أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2349

معركة الأفكار 2.0: مكافحة أيديولوجية تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في الولايات المتحدة والخارج

الأمير زيد رعد الحسين, ماثيو ليفيت, و هدية ميراحمادي

متاح أيضاً في English

16 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2014


"في 16 كانون الأول/ديسمبر، خاطب صاحب السمو الملكي الأمير زيد رعد الحسين من الأردن، وماثيو ليفيت، وهدية ميراحمادي  منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. وصاحب السمو الملكي الأمير زيد هو "المفوض السامي للأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان". والسيد ليفيت هو زميل فورمان - ويكسلر في المعهد ومدير برنامج ستاين للاستخبارات و مكافحة الإرهاب. والسيدة ميراحمادي هي مديرة "المنظمة العالمية لتنمية الموارد والتعليم" (WORDE)، وهي منظمة غير ربحية تكرس عملها لمنع التطرف. وفيما يلي ملخص المقررة لملاحظاتهم."

 

صاحب السمو الملكي الأمير زيد رعد الحسين

هزّت الهجمات المروعة التي وقعت في 16 كانون الأول/ديسمبر في مدينة بيشاور العالم مرةً أخرى، حيث لم تكتفِ باستهداف المدنيين بل استهدفت طلاباً صغار أيضاً. وفي حين كانت حركة "طالبان" هي مرتكبة الهجمات هذه المرة، إلاّ أنّه لم يعد يهمّ تقريباً تمييز واحدة من هذه الجماعات المتطرفة عن الأخرى من حيث مفهوم حقوق الإنسان. فسواء تحدثنا عن جماعة «بوكو حرام» أو «جبهة النصرة» أو تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش»)/«الدولة الإسلامية»، تتبع كلها أيديولوجية "تكفيرية" متشابهة.

وعلى دول الغرب أن تدرك النسيج الذي يربط كل هذه الجماعات المتطرفة معاً حيث أنها تبدي القدر عينه من القساوة والاستخفاف بالأرواح والتشويه الكامل لماهية الدين الإسلامي. فحالما تدرك ذلك، سيصبح من الممكن البدء بالعمل على إعداد الإطار الصحيح لمكافحة أيديولوجيتها. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، سيمنع فهم هذه المسألة بشكل أفضل السياسيين الأكثر تمثيلاً لآراء عامة الشعب من تأجيج المشاعر المعادية للإسلام إذ إنّ رد الفعل المبالغ لا يقوم سوى بتغذية القضية "التكفيرية". نرى الآن الإدانات تتدفق من العواصم العربية والإسلامية، لكنّ إظهار الشعب للاشمئزاز والرفض لم يكن كافياً حتى الآن.

لقد استغل تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» بشكل ذكي طموح الكثيرين من المسلمين غير "التكفيريين" إلى إقامة خلافة إسلامية وقام، من خلال حبك هذا الطموح بطريقة تفكير متطرفة، بخلق ما يمكن وصفه بقوة هائلة مدمّرة لا يمكن ردعها. فقد احتلت «داعش» قبل عام مدينة الفلوجة التي لا تزال تحت سيطرتها حتى اليوم- ما يبين أن لأيديولوجيتها قدرةً على الصمود. كما أنّها تتعلم حالياً كيف تحكم بدلاً من مجرد الانخراط في نشاطات إرهابية شاملة. بالنسبة للبعض، مثل المسيحيين أو اليزيديين، فالإرهاب هو بالتأكيد شاغلهم الرئيسي، غير أنّ تنظيم «داعش» يستجيب لاحتياجات أجزاءٍ معينة من المجتمع. ذلك يزيد من قدرتها على الصمود، ويدعو إلى اللجوء إلى استجابة متعددة الجوانب لا تقتصر على القنابل والبندقيات والحسابات المصرفية.

ويجدر الذكر أنّ الإعلام يؤدي دوراً هاماً في هذه المعركة إذ يقع على عاتق الإعلاميين إسماع صوت المسلمين العاديين المعتدلين وإعطائهم منصة أوسع. غير أنّ الإعلام غالباً ما يفضل عرض الصواريخ المنهمرة بدلاً من التركيز على الصعيد الأيديولوجي. فلم تغطِ سوى صحيفتان اثنتان أو ثلاثة صحف في دول الغرب كتاباً صدر عن 126 عالماً من العلماء المسلمين استنكروا فيه الخطبة التي ألقاها زعيم تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» أبو بكر البغدادي في تموز/يوليو. من إمكان وسائل الإعلام الكبرى كما ومن واجبها إلقاء المزيد من الضوء على هذا الجانب.

