أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 1986

اليوم التالي: الرد على هجوم إسرائيلي على إيران

مايكل آيزنشتات

متاح أيضاً في English

27 أيلول/سبتمبر 2012


"للتخفيف من الآثار السلبية، ستحتاج واشنطن إلى اتخاذ عدد من الخطوات قبل قيام هجوم إسرائيلي وبعده، وقد تتعارض بعض تلك الخطوات مع غرائزها وأفضلياتها."

 

على الرغم من أن هجوم عسكري إسرائيلي ضد برنامج إيران النووي بعيداً من أن يكون مؤكداً، إلا أن العواقب المحتملة بالنسبة للولايات المتحدة واضحة. إن تطوراً كهذا سيشكل تحديات رئيسية من ناحية إدارة الأزمات، وربما يوفر فرصاً لتعزيز مصالح الولايات المتحدة.

سيكون التحدي المباشر لوقوع هجوم عسكري إسرائيلي هو الحد من التصعيد من خلال تقييد حرية طهران في التصرف، والتقليل من الأضرار الناجمة عن انتقامها وإبعاد «حزب الله» ووكلاء إيرانيين آخرين عن النزاع. وعلاوة على ذلك، فمن خلال تحجيم الخيارات التصعيدية من جانب إيران في الخليج الفارسي قد تستطيع واشنطن منع حدوث ارتفاع طويل الأجل في أسعار النفط. وذلك يمكن أن يساعد بدوره على الحفاظ على الدعم الدولي للجهود المبذولة لمنع طهران من الحصول على أسلحة نووية.

ولتحقيق هذه الأهداف، ستحتاج واشنطن إلى اتخاذ عدد من الخطوات سواء قبل القيام بهجوم أو بعده مباشرة ويجب أيضاً أن تكون مستعدة للرد بسرعة على الحسابات الخاطئة - من قبلها أو من قبل أصدقاء وخصوم  على حد سواء - فضلاً عن غيرها من التبعات غير المقصودة التي قد تُعقِّد من الجهود الدبلوماسية عقب الهجوم.

وبالنسبة لإدارة أوباما، هناك تحدي إضافي يتمثل في الإعداد لحدث تحاول الإدارة بوضوح تجنبه دون أن تظهر إما "متواطئة" في الأعمال الإسرائيلية (على حد تعبير رئيس هيئة الأركان الأمريكية المشتركة الجنرال مارتن ديمبسي) أو قد تبدو غير راغبة في دعم حليف وثيق في وقت الشدة. وفي أعقاب الهجوم ستحتاج واشنطن إلى كبح غضبها من الحكومة الإسرائيلية وقصره على مهمة إدارة الأزمة بطريقة تعزز من المصالح الأمريكية وتقوي مكانة الولايات المتحدة في نظر شركائها الإقليميين.

العمل مع إسرائيل لمنع التصعيد

سوف يكون الحد من الخسائر الإسرائيلية نتيجة انتقام إيراني عنصراً رئيسياً في أي مساعي ترمي إلى الحد من تقييد التصعيد عقب الهجوم. لقد نجحت إسرائيل خلال بعض النزاعات السابقة (على سبيل المثال، خلال حرب الخليج عام 1991)، في امتصاص وابل من الصواريخ والقذائف والهجمات الإرهابية دون القيام بأي عمل انتقامي، على الأقل عندما كانت الخسائر البشرية الناتجة عن ذلك قليلة. وبناءاً على ذلك، يجب أن تكون الولايات المتحدة مستعدة لتعزيز الدفاعات الصاروخية الإسرائيلية بصورة سريعة بصورايخ من طراز SM-3S وصواريخ أرض جو دفاعية من نوع "ثاد"، وصواريخ باتريوت من نوع PAC-2s، بهدف الحد من الخسائر الناجمة عن الصواريخ الإيرانية، وربما صواريخ «حزب الله» بعيدة المدى.

