أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2005

مستقبل العلاقات الأمريكية المصرية: مشاركة دون أوهام

فين ويبر و غريغوري بي. كريغ

متاح أيضاً في English

6 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2012


"في 28 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2012، خاطب فين ويبر وغريغوري بي. كريغ منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. والسيد ويبر هو عضو جمهوري سابق في الكونغرس الأمريكي من ولاية مينيسوتا والرئيس السابق لـ "الصندوق الوطني للديمقراطية". والسيد كريغ عمل مستشاراُ في البيت الأبيض خلال إدارة أوباما وشغل سابقاً منصب مدير تخطيط السياسات في وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية أثناء إدارة كلينتون. وفيما يلي ملخص المقررة لملاحظاتهما. "إقرأ تقريرهما الذي نُشر مؤخراُ باللغة الانكليزية حول مستقبل العلاقات بين الولايات المتحدة ومصر".

 

غريغوري بي. كريغ

نجد أنفسنا في لحظة لا تقل أهميتها عن الأحداث التاريخية في العلاقات الأمريكية- المصرية، لحظة زاد تعقيدها بسبب العديد من التغييرات والتحولات على مدى العامين الماضيين. إن ما يحدث في مصر في المستقبل القريب له تبعات ضخمة ليس فقط للشرق الأوسط بل للعالم ولنا كأمريكيين. وإذا لا يتم احترام المعاهدة المبرمة مع إسرائيل، فنحن نواجه خطر اندلاع حرب. وإذا تساهل القادة الجدد مع الإرهابيين أو قاموا بحمايتهم، فسوف نواجه نحن وأصدقاؤنا خطر وقوع هجوم آخر. وإذا انهار اقتصاد أكبر دولة عربية، فقد تهوي المنطقة بأكملها في دَرَك الركود. وإن تم وأد الديمقراطية في مصر، فسوف يكون لذلك انعكاسات سلبية في الدول الأخرى التي تأثرت بالانتفاضات العربية.

واستناداً إلى رحلة ذهب فيها فريق العمل الذي شاركنا فيه والمكون من أعضاء من الحزبين الجمهوري والديمقراطي الذي شكله معهد واشنطن لبحث مستقبل العلاقات الأمريكية المصرية، خلصنا أنا والسيد ويبر إلى أربع ملاحظات رئيسية. أولاً، أن عملية التغير الجذري لم تنتهي. فليست هناك قواعد تحكم التحول المصري، وما زال هناك احتمال قيام ثورة مضادة في البلاد. وعلى الرغم من هدنة الجيش الظاهرية مع جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين»، إلا أنه قد يتدخل في حال زيادة تغطرس «الجماعة» في سعيها إلى ترسيخ سلطتها بصورة طموحة جداً.

ثانياً، أن الرئيس محمد مرسي يواجه توتراً حقيقياً ما بين مطالب الحكم وواقع الأزمة الاقتصادية من جهة، وولائه لمبادئ «الإخوان» من جهة أخرى. ويزداد هذا التوتر وضوحاً يوماً بعد يوم، وخاصة في استحواذ مرسي على السلطة مؤخراً. وفي الواقع،  أن السؤال عما إذا كان مرسي رمزاً وطنياً أو محض ممثل لـ جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين»، وينفذ سياساتها، ما تزال مسألة بلا جواب في مصر هذه الأيام.

ثالثاً، أن التيارات غير الإسلامية في مصر هي - لسوء الحظ - غير منظمة وضعيفة ومحبطة. وفي حين أن الأحداث الأخيرة في البلاد ربما تكون قد قوّت من شوكة هذه الجماعات، إلا أنه خلال مدة زيارتنا رأيناهم يعملون دون خطة ودون خبرة أساسية في التعامل مع سياسات الدوائر الانتخابية المحلية من أجل الوقوف في وجه منافسيهم الإسلاميين بشكل فعال. وعلاوة على ذلك، ونظراً لإخفاق واشنطن في التعاطي مع التيارات غير الإسلامية، اعتقد بعض الليبراليين العلمانيين في مصر أن الولايات المتحدة مسؤولة عن وضع «الإخوان المسلمين» في السلطة. ويبقى أن نرى إذا سيكون باستطاعة الأحزاب الليبرالية المختلفة تنظيم العمل فيما بينها بنجاح في الانتخابات القادمة، أو أن الإسلاميين سيفوزون مرة أخرى.

