أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2325

أول مستعمرة لـ «الدولة الإسلامية» في ليبيا

هارون ي. زيلين

متاح أيضاً في English

10 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2014


يواصل تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»/«داعش» هجماته في العراق وسوريا، وفي الوقت نفسه يكتسب باطراد دعماً من أفراد وجماعات في جميع أنحاء العالم. وقد يكون التطوّر الأكثر أهمية [الذي طرأ أخيراً هو الإعراب الذي صدر] من قبل جماعة جهادية عالمية جديدة نسبياً نشأت في ليبيا باسم «مجلس شورى شباب الإسلام» [عن تأييدها لهذا التنظيم]، وأعلنت أيضاً في نهاية الأسبوع الماضي بأن مدينة درنة تُعتبر الآن جزءاً من "خلافة" «الدولة الإسلامية». وعلى الرغم من أنّ قادة «داعش» لم يعلّقوا على هذا الإعلان ولم "يضمّوا" المدينة رسمياً إلى «الدولة الإسلامية»، تبيّن خطوة «مجلس شورى شباب الإسلام» («المجلس») نهجاً للتوسّع يُحتمل اعتماده في المستقبل يختلف عن نموذج تنظيم «القاعدة» [القاضي بمنح امتيازات لتنظيمات مختلفة في جميع أنحاء العالم]. ويمكن أن توضِّح هذه الخطوة أيضاً كيف أنّه قد لا تكون هناك أيّ أهمية للحدود الوطنية والمساحات المتجاورة فيما يتعلق بالكيفية التي سيوسّع بموجبها تنظيم «داعش» خلافته إلى ما هو أبعد من بلاد الشام وبلاد مابين النهرين.

من هو «مجلس شورى شباب الإسلام»؟

في 4 نيسان/أبريل، أعلن تنظيم «مجلس شورى شباب الإسلام» عن وجوده عندما نزلت عناصره الملثمة إلى شوارع درنة - مدينة يبلغ عدد سكانها حوالي 80,000 نسمة وتقع على ساحل البحر المتوسط ​​على بُعد 150 كيلومتر تقريباً شرق بنغازي. وأعلن أولئك الملثمين، الذين كانوا يرتدون الزيّ العسكري، ويقودون الشاحنات، ويلوّحون بقاذفات قنابل تدفعها الصواريخ، والمدافع الرشاشة، ومدافع مضادة للطائرات، أنهم سيشكّلون القوة الأمنية الجديدة في المدينة ويطبّقون فيها حكم الشريعة. ويقيناً، لا يشكل «مجلس شورى شباب الإسلام» التنظيم المتمرد الوحيد القائم في درنة، كما أنه لم يتمكن من احتكار التحكّم بشؤون المدينة منذ نيسان/أبريل. بيد، في الوقت الذي لا يُعرف الكثير عن قادة الجماعة وأعضائها الفرديين، من الواضح أنّها حاولت الالتزام برسالتها الأصلية.

في 13 أيار/مايو، بدأ «المجلس» بإجراء دوريات أمنية في أجزاء من درنة، وبحلول منتصف آب/أغسطس، كان قد سيطر على مستشفى "الهريش"، في خطوة تذكّرنا بالكيفية التي قام  بها الفصيل الجهادي الآخر، كتائب «أنصار الشريعة في ليبيا»، بتأمين مستشفى "الجلاء" في بنغازي، مما جعل هذه الكتائب تظهر كجماعة تتمتع بحسن النية بعد معارضة الكثير من المدنيين لها في أعقاب الهجوم الذي وقع على القنصلية الأمريكية عام 2012. وعلاوةً على ذلك، ففي 18 أيار/مايو، بدأ «مجلس شورى شباب الإسلام» بملء صفحته الرسمية على موقع الـ "فيسبوك" ببيانات من لجنته الشرعية عن أفراد - من بينهم أعضاء في الحكومة الليبية "المرتدة" وقوات متمردة أخرى، وعينة عشوائية من المواطنين - كانوا  قد "تابوا" وانضموا إلى صفوف الجماعة، وهو تكتيك يستخدمه أيضاً تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». ومنذ ذلك الحين، تمّ نشر بيانات عن حوالى مائة أو أكثر من هؤلاء الأفراد. بالإضافة إلى ذلك وفي 12 آب/أغسطس، نزل كثيرون من أعضاء «مجلس شورى شباب الإسلام» إلى الشوارع للمطالبة بتطبيق الشريعة، في حين نشرت لجنة الشريعة أطروحة معادية للديمقراطية على شبكة الإنترنت بتاريخ 20 آب/أغسطس.

