أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

Muhammad Morsi supporters celebrate his victory in the Egyptian presidential election.

المرصد السياسي 2723

صعود جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين» في مصر وسقوطها

اريك تراجر, نانسي يوسف, و ميشيل دون

متاح أيضاً في English

8 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2016


"في 18 أيلول/أكتوبر، خاطب إريك تراجر، نانسي يوسف، وميشيل دن منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. وتراجر هو زميل "استير ك. واغنر" في معهد واشنطن ومؤلف الكتاب "الخريف العربي: كيف ربح «الإخوان المسلمون» مصر وخسروها في 891 يوماً". ويوسف هي كبيرة المراسلين لشؤون الأمن القومي لموقع "ديلي بيست". ودن هي مديرة "برنامج الشرق الأوسط" في "مؤسسة كارنيغي للسلام الدولي". وفيما يلي ملخص المقرر لملاحظاتهم".

 

إريك تراجر

بعد مرور نحو ست سنوات على انتفاضة "الربيع العربي" التي شهدتها مصر في كانون الثاني/يناير 2011 والإطاحة بالرئيس حسني مبارك بعد شهر من انطلاقها، ازدادت سوءاً العديد من العوامل نفسها التي ساهمت في الانتفاضة: فقد تنامى القمع في البلاد، وأصبحت السياسة أكثر استبدادية، كما أصبح الاقتصاد في وضع حرج. لكن السنوات الثلاث الماضية منذ الإطاحة بأول رئيس مصري منتخب في حزيران/يونيو 2013، زعيم جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين» محمد مرسي، كانت هادئة نسبياً. ولكي نفهم سبب هدوئها، على المرء النظر إلى الأسباب الكامنة وراء الصعود السريع للجماعة وتجربتها الفاشلة في الحكم.

في أعقاب الإطاحة بمبارك، كانت جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين» المنظمة الوحيدة القادرة على حشد مناصرين في جميع أنحاء البلاد للفوز بالانتخابات لسببين. أولاً، أن عملية دمج أي فرد في «الإخوان المسلمين» تستغرق بين خمس وثماني سنوات يتمّ خلالها اختبار مدى التزام المرشّح المحتمل بقضية «الجماعة» ورغبته في اتباع الأوامر مع ارتقائه سلّم الرتب المتعاقبة في صفوفها. وفي نهاية هذه العملية، يحلف الإخوان اليمين "بالسمع والطاعة" لقادة «الجماعة».

ثانياً، حتى فترة ليست ببعيدة، كانت جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين» تملك تسلسلاً قيادياً متيناً على الصعيد الوطني مع وجود قيادة مركزية مقرها في القاهرة (تُعرف باسم "مكتب الإرشاد") توجّه خلايا تضمّ بين خمسة وعشرة إخوان (تُعرف باسم "أًسَر") ومنتشرة في جميع أنحاء مصر. ولم تتمكّن أي منظمة سياسية أخرى من جمع أعضاء ملتزمين إلتزاماً عميقاً [بسياستها] في إطار هيكلية تعبئة متماسكة للترويج لرؤيتها، وتوزيع خدمات اجتماعية، وتنظيم تظاهرات وإدارة جهود فعالة لحث الناخبين على الإدلاء بأصواتهم. وبالتالي، تمكنت «الجماعة» من تحقيق الفوز [في الانتخابات] لأنها كانت الأكثر تنظيماً على الإطلاق - وليس لأنها كانت تحظى بشعبية كبيرة أو كانت من "الأحزاب الرئيسية الكبرى" كما اعتقد الكثيرون في واشنطن.

وكان هدف الهيكلية التنظيمية الخاصة بـ جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين» هو الترويج لرؤيتها للإسلام "كمفهوم شامل" من شأنه أن يملي كل جانب من جوانب الحياة. وبالتالي، سعت «الجماعة» إلى غرس هذه الرسالة في نفوس الأفراد عبر استخدام خلاياها لنشر الرسالة ومن ثم توقّع استلامها السلطة عندما تحظى إيديولوجياتها بتأييد شعبي كافٍ. وكان هدفها النهائي يتمثّل ببسط نفوذها في جميع أنحاء العالم بهدف إنشاء "دولة إسلامية عالمية".

