أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي

مستقبل «إقليم كردستان العراق»

الموصل، الأزمة الاقتصادية، وتقرير المصير

هيمن هورامي, ديفيد بولوك, و مايكل نايتس

متاح أيضاً في English

8 شباط/فبراير 2016


"في 8 شباط/فبراير، خاطب هيمن هورامي، ديفيد بولوك، ومايكل نايتس منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. وهورامي هو مستشار لشؤون السياسة الخارجية لرئيس «إقليم كردستان العراق» مسعود بارزاني وعضو بارز في «الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني». وفيما يلي مقتطفات من نسخة محررة من خطابه. لقراءة ملاحظاته كاملة باللغة الانكليزية، بإمكانك تحميل ملف الـ "بي دي إف" أو مشاهدة الفيديو لهذا المنتدى السياسي".

عندما احتلّ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»/«داعش» الموصل وشنّ هجوماً على «إقليم كردستان»، قامت القوّات الكردية بتطوير استراتيجية مكوّنة من ثلاثة أجزاء لوقف تقدّم التنظيم ودحره وإلحاق الهزيمة به في النهاية. ومن خلال جهود وحدات البشمركة وبمساعدة القوّات الأمريكية وقوّات التحالف، تقوم القوّات الكردية حالياً بدحر تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في العراق وقد استعادت 27 ألف كيلومتر مربّع من الأراضي؛ وأسفرت هذه العمليات عن مقتل 1,603 محارب من البشمركة وأُصابة أكثر من 8,000 آخرين بجروح. لقد اضطلعت قوات البشمركة ومجلس أمن «إقليم كردستان» بقيادة السيّد بارزاني بدور رئيسي في هزيمة تنظيم «داعش». فاليوم على وجه التحديد، ألقي القبض على شبكة إرهابية في إربيل. إنّها معركة مستمرّة، وتُعتبر الإنجازات ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» كبيرة حتى الآن.

وتُعدّ الموصل مفتاح هزيمة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» والقضاء عليه. وفي حين تُعتبر الرمادي والرقّة مهمتَين، إلّا أنّ الموصل تشكّل عاصمة الخلافة المعلنة وأكبر مدنها، وتوفّر ملاذاً آمناً لـ تنظيم «داعش»، بالإضافة إلى مصادر دخله وموارده. وتسيطر قوّات البشمركة على التخوم الشمالية والشرقية والغربية المحيطة بالموصل وتتطلب إشعار لأسبوع واحد فقط قبل القيام بشن عمليّاتها. وتحافظ «حكومة إقليم كردستان» على اتّصالات يومية بشركائها العراقيين، وهناك اتّفاق باستخدام مدينة مخمور [في  «إقليم كردستان العراق»] كمنصة لإطلاق عمليّات الموصل ولدمج الألوية العراقية. وتؤمّن مدينة مخمور موقعاً مجاوراً مهمّاً لمنطقة القيارة [في الموصل]. وفي الأسبوع الماضي، قامت قوّات البشمركة بدعم من عرب العشائر المحلّيين بتحرير نقطتَين استراتيجيتَن قريبتين هما [قريتي] كوديلا وكرمدي. وسيساعد ذلك على تمهيد الطريق للعملية المقبلة في الموصل.

إن عملية الرمادي ما زالت مستمرة، وتتطلب التدخّل المتواصل لقوّات الأمن العراقية. وفي حين أن هناك حديث عن تمركز ٤٥٠٠ من هذه القوّات في مخمور، يكمن السؤال الرئيسي بالنسبة إلى الموصل في الناحية السياسية من العملية، والذي يتضمن إدارة الموصل ما بعد التحرير وتحديد دور المحاربين السنّة و"وحدات الحشد الشعبي". فسكان الموصل يريدون ضمانات عن عدم تكرار الأخطاء التي تعمّق الصراع الطائفي، كما حدث في عملية تكريت وديلاوري.

ويهدّد وجود تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في الموصل جميع أنحاء منطقة «كردستان العراق». وفي الوقت نفسه، تهدّد الأزمة الاقتصادية في «كردستان» جهود المنطقة في محاربة تنظيم «داعش». فقوّات البشمركة لم تتلقَ أجورها منذ شهر أيلول/سبتمبر، كما أنّ «حكومة إقليم كردستان» غير قادرة على تحمّل التكاليف المالية للحرب، بما في ذلك النقل والخدمات اللوجستية والغذاء والخدمات الطبّية. فالعمليّات في سنجار، على سبيل المثال، يتم تمويلها من قبل شخص ثري في دهوك وليس من قبل الحكومة. وهناك حاجة إلى قوّات على الأرض لاستعادة الموصل، وتُعدّ قوّات البشمركة موضع الثقة الأكبر في المنطقة. إلّا أنّ الوضع الاقتصادي لـ «حكومة إقليم كردستان» يعيق قدراتها. وقد توجّه ممثّلون أكراد إلى واشنطن للسعي إلى [تأمين] وتنسيق مساعدات طارئة للحرب ضدّ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية».

