أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2963

دعم خطوات تونس نحو الحوكمة المحلية

سارة فوير

متاح أيضاً في English

٢٧ نيسان/أبريل ٢٠١٨


في 6 أيار/مايو، سيتوجه التونسيون إلى صناديق الاقتراع في إطار الانتخابات الأولى للمجالس البلدية التي تشهدها البلاد منذ أن أطاحت انتفاضة 2011 بالحاكم المستبد زين العابدين بن علي وأطلقت موجة من الثورات في أرجاء منطقة شمال أفريقيا والشرق الأوسط. وبعد انتخاب المجالس البلدية البالغ عددها 350 مجلساً، ستجري استطلاعات رأي للهيئات الحكومية المحلية وما بين المناطق، التي تمثل مجتمعة خطوة طال انتظارها في عملية الانتقال الديمقراطية في تونس.

التأجيلات تؤدي إلى عدم اليقين

في ظل نظام بن علي الذي اتسم بقدر كبير من المركزية، كان المشرعون في تونس العاصمة يضطلعون إلى حدّ كبير بمهمة اتخاذ القرارات السياسية التي تؤثر على المجتمعات المحلية التونسية - وهي ديناميكية أنتجت فوارق مناطقية إجمالية وأججت مشاعر الاستياء في المجتمعات الطرفية. وخلال الموازنة الأخيرة التي تمّ تمريرها قبل الانتفاضة، خصص المشرعون 82 في المائة من الأموال للمنطقة الساحلية حول العاصمة، و 18 في المائة فقط إلى المناطق الداخلية، رغم واقع أن أكبر ثلاث بلدات ساحلية لا تشكل سوى حوالي 20 في المائة من إجمالي عدد السكان. 

وإذ أدركوا الحاجة إلى إصلاح هذا الخلل، رسّخ أعضاء المجلس التشريعي الانتقالي التزاماً بالحوكمة المحلية في الدستور الجديد لعام 2014. وقد دعا الفصل السابع من الدستور إلى تفويض واسع النطاق للصلاحية السياسية والإدارية وتلك المختصة بالميزانية إلى الهيئات البلدية والمناطقية وما بين المناطق المنتخبة. وقد تُركت مهمة إدارة انتخاب هذه الهيئات وتحديد مسؤولياتها الدقيقة إلى المجلس التشريعي التالي.

إلّا أنّ البرلمان سيحتاج إلى ثلاث سنوات أخرى لتمرير قانون انتخابي محلي، مع تأخيرات أثارت انتقادات ناشطي المجتمع المدني الذين تتزايد شكوكهم إزاء التزام المشرعين باللامركزية. وثمة قانون ابتكاري أكثر إثارة للجدل - وكان موضع نقاش برلماني لستة أشهر - تَمثَّل بمنح الأفراد العسكريين وعناصر إنفاذ القانون حق التصويت في الانتخابات المحلية رغم ما نص عليه الدستور ببقاء الأجهزة الأمنية محايدة من الناحية السياسية. (ومن المقرر أن يصوت هؤلاء الأفراد والعناصر في 29 نيسان/أبريل، قبل التصويت العام في 6 أيار/مايو).

من ناحية أخرى، وعد البرلمان بتمرير قانون يحدد حقوق السلطات المحلية ومسؤولياتها قبل التصويت الذي سيجري في أيار/مايو. غير أنه حتى كتابة هذه السطور، لم تتمّ بعد الموافقة على هذا القانون، مما يعني أن الفائزين في الأسبوع القادم قد يجدون أنفسهم يعملون بجهد لتحديد أدوارهم.

وعلى الرغم من هذه الإحباطات، حظي قانون الانتخابات الذي تم إقراره في أوائل العام الماضي بالثناء بفضل مزاياه التقدمية على الصعيد الاجتماعي. وإلى جانب فرض المساواة الأفقية والعمودية بين الجنسين في القوائم الانتخابية، يجب أن يكون ثلاثة أعضاء على الأقل في كل قائمة دون الخامسة والثلاثين من العمر، وواحداً على الأقل من بين العشرة الأوائل شخصاً مصاباً بإعاقة جسدية.

تفاصيل القوائم الانتخابية

سمح القانون الانتخابي أيضاً لهيئة مراقبة الانتخابات المستقلة في تونس بالبدء بالإعداد لعملية التصويت لهذا العام. ويمثل 22 حزباً وائتلافاً القوائم الانتخابية في جميع أنحاء البلاد، لكن الأحزاب الثلاثة الكبرى تعكس الكتل المهيمنة في البرلمان، وهي: حزب "حركة النهضة" الإسلامي بزعامة راشد الغنوشي، و"حزب نداء تونس" العلماني الذي ينتمي إليه الرئيس الباجي قائد السبسي، وحزب "الجبهة الشعبية" اليساري. وتُعتبر "حركة النهضة" الحزب الوحيد الذي يرشح لوائح في كافة الدوائر البلدية البالغ عددها 350 دائرة، لكن "نداء تونس" يليه بفارق ضئيل هو 345 دائرة، في حين ستطرح "الجبهة الشعبية" 119 مرشحاً فقط.

