أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2846

السباق على مقاطعة دير الزور

فابريس بالونش

متاح أيضاً في English

17 آب/أغسطس 2017


انقر على أي خريطة لعرض أو تحميل نسخة عالية الدقة.

بعد سقوط الرقة - عاصمة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» - في النهاية، ستتجه كافة الأنظار نحو جنوب شرق سوريا وتحديداً مقاطعة دير الزور، حيث تلوح في الأفق منافسة بين المتمردين المدعومين من الولايات المتحدة وقوات النظام السوري، مع احتمال بقاء الأكراد خارج الساحة منذ البداية.

الشائعات والحقائق

في الأشهر الأخيرة، تقدّم الجيش السوري في صحراء تدمر ومقاطعة الرقة الجنوبية، وخلال الأسابيع المقبلة، سيركز أنظاره نحو رفع الحصار الذي يفرضه تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» على دير الزور، ليواصل مسيرته التي دامت سنوات لاسترداد المدينة مجدداً كوسيلة لاستعادة المقاطعة بأكملها. وعلى وجه الخصوص، إذا نجح الجيش السوري في الاستيلاء على مدينة دير الزور، فسيركز [عملياته] بعد ذلك على حقول "العمر" الغنية بالنفط، التي تشكل 50 في المائة من الإنتاج السوري، والتي تقع إلى الشمال من نهر الفرات بين مدينتي الميادين والبوكمال. وعلى الصعيدين المحلي والوطني، ستكون هذه الآبار حاسمة الأهمية في مساعدة الرئيس السوري بشار الأسد على تأمين الولاء من قبائل المنطقة. ومن المنطقي أن تتقدم قوات النظام إلى الحدود العراقية وتنضم إلى الميليشيات الشيعية في مكان ما في جبال سنجار الجنوبية. وبالتالي، لن تتمكن «قوّات سوريا الديمقراطية» الكردية بمعظمها والمتمردين العرب المدعومين من الولايات المتحدة من الوصول إلى منطقة وادي الفرات الأدنى بين دير الزور والبوكمال، كما حدث سابقاً في التنف في حزيران/يونيو 2017، عندما وصل الجيش السوري والميليشيات الشيعية من تدمر إلى الحدود العراقية.

غير أنه من الممكن أن تقوم «قوّات سوريا الديمقراطية» بشن هجوم محدود في مقاطعة دير الزور الشمالية. إلا أن النظام السوري وحلفائه سيعملون بحزم لمنع «قوّات سوريا الديمقراطية» من الوصول إلى حقول "العمر" النفطية، لأن مثل هذا التطور سيقطع الطريق بين مدينة دير الزور والحدود العراقية، مما يعقد خطط الإيرانيين لإنشاء ممرهم البري إلى البحر الأبيض المتوسط.

ويتعارض هذا السيناريو مع الشائعات التي تسري في واشنطن حول هجوم مستقبلي للمتمردين مدعوم من الولايات المتحدة في مقاطعة دير الزور. ووفقاً لهذه الشائعات، سيتقدّم المتمردون العرب و «قوّات سوريا الديمقراطية» على الضفاف الشمالية للفرات، نحو الميادين، ليعبروا بعدها النهر ويتقدّموا نحو البوكمال قبل الاستيلاء على منطقة الحدود العراقية. وبالتالي، سيقتصر دور الجيش السوري على استعادة مدينة دير الزور والمناطق المحيطة بها. ومن شأن مثل هذا التطور أن يسمح للولايات المتحدة بعرقلة الممر الإيراني المزمع والحفاظ على الضغط على نظام الأسد. أما على الجهة المقابلة من الحدود، فسيقضي الجيش العراقي، وليس الميليشيات الشيعية، على وجود تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». وبالتالي، ستصبح القبائل العربية السنّية على جانبي الحدود تحت حماية أمريكية، وينتفي مشروع الممر الإيراني تلقائياً. وحتى باستثناء الاعتبارات الجيوسياسية التي لم تتم مناقشتها هنا، من غير المرجح أن يتبلور هذا الوضع الوردي، كما يتضح من أدلة مختلفة على الأرض.

