أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2396

معركة إدلب: التداعيات العسكرية

جيفري وايت

متاح أيضاً في English

30 آذار/مارس 2015


مُني النظام السوري بهزيمة كبيرة في الأيام القليلة الماضية، حيث خسر عاصمة محافظة إدلب التي كان يسيطر عليها منذ فترة طويلة لصالح ائتلاف مكوّن من قوات الثوار يسيطر عليه المقاتلون الإسلاميون. ولهذا الحدث انعكاسات هامة على مسار الحرب في سوريا، فمن المحتمل أن يؤثر على العمليات الدائرة على جبهات رئيسية أخرى ويخلق في الوقت نفسه فرصاً جديدة للثوار وتحديات جديدة للنظام. وقد شكّلت المعركة اختباراً هاماً لقدرة النظام على تنفيذ استراتيجيته العسكرية، إلا أن الاختبار باء بالفشل. فقد تُركت قوات بشار الأسد أمام عقبات تكتيكية وعملياتية فورية في محافظة إدلب، مثل إعادة تنظيم دفاعاتها وقواتها، والحفاظ على خط الاتصال الخاص بها، وربما شن هجوم مضاد لاستعادة السيطرة على المدينة. أما بالنسبة للثوار، فهم يتمتعون الآن بالفرصة لاستغلال نجاحهم من خلال شن عمليات هجومية في المحافظات الأخرى ذات الآثار الاستراتيجية المحتملة، إذا افترضنا أن بإمكانهم الحفاظ على وحدة الجهود والأهداف.

وعلى الرغم من أن آثار المعركة الكاملة لن تتوضح قريباً، إلا أنه من الواضح أن أرض المعركة قد تغيّرت، وخاصة حول إدلب، مما يشير إلى أنه سيتوجب على كافة الأطراف إعادة تقييم خططها في المرحلة القادمة.

السياق الاستراتيجي لإدلب

منذ عام 2012، اختل الموقف العسكري للنظام في المحافظة لدرجة أن قواته كانت تسيطر فقط على نتوء ضيق ومائل يمتد حوالي ثلاثين ميلاً من حماة وإدلب إلى اللاذقية وبلدتين شيعيتين (كفريا والفوعة) شمالاً. وقد تم خوض معارك عديدة من أجل السيطرة على الطرق المؤدية إلى مدينة إدلب وعلى المدن الرئيسية والنقاط العسكرية الحصينة داخل النتوء (جسر الشغور وأريحا)، ولكن الثوار تركوا المدينة بحد ذاتها لبعض الوقت.

من وجهة نظر عسكرية، كان من المنطقي أن يتخلى النظام عن إدلب والنتوء، وأن يقصّر من خطوطه القتالية، ويستخدم القوات والموارد المنخرطة بدلاً من ذلك في عمليات الدفاع في محافظتي اللاذقية وحماة. لكن السيطرة على المدينة والنتوء كانت ذات أهمية استراتيجية بالنسبة للنظام. فسياسياً، أيّدت الهدف الكامن في التمسك بعواصم المحافظات وفي الوقت نفسه مواجهة جهود الثوار التي ترمي إلى فرض سيطرتهم على المحافظات. أما عسكرياً، فقد أعطت النظام قاعدة لمهاجمة قوات الثوار في محافظة إدلب، وتوسيع مساحة سيطرته بالاتجاه الشمالي الشرقي نحو مدينة حلب.

وبالنسبة للثوار، لا بد أن كانت إدلب هدفاً مغريٍاً نظراً إلى أهميتها السياسية والعسكرية وإلى ضعفها. ويُرجح أن مجموعة من التطورات المحلية على مدى الأشهر القليلة الماضية قد ساهمت في تنمية العملية وتنفيذها، بما في ذلك الحد من الانقسامات في صفوف الثوار من خلال إقصاء العناصر المعتدلة، إلى حد كبير من قبل «جبهة النصرة» التي تدور في فلك تنظيم «القاعدة»، وحيازة الأسلحة الثقيلة في هذه العملية (على سبيل المثال، الدبابات والصواريخ الموجهة المضادة للدبابات)، وتشكيل غرفة عمليات «جيش الفتح» لتنسيق الجهود الموجهة ضد المدينة. وبالتالي، فإن هذه التطورات أعطت الثوار القوة البشرية وقوة النيران وقدرات التنسيق التي كانوا بحاجة إليها لشن هجوم كبير.