وفي الوقت نفسه، بدأ «المجلس» بتطبيق "الحسبة" (المساءلة) في درنة، مطالباً الأفراد بتفسير سلوكهم "غير الإسلامي،" وكان ذلك يتمّ أحياناً من خلال الاقتصاص غير القانوني. على سبيل المثال، نشر التنظيم على صفحاته على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي في 1 حزيران/يونيو و 30 آب/أغسطس كيف قام بمصادرة مخدرات وكحول. وبدأت الجماعة أيضاً بتطبيق "الحدود" الشرعية (عقوبات جنائية بموجب الشريعة) في منتصف تموز/يوليو، وتمادت في ذلك إلى حدّ أنها نفّذت إعداماً علنياً في ملعب لكرة القدم في 18 آب/أغسطس ، يذكّر بعمليات الإعدام التي نفّذتها حركة طالبان. وقد جلبت تلك الإجراءات سمعة سيّئة لـ «المجلس» بين بعض السكان، ولكنها زرعت أيضاً خوفاً كبيراً في قلوبهم.

«مجلس شورى شباب الإسلام» و «الدولة الإسلامية»

فضلاً عن استخدامه أيقونية «داعش»، وأبرزها راية التنظيم السوداء، أصدر «مجلس شورى شباب الإسلام» أيضاً بياناً في 22 حزيران/يونيوأظهر فيه دعمه لـ «الدولة الإسلامية» وزعيمه أبو بكر البغدادي. ومن جملة ما قال فيه: "لزاماً علينا نحن في مجلس شورى شباب الإسلام، نصرة هذه الدولة الإسلامية المظلومة، التي عاداها القريب و البعيد سواءً من الكفار، أو المنافقين، أو مرضى النفوس". وتابع البيان: "فدولة الإسلام باقية - بإذن الله - لأنه ما كان لله دام واتصل، وما كان لغيره انقطع وانفصل".  

وقد جاء ذلك البيان قبل الإدعاء الرسمي الذي صدر في 3 أكتوبر/تشرين الأول، والذي اعتبر الأراضي التي يسيطر عليها «مجلس شورى شباب الإسلام» في مدينة درنة جزءاً من الخلافة، تلك الأراضي التي أطلق عليها فيما بعد اسم "ولاية درنة" التي هي جزءاً من «الدولة الإسلامية». وقد يكون إصدار هذا الإدعاء الأخير قد جاء رداً على مزاعم تحدّثت عن إرسال «داعش» مؤخراً 15 من عناصرها من سوريا إلى درنة. وللاحتفال بالإعلان، نظّم «مجلس شورى شباب الإسلام» منتدىً في "جامع الصحابة" باسم "الخلافة على منهاج النبوة،" وهو شعار كان تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» يستخدمه في العام الماضي. وقد شارك المئات من الناس في تلك الفعالية. فبالإضافة إلى الخُطب والألعاب الترفيهية للأطفال، كشف المنتدى عن عَلَم «داعش» وسيارات تابعة لـ «مجلس شورى شباب الإسلام» كُتبت عليها عبارة "الشرطة الإسلامية"، بالإضافة إلى كلمة "الحسبة" بالخط العريض على القسم العلوي من بعض السيارات، بينما كُتبت عبارة "الأمر بالمعروف والنهي عن المنكر" على القسم السفلي منها وفي نص أصغر من سابقاتها من الكلمات. كما قدّم المنظمون أيضاً "نشيداً" نشرته "مؤسسة أجناد للإنتاج الإعلامي"، التي هي المنفذ الإعلامي التابع لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية».