أولاً، لا يتخطى عدد المتمردين العرب المدعومين من الولايات المتحدة - وهم «جيش أسود الشرقية»، و«جيش مغاوير الثورة»، و«لواء تحرير دير الزور» الجديد - الألفي عنصر، وفقاً لأفضل التقديرات. ومن الواضح أن هذه القوة المشتركة لا يمكنها أن تهزم الآلاف من مقاتلي تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» الأكثر حنكة وتمرساً، وخاصة نظراً لافتقارهم المحتمل للدافع لمحاربة الجهاديين. ثانياً، منذ أكثر من عام، في 29 حزيران/ يونيو 2016، فشلت محاولة جوية نفذها المتمردون للسيطرة على البوكمال فشلاً ذريعاً عندما لم تنتفض القبائل المحلية خوفاً من تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». ثالثاً، في ربيع عام 2017، عندما كان المتمردون يحاولون التقدّم براً نحو البوكمال من التنف، أوقفهم هجوم مفاجئ شنته الميليشيات الشيعية من تدمر نحو الحدود. وقد أعرب القادة الأمريكيون عن رغبتهم في نقل المتمردين العرب إلى الشدادي حيث يمكن دمجهم في «قوّات سوريا الديمقراطية»، الأمر الذي يسمح بالتالي بشنّ هجوم في مقاطعة دير الزور من الشمال. ومع ذلك، فمن المرجح أن ينشق بعض الجنود عن الجيش السوري عوضاً عن السفر إلى الشدادي. رابعاً - وهذا ليس غير مهم - لا تريد قيادة «قوّات سوريا الديمقراطية» دعم هؤلاء المقاتلين العرب.

تعثر «قوّات سوريا الديمقراطية»

ترفض قيادة «قوّات سوريا الديمقراطية» الفعلية، أي «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» - وهو فرع سوري لـ «حزب العمال الكردستاني» الذى مقره في تركيا، دعم هجوم يقوده «لواء تحرير دير الزور». وعوضاً عن ذلك، وافق قادة «قوّات سوريا الديمقراطية» على دعم «قوات الصناديد»، وهي ميليشيا يقودها رجل قبيلة "شمّر" الشيخ حميدي دهام الهادي، وهو حليف وثيق للأكراد. ومن دون تعاون «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي»، ستواجه أي قوة عربية مدعومة من الولايات المتحدة صعوبات للتصدي لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في هذه المنطقة. ولطالما انتهت استراتيجيات ماضية مماثلة بفشل ذريع، مما دفع بالولايات المتحدة إلى التخلي عن برامج تدريب المتمردين من أجل تركيز مواردها على «قوّات سوريا الديمقراطية».

ويمكن تفسير تردد «قوّات سوريا الديمقراطية» في مباركة تشكيل قوة مستقلة موالية للولايات المتحدة في شمال شرق سوريا بمخاوف من بروز منافس جديد في المستقبل بمجرد دحر تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يريد «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» أن يبقى الشريك الوحيد للولايات المتحدة في شمال شرق سوريا، لإخضاع القبائل العربية في هذه العملية. ويفسر هذا التحليل جزئياً نشر القوات الكردية منذ خريف 2016 لمهاجمة الرقة، وهي مدينة عربية لن يتمّ قط ضمّها إلى روج آفا، جيب الأكراد في سوريا. وعلى نحو مماثل، يدرك «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» أن الولايات المتحدة تحمي روج آفا من أي اعتداء تركي، لكن فور تحرير الرقة، فإن الجماعة الكردية السورية ستصبح على ما يبدو حليفاً يمكن الاستغناء عنه بالنسبة لواشنطن. وهذا يطرح السؤال عما سيحدث بعد ذلك. وفي ظل هذا القدر من عدم اليقين، لدى «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» مصلحة في إطالة معركة الرقة. ووفقاً لـ هفال جبار القيادي بـ «وحدات حماية الشعب» في الرقة، قد تستمر المعركة لأربعة أشهر إضافية. ومع ذلك، لا يوجد مجال متاح أمام شنّ هجوم كبير آخر في الوقت الراهن، مما يسمح للجيش السوري بالتحرك بهدوء نحو دير الزور.