بيد، أشارت الفترة الوجيزة لـ «الإخوان المسلمين» في السلطة إلى أن هذه الرؤية لم تكن سوى برنامج للوصول إلى السلطة، وأن «الجماعة» لم تكن تدرك فعلاً معنى "تطبيق الشريعة" في السياسة. وكان عدم وضعها أهدافاً محددة أحد عوامل سقوطها السريع، بينما تمثّل عامل آخر في استيلاء مرسي المتلاحق على السلطة، الأمر الذي أثار تحركاً جماهيرياً ضده بلغ ذروته عند الإطاحة به بالكاد بعد مرور عام على فوزه في الانتخابات.

وتُعتبر رواية صعود جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين» وسقوطها مسألة مصرية داخلية بحتة. ولكن قرار إدارة أوباما بالتعامل مع «الجماعة» دون قيد أو شرط ساهم في قرار هذه الأخيرة التطلّع إلى السلطة، كما جعلها تشعر بالأمان رغم فرضها حكماً استبدادياً بشكل أكبر وتعزيز سلطتها. ونظراً إلى إيديولوجياتها المعادية للغرب، توقّعت جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين» أن يشكّل الغرب عائقاً أساسياً يمنع صعودها السياسي؛ غير أن مفاجأة سارة كانت بانتظارها عندما تعاطت واشنطن معها بطريقة ودية.

وقد اعتمدت واشنطن هذه الإستراتيجية لاعتقادها أن «الإخوان المسلمين» سيبقون في السلطة لبعض الوقت، وأن الولايات المتحدة قد تؤثّر بشكل أكبر على «الجماعة» من خلال سياسة الثواب عوضاً عن المزيج الاعتيادي من الثواب والعقاب. إن فشل هذه السياسة إلى جانب عجز واشنطن الكامل عن فهم منظمة كانت تروّج للرسالة المتطرفة نفسها طوال تاريخها الممتدّ على أكثر من ثمانين عاماً، يثير الشكوك حول ما إذا كانت واشنطن ستتمكن يوماً من اتخاذ القرارات الصائبة بشأن السياسات المحلية لدول الشرق الأوسط.

 

نانسي يوسف

خلال انتفاضة "ميدان التحرير" في عام 2011، أظهرت وسائل الإعلام الغربية المصريين ككتلة واحدة، وصوّرتهم على أنهم يدعمون جميعاً الثورة والإطاحة بمبارك. وبالتالي عجز الإعلام عن تحضير الأمريكيين (بمن فيهم صناع القرار) لحالة عدم الاستقرار التي تلت ذلك، لأن المصريين لم يوافقوا على الخطة المستقبلية - فقد كانوا منقسمين نوعاً ما بشأن الإطاحة بمبارك وبرزت خلافات عميقة بينهم بشأن الفترة اللاحقة. وكانت جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين» المنظمة الوحيدة التي تملك أجندة إيديولوجية متماسكة وإستراتيجية للترويج لها.

وعلى نحو مماثل، كانت الظروف المحيطة بصعود مرسي معقّدة. فخلال الفترة التي سبقت الانتخابات الرئاسية في حزيران/يونيو 2012، اعتَبر العديد من المصريين الذين لم يدعموا «الإخوان المسلمين» أن البديل - رئيس الوزراء السابق أحمد شفيق - سيكون بمثابة التصويت للنظام نفسه الذي أطاحوا به. لذلك، فبالنسبة للعديد من المصريين، لم يكن التصويت لصالح مرسي تصويتاً لأجندة «الإخوان المسلمين» بشكل خاص؛ وفي هذا الصدد، لا بدّ من التنويه أن مرسي فاز بفارق ضئيل حيث حصل على أقل من 52 في المائة من الأصوات. 

