أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2064

محاكمة جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين» في الإمارات العربية المتحدة

لوري بلوتكين بوغارت

متاح أيضاً في English

12 نيسان/أبريل 2013


في 16 نيسان/أبريل، سيلتقي ولي عهد أبوظبي الشيخ محمد بن زايد آل نهيان -- الذي من المتوقع أن يصبح الرئيس القادم لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة -- مع الرئيس أوباما في البيت الأبيض لمناقشة "العلاقات القوية والدائمة" بين البلدين و "المصالح الاستراتيجية المشتركة لمنطقة الخليج والشرق الأوسط الأوسع". ومن بين المواضيع التي من المؤكد أنها ستكون في طليعة مباحثاتهما هي الإجراءات الأمنية الأخيرة التي اتخذتها الإمارات العربية المتحدة لاستهداف جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين» المحلية المعروفة باسم دعوة "الإصلاح" [أو جماعة "الإصلاح"]. وتجري محاكمة أربعة وتسعين شخصاً -- معظمهم من أعضاء "الإصلاح" كانوا قد اعتقلوا خلال العام الماضي -- بتهمة التنسيق مع جماعات أجنبية والتآمر للاستيلاء على السلطة، من بين تهم أخرى، وهناك توقعات واسعة النطاق بأن ولي العهد هو العقل المدبر وراء فرض تلك القيود الصارمة.

علاقة طويلة الأمد ومعقدة

بقيت جماعة "الإصلاح" مشتبكة لفترة طويلة في الشؤون الداخلية لدولة الإمارات، ويعود تواجد «الإخوان» في البلاد إلى عقد من الزمان قبل أن تصبح الإمارات دولة مستقلة. ففي أواخر خمسينيات وستينيات القرن الماضي، وصل أعضاء من جماعة «الإخوان» المصرية الهاربين من قمع نظام جمال عبد عبد الناصر إلى دول الخليج حيث فتحت لهم تلك البلدان أحضانها. وقد اعتبرهم حكام المنطقة ثقل موازنة مريح لمشاعر القومية العربية، التي اعتبروها تهديداً متنامياً لهم في ذلك الوقت. وقد قام المصريون أصحاب التأثير بتجنيد محليين بانتظام، وفي عام 1974 -- بعد ثلاث سنوات من استقلال الإمارات العربية المتحدة عن بريطانيا -- أسس الإماراتيون جماعة "الإصلاح" بموافقة حاكم دبي الشيخ راشد بن سعيد آل مكتوم.

وقد حظي أعضاء دعوة "الإصلاح" بنفوذ هائل في الدولة الجديدة، خلال سبعينيات وثمانينيات القرن الماضي، مع تولي العديد منهم مناصب رفيعة في قطاعات التعليم والعدل -- بما في ذلك منصب وزير التربية والتعليم -- وصياغة المناهج الدراسية في البلاد. وبحلول عقد التسعينات، وفقاً لأحد المحللين المحليين البارزين، هيمن أولئك الأعضاء من جماعة "الإصلاح" على الاتحادات الطلابية وجمعية المعلمين وجمعية الحقوقيين واستخدموا تلك المنظمات كسبل لتحقيق مصالح "الجماعة". وقد ازدهر نفوذ "الإصلاح" وأصبحت السلطات الإماراتية تنظر إلى «الإخوان» على أنهم يمثلون تهديداً إسلامياً خطيراً يناقض وجهة نظر الحكومة الأكثر تسامحاً للإسلام ودوره في الدولة. وفي بداية التسعينات، توصل تحقيق مصري أُجري بموافقة أبوظبي إلى أن إحدى لجان "الجماعة" الإماراتية قدمت إسهامات إلى أفراد ينتمون إلى منظمة إرهابية مصرية.

