحالية التي بدأت في 21 أيلول/سبتمبر بتصريحات أدلى بها مسؤول رفيع المستوى من "الهيئة السعودية للأمر بالمعروف والنهي عن المنكر" (المعروفة أيضاً بـ "الشرطة الدينية"). ووفقاً لمقال في صحيفة "الحياة" التي تنشر أخبار عربية شاملة، أعطى المسؤول أوامر إلى "الشرطة الدينية" بعدم ملاحقة النساء اللاتي يقُدن السيارات أو اعتقالهن وأكد أنه لا يوجد قانون يعطيهم الحق للقيام بذلك. وقد تبع ذلك تصريح مشابه من قبل وزير العدل السعودي محمد العيسى في نيسان/أبريل 2013 تحدث فيه عن عدم وجود أي نص دستوري أو تنظيمي حول مسألة قيادة النساء للسيارات. ورغم أن رئيس الشرطة الدينية، عبد اللطيف الشيخ، قد نفى إصدار أي تعليمات بعدم اعتقال النساء اللاتي يقدن السيارات، إلا أنه قال أيضاً أنه "لا يوجد في الشريعة الإسلامية نص يمنع المرأة من قيادة السيارة"؛ وكما هو معروف تستمد المملكة حكمها من الشريعة.

التأييد الشعبي

من الواضح أن مسألة حقوق المرأة السعودية في قيادة السيارة تتمتع بقاعدة دعم عريضة في البلاد أكثر من أي مسألة أخرى كانت قد أجبرت السعوديين على النزول إلى الشوارع منذ عام 2011. وفي استطلاع للرأي أجرته مؤسسة غالوب عام 2007 - قبل عدة سنوات من اندلاع الانتفاضات العربية التي أوحت بابتكار طرق جديدة في التعامل مع الحقوق الأساسية - أعرب 55 في المائة من الرجال السعوديين و 66 في المائة من النساء السعوديات عن اعتقادهم بأنه ينبغي السماح للمرأة السعودية بقيادة السيارة. وفي 8 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر من هذا العام، أوصت ثلاث سعوديات من أعضاء "مجلس الشورى السعودي" الوحيد بأن "يعترف المجلس بحقوق المرأة في قيادة السيارة".

ويُذكر أن المشاركة في التظاهرات الخاصة بقيادة المرأة للسيارة قد تجاوزت مسألة الانقسام السني - الشيعي العميق في البلاد. ففي حزيران/يونيو 2011، قادت نساء سعوديات من السنة والشيعة السيارات في شتى أنحاء المملكة دعماً لهذه الحملة - كما من المتوقع أن تقوم عضوات من كلتا الطائفتين بقيادة السيارات في وقت لاحق من هذا الشهر. ويتناقض ذلك مع الطابع الشيعي الصريح للاحتجاجات الأكثر عدداً وفتكاً التي جرت منذ أوائل 2011 في المنطقة الشرقية ذات الأغلبية الشيعية. ويشكل الشيعة السعوديون 10-15 في المائة من عدد المواطنين في البلاد.

وقد تكون حقوق المرأة في قيادة السيارة أكثر جاذبية أيضاً لشريحة أوسع من السعوديين على نحو يتجاوز القضية التي تسببت في اندلاع الاحتجاجات الأبرز على الصعيد الوطني منذ مطلع عام 2011 وهي : السجناء السياسيون. وتضم السجون السعودية الآلاف من المعتقلين السياسيين الذين ينتمون إلى الطائفتين الشيعية والسنية على حد سواء، وقد تم اعتقال العديد ممن ينتمون للطائفة الأخيرة خلال الحملات الأمنية التي قامت بها المملكة في منتصف العقد الماضي عندما واجهت البلاد تهديدات داخلية من إرهابيين مرتبطين بـ تنظيم «القاعدة». وكنتيجة لذلك فإن المظاهرات التي تطالب بمحاكمتهم أو إطلاق سراحهم قد تجاوزت الخطوط السنية والشيعية. ومع ذلك، لم تكن قضية المعتقلين السياسيين عامل جذب للعديد من السعوديين ويرجع ذلك جزئياً إلى ارتباط السجناء بالإرهاب.

