أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2372

المعركة ضد «داعش»: الميليشيات الشيعية ومساعي التحالف الدولي

مايكل نايتس, فيليب سميث, و پي. جي. ديرمر

متاح أيضاً في English

11 شباط/فبراير 2015


"في 6 شباط/فبراير 2015، خاطب مايكل نايتس، فيليب سميث، و پي. جي. ديرمر منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. والسيد نايتس هو زميل ليفر في المعهد ومؤلف الدراسة التي أصدرها المعهد "الرحلة الطويلة: إعادة تفعيل التعاون الأمني الأمريكي في العراق". والسيد سميث هو باحث في جامعة ميريلاند، ومؤلف الدراسة التي أصدرها المعهد "الجهاد الشيعي في سوريا وآثاره الإقليمية". أما السيد ديرمر فهو عقيد متقاعد في الجيش الأمريكي وكان قد خدم في دورات عمل متعددة في الشرق الأوسط، من بينها اثنان في العراق. وفيما يلي ملخص المقرر لملاحظاتهم."

 

مايكل نايتس

من الممكن أن تتكلل الحرب على تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش») في العراق بالنصر، وتسير الولايات المتحدة حالياً بخطىً بطيئة نحو النصر. ولكن، وفقاً لنظام المعركة المتبع حالياً لدى القوات العراقية، يتركز معظم جنودها في بغداد وحولها. ويمكن نشر أقل من 10 آلاف جندي على مسافات بعيدة في حين تفتقر القوات العراقية عموماً إلى عناصر تتمتع بفعالية قتالية. إن جميع هذه العوامل تجعل من برنامج التدريب والتجهيز الذي تؤمنه الولايات المتحدة لتسعة ألوية خطوةً حيوية للعمليات المستقبلية ولا سيما العملية المرتقبة لاستعادة الموصل.

وفي حين يشير المسار الحالي إلى أنه سيتم دحر تنظيم «داعش» الذي يعرف أيضاً باسم «الدولة الإسلامية» في نهاية المطاف، إلا أن السؤال الرئيسي الذي يطرح نفسه هو: "ماذا لو هزمنا «داعش» وخسرنا العراق في طور ذلك؟" فالميليشيات العديدة التي تحارب تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» بدعمٍ من إيران تملك القدرة اللازمة للتغلب على القطاع الأمني في العراق، ما يؤدي إلى تحويل العراق إلى وكيل لإيران شبيه بـ «حزب الله». وكما حدث في مؤتمر يالطا عام 1945، تجد الولايات المتحدة اليوم نفسها في خضم حرب حيث يتعين عليها طرح أسئلة صعبة حول كيفية انتهاء الحرب، وسبب خوضها، وهوية حلفائها، وكيف سيتصرف هؤلاء الحلفاء بعد انتهاء النزاع. ومع أن المعركة الجارية في العراق تستحق العناء، إلا أنها معقدة وتزداد تعقيداً في ضوء النفوذ الإيراني المكثف.

إن الانقسام والتنافر بين حلفاء الولايات المتحدة في العراق واقعٌ ملحوظ. لذلك يجدر بواشنطن أن تقيّم بعناية مواقفها حيال مختلف الميليشيات [والقوات العسكرية] الناشطة في العراق، بدءً من قوات البيشمركة الكردية وصولاً إلى قوات الحشد الشعبي الوطني (الإيراني). وفي حين اعتادت الولايات المتحدة تفضيل الجماعات السنية أمثال الأكراد، إلا أن جميع الميليشيات قادرة على التسبب في المزيد من عدم الاستقرار إذا ما تُركت بلا حسيب أو رقيب.