بيد، ما أن استلم مهامه، تعاطى مرسي مع الانتخابات على أنها تفويض. وحين بدأ في النهاية سيطرته على السلطة - بوضع قراراته الرئاسية فوق الرقابة القضائية - سرعان ما أعقب ذلك تراجع في الدعم الشعبي الذي كان يحظى به. وكان الشارع لا يزال يؤمن بقدرة [المتظاهرين] على إحداث تغيير كما سيطر شعور متنامٍ بأن هذه الإدارة الجديدة لن تدوم طويلاً. وبحلول ربيع عام 2013، نشأت حركة جديدة تدعو للقيام باحتجاجات جماهيرية حاشدة في الذكرى السنوية الأولى للانتخابات، وسرعان ما اكتسبت زخماً.   

وكانت احتجاجات 30 حزيران/يونيو 2013 كبيرة للغاية، وفي الثالث من تموز/يوليو أطاح الجيش بمرسي. وفي ذلك الوقت، احتفل الناس بإطاحته في "ميدان التحرير"، في حين احتجّ «الإخوان المسلمون» في "ميدان رابعة العدوية" في شمال القاهرة. وبالنسبة للكثيرين في واشنطن، عكست الإطاحة بمرسي نهاية العملية السياسية الديمقراطية، لكن بالنسبة للعديد من المصريين مثّلت مجرد تنحية قائد آخر وتمّت مقارنتها بالتالي بالإطاحة بمبارك. ومرة أخرى، لم يعكس المنظار الذي اختارت من خلاله واشنطن رؤية مصر مدى تعقيد الأمور على أرض الواقع.   

 

ميشيل دن

هناك ثلاثة اعتقادات شائعة حول مصر خلال فترة ما بعد مبارك. الأول يفيد أن جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين» تختلف بشكل جذري عن الأحزاب السياسية الأخرى في مصر. وفي الواقع، لم تكن «الجماعة» استثنائية في استخدامها للتصريحات الدستورية، والاستيلاء على السلطة، والعنف في مهاجمة معارضيها - فقد فعلت السلطات الحالية الشئ نفسه، كغيرها من الجهات الفاعلة الأخرى.  

أما الاعتقاد الثاني، فيشير إلى أن سلوك «الإخوان المسلمين» كان ضعيفاً على نحو استثنائي. وفي الواقع، غالباً ما تكون الأحزاب التي تنشأ خلال المراحل الانتقالية السياسية غير مهيأة للحكم وتفتقر إلى أجندة سياسية ذات مغزى. كما أنها كثيراً ما تُظهر مواقف قائمة على الأغلبية وجنون ارتياب كبير.  

وينطوي الاعتقاد الثالث على تصوّر خاطئ بأن العلاقة الأمريكية غير المشروطة مع «الإخوان المسلمين» كانت فريدة من نوعها. وفي الواقع، تعاطت واشنطن مع نظام مبارك بطريقة مماثلة، وفعلت ذلك مع حكومة السيسي أيضاً. فضلاً عن ذلك، إن الافتراض السائد في مصر بأن الولايات المتحدة دعمت «الإخوان المسلمين» خلال تظاهرات حزيران/يونيو 2013 وما بعدها هو افتراض خاطئ: فبالأحرى، دعمت واشنطن حلاً سياسياً.

لقد لعب الجيش المصري دوراً أساسياً عقب الإطاحة بمبارك. فقد اعتَبر الجنرالات أن الانتفاضة وسيلة لتقويض سلطة الرأسماليين المحسوبين على السلطة خلال عهد مبارك، رغم حذرهم أيضاً من تغيير سياسي. ومن ثم في عام 2013، شعر الجنرالات بأن الشعب أراد تجريد «الإخوان المسلمين» من السلطة، فاعتبروا أيضاً أن ذلك يعود بالفائدة على مصالحهم. ومنذ الإطاحة بمرسي، أحجم المصريون عن الاحتجاج نظراً إلى درجة القمع المرتفعة بشكل استثنائي، وبسبب وجود رغبة واسعة في الاستقرار لتحسين الاقتصاد.   

وفيما يخص السياسة الأمريكية، يتمّ تفسير ترويج الديمقراطية بطرق متعددة. فهي لا تعني بالضرورة أن واشنطن تستحدث ديمقراطية مفتوحة على مصراعيها، بل أنها تحاول إقناع من هم في السلطة بأن يكونوا أكثر انفتاحاًعلى الحريات المدنية وحقوق الإنسان. فحتى خلال عهد «الإخوان المسلمين»، لم تطالب الولايات المتحدة من مرسي أو حكومته أي شيء لأنها لم ترغب في التدخل في عملية الانتقال. وكان الاستثناء الملحوظ الوحيد حين تعرّضت السفارة الأمريكية للهجوم وطالبت إدارة أوباما بحماية فورية، مما دفع بمرسي إلى التحرّك.

