أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2336

المنطقة الجديدة "ثلاثية الحدود": التهديدات الناشئة على طول الحدود الإسرائيلية اللبنانية السورية

بوعز غانور و حسين عبد الحسين

متاح أيضاً في English

12 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2014


"في 6 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2014، خاطب بوعز غانور وحسين عبد الحسين منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. والسيد غانور هو عميد مشارك في "كلية لودر للدراسات الحكومية" والمدير التنفيذي لـ "المعهد الدولي لبحث السياسة ضد الإرهاب" في "المركز متعدد المجالات في هرتسيليا". والسيد عبد الحسين هو مراسل صحيفة "الرأي" الكويتية في واشنطن ورئيس التحرير السابق لصحيفة "ديلي ستار" التي تصدر في بيروت. وفيما يلي ملخص المقررة لملاحظاتهما".

 

بوعز غانور

بات مفهوم تصدير ثورة آية الله الخميني الشيعية من العوامل الرئيسية التي تصيغ السياسة الخارجية الإيرانية ابتداءً من أوائل الثمانينات. وقد تكونت عندئذٍ الفكرة في إقامة هلال شيعي يضم إيران والعراق وسوريا ولبنان. ونتيجة لذلك أنشأت طهران «حزب الله»، ذراع الدولة القوي، من خلال دعم القدرات العسكرية لـ «الحزب» وجعله واحداً من أقوى الأطراف غير الحكومية الفاعلة في المنطقة.

ويملك «حزب الله» اليوم حوالي 100 ألف صاروخ وقذيفة، الأمر الذي يشكل تحدياً غير مسبوق من المنظور الإسرائيلي. وتشمل اسراتيجية «حزب الله» للجولة المقبلة من المواجهات مع إسرائيل شن هجمات مفاجئة يَطلق خلالها «الحزب» مئات أو آلاف الصواريخ يومياً عبر الحدود. ويعتقد «الحزب» أن من شأن هذه المنهجية أن تحبط قدرات إسرائيل التقنية والدفاعية. بيد، قد لا تُنفَذ هذه الجولة في أي وقت قريب، إذ تنظر إيران إلى «حزب الله» كرادع استراتيجي ضد الضربات العسكرية الإسرائيلية على منشآتها النووية، لذا فإن إطلاق العنان لقدرات «الحزب» في الوقت الراهن سيأتي بنتائج عكسية.

ويحاول «حزب الله» أيضاً الاستيلاء على المدن والقرى السورية القريبة من الحدود اللبنانية. وبدون وجود «الحزب» في سوريا، يمكن القول أن نظام بشار الأسد كان قد خسر الحرب بحلول هذا الوقت، ولكان الوضع الراهن مختلف جداً. فعندما بدأ «حزب الله» بالتدخل، انتقد العديد من اللبنانيين - بمن فيهم الشيعة - «الحزب» لإعطائه الأولوية لمصالح إيران. إلا أن ذلك تغيّر مع بروز الاعتقاد بأن الجماعات الجهادية مثل «جبهة النصرة» و تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش»)/ «الدولة الإسلامية» تهدد لبنان. ويستعيد «حزب الله» حالياً قوته السياسية في صفوف أتباعه الأساسيين، والذين يَعتقد الكثير منهم أن الجماعة تحميهم من تداعيات الوضع في سوريا.

وفي حال فوز نظام الأسد في الحرب، سيتعزز تحالفه مع إيران و «حزب الله»، الأمر الذي يشكل تحدياً أكبر بكثير بالنسبة لإسرائيل. بالإضافة إلى ذلك يكتسب «حزب الله» خبرة عسكرية من المرجح أن تجعل المعركة البرية القادمة مع إسرائيل أكثر صعوبة بكثير من المواجهات الماضية.

أما ذا انتصر الثوار في الحرب، فربما يتم تقسيم سوريا، الأمر الذي يزيد من التهديد المحتمل لشن هجمات على حدود إسرائيل. كما أن انتصار «الدولة الإسلامية» قد يشكل أيضاً تهديداً متنامياً. وقد أدت التوترات بين تنظيم «القاعدة» و «داعش» إلى انفصال الجماعتين عن بعضهما البعض، بعد أن أشار زعيم تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، أبو بكر البغدادي، إلى نفسه بصفته سلطة دينية أعلى. إن «داعش» في الوقت الحالي عبارة عن تنظيم مستقر يتمتع بعزيمة قوية وأقام منشآت مدنية وعسكرية ويحاول كسب المزيد من السيطرة في سوريا والعراق. وتنضم إليه الآن جماعات أخرى منشقة عن تنظيم «القاعدة» وتتقبل سلطة البغدادي. كما وأنّ «الدولة الإسلامية» فاعلة في تجنيد المقاتلين الأجانب بشكل فردي، وتجذب عدداً كبيراً من الجهاديين يتراوح حالياً بين 10-15 ألف جهادي في سوريا.

