أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 1879

التحدي السلفي للديمقراطية التونسية الناشئة

هارون ي. زيلين

متاح أيضاً في English

8 ديسمبر 2011


 

منذ الانتخابات الحرة والنزيهة التي جرت في تونس في الشهر الماضي انصب جُلُّ التركيز على فوز "حزب النهضة" وتشكيل جمعية تأسيسية لكتابة دستور جديد والكيفية التي يعاد بها بناء الاقتصاد المدمر. غير أن هذه المسائل المهمة تهدد بحجب تحد آخر كبير للديمقراطية الناشئة في تونس وهو السلفية. ورغم أن الفكر المتطرف لم يتجذر بعدُ بنفس الدرجة كما هو الحال في مصر والأردن ودول الخليج إلا أن الانفتاح الجديد في المجتمع التونسي قد سمح للعناصر السلفية بنشر رسالتهم على نطاق واسع -- وهي الرسالة التي تثبِّت الأسس الفكرية للجهادية، وبكونها كذلك فهي تشكل خطراً محتملاً على الاستقرار في البلاد. ولمواجهة هذا التهديد يجب على واشنطن النظر في التعاطي مع الحكومة التونسية الجديدة بشأن جهود التدريب المُثلى واجتثاث التطرف.

"أنصار الشريعة في تونس"

تُعد جماعة "أنصار الشريعة في تونس" إحدى الجماعات السلفية التي استفادت من الانفتاح الجديد في البلاد. وقد تأسست في أواخر نيسان/أبريل بعد بضعة أشهر من سقوط نظام الرئيس زين العابدين بن علي ويترأسها الزعيم الروحي الشيخ أبو اياد التونسي. كما تستقي الجماعة النصائح الدينية من الشيخ السلفي التونسي ذي الشعبية الخطيب الإدريسي الذي سُجن لسنوات عديدة في عهد بن علي. وتنشط "أنصار الشريعة في تونس" بصفة خاصة في حي "باب الخضراء" التي تسكنه الطبقة العاملة في تونس العاصمة حيث يحضر أعضاء منها في مسجدي "الكمبيس" و"مالك بن أنس" وبدأوا يرتبطون بلجنة المسجد المحلية.

وعلى غرار الثوريين الشباب الذين قادوا الانتفاضة التونسية، كان أحد الجوانب الرئيسية في الأنشطة الدعوية لـ "أنصار الشريعة في تونس" هو قدرتها على تجنب الصحافة الشعبية السائدة وتسخير مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي لتوصيل رسالتها إلى الجماهير. كما تدير جماعة "أنصار الشريعة" مدونة ولديها أيضاً صفحتان على الـ "فيسبوك" واحدة خاصة بها وأخرى لجهازها الإعلامي المعروف بـ "مؤسسة القيروان الإعلامية". ومنذ نيسان/أبريل عندما أعلنت "أنصار الشريعة في تونس" عن وجودها على الإنترنت زاد عدد ما تنشره كل شهر مثلما زاد عدد "أصدقائها".

وكان أكبر مشروع دعوي من جانب "أنصار الشريعة في تونس" هو زيادة الوعي بمحنة السجناء المسلمين وخاصة التونسيين الذين حاربوا مع تنظيم «القاعدة في العراق» أثناء ذروة نشاطه في الفترة 2005-2007 وما يزالون في السجون العراقية. وقد طالبت الجماعة أيضاً بالإفراج عن الزعيم الديني الضرير لـ "الجماعة الإسلامية" في مصر الشيخ عمر عبد الرحمن الذي أُدين وسُجن في الولايات المتحدة لضلوعه في تفجير "مركز التجارة العالمي" عام 1993، والزعيم الروحي الأوروبي لـ تنظيم «القاعدة» أبو قتادة الفلسطيني الذي يقضي مدة عقوبته حالياً في بريطانيا. وبالإضافة إلى القيام باعتصامات سلمية أمام السفارة العراقية في تونس قامت جماعة "أنصار الشريعة" بمظاهرة أمام وزارة الشؤون الخارجية التونسية للدعوة إلى إطلاق سراح بضعة اشخاص من "أشقائها."