ومنذ ذلك الحين، بذلت الحكومة جهوداً كبيرة وإن متقطعة للحد من نمو جماعة "الإصلاح" ونقل أفكارها وصلاتها الخارجية إلى غيرها من خلال سبل كثيرة من بينها التواصل المباشر مع أعضائها. فعلى سبيل المثال، في عام 2003، تقابل ولي العهد المرتقب مع موظفين محليين من قطاع التعليم من المنتمين إلى «الإخوان»، وتحدثت التقارير بأنه حثهم على الاختيار بين التخلي عن عقيدتهم الإسلامية، أو وقف الدعوة العامة لأفكارهم، أو البقاء منتمين لـ «الإخوان» لكن مع نقلهم من قطاع التعليم. وقد انتهت الاجتماعات دون التوصل إلى اتفاق، وقامت الحكومة في النهاية بنقل العديد من أولئك الأفراد إلى وظائف بوزارات أخرى لتقليل تأثيرهم على الشباب الإماراتي.

أعمال القمع الحالية

ترتبط مخاوف الإمارات من جماعة "الإصلاح" في هذه الأيام بصعود الإسلاميين عبر أنحاء الشرق الأوسط في أعقاب الانتفاضات العربية، ولا سيما فيما يتعلق بمصر، مسقط رأس «الإخوان المسلمين» ونواتها. وتشعر أبوظبي بالقلق من أن تسعى دعوة "الإصلاح" إلى تحقيق نفس الهدف السياسي الذي حققه «الإخوان» في مصر -- بتوليها السلطة بعد الإطاحة بالحكومة. وفي الأسبوع الماضي ألمح قائد شرطة دبي اللواء ضاحي خلفان المعروف بصراحته إلى وجود أدلة لدى الحكومة بأن "الجماعة" تخطط للإطاحة بحكام الخليج، وأن الأفراد الذين يحاكمون حالياً قد وصلوا إلى مرحلة متقدمة في خططهم المثيرة للفتن قبل أن يتم اعتقالهم.

ومن بين المشتبه بهم البالغ عددهم أربعة وتسعين عضواً من أعضاء دعوة "الإصلاح" هناك أفراد طالبوا بالإفراج عن أعضاء جماعة "الإمارات 7" -- وهم مجموعة من أعضاء "الإصلاح" جُردوا من جنسيتهم في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2011 بسبب ما زُعم بأنهم يشكلون تهديداً أمنياً، وتم اعتقالهم في نيسان/ أبريل/ 2012 -- إلى جانب مؤيديهم وأفراد أسرهم وآخرين أعربوا عن وجهات نظر انشقاقية، وأعضاء جماعة "الإمارات 7" أنفسهم. وهناك العديد من الشخصيات البارزة في صفوف المعتقلين من بينهم: حمد رقيط، أحد مؤسسي "جماعة الإصلاح" من الشارقة؛ وعيسى السويدي، المدير السابق لمنطقة أبوظبي التعليمية؛ وأحمد بن غيث السويدي، موظف مدني رفيع المستوى واقتصادي معروف؛ والمدونون خليفة النعيمي وراشد الشامسي وعمران رضوان. وينتمي السويدي والشامسي والنعيمي إلى بعض أكبر القبائل في دولة الإمارات وأكثرها نفوذاً. كما تجري محاكمة المحامين محمد المنصوري ومحمد الركن وسالم الشحي. والركن هو أحد أبرز المحامين في البلاد في مجال حقوق الإنسان، وكان قد ساعد في الدفاع عن اثنين من أعضاء جماعة "الإمارات 5" (اتُهما في عام 2011 بإهانة السلطات علناً ​​ولكن تم الإعفاء عنهما في النهاية)، وكذلك أعضاء جماعة "الإمارات 7". وتم اعتقال الشحي لدى وصوله إلى مكتب نيابة أمن الدولة لتمثيل الركن.