إن انخراط الميليشيات الشيعية على وجه التحديد يشكل خطراً لسبيين، الأول هو أن مشاركتها ستُطيل الحرب على تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» لما ستسببه من احتكاكات وتقويض لدور القوات الكردية، والثاني هو أنه إذا عملت هذه الجماعات دون رقابة، فسوف تضعف الاستقلال الاستراتيجي التي تتمتع به العراق. وتتخطى هذه الجماعات الحدود القومية وتحظى بدعم إيراني كبير، ناهيك عن امتلاكها القدرة على الحلول محل بغداد في احتكارها للقطاع الأمني في العراق. ويكمن الحل في العمل مع الشيعة المعتدلين في القيادة العراقية العليا الذين يدركون خطر هذه الجماعات. فهؤلاء الوزراء الشيعة يؤيدون وحدة العراق وليس الطائفية أو النفوذ الإيراني المتزايد. ويتضح هذا الموقف من خلال إقرار "مشروع قانون الحرس الوطني" مؤخراً، مع أن تنفيذه لن يمرّ بلا تحدٍّ من قبل «منظمة بدر» والميليشيات التي تسعى إلى استغلال مشروع القانون والتقليل من شأنه.

يجدر بالذكر أن لواشنطن حلفاء في العراق تستطيع العمل معهم، لكن عليها التغلب على طهران في أدائها لدور الشريك الأمني. لذا يجب على الولايات المتحدة أن تظهر التزامها من خلال خطة إعادة ارتباط طويلة الأمد مع الحكومة العراقية، معززة بعمليات إعلامية تروج للدور الإيجابي الذي تلعبه الولايات المتحدة في النزاع. فخسارة العراق لصالح إيران ستعني خسارة شريكٍ إقليمي حيوي، ولتفادي حدوث مثل هذه النتيجة يستلزم قيام جهود متضافرة لمنع وقوع مثل هذا التطور. وإجمالاً، فإنّ هزيمة «داعش» وضبط أمن العراق سيتطلبان حشد قوات الأمن العراقية بشكل ضخم، وإثبات التزام الولايات المتحدة تجاه العراق بشكل واضح، والإطاحة بالتأثير الإيراني على القطاع الأمني في العراق.

فيليب سميث

عموماً، لم يسترعِ الجهاد الشيعي في سوريا الانتباه حتى الآن. فالميليشيات الشيعية في سوريا تمثل شبكة جهادية عبر وطنية تسيطر عليها إيران وتستقطب المقاتلين من مختلف أنحاء الشرق الأوسط فضلاً عن أوروبا وأفريقيا. وحيث يبلغ عددها بضعة آلاف، تملك هذه الميليشيات هيكلية تجنيد متقدمة ومفتوحة وفعالة عبر شبكة الإنترنت تعمل على استغلال وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والصور المتطرفة. وهذه الجماعات قائمة منذ سنوات عديدة، وتناصر المصطلح السياسي في الفكر الشيعي المعروف بـ "ولاية الفقيه"، وتتلقى التدريب المتطور في إيران، وتخضع لسيطرة طهران المباشرة. وتنخرط في تكتيكات وحشية لا تختلف عن تلك التي يتبعها تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية».

بدأت فكرة هذا الجهاد مع التهديد الذي شكله المقاتلون السنة على المقامات الشيعية المقدسة في سوريا - وخصوصاً مقام "السيدة زينب" قرب دمشق - والذي كان الذريعة لدخول النزاع. ووفقاً لهذه الفكرة، تشكل الجماعات السنية المتطرفة جزءاً من مؤامرة أكبر بين الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل هدفها شن الحرب على الشيعة في سوريا من خلال إيجاد معاقل آمنة لـ تنظيم «القاعدة». وتروّج إيران نفسها على أنها حامية لجميع الشيعة، فضلاً عن الأقليات الأخرى في المنطقة التي تستهدفها التنظيمات السنية التكفيرية. وفي حين لعبت إيران دوراً محورياً في تنمية هذه الجماعات الشيعية والحفاظ عليها، إلا أنها حرصت على التقليل من أهمية غايتها الجيوستراتيجية بإبقاء نظام بشار الأسد في السلطة.

وقد ظهرت شبكة معقدة بل مترابطة من الميليشيات الشيعية في سوريا، من ضمنها "حاملو الراية" الإيرانية أي «حزب الله» اللبناني و «منظمة بدر»، بالإضافة إلى فصائل صغيرة من الحركات الصدرية على غرار «لواء اليوم الموعود» والجماعات المتبقية من حرب العراق مثل «عصائب أهل الحق». إلا أن الميليشيات الشيعية الأكبر حجماً والأكثر تأثيراً تقع خارج سوريا، ومن بينها، «لواء أبو فضل العباس» الذي يضم الشبكة الكبرى في سوريا، وله عدة تنظيمات مرتبطة به وجماعات منشقة تعمل تحت قيادته.