وتُوقِّر الجماعة أيضاً يسري بن فاخر الطريقي (المعروف أيضاً باسم أبو قدامة التونسي) الذي أُسر في العراق في عام 2006 وأُعدم في الشهر الماضي لضلوعه في تفجير المقبرين الشيعيين "مرقد الإمامين الهادي والعسكري". وفي الحقيقة إن وسائل إعلام "أنصار الشريعة في تونس" تصوره كشهيد وتصمم صوراً له ببرمجة "الفوتوشوب" مزينة برموز تمجد موته، بما في ذلك شعار "دولة العراق الإسلامية" وهي الجماعة التي خلفت تنظيم «القاعدة في العراق». وبالإضافة إلى ذلك نشرت صفحة "أنصار الشريعة" على الـ "فيسبوك" فيديو موسيقي يضع الطريقي بين اثنين من "الشهداء" الآخرين اللامعين وهما أسامة بن لادن وأبو مصعب الزرقاوي. وعندما أعيد جثمانه إلى تونس في 23 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر لعبت الجماعة دوراً بارزاً في جنازته التي شارك فيها أكثر من ألف شخص حمل الكثير منهم رايات ولافتات عليها شعارات إسلامية. وفي مؤشر آخر على منزلة الطريقي أظهر المنتدى الجهادي الرئيسي على الإنترنت، "شموخ الإسلام"، صوراً مخصصة لتمجيد "استشهاده" وذلك من على الصفحة الأولى للمنتدى، واستمر عرضها لمدة أسبوعين.

ضد الانتخابات

وخلافاً للجماعات السلفية في مصر التي قررت خوض الانتخابات نجد أن جماعة "أنصار الشريعة في تونس" هي أكثر تزمتاً وحرفية في تفسير القرآن. ولذا فقد عارضت الانخراط في السياسات البرلمانية ولم تؤسس حزباً قانونيا. وفي الحقيقة أنه أثناء التمهيد لانتخابات الشهر الماضي وزعت الجماعة مطبوعات تحذر التونسيين من [المشاركة في] التصويت الذي صورته على أنه انتهاك لسيادة الله. فعلى سبيل المثال تضمنت إحدى الكتيبات بعنوان "صنم الديمقراطية" إشارة ضمنية إلى أن المشاركة في الديمقراطية هي عمل شِركي. وقبل يوم من تاريخ التصويت كتبت "أنصار الشريعة" تحذيراً شديداً للإسلاميين المشاركين في الانتخابات قائلة إنهم سوف يندمون على أفعالهم في "يوم القيامة".

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، حاولت الجماعة ردع من يرغبون في التصويت بإعادة نشر فتاوى وأشرطة فيديو لشيوخ سلفيين جهاديين مشهورين يرفضون الديمقراطية. فعلى سبيل المثال أبرزت "أنصار الشريعة" مرسوماً من قبل عضو اللجنة الشريعة لـ "منبر التوحيد والجهاد" - المورد الأول على الانترنت لمواد السلفية الجهادية الفكرية - الشيخ أبو المنذر الشنقيطي يصف الطابع غير الإسلامي للانتخابات الديمقراطية. كما أبرزت أيضاً فتوى الشنقيطي ضد "حزب النهضة" صوّر فيها برنامج الحزب الإسلامي بأنه مخالف للتوحيد وواصفاً أمينه العام راشد الغنوشي و "أمثاله" بأنهم "زنادقة" ومعلناً أن مواقف "النهضة" حول الجهاد وأهل الذمة (الشعوب المحمية مثل المسيحيين واليهود) والكفار والنساء والموسيقى، بأن جميعها "تدنس" الإسلام.

هل هم جهاديون غير عنيفين؟

رغم أن "أنصار الشريعة في تونس" لم يتورطوا في أعمال عنف إلا أنه من الواضح أنهم يتعاطفون مع الرؤية العالمية لـ تنظيم «القاعدة». فبالإضافة إلى نشر محتوى من [كلمات] لزعيم تنظيم «القاعدة» أيمن الظواهري وأتباع بارزين على الانترنت مثل هاني السباعي، أيَّدت الجماعة أيضاً بشكل صريح القضية الجهادية لهذه الشبكة الإرهابية. فعلى سبيل المثال أثناء عطلة عيد الأضحى في الشهر الماضي أصدرت "أنصار الشريعة" بياناً تُهنئ فيه "مجاهدي" حركة طالبان الأفغانية و"دولة العراق الإسلامية" و"إمارة القوقاز" و"إمارة المغرب الإسلامي" و"الأحباء" في الصومال. كما دعت الجماعة الله "أن ينصر المجاهدين ويرفع كلمة الإسلام ويوحد المسلمين ويهزم أعداء الإسلام مثل اليهود والمسيحيين والملحدين والمرتدين."

