أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2054

الانهيار الحاصل في سوريا يتطلب رداً من الولايات المتحدة

أندرو جيه. تابلر

متاح أيضاً في English

22 آذار/مارس 2013


بعد عامين من اندلاع الثورة كحركة احتجاجية، تحولت الانتفاضة إلى تمرد عسكري متكامل الأركان؛ فكتائب الثوار السنة العرب تقاتل النظام العلوي فيما تُظهر الفصائل الكردية عداوة لكليهما. وفي ضوء غياب حل سياسي واضح والاستخدام الذي تحدثت عنه التقارير للمواد الكيميائية وانتشار العنف المتزايد إلى الدول المجاورة ومنها، والاعتقاد المتنامي بأن سوريا ربما تصبح دولة فاشلة فعلياً، يجب على واشنطن أن تلعب دوراً قيادياً من خلال التعامل الحاسم مع المرض -- أي البطش الوحشي لنظام الأسد ضد مواطنيه -- وليس مع الأعراض الإنسانية فقط.

انهيار الأوضاع في سوريا

إن الأخبار القادمة من سوريا قاتمة أكثر من أي وقت مضى، حيث قُتل ما يزيد عن 70,000 شخص وفُقد أو سُجن أكثر من 130,000 آخرين. ولا يزال جُل الصراع داخلياً: فبشار الأسد يحاول استخدام القصف والتفجير والصواريخ، وربما الغاز لإخضاع الشعب. غير أنه على عكس انتفاضة 1979-1982، فإن ديموغرافية سوريا حالياً تعمل ضد النظام: فخلال فترة العشر سنوات التي أعقبت مجزرة حماة في شباط/فبراير 1982، ظل السوريون بصفة أساسية في المنازل ينجبون الأطفال، مما جعلهم من بين شعوب العالم العشرين الأكثر نمواً وتكاثراً على ظهر البسيطة. ويشكل من ولدوا خلال تلك الفترة غالبية القوات التي تقاتل النظام حالياً.

وعلاوة على ذلك، وفي ظل غياب الدعم الغربي المؤثر، هب السلفيون والمتطرفون الإسلاميون الآخرون من الخليج الفارسي وشمال أفريقيا والدول المجاورة لنصرة المعارضة، مما جعل المزيد من السوريين يقفون بجانب قضيتهم. ونتيجة لذلك، لم يتمكن الثوار سوى إنهاك النظام، دون القضاء عليه، في حرب تأخذ طابعاً طائفياً بصفة متزايدة مما يعكس تركيبة الشعب السوري، وهو ما أدى إلى تدمير البلاد وخلق ملاذاً آمناً للجماعات المتطرفة من السنة والشيعة، وربما يستمر هذا الوضع لسنوات قادمة. ولا يلوح في الأفق أي حل سياسي، لا سيما في ضوء الاختلافات بين الولايات المتحدة وروسيا بشأن وسائل "الانتقال". وحتى لو اتفقتا موسكو وواشنطن على كيفية الحل، فإن روسيا لا تستطيع التأثير على النظام، كما أن الولايات المتحدة لا تستطيع التأثير على المعارضة بالكامل. وباختصار، لا يبدو أن هناك ما يستطيع منع الانهيار الكلي لسوريا خلال الأشهر القادمة.

انتشار العنف من الداخل إلى الخارج ومن الخارج إلى الداخل

من بين الأسباب التي تحول دون القدرة على احتواء هذا الصراع هو آثاره التي وصلت إلى الحدود السورية في كلا الاتجاهين. ومن بين الآثار الأكثر إثارة للقلق:

نقل الأسلحة الاستراتيجية وفقدان السيطرة. يمتلك نظام الأسد بحسب ما يتردد المخزون الأكبر في المنطقة من الأسلحة الكيميائية، وربما استخدم بعضها خلال الأسبوع الثالث من آذار/مارس الحالي. وتتوزع هذه الأسلحة وغيرها من الأسلحة الاستراتيجية (على سبيل المثال، صواريخ سكود وغيرها من صواريخ أرض- أرض) عبر عشرات المواقع، والنظام عاجز عن إبعادها عن أيدي خصومه. وقد أثار هذا مخاوف من أن يحاول الأسد نقل أسلحة متقدمة إلى حلفائه من «حزب الله» في لبنان؛ والواقع أن إسرائيل هاجمت قافلة تابعة للنظام بالقرب من دمشق الشهر الماضي بسبب ما تردد عن أنها تحاول نقل مثل تلك الأسلحة.