رابعاً، أن الاقتصاد يمر بمأزق شديد أدى إلى حدوث اختناقات مرورية في المدن، وإلى نقص الطاقة، ودعم غير مستقر للغذاء والوقود، وخلل هيكلي هائل. وعلى الرغم من أن فريق مرسي الرئاسي قد أكد لنا أن الاقتصاد يشكل من ناحيتهم الأولوية الأولى، إلا أنهم لم يشيروا سوى إلى زيادة الاستثمار الأجنبي وعرضه كحل للأزمة ولم يقدموا مقترحات بشأن كيفية جعل مصر أكثر جذباً للمستثمرين. إن افتقارهم الكامل إلى استراتيجية حول هذا الموضوع لا بد وأن يشكل مصدر قلق كبير.

 

فين ويبر

في الولايات المتحدة، هناك ثلاثة مسارات عامة مقترحة بشأن التعامل مع المساعدات المقدمة لمصر. فهناك من يرى أنه ينبغي علينا متابعة تقديم المساعدات بشكل غير مشروط حتى نضمن تأثيرنا على هذا البلد ونُبعد الخطر الذي سيحدث إذا أصبحت مصر دولة فاشلة. وآخرون يقولون أنه ليس لدينا مصالح في دعم حكومة يقودها أناس رافضون لقيمنا لأبعد حد وأنه ينبغي علينا إيقاف جميع المساعدات.

نحن نعتقد أن هذين المسارين ينطويان على مخاطر جمّة. فبين قلقنا الكبير بشأن مسار حكومة مرسي وبين عدم رغبتنا في أن تتيح لهم مساعداتنا الفرصة ليفعلوا ما يشاؤون، نرى أن ترك مصر لتصبح دولة فاشلة سوف يكون له أثر كارثي على مصالح الولايات المتحدة وأمن حلفائها في المنطقة. وهذا يؤدي بنا إلى طريق ثالث بديل، ألا وهو: وضع شروط على المساعدات المقدمة لمصر.

ولكي يترتب على تلك الشروط سياسة قابلة للتطبيق والاستمرارية، علينا أن نكون في منتهى الوضوح بشأن الشروط وأن ننظر بجد إلى أولوياتنا وأن نكون على استعداد لسحب مساعداتنا في حال عدم الوفاء بهذه الشروط. إن أهم ثلاث مصالح أمريكية في مصر هي السلام الإقليمي والتعاون الإستراتيجي والديمقراطية الدستورية والتعددية، ولا بد أن تشكل هذه الأمور الثلاث أساس الاشتراط.

وبطبيعة الحال، فإن معاهدة السلام مع إسرائيل تمثل خطاً أحمراً واضحاً. ولحسن الحظ، فإنه في معظم الاجتماعات التي عقدناها مع «الإخوان المسلمين» ومسؤولي الحكومة عبروا لنا فيها عن الالتزام بالمعاهدات الدولية. مع ذلك، فإنهم لم يتعلموا بعد كيفية التحدث عن إسرائيل بل أن أكثرهم رفض حتى لفظ اسمها. ولم يتضح بعد إن كان مرسي سيتكيف مع واقع العلاقات مع إسرائيل أو أنه سيواصل المقاومة، ولكن ربط مساعداتنا بتعاونه المستمر سوف يمثل حافزاً كبيراً كي يلتزم بالسلام.

وعلى الرغم من أي اختلاف سياسي بين الولايات المتحدة والحكومة المدنية المصرية، يبقى تعاون واشنطن الوثيق مع الجيش المصري ضرورياً للعلاقات بين الدولتين. ويمثل الاستقرار الإقليمي مصدر قلق كبير، ونقترح تخصيص 100 مليون دولار من التمويل العسكري الأجنبي للولايات المتحدة ليذهب نحو ترسيخ الأمن وإرساء الاستقرار في سيناء. وعلينا أن نؤكد كذلك على التنمية الاقتصادية في سيناء، حيث أن الفقر القائم هناك يكمن وراء العديد من مشاكل المنطقة.