وقد لعبت شبكة الميليشيات الإيرانية دوراً فعالاً في ضمان استمرار حكم دمشق والأسد لتسيطر فعلياً على الحكومة السورية في سياق ذلك. فقد فتحت جبهة جديدة في الجولان ضد إسرائيل، وتغلغلت في الحكومة العراقية، وروّجت إلى حد كبير للدعاية الإيرانية عن كون الجمهورية الإسلامية لاعباً إقليمياً قوياً مسؤولاً عن حماية الشيعة. وإذا استندنا إلى تجارب الماضي، فستسعى إيران إلى توسيع نطاق نفوذها في جميع أنحاء دول المشرق ودول الخليج. والحقيقة المؤسفة في الشرق الأوسط اليوم هي أن الجهاد الشيعي الذي ترعاه إيران باقٍ في المستقبل المنظور.

پي. جي. ديرمر

لا تعكس الأعمال الأمريكية دائماً الواقع المعقد للانقسامات التاريخية المتعددة في الشرق الأوسط، تلك المنطقة التي لا يمثل فيها نظام الدولة القومية الواقع الرئيسي بصورة دائمة. ويشكل برنامج التدريب والتجهيز الأمريكي عاملاً رئيسياً في هذا السياق، وهو مسعى يواجه العديد من التحديات الخطيرة. فكل من «داعش» وشبكة الميليشيات الشيعية تشكل تهديداً خطراً ومنظّماً يملك الأسلحة الحديثة والتكنولوجيا المتطورة والمراكز المحصّنة.

إن الطريقة المثلى لمحاربة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» تستلزم تقييم الوضع، أولاً وقبل كل شيء على المستوى الاستراتيجي وليس التكتيكي. وهذا يعني أخذ التصدعات الطائفية في الشرق الأوسط في عين الحسبان - لا سيما الانقسامات بين العرب والإيرانيين، وبين السنة والشيعة. فخلال حرب العراق بعد عام 2003، تم تخفيف حدة هذا الانقسام من خلال المحاولات التي بذلتها الحكومة الجديدة لتوظيف التكنوقراطيين في المناصب العسكرية والمراكز العليا في المجتمع المدني بدلاً من أفراد الأحزاب الفاسدة ("البعث" وغيره) والمؤيدين للطائفية. ومع ذلك نجح نفوذ الأحزاب الدينية وإيران في التغلغل في النهاية داخل الحكومة العراقية.

ونظراً إلى هذه المعطيات الأساسية، يبقى السؤال المطروح على واشنطن هو كيفية تحديد الطريقة المثلى للتصرف في هذه البيئة. ويزداد التحدي تعقيداً بسبب طبيعة النزاع الدينية. فقد عملت الولايات المتحدة في الماضي إلى جانب حركات سيئة السمعة في العراق، ولكنها توخت الحذر حين دخلت العوامل الطائفية في اللعبة كما حدث مع الحركات الصدرية في بدايات المعارك التي وقعت في البصرة وبغداد عام 2008.

من هنا، تحتاج الولايات المتحدة إلى الالتزام بشدة في اللعبة الكبرى القائمة في الشرق الأوسط، فلا تكتفي برؤية التهديد الذي يشكله «داعش» بل تنظر كذلك إلى الشبح الأكبر المتمثل في تنامي نفوذ الجمهورية الإسلامية وهيمنتها الخبيثة. فإيران قادرة على بسط نفوذها على مختلف أنحاء المنطقة مستخدمةً أدوات مختلفة كـ «فيلق القدس» التابع لـ «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» وشبكتها الميليشياوية. يتعين على الولايات المتحدة أن تتغلب على خصومها الإيرانيين من حيث النفوذ والتأثير، وتنخرط بقوة في العراق من أجل تقويض النفوذ الإيراني فيه.