وبطبيعة الحال، إن الدعم المقدم لحقوق المرأة في قيادة السيارة لا يترجم بالضرورة في المشاركة في حملة فعلية تنادي بهذه الحقوق كما أوضحت تجربة حزيران/يونيو 2011. وربما يكون الدعم الشعبي الواضح للقضية مناقضاً لفكرة محدودية المظاهرات في 26 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر.

الفرص

تواجه الحملة التي تدعم حق المرأة في قيادة السيارة فرصاً صعبة لإحداث تغيير في السياسة الوطنية. فقد تدخلت السلطات السعودية في المشهد من خلال منع الوصول إلى موقع الحملة الأصلي على شبكة الإنترنت في 29 أيلول/سبتمبر، ثم بعد ذلك إلى موقعها البديل في 7 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر. كما أن التأكيد المعيب من قبل رجل الدين صالح اللحيدان في 27 أيلول/سبتمبر بأن النساء اللائي يقدن السيارات يخاطرن بالاضرار بمبايضهن وانجاب اطفال مصابين بخلل سريري، هو أمر غير اعتيادي في خصوصيته الطبية، بيد أنه يؤكد على وجود معارضة من رجال دين محافظين لرفع الحظر.

وتقود المرأة السعودية السيارة في العديد من المناطق الريفية، دون أدنى مشكلة. وربما تغض "الشرطة الدينية" الطرف بصفة مؤقتة عن قيادة المرأة للسيارة في المناطق الحضرية، إلا أنه سيتعين في نهاية المطاف إصدار قرار فعال لصالح منح ترخيص للمرأة لقيادة السيارة أو عدمه، لا سيما إذا تزايد أعداد النساء اللاتي يقدن السيارات.

نوع مختلف من القياس

يبدو أن السعوديين متعطشون للتغيير. وكما ذُكر فإن هذا أكثر ما يكون واضحاً في منافذ شبكات التواصل الاجتماعية، حيث ينتقد السعوديون دائماً وبقسوة الظروف الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والسياسية في المملكة. ومع ذلك، ففي أغلب الأحوال لم تتنقل هذه الرغبة الواضحة للإصلاح بشكل حقيقي من الانترنت إلى نشاط مستقل يتجاوز الغالبية الشيعية الموجودة في شرق البلاد.

وفي هذا السياق ينبغي أن يتم قياس الحملة أيضاً بكل بساطة من خلال حجمها وطبيعتها. فالمظاهرتان السابقتان لدعم قيادة النساء للسيارات في البلاد، اللتان جرتا في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 1990 وحزيران/يونيو 2011، ألزمتا كل منهما مشاركة ما يقرب من خمسين إمرأة سعودية إلى قيادة السيارة. وإذا شاركت أعداد مماثلة هذه المرة، فيمكننا القول أن رغبة السعوديين في الحشد للتغيير في هذه القضية وربما في غيرها لم يتطور كثيراً خلال العامين الماضيين. وهذا ما سيكون عليه الحال لا سيما في غياب التحذيرات إزاء العواقب الوخيمة من المشاركة في الحملة والإجراءات الأمنية الاستباقية من قبل السلطات السعودية.

ومن الممكن أن تشير أي زيادة كبيرة في حجم المظاهرات أو أعداد النساء اللاتي يقدن السيارات قبل 26 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر أو بعده، إلى وجود اهتمام واسع من قبل السعوديين في الحشد للتغيير في بيئة إقليمية تتلقفها الضغوط والاضطرابات. وقد نشرت بعض النساء السعوديات فيديوهات لأنفسهن على موقع يوتيوب وهن يقدن السيارات، وقد أعرب بعض الرجال السعوديين على مدى الأسابيع الماضية عن دعمهم للحملة من على موقعي يوتيوب وتويتر، الأمر الذي يشير إلى احتمالية هذا الاهتمام الموسع.