وفي حين أن الشرطين المذكورين أعلاه يمثلان احتياجات أقرب ما تكون إلى الطابع الرسمي والعملي - ويجب اعتماد التعاون المصري معهما علناً وينبغي الموافقة عليهما سنوياً من قبل الكونغرس - فإن الشرط الثالث يتعين نقله بشكل غير رسمي من أجل طمأنة الكونغرس حول التزام مصر بالمُثل الديمقراطية. وفي حين لا ترغب الولايات المتحدة أن تبدو وكأنها تتدخل في الشؤون الداخلية اليومية لمصر، فإن الشعب الأمريكي وممثليه يهتمون اهتماماً عميقاً بقضايا مثل معاملة الأقليات والمرأة، ولن يقفوا وراء استمرار تقديم الدعم الاقتصادي لدول لا تتوافق مع هذه القيم. وفي الواقع، يمثل الاشتراط سياسة خارجية وداخلية في آن واحد؛ وفي الوقت نفسه وحيث أن هذا الاشتراط يوضح لمصر أهمية الالتزام بالشروط الأمريكية، فإنه يبلغ إلى الكونغرس أيضاً المكاسب المتحققة من استمرار مشاركة الولايات المتحدة مع حكومة يشك فيها الكثيرون.

وإلى جانب الاشتراط، ينبغي على الحكومة الأمريكية متابعة سبل التعاطي العلني مع أعضاء من المعارضة العلمانية والليبرالية. فعلى أي حال، تبقى نتائج الانتخابات القادمة أمراً غير مؤكد، ولا يخفى أن المُثل العليا لليبراليين المصريين هي أكثر قرباً وارتباطاً بمُثلنا. ولتحقيق هذه الغاية، ينبغي على الولايات المتحدة أن تدعم عودة منظمات المجتمع المدني التي تعرف كيف تستطيع تمكين جماعات المعارضة العلمانية وسوف تُساهم حتماً في نمو مجتمع مدني قوي. وبالمثل، ينبغي على السفارة الأمريكية في القاهرة متابعة إقامة علاقة أوثق مع هذه المعارضة المحبطة، بدلاً من تركيزها الحالي على الحكومة الجديدة وقادتها.

 

أعدت هذا الملخص المقررة كاتي كيرالي.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2005

The Future of U.S.-Egypt Relations: Engagement without Illusions

Vin Weber and Gregory B. Craig

Also available in العربية

December 6, 2012


On November 28, 2012, Vin Weber and Gregory B. Craig addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Mr. Weber is a former Republican congressman from Minnesota and former chairman of the National Endowment for Democracy. Mr. Craig served as White House counsel in the Obama administration and director of State Department policy planning in the Clinton administration. The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks. Read their recently published report on the future of U.S.-Egypt relations.

GREGORY B. CRAIG

We find ourselves in a moment equal in importance to historical events in U.S.-Egyptian relations, made more complicated due to the many changes and transitions over the past two years. What happens to Egypt in the foreseeable future is of huge consequence not only to the Middle East, but also to the world and to us as Americans. If the treaty with Israel is not respected, we're at risk of war. If the new leaders indulge or protect terrorists, we and our friends will be at risk of another attack. If the economy of the largest Arab state falls, the entire region could be thrown into depression. If democracy is knocked out in Egypt, it could have negative repercussions in the other states affected by the Arab uprisings.

Based on the trip taken by our bipartisan Task Force on the Future of U.S.-Egypt Relations established by The Washington Institute, Mr. Weber and I came away with four major observations. First, the process of dramatic change is not over. There are no rules governing Egypt's transition, and the possibility of a counterrevolution still remains. The military, despite its apparent truce with the Muslim Brotherhood (MB), could potentially step in should the group too ambitiously assert its power.