وفي الحقيقة فإن برنامج "أنصار الشريعة" مشابه لبرنامج "جماعة المهاجرين" في بريطانيا و"مسلمي الثورة" في الولايات المتحدة إلى حد أنهم يؤيدون التفسير المتطرف للإسلام دون المصادقة صراحة على العنف. غير أن تصرفات مثل مهاجمة الطلاب العلمانيين وأخذ عميد جامعة منوبة رهينة في 28 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر بسبب منعه الحجاب إنما تشير إلى أن سلفيي تونس أخذوا يصبحون أكثر صفاقة في محاولاتهم لتغيير البلاد. ولذلك ففي الأشهر المقبلة ستحتاج الحكومة التونسية الجديدة إلى بدء عملية احتواء السلفية إلى جانب مهام كتابة دستور جديد وإنعاش الاقتصاد. وإذا ما تم ترك السلفيون لحالهم فإن اتجاهاتهم قد تزعزع الانتقال الوليد من الشمولية إلى الديمقراطية.

وبالنسبة لواشنطن يقدم هذا التحدي فرصة للتعاطي مع تونس في مجالات الأمن واجتثاث التطرف في سياق دولة عربية ديمقراطية. كما يقدم أيضاً مقياساً جيداً لتحديد مدى استعداد وقدرة "حزب النهضة" على التحول إلى حزب سياسي إسلامي معتدل حقاً.

 

إيرون واي زيلين هو باحث مشارك في قسم العلوم السياسية في جامعة برانديز وموقعه على الاننترنت هو Jihadology.net، ويشارك في تحرير مدونة الوسط.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 1879

The Salafi Challenge to Tunisia's Nascent Democracy

Aaron Y. Zelin

Also available in العربية

December 8, 2011


In the coming months, the new Tunisian government will need to begin the process of containing Salafism alongside the tasks of writing the new constitution and reviving the economy.

Since last month's free and fair elections in Tunisia, much of the focus has been on Ennahda's victory, the formation of a new constitution-writing Constituent Assembly, and how to rebuild the shattered economy. Yet these important matters threaten to obscure another significant challenge to the country's nascent democracy: Salafism. Although the extremist ideology has not yet taken root to the same degree as in Egypt, Jordan, and the Gulf states, the new openness in Tunisian society has allowed Salafi elements to widely propagate their message -- one that undergirds the intellectual foundations of jihadism and, as such, poses a potential danger to the country's stability. To counter this threat, Washington should consider engaging Tunisia's new government on appropriate deradicalization and training efforts.

Ansar al-Sharia in Tunisia

One of the Salafi groups that has benefited from the country's new openness is Ansar al-Sharia in Tunisia (AST). Founded in late April, a few months after the fall of President Zine al-Abidine Ben Ali's regime, the group is headed by spiritual leader Sheikh Abu Ayyad al-Tunisi. It also takes religious advice from popular Tunisian Salafist Sheikh al-Khatib al-Idrisi, who was imprisoned for several years during the Ben Ali era. AST is especially active in the working-class Bab al-Khadra neighborhood of Tunis, with members attending al-Kambes and Malik bin Anas Mosques and becoming involved with the local mosque committee.

Similar to the youth revolutionaries who led the Tunisian uprising, one of the key aspects of AST's dawa (Islamic propagation) activities has been its ability to bypass the mainstream press and harness social media to bring its message to the masses. AST runs a blog and also has two Facebook pages, one for the group proper and the second for its media apparatus, al-Qayrawan Media Foundation (QMF). Since April, when AST announced its presence online, the number of its postings has grown each month, as has its number of "friends."

AST's largest advocacy project has been raising awareness of the plight of Muslim prisoners, most notably Tunisians who fought with al-Qaeda in Iraq (AQI) during its height in 2005-2007 and remain in Iraqi jails. The group has also demanded the release of Sheikh Omar Abdul Rahman, the blind religious leader of Egypt's al-Gamaa al-Islamiyah who was convicted and imprisoned in the United States for his role in the 1993 World Trade Center bombing, and Abu Qatada al-Filistini, al-Qaeda's European spiritual leader currently serving time in Britain. In addition to holding peaceful sit-ins outside the Iraqi embassy in Tunis, AST has demonstrated in front of the Tunisian Ministry of Foreign Affairs to call for the release of a handful of its "brothers."

