أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

'الملك' الجديد للمملكة العربية السعودية

سايمون هندرسون

متاح أيضاً في English

21 حزيران/يونيو 2017


كان بالإمكان التنبؤ بعملية الانتقال الأخيرة في السعودية، بعد وقت قصير من اعتلاء الملك سلمان العرش في أعقاب وفاة أخيه غير الشقيق الأكبر سناً الملك السابق عبد الله في كانون الثاني/يناير 2015. ففي غضون ثلاثة أشهر من تولّيه العرش، ثبّت الملك سلمان نجله الأمير محمد، الإبن الأكبر لزوجته الثالثة، كخلفه المقصود في النهاية. وكان السؤال الوحيد متى ستحدث عملية الانتقال. وها هي قد حدثت الآن، على الرغم من أنها تطرح أسئلة جديدة: متى سيصبح الأمير محمد بن سلمان ملكاً في الإسم وتحت أي ظروف؟

من الصعب تخمين هذه الأجوبة، ولكن لطالما كان الكثيرون ينظرون إلى سلفه المخلوع الآن، محمد بن نايف، على أنه [يشغل منصبه] لفترة زمنية مؤقتة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، على الرغم من كونه وزيراً للداخلية من ذوي الخبرة ورئيس جهاز مكافحة الإرهاب في المملكة، إلّا أنّ المرارة كانت تغمره منذ التجربة التي مرّ بها في عام 2009 عندما استقبل جهادي كان يُفترض أنه يريد الاستسلام ولكنه كان يحمل صاعقاً للتفجير؛ وقد انفجر هذا الصاعق.

إن صحة الملك سلمان هي الأخرى غير مؤكدة. وحيث يبلغ من العمر واحد وثمانين عاماً فهو يمشي بالاستعانة بعكاز، وفي لقاءاته مع الزعماء الأجانب يجلس أمام شاشة حاسوب لتذكيره بالنقاط التي يتناولها. وبعد أن كان سلمان يُعرف بسمعته كذاكرة مؤسسية لعائلة آل سعود، إلّا أنه غالباً ما يعرض حالياً مظهراً محيّراً، وأخذ يعتمد على نحو متزايد على إبنه الأمير محمد للحصول على المشورة، حيث يعتبره على ما يبدو كتجسّد جديد تقريباً للملك عبد العزيز، المعروف بابن سعود، والد الملك سلمان ومؤسس المملكة العربية السعودية عام 1932.

وخلافاً لأبناء الملك سلمان الآخرين، وأحدهم حاصل على درجة الدكتوراه من جامعة أكسفورد، لم يتم إرسال محمد بن سلمان للدراسة في الخارج. كما أن الأمير بن سلمان البالغ من العمر 31 عاماً، يرتدي الصنادل بدلاً من أحذية "غوتشي" التي يفضّلها بعض أبناء عمومته، ولا يتكلم الانجليزية بطلاقة. ويُقال إنه يسمح بتحدي وجهات نظره - ولكنه لا يغيّرها. وقد تكون قساوته أكبر مصادر قوته، أو نقاط ضعفه. وهناك اقتناع راسخ بالحكاية المتعلقة بـ "قصة الرصاصة". وكما قيل (لكاتب هذه  المقالة) من قبل أحد أبناء عمومة ولي العهد، بأن محمد بن سلمان كان قد سعى، بعد مغادرته جامعة الرياض، إلى تأسيس نفسه في مجال الأعمال التجارية. وفي مرحلة ما، كان في حاجة إلى قاضي للتوقيع على إحدى الصفقات. وعندما رفض القاضي القيام بذلك، أخرج محمد بن سلمان رصاصة من جيبه، وأخبره بأن عليه التوقيع. ونفذ القاضي الطلب لكنه اشتكى إلى العاهل السعودي آنذاك الملك عبد الله، الذي أبعد محمد بن سلمان من بلاطه لعدة أشهر.