Second, President Muhammad Morsi faces a real tension between the demands of governing and the reality of the economic crisis on one hand, and his loyalty to the tenets of the MB on the other. This tension is very much in evidence every day, and especially in his recent power grab. Indeed, whether or not Morsi is a national figure or merely a representative of the Brotherhood, implementing its policies, remains an unanswered question in today's Egypt.

Third, the non-Islamists in Egypt are unfortunately disorganized, depressed, and disheartened. While recent events may galvanize them, we observed during our time there that they had no plan and no basic experience in dealing with local constituent politics so as to challenge their Islamist counterparts effectively. Moreover, due to the U.S. failure to engage with non-Islamists, some secular liberals in Egypt even believe that the United States was responsible for putting the MB in power. It remains to be seen if the various liberal parties will be able to organize and work together successfully in the next elections, or if the Islamists will again win.

Fourth, the economy is in dire straits, leading to gridlock in the cities, power shortages, unsustainable subsidies on food and fuel, and massive structural deficits. Although Morsi's presidential team assured us that the economy was their number one priority, they pointed only to increased foreign investment as a solution and offered no suggestions for how to make Egypt more attractive to investors. Their complete lack of strategy on this subject should be of great concern.

VIN WEBER

In the United States, there are three general approaches that are suggested in dealing with aid to Egypt. There are those who argue we should continue to provide aid unconditionally so as to ensure our influence in the country and avoid the risk of a failed Egypt. Others claim that we have no interests in supporting a government led by those so at odds with our own values and should end all aid.  

We believe both of these approaches are far too risky. While our concerns about the Morsi government's trajectory are great and we do not want our aid to allow them to do whatever they want, letting Egypt become a failed state would be disastrous for U.S. interests and the security of our allies in the region. This leads to a third alternative: putting conditions on aid to Egypt.

For conditionality to form a viable policy, we must be absolutely clear about the conditions, look seriously at our priorities, and be willing to withdraw our aid should these conditions be unmet. The three most important U.S. interests in Egypt are regional peace, strategic cooperation, and constitutional democracy and pluralism, and these should form the backbone of conditionality.

Naturally, the peace treaty with Israel constitutes a clear red line. Fortunately, in most of our meetings with MB and government officials, they expressed a commitment to international agreements. Nevertheless, they have not yet learned how to speak about Israel, and most refuse to even say its name. It remains to be seen if Morsi will adapt to the reality of relations with Israel or will continue to resist, but conditioning our aid on his continued cooperation would be a major incentive for committing to peace.

Despite any political disagreements with Egypt's civilian government, our close cooperation with the Egyptian army remains essential to our relations. Regional stability is a major concern, and we suggest earmarking $100 million worth of our foreign military funding to go toward establishing security in the Sinai. We also need to emphasize economic development in Sinai, as poverty there underlies many of the area's problems.

While the above two conditions constitute more formal and practical needs -- and Egyptian cooperation with them should be openly and annually certified to Congress -- the third will need to be more informally conveyed so as to reassure Congress of Egypt's commitment to democratic ideals. While the United States does not want to seem to be interfering in Egypt's daily internal affairs, the American people and their representatives care deeply about issues such as the treatment of minorities and women, and would not support continuing economic assistance to countries that don't conform to these values. Indeed, conditionality represents a simultaneously foreign and domestic policy; at the same time as it emphasizes to Egypt the necessity of complying with our conditions, it also communicates to Congress the benefits of continuing U.S. engagement with a government of which many are suspicious.

Along with conditionality, the U.S. government should pursue open engagement with members of the secular, liberal opposition. After all, the outcome of the next elections is uncertain, and the ideals of Egyptian liberals clearly align more closely with our own. To this end, the United States should support the return of the NGOs, which know how to empower secular oppositions and would inevitably contribute to the growth of a robust civil society. The U.S. embassy in Cairo should likewise pursue a closer relationship with this disheartened opposition, instead of its current focus on the new government and its leadership.

This rapporteur's summary was prepared by Katie Kiraly.