وفي النهاية، لا يمكن التنبؤ على الإطلاق بمستقبل «الإخوان المسلمين». فقد تعود «الجماعة» إلى السلطة لتحكم من جديد بعد كونها في حالة من الخمول على غرار "حركة النهضة" الإسلامية في تونس. وتجهل الولايات المتحدة وغيرها من الدول كيفية تأثير الانهيار في عام 2013 على إيديولوجية «الجماعة» - ولا أحد يعلم ما إذا كانت ستصبح عنيفة، أو تبقى غير عنيفة نسبياً، أو تنتظر ريثما تنهض مجدداً خلال حالة ثورية في المستقبل.

 

أعد هذا الموجز يوسف كليان.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Muhammad Morsi supporters celebrate his victory in the Egyptian presidential election.

PolicyWatch 2723

The Rise and Fall of Egypt's Muslim Brotherhood

Eric Trager, Nancy Youssef, and Michele Dunne

Also available in العربية

November 8, 2016


How did the group rise to power so quickly after Mubarak's ouster in 2011 -- and then just as quickly lose public support and fall from power itself? Read or watch a conversation between leading experts on Egyptian politics.

On October 18, Eric Trager, Nancy Youssef, and Michele Dunne addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Trager is the Institute's Esther K. Wagner Fellow and author of the new book Arab Fall: How the Muslim MB Won and Lost Egypt in 891 Days. Youssef is a senior national security correspondent for the Daily Beast. Dunne directs the Middle East Program at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks.

ERIC TRAGER

Nearly six years after Egypt's January 2011 "Arab Spring" uprising and Hosni Mubarak's overthrow a month later, many of the same factors that contributed to the uprising are even worse: the country is more repressive, its politics are more autocratic, and its economy is in critical condition. Yet the past three years since the June 2013 ouster of Egypt's first elected president, Muslim MB (MB) leader Mohamed Morsi, have been relatively quiet. To understand this quiet, one must examine the legacy of the MB's quick rise and failed experiment in power.

After Mubarak was toppled, the MB was the only organization capable of mobilizing nationally to win elections for two reasons. First, the process of becoming a Muslim Brother takes five to eight years, during which ever prospective candidate is vetted for his commitment to the organization's cause and his willingness to follow orders as he ascends through successive organizational ranks. At the end of this process, Brothers take an oath to "listen to and obey" the organization's leaders.

Second, until very recently, the MB possessed a rigid, nationwide chain of command in which a centralized leadership based in Cairo (known as the Guidance Office) directed cells of five to ten Brothers (known as usar, or families) that were scattered throughout the country. No other political organization coupled this kind of deeply committed membership with a tight mobilizing structure for promoting its vision, distributing social services, organizing protests, and managing effective get-out-the-vote efforts. The MB was therefore able to win because it was far and away the best organized movement -- not because it was immensely popular or "mainstream," as many in Washington believed.

The purpose of the MB's particular organizational structure is promoting its vision of Islam as an "all-encompassing concept" that should dictate every aspect of life. The group therefore sought to indoctrinate individuals in this message, using its cells to spread the message and then anticipating that it would achieve power once its ideology had sufficient public support. Its ultimate goal was to then spread its influence worldwide in order to establish a "global Islamic state."

Yet the MB's brief period in power indicated that this vision was nothing more than a power-seeking program, and that it had little idea what it meant to "implement the sharia" in policy. Its aimlessness was one factor in its quick fall. Another factor was Morsi's successive power grabs, which catalyzed a mass movement against him that culminated with his ouster barely a year after he won the election.

The story of the MB's rise and fall is very much an internal Egyptian one. But the Obama administration's decision to engage the group unconditionally contributed to the MB's decision to pursue power, and also made it feel secure even as it governed more autocratically and consolidated its authority. Due to its anti-Western ideology, the MB expected the West to be a primary barrier to its political rise; it was therefore pleasantly surprised when Washington engaged it in a friendly manner.

