أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2013

ثوار سوريا يحصلون على الأسلحة الثقيلة

جيفري وايت

متاح أيضاً في English

10 كانون الثاني/يناير 2013


لم يعد وصف "التسليح الخفيف" ينطبق على وحدات الثوار في سوريا. فقد حصل العديد منها على رشاشات ثقيلة وأسلحة مضادة للطائرات وقذائف لمورتر وبنادق عديمة الارتداد وقاذفات صواريخ مدفعية. كما تمتلك بعض الوحدات دبابات (انظر أدناه) ومركبات مشاة مقاتلة "بي إم پي"، بينما هناك على الأقل عدد قليل من الوحدات التي تمتلك صواريخ أرض جو تُطلق من الكتف (نظم الدفاع الجوي المحمولة)، وصواريخ موجهة مضادة للدبابات وقطع مدفعية ميدانية متوسطة المدى. وقد تم الاستحواذ على معظم هذه الأسلحة من مخازن النظام، ويعمل الثوار على استخدامها بشكل متزايد ضد قوات بشار الأسد. ومع فقدان النظام للأراضي، سوف يستحوذ الثوار على كميات أكبر بكثير من تلك الأسلحة، مما يزيد من تعزيز قدراتهم القتالية.

وهذه العملية لها تداعياتها الهامة على الحرب. فهي الآن تعمل على إمالة الدفة ضد قوات النظام في ميدان المعركة. وما أن يسقط الأسد، فإن حيازة الأسلحة الثقيلة سيساعد على تقرير من هم الثوار الذين سيصبحون الفاعلين العسكريين والسياسيين الأكثر هيمنة، وهو الأمر الذي يرجح أن يعمل على زيادة الصعوبة في تحقيق الاستقرار في البلاد على المدى الطويل.

الأسلحة الثقيلة للثوار

طوال معظم فترات الحرب، لم تمتلك عناصر المعارضة المسلحة سوى عدداً محدوداً من الأسلحة الثقيلة، تمثل معظمها في مدافع من طراز "زيد يو 23" الخفيفة من عيار 23 ملم المضادة للطائرات ومدافع "الدوشكا" الثقيلة المضادة للطائرات. بيد أنه على مدار الشهور القليلة الماضية، توسعت ترسانتهم مع استيلاء الثوار على الأسلحة والذخائر من قوات النظام ومن مخازنهم أيضاً، فضلاً عن إنتاج بعض الأسلحة اعتماداً على أنفسهم (مثل صواريخ المدفعية، وقذائف الهاون، وقنابل الهاون) (أنظر هنا). وتشمل الأسلحة الثقيلة التي بحوزتهم حالياً ما يلي:

·      المركبات المدرعة: مركبات مشاة مقاتلة "بي إم پي"، ودبابات "تي-55"، "تي-62" و "تي-72"

·     مدفعية (إنظر أدناه) أو غيرها من الأسلحة ذات النيران غير المباشرة: قاذفات الصواريخ الفردية والمتعددة (تم الاستحواذ عليها و مرتجلة)؛ وأسلحة المدفعية الميدانية عيار 122 ملم، و 130 ملم، و 152 ملم؛ وقذائف الهاون عيار 82 ملم، و 120 ملم

·     الأسلحة المضادة للطائرات: الرشاشات الثقيلة عيار 12.7 ملم و 14.5 مم، مركبات "شيلكا" 23 ملم (من طراز "زيد يو-23" و "زيد إس يو-23/4")، والمدافع المضادة للطائرات من عيار 57 ملم ، و نظم الدفاع الجوي المحمولة ("إس إيه-7/16/24")، وبعض مركبات إطلاق صواريخ أرض جو "إس إيه-8 جيكو"

·     الأسلحة المضادة للدبابات: الصواريخ الموجهة المضادة للدبابات "ميتيس إم"، وقذائف الدفع الصاروخية "آر پي جي-29"، والبنادق عديمة الارتداد من طراز "إس پي جي-9".