هذا هو الشاب الذي هو في الواقع رجل التواصل الرئيسي بين بلاده والبيت الأبيض تحت رئاسة ترامب، فضلاً عن كونه مهندس الحرب في اليمن التي وصلت إلى طريق مسدود، وهو الأمير الرئيسي في السعودية الذي يعمل على استعادة جزيرتين في البحر الأحمر من مصر، والرجل المتشدد في الخصام الحالي لدول الخليج مع قطر. ويقال إنه مهووس بالخطر الذي تشكله إيران وله نظرة إيجابية نحو فتح علاقات مع إسرائيل، يوماً ما. وفوق كل ذلك، هو الحكم الرئيسي للسياسة السعودية بشأن النفط، الذي تَقلَّص سعره إلى درجة تثير قلق الرياض، وأصبح أكثر ميلاً للانخفاض مما يعرقل الطرح العام المبدئي الرائد لشركة "أرامكو" السعودية.

وبالإضافة إلى الأدوار الكثيرة التي سبق ذكرها، فإن الأمير محمد بن سلمان هو الشخصية الرائدة في «الرؤية 2030»، التي هي خطة المملكة لإصلاح اقتصادها ومجتمعها. ولا بد من تشجيع هذا التغيير، على الرغم من ضخامة الحواجز الثقافية وانخفاض عائدات النفط مما يعني أن التمويل يمثل مشكلة.

إن حصول الأمير بن سلمان على 31 صوتاً مقابل 3 أصوات - كما أفادت التقارير - لصالح تعيينه الجديد من قبل أعضاء هيئة البيعة، وهو مجموعة رئيسية من العائلة المالكة، يشير إلى أن معارضة آل سعود الواسعة لدوره الجديد قد لا تكون كبيرة كما كان متوقعاً. ولا يزال عدد قليل جداً من أعمامه [أعضاءً] في هيئة البيعة، وأولئك الذين لا يزالون على قيد الحياة ممثَّلين في الغالب من قبل أبنائهم الأكبر سناً. (في حالة واحدة على الأقل، صوَّت الإبن بنعم، بينما كان والده سيصوّت بلا).

وتشير سلسلة من التعيينات الجديدة الأخرى التي تشمل أمراء فرديين، في الثلاثينات من عمرهم أيضاً إلى حدوث تحوّل كامل في الأجيال لنظام كانت تسيطر عليه العائلة المالكة سابقاً التي تتميز بالعمر والخبرة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تُقر التعيينات الجديدة إرث الأسلاف. فقد تم نقل وزارة الداخلية إلى ابن شقيق الأمير محمد بن نايف. كما أن أحد الأشخاص الآخرين الذين تمت ترقيته هو خالد بن بندر - ابن السفير السعودي السابق في واشنطن الأمير بندر بن سلطان - الذي أصبح السفير الجديد في ألمانيا. (لقد تم بالفعل تعيين الشقيق الأصغر سناً لمحمد بن سلمان الذي وصل مؤخراً إلى العاصمة الأمريكية، [سفيراً في الولايات المتحدة]). ومن التغييرات الأخرى المتوقعة هو مصير الأمير متعب بن عبد الله، حليف الأمير محمد بن نايف، الذي لا يزال رئيس "الحرس الوطني السعودي"، وهو قوة شبه عسكرية ضخمة وقادرة، تعمل الولايات المتحد على تدريبها وتجهيزها [بالمعدات].

إن تعيين محمد بن سلمان ولياً للعهد يجب أن يؤكد على تحسّن علاقة العمل مع واشنطن في أعقاب الضغوط التي تعرضت لها خلال إدارة أوباما، وعلى رأسها إيران والاتفاق النووي. ولكن لا تزال هناك خلافات حادة بين المواقف الأمريكية والسعودية حول قضايا معيّنة، بما فيها اليمن - وعلى ما يبدو، قطر أيضاً. ولن تكن العلاقات المستقبلية متسقة بالضرورة.

 

سايمون هندرسون هو زميل "بيكر" ومدير برنامج الخليج وسياسة الطاقة في معهد واشنطن، ومؤلف مشارك في مذكرات المعهد السياسية لعام 2017 "إعادة بناء التحالفات ومكافحة التهديدات في الخليج".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

The New 'King' of Saudi Arabia

Simon Henderson

Also available in العربية

June 21, 2017


Although pro-American, now-crown-prince Muhammad bin Salman has a firm view of Saudi Arabia's place in the world and his own role in securing it.