وفي 8 آب/أغسطس أعلن الرئيس الأمريكي أوباما عن توجيه ضربات جوية ضد «داعش»، بينما قال رئيس هيئة الأركان المشتركة في الجيش الأمريكي الجنرال مارتن ديمبسي ووزير الدفاع تشاك هيغل إن الولايات المتحدة في حالة حرب مع التنظيم. فإذا كانت هذه حرباً بالفعل، من المتوقع رؤية مستوى معين من النشاطات والكفاءة. لكن كنسبة متوسطة، يتم شن حوالي خمس ضربات جوية يومياً في العراق بقيادة الولايات المتحدة. وبالمقارنة، نتج عن الجولة الأخيرة من الاشتباكات بين إسرائيل وحركة «حماس» في غزة شن حوالي 160 ضربة جوية في اليوم. وفي 10 أيلول/سبتمبر، أعلن الرئيس أوباما أيضاً عن إطلاق حملة قصف منهجية مفتوحة ضد مقاتلي «الدولة الإسلامية» في سوريا، ولكن بعد مرور أسبوعين من ذلك الإعلان لم يتم شن سوى ثلاثة وثلاثين ضربة جوية في البلاد. ولا يبدو أن ذلك مشابهاً لحالة حرب.

 

حسين عبد الحسين

في أواخر آب/أغسطس، سيطرت مجموعة من الثوار - تضم بشكل رئيسي مقاتلين من «جبهة النصرة» - على معبر القنيطرة على الحدود السورية. ومنذ ذلك الحين، فرض الثوار سيطرتهم على حوالي 80 بالمائة من المنطقة المتاخمة للحزام منزوع السلاح الذي يخضع لحراسة قوات المراقبة الدولية التابعة للأمم المتحدة، الأمر الذي وضع «جبهة النصرة» وجهاً لوجه مع إسرائيل. لكن على الرغم من هذا القرب، أحجمت المجموعة إلى حد كبير عن مهاجمة إسرائيل. وبغية فهم الأسباب الكامنة وراء ذلك، لا بد من فهم طبيعة الحرب السورية العشائرية.

لقد أطلق المثقفون والمنظمات غير الحكومية وأعضاء المجتمع المدني هذه الثورة بهدف تحقيق الديمقراطية. ومع تفكك سلطة الحكومة المركزية - ليس فقط في سوريا بل في العراق أيضاً - لجأ الكثير من الناس مرة أخرى إلى العنصر الاجتماعي الأساسي الذي يمكن أن يوفر لهم السلامة وهو العشائر. ومنذ ذلك الحين استند جزء كبير مما حدث على السياسة العشائرية، وليس على الأيديولوجيات الكبرى.

ولا بد من الإشارة إلى أن السياسة العشائرية في هذه المنطقة معقدة للغاية. فبعض العشائر تقطن على جانبي الحدود السورية اللبنانية، مثل منطقة "وادي خالد"، التي يتبع نسب عشائرها إلى خالد بن الوليد في مدينة حمص السورية. وعندما بدأت الثورة في عام 2011، قام أفراد هذه العشائر بتهريب الأموال والأسلحة لأبناء عشائرهم على جانبي الحدود. أضف إلى ذلك أن عشائر "عرسال" تنتشر على جانبي الحدود السورية اللبنانية أيضاً، والعديد من أعضائها مقيمين في بلدة سنية لبنانية تحيط بها قرى شيعية. وقد ساعد أفراد تلك العشائر الثوار الذين قاتلوا الأسد و «حزب الله» في معارك القصير في 2012-2013. وتنحدر أغلب عشائر "عرسال" من تحالف عشائر "العنزة" وتتشابه مع عشائر "وادي خالد" وعشيرة "آل سعود" من العائلة المالكة السعودية. أما باتجاه الجنوب، فتعيش عشائر العرب مثل "حراك" و "فاعور".

ويقع الجزء الأكبر من قوات "عنزة" العشائرية الشمالية،"حراك" و "فاعور"، تحت رعاية إثنين من أبرز أعضاء البرلمان السوري: نوري الشعلان وعبد الإله ثامر الملحم، وهما مواطنيْن سعودييْن. ومنذ بدء الثورة، كان هذان الشيخان يمولان كتائب "الجيش السوري الحر" في المنطقة، وبدورها، كانت تلك الكتائب تستخدم المال لشراء الأسلحة في السوق السوداء.