ومع ذلك، ففي ضوء الخسائر الأخيرة في الأرض، فقد يفقد النظام السيطرة على مخزونه قبل أن يتمكن من نقله أو تدميره. وفي هذا السيناريو، قد يحصل المتطرفون على عدد غير محدد من الأسلحة الكيميائية أو الأسلحة الاستراتيجية الأخرى، سواء لاستخدامها ضد قوات النظام أو نقلها إلى المقاتلين في مرتفعات الجولان، أو نقلها إلى دول مجاورة لاستخدامها في العمليات الجهادية العالمية.

أزمة اللاجئين. سجلت الأمم المتحدة أكثر من 1.1 مليون لاجئ في الدول المجاورة لسوريا، لكن هذا الرقم يبدأ فقط بالإخبار عن بعض ما يحدث على أرض الواقع. فهناك تقديرات فردية تشير إلى أن الرقم أعلى بكثير، كما أن ملايين المشردين المنهكين بدون مساعدات داخل سوريا قد يعبرون الحدود قريباً في حالة انسحاب المزيد من قوات النظام للدفاع عن دمشق. وفي منطقة حوران، على سبيل المثال، يبلغ متوسط عدد اللاجئين الذين يعبرون الحدود 3000 يومياً، والشيء الوحيد الذي يمنع هذا الرقم من الزيادة هو وجود دوريات نظامية وغير نظامية تابعة للنظام تطلق النار على من يحاول العبور.

وفي غضون ذلك، ردت قوات الحدود الأردنية بإطلاق النيران في بعض الأحيان مما أدى إلى وفاة عدد من الناس. ولو انسحب المزيد من قوات النظام، فإن عدد من يعبرون الحدود إلى المملكة -- وفقاً لما تشير وكالات المعونة -- قد يبلغ نحو 15,000-20,000 لاجئ يومياً. وحتى في المعدل الحالي، سيكون هناك ما يصل إلى 770,000  لاجئ سوري في الأردن  بحلول حزيران/يونيو.

انتشار الإرهاب. بالإضافة إلى القضايا الإنسانية، يصحب اللاجئون معهم العديد من المشاكل السياسية التي تحرق المجتمعات السورية حالياً، أبرزها صعود الأيديولوجيات المتطرفة من الخليج وشمال أفريقيا. وقد يؤدي هذا إلى زعزعة استقرار المنطقة لا سيما شمال الأردن، ومحافظتا هاتاي وكيليس التركيتان، وأجزاء من لبنان بسبب كثرة أعداد اللاجئين. ومما يعرض الهيكل الأمني للمنطقة للخطر، وخصوصاً حول إسرائيل، هو أن الجماعات المتطرفة تريد فقط انهيار مناطق محددة من الدولة، وليس البلاد بأكملها. ويمكن بعد ذلك استغلال تلك المناطق من أجل الإعداد لشن هجمات ضد إسرائيل، وكملاذ لعمليات داخل سوريا، سواء قبل سقوط الأسد أو بعده.

القتال الحدودي بين السنة والشيعة. في منطقة البقاع الشمالية بلبنان، يعمل مقاتلو «حزب الله» الشيعة بشكل علني عبر الحدود ضد جماعات السنة السورية التي تقاتل نظام الأسد جنوب القصير. ويشمل ذلك استهداف مواقع الثوار مع إطلاق الصواريخ من لبنان. غير أن سكان قرية عرسال اللبنانية السنية المجاورة يساعدون الثوار السوريين على مقاومة عمليات «حزب الله» هذه، مما يتسبب في توتر كبير في الداخل؛ على سبيل المثال، قتل مؤخراً جنديين على الأقل من جنود الجيش اللبناني بعد أن قتل زملاؤهما مؤيد لـ "الجيش السوري الحر" خالد حميد.

وينشأ مع مثل تلك المصادمات خطر السيطرة على منطقة الشيعة والسنة المختلطة الواقعة غرب مدينة حمص السورية وجنوبها، حيث سيلزم أن تكون دويلة الأسد الرديفة مجاورة لوادي البقاع الخاضع لسيطرة «حزب الله» في لبنان. وقد أشعل القتال التوترات جراء قيام النظام السوري اليومي بقذف المناطق الحدودية اللبنانية على طول وادي نهر الكبر، مما أدى إلى نشوب نزاع طائفي كبير من وادي خالد غرباً باتجاه منطقة عكار وطرابلس. وقد تؤدي مثل تلك الأعمال إلى اندلاع نزاع طائفي كبير بين السنة والشيعة في لبنان يترتب معه وقوف كل راعي إقليمي بجانب الطرف الذي يؤيده.

