أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

تناوب مفاجئ في مناصب المسؤولين في شؤون الدفاع في السعودية

سايمون هندرسون

متاح أيضاً في English

14 أيار/مايو 2014


في الرابع عشر من أيار/مايو، صدرت سلسلة من الأوامر الملكية باسم العاهل السعودي الملك عبدالله بناء على طلب خليفته المحتمل نائب وزير الدفاع وولي العهد الأمير سلمان، التي غيّرت تغييراً جذرياً القيادة السياسية والعسكرية المحترفة في المملكة العربية السعودية. وربما النبأ ذو الأهمية الإخبارية الأكثر جلباً للإنتباه هو تعيين الأمير خالد بن بندر نائباً لوزير الدفاع. وبذلك تم إعفاء الأمير سلمان بن سلطان بن عبد العزيز، البالغ من العمر سبعة وثلاثين عاماً، والذي عين للتو في منصبه المذكور في آب/أغسطس الماضي، بعد أن حل محل عضو آخر أقل أهمية في العائلة المالكة كان قد تولى المنصب قبل ذلك بأربعة أشهر.

وقد جاءت هذه الإعلانات وغيرها في الوقت الذي كان وزير الدفاع الأمريكي تشاك هيغل في جدة للمشاركة في الاجتماع التشاوري الأول لـ "مجلس الدفاع المشترك"، لدول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" الذي حضره كبار المسؤولين في شؤون الدفاع من المملكة العربية السعودية والكويت والبحرين وقطر والإمارات والعربية المتحدة، وسلطنة عمان. ومن غير الواضح ما إذا كان هيغل على علم بالتغييرات الوشيكة. وقد تم الإعلان عن الأمر الملكي بعد انتهاء مأدبة الغداء التي شارك فيها الأمير سلمان بن سلطان، في منصبه كنائب وزير الدفاع كما حُددت هويته في ذلك الحين. وقبل ذلك بيومين، كان للأمير لقاء رسمي مع مساعدة وزير الخارجية الأمريكي آن باترسون التي تزور الرياض حالياً. وقد تم الآن رسمياً "إعفائه من منصبه بناءً على طلبه"؛ ومن غير المعروف حتى الآن ما إذا كان قد أُرغم على ترك منصبه، وهو الأمر فيما يتعلق بنية القصر الملكي في تعيينه بمنصب رسمي آخر.

ويبلغ نائب وزير الدفاع الجديد الواحدة والستين عاماً من عمره - وقد تدرب سابقاً في الولايات المتحدة وبريطانيا وشغل منصب قائد "القوات البرية الملكية السعودية" وفي الآونة الأخيرة كان يشغل منصب أمير منطقة الرياض المهمة منذ شباط/فبراير 2013. وتشمل التعيينات الأخرى تعيين مساعد جديد لوزير الدفاع، ورئيس ونائب رئيس جديدان لهيئة الأركان العامة، وقادة جدد للقوات الجوية والبحرية.

ومن المستغرب على أقل تقدير، أن تقوم المملكة بإجراء مثل هذه التغييرات في اليوم الذي يُعقد فيه مؤتمر رئيسي للدفاع الإقليمي، حيث من المرجح أنهم أربكوا الحلفاء العسكريين المحليين ووفد الولايات المتحدة على حد سواء. وتشير التغييرات موضع البحث أن المملكة العربية السعودية قد تعيد النظر في استراتيجيتها الإقليمية. ويراود الرياض القلق بشكل متزايد بشأن ما تعتبره على ما يبدو اتفاقاً نووياً مؤقتاً وسيئاً مع إيران، وهي مصرة على إحداث نكسة كبيرة لطهران من خلال الإطاحة بالقوة بالرئيس السوري بشار الأسد.

ويمكن أن تعكس التغييرات أيضاً الصراع الداخلي على السلطة في المملكة. فالملك عبدالله (البالغ من العمر 90 عاماً) يحاول على ما يبدو تقويض مطالبة ولي العهد الأمير سلمان - البالغ من العمر سبعة وسبعين عاماً - بالعرش، على سبيل المثال من خلال إجباره على تعيين الأمير مقرن (70 عاماً)، نائباً لولي العهد، في آذار/مارس. ولم يتم ترقية أياً من أبناء ولي العهد في الأوامر الملكية التي صدرت في الرابع عشر من أيار/مايو، ولكن تم تعيين نجل الملك، الأمير تركي بن عبدالله، أميراً لمنطقة الرياض.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن التغييرات التي أُعلنت يوم الأربعاء سوف تُحيي التكهنات حول استقالة رئيس جهاز المخابرات الأمير بندر بن سلطان من منصبه في الشهر الماضي، وهو الذي كان قد شغل سابقاً ولفترة طويلة منصب سفير السعودية في واشنطن. كما أن نائب وزير الدفاع الذي أُعفي من منصبه هو الأخ غير الشقيق لبندر وينظر إليه بشعور بأنه نصفه الآخر، وقد لعب الرجلان دوراً فعالاً في الحملة السعودية لتدريب وتسليح مقاتلي المعارضة في سوريا.