The group also reveres Yosri bin Fakher Trigui (a.k.a. Abu Qudama al-Tunisi), who was captured in Iraq in 2006 and executed last month for his role in the bombing of the Shiite tombs at Marqad al-Imamayn Houssin and Hadi al-Askari. In fact, AST's media outlet portrays him as a martyr, creating Photoshopped images of him overlaid with symbols glorifying his death, including the logo of the "Islamic State of Iraq," AQI's successor group. Additionally, AST's Facebook page posted a music video placing Trigui among two other illustrious "martyrs," Usama bin Laden and Abu Musab al-Zarqawi. And when his body was returned to Tunisia on November 23, the group played a prominent role in the funeral, which was attended by more than a thousand people, many of whom carried banners and placards with Islamic slogans. In a further indication of Trigui's status, the premier online jihadist forum Shamukh al-Islam featured custom photos extolling his "martyrdom" on its front page for two weeks.

Against the Elections

Unlike the Salafi groups in Egypt that have decided to take part in elections, AST is far more doctrinal and purist in its interpretation of the Quran. As such, it opposes engaging in parliamentary politics and has not established a legal party. Indeed, in the lead-up to last month's elections, it distributed literature warning Tunisians against voting, which it depicted as an infringement on God's sovereignty. For example, one of the brochures, "The Idol of Democracy," implicitly referred to engagement in democracy as a polytheistic act. And the day before the vote, AST wrote a stern warning to Islamists participating in the election, declaring that they would regret their actions on the Day of Resurrection.

In addition, the group tried to deter potential voters by reposting fatwas and videos from popular Salafi jihadist sheikhs arguing against democracy. For example, it highlighted an edict by Sheikh Abu al-Mundhir al-Shinqiti -- a member of the sharia committee of Minbar al-Tawhid wal-Jihad (Pulpit of monotheism and jihad), the premier online resource for Salafi jihadist intellectual materials -- proclaiming the un-Islamic character of democratic elections. It also highlighted Shanqiti's fatwa against Ennahda, characterizing the Islamist party's program as a violation of tawhid (monotheism), describing its secretary-general Rachid Ghannouchi and his "ilk" as heretics, and declaring that Ennahda's positions on jihad, dhimmis (protected peoples, e.g., Christians and Jews), kuffar (infidels), women, and music all "pollute" Islam.

Nonviolent Jihadists?

Although AST has not engaged in violence, it clearly sympathizes with al-Qaeda's worldview. In addition to posting content from al-Qaeda leader Ayman al-Zawahiri and prominent online adherents such as Hani al-Sibai, the group has also explicitly promoted the terrorist network's jihadist cause. For example, during last month's Eid al-Adha holiday, AST released a statement congratulating the "mujahedin" of the Afghan Taliban, the Islamic State of Iraq, the Caucasus Emirate, the Islamic Maghreb Emirate, and "loved ones" in Somalia. The group also asked God "to grant victory to the mujahedin, raise the word of Islam, and bring together Muslims and rout the enemies of Islam, like the Jews, Christians, atheists, and apostates."

Indeed, AST's program is similar to those of al-Muhajiroun in Britain and Revolution Muslim in the United States, insofar as they promote a radical interpretation of Islam without explicitly endorsing violence. Yet actions such as attacking secular students and taking the dean of the University of Manouba hostage on November 28 for banning the veil suggest that Tunisia's Salafis are becoming more brazen in their attempts to change the country. In the coming months, then, the new government will need to begin the process of containing Salafism alongside the tasks of writing the new constitution and reviving the economy. Left unchecked, Salafist trends could destabilize the nascent transition from authoritarianism to democracy.

For Washington, this challenge provides an opportunity to engage Tunis on security and deradicalization in the context of a democratic Arab state. It also provides a good barometer for determining the extent to which Ennahda is willing and able to transform into a truly moderate Islamic political party.

Aaron Y. Zelin, a research associate in Brandeis University's Department of Politics, maintains the website Jihadology.net and coedits the al-Wasat blog.