وعلى الرغم من استحالة تقدير عدد هذه الأسلحة التي يملكها الثوار، إلا أنها تبدو متوفرة بكثرة بأيدي الثوار في ميادين المعارك بحسب ما تدلل عليه مقاطع الفيديو. وعلى نفس القدر من الأهمية أن العديد من مقاطع الفيديو الأخيرة تظهر المعارضة وهي تستحوذ على الذخائر المستخدمة في هذه الأنظمة.

ونتيجة لذلك، يرجح أن تمتلك وحدة الثوار النمطية الآن مدفع "دوشكا" مثبت على شاحنة أو مدفع "زيد يو-23" بالإضافة إلى أسلحة خفيفة، مما يمنحها قوة نيرانية هائلة ضد مشاة النظام وكذلك بعض القدرات الجوية المحدودة المضادة للطائرات. وقد شوهد العديد من المتمردين وهم يحملون قذائف هاون فردية وأحياناً "بطاريات" تضم قذيفتين إلى أربع قذائف. كما شوهدوا ومعهم بنادق عديمة الارتداد وقذائف الدفع الصاروخية "آر پي جي-29"، وصواريخ موجهة مضادة للدبابات (إنظر هنا) ،  ومدافع مضادة للطائرات من عيار 57 ملم، رغم أنها كانت أقل ظهوراً. ومثل هذه الأسلحة تتيح القدرة على الاشتباك مع قوات النظام بقوة قتالية فتاكة أكبر وعلى مسافات أكثر بعداً.

 تكتيكات الثوار

إن الحصول على الأسلحة الثقيلة وإحداث التكامل بينها يتناسب جداً مع أساليب المعارضة المسلحة. وعلى الصعيد الهجومي، يحاصر الثوار منشآت النظام الكبرى (المطارات والمقرات والثكنات والمدارس العسكرية ومواقع الدفاع الجوي)، حيث يقوموا بعزلها، وقصفها بعد ذلك ثم مهاجمتها في النهاية. كما أنهم يهاجمون نقاط التفتيش ومواقع النظام بشكل متكرر. ويمكن للأسلحة الثقيلة أن تسهل هذه الإجراءات، مما يحتمل أن يعجل بالاستيلاء على الأراضي مع الحد من خسائر الثوار.

وحتى الآن، شوهد الثوار وهم يستخدمون الأسلحة الثقيلة ذات النيران المباشرة وغير المباشرة في تلك العمليات. فهم يستخدمون دبابات (إنظر هنا) ، ومدفعية الميدان، والمدافع المضادة للدبابات (إنظر هنا) في النيران المباشرة أثناء عمليات الحصار. وعادة ما يستخدمون بشكل فردي المركبات المدرعة التي استحوذوا عليها وذلك في أدوار مساندة للمشاة، للحد من نقاط النظام الحصينة وصد مدرعات النظام. ويبدو أن بعض أطقم الثوار يجيدون استخدام تلك المركبات؛ فأحد شرائط الفيديو يظهر بوضوح وحدة مدرعة للثوار مؤلفة من ثلاث دبابات. كما أن المعارضة تستخدم الصواريخ وقذائف الهاون والمدفعية لخلق مقدار أكبر من النيران غير المباشرة أثناء عمليات الحصار (إنظر أدناه)، مما يسمح للوحدات بالهجوم على قلب مراكز النظام مع خفض المخاطر التي تتعرض لها أطقمها.

وعلى الصعيد الدفاعي، إن الأسلحة الثقيلة قد ساعدت المعارضة على منع هجمات النظام وزيادة تكلفتها من حيث الأفراد والمعدات. فعلى سبيل المثال، أدت جهود النظام لاستعادة السيطرة على بعض مناطق دمشق ومحافظة درعا إلى خسائر ثابتة في الدبابات ومركبات المشاة المقاتلة.