 ومن الواضح أنّ الكثيرين ممن يقصدون مناطق النزاع في سوريا والعراق بالكاد يعرفون القليل عن الأيديولوجية "التكفيرية". فهم يرونها كآلية ومنفذ للاحتجاجات العنيفة، الأمر الذي لم يعد متاحاً في أوروبا. أضف إلى ذلك أن العالم لا يزال يتخذ خطوات متعثّرة في ما يخصّ محاسبة أفظع الجرائم – إذ إنّ الكل يستنكر هذه الجرائم ولكن ما من مجهود موحد يُبذل في سبيل وضع حد لإفلات مرتكبي الجرائم من العقاب. يمكن القول يطريقة ما إنّه يتم الإفراط في تعريض الجمهور لأخبار سفك الدماء والقتل وقد أصبح هذا الجمهور بالتالي ميتاً من الداخل ومخدراً تجاهها، تماماً كما يتضايق طلاب الطبّ من رائحة مواد الفورمالدهيد المحنطة عند تشريح الجثة الأولى ومن ثم يعتادون على الرائحة بحلول تشريح الجثة الثانية أو الثالثة. إنّ عدد المرات التي اضطر فيها مكتب المفوضية السامية لحقوق الإنسان على إحاطة مجلس الأمن بقضايا انتهاكات هذه الحقوق يثير القلق. نحن نتوجه الآن باندفاع نحو حالة طارئة عالمية لا نعرف ملامحها الواضحة بعد.

ولا يكفي، لوضع حد نهائي للنزاعات، إطلاق مشاريع البناء التنموية أو تدريب الجيش والشرطة والمسؤولين المحليين. فلن نتوصل إلى صيغة تسمح بالمصالحة وبتصفية الحسابات العميقة سوى عند فهم الحالة النفسية الجماعية والتاريخ والروايات المتباينة للشعب. من دون ذلك، جل ما سنفعله هو الجري من أزمة إلى أخرى محاولين معرفة ما الخطأ الذي ارتكبناه وكيف يمكننا تصحيحه.

 

ماثيو ليفيت

الوقت الآن هو الأنسب بشكلٍ خاص لإطلاق مناقشات حول مواجهة التطرف العنيف سواء في الولايات المتحدة أو خارجها نظراً إلى تخطيط البيت الأبيض لعقد قمة حول هذا الموضوع. فيتأرجح اهتمام الحكومة في هذا الموضوع هبوطاً ونزولاً لكنه يحظى اليوم بالاهتمام لأنه يشكل واحداً من أصعدة العمل الخمسة في استراتيجية الحكومة الأمريكية لمحاربة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». غير أنّ العوامل الدافعة للتشدد لا تقتصر على «داعش». فعلى البرامج الأميركية أن تغطي القضية انطلاقاً من الشكاوى الشخصية المحلية وصولاً إلى قضايا السياسة الخارجية مثل وحشية نظام بشار الأسد في سوريا.

أما على صعيد جهود مواجهة التطرف العنيف، فثمة ثلاثة مقالق رئيسة. فتتطلب أولاً جهود مواجهة التطرف العنيف الفعالة كلا إشراك المجتمع والرد على الأسس الأيديولوجية للتطرف، بما فيها الخطابات المضادة. إنّ الحفاظ على علاقات سليمة مع المجتمعات المسلمة أمر هام بشكل استثنائي، سواء للحكومة أو للمجتمعات. كما وأنّ المجتمعات المحلية مؤهلة بشكلٍ فريد لمواجهة المسائل الدينية - إذ يجب على الحكومة ألا تورط نفسها في نقاشات دينية. غير أنّ إشراك المجتمع وحده ليس كافياً. فالبرامج أمثال برنامج "جلسات إحاطة توعية المجتمع المدني" الذي ينفذه المركز القومي الأمريكي لمكافحة الإرهاب والذي يوضح نظرة المركز إلى التهديدات الإرهابية، في غاية الأهمية. ومهما كان موضوع الأيديولوجيات مزعجاً، لا بد من التطرق إليه إذ عندما يكون لدى الشخص فراغ معرفي يمكن ملؤه بهذا التطرف العنيف، على أحدٍ أن يتدخل ليزوده بسيناريوهات وأفكار بديلة.