وقد يرغب بعض مسؤولي الإدارة الامريكية في الحفاظ على مسافة مدروسة بين الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل عقب الهجوم الإسرائيلي من أجل إثبات عدم موافقتهم على ذلك العمل، لكن حتمية منع المزيد من التصعيد عن طريق نشر دفاعات صاروخية بصورة سريعة يجب أن تطغى على كافة الاعتبارات الأخرى (باستثناء الحاجة إلى نشر مثل هذه الأنظمة للدفاع عن مرافق الولايات المتحدة في الخليج). كما ستحتاج واشنطن إلى العمل مع أجهزة الاستخبارات الإسرائيلية وغيرها في جميع أنحاء العالم لإحباط الهجمات الإرهابية الانتقامية ضد المصالح الأمريكية (للحد من إمكانية تورط الولايات المتحدة في المعمعة)، فضلاً عن هجمات ضد أهداف إسرائيلية ويهودية (للحد من المزيد من العمل العسكري الإسرائيلي).

وعلى الرغم من أنه من غير المرجح أن تستمر الإجراءات الرئيسية المرتبطة بهجوم إسرائيلي أكثر بكثير من يوم واحد أو يومين، فقد يقرر الجيش الإسرائيلي شن هجمات إضافية ضد أهداف لم يلحق بها الضرر المطلوب أثناء الهجوم الأولي. وقد يشكل ذلك تحديات إضافية للعلاقات بين الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل، وخاصة إذا اعتقدت واشنطن أنها قد تجنبت حدوث تصعيد كبير بعد توجيه الضربة الأولى. ومثل هذه السيناريوهات تبرز الحاجة إلى إجراء مشاورات ثنائية وثيقة في جميع مراحل الأزمة، بقيام صناع السياسة الأمريكيين والإسرائيليين بمقارنة المزايا التي قد تحققها الهجمات الإضافية مقابل احتماليات التصعيد نظراً للوضع على أرض الواقع.

بعث رسالة إلى إيران

لواشنطن قدرة محدودة على التأثير على حسابات طهران، ولكن بإمكانها أن تنجز بعض الأمور قبل وقوع أي هجوم من أجل تقييد حرية النظام في شن عمل عسكري والحد من قدراته على الرد. وتشمل هذه:

·         إبلاغ طهران بصورة هادئة بأنه في أعقاب الاستفزازات الأخيرة - أي مؤامرات لاغتيال السفير السعودي في واشنطن في العام الماضي وموظفي السفارة الأمريكية في أذربيجان في وقت سابق من هذا العام، وكلاهما مرتبط بطهران - بأن الولايات المتحدة سوف ترد على الهجمات المستقبلية التي تنفذها إيران أو وكلاؤها على مصالحها بطريقة قوية. وينبغي أن تكرر هذه الرسالة الآن حتى إذا تم نقلها في الماضي.

·         تكثيف المراقبة على عملاء الاستخبارات الإيرانيين - المشتبه بهم والمؤكدين - العاملين خارج البلاد وإظهار ذلك التدقيق البالغ بصورة واضحة إلى طهران. واذا كان النظام يعلم أن وكلاءه يخضعون للمراقبة، فقد يكون أقل استعداداً لاستخدامهم للقيام بأعمال انتقامية. وفي أعقاب وقوع هجوم إسرائيلي مباشر ينبغي على واشنطن أن تأخذ هذا النهج خطوة أخرى إلى الأمام وتضغط على الحكومات الحليفة للإعلان بأن العملاء الإيرانيين هم أشخاص غير مرغوب فيهم.

·         الحفاظ على وجود بحري وجوي قوي في الخليج للحد من الخيارات العسكرية أمام إيران عقب وقوع الهجوم. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، ينبغي على الولايات المتحدة أن تغير مواقع حاملتي الطائرات التابعتين لها في الخليج الفارسي وتنقلهما إلى خليج عمان، حيث ستكونان أقل عرضة لهجوم إيراني مفاجئ وفي وضعية أفضل لشن حملة "من الخارج إلى الداخل" لاستعادة حرية الملاحة في مضيق هرمز. ومع ذلك، ينبغي على واشنطن أن تستمر في الحفاظ على وجود بحري في الخليج الفارسي، سواء لطمأنة حلفائها أو لحرمان طهران من القدرة على الإدعاء بأنها طردت القوات الامريكية.

·         إقناع الحلفاء والشركاء - وخاصة أولئك الذين يعتمدون على نفط الخليج - بتحذير طهران من مغبة عرقلة شحنات النفط. وبقيامهم بذلك ينبغي عليهم أن يذكّروا طهران بأن خسارتها للحرب مع العراق ترجع في المقام الأول إلى اتخاذها العديد من الإجراءات (بما في ذلك "حرب الناقلات") التي صرفت المجتمع الدولي عنها. كما يجب أن يكونوا مستعدين للإفراج عن كميات كبيرة من النفط من احتياطياتهم الاستراتيجية للحد من الارتفاع المحتمل في أسعار النفط. 