Washington pursued this strategy because it believed the MB would remain in power for a while, and that the United States could best influence the group through carrots rather than the typical mix of carrots and sticks. The failure of this policy, and Washington's utter inability to read an organization that had been promoting the same radical message throughout its eighty-plus-year history, raises doubts that Washington can ever get the domestic politics of Middle Eastern countries right.

NANCY YOUSSEF

During the 2011 Tahrir Square uprising, Western media painted Egyptians monolithically, characterizing them as universally supporting the revolution and Mubarak's overthrow. The press therefore failed to prepare Americans (including policymakers) for the instability that ensued, because Egyptians did not agree on the way ahead -- they were somewhat divided on Mubarak's overthrow and deeply divided over the way forward thereafter. Only the MB had a coherent ideological agenda and a strategy for promoting it.

The circumstances surrounding Morsi's rise were similarly complex. Leading up to the June 2012 presidential election, many Egyptians who did not support the MB nevertheless viewed the alternative -- former prime minister Ahmed Shafiq -- as a vote for the very regime they had just toppled. So for many Egyptians, voting for Morsi was not a vote for the MB's particular agenda, and of course he won narrowly with less than 52 percent of the vote.

But once in office, Morsi treated the election as a mandate. When he eventually launched his power grab -- placing his presidential edicts above judicial scrutiny -- a swift downturn in popular support soon followed. The street still believed that it could change things, and there was a growing sense that this new administration would not last long. By spring 2013, a new movement was calling for mass protests on the election's anniversary, and it rapidly gained traction.

The June 30, 2013, protests were very large, and the military ousted Morsi on July 3. At the time, people celebrated his overthrow in Tahrir Square, while the MB protested at Rabaa al-Adawiyya Square in northern Cairo. For many in Washington, Morsi's toppling reflected the termination of the democratic political process, but for many Egyptians it represented just another removal of a leader, and was thus comparable to Mubarak's overthrow. Once again, the lens through which Washington chose to view Egypt did not reflect the complexity on the ground.

MICHELE DUNNE

There are three common myths about Egypt during the post-Mubarak period. The first is that the MB is radically different from other political parties in Egypt. In fact, the MB was not unique in its use of constitutional declarations, power grabs, and thugs for attacking its opponents -- the current authorities have done the same, as have other actor.

The second myth is that the MB's behavior was uniquely incompetent. In fact, parties that emerge during political transitions are often unprepared to govern and lack meaningful policy agendas. They also frequently exhibit majoritarian attitudes and intense paranoia.

Third is the mistaken belief that the unconditional U.S. relationship with the MB was unique. In fact, Washington had engaged the Mubarak regime in a similar manner and has done so with Abdul Fattah al-Sisi's government as well. Moreover, the perception within Egypt that the United States supported the MB during the June 2013 protests and their aftermath is wrong: rather, Washington supported a political resolution.

The Egyptian military was the key player following Mubarak's overthrow. The generals saw the uprising as a way to undermine the power of Mubarak-era crony capitalists, though they were also wary of political change. Then, in 2013, the generals sensed that the people wanted to disempower the MB, and they likewise saw this as beneficial to their interests. Since Morsi's overthrow, Egyptians have refrained from rising up because repression is extraordinarily high, and because there is a widespread desire for stability so the economy can improve.

Regarding U.S. policy, democracy promotion is interpreted in various ways. It does not necessarily mean that Washington creates wide open democracy, but that it tries to persuade those in power to be a little more open about civil liberties and human rights. Even during the MB era, the United States never demanded anything of Morsi or his government because it did not want to interfere in the transition. The only notable exception was when the U.S. embassy was under attack and the Obama administration demanded immediate protection, shocking Morsi to action.

The MB's future is largely unpredictable. The group might yet return to power and govern again after being in a state of dormancy like the Islamist Ennahda faction in Tunisia. The United States and others are unsure how the 2013 collapse will affect the group's ideology -- nobody knows if it will turn violent, remain relatively nonviolent, or wait to rise again in a future revolutionary setting.

This summary was prepared by Yousif Kalian.