 لكن تعاني الحكومة الأميركية لسوء الحظ من عجزٍ هيكلي وبرمجي في ما يتعلق بمنع ومكافحة التطرف العنيف. فلا وزارة في الولايات المتحدة للمجتمعات والحكومة المحلية أو لا وزارة داخلية شبيهة للنلك في بريطانيا تعمل الحكومة الفدرالية من خلالها مع المجتمعات المحلية. ولقد تم إدراج مواجهة التطرف العنيف في إنفاذ القانون لعدم توفير أي بديل. يزيد ذلك من خطر إنشاء "شرطة فكر" كما في رواية "1964" لجورج أورويل، غير أنّه لا يمكننا الانتظار إلى أن تُرتكب الأعمال العنيفة إذ علينا أن نحدث نقلةً نوعية في مرحلة أبكر من مراحل عملية التشدد. والخبر السار هنا هو أنّ لدى الولايات المتحدة حالياً ثلاثة برامج تجريبية كبيرة في إطار مواجهة التطرف العنيف في بوسطن ومينيابوليس ولوس أنجلوس. غير أنّه يجب تقييم قيمة هذه البرامج بالاستناد إلى مستويات تمويلها وإلى ما إذا كانت تتصدى إلى الأيديولوجية المتطرفة وتسهّل الوصول إلى المجتمعات المحلية.

وأخيراً، في حين تلعب عوامل محلية هامة دوراً في التشدّد، ثمة أيضاً عنصر كبير متصل بالسياسة. ففي حين أنّ بعض المسلمين ينجذبون إلى فكرة إنشاء خلافة إسلامية، إلاّ أنّ الوحشية التي يرتكبها نظام الأسد ضد المدنيين السوريين، وما يرافقها من انعدام استجابة حكومات دول الغرب تشكل واحداً من أبرز العوامل التي دفعت بالسنّة للانضمام إلى القتال في سوريا. وانخرطت الولايات المتحدة عسكرياً في المسألة أولاً لحماية مواطنيها ومن ثم لحماية الأقليات، ولكن، ليس لحماية السنّة بتاتاً. وساعد التصور الناتج عن ذلك لسياسة الولايات المتحدة على خلق حالة خطرة للغاية حيث يسافر آلاف المنتمين إلى الطائفة السنية إلى سوريا ويؤججون التوترات الطائفية في المنطقة. فما دام بشار الأسد في السلطة، سيبقى عامل جذب للمقاتلين الأجانب الذين يعارضون حكمه.

 

هدية ميراحمادي

يؤثر نظام «داعش» كما النزاع في سوريا في المجتمعات المحلية الأميركية إلى درجة تفوق بكثير، بطريقة ما، ما شهدناه في إطار تجنيد «القاعدة» أو غيرها من الجماعات الجهادية للمتطوعين. إذ كان التلقين الأيديولوجي لـ تنظيم «القاعدة» أشد تطرفاً بكثير – حيث سعت الجماعة إلى إقناع مناصريها أنّ الغرب عدو لدود. أما تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، فيدعي أنّه يسعى لبناء مجتمع فاضل وإنقاذ المسلمين من مذابح نظام بشار الأسد. ووفقاً للدعاية التي تنشرها «داعش»، هي جماعة قانونية لها زعماء شرعيين ضمن دولة قائمة ذات سيادة. وهنا يتعين على العلماء المسلمين دحض هذه الادعاءات، كما يمكن للمعتدلين تلقيح الوسط الإسلامي ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، وذلك يحصل الآن للمرة الأولى قط إذ قال الإمام يوسف القرضاوي ذو النفوذ البالغ إنّ «داعش» لا تستوفي شروط إنشاء دولة إسلامية، لا من الناحية الاجتماعية ولا من الناحية اللاهوتية. وهذه رسائل قوية جداً يجدر أن تذاع بصوت أعلى وأن يتم إيصالها للمزيد من الناس.

بإمكان الشيوخ أنّ يؤثروا في الكثير من الشباب والراشدين الذين يسعون للحصول على مبررات لاهوتية للأنشطة الجهادية. غير أنّه ما زال يصعب الوصول إلى الاطفال الأصغر سناً ما زال. تعمل المنظمة العالمية لتنمية الموارد والتعليم في مقاطعة مونتغومري في ولاية ماريلاند مع الحكومة المحلية لتوجيه الشباب نحو أشكال تعبير أكثر أخلاقية وأقل عنفاً قبل أن يتم تلقينهم أفكاراً متشددة. ويجب تمكين فئة الشباب، فالكثير منهم يواجهون صعوبةً في احترام السلطة، ومن الصعب غرس القيم الهامة من حيث ما من احترام. يعمل العاملون في منظمة المنظمة العالمية لتنمية الموارد والتعليم على مساعدة الشباب على فهم الجذور التي ينبع منها شعورهم بالعجز واليأس.