العمل من أدنى المستويات إلى أعلاها

إن التقارير التي ترددت في الاسبوع الثالث من آذار/مارس الحالي بشأن استخدام النظام المحتمل للأسلحة الكيميائية في سوريا يشير إلى أن التدخل العسكري المباشر ضد نظام الأسد أصبح الآن أمراً محتملاً. بيد أن ذلك الإجراء وحده لن يغير مسار الدولة الكلي نحو الانحلال. والطريق الأمثل لكي تحول الولايات المتحدة دون حدوث هذا الانهيار واحتواء الأزمة في النهاية هو من خلال قيادة ائتلاف ينهي نظام الأسد كلية، أي من أدنى المستويات إلى أعلاها وليس مجرد التعامل مع أعراض النزاع. فالأسد لم "يتنحى" ولن يتم إنشاء نظام "سلمي وديمقراطي وعلماني" في سوريا في أي وقت قريب. لقد أصبحت سوريا اليوم أكثر عنفاً من العراق التي كانت فيه للولايات المتحدة آلاف القوات والأصول الأمريكية للمساعدة على تشكيل النتيجة. إن التعاطي ببساطة مع تحالف المعارضة في المنفى والاعتماد على قطر أو المملكة العربية السعودية لتسليح المتمردين عبر "المجلس العسكري الأعلى" ليس كافياً.

ولا يستطيع السوريون، كجميع الناس، اتباع ما لا يفهمونه؛ لذلك سيتطلب الأمر أكثر من قيام الاستخبارات الأمريكية بتصنيف الجماعات المسلحة بغية تشكيل نتيجة لما بعد الأسد تتوافق مع المصالح الأمريكية. والطريق الأمثل لكي تؤثر واشنطن على تكوين الثوار المسلحين وعقليتهم هو من خلال الاشتراك المباشر مع الوحدات المصنفة على الأرض. ويشمل ذلك تشجيع اندماجهم في "الائتلاف الوطني لقوى المعارضة والثورة السورية" أو منظمة لاحقة تستطيع أن تتبجح بقدر أكبر من التمثيل للجماعات داخل البلاد.

 

أندرو جيه. تابلر هو زميل أقدم في معهد واشنطن ومؤلف كتاب "في عرين الأسد: رواية شاهد عيان عن معركة واشنطن مع سوريا."

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2054

Syria's Meltdown Requires a U.S.-Led Response

Andrew J. Tabler

Also available in العربية

March 22, 2013


As Syria heads toward a meltdown spilling over its borders -- with loss of control over strategic weapons, accelerated refugee flows, spreading extremism, and Sunni-Shiite clashes -- only engaging with those doing the fighting will give Washington much influence over events.

Two years after it began as a protest movement, the Syrian uprising has long since turned into a full-blown armed insurrection, with Sunni Arab rebel battalions fighting the Alawite regime while Kurdish factions show mixed hostility to both. Given the lack of a visible political solution, the reported use of chemical agents, the increasing spillover to and from neighboring countries, and the growing belief that Syria may already be a failed state, Washington must take a leading role in decisively dealing with the disease -- namely, the Assad regime's brutal assault on its citizens -- not just the humanitarian symptoms.

SYRIA'S MELTDOWN

The news from Syria is grimmer than ever, with over 70,000 people killed and over 130,000 either missing or held prisoner. The core of the conflict remains internal: Bashar al-Assad's attempt to shoot, bomb, missile, and perhaps even gas the population into submission. Unlike the 1979-1982 uprising, however, Syria's demographics are now much more skewed against the regime: in the ten years following the February 1982 Hama massacre, Syrians largely stayed home and procreated, making them one of the twenty fastest-growing populations on earth. Those born during that period constitute the majority of the forces currently fighting the regime.

Moreover, in the absence of major Western support, Salafist and other Islamist extremists from the Persian Gulf, North Africa, and neighboring countries have come to the opposition's aid, causing more Syrians to side with their cause. As a result, the rebels have only been able to grind down the regime, not eliminate it, in a war that is increasingly eating down into the sectarian nature of Syrian society, destroying the country, and creating a haven for Sunni and Shiite terrorist groups, perhaps for years to come. No political solution is in sight, especially given U.S. and Russian differences over what "transition" means. Even if Moscow and Washington did agree on how to pursue such a solution, Russia could not deliver the regime, nor could the United States deliver the entire opposition. In short, there seems nothing to prevent Syria's complete meltdown in the coming months.