كما أن الأسلحة الثقيلة تزيد من قدرة الثوار على اعتراض العمليات الجوية للنظام. وتشير مقاطع الفيديو التي نشرتها عناصر المعارضة (إنظر أدناه) إلى أن عدد النظم المضادة للطائرات الموجودة في أيدي الثوار آخذ في التزايد، حيث تظهر الأسلحة المستخدمة في البطاريات أو مع أسلحة أخرى في ميدان المعركة  التي تظهر الآن. ويبدو أن أعداد نظم الدفاع الجوي المحمولة قد زادت من حيث العدد والاستخدام. كما استولى الثوار على بعض مركبات صواريخ الأرض جو "إس إيه-8 جيكو"، لكن لم يلاحظ إلى الآن أي استخدام لهذا النظام المعقد نسبياً (رغم أنه قد يدخل حيز التشغيل قريباً نظراً لتزايد أعداد المنشقين عن النظام).

ونتيجة لذلك يجب أن يفترض النظام الآن أنه سيواجه بعض المعارضة في أي عمليات جوية يقوم بها. يشار إلى أن الثوار يزعمون إسقاطهم لعدد متزايد من الطائرات باستخدام النظم المضادة للطائرات أو عن طريق الهجمات على المطارات (وقد بلغ عدد تلك الطائرات 144 في العام الماضي وحده، وذلك بحسب إحدى الروايات). وحتى لو كانت هذه المزاعم أقل من الواقع بكثير، إلا أن القوات الجوية السورية تواجه بشكل واضح نوعاً من الاستنزاف، مما يُحد من الأصول الجوية المحدودة وغير القابلة للاستبدال التي يستخدمها النظام.

التأثير على عمليات الثوار

إن استحواذ المعارضة على الأسلحة الثقيلة واستخدامها لها يأتي رداً على اعتماد النظام المستمر على أسلحته الثقيلة وقوته الجوية لتأكيد وجوده وسيطرته على المحافظات والدفاع عن المواقع الهامة. إن استخدام الثوار المتزايد لتلك الأسلحة يرتبط بنجاحاتها الأخيرة، لكن هناك عوامل أخرى محتملة مرتبطة بذلك الأمر، من بينها النمو المتزايد في تشكيلات الثوار القتالية والتعاون المتنامي بين وحدات الثوار وزيادة القدرة على مواصلة عمليات الحصار لمدة أسابيع.

ومع ذلك، فإن الأسلحة الثقيلة لم توفر بعد رداً قاطعاً على قوات النظام وأساليبه. فلا زال الثوار يواجهون صعوبة في الاستيلاء على المواقع التي تحظى بتعزيزات دفاعية قوية التي يدعمها النظام بالقوات الجوية. ففي مطلع هذا الشهر، على سبيل المثال، بذل الثوار جهوداً جادة للاستيلاء على مطار تفتناز المهم في محافظة إدلب. ورغم اختراقهم للدفاعات الجوية للمطار وإلحاقهم خسائر كبيرة بقوات النظام، إلا أنهم لم يتمكنوا من الاستيلاء عليه كلية وانسحبوا ليواصلوا الحصار. وكان التدخل من جانب القوات الجوية للنظام عاملاً مؤثراً في هذا التراجع. ويمارس الثوار هجومهم في الوقت الراهن على المطار الجوي مدعومين بالأسلحة الثقيلة. [بعد يوم من كتابة هذا البحث أعلن «الجيش السوري الحر» عن سيطرة كتائبه على هذا المطار].

ويمكن أن يعزى عجز الثوار حتى الآن عن تحقيق الإمكانيات الكاملة للأسلحة الثقيلة إلى عدد من العوامل، من بينها نقاط الضعف في التنظيم والقيادة وكميات الذخيرة والتوزيع، وتركز الأسلحة والنيران، والاستخبارات والاستهداف. إن تحسن القيادة والتحكم في هذه المجالات سوف يكون مفيداً على نحو قاطع.

الدلالات

لقد أصبح الثوار أكثر اعتماداً على النفس مع مواصلتهم الاستيلاء على الأسلحة والذخيرة من قوات النظام. ويشير ذلك إلى أن بإمكان المجتمع الدولي مساعدتهم بشكل أفضل ليس من خلال تزويدهم بالأسلحة (باستثناء أنواع قليلة من الأسلحة المضادة للدبابات والمضادة للطائرات)، ولكن من خلال بناء قدراتهم على استخدام الأسلحة الثقيلة وتزويدهم بالمعلومات الاستخباراتية حول قوات النظام. إن بناء قدرات من هذا القبيل سوف يساعد أيضاً في تمكين العناصر المعتدلة نسبياً في المعارضة. وهذا أمر هام سواء أثناء الحرب أم  بعدها، عندما يرجح أن تحظى وحدات الثوار الأكثر مقدرة من الناحية العسكرية بأكبر قدر من النفوذ السياسي.