وفي خضمّ أجواء الاحتفال موضع الحديث، لم يكن الجميع في درنة راضياً عن ذلك التحول في الأحداث. وفي 7 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، أعرب الفصيل المتمرد الرئيسي «كتيبة شهداء ابوسليم» - إلى جانب بعض السكان المحليين - عن عدم رضاه عن إعلان «مجلس شورى شباب الإسلام»، بقوله أنه لن يعلن "البيعة" مطلقاً إلى أي شخص خارج ليبيا. ويعتقد إنّ الجماعتيْن متورطتان في معركة ضروس في أجزاء من درنة، الأمر الذي خلّف العديد من القتلى والجرحى في الأسابيع القليلة الماضية. وتُلقي مثل هذه التطورات ظلالاً من الشك على إمكانية استدامة مشروع «مجلس شورى شباب الإسلام»؛ يتعيّن على هذا التنظيم أن يشحذ المزيد من القدرات إذا أراد لولايته التابعة لـ "الخلافة" أن تستمرّ على المدى الطويل. ولكن مع ذلك، لا يمكن تجاهل تاريخ درنة المليء بالعلاقات مع حركات جهادية في بلدان أخرى. فعلى سبيل المثال، عندما عثرت القوات الأمريكية في العراق على قائمةً بأسماء المقاتلين المتمردين الأجانب في البلاد عام 2007، كان 52 من الليبيين الـ 112 المذكورين على تلك القائمة من درنة.

نموذج جديد؟

على الرغم من غياب البيانات الرسمية من «داعش» بشأن هذه المسألة، قد تشكّل المناورة التي قام بها «مجلس شورى شباب الإسلام» في ليبيا نموذجاً لاستحواذ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» مستقبلاً على أراضٍ خارج قاعدته في العراق وسوريا. ولا تزال قدرات القيادة والسيطرة موضع أسئلة، حيث قد تكون هناك حاجة إلى تلك القدرات لتحقيق سيناريو مشابه، فضلاً عن الشؤون اللوجستية المترتبة على حشد مقاتلين أجانب وشبكات تيسير على نطاق واسع. وسيختلف هذا النموذج أيضاً اختلافاً هائلاً عن طريقة عمل تنظيم «القاعدة» في الماضي، إذ كان هذا الأخير يعتمد بالأساس على الامتيازات [التي منحها] للمنظمات المحلية المستقلة.

ومهما يترتّب عن الإعلان الذي أصدره «مجلس شورى شباب الإسلام»، فإنه يسلط الضوء على الجاذبية المستمرة التي تتمتع بها «داعش» في أنحاء كثيرة من العالم خارج حدود العراق وسوريا، وعلى كادر المقاتلين الأجانب المتوفّر في تلك البلدان وحولها. يتعيّن على الحكومات في مختلف أنحاء العالم أن تدرك أنه لا يمكن تجاهل «داعش» أو غضّ النظر عنها، وأن الجماعة غير محدودة في بقعة جغرافية معيّنة. بل على العكس من ذلك، يبدو أنّ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» يبعث الصحوة في قلوب الكثير من أتباعهه المحتملين في مختلف أصقاع الدنيا.

 

هارون ي. زيلين هو زميل ريتشارد بورو في معهد واشنطن ومؤسس موقع jihadology.net .

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2325

The Islamic State's First Colony in Libya

Aaron Y. Zelin

Also available in العربية

October 10, 2014


A local jihadist group has claimed a Libyan city in the name of ISIS, showing how the "Islamic State" could flout traditional notions of territorial contiguity by expanding its "borders" well beyond Iraq and Syria.

As the Islamic State/ISIS continues its offensives in Iraq and Syria, it is steadily gaining support from individuals and groups around the world. Most significantly, a relatively new global jihadist group in Libya -- Majlis Shura Shabab al-Islam (the Islamic Youth Shura Council), or MSSI -- announced last weekend that its claimed territory in the city of Darnah was now part of the ISIS "caliphate." Although ISIS leaders have not commented on this proclamation or formally "annexed" this land into the Islamic State, MSSI's move suggests a potential future approach to expansion that differs from al-Qaeda's franchising model. It could also illustrate how national borders and contiguous landmass may be irrelevant to how ISIS will grow its caliphate beyond the Levant and Mesopotamia.

WHO IS MAJLIS SHURA SHABAB AL-ISLAM?

MSSI publicly announced its existence on April 4, when masked members of the group took to the streets of Darnah, a city of 80,000 on the Mediterranean coast about 150 miles east of Benghazi. Wearing military uniforms, driving pickup trucks, and brandishing rocket-propelled grenade launchers, machine guns, and antiaircraft cannons, they declared that they would be the city's new security force and would institute sharia (Islamic law). To be sure, MSSI is not the only rebel force in Darnah, nor has it been able to monopolize the city's affairs since April. Yet while little is known about its individual leaders and members, the group has clearly attempted to follow through on its original message.