المعركة

كان الهدف الرئيسي للعملية هو السيطرة على مدينة إدلب. وقد تظهر عمليات ما بعد المعركة على جبهة النتوء، إلا أن الإجراءات الأولية كانت تهدف عزل العاصمة والاستيلاء عليها.

يُذكر أن قوات الثوار المشاركة كانت إلى حد كبير عبارة عن ائتلاف مكوّن من الوحدات الإسلامية، مع بعض العناصر الأكثر اعتدالاً التي كانت تلعب دوراً أقل أهمية. وقد كانت «جبهة النصرة» من المشاركين البارزين ولكنها لم تكن الوحيدة. فقد كانت هناك وحدات أخرى لعبت على ما يبدو أدواراً بارزة وشملت «أحرار الشام»، «جند الأقصى»، «لواء الحق» و «فيلق الشام». وتشير التقارير الواردة من مصادر المعارضة إلى أن 4 إلى 5 آلاف مقاتل شاركوا في المعركة، بدعم من تركيز مكثف من الأسلحة الثقيلة (دبابات وعربات المشاة القتالية ومدفعية /مدافع الهاون، والأسلحة المضادة للطائرات التي تولت إطلاق النار بشكل مباشر). وأفادت التقارير أن هذه القوات حاربت بعزم وتصميم.

وبغية السيطرة على المدينة، شنّت وحدات الثوار هجمات مركّزة ضد الدفاعات الخارجية، بما في ذلك تقليص نقاط النظام الحصينة والاستيلاء على الأراضي الرئيسية. وبعد ذلك اخترقت المدينة من محاور متعددة، واستولت على المدينة الداخلية وما يُسمى بـ"المركز الأمني". وقد تم تنفيذ عمليات دعم من أجل الضغط على المدن الشيعية الواقعة في الشمال ومنع تعزيزات من الجنوب. وتوجت هذه العمليات بسرعة بسقوط المدينة؛ وقد تمحور القتال الأشد ضراوة على مستوى الدفاعات الخارجية.

العمليات الدفاعية للنظام

أفادت التقارير أن معظم قوات النظام التي كانت تدافع عن إدلب تكونت من عناصر من "قوات الدفاع الوطني" غير النظامية ومن الفرقة الحادية عشر للجيش. وذكرت بعض المصادر المرتبطة بالنظام أنه تم إرسال تعزيزات من القوات الخاصة للجيش وعناصر إضافية من الفرقة الحادية عشر، وإذا كان ذلك صحيحاً، فلم يكن لهذه العناصر تأثير يُذكر على النتيجة. إذ يبدو أن قوات النظام حاربت بشدة للحفاظ على الدفاعات الخارجية للمدينة، ولكنها لم تتمكن من إيقاف تقدم الثوار المتسارع، وفي بعض الأحيان كانت تخاطر بالوقوع بهزيمة كارثية أخرى مثل تلك التي عانت منها قوات النظام في محافظة الرقة في الصيف الماضي. وقد شنّت الوحدات الجوية ووحدات المدفعية العديد من الهجمات ضد مناطق الثوار في جميع أنحاء المدينة وأوقعت إصابات في صفوف المقاتلين والمدنيين، لكنها لم تكن قادرة على تحويل دفة الأمور.

مما يثير الدهشة هنا حول سقوط إدلب هو رد النظام الضعيف نسبياً على هجوم الثوار. فقد كان أمام قوات الأسد ما لا يقل عن بضعة أيام من الإنذار المسبق، واعتمدت على القوة الجوية للرد الفعّال، وأرسلت تعزيزات محدودة (إن وجدت)، ونفذت دفاعاً غير فعال أساساً. وقد تكون هذه القوات قد سحبت بعض الأسلحة والأفراد عندما تم اختراق الدفاعات الخارجية، وربما منع ذلك وقوع هزيمة أكبر.

التداعيات

رغم أن قوات الثوار حققت نجاحاً هاماً في إدلب، إلا أنه من المرجح أن تظل العواقب النهائية غير مؤكدة لبعض الوقت. فالعديد من الهجمات المبالغ بها من الطرفين فقدت قوتها عندما تبددت المكاسب الأولية وجرى حشد المدافعين لمواجهة التهديد. ومع ذلك، فإن بعض النتائج الأولية واضحة بالفعل.