والأمر هنا ليس عبارة عن برنامج متركز حول الإسلام بل هو يطال المجتمع بأكمله، إذ يتوفير لدى المجتمع ككل الإطار الأنسب لفهم عوامل الخطر المرتبطة بالسلوك المتطرف وكيفية التدخل، من أساتذة المدارس والمسؤولين عن إنفاذ القوانين وصولاً إلى الشخصيات الدينية. وفي الوقت عينه، يُفترض بالعملية أن تصبح أسهل بكثير إذا ساهم المسؤولون الفدراليون بتقديم المزيد من التوجيه. ونموذج مقاطعة مونتغومري ممتاز هنا، ولكن، من دون الحصول على توجيهات من أعلى الإدارة من أجل تنسيق مواجهة التطرف العنيف والتشديد على أهميته، سوف تُضطر كل مقاطعة إلى خلق برنامجها الخاص بمفردها.

 

أعدت هذا الملخص المقررة كيلسي سيغاوا

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2349

The Battle of Ideas 2.0: Combating ISIS Ideology at Home and Abroad

Prince Zeid Ra'ad al-Hussein, Matthew Levitt, and Hedieh Mirahmadi

Also available in العربية

December 16, 2014


An in-depth conversation on the challenges of battling jihadist ideology in the ISIS era.

On December 16, His Royal Highness Prince Zeid Ra'ad al-Hussein of Jordan, Matthew Levitt, and Hedieh Mirahmadi addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. HRH Prince Zeid is the UN high commissioner for human rights. Levitt is the Institute's Fromer-Wexler Fellow and director of the Stein Program on Counterterrorism and Intelligence. Mirahmadi is the director of World Organization for Resource Development and Education (WORDE), a nonprofit dedicated to preventing radicalization. The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks.

HRH Prince Zeid Ra'ad al-Hussein

The horrific attacks in Peshawar today, not just against civilians but against young schoolchildren as well, have shaken the world yet again. While the Taliban were the perpetrators this time, from a human rights perspective it has become almost irrelevant to distinguish one of these extremist groups from the other. Whether it is Boko Haram, Jabhat al-Nusra, or the Islamic State of Iraq and al-Sham (ISIS), they all have a similar takfiri ideology.

The Western world needs to recognize the tissue that binds all these extremist groups together. They show the same callousness, disregard for life, and complete distortion of what Islam is. Once that is recognized, work can begin on creating the right framework for combating their ideology. A better understanding will also prevent the more populist politicians from whipping up anti-Islamic sentiment; overreaction only feeds the takfiri cause. Condemnations are streaming in from Arab and Muslim capitals, but popular demonstrations of disgust and disapproval have been inadequate.

ISIS has cleverly seized upon the aspiration of many non-takfiri Muslims for a caliphate. By weaving it in with an extreme way of thinking, they have created a bit of a juggernaut. Falluja was occupied by ISIS a year ago and still is today -- their ideology has resilience. They are also learning how to govern, rather than engaging solely in blanket terrorism. For some, such as the Christians or Yazidis, terrorism certainly is the main concern, but ISIS is responsive to the needs of certain parts of the community. This adds to their resilience, and a multipronged response is required, not just the bomb and the gun and the bank.

The media has an important role in this fight. It is incumbent upon members of the media to empower mainstream, moderate Muslim voices and to give them a larger platform. Too often, the media prefers to show rockets raining down, rather than focusing on the ideological front. Only two or three major newspapers in the Western world covered a letter issued by 126 Muslim scholars rebutting the July sermon of ISIS leader Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi. Major media outlets can and should shed more light on this aspect.

It is clear that many who go to the conflict areas in Syria and Iraq know very little about takfiri ideology. Instead, they see it as a vehicle and outlet for violent protest, which is no longer available in Europe. The world still stumbles around when it comes to accountability for the worst of crimes -- these crimes are denounced, but no concerted effort is made to end the perpetrators' impunity. In some ways, the public is overexposed to bloodshed and killing, and has become deadened and numb. Like medical students sickened by the smell of formaldehyde around their first cadaver, by the second or third day they have become used to it. The number of times the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) has had to brief the UN Security Council is troubling. We're hurtling toward something, the exact contours of which we don't yet quite recognize, in terms of a global emergency.