On May 13, MSSI began conducting security patrols in parts of Darnah, and by mid-August it had taken control of al-Huraysh Hospital -- akin to how another jihadist faction, Ansar al-Sharia in Libya, provided security for al-Jala Hospital in Benghazi, which won the group goodwill after many civilians turned against it following the 2012 attack on the American consulate. Moreover, on May 18, MSSI began filling its official Facebook page with statements from its sharia committee about individuals -- including members of the "apostate" Libyan government, other rebel forces, and random citizens -- who had "repented" and joined the group, a tactic also used by ISIS. Since then, as many as a hundred or more such individuals have been publicized. In addition, many MSSI members took to the streets on August 12 to demonstrate for the institution of sharia, while the sharia committee published an antidemocratic treatise online on August 20.

Meanwhile, MSSI began to conduct hisba (accountability) within Darnah, essentially calling individuals to account for their "non-Islamic" behavior, sometimes through vigilantism. For example, on June 1 and August 30, the group's social media pages highlighted how it had confiscated drugs and alcohol. The group also instituted hudoud (criminal punishments under sharia) in mid-July, going so far as to perform a Taliban-esque public execution at a soccer stadium on August 18. These actions have given MSSI a negative reputation among some of the populace, but also instilled deep fear.

MSSI AND THE ISLAMIC STATE

Along with using ISIS iconography, most notably the group's black flag, MSSI also released a statement on June 22 showing its support for the Islamic State and its leader Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi: "It is incumbent on us to support this oppressed Islamic State that is taken as an enemy by those near and those far, among the kuffar (infidels) or the munafeqin (hypocrites) or those with marda al-nafous (deceased souls) alike." The statement continued: "fa-dawlat al-Islam baqiyah (so the Islamic State shall remain) by the will of God because whatever is for God lasts, and what is for other than Him falls apart."

This statement preceded the formal claim on October 3 that the territory MSSI controlled in Darnah was now part of the caliphate, refashioning the city as Wilayat Darnah (the province of Darnah) within the Islamic State. The latter claim may have been issued because fifteen ISIS members were allegedly dispatched from Syria to Darnah recently. To celebrate the announcement, MSSI organized a forum at al-Sahaba Mosque called "khilafah ala manhaj al-nabawiyah (the Caliphate upon the methodology of the Prophet)," a slogan used by ISIS in the past year. Hundreds of people took part in the event. In addition to sermons and recreational games for children, the forum showed off the ISIS flag and MSSI cars with "Islamic police" painted on them; some cars said "hisba" on top in bold and "al-amr bi-l-marouf wa-l-nahi an al-munkr" (the promotion of virtue and the prevention of vice) in smaller text below. The organizers also played nashid (religiously sanctioned a cappella music) published by Ajnad Media, an ISIS outlet.

While celebration was in the air, not everyone in Darnah was happy about this turn of events. Along with some local residents, the mainstream rebel faction Abu Salim Martyrs Brigade announced on October 7 that it was displeased with MSSI's announcement, stating it would never pledge baya (religiously binding oath of allegiance) to anyone outside Libya. The two groups are believed to be involved in a turf battle in parts of Darnah that has left many dead and injured in the past few weeks. Such developments cast doubt on the sustainability of MSSI's project; the group will have to build up further capacities if it wants its province of the "caliphate" to last long term. Yet Darnah's history of ties with jihadist movements in other countries cannot be ignored; for instance, when U.S. troops in Iraq uncovered a list of foreign fighters for the insurgency there in 2007, 52 of the 112 Libyans on the list came from Darnah.

A NEW MODEL?

Despite the lack of public statements from ISIS on the matter, MSSI's gambit in Libya could be a model for future acquisition of territory by the Islamic State beyond its base in Iraq and Syria. Questions remain about the command-and-control capabilities that would be needed to realize such a scenario, as well as the logistics inherent in marshalling widespread foreign fighters and facilitation networks. This model would also diverge sharply from how al-Qaeda has done business in the past, namely, relying primarily on autonomous local franchise organizations.

Whatever comes of MSSI's announcement, it highlights the continuing appeal of ISIS in many parts of the globe beyond Iraq, Syria, and the cadre of foreign fighters in and around those states. Governments worldwide must realize that ISIS cannot be wished away or ignored, and that the movement is not territorially fixed. Rather, the Islamic State seems to be awakening many potential adherents in various corners of the world.

Aaron Y. Zelin is the Richard Borow Fellow at The Washington Institute and founder of the website Jihadology.net.