الدور الرئيسي للقبائل العربية

وسط هذا المشهد، يكون ولاء قبائل المنطقة غير مستقر، وسوف تسعى إلى الفوز بمزايا مادية عند موافقتها على الانضمام إلى أي تحالف. وقد تضمنت الوسائل السابقة لنظام الأسد ممارسة مثل هذه السيطرة للحصول على المياه، وتوزيع الأراضي، والتهريب، ووظائف إدارية وفي صفوف الجيش. وفي المستقبل، من المرجح أن يتمّ تقاسم الموارد النفطية وسوف تطالب بعض القبائل بالمال من أجل حماية خطوط الأنابيب. وعلى وجه الخصوص، وفي أعقاب التدخل العسكري الروسي في أيلول/سبتمبر 2015، شعر بعض زعماء القبائل بتغيّر مجرى الأمور وعادوا إلى أحضان النظام. وفي هذا السياق، أقدم نواف البشير، شيخ قبيلة "البقارة"، على مثل هذه الخطوة بعد خمس سنوات من المنفى في إسطنبول.  

وإلى جانب الفوائد المادية، فإن الانتقام قد يدفع بالقبائل أيضاً باتجاه النظام السوري، كما حصل مع "الشعيطات". ففي عام 2014، تواجهت هذه القبيلة النافذة مع عشيرة أخرى - من قبيلة "العقيدات" التي تحالفت مع تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» - من أجل السيطرة على آبار النفط بالقرب من الميادين. وسعياً منه إلى استغلال هذا الصراع، أقدم تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، في عام 2014، على ذبح ما لا يقل عن 700 فرد من "الشعيطات"، مستهدفاً إخضاع القبيلة وثنيها عن القيام بثورة قبلية بشكل عام. ومنذ ذلك الحين، لم تقف أي قبيلة في وجه تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»»، على الرغم من هزائمه الأخيرة، لأن التنظيم الإرهابي ما زال يملك الموارد اللازمة لارتكاب المجازر. وفي غضون ذلك، شكّلت "الشعيطات" ميليشيا «لواء صقور الفرات»، التي تقاتل مع الجيش السوري في مدينة دير الزور، وحول تدمر، وجنوب الرقة، ساعيةً بالتالي إلى استعادة الأراضي التي خسرتها ومعاقبة القبائل التي تعاونت مع تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في مجزرة عام 2014. 

مطالب من الحلفاء الأمريكيين المحليين

يشعر «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» حالياً بأن الوجود الروسي في سوريا سيدوم أكثر من الوجود الأمريكي. وتعتقد الجماعة الكردية أيضاً أنه حين يوضع الغرب أمام خياريْ روج آفا وتركيا - الحليفة في "منظمة حلف شمال الأطلسي" -  فسيختار هذه الأخيرة. ويُفسِّر ذلك سبب رؤية الأكراد السوريين للشراكة مع روسيا كأفضل طريقة للحفاظ على مكاسبهم الإقليمية على المدى البعيد. وبالتالي، فإن ولاء الحزب لحلفائه التكتيكيين في الغرب مشكوك فيه إلى حدّ كبير حالياً. ونتيجةً لذلك، هناك احتمال قائم لإبرام «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» اتفاقاً سرياً، إذا لزم الأمر، مع النظام السوري وروسيا وإيران. وفي ظل هذا السيناريو، قد ترفض «قوّات سوريا الديمقراطية» مساعدة المتمردين العرب على احتلال مقاطعة دير الزور - مقابل اعتراف مزعوم بسلطتها على شمال سوريا - لأن مخاطر الانتقام ستكون عالية جداً. وفي آب/أغسطس 2016، على سبيل المثال، سمحت روسيا لتركيا بوقف التواصل [الامتداد] الكردي عبر الاستحواذ على بلدتي جرابلس والباب. واليوم، تواجه روج آفا تهديد تدخل عسكري تركي جديد في تل أبيض، الذي من شأنه أن يعرقل التواصل بين كوباني والقامشلي.  

يُذكر أنه حين أوقفت الولايات المتحدة دعمها للمتمردين السوريين في وقت سابق من هذا الصيف، أظهرت سوء نية تجاه حلفائها المزعومين. والآن، سيتردد «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» والوكلاء العرب في تأييد الاستراتيجية الأمريكية في شرق سوريا بكل إخلاص من دون وجود ضمانات جدية طويلة الأجل مثل البناء غير المحتمل لقاعدة عسكرية أمريكية دائمة ونشر عشرات الآلاف من الجنود على أرض الميدان.