وعقب الهجوم ينبغي على واشنطن أن تؤكد على أن السبب المباشر للأزمة كان رفض طهران تبديد الشكوك المستمرة حيال الطبيعة السلمية لبرنامجها النووي. ومن ثم يجب على الولايات المتحدة وشركائها التأكيد على رغبتهما في مساعدة طهران على التمتع بمزايا التقنية النووية للأغراض السلمية، شريطة أن توضح طهران القضايا العالقة بشأن برنامجها وتوافق على الضمانات الكافية. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يجب على واشنطن أن تعمل على ردع طهران عن الخروج أو الانسحاب من "معاهدة حظر انتشار الأسلحة النووية"، مذكِّرة النظام بأن المجتمع الدولي قد اكتشف جهودها السابقة لبناء منشآت تخصيب سرية، وأنها سوف تواجه عقوبات أشد لو فعلت ذلك مرة أخرى، وأن الانسحاب من "معاهدة حظر الانتشار النووي" ليس خياراً قانونياً في ضوء انتهاكها المحتمل لالتزاماتها المنصوص عليها في المعاهدة.

تهميش «حزب الله»

لإيران القدرة على إلحاق قدر كبير من الضرر بمفردها عند وقوع أي هجوم عليها. أولاً، يرجح أن تخترق بعض الصواريخ الإيرانية الدفاعات الصاروخية الإسرائيلية (رغم أنه تجدر الإشارة إلى أن الصواريخ العراقية الإحدى وأربعين التي أصابت إسرائيل في عام 1991 قد أدت إلى وفاة مواطن واحد فقط). ثانياً، يرجح أن تنجح بعض الهجمات الإرهابية التي ترعاها إيران، على الرغم من أن النظام قد أظهر في الآونة الأخيرة درجة من عدم الكفاءة في هذا المجال. ثالثاً، تستطيع إيران أن تحدث أزمة في أسواق النفط العالمية من خلال تهديد شحنات النفط في الخليج، على افتراض رغبتها في اختراق الحظر الدولي المفروض في هذا الصدد.

بيد أن قدرة إيران على إلحاق الضرر قد تتضاعف بشكل كبير لو أنها أقنعت «حزب الله» بالانضمام إلى المعركة. على سبيل المثال، تستطيع المنظمة استخدام مخزونها الذي يشمل أكثر من 50,000 صاروخ لقصف إسرائيل من لبنان، مما قد يشعل حرباً في بلاد الشام. كما تستطيع شن هجمات إرهابية ضد أهداف أمريكية أو إسرائيلية أو يهودية في الخارج. وقد صرح مؤخراً زعيم «حزب الله» الشيخ حسن نصر الله بأن رد الحركة على أي هجوم إسرائيلي سوف يعتمد على الظروف. ورغم أنه صرح بعد ذلك (ربما استجابة لتحريض إيراني) بأن «حزب الله» سوف ينتقم بطريقة ما، إلا أن الجماعة لا تزال تعاني من آثار حربها مع إسرائيل عام 2006 وتواجه ضغوطاً داخلية بسبب الجرائم التي يرتكبها راعيها الآخر، نظام الأسد في سوريا. ومن ثم، فسوف يحاول «حزب الله» على الأرجح تجنب خوض حرب أخرى.

يجب على واشنطن أن تساعد «حزب الله» على البقاء في الهامش في أي صراع محتمل من خلال البيان الهادئ بأن أي عمل انتقامي بالنيابة عن إيران يرجح أن يزيد الدعم الإقليمي والدولي لاتخاذ تدابير مضادة. وتشمل هذه المساعدة شن هجمات عسكرية إسرائيلية قوية تتسبب في إلحاق أضرار بعيدة المدى بالجماعة، وفرض عقوبات تقيّد بشكل كبير من أنشطتها لجمع الأموال والأنشطة التنظيمية في أوروبا وفي أماكن أخرى، وبذل جهود أمريكية لإعاقة الإمدادات القادمة من إيران (على الرغم من أن «حزب الله» لديه بالفعل ما يكفي من الصواريخ لعدة صراعات كبيرة)، وتوجيه المزيد من الدعم القوي لقوات المعارضة في سوريا.