وأخيراً، يجب على واشنطن أن تفهم أن هذه المعركة تُربَح في العواصم لا في الأرباض. لذلك يجب أن تركز أولوياتها على بغداد ودمشق والرياض، وليس على كوباني أو الموصل. ولا يمكن أن تستمر الانتصارات في ساحة المعركة دون انخراط دبلوماسي متواصل ومكثف مع شركاء الولايات المتحدة في المنطقة. إن تحويل العراق في مرحلة ما بعد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» إلى شريك أمني مستقر وراسخ للولايات المتحدة يشكل أحد أكبر التحديات المقبلة.

 

أعد هذا الملخص إيان داف.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2372

The Fight Against ISIS: Shiite Militias and the Coalition Effort

Michael Knights, Phillip Smyth, and P. J. Dermer

Also available in العربية

February 11, 2015

A longtime expert on military affairs, a researcher on Shiite militias, and a retired U.S. Army colonel discuss optimal partners for defeating ISIS and the heavy risks associated with allowing Iran-associated actors to expand their influence.

On February 6, 2015, Michael Knights, Phillip Smyth, and P.J. Dermer addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Knights is an Institute Lafer Fellow and author of the Institute study The Long Haul: Rebooting U.S. Security Cooperation in Iraq. Smyth is a researcher at the University of Maryland and author of the Institute study The Shiite Jihad in Syria and Its Regional Effects. Dermer is a retired U.S. Army colonel who served multiple tours in the Middle East, including two in Iraq. The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks.

Michael Knights

The war against the Islamic State of Iraq and al-Sham (ISIS) in Iraq is winnable, and the United States is now on a slow trajectory toward victory. The current order of battle for Iraqi forces has most of its troops concentrated in and around Baghdad. Fewer than 10,000 troops can deploy over long distances, and Iraqi forces generally lack combat-effective brigades. These factors make the U.S. train-and-equip program for nine brigades vital for future operations, particularly the eventual operation to retake Mosul. 

While ISIS, also known as the Islamic State, will eventually be rolled back based on the current trajectory, the key question is: "What if we defeat ISIS but lose Iraq in the process?" The numerous Iran-backed militia groups fighting ISIS have the capacity to overtake Iraq's security sector, leading to a "Hezbollahization" of Iraq as a proxy for Iran. As during the Yalta Conference in 1945, the United States is now in the middle of a war and must ask tough questions about how the war ends, why it's fighting, who its allies are, and how these allies will act when the conflict is over. While the current Iraq fight is worthwhile, it is complex and made more so by Iran's extensive influence.

U.S. allies in Iraq are remarkably divided and resentful of one another. The United States needs to carefully evaluate its positions on the various militias operating in Iraq, from the Kurdish Peshmerga forces to the national populist (Iranian) forces. While the United States has traditionally favored Sunni groups like the Kurds, all militias have the potential to cause further instability if left unchecked.

The involvement of Shiite militias in particular poses such a risk for two reasons: one, their involvement will lengthen the war against ISIS by creating friction with and undermining Kurdish forces; two, if these groups operate unchecked, they will undermine Iraq's strategic independence. These groups are transnational with substantial Iranian backing, and have the capacity to supplant Baghdad's monopoly over Iraq's security sector. The solution is to work with the moderate Shiites in Iraq's senior leadership who recognize the threat posed by these groups. These Shiite ministers support Iraqi unity, not sectarianism and not increased Iranian influence. Such a stance is evidenced by the recent passing of the National Guard Act, although its implementation will be challenged by the Badr Organization and militias seeking to exploit and undermine the act.

Washington has allies in Iraq with which it can work, but it must outperform Tehran as a security partner. The United States must demonstrate its commitment through a long-term reengagement plan with the Iraqi government, reinforced by information operations that advertise the positive U.S. role in the conflict. Losing Iraq to Iran would mean losing a vital regional partner, and preventing this outcome will require a concerted effort. Altogether, defeating ISIS and securing Iraq will necessitate a major buildup of the Iraqi security forces, a clear demonstration of U.S. commitment to Iraq, and the ousting of Iran's influence in Iraq's security sector.