 

فابريس بالونش، هو أستاذ مشارك ومدير الأبحاث في "جامعة ليون 2"، وزميل زائر في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2846

The Race for Deir al-Zour Province

Fabrice Balanche

Also available in العربية

August 17, 2017


The SDF and U.S.-supported Arab fighters likely lack the might and unity to overcome Assad-regime advances and other obstacles.

CLICK ON ANY MAP TO VIEW OR DOWNLOAD A HIGH-RESOLUTION VERSION.

After the eventual fall of Raqqa -- the capital of the Islamic State -- all eyes will scan southeast toward Deir al-Zour province, where a competition looms between U.S.-backed rebels and Syrian-regime forces, with the Kurds likely remaining on the sidelines at the outset.

Rumors and Realities

In recent months, the Syrian army has advanced in the Tadmur (Palmyra) desert and southern Raqqa province, and in the coming weeks it will turn its attention to lifting the Islamic State (IS) siege of Deir al-Zour, continuing a years-long quest to reconquer the city as a means of taking back the entire province. In particular, if the Syrian army succeeds in capturing Deir al-Zour city, it will then focus on the rich al-Omar oil fields, which account for 50 percent of Syrian production, located to the north of the Euphrates between Mayadin and Abu Kamal. At both the local and national levels, these fields will be crucial in helping Syrian president Bashar al-Assad secure allegiance from area tribes. Logically, the regime forces would then advance to the Iraqi border and join with Shia militias somewhere in the southern Sinjar Mountains. The largely Kurdish Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF) and U.S.-backed Arab rebels would thus be denied access to the lower Euphrates Valley, between Deir al-Zour and Abu Kamal, as previously occurred at al-Tanf in June 2017, when the Syrian army and Shia militias reached the Iraqi border from Tadmur.

A limited SDF offensive, however, is possible in northern Deir al-Zour province. Yet the Syrian regime and its allies will work assiduously to prevent the SDF from reaching the al-Omar oil fields, because such a development would cut off the route between Deir al-Zour city and the Iraqi border, complicating Iranian plans to create their land corridor to the Mediterranean.

This scenario runs counter to the rumors circulating in Washington about a future U.S.-backed rebel offensive in Deir al-Zour province. According to such rumors, the Arab rebels and SDF will advance on the northern shores of the Euphrates, up to Mayadin, then cross the river and travel until Abu Kamal before seizing the Iraqi border area. Thus, the Syrian army will be limited to taking Deir al-Zour city and its nearby surroundings. Such a development would allow the United States to block the planned Iranian corridor and maintain pressure on the Assad regime. On the other side of the border, the Iraqi army, not the Shia militias, would eliminate the IS presence. The Sunni Arab tribes on both sides of the border would thus be under a U.S. protectorate and the Iranian corridor project rendered moot. Even excepting geopolitical considerations not discussed here, this rosy situation is unlikely to play out, as evidenced by various clues on the ground.

First, the U.S.-backed Arab rebels -- namely, the Lions of the East (Usud al-Sharqiya), Rebel Commando Army (Jaish Maghaweer al-Thawra), and the new Deir al-Zour Liberation Brigade (Liwa Tahrir Deir al-Zour) -- number just two thousand, according to the best estimates. Such a combined force clearly cannot defeat thousands of the most seasoned IS fighters, especially considering their potential lack of motivation to fight the jihadists. Second, more than a year ago, on June 29, 2016, a rebel attempt by air to take Abu Kamal failed miserably when local tribes, fearing IS, did not carry out their revolt. Third, in spring 2017, when the rebels were attempting to advance on the ground toward Abu Kamal from al-Tanf, they were stopped by a flash offensive by Shia militias moving from Tadmur to the border. U.S. commanders have indicated a desire to transfer the Arab rebels to al-Shadadi, where they can be integrated into the SDF, thus enabling an offensive in Deir al-Zour province from the north. Yet some soldiers will likely defect to the Syrian army instead of traveling to al-Shadadi. Fourth -- and not unimportant -- the SDF command does not want to support these Arab fighters.