الحفاظ على الدعم الدولي

من بين أقوى مصادر القلق من قيام هجوم إسرائيلي هو أنه قد يقوض الدعم الدولي لمنع امتلاك إيران للسلاح النووي. ففي مثل هذه الظروف، تستطيع طهران أن تعيد بناء بنيتها التحتية النووية المدمَّرة في ظل قيود قليلة أو دون وجود قيود على الإطلاق، بما في ذلك ضوابط الرقابة على الصادرات التي أبطأت برامج أجهزة الطرد المركزي والصواريخ لديها.

وفي هذا الصدد، قد يكون الهجوم الإسرائيلي أقل إزعاجاً من الهجوم الأمريكي. لقد بذلت واشنطن جهوداً علنية كبيرة لتحذير إسرائيل من مغبة ذلك المسار، لذا فإن الهجوم الأمريكي قد يبعد تلك الدول التي تعاونت مع فرض العقوبات الأمريكية على اعتقاد أن الهدف منها كان الحيلولة دون قيام عمل عسكري. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن الهجوم الإسرائيلي الناجح الذي يُرجِّع البرنامج النووي الإيراني سنوات عديدة إلى الوراء قد يزيد من الحافز لدى المجتمع الدولي لمنع طهران الثائرة من الحصول على القنبلة النووية، حيث أن تلك التطورات قد تعجل قيام أزمة أكثر خطورة في وقت لاحق. والمفارقة عندئذ هي أن الهجوم الإسرائيلي قد يزيد من كل من رغبة طهران في الحصول على الأسلحة النووية وإصرار المجتمع الدولي على منعها من القيام بذلك. وهذا الإصرار قد يأخذ شكل التطبيق الأكثر صرامة لضوابط الصادرات الحالية المفروضة على المواد الحساسة والمواد ذات الاستخدام المزدوج التي هي ذات أهمية للبرنامج النووي.

وأخيراً، فإن أي تهديدات أو محاولات إيرانية لعرقلة الاقتصاد العالمي عقب الهجوم ستكون محفوفة بالمخاطر بالنسبة للجمهورية الإسلامية. فمن ناحية، إذا نجحت واشنطن في ردع العمليات الانتقامية الإيرانية في الخليج أو الحد من آثارها، فإن الدعم الدولي لفرض الرقابة والعقوبات على الصادرات الرامية إلى الحيلولة دون امتلاك إيران للقنبلة النووية قد يظل دون أي تأثير. ومن ناحية أخرى، لو تمكنت طهران من زعزعة استقرار الخليج، فقد يؤدي ذلك إلى ابتعاد أنصارها عنها، وتعزيز عزيمة تلك الدول التي تعمل على منعها من الحصول على القنبلة النووية (بما في ذلك روسيا والصين)، وضمان إحداث الهجوم الإسرائيلي لأكبر قدر من التأثير على قدرة النظام على إعادة البناء.

الخلاصة

 نظراً لأن أي هجوم عسكري إسرائيلي على إيران سيكون خطوة محفوفة بالمخاطر مع وجود احتمالات كبيرة للتصعيد، فإن تسوية الأزمة النووية دبلوماسياً يُعد الحل الأفضل إلى درجة كبيرة. بيد أنه حتى مع استمرار واشنطن في تحذير إسرائيل من مغبة تلك الخطوة، فمن المستحسن اتخاذ تدابير تهدف إلى التخفيف من الآثار السلبية لذلك الهجوم، والحيلولة دون حدوث المزيد من التصعيد، وإعاقة جهود إيران لإعادة بناء برنامجها النووي.

 

مايكل آيزنشتات هو مدير برنامج الدراسات العسكرية والأمنية في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 1986

The Day After: Responding to an Israeli Strike on Iran

Michael Eisenstadt

Also available in العربية

September 27, 2012


To mitigate adverse consequences, Washington would need to take a number of steps before and after an Israeli strike, some of which might run counter to its instincts and preferences.

Although an Israeli military strike against Iran's nuclear program is far from certain, the potential consequences for the United States are clear. Such a development would present major crisis-management challenges -- and, perhaps, opportunities to advance U.S. interests.