تكمن القاعدة الشعبية لـ دعوة "الإصلاح" في رأس الخيمة والشارقة وغيرها من المناطق الأكثر فقراً شمال الإمارات. وقد تلقت "الجماعة" -- التي قد يصل عدد أعضاؤها إلى20,000  شخص من بين السكان الذي يزيد عددهم عن مليون مواطن فقط من الذين يحملون الجنسية الإماراتية -- معاملة خاصة من قبل القادة المحليين هناك، وينحدر العديد ممن يخضعون للمحاكمة من تلك المناطق. ويشكو سكان الشمال من ارتفاع معدلات البطالة وسوء الخدمات العامة والبنية التحتية وانعدام الفرص -- وهي ظروف كانت تشكل جانباً هاماً من الفوران الثوري في دول عربية أخرى. كما ينظرون أيضاً إلى الاختلافات الصارخة بين ظروفهم المعيشية وحالة البهرجة التي يعيشها سكان أبوظبي ودبي في الجنوب. وبعيداً عن التهديدات المحددة، قد يمثل استهداف الحكومة لـ جماعة "الإصلاح" في هذه المناطق جهداً أكثر عمومية لوأد أي تعبير عن السخط في مهده. ولا توفر الصفة الملكية حتى حماية في تلك الحالات -- فقد تم اعتقال رئيس دعوة "إلإصلاح" الشيخ سلطان بن كايد القاسمي، ابن عم حاكم رأس الخيمة، في نيسان/أبريل 2012 وهو يواجه المحاكمة أيضاً.

تقييم التهديد

لقد شاب المحاكمة حتى الآن مناخ من السرية والتخويف. فقد مُنع المراقبون القانونيون الدوليون ووسائل الاعلام الأجنبية من المشاركة ورفع تقارير مباشرة عن إجراءات القضية -- ولم يُسمح بحضور سوى وسائل الإعلام المحلية التي وافقت عليها الحكومة. وفي الشهر الماضي، تم اعتقال إماراتي، والده من بين المتهمين بسبب نشره "أكاذيب" عن المحاكمة من خلال تغريداته على موقع "تويتر"، وذلك في انتهاك لقانون جديد يحظر مثل هذا النشاط؛ وفي 8 نيسان/أبريل، حكم عليه بالسجن لمدة عشرة أشهر بسبب الأعمال التي قام بها. كما أن المعلومات العامة حول التهم محدودة هي الأخرى. فوفقاً لتقرير صادر عن أربعة مجموعات لحقوق الإنسان، يشكل اعتراف أحمد بن غيث السويدي الذي تم الحصول عليه من خلال التعذيب أثناء الحبس الانفرادي الذي قضاه في مكان سري لمدة عام، الدليل الجوهري لتلك التهم.

وفي هذا المناخ، من المستحيل تقييم الأوضاع المتعلقة بالتهم، وفيما إذا كانت الحكومة تواجه تهديداً حقيقياً حول قيام المتهمين بالتآمر ضدها، وإذا كان الأمر كذلك، ما مداه. ويوفر الأسلوب الذي تتبعه فروع «الإخوان» الأخرى في المنطقة بعض الدروس بشأن أنشطة جماعة "الإصلاح". فمن ناحية، تقبل معظم الفروع القيادة المشتركة للمرشد العام لـ جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين». ومن ناحية أخرى، تعمل المواثيق الوطنية عموماً بطريقة تتناسب مع الظروف المحلية الخاصة بكل بلد، وهي تختلف أحياناً في وجهات نظرها السياسية. وعلى الرغم من أن الفروع تتشاور مع بعضها البعض وتتعاون أحياناً في جمع الأموال، إلا أنها تبقى ضعيفة الارتباط.

التداعيات السياسية

ستكون هناك تداعيات هامة لنتيجة المحاكمة، لا سيما إذا تمخض عنها إدانة المدعى عليهم بتهمة التحريض وإثارة الفتنة. إن صدور حكم بالإدانة يشمل عرض أدلة مُقنعة سوف يسيء لسمعة دعوة "الإصلاح" على الصعيد المحلي والدولي، ويجرئ الحكومة على اتخاذ إجراءات إضافية مستقبلية ضد "الجماعة" بدعم خارجي قوي. ومع ذلك، فدون قيام مثل هذه الأدلة، فإن الإدانة سوف تترك أبوظبي عرضة لاتهامات دولية بأنها تقوم بقمع الدعوات السلمية من أجل الإصلاح. وكان بعض الخاضعين للمحاكمة من بين أكثر من 100 إماراتي وقّعوا على عريضة لم يسبق لها مثيل إلى الشيخ الرئيس خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان و"المجلس الأعلى الاتحادي" في البلاد في 9 آذار/مارس 2011، عندما بدأت الانتفاضات العربية تكتسح المنطقة. وتدعو العريضة إلى إجراء انتخابات شاملة ومنح سلطة تشريعية كاملة إلى "المجلس الوطني الاتحادي"، وهو حالياً هيئة استشارية يتم انتخابها جزئياً من قائمة مختارة توافق عليها الحكومة. كما يخضع للمحاكمة أنصار للموقعين على العريضة وبعض أفراد عائلاتهم.