وتختلف العشائر في الجزء الجنوبي من الحدود السورية في سلسلة النسب. ففي منطقة درعا في جنوب غرب سوريا هناك سبعة قبائل مستقرة (غيرمتنقلة) إلى حد كبير وتقيم هناك منذ مدة تزيد عن خمسة قرون، من بينها "الحريري" و "الرفاعي" و "المقداد". وهناك عشائر عربية ومجتمعات درزية وعشائر بدوية (على سبيل المثال، "الفضل" و "النُعيم") تعيش أيضاً بصورة منفصلة في المنطقة.

وكان والد بشار الأسد، الرئيس السوري السابق حافظ الأسد، ذو خبرة ومعرفة عميقة في التعامل مع القبائل، حيث غالباً ما كان يُعطي وظائف حكومية لأعضاء الجماعات المستقرة. وعندما تولى بشار الأسد السلطة بعد وفاة والده، كان هدفه الأساسي هو تحرير الاقتصاد. وللقيام بذلك، خفض البيروقراطية، الأمر الذي زاد البطالة بين أبناء هذه القبائل. وشكلت تلك الخطوة جزءً مهماً من استيائها من حكومته.

كما أن الإنحلال في السلطة المركزية قد دفع العشائر إلى البحث عن شركاء يتّسمون بالاستقرار. وقبل عقد من الزمن كانت هذه الدينامية قائمة في العراق ومؤخراً في سوريا. وفي الماضي، نظرت العشائر في جميع أنحاء المنطقة إلى الولايات المتحدة باعتبارها شريكاً موثوقاً به بسبب تدخلها القوي في العراق في الفترة 2006-2007، عندما أخْلت القوات الأمريكية البلدات وسلمتها لرجال العشائر التي كانت قد دربتهم. ولكن بعد عام 2009، عندما بادرت الحكومة الأمريكية بسياستها في الانسحاب من العراق، خضعت القوى العشائرية السنية لسيطرة منافسها الشيعي، رئيس الوزراء السابق نوري المالكي، الذي خفّض رواتب أبنائها وحل قيادتها. لذا بدأت هذه العشائر تبحث عن رعاة آخرين. وعلى نحو مماثل، بحثت القبائل في سوريا عن رعاة جدد عندما اندلعت الثورة في البلاد.

هذه هي البيئة التي تزدهر في إطارها «داعش» و «جبهة النصرة». فالعشائر التي بايعت أي من هاتين الجماعتين ترفع علمها وتطبق الشريعة ليس بسبب الأيديولوجية، بل مقابل السلاح والمال. وبغض النظر عن الأعضاء الأساسيين في «جبهة النصرة»، فإن الكثير من التابعين لها يستوحون تصرفهم من السياسات العشائرية المحلية.

 

أعدت هذا الملخص مارينا شلبي

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2336

The New 'Tri-Border' Region: Emerging Threats Along the Israel-Lebanon-Syria Frontier

Boaz Ganor and Hussain Abdul-Hussain

Also available in العربية

November 12, 2014


A detailed discussion of the various factors fueling or constraining chaos on Syria's borders, including Arab tribal politics, Israeli security calculations, Iranian-Hezbollah military strategy, and a seemingly hesitant U.S.-led air campaign.

On November 6, 2014, Boaz Ganor and Hussain Abdul-Hussain addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Ganor is the associate dean of the Lauder School of Government and executive director of the International Institute for Counter-Terrorism at the Interdisciplinary Center Herzliya. Abdul-Hussain is the Washington correspondent for the Kuwaiti daily al-Rai and a former editor at the Beirut Daily Star. The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks.

BOAZ GANOR

Beginning in the early 1980s, the concept of exporting Ayatollah Khomeini's Shiite revolution became one of the main factors shaping Iran's foreign policy. The idea was to establish a Shiite crescent spanning Iran, Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon. Tehran thus created Hezbollah, the state's long arm, supporting the group's military capabilities and making it one of the strongest nonstate actors in the region.

Today, Hezbollah holds approximately 100,000 rockets and missiles. From an Israeli perspective, this is an unprecedented challenge. Hezbollah's strategy for the next round of confrontation with Israel includes surprise attacks in which it would launch hundreds or thousands of missiles per day across the border. It believes this approach would neutralize Israeli technological and defensive capabilities. Yet this round might not take place anytime soon -- Iran sees Hezbollah as a strategic deterrent against Israeli military strikes on its nuclear facilities, so unleashing the group's capabilities now would be counterproductive.

Hezbollah has also been trying to take over Syrian cities and villages near the Lebanon border. Without the group's presence in Syria, Bashar al-Assad arguably would have lost the war by now, and the current situation could have been much different. When Hezbollah's intervention began, many Lebanese -- including Shiites -- criticized the group for putting Iran's interests first. But that has changed with the perception that jihadist groups such as Jabhat al-Nusra and the Islamic State of Iraq and al-Sham (ISIS) are threatening Lebanon. Hezbollah is now regaining political strength among its core constituency, many of whom believe the group is protecting them from Syrian spillover.