وما يعكس التنظيمات الديمغرافية للقانون الانتخابي، أن 52 في المائة من المرشحين هم دون سن الخامسة والثلاثين، و30 في المائة من اللوائح الانتخابية ترأسها نساء (قفزة من 13 بالمائة في الانتخابات الوطنية لعام 2014)، في حين يترأس أشخاص من ذوي الإعاقات الجسدية 18 لائحة.

وعلى الرغم من ظهور تقارير عن مخالفات بسيطة نسبياً في الحملات [الانتخابية] في الأيام الأخيرة، فمن غير المحتمل حصول مخالفات كبيرة في التصويت، حيث سيكون هناك مئات من مراقبي الانتخابات المحليين والدوليين، كما أن جولتي التصويت، اللتين جرتا منذ عام 2011 كانتا حرتين ونزيهتين. ومع ذلك، أظهر استطلاع للرأي أجرته الشركة التونسية المشهورة "سيغما للاستشارات" في كانون الثاني/يناير إلى أن معدلات الامتناع عن التصويت قد تصل إلى 62 في المائة. ومن أصل 5.3 ملايين تونسي تمّ تسجيل أسمائهم للتصويت بحلول أوائل نيسان/أبريل (من إجمالي عدد السكان البالغ 11.4 مليون نسمة)، سيكون أولئك المقترعين مسؤولين عن انتخاب 7,212  عضواً من أعضاء المجالس البلدية.     

التداعيات السياسية

بالنسبة لواشنطن، ستوفر الانتخابات في تونس مؤشراً مفيداً عن توجهات السياسة الإسلامية في العالم العربي "ما بعد الربيع العربي". وعلى وجه التحديد، ستُظهر النتائج القوة النسبية للمتنافسين الرئيسيين - "النهضة" و"نداء تونس" - بعد أربع سنوات تقريباً من الانتخابات الوطنية التي أوصلتهم إلى مراكز مهيمنة في المجلس التشريعي، وقبل عام واحد فقط من الجولة المقبلة من الانتخابات البرلمانية والرئاسية.

وقد استثمر حزب "النهضة" بشكل خاص في توسيع قاعدة دعمه منذ عام 2014. ففضلاً عن دخوله الائتلاف بحزب علماني رائد، رسّخ وجوده في جميع أنحاء المناطق المحلية، متخلياً عن تسمية "الإسلام السياسي" لصالح "الديمقراطية الإسلامية"، حيث بدأ يفصل بين أنشطته الدينية والسياسية، ويتجنب الاستشهاد الصريح بمراجع دينية في خطاباته العلنية. وربما انطلاقاً من الرغبة في تجنّب مصير «الإخوان المسلمين» في مصر، كان العديد من هذه الخطوات موضع خلاف حاد داخل الحزب، ووفقاً لبعض التقارير، كلّف ذلك "حركة النهضة" خسارة الدعم في أوساط بعض الناشطين الأصغر سناً المحبطين بسبب ما يعتبرونه طمساً للهوية الإسلامية للحركة والتزامها بالأهداف الأصلية لانتفاضة 2011. وإلى المدى الذي تزكّي فيه الانتخابات الجناح العملي لـ"حركة النهضة" أو تقوّضه، من المرجّح أن تؤثّر على المدى القريب على الإستراتيجية السياسية لأحد الأحزاب الإسلامية القليلة في المنطقة التي لا تزال في الحكومة.

  

كما قد تمثّل الانتخابات المحلية الناجحة خطوة هامة أخرى نحو انتقال تونس إلى الديمقراطية - وهي خطوة يجب أن ترحب بها إدارة الرئيس الأمريكي ترامب علناً. فقد سجلت البلاد العديد من الإنجازات الهامة خلال السنوات الخمس الماضية، من بينها إنشاء مؤسسات وطنية ذات تمثيل أوسع نطاقاً وأداء جدي نسبياً على غرار البرلمان، إلى جانب تحسينات كبيرة في إدارة التهديدات الأمنية من البلدان المجاورة وضمن حدودها الخاصة.  

إلا أن المكاسب السياسية والأمنية لم يقابلها تقدّم في المجال الاقتصادي، حيث أدى التضخم المرتفع والبطالة المستمرة وانخفاض العملة المذهل على مدى العامين الماضيين إلى جعل الكثير من التونسيين أسوأ حالاً مما كانوا عليه قبل الإطاحة ببن علي. وتشتد حدة هذه المشاكل على نحو خاص في الداخل، حيث انطلقت انتفاضة عام 2011 وحيث اندلعت التظاهرات منذ ذلك الحين على أساس سنوي تقريباً احتجاجاً على نقص الوظائف، وتباطؤ التقدّم في تطوير البنية التحتية، والإهمال العام من قبل المشرعين في تونس العاصمة.  