ومهما يكون قرار الحكم، من المرجح أن تقوم جماعة "الإصلاح" بتكثيف أنشطتها السياسية. وبناءً عليه، ينبغي على واشنطن أن تشجع أبوظبي على تعزيز مكانتها في الداخل والخارج من خلال تقديم أدلة للجمهور حول الجرائم المزعومة.

 

لوري بلوتكين بوغارت هي زميلة في برنامج سياسة الخليج في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2064

The Muslim Brotherhood on Trial in the UAE

Lori Plotkin Boghardt

Also available in العربية

April 12, 2013


Washington should encourage the UAE to publicly present its evidence against the local Brotherhood group al-Islah, several of whose members are being tried for subversion.

On April 16, Abu Dhabi's Crown Prince Sheikh Muhammad bin Zayed al-Nahyan -- in line to be the next president of the United Arab Emirates -- will meet with President Obama at the White House to discuss the two countries' "strong and enduring ties" and "common strategic interests for the Gulf region and broader Middle East." One topic sure to be at the forefront of their minds is the UAE's recent security actions targeting the local Muslim Brotherhood group al-Islah ("Reform"). Ninety-four individuals -- most of them al-Islah members arrested over the past year -- are on trial for coordinating with foreign groups and plotting to seize power, among other charges, and the crown prince is widely conjectured to be at the center of the clampdown.

A LONG AND TANGLED RELATIONSHIP

Al-Islah has long been entwined in the UAE's national affairs, and the Brotherhood's presence stretches back a decade before the Emirates became an independent state. In the late 1950s and 1960s, Egyptian Brotherhood members escaping Gamal Abdul Nasser's crackdown arrived in the Gulf and were originally embraced there. The region's rulers regarded them as a convenient counterweight to Arab nationalist sentiment, which they saw as a growing threat at the time. The influential Egyptians steadily recruited locals, and in 1974 -- three years after the UAE's independence from Britain -- Emiratis formed al-Islah with the approval of Dubai ruler Sheikh Rashid bin Saeed al-Maktoum.

Al-Islah members gained considerable influence in the new state during the 1970s and 1980s, with many assuming high posts in the education and justice sectors -- including the cabinet-level position of education minister -- and crafting the nation's curriculum. By the 1990s, they dominated student governments, the teachers association, and the jurists association, using these venues to pursue the organization's interests, according to one prominent local analyst. As al-Islah's influence flourished, UAE authorities came to regard the Brotherhood as a creeping Islamist threat contradicting the government's more tolerant view of Islam and its role in the state. In the early 1990s, an Egyptian investigation conducted with Abu Dhabi's approval found that one of the UAE group's committees had made contributions to individuals belonging to an Egyptian terrorist organization.

Since then, the government has made intermittent but considerable efforts to restrain al-Islah's growth, proselytization, and foreign links, including by directly engaging its members. For example, in 2003, the soon-to-be crown prince met with local Brotherhood education-sector employees, reportedly urging them to choose between renouncing their Islamist ideology, ceasing the public propagation of their ideas, or remaining affiliated with the Brotherhood but transferring out of the education sector. The meetings concluded without agreement, and the government eventually transferred many such individuals to other ministry posts to decrease their influence on young Emiratis.

CURRENT CRACKDOWN

Today, UAE anxieties about al-Islah are linked to the Islamist ascendance across the Middle East in the wake of the Arab uprisings, especially with regard to Egypt, the Brotherhood's birthplace and nucleus. Abu Dhabi is concerned that al-Islah seeks the same political goal the Brotherhood achieved in Egypt -- to assume power following the government's overthrow. Last week, outspoken Dubai police chief Gen. Dahi Khalfan alluded to government evidence that the group has been plotting to topple Gulf rulers, and that the individuals currently on trial had reached an advanced stage in their seditious plans before being detained.