ومن أبرز هذه النتائج، تغيّر طاقم المسؤولين في عاصمة المحافظة، مع كل التأثيرات السياسية والعسكرية التي تترتب عن ذلك. وقد حسّن الثوار من وضعهم العسكري بشكل ملحوظ في محافظة إدلب وربما على نطاق واسع في شمال سوريا، في حين أن وضع النظام الباقي في المحافظة هو في حالة خطرة.

وقد عانى الجانبان أيضاً من الاستنزاف في الجنود والعتاد، على الرغم من أن الخسائر لا تبدو جسيمة. فقد النظام بعض الأسلحة الثقيلة والذخيرة، ولكن أشرطة الفيديو ما بعد المعركة لم تظهر الكثير من الخسائر من هذا النوع. أما بالنسبة إلى الخسائر الأهم في المقاتلين فقد وقعت في صفوف قادة الثوار، الذين تم الإبلاغ عن مقتل عدد منهم.

وبالنسبة للنظام، إن التداعيات ليست جيدة. فحتى لو تمكّن من سحب بعض القوات وإثبات قدرته على فرض سيطرته على بقية النتوء، إلا أن الأمر يشكل خسارة سياسية واضحة وعلنية وفشلاً عسكرياً استراتيجياً. سيتعيّن على النظام إعادة تقييم مفهومه حول السيطرة على نقاط مكشوفة وربما التخلي عن بعض المناطق التي اختار الدفاع عنها حتى الآن، الأمر الذي يحتمل أن يشكل تغييراً جوهرياً في مسار الحرب. كما يتوجب عليه بشكل خاص أن يفكر في مواقعه في محافظتي دير الزور ودرعا، حيث تقع العاصمتان في نهاية نتوءات طويلة في الأراضي التي يسيطر عليها تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش»)/«الدولة الإسلامية» أو الثوار.

ومن المرجح أن النظام السوري يواجه متاعب أيضاً بسبب فشل قواته في إدلب. فقد خاض هذه المعركة جنود النظام - وليس «حزب الله» أو العراقيين أو الإيرانيين - ولم يكونوا كفوئين في تأدية هذه المهمة. ويثير ذلك الشكوك حول قدرتهم على الحفاظ على الأماكن الأخرى غير المدعومة من قوات حليفة، مما يدل مرة أخرى على اعتماد الأسد على هؤلاء الحلفاء [من أجل إنشاء] وحدات برية فعّالة.

أما من ناحية جماعات الثوار التي تشارك في المعركة، فقد اختبرت إدلب قدرتها على شن عملية خطرة ضد موقع رئيسي أراد النظام الحفاظ على سيطرته عليه، لا بل حاول ذلك. وقد التزمت الفصائل الإسلامية بشكل خاص بتقديم الموارد البشرية والمادية الكبيرة اللازمة للعملية، ووضعت نفسها في موقف لإلحاق هزيمة استراتيجية، ولا سيما: تدمير فعّال لمركز النظام في محافظة إدلب، وفقدان العاصمة، وفقدان القوات المشاركة في الدفاع عنها. وقد حققت هذه الأهداف جزئياً على الأقل.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن حقيقة أن الجماعات الإسلامية قادت هذا الانتصار ستساعد هذه الأخيرة على تعزيز موقفها في إدلب وربما تمنحها عاصمة إسلامية لمنافسة عاصمة «داعش» في الرقة. كما أن الزيادة المترتبة عن ذلك في الدعم والتجنيد يمكن أن تؤدي إلى المزيد من التقليل من الاحتمالات المطروحة أمام الثوار المعتدلين.

الخطوات المقبلة

استحوذ الثوار على بعض الأسلحة الثقيلة الإضافية وربما الذخيرة من قوات النظام المهزومة، مما يمكن أن يؤدي إلى تنشيط المزيد من العمليات الهجومية. فقد يختارون التحرك ضد الأجزاء المتبقية من نتوء إدلب، كما ستُتاح أمامهم خيارات على جبهات أخرى أيضاً.