وفي حين نعترف بوجود أخطاء حوكمة وأخرى اقتصادية، من الواضح أنّ الوضع الاقتصادي قد تفاقم بسبب ثلاثة عوامل رئيسية هي: قرار الحكومة العراقية في شباط/ فبراير 2014 باقتطاع ميزانية كردستان، والهبوط الكبير في أسعار النفط، وأثر إيواء1.8  مليون شخص من المشردين داخلياً. فلو كانت أسعار النفط 67 دولاراً للبرميل، لبلغت عائدات «حكومة إقليم كردستان» 1.3  مليار دولار في الشهر، ما يكفي لتغطية النفقات. كما أنّه وفي حين نتلقّى بعض الدعم لـ 300 ألف لاجئ، إلّا أنّ الدعم الدولي للنازحين ضئيل، ما يؤثّر سلباً على المجتمعات المحلّية التي تستضيفهم. ومن التعقيدات الأخرى هو حاجة اللاجئين والنازحين إلى خدمات طبّية يكثر الطلب عليها من قبل قوّات البشمركة المصابة، الأمر الذي يجبر بعض الجنود إلى السفر إلى تركيا للمعالجة.

ولكي يتمكّن «إقليم كردستان العراق» من مواجهة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» ومشاكل أخرى، نحتاج إلى دعم من شركائنا الدوليين.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2555

The Future of the Kurdistan Region of Iraq Mosul, Economic Crisis, and Self-Determination

Hemin Hawrami, David Pollock, and Michael Knights

Also available in العربية

February 8, 2016


A senior foreign policy advisor to Iraqi Kurdish President Barzani discusses the state of U.S.-Kurdish military cooperation, the situation in Iraq and Syria, Kurdistan's economic needs, and the region's future.

On February 8, Hemin Hawrami, David Pollock, and Michael Knights addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Hawrami is a foreign policy advisor to Kurdistan Region President Masoud Barzani and a senior member of the Kurdistan Democratic Party. The following is an excerpt from an edited transcript of his speech; to read his full remarks, download the PDF or watch video of the event above.

When the Islamic State (IS) occupied Mosul and attacked the Kurdistan Region, Kurdish forces developed a three-part strategy to halt their advance, roll them back, and ultimately defeat them. Through the efforts of Peshmerga units with the aid of U.S. and coalition forces, Kurdish forces are currently rolling back IS in Iraq and have reclaimed 27,000 square kilometers; 1,603 Peshmerga have been killed in this effort and over 8,000 have been wounded. The Peshmerga and the Security Council of the Kurdistan Region under the leadership of Mr. Barzani have played a crucial role in defeating IS. Just today, a terrorist network in Erbil was arrested. This is an ongoing battle, and achievements against IS to date are significant.

Mosul is the key to defeat and destroy IS. While Ramadi and Raqqa are important, Mosul is the proclaimed caliphate's largest city and capital, providing IS with a safe haven, revenue streams, and resources. Peshmerga forces control the northern, eastern, and western flanks around Mosul and require only one week's notice to launch operations. The Kurdistan Regional Government (KRG) maintains daily contacts with its Iraqi partners, and there is an agreement to use Makhmur as a launching pad for Mosul operations and incorporate Iraqi brigades. Makhmur provides crucial proximity to the al-Qayyarah area. Last week, Peshmerga forces with support from local tribal Arabs liberated two nearby strategic points, Kudu and Karmudi. This will help pave the way for the upcoming Mosul operation.

The Ramadi operation is still ongoing, and it requires the continued involvement of Iraqi security forces. While there are talks of positioning 4,500 of these troops in Makhmur, the key question for Mosul is the political side of the operation, which includes the post-liberation administration of Mosul and determining the role of Sunni fighters and Popular Mobilization Units. Moslawis need guarantees that the mistakes furthering sectarian conflict, such as what happened in the Tikrit and Dilawri operation, will not be repeated.

The IS presence in Mosul threatens all of Iraqi Kurdistan. At the same time, the economic crisis in Iraqi Kurdistan threatens the region's counter-IS efforts. Peshmerga forces have not been paid since September, and the KRG is unable to bear the financial costs of the war, including transportation, logistics, food, and medical services. Operations in Sinjar, for example, are funded by a wealthy individual in Dahuk, not the government. Boots on the ground are needed to retake Mosul, and Peshmerga forces are the most reliable in the region. The KRG economic situation, however, hinders their capabilities. Kurdish representatives are in Washington seeking to coordinate emergency funds for the war against IS.

While acknowledging governance and economic mistakes, one can see that the economic situation was worsened by three main factors: the Iraqi government's February 2014 decision to cut Kurdistan's budget, the dramatic drop in oil prices, and the impact of accommodating 1.8 million internally displaced persons (IDPs) and refugees. If oil prices were $67 per barrel, the government of Kurdistan would have $1.3 billion in revenues a month, enough to cover its expenses. Additionally, while we receive some support for 300,000 refugees, there is little international support for IDPs, and this hurts local host communities. Among other complications, refugees and IDPs require medical services that are in high demand by wounded Peshmerga, forcing some soldiers to travel to Turkey for treatment.

For Kurdistan to face IS and other problems, we need support from our international partners...