SPILLING OUT, SPILLING IN

One of the reasons why containing the conflict may no longer be possible is because its effects are increasingly spilling over Syria's borders in both directions. The most worrisome effects include the following:

Strategic weapons transfer and loss of control. The Assad regime holds arguably the region's largest stockpile of chemical weapons, some of which it may have used this week. These and other strategic weapons (e.g., Scuds and other surface-to-surface missiles) are scattered around scores of sites, and the regime is desperate to keep them out of the hands of its adversaries. This has raised concerns that Assad may be tempted to transfer advanced weapons to his Hezbollah allies in Lebanon; in fact, Israel attacked a regime convoy near Damascus last month for reportedly attempting just such a transfer.

Given recent territorial losses, however, the regime might lose control of its stockpiles before it is able to move or destroy them. In that scenario, extremists could obtain untold numbers of chemical or other strategic weapons, whether for use against regime forces, transfer to militants in the Golan Heights, or transfer to neighboring states for use in global jihad operations.

Refugee crisis. The UN has registered over 1.1 million refugees in the countries bordering Syria, but that figure only begins to tell the story. Individual estimates from each country are much higher, and the millions of displaced persons languishing without aid inside Syria may soon cross the border if more regime forces pull back to defend Damascus. In the Houran region, for example, the average rate of refugees crossing the border is already around 3,000 per day, and the only thing keeping that number from increasing is the presence of regular and irregular regime patrols that fire on those attempting to pass.

Meanwhile, Jordanian border forces have returned fire on occasion, leading to a few deaths. If Assad's forces pull back further, aid agencies estimate that some 15,000-20,000 refugees per day could flow into the kingdom. Even at the current rate, Jordan will have some 770,000 Syrian refugees by June.

Spreading extremism. In addition to humanitarian issues, the refugees are bringing with them the various political problems currently enflaming Syrian communities, most notably the rise of extremist ideologies from the Gulf and North Africa. This could destabilize areas with large numbers of refugees, particularly northern Jordan, Turkey's Hatay and Kilis provinces, and portions of Lebanon. To endanger the region's security architecture, especially around Israel, extremist groups only need certain areas of a state to fail, not the entire country. Such areas could then be used as staging grounds for attacks against Israel, and as havens for operations inside Syria, whether before or after Assad falls.

Cross-border Sunni-Shiite fighting. In Lebanon's north Beqa region, Shiite Hezbollah militants are openly operating across the border against Syrian Sunni groups fighting the Assad regime south of al-Qusayr. This includes targeting rebel positions with rocket fire from Lebanon. Yet residents of the nearby Lebanese Sunni village of Arsal are helping the Syrian rebels repel these Hezbollah operations, causing considerable tension at home; for example, at least two Lebanese army soldiers were recently murdered after fellow troops killed Free Syrian Army supporter Khaled Hmayed.

At stake in such clashes is control of the mixed Sunni-Shiite area lying west and south of the Syrian city of Homs, which a rump Assad statelet would need to be contiguous with Lebanon's Hezbollah-controlled Beqa Valley. The fighting has exacerbated existing tensions caused by daily Syrian regime shelling of Lebanese border areas along the Nahr al-Kibar river valley, resulting in considerable sectarian strife from Wadi Khaled westward toward the Akkar district and Tripoli. Such activities could set off full-scale Sunni-Shiite conflict in Lebanon and draw in each side's regional patrons.

WORKING FROM THE GROUND UP

This week's reports of possible chemical weapons use in Syria imply that direct military intervention against the Assad regime is now in the mix. Yet even that measure alone will not change the country's overall trajectory toward disintegration. The best way for the United States to avert a meltdown and, ultimately, contain the crisis is to lead a coalition to end the Assad regime from the ground up, not simply deal with the symptoms of the conflict. Assad has not "stepped aside," and a "peaceful, democratic, and secular" Syria is not going to evolve anytime soon. Syria is now more violent than Iraq, where the United States had thousand of troops and assets to help shape the outcome. Simply engaging the opposition coalition in exile and relying on Qatar or Saudi Arabia to arm the rebels via the Supreme Military Council is insufficient.

Syrians, like all people, cannot follow what they do not understand; therefore, it will take a lot more than U.S. intelligence vetting of armed groups to shape a post-Assad outcome that aligns with U.S. interests. The best way for Washington to influence the composition and mindset of the armed rebels is to directly engage with vetted units fighting on the ground. This includes encouraging their integration into either the National Coalition of Syrian Revolutionary and Opposition Forces (SOC) or a successor organization that can boast greater representation of groups inside the country.

Andrew J. Tabler is a senior fellow at The Washington Institute and author of In the Lion's Den: An Eyewitness Account of Washington's Battle with Syria.