To permanently end conflicts, it is not enough to simply throw cement at the problem, or to train the military and police and local officials. Only when the collective psychology, history, and disparate narratives of the people are understood can there be an algorithm for reconciliation and deep reckoning. Without this, you will only float from one crisis to another, scratching your head about where you went wrong and how to get it right.

Matthew Levitt

With the White House planning a summit on countering violent extremism (CVE), a discussion on CVE at home and abroad is especially timely. Government interest in this topic ebbs and flows; today, it has attention because it is one of the five lines of operation in the U.S. government's strategy for combating ISIS. However, the driving factors of radicalization are not limited to ISIS. Our programs must cover the waterfront from personal, local grievances to foreign policy issues like the barbarity of the Bashar al-Assad regime in Syria.

For CVE efforts at home, there are three major concerns. First, effective CVE efforts require both community engagement and a response to the ideological underpinnings of radicalization, including a counternarrative. Healthy relationships with Muslim communities are extraordinarily important, for the government and the communities alike. Moreover, local communities are uniquely qualified to take on religious issues -- the government should not be getting involved in religious debates. But community engagement is not enough. Programs like the Community Awareness Briefings (CABs) of the National Counterterrorism Center, which explain the NCTC's perception of the terror threat, are very important. And as uncomfortable as the topic is, ideology must also be addressed. When a person has the kind of cognitive opening that can be filled by violent extremism, someone needs to be there to provide alternative narratives and ideas.

Unfortunately, the U.S. government has a structural and programming deficit when it comes to preventing and countering violent extremism. We have no Department for Communities and Local Government or Home Office -- as exist in Britain -- for the federal government to work with local communities. By default, CVE is housed in law enforcement. This raises the risk of creating a thought police, but we cannot afford to wait until someone commits a violent act. We must move the needle earlier in the radicalization process. The good news is that the United States currently has three large CVE pilot programs in Boston, Minneapolis, and Los Angeles. However, the merit of these programs should be judged on their funding levels, and whether they address extremist ideology in addition to facilitating community outreach.

Finally, while important local factors play a role in radicalization, a major policy component also exists. While some Muslims are drawn to the idea of creating a caliphate, the barbarism carried out by the Assad regime against Syrian civilians, and the accompanying lack of response from Western governments, has been one of the main factors driving Sunnis to join the fight in Syria. The United States has become militarily involved first to protect its own citizens and then minorities, but never Sunnis. The resulting perception of U.S. policy has helped create an extremely dangerous situation in which thousands of Sunnis are traveling to Syria and inflaming sectarian tensions around the region. And as long as Assad remains in power, he will be a magnet for foreign fighters who oppose his rule.

Hedieh Mirahmadi

ISIS and the conflict in Syria are affecting U.S. communities to a degree that, in a way, far exceeds what was seen for al-Qaeda or other jihadist recruitments. Ideological indoctrination for al-Qaeda was much more extreme -- the group had to convince followers that the West was a mortal enemy. ISIS, on the other hand, claims that it is building a utopian society and saving Muslims from slaughter by Bashar al-Assad. According to the group's propaganda, ISIS is legally valid with justified leaders of a functioning state. Islamic scholars must refute these claims. Moderates can inoculate the Islamic middle against ISIS, and this is happening for the first time. The highly influential imam Yusuf al-Qaradawi has said that ISIS does not meet the requirements of an Islamic state, either sociologically or theologically. These are powerful messages, but they need to be louder and told to more people.

Sheikhs can affect many of the older kids and adults who are interested in theological justifications for jihadist activity. However, younger children aren't there yet. In Montgomery County, Maryland, WORDE is working with local government to steer youth toward more ethical and nonviolent expressions before they are indoctrinated. Young people need to be empowered. Many also have problems with respect for authority, and it is hard to inculcate important values where no respect exists. WORDE clinicians help these youth understand the roots of their feelings of powerlessness and hopelessness.

This is not a Muslim-centric program; it is an all-of-community model. The community as a whole is best placed to understand the risk factors associated with extremist behavior and how to intervene, from schoolteachers to law enforcement officials to religious figures. At the same time, the process would be much easier if federal officials provided more direction. The Montgomery County model is excellent, but without top-down guidance to coordinate and stress the importance of CVE, every individual county will have to create its own program.

This rapporteur's summary was prepared by Kelsey Segawa.