The immediate challenge would be to limit escalation by constraining Tehran's freedom to act, minimizing the damage caused by its retaliation, and keeping Hizballah and other Iranian proxies out of the fray. Moreover, by curbing Iran's escalatory options in the Persian Gulf, Washington might prevent a prolonged spike in oil prices. This could in turn help preserve international support for efforts to prevent Tehran from acquiring nuclear weapons.

To accomplish these objectives, Washington would need to take a number of steps both prior to and immediately after a strike. It must also be prepared to respond quickly to miscalculations -- whether its own or those of friends and adversaries -- as well as other unintended consequences that could complicate poststrike diplomacy.

For the Obama administration, there is the additional challenge of preparing for an event that it is clearly trying to avoid without appearing either "complicit" in Israeli actions (in the words of Joint Chiefs chairman Gen. Martin Dempsey) or unwilling to support a close ally in its hour of need. And in the aftermath of a strike, Washington would need to subordinate its pique at the Israeli government to the task of managing the crisis in a way that furthers U.S. interests and enhances America's standing in the eyes of its regional partners.

WORKING WITH ISRAEL TO PREVENT ESCALATION

Minimizing Israeli casualties as a result of Iranian retaliation would be a key element of any effort to limit poststrike escalation. During some past conflicts (e.g., the 1991 Gulf War), Israel has absorbed rocket and missile barrages and terrorist attacks without retaliating, at least when the resulting casualties were limited. Accordingly, the United States should be prepared to rapidly augment Israel's missile defenses with SM-3s, Terminal High-Altitude Area Defense systems (THAADS), and Patriot PAC-2s, with the aim of limiting casualties caused by Iranian missiles and, perhaps, Hizballah's long-range rockets.

Some administration officials may wish to maintain a studied distance from Israel poststrike in order to demonstrate their disapproval, but the imperative to prevent further escalation by rapidly dispatching missile defenses should trump all other considerations (except for the need to deploy such systems to defend U.S. facilities in the Gulf). Washington would also need to work with Israeli and other intelligence services around the world on thwarting retaliatory terrorist attacks against American interests (to limit potential U.S. involvement in the fray) as well as Israeli and Jewish targets (to limit further Israeli military action).

Although the main actions associated with an Israeli strike are unlikely to last much more than a day or two, the Israeli military might decide to conduct a follow-up strike several days later against targets inadequately damaged during the initial attack. This could pose further challenges to U.S.-Israeli relations, especially if Washington believed that it had averted major escalation after the first strike. Such scenarios underscore the need for close bilateral consultation throughout the crisis, with U.S. and Israeli decisionmakers comparing the benefits that a follow-on strike might confer versus its escalatory potential given the situation on the ground.

SIGNALING IRAN

Washington's ability to influence Tehran's calculus is limited, but it can do a number of things well before any strike to constrain the regime's freedom of military action and capacity to respond. These include:

  • Quietly informing Tehran that in the wake of recent provocations -- namely, plots to assassinate the Saudi ambassador in Washington last year and U.S. embassy personnel in Azerbaijan earlier this year, both linked to Tehran -- the United States will respond to future Iranian or proxy attacks on its interests in a forceful manner. This message should be reiterated now even if it has been delivered in the past.
  • Intensifying surveillance of suspected and confirmed Iranian intelligence agents serving overseas, and making this enhanced scrutiny visible to Tehran. If the regime knows that its agents are being watched, it may be less willing to use them to conduct retaliatory actions. And in the immediate aftermath of an Israeli strike, Washington should take this approach a step further, pressing allied governments to declare Iranian agents personae non grata.
  • Maintaining a strengthened air and naval presence in the Gulf to limit Iran's poststrike military options. In addition, the United States should relocate the two aircraft carriers in the Persian Gulf to the Gulf of Oman, where they will be less vulnerable to an Iranian surprise attack and better positioned to wage an "outside-in" campaign to restore freedom of navigation in the Strait of Hormuz. It should still maintain a naval presence in the Persian Gulf, however, both to reassure its allies and deny Tehran the ability to claim that it expelled U.S. forces.
  • Persuading allies and partners -- especially those dependent on Gulf oil -- to warn Tehran against disrupting oil shipments. In doing so, they should remind Tehran that it lost the Iran-Iraq War in large part because it took a variety of actions (including the "tanker war") that alienated the international community. They should also be prepared to release large quantities of oil from their strategic reserves to dampen a possible oil price spike.