كما سيؤثر توزيع الأسلحة الثقيلة على الوضع بعد الحرب من حيث قدرة حكومة انتقالية أو قوة استقرار دولية على بسط سيطرتها في أنحاء البلاد. ورغم أن الأسلحة الكيماوية السورية تحظى حالياً بأكبر قدر من الاهتمام، إلا أن تأمين الأسلحة الثقيلة والذخيرة سيمثل تحدياً عاجلاً هو الآخر، وربما يتطلب الأمر وقوع مصادمات بين الحائزين لها. ولمثل هذه السيناريوهات تداعيات خطيرة على أي خطة لإرساء الاستقرار عقب الحرب والقوات المكلفة بتنفيذ تلك الخطة.

 

جيفري وايت هو زميل للشؤون الدفاعية في معهد واشنطن وضابط كبير سابق لشؤون الاستخبارات الدفاعية.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2013

Syria's Rebels Gain Heavy Weapons

Jeffrey White

Also available in العربية

January 10, 2013


Increasingly well-armed rebels are a problem for the regime and could complicate the period after Assad's fall.

Rebel units in Syria can no longer be described as "lightly armed." Many have acquired heavy machine guns and antiaircraft guns, mortars, recoilless rifles, and artillery rocket launchers. Some also have tanks (see below) and BMP infantry fighting vehicles, while at least a few have shoulder-launched surface-to-air missiles (MANPADS), antitank guided missiles (ATGMs), and medium field artillery pieces. Most of these weapons were captured from regime stocks, and the rebels are increasingly employing them against Bashar al-Assad's forces. As the regime loses ground, the rebels will acquire significantly greater numbers of such weapons, boosting their capabilities still further.

This process has important implications for the war. Currently, it is tilting the battlefield against regime forces. And once Assad falls, possession of heavy weapons will help determine which rebels become the dominant military and political actors, likely increasing the difficulty of stabilizing the country in the long term.

REBEL HEAVY WEAPONS

For much of the war, armed opposition elements had only limited numbers of heavy weapons, mostly 23 mm ZU-23 light antiaircraft guns and "Dushka" heavy antiaircraft machine guns. Over the past few months, however, their arsenal has expanded, with rebels seizing weapons and ammunition from regime forces and stockpiles while producing some items on their own (e.g., artillery rockets, mortars, mortar bombs) (watch). Heavy weapons currently in their possession include:

  • Armored vehicles: BMPs and T-55, T-62, and T-72 tanks
  • Artillery (see below) or other indirect-fire weapons: single and multiple rocket launchers (captured and improvised); 122 mm, 130 mm, and 152 mm field artillery pieces; 82 mm and 120 mm mortars
  • Antiaircraft weapons: 12.7 mm and 14.5 mm heavy machine guns, 23 mm (ZU-23 and ZSU-23/4 "Shilka") and 57 mm antiaircraft guns, MANPADs (SA-7/16/24), and a few SA-8 Gecko surface-to-air missile (SAM) launch vehicles
  • Antitank weapons: Metis-M ATGMs, RPG-29 rocket-propelled grenade launchers, and 73 mm SPG-9 recoilless rifles

Although it is impossible to tell how many of these weapons are in rebel hands, they now appear with increasing frequency in videos of rebel forces in action. Just as important, many recent videos show the opposition capturing ammunition for these systems.

As a result, a typical rebel unit is now likely to have a truck-mounted Dushka or ZU-23 in addition to light weapons, giving it substantial firepower against regime infantry as well as limited antiaircraft capability. Many rebels have also been seen with individual mortars and sometimes "batteries" of two to four mortars. Recoilless rifles, RPG-29s, ATGMs (watch), and 57 mm antiaircraft guns have been seen as well, though less often. Such weapons provide the ability to engage regime forces with greater lethality and at greater distances.