If Assad wins the war, his alliance with Iran and Hezbollah would be strengthened, posing a much bigger challenge to Israel. Hezbollah is also gaining military experience that will likely make the next ground fight with Israel much more difficult than past clashes.

If the rebels win the war, Syria would probably be divided, raising the potential threat of attacks on Israel's border. An ISIS victory would pose a growing threat as well. Tensions between al-Qaeda and ISIS led the two groups to split after the latter's leader, Abu-Bakr al-Baghdadi, referred to himself as a higher religious authority. ISIS is now a stabilized, determined organization that has created civilian and military facilities and is attempting to gain more control in Syria and Iraq. Other al-Qaeda splinter groups are now joining it and accepting al-Baghdadi's authority. ISIS has also been effective at recruiting foreign fighters individually, attracting a large portion of the 10,000-15,000 jihadists currently in Syria.

On August 8, President Obama announced airstrikes against ISIS in Iraq, while Joint Chiefs Chairman Martin Dempsey and Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel said that the United States is at war with the group. If this is indeed a war, a certain level of activity and efficiency is expected. On average, however, only about five American-led airstrikes occur per day in Iraq. In comparison, the last round of clashes between Israel and Hamas in Gaza produced about 160 airstrikes per day. Obama also announced a systematic open-ended bombing campaign against ISIS militants in Syria on September 10, yet only thirty-three airstrikes had been conducted there two weeks after the announcement. This does not look like a war.

HUSSAIN ABDUL-HUSSAIN

In late August, a group of rebels, mainly Jabhat al-Nusra members, took over Syria's Quneitra border crossing. Since then, rebels have established control over some 80 percent of the region bordering the demilitarized zone guarded by UN observer forces, leaving Jabhat al-Nusra face-to-face with Israel. Despite this proximity, however, the group has largely refrained from attacking Israel. To understand the reasons behind that, one must understand the tribal nature of the Syrian war.

The revolution was started by intellectuals, NGOs, and civil society members aiming for democracy. As central government authority broke down -- not only in Syria, but also in Iraq -- many people fell back on the basic social element that could provide safety, namely, the tribes. Much of what has happened since has been based on tribal politics, not grand ideologies.

Tribal politics in this region are particularly complicated. Some tribes live on both sides of the Syria-Lebanon border, such as the Wadi Khaled, who trace their genealogy back to Khaled ibn al-Walid in the Syrian city of Homs. When the revolution began in 2011, they smuggled funds and arms to their fellow tribesmen on each side of the border. The Arsal clans straddle the Syria-Lebanon border as well, many residing in a Lebanese Sunni town that is surrounded by Shiite villages. They helped the rebels who fought Assad and Hezbollah in the battles for al-Qusayr in 2012-2013. Most of the Arsal hail from the Anaza tribal confederation and are similar to both the Wadi Khaled and the Saudi royal family's al-Saud tribe. Further south are Arab clans such as the Hrak and Faour.

For the most part, the northern Anaza tribal forces, the Hrak, and the Faour are sponsored by two prominent Syrian parliamentarians: Nouri al-Shaalan and Abdul Ilah Thamer al-Melhem, both Saudi nationals. Since the revolution began, these two sheikhs have been funding Free Syrian Army battalions in the area who use the money to procure black market arms.

Tribes in the southern part of the Syria-Lebanon frontier are different in genealogy. In the Deraa area of southwestern Syria are seven largely sedentary tribes that have resided there for over five centuries, including the Hariri, Rifai, and Miqdad. Separate Arab clans, Druze communities, and Bedouin clans (e.g., al-Fadl and al-Noeim) also live in the area.

Bashar al-Assad's father, Hafiz, was savvy in dealing with tribes, often giving government jobs to members of sedentary groups. When Bashar took over, his primary goal was to liberalize the economy. To do so, he cut the bureaucracy, which raised unemployment among these tribes. That is an important part of their discontent with his government.

Breakdowns in central authority have also spurred tribes to look for stable partners. This was the dynamic in Iraq a decade ago and in Syria more recently. In the past, tribes across the region saw the United States as a reliable partner because of its strong intervention in Iraq in 2006-2007, when American troops cleared towns and handed them over to U.S.-trained tribesmen. But after 2009, when the U.S. government initiated its policy of disengagement from Iraq, Sunni tribal forces were put under their Shiite rival Nouri al-Maliki, who cut their salaries and dissolved their leadership. These tribes began looking for other sponsors. Similarly, tribes in Syria looked for new sponsors when the revolution broke out.

This is the environment in which Jabhat al-Nusra and ISIS thrive. The tribes that pledge allegiance to either of these groups raise their flags and implement sharia law not because of ideology, but in return for arms and money. Apart from Jabhat al-Nusra's core members, much of its constituency is guided by local tribal politics.

This summary was prepared by Marina Shalabi.