وأياً كان الأمر، من المؤكد أن يكون هناك تأثيراً كبيراً للتعيينات الجديدة على القدرات العسكرية والسياسات السعودية - على الرغم أنه من غير الواضح تماماً ما الذي سيكون نوع التأثير. وهناك بعض الأدلة على أن المملكة خفضت هذا العام من دعمها للمقاتلين الجهاديين في سوريا. وفي الثالث عشر من أيار/مايو عرض وزير الخارجية السعودي الأمير سعود الفيصل استضافة نظيره الإيراني في الرياض لإجراء مفاوضات لحل الخلافات بين البلدين. ومع ذلك يكاد يكون من المؤكد أنه من السابق لأوانه القول أن المملكة تخفف من نهجها المتشدد تجاه إيران، خاصة بعد الاستعراض العسكري غير المسبوق الذي أقامته في 29 نيسان/أبريل والذي عرضت خلاله صواريخ صينية الصنع قادرة على ضرب طهران كانت بكين قد زودتها لطهران - وهي إشارة أعقبت أكبر مناورات عسكرية في تاريخ السعودية، شارك فيها 130,000 شخص.

 

سايمون هندرسون هو زميل بيكر ومدير برنامج الخليج وسياسة الطاقة في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Surprise Rotation of Saudi Defense Officials

Simon Henderson

Also available in العربية

May 14, 2014


An unexpected and unprecedented series of changes in the kingdom's military leadership raises questions about future Saudi strategy.

A series of royal orders issued today in the name of King Abdullah at the stated request of his heir apparent and defense minister, Crown Prince Salman, has radically changed Saudi Arabia's political and professional military command. Perhaps most newsworthy is the appointment of Prince Khaled bin Bandar as deputy defense minister. Out goes the thirty-seven-year-old Prince Salman bin Sultan, who was just appointed to the role last August after replacing a lesser royal who had assumed the post four months prior.

This and other announcements came as U.S. defense secretary Chuck Hagel was in Jeddah for the first consultative meeting of the Gulf Cooperation Council's "joint defense council," which was attended by top defense officials from Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, the United Arab Emirates, and Oman. Hagel's awareness of the imminent changes is unclear. The announcements were made after the concluding luncheon attended by Prince Salman bin Sultan, still identified at the time as deputy defense minister. Two days earlier, the prince had an official meeting with visiting U.S. assistant secretary of state Anne Patterson. Officially, he has now been "relieved of his post at his own request"; whether he was involuntarily sacked is so far unknown, as is the palace's intention to give him another official role.

The new deputy defense minister is a sixty-one-year-old former U.S.- and British-trained commander of the Royal Saudi Land Forces who has been serving as governor of the crucial Riyadh province since February 2013. Other appointments include a new assistant defense minister, a new chief and deputy chief of the general staff, and new commanders for the air force and navy.

At the very least, it is surprising that the kingdom would make such changes on the day of a major regional defense conference, where they likely confused local military allies and the U.S. delegation alike. The changes suggest that Saudi Arabia may be reconsidering its regional strategy. Riyadh has been increasingly apprehensive over what it apparently considers a poor interim nuclear deal with Iran, and it has been determined to deliver a major setback to Tehran by forcing the overthrow of Syrian leader Bashar al-Assad.

The changes could also reflect the kingdom's internal power game. King Abdullah (age 90) has apparently been trying to undermine seventy-seven-year-old Crown Prince Salman's claim to the throne, such as by forcing the appointment of a deputy crown prince, Muqrin (70), in March. None of the crown prince's sons were promoted today, but the king's son, Prince Turki, was named the new governor of Riyadh province.

In addition, today's changes will revive speculation about last month's resignation by intelligence chief Prince Bandar bin Sultan, the former long-serving ambassador to Washington. The departing deputy defense minister is Bandar's half-brother and perceived alter ego, and the two men had been crucial operators in the Saudi campaign to train and arm opposition fighters in Syria.

Whatever the case, the new appointments are sure to have a significant impact on Saudi military capabilities and policies -- though quite what impact is unclear. There is some evidence that the kingdom has reduced its support for jihadist fighters in Syria this year. And yesterday, Foreign Minister Prince Saud al-Faisal offered to host his Iranian counterpart in Riyadh for negotiations to resolve differences between the two countries. Yet it is almost certainly too early to say that the kingdom is softening its tough approach to Iran, especially after its unprecedented April 29 parade display of Chinese-supplied missiles capable of hitting Tehran -- a gesture that followed the largest military exercise in Saudi history, involving 130,000 men.

Simon Henderson is the Baker Fellow and director of the Gulf and Energy Policy Program at The Washington Institute.