After a strike, Washington should emphasize that the proximate cause of the crisis was Tehran's refusal to dispel persistent doubts about the peaceful nature of its nuclear program. The United States and its partners should then reiterate their willingness to help Iran enjoy the benefits of nuclear technology for peaceful purposes, provided that Tehran clarify outstanding issues about its program and agree to adequate safeguards. In addition, Washington should work to deter Tehran from breaking out or withdrawing from the Nuclear Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT), reminding the regime that the international community has detected its previous efforts to build clandestine enrichment facilities, that it would face even stiffer sanctions were it to do so again, and that withdrawal from the NPT is not a legal option given its likely violation of its treaty obligations.

SIDELINING HIZBALLAH

Iran has the ability to do a fair amount of harm on its own in response to a strike. First, some Iranian missiles would likely penetrate Israeli missile defenses (though it should be recalled that the forty-one Iraqi missiles that hit Israel in 1991 led to the death of only one citizen). Second, some Iranian-sponsored terrorist attacks are likely to succeed, though the regime has recently shown a degree of incompetence in this area. Third, Tehran could roil world oil markets by threatening Gulf oil shipments, assuming it were willing to brook international censure for doing so.

Yet Iran's potential for harm would be greatly magnified if it convinced Hizballah to join the fight. For example, the organization could use its inventory of more than 50,000 rockets to bombard Israel from Lebanon, perhaps sparking a war in the Levant. It could also undertake terrorist attacks against U.S., Israeli, or Jewish targets overseas. Hizballah leader Sheikh Hassan Nasrallah recently stated that the group's response to an Israeli strike would depend on the circumstances. Although he subsequently stated (probably in response to Iranian prodding) that Hizballah would retaliate in some way, the group is still smarting from its 2006 war with Israel and is facing domestic pressure due to the travails of its cosponsor, the Assad regime in Syria. Therefore, it will probably try to avoid another war.

Washington should help Hizballah stay on the sidelines of a potential conflict by quietly indicating that any retaliation on Iran's behalf would likely increase regional and international support for strong countermeasures. These include robust Israeli military action aimed at causing long-term damage to the group, sanctions that greatly constrain its fundraising and organizational activities in Europe and elsewhere, U.S. efforts to hinder resupply from Iran (though Hizballah already has enough rockets for several major conflicts), and more robust support for opposition forces in Syria.

MAINTAINING INTERNATIONAL SUPPORT

One of the greatest sources of anxiety concerning an Israeli strike is that it could undermine international support for preventing a nuclear-armed Iran. Under such conditions, Tehran could rebuild its destroyed nuclear infrastructure with few if any constraints, including the export controls that have slowed its centrifuge and missile programs.

In this respect, an Israeli strike would be less disruptive than an American strike. Washington has made a very public effort to warn Israel against such a course, so a U.S. strike might alienate those countries that have cooperated with U.S. sanctions in the belief that they were aimed at averting military action. Moreover, a successful Israeli strike that sets Iran's nuclear program back by several years might increase the international community's motivation to prevent a vengeful Tehran from acquiring the bomb, since that development could precipitate an even more dangerous crisis later. Paradoxically, then, an Israeli attack might increase both Tehran's desire to obtain nuclear arms and the international community's resolve to prevent it from doing so. This resolve could take the form of more stringent application of existing export controls on sensitive materials and dual-use items critical to the nuclear program.

Finally, any Iranian threats or attempts to disrupt the global economy after a strike would be fraught with risk for the Islamic Republic. On one hand, if Washington succeeded in deterring Iranian retaliation in the Gulf or mitigating its consequences, then international support for export controls and sanctions designed to prevent Iran from acquiring the bomb might well continue unaffected. Conversely, should Tehran manage to destabilize the Gulf, it could alienate its supporters, strengthen the determination of those countries working to prevent it from getting the bomb (including Russia and China), and ensure that an Israeli strike has a greater impact on the regime's ability to rebuild than would have otherwise been the case.

CONCLUSION

Because an Israeli military strike on Iran would be a high-risk move with significant potential for escalation, resolving the nuclear impasse diplomatically is greatly preferred. Yet even as Washington continues to warn Israel against such a move, it would be well advised to prepare measures aimed at mitigating the adverse consequences of a strike, averting further escalation, and impeding Iran's efforts to rebuild its nuclear program.

Michael Eisenstadt is director of the Military and Security Studies Program at The Washington Institute.