The latest Saudi transition had been predictable since soon after King Salman ascended the throne on the death of his older half-brother Abdullah in January 2015. Within three months, Salman had positioned Muhammad bin Salman, the eldest son of his third wife, as his intended eventual successor. The only question was when the transition would occur. It has now happened, although raising new questions: When will MbS, as he is known, become king in name and under what circumstances?

Those answers are hard to guess, but the king's now-dismissed predecessor, Muhammad bin Nayef, or MbN, was long perceived by many as a stopgap. Additionally, although an experienced minister of interior and the kingdom's counterterrorism chief, he was scarred by the 2009 experience of having a supposedly surrendering jihadist meet him wearing a rectal device that exploded.

King Salman's own health is also uncertain. At eighty-one, he walks with a cane and, when meeting foreign leaders, sits before a computer screen to remind him of his talking points. Once reputed to be the House of Saud's institutional memory, Salman now often displays a puzzled visage and has leaned increasingly on MbS for advice, apparently regarding him as almost a reincarnation of King Abdulaziz, known as Ibn Saud, Salman's father and the founder in 1932 of Saudi Arabia.

Unlike Salman's other sons, one of whom has a doctorate from Oxford, MbS was not sent abroad for education. At thirty-one, MbS wears sandals rather than the Gucci shoes favored by some of his cousins, and does not speak fluent English. He is said to allow his views to be challenged -- but does not change them. His greatest strength, or weakness, may be his ruthlessness. A widely believed anecdote is "the bullet story." As told (to the author) by one of the crown prince's cousins, after leaving university in Riyadh, MbS sought to establish himself in business. At one point, he needed a judge to sign off on a deal. When the judge refused, MbS removed a bullet from his pocket and told him he had to sign. The judge acquiesced but complained to then king Abdullah, who banned MbS from his court for several months.

This is the young man who is already the main contact between his country and the Trump White House, as well as the architect of the deadlocked war in Yemen, the Saudi lead in regaining two Red Sea islands from Egypt, and a hardliner in the current Gulf row with Qatar. He is said to be obsessed with the danger posed by Iran and favorable, one day, to open relations with Israel. On top of all this, he is the key arbiter of Saudi policy on oil, the price of which is, for Riyadh, worryingly low and trending lower, imperiling the groundbreaking IPO of Saudi Aramco.

Beyond the many roles already outlined, MbS is the lead figure on Vision 2030, the kingdom's ambitious plan to reform its economy and society. Such change needs to be encouraged, although the cultural barriers are great and reduced oil revenues mean funding is problematic.

The reported 31 to 3 votes in favor of MbS's new appointment by the Allegiance Council, a key royal family conclave, indicates wider al-Saud opposition to his new role may not be as great as might have been expected. Very few of his uncles remain on the council, and those still alive are mostly represented by their eldest sons. (In one case at least, the son voted yes whereas his father would have voted no.)

A series of other new appointments of individual princes also in their thirties suggests a complete generational makeover of a system previously dominated by royals marked by age and experience. Additionally, the new appointments acknowledge legacy bloodlines. The Ministry of Interior has been passed to a nephew of MbN. Another person promoted is the son of the former Saudi ambassador to Washington Prince Bandar bin Sultan -- Khaled bin Bandar is the new ambassador to Germany. (MbS's own younger brother is already the newly arrived incumbent in DC.) One further change to be expected involves the fate of Prince Mitab bin Abdullah, an MbN ally who remains head of the Saudi Arabian National Guard, a huge and capable paramilitary force that is U.S. equipped and trained.

MbS's appointment as crown prince should confirm the improved working relationship with Washington after the strains experienced during the Obama administration, chiefly over Iran and the nuclear deal. But sharp differences remain between the U.S. and Saudi positions on certain issues, including Yemen and -- apparently -- Qatar. Future ties will not necessarily be harmonious.

Simon Henderson is the Baker Fellow and director of the Gulf and Energy Policy Program at The Washington Institute, and coauthor of its 2017 Transition Paper "Rebuilding Alliances and Countering Threats in the Gulf."