ولكن الحفاظ على الوضع الهجومي ليس بالسهل. فمن أجل تحقييق ذلك، سيتوجب على الثوار:

·         تعزيز مكاسبهم في إدلب،

·         التعامل مع الجيب الذي شكلته البلدات الشيعية إلى الشمال من المدينة،

·         إعادة تنظيم قواتهم وإعادة إمدادها،

·         اتخاذ قرار حول أهدافهم المقبلة مع عدم المساس بتحالفهم القتالي.

لقد انتهت العديد من هجمات الثوار في الماضي بسبب فقدان التركيز وعدم المبادرة والاقتتال السياسي. ولكن إذا استطاعوا الحفاظ على رباطة جأشهم، يبدو أنه سيكون أمامهم ثلاثة خيارات تتخطى محافظة إدلب، وسيطرح كل منها مشاكل خطيرة بالنسبة للأسد: (1) بإمكانهم ضرب قوات النظام التي تهدد حلب لتخفيف الضغط عن تلك المدينة والقضاء على مراكز مقاومة النظام في نبل والزهراء، (2) أو بإمكانهم التنقل إلى محافظة اللاذقية لتهديد المنطقة التي تشكل قلب النظام، (3) أو بإمكانهم التحرك باتجاه مدينة حماة ومطارها العسكري الرئيسي.

المحصلة

ما زالت العمليات مستمرة في أنحاء إدلب أثناء كتابة هذا المقال، فالثوار يضغطون على مواقع النظام جنوبي المدينة ويمنعون/ يخلون بخط الاتصالات مع أريحا (التي تشكل الآن طرف  النتوء)، في حين يُقال إن النظام يستعد لشن هجوم مضاد لاستعادة السيطرة على المدينة . لذلك فإن الكلمة الأخيرة في هذه المعركة لم تُقال بعد. وفي الواقع، أظهرت أربع سنوات من الحرب في سوريا أن الآثار المترتبة حتى عن التطورات المفاجئة والمريعة يمكن أن تخف مع مرور الوقت. فالمتمردون منقسمون جداً في كثير من الأحيان بحيث لا يستطيعون أن يضمنوا استمرارية الجهود على المدى الطويل، أما النظام فقد أثبت أنه قادر على التكيف مع النكسات. ففي حرب استنزاف، لا توجد معركة واحدة حاسمة.

وتشمل الأسئلة الجوهرية حول المستقبل ما يلي:

·         كيف سيتكيف النظام مع الهزيمة استراتيجياً وعملياً وتكتيكيا؟

·         يشير الفشل في إدلب إلى أن النظام سيصبح أكثر اعتماداً على حلفائه الأجانب، فهل سيقوم كل من إيران و«حزب الله» والميليشيات الشيعية العراقية بزيادة مشاركته في سوريا؟

·         كيف سيستغل الثوار انتصارهم، وأي من الخيارات الثلاثة المذكورة أعلاه سيختارون، إذا فعلوا ذلك؟

·         كيف ستؤثر النتائج على التوازن داخل المعارضة وبين المتمردين وتنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»؟

·         كيف سيؤثر ذلك على موقف واشنطن من سوريا، وعمليات الولايات المتحدة ضد تنظيم «داعش» وعناصر مرتبطة بـ تنظيم «القاعدة» في البلاد، وخطط إدارة أوباما لتدريب قوات معتدلة من الثوار وتجهيزها؟

مهما كانت الإجابة على هذه الأسئلة، تشير نتيجة المعركة إلى أن بعض الاستراتيجيات المستخدمة قبل المعركة وأثنائها قد لا تكون مناسبة بعد الآن - ليس في محافظة إدلب، وربما ليس في بقية أنحاء سوريا أيضاً.

 

جيفري وايت هو زميل للشؤون الدفاعية في معهد واشنطن وضابط كبير سابق لشؤون الاستخبارات الدفاعية.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2396

The Battle for Idlib: Military Implications

Jeffrey White

Also available in العربية

March 30, 2015

Although not the catastrophe it could have been, the defeat holds major implications for the regime's strategy in Idlib province, its willingness to hold precarious positions elsewhere in Syria, and its dependence on foreign forces.