التداعيات للسياسة الأمريكية

تأتي حملة المرأة السعودية لقيادة السيارة في وقت يشهد توتراً في العلاقات الأمريكية- السعودية بشأن الخلافات حول الانخراط في الحرب الأهلية في سوريا ودعم الحكومة المصرية المؤقتة والعلاقات المتغيرة مع إيران. وقد تم تسليط الضوء على التحديات الدبلوماسية الأمريكية فيما يتعلق بقضية حقوق المرأة في قيادة السيارة في المملكة في حزيران/يونيو 2011، وذلك عندما عبّرت وزيرة الخارجية الأمريكية هيلاري كلينتون عن الدعم الشعبي للحملة في تكملة لـ "الدبلوماسية الهادئة" التي تتبعها الولايات المتحدة حول هذا القضية. ويوم الجمعة الماضي الحادي عشر من تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، كررت كلينتون في لندن دعمها لحقوق النساء في قيادة السيارات في إطار الحملة الحالية. ويرفض المسؤولون السعوديون باستمرار التدخل الأجنبي في النقاشات التي تجري حول الإصلاح وشؤون داخلية أخرى.

وهناك مؤشرات بأن الملك عبدالله - الذي يُعتَقد أنه متأثر بقوة بابنته الأميرة عديلة بنت عبد الله آل سعود التي تناصر حقوق المرأة - قد يفضل رفع الحظر ولكنه يدرك المعارضة الشديدة لمثل هذه الخطوة من قبل المؤسسة الدينية السعودية. وإذا كان هذا هو رأيه حقاً، فإن جدال واشنطن حول مسألة حقوق المرأة السعودية في القيادة سيكون عندئذ مع رجال الدين السعوديين وليس مع الحكومة السعودية.

 

لوري بلوتكين بوغارت هي زميلة أبحاث في برنامج سياسة الخليج في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2156

The Saudi Women's Driving Campaign in Perspective

Lori Plotkin Boghardt

Also available in العربية

October 15, 2013

Turnout for the Saudi women drivers demonstration planned for late October will help gauge public interest in mobilizing for reforms in the kingdom.

On October 26, Saudi women are expected to answer their sisters' call to support women’s driving rights by driving cars in the kingdom -- an act that can lead to detention, a fine, and in the worst case scenario, imprisonment. The campaign has garnered significant support on the internet, with an online petition attracting approximately 15,000 signatures in three weeks. Still, it's unclear if the actual demonstration will attract only dozens of participants like a similar campaign in June 2011, or if it will draw larger numbers due to an appetite among Saudis to mobilize for change, as reflected in social media forums.


The Saudi ban on women drivers forces women to rely on their husbands, brothers, fathers, sons, and hired male help to take their children to school, run basic errands, and travel to and from jobs if they work. Women’s driving rights constitute one of only a handful of issues that Saudis have come out to the streets to support since the start of the Arab uprisings in early 2011.

The current campaign represents the third major effort of its kind in the kingdom in twenty-three years. On June 17, 2011, approximately fifty women drove in cities across the kingdom as part of the Women2Drive campaign following the arrest and imprisonment of a Saudi women’s rights activist who had posted a video of herself driving on YouTube. More than two decades earlier, on November 6, 1990, forty-seven women drove through Riyadh as part of a similar campaign, only to be arrested and in some cases suspended from their jobs and banned from travel.

The September 21 launch of the current campaign is linked to statements made by a senior official of the Saudi Commission for the Promotion of Virtue and the Prevention of Vice (a.k.a. the religious police). According to an article in the pan-Arab daily al-Hayat, the official instructed the religious police not to pursue and detain women drivers, and maintained that no law existed that gave them the mandate to do so. This echoed a similar statement from Saudi justice minister Muhammad al-Isa in April 2013 regarding the absence of a constitutional or regulatory text on the issue of women driving. While the chief of the religious police, Abd al-Latif al-Sheikh, denied that instructions were issued not to detain women drivers, he also commented that sharia, by which the kingdom is governed, "does not have a text forbidding women from driving."