Phillip Smyth

Until now, the Shiite jihad in Syria has mostly flown under the radar. Shiite militias in Syria represent a transnational jihadist network controlled by Iran, drawing fighters from throughout the Middle East as well as Europe and Africa. Numbering in the many thousands, these militias have an advanced, open, and efficient online recruitment structure that exploits social media and radical imagery. These groups have existed for many years, advocate velayet-e faqih ("rule of the jurisprudent," the doctrine granting the Iranian Supreme Leader his authority), receive advanced training in Iran, and are directly controlled by Tehran. They engage in brutal tactics not dissimilar to those of ISIS.

The narrative of this jihad began with the threat posed by Sunni militants to Shiite holy sites in Syria -- particularly the Sayyeda Zainab shrine, near Damascus -- which provided the pretext to enter the conflict. According to the narrative, Sunni extremist groups are part of a broader U.S.-Israel conspiracy to wage war against Shiites in Syria by creating havens for al-Qaeda. Iran is marketing itself as the protector of all Shiites, as well as other regional minorities targeted by Sunni takfiri organizations. While Iran has played a central role in building up and maintaining these Shiite groups, it has been careful to downplay its geostrategic objective of keeping the Bashar al-Assad regime in power.

A complex but interconnected web of Shiite militias has emerged in Syria, including Iran's "standard-bearers" Lebanese Hezbollah and the Badr Organization, as well as splinter factions of Sadrist groups like Liwa al-Youm al-Mawud and Iraq war holdovers such as Asaib Ahl al-Haqq. The biggest and most influential Shiite militias, however, have been those based out of Syria. Among these, Liwa Abu Fadl al-Abbas (LAFA) comprises the largest network in Syria, with several associated organizations and splinter groups operating under its leadership.

Iran's militia network has been instrumental in securing Damascus and Assad's continued rule, effectively taking over the Syrian government in the process. It has established a new Golan front against Israel, infiltrated the Iraqi government, and greatly advanced Iran's narrative that it is a powerful regional actor responsible for protecting Shiites. If the past is precedent, Iran will seek to expand its sphere of influence throughout the Levant and to the Gulf. It is an unfortunate reality in today's Middle East that Iran's Shiite jihad is here to stay for the foreseeable future.

P.J. Dermer

U.S. actions do not always reflect the complex reality of the many historic divisions in the Middle East, a region in which the nation-state system is not always the principal reality. A key is the U.S. train-and equip program, an effort that faces many serious challenges. Both ISIS and the Shiite militia network are grave, organized threats, complete with modern weapons, sophisticated technology, and entrenched positions.

To best combat ISIS, the situation should be assessed first and foremost at the strategic level, not the tactical level. That means factoring in the sectarian fault lines in the Middle East -- especially divisions between Arabs and Iranians, and Sunnis and Shiites. During the Iraq war, after 2003, this latter division was mitigated by the new government's attempts to recruit technocrats into the military and senior positions in civil society instead of corrupt party members (Baath or otherwise) and sectarian sympathizers. However, the influence of religious parties and Iran still ultimately permeated Iraq's government.

Given these fundamentals, the question for Washington is how to best operate in this environment. The challenge is further complicated by the religious nature of the conflict. The United States has historically worked alongside less-than-reputable groups in Iraq, but has had to exercise caution when sectarian factors have come into play, such as with the Sadrist groups early in the 2008 fight in Basra and Baghdad.

The United States needs to get in the big game in the Middle East, looking not only at the threat posed by ISIS but also at the even greater specter of increasing malign Iranian influence and dominance. Iran has the ability to project its influence across the region using tools such as the IRGC-Qods Force and its militia network. The United States needs to outdo its Iranian rivals in reach and impact, aggressively engaging in Iraq to undercut Iran's influence there.

Finally, the United States must understand that this is a fight that will be won in capitals, not on fringes. U.S. priorities must be in Baghdad, Damascus, and Riyadh, not in Kobani or Mosul. Battlefield successes cannot be sustained without ongoing and intense diplomatic engagement with U.S. regional partners. One of the biggest forthcoming challenges will be transforming Iraq post-ISIS into a stable, lasting U.S. security partner.

This summary was prepared by Ian Duff.