The Syrian regime suffered an important defeat over the past few days, losing the long-held capital of Idlib province to a coalition of rebel forces dominated by Islamist fighters. This event has major implications for the course of the war in Syria, likely affecting operations on other key fronts while creating new opportunities for the rebels and new challenges for the regime. The battle was an important test of the regime's ability to execute its military strategy, and the test was failed. Bashar al-Assad's forces are left with immediate tactical and operational hurdles in Idlib province, such as reorganizing their defenses and forces, maintaining their line of communication, and perhaps mounting a counterattack to retake the city. As for the rebels, they now have the opportunity to exploit their success through offensive operations in other provinces with potentially strategic effects, assuming they can maintain unity of effort and purpose.

Although the battle's full effects will be unclear for some time, the ground has evidently shifted, especially around Idlib. This suggests that all parties will need to reassess their plans going forward.


Since 2012, the regime's military position in the province had eroded to the point that it controlled only a narrow dogleg salient extending approximately thirty miles from Hama and Latakia to Idlib and two Shiite towns (Kefraya and al-Fua) just to the north. Numerous battles had been fought for control of the roads leading to Idlib city as well as key towns and military strongpoints within the salient (Jisr al-Shughour, Ariha), but for some time the rebels had left the city itself alone.

From a military standpoint, it would have made sense for the regime to abandon Idlib and the salient, shorten its lines, and use the forces and resources involved in its defense in Latakia and Hama provinces instead. But controlling the city and salient was strategically important for the regime. Politically, it supported the goal of maintaining a grip on provincial capitals while disputing rebel efforts to establish control over the provinces. Militarily, it gave the regime a base for attacking rebel forces in Idlib province, extending its area of control northeast toward Aleppo city.

For the rebels, Idlib had to be a tempting target given its political and military significance and its vulnerability. A combination of local developments over the past several months likely contributed to the operation's development and execution, including the reduction of rebel divisions through the elimination of moderate elements, largely by al-Qaeda affiliate Jabhat al-Nusra, the acquisition of heavy weapons in this process (e.g., tanks and antitank guided missiles), and the formation of the Jaish al-Fatah (Army of Conquest) operations room for coordinating efforts against the city. These developments gave the rebels the manpower, firepower, and coordination capabilities they needed to conduct a major offensive.


The operation's main objective was to take Idlib city. Follow-on operations against the salient may yet unfold, but the initial actions aimed to isolate and seize the capital.

The rebel forces involved were largely a coalition of Islamist units, with some more moderate elements playing a lesser role. Jabhat al-Nusra was a significant participant but not the only one. Other units that seemed to play prominent roles included Ahrar al-Sham, Jund al-Aqsa, Liwa al-Haqq, and Failaq al-Sham. Reports from opposition sources indicate four to five thousand personnel took part, supported by a significant concentration of heavy weapons (tanks, infantry fighting vehicles, artillery/mortars, and antiaircraft weapons in a direct-fire role). These forces reportedly fought with determination.

To take the city, rebel units conducted concentric attacks against the outer defenses, including the reduction of regime strongpoints and seizure of key terrain features. They then penetrated the city along multiple axes, seizing the inner city and so-called "security core." Supporting operations were carried out to pressure the Shiite towns to the north and prevent reinforcement from the south. These operations culminated quickly with the fall of the city; the most intense fighting was for the outer defenses.


Most of the regime forces defending Idlib reportedly consisted of elements from the irregular National Defense Forces and the army's 11th Division. Some regime-associated sources reported that army special forces and additional 11th Division elements were sent as reinforcements, but if so they had little effect on the outcome. Regime forces apparently fought hard to hold the city's outer defenses but were unable to stop the accelerating rebel advance, and at times they risked another catastrophic defeat like those suffered by regime forces in Raqqa province last summer. Air and artillery units conducted numerous strikes against rebel areas around the city, inflicting casualties on fighters and civilians, but they were unable to turn the tide.

What is surprising about Idlib's fall is the regime's relatively flaccid response to the rebel offensive. Assad's forces had at least a few days of advance warning, relied on airpower for an active response, carried out limited (if any) reinforcement, and conducted an essentially passive defense. They may have withdrawn some weapons and personnel once the outer defenses were breached, perhaps preventing an even larger defeat.


Although rebel forces achieved an important success at Idlib, the ultimate consequences will likely remain uncertain for some time. Many ballyhooed offensives by both sides have run out of steam once initial advantages dissipated and defenders mobilized to meet the threat. Nevertheless, some initial outcomes are already clear.