Women’s driving rights appear to have a wider support base in the country than several other concerns that have compelled Saudis to take to the streets since 2011. In a Gallup survey from 2007 -- several years before the Arab uprisings inspired new ways of approaching basic rights -- 66 percent of Saudi women and 55 percent of Saudi men expressed the belief that women should be allowed to drive. On October 8 of this year, three female members of the exclusive Saudi Shura Council recommended that the council "recognize the rights of women to drive a car."

Participation in women's driving demonstrations has transcended the country's deep Sunni-Shiite divide. In June 2011, both Sunni and Shiite women drove -- and later this month, members of both sects are expected to drive -- across the kingdom in support of the campaign. This contrasts with the explicitly Shiite character of the most numerous and deadly protests since early 2011 in the Shiite-majority Eastern Province. Saudi Shiites make up 10-15 percent of the country's citizen population.

Women's driving rights also may be more attractive to a wider swath of Saudis as a cause than the issue that has produced the most prominent nationwide protests since early 2011: political prisoners. The kingdom's thousands of political detainees include both Shiites and Sunnis, with many of the latter rounded up during security sweeps in the mid-2000s when the country faced its own internal threat from al-Qaeda-linked terrorists. As a result, demonstrations calling for their trial or release have crossed Sunni and Shiite lines. However, the issue of political prisoners has not gained traction with many Saudis partly because of the prisoners’ association with terrorism.

Of course, support for women's driving rights does not necessarily translate into participation in actual rights campaigns, as the June 2011 experience indicated. Apparent public support for the issue might be belied by a limited demonstration on October 26.


The campaign faces tough odds for a change in national policy. Saudi authorities have shown their hand by blocking access to the original campaign website on September 29, and then its mirror website on October 7. The now infamous assertion by Saudi cleric Saleh al-Loheidan on September 27 that driving affects women's ovaries and results in children with clinical disorders is unusual in its medical specificity, but it underscores conservative clerical opposition to lifting the ban.

In many of the country's rural areas, Saudi women drive without issue. The religious police may temporarily turn a blind eye to women drivers in urban areas, but eventually an active decision for or against licensing women will need to be made, especially if an increasing number of women get behind the wheel.


Many Saudis seem hungry for change. As noted, this is particularly evident in social media channels, where Saudis routinely decry economic, social, and political conditions in the kingdom. Yet, for the most part, this apparent appetite for reform has not moved in substantive ways from the internet to off-line activity beyond the Shiite-majority east of the country.

It is in this context that the driving campaign should also be measured simply by its size and nature. The two previous driving demonstrations in the country, in November 1990 and June 2011, each compelled fifty or so women to get behind the wheel. If similar numbers participate this time around, we can say that Saudi eagerness to mobilize for change on this issue and maybe others has not evolved much in the last couple of years. This would be the case especially in the absence of warnings about the severe consequences of participating in the campaign and preemptive security actions by Saudi authorities.

A significant increase in the demonstration size or the numbers of Saudi women getting behind the wheel before or after October 26, however, could indicate expanding interest by Saudis in mobilizing for change in the highly pressurized and tumultuous regional environment. Some Saudi women have posted videos on YouTube of themselves driving cars, and some Saudi men have offered support for the campaign on YouTube and Twitter over the past weeks, suggesting this expanded interest is a possibility.


The women's driving campaign comes at a time of strain in U.S.-Saudi relations related to differences over involvement in Syria's civil war, support for Egypt's interim government, and shifting relations with Iran. The challenges of U.S. diplomacy regarding the issue of women's driving rights in the kingdom were highlighted in June 2011 when U.S. secretary of state Hillary Clinton expressed public support for the campaign in complement to American "quiet diplomacy" on the issue. In London this past Friday, October 11, Clinton restated her support for women's driving rights in the context of the current campaign. Saudi officials consistently reject foreign interference in reform debates and other internal affairs.

There are indications that King Abdullah -- who is believed to be strongly influenced by his women's rights promoting daughter, Princess Adila bint Abdullah al-Saud -- may favor lifting the ban but is mindful of adamant opposition to such a move by the Saudi clerical establishment. If this is really his view, then Washington's argument over women's driving rights would be with Saudi clerics, not the Saudi government.

Lori Plotkin Boghardt is a fellow in Gulf politics at The Washington Institute.