REBEL TACTICS

Acquisition and integration of heavy weapons fits well with armed opposition tactics. Offensively, the rebels are laying siege to major regime facilities (airfields, headquarters, barracks, military schools, and air defense sites), isolating, bombarding, and eventually assaulting them. They also frequently attack regime checkpoints and positions. Heavy weapons can facilitate these actions, potentially expediting the seizure of terrain while reducing rebel casualties.

Thus far, rebels have been seen employing heavy direct- and indirect-fire weapons in such operations. They use tanks (watch), field artillery, and antiaircraft guns (watch) in a direct-fire role during sieges. Captured armored vehicles are usually employed individually in an infantry support role, to reduce regime strongpoints and counter regime armor. Some rebel crews seem proficient in using such vehicles; one video shows an apparent rebel armored unit consisting of three tanks. The opposition is also using rockets, mortars, and artillery to create greater amounts of indirect fire during siege operations (see below), allowing units to strike inside regime positions with reduced risk to the crews.

Defensively, heavy weapons have helped the opposition thwart regime offensives and increase their cost in personnel and equipment. For example, regime efforts to retake areas in the Damascus suburbs and Deraa province have apparently led to steady losses of tanks and BMPs.

Heavy weapons are also increasing the rebels' ability to oppose regime air operations. Videos posted by opposition elements (see below) indicate that the number of antiaircraft systems in rebel hands is growing, with weapons deployed in batteries or in combination now appearing on the battlefield. MANPADs seem to have increased in number and use. Rebels have also captured a few SA-8 Gecko SAM vehicles, but no use of this relatively complex system has been noted thus far (though it could eventually be brought into action given the growing number of regime defectors).

As a result, the regime must now assume that it will face some opposition to any air action it undertakes. The rebels are claiming significant numbers of aircraft downed by antiaircraft systems or by attacks on airfields (144 last year alone, according to one count). Even if these claims are heavily discounted, the Syrian air force is clearly suffering some level of attrition, reducing the regime's limited and irreplaceable air assets.

IMPACT ON REBEL OPERATIONS

The opposition's acquisition and use of heavy weapons is a response to the regime's continuing reliance on its own heavy weapons and airpower to assert presence and control in the provinces and defend important locations. The rebels' increasing employment of such weapons correlates to their recent successes, but other factors are likely involved, including the continued growth in rebel combat formations, greater cooperation among rebel units, and an increased ability to sustain siege operations for weeks.

Nevertheless, heavy weapons have not yet provided a definitive answer to the regime's forces and tactics. The rebels still have difficulty seizing heavily defended positions, which the regime tends to support with airpower. Earlier this month, for example, the rebels made a serious effort to seize the important Taftanaz airfield in Idlib province. Although they penetrated the airfield's defenses and inflicted casualties and damage, they were unable to take it completely and withdrew to continue the siege. Intervention by the Syrian air force was a factor in this reversal. Currently, the rebels are again pressing the attack on the airfield, supported by heavy weapons.

The rebel inability thus far to realize the full potential of heavy weapons can be attributed to a number of factors, including weaknesses in organization and command, ammunition quantities and distribution, concentration of weapons and fire, and intelligence and targeting. Improved command and control in these areas would definitely help.

IMPLICATIONS

By continuing to capture arms and ammunition, the rebels have become more self-sustaining. This suggests that the international community could best help them not so much by providing arms (except for a few types of antiaircraft and antitank weapons), but by building their capability to use heavy weapons and providing intelligence on regime forces. Such capacity building would also help empower the relatively moderate elements in the opposition. This is important both during the war and afterward, when the most militarily capable rebel units will likely wield the most political influence.

The distribution of heavy weapons will also affect the postwar situation in terms of how a transitional government or international stabilization force is able to extend control across the country. Although Syria's chemical weapons are currently drawing the most attention, securing heavy weapons and ammunition will be an urgent challenge as well, potentially requiring clashes with those in possession of them. Such scenarios have serious implications for any postwar stabilization plan and the forces tasked with implementing it.

Jeffrey White is a defense fellow at The Washington Institute and a former senior defense intelligence officer.