Most notably, the provincial capital has changed hands, with all of the political and military effects that implies. The rebels have significantly improved their military position in Idlib province and perhaps more broadly in northern Syria, while the regime's remaining position in the province is in danger.

Both sides have also suffered attrition in personnel and materiel, though the losses do not appear grievous. The regime lost some heavy weapons and ammunition, but post-battle videos have not shown much of this. Perhaps the most significant personnel losses were among rebel commanders, a number of whom were reported killed.

For the regime, the implications are not good. Even if it did manage to withdraw some forces and proves capable of holding the rest of the salient, this is a clear and public political loss and a strategic military failure. The regime will need to reassess its concept of holding exposed positions and potentially give up on some areas it has chosen to defend until now -- a potentially major change in the war's course. In particular, it will have to look at its positions in Deir al-Zour and Deraa provinces, where both capitals are at the end of long salients into territory controlled by the "Islamic State"/ISIS or the rebels.

Damascus is likely also troubled by the failure of its forces at Idlib. This was a fight by regime personnel -- not Hezbollah, not Iraqis, not Iranians -- and they were not up to the task. This raises doubts about their ability to hold other places that are not bolstered by allied forces, once again demonstrating Assad's dependence on these allies for effective ground units.

For the rebel groups involved in the battle, Idlib tested their ability to mount a serious operation against a key position that the regime wanted and tried to hold. The Islamist factions in particular committed significant manpower and material resources to the operation, and they put themselves in position to inflict a strategic defeat: namely, effective destruction of the regime's position in Idlib province, loss of the capital city, and loss of the forces involved in its defense. They have at least partially achieved these goals.

Moreover, the fact that Islamist groups led the victory will help them consolidate their position in Idlib and may give them an Islamist capital to rival that of ISIS in Raqqa. Their resultant increase in support and recruitment could further diminish the prospects for moderate rebels.


The rebels have acquired some additional heavy weapons and probably ammunition from defeated regime forces, and this could energize further offensive operations. They may choose to move against the remaining portions of the Idlib salient, and they will have options on other fronts as well.

But sustaining an offensive is not so easy. To do so, the rebels will need to:

  • consolidate their gains in Idlib;
  • deal with the pocket formed by the Shiite towns north of the city;
  • reorganize and resupply their forces; and
  • decide on their next objectives while keeping their fighting coalition intact.

Many past rebel offensives have ended due to loss of focus, lack of initiative, and political infighting. But if they can keep it together, they seem to have three options beyond Idlib province, each of which would pose serious problems for Assad: (1) they could strike regime forces threatening Aleppo to relieve pressure on that city and eliminate regime centers of resistance at Nubl and Zahra; (2) they could move into Latakia province to threaten the regime's heartland; (3) they could move in the direction of Hama city and its key military airfield.


Operations around Idlib continue as of this writing: the rebels are pushing against regime positions south of city and interdicting/harassing the line of communication to Ariha (now the tip of the salient), while the regime is reportedly preparing a counteroffensive to retake the city. So the final word on this battle has not been written. Indeed, four years of war in Syria have demonstrated that the effects of even dramatic developments can attenuate over time. The rebels are often too fractious for long-term continuity of effort, and the regime has proven capable of adjusting to setbacks. In a war of attrition, no one battle is decisive.

Key questions for the future include:

  • How will the regime adjust to the defeat strategically, operationally, and tactically?
  • The failure at Idlib suggests that the regime will become still more dependent on its foreign allies, so will Iran, Hezbollah, and Iraqi Shiite militias increase their involvement in Syria?
  • How will the rebels exploit their victory, and which of the three options outlined above will they choose, if any?
  • How will the outcome affect the balance within the opposition and between the rebels and ISIS?
  • How will it affect Washington's position on Syria, U.S. operations against ISIS and al-Qaeda-linked elements in the country, and the Obama administration's plans to train and equip a moderate rebel force?

However these questions are answered, the battle's outcome indicates that some of the strategies employed before and during the fight may no longer be appropriate -- not in Idlib province, and perhaps not in the rest of Syria either.

Jeffrey White is a defense fellow at The Washington Institute and a former senior defense intelligence officer.