The ninety-four suspects include individuals who have demanded the release of the "UAE 7" -- a group of al-Islah members who were stripped of their citizenship in December 2011 for allegedly posing a security threat and detained in April 2012 -- as well as their supporters, family members, others who have expressed nonconforming views, and the UAE 7 themselves. Many prominent figures are among them: Hamad Roqait, an al-Islah cofounder from Sharjah; Essa al-Suwaidi, former director of the Abu Dhabi educational zone; Ahmed bin Ghaith al-Suwaidi, a senior civil servant and renowned economist; and bloggers Khalifa al-Nuaimi, Rashid al-Shamsi, and Omran al-Radhwan. The Suwaidis, Shamsi, and Nuaimi belong to some of the UAE's largest and most influential tribes. Lawyers Mohammed al-Mansoori, Mohammed al-Roken, and Salim al-Shehhi are also on trial. Roken is one of the country's most prominent human-rights lawyers and helped defend two of the "UAE 5" (charged in 2011 with publicly insulting authorities and eventually pardoned) as well as the UAE 7. Shehhi was detained upon arriving at the state security prosecution office to represent Roken.

Al-Islah's popular base lies in Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah, and other poorer northern regions of the UAE. The group -- whose membership may be as high as 20,000 out of a population of just over one million Emirati citizens -- has received special treatment by local leaders there, and many of those on trial hail from these areas. Northerners complain of high unemployment, poor public services and infrastructure, and lack of opportunity -- circumstances that have been an important aspect of revolutionary fervor in other Arab states. They also witness the glaring discrepancy between their living conditions and the glitz and glitter of Abu Dhabi and Dubai to the south. Beyond specific threats, the government's targeting of al-Islah in these regions may represent a more general effort to nip expression of discontent in the bud. Not even royal status provides protection in such cases -- al-Islah chairman Sheikh Sultan bin Kayed al-Qasimi, cousin to the ruler of Ras al-Khaimah, was detained in April 2012 and is also on trial.

ASSESSING THE THREAT

A climate of secrecy and intimidation has hung over the trial thus far. International legal observers and foreign media are banned from attending and reporting firsthand on the proceedings -- only government-sanctioned local media are permitted. Last month, an Emirati whose father is among the defendants was arrested for tweeting "falsehoods" about the trial in violation of a new law banning such activity; on April 8, he was sentenced to ten months in jail for his actions. Public information on the charges is limited as well. According to a report by four human-rights groups, the central piece of evidence is a confession by Ahmed bin Ghaith al-Suwaidi, extracted by torture during a year in solitary confinement at a secret location.

In this climate, it is impossible to assess whether the government faces a real threat of subversion from the defendants and, if so, the extent of it. The modus operandi of other Brotherhood branches in the region offers few lessons about al-Islah's activities. On one hand, most branches accept the common leadership of the Egyptian Brotherhood's "general guide." On the other hand, national chapters generally operate in a way that they find appropriate for their own local conditions, and they sometimes differ in their political views. Although branches consult with each other and occasionally cooperate in fundraising, they remain loosely linked.

POLICY IMPLICATIONS

The trial's outcome will have important implications, especially if the tribunal convicts the defendants of sedition. A guilty verdict that includes public display of convincing evidence would stigmatize al-Islah locally and internationally, emboldening the government to take future action against the group with strong foreign support. Without such evidence, however, a conviction would leave Abu Dhabi vulnerable to international charges of suppressing peaceful calls for reform. Some of those on trial were among the more than 100 Emiratis who signed an unprecedented petition to President Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed al-Nahyan and the country's Federal Supreme Council on March 9, 2011, as Arab uprisings began to sweep the region. The petition called for holding comprehensive elections and granting full legislative authority to the Federal National Council, currently an advisory body that is partially elected by a select, government-sanctioned list. Supporters and family members of the petition signers are also on trial.

Whatever the verdict, al-Islah will likely intensify its political activities. Accordingly, Washington should encourage Abu Dhabi to strengthen its own position at home and abroad by publicly presenting evidence of the alleged crimes.

Lori Plotkin Boghardt is a fellow in Gulf politics at The Washington Institute.