Faltering SDF

The true SDF command, the Democratic Union Party (PYD) -- a Syrian offshoot of the Turkey-based Kurdistan Workers Party (PKK) -- refuses to support an offensive headed by the Deir al-Zour Liberation Battalion. Instead, SDF leaders have agreed to back the Sanadid Forces (Quwat al-Sanadid), a militia led by Shammar tribesman Sheikh Hamidi Daham al-Hadi, a close ally of the Kurds. Without PYD collaboration, a U.S.-backed Arab force will struggle to challenge the Islamic State in this area. Past such strategies have always ended in bitter failure, leading the United States to abandon rebel-training programs in order to concentrate its resources on the SDF.

The SDF hesitation to bless an independent pro-U.S. force in northeastern Syria can be explained by fears of a future competitor once the Islamic State is defeated. Furthermore, the PYD wants to remain the only U.S. partner in northeastern Syria, subordinating the Arab tribes in the process. Such reasoning partly explains the deployment since fall 2016 of Kurdish troops to attack Raqqa, an Arab city that could never be integrated into Rojava, the Kurds' enclave in Syria. The PYD likewise knows that the United States guards Rojava against Turkish attack but that once Raqqa is liberated, the Syrian Kurdish group will seemingly become a dispensable ally for Washington. This begs the question of what happens then. Amid such uncertainty, the PYD has an interest in prolonging the Raqqa battle. According to Haval Gabar, who heads a YPG unit in Raqqa, the fight could last another four months. Yet no room exists for another major offensive in the meantime, allowing the Syrian army to move quietly toward Deir al-Zour.

Key Role of Arab Tribes

Amid this scene, the allegiance of area tribes is fluid, and they will seek to acquire material advantages when agreeing to any alliance. Past Assad-regime means of such control included access to water, land distribution, smuggling, and administration and army jobs. In the future, oil resources will probably be shared and some tribes will demand payment to protect the pipelines. In particular, following Russia's military intervention in September 2015, certain tribal leaders felt the wind shift and returned to the regime fold. Nawaf al-Bashir, who leads the Baggara tribal federation, made just such a move after five years of Istanbul exile.

Alongside material advantages, revenge can also push tribes toward the Syrian regime, as with the al-Shaitat. In 2014, this powerful tribe opposed another -- from the Ougaidat federation, which allied with IS -- for control of oil wells near Mayadin. Seeking to exploit this dispute, the Islamic State, in 2014, massacred at least seven hundred members of the al-Shaitat, thereby seeking to subdue the tribe and discourage tribal revolt generally. No tribe has since risen up against IS, despite its recent defeats, because the terrorist organization still has the resources to commit massacres. The al-Shaitat, meanwhile, formed a militia, the Euphrates Hawks (Liwa Suqur al-Furat), which fights with the Syrian army in Deir al-Zour city, around Tadmur, and south of Raqqa, thus seeking to reconquer lost territory and punish tribes that collaborated with IS in the 2014 massacre.

Demands by Local U.S. Allies

The PYD today senses that the Russian presence in Syria is more durable than that of the United States. The Kurdish group believes, further, that when faced with a choice between Rojava and Turkey -- a NATO ally -- the West will choose the latter. This explains why the Syrian Kurds likely see a partnership with Russia as the best way to preserve their territorial gains over the long term. The PYD's loyalty to its Western tactical allies is thus highly questionable today. A scenario thus exists in which the PYD could enter a secret agreement, if necessary, with the Syrian regime and Russia or Iran. The SDF, given such a turn, would refuse to help the Arab rebels conquer Deir al-Zour province -- in exchange for purported recognition of SDF authority over northern Syria -- because the risks of retaliation would be too high. In August 2016, for example, Russia allowed Turkey to sever Kurdish contiguity by seizing the towns of Jarabulus and al-Bab. Today, Rojava faces the threat of a new Turkish military intervention in Tal Abyad, which would disrupt contiguity between Kobane and Qamishli.

When the United States ended its support for Syrian rebels earlier this summer, it demonstrated bad faith to its purported allies. The PYD and Arab proxies will now be reluctant to wholeheartedly support the U.S. strategy in eastern Syria without serious long-term guarantees, such as the unlikely construction of a permanent U.S. military base and tens of thousands soldiers on the ground.

Fabrice Balanche, an associate professor and research director at the University of Lyon 2, is a visiting fellow at The Washington Institute.