وفي النهاية، فإن التأثير الملموس للأصوات سيعتمد إلى حد كبير على الصلاحيات الممنوحة إلى الهيئات المنتخبة. وإلى المدى الذي ترسي فيه الانتخابات أسس الآليات المحلية للحوكمة والمساءلة، قد تسفر أيضاً عن تحسينات للمجتمعات المهمشة، مما يساعد بالتالي على استقرار جيوب الاضطرابات.   

يجب على واشنطن أن تُطَمْئِن حلفائها بأنها تنوي الحفاظ على دورها كشريك في هذه العملية. ويمكنها القيام بذلك من خلال إعادة توجيه الجزء الأكبر من مساعدتها في مجال الحوكمة بعيداً عن إعداد حزب سياسي على الصعيد الوطني وباتجاه بناء القدرات مع المجالس المحلية، إضافةً إلى توفير برامج تسهّل التنسيق بين البلديات والوزارات ذات الصلة في تونس العاصمة. وفي هذا الصدد، فإن اقتراح إدارة ترامب الأخير الرامي إلى خفض المساعدة إلى تونس من 180 إلى 85 مليون دولار يستحق إعادة النظر.    

 

سارة فوير هي زميلة "سوريف" في معهد واشنطن ومؤلفة الكتاب "ضبط الإسلام: الدين والدولة في المغرب وتونس المعاصرتين". (مطبعة كامبريدج، 2018).

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2963

Supporting Tunisia’s Moves Toward Local Governance

Sarah Feuer

Also available in العربية

April 27, 2018


While successful local elections would mark a milestone in Tunisia’s democratic transition, the vote’s tangible impact will largely depend on the powers of local authorities, which have yet to be defined.

On May 6, Tunisians will go to the polls in the country’s first local elections since the 2011 uprising overthrew autocrat Zine al-Abidine Ben Ali and sparked a wave of revolts across North Africa and the Middle East. The election of 350 municipal councils will be followed by polls for regional and intraregional governing bodies, collectively representing a long-awaited step in Tunisia’s democratic transition.

DELAYS LEAD TO UNCERTAINTY

Under the highly centralized Ben Ali regime, policy decisions affecting Tunisia’s localities were largely left up to legislators in Tunis—a dynamic that produced gross regional disparities and fueled resentment in peripheral communities. In the last budget passed prior to the uprising, lawmakers allocated 82 percent of funds to the coastal region around the capital and only 18 percent to the interior, despite the fact that the three largest coastal towns only comprise around 20 percent of the total population.

Conscious of the need to rectify this imbalance, members of the transitional legislature enshrined a commitment to local governance in the new constitution of 2014. Title VII of the charter called for extensive delegation of political, administrative, and budgetary authority to elected municipal, regional, and intraregional bodies. The task of governing the election of those bodies and delineating their precise responsibilities was left to ensuing legislation.

But it would take another three years for parliament to pass a local elections law, with the delays eliciting criticism from civil society activists increasingly skeptical of lawmakers’ commitment to decentralization. A more controversial innovation of the law—one which held up parliamentary debate for six months—was to grant military and law enforcement personnel the right to vote in local elections despite the constitution’s stipulation that security apparatuses remain politically neutral. (These personnel are currently scheduled to vote on April 29, prior to the general public vote on May 6.)

Meanwhile, parliament promised to pass a law specifying the rights and responsibilities of local authorities in advance of the May vote. As of this writing, however, the law has yet to be approved, meaning next week’s winners could find themselves scrambling to define their roles.

Such frustrations notwithstanding, the election law passed early last year garnered praise for its socially progressive underpinnings. In addition to imposing vertical and horizontal gender parity for electoral lists, it required that at least three members of each list be under the age of thirty-five, and that at least one of the first ten be a person with a physical disability.

NUTS AND BOLTS

The election law also allowed Tunisia’s independent election monitoring body to begin preparing for this year’s vote. Twenty-two parties and coalitions are presenting electoral lists across the country, but the three largest parties reflect the dominant blocs in parliament: the Islamist Ennahda (“Renaissance”) Party of Rached Ghannouchi, the secular Nidaa Tounes (“Call of Tunisia”) Party of President Beji Caid Essebsi, and the leftist Popular Front. Ennahda is the only party fielding lists in all 350 municipal districts, but Nidaa Tounes is close behind with 345, while the Popular Front will field candidates in 119.

Reflecting the electoral law’s demographical regulations, 52 percent of candidates are under the age of thirty-five, 30 percent of the electoral lists are headed by women (a jump from 13 percent in the 2014 national elections), and eighteen lists are headed by candidates with physical disabilities.

Although reports of relatively minor campaign irregularities have emerged in recent days, the prospect of severe voting irregularities is unlikely—several hundred international and domestic election observers will be present, and the two rounds of voting held since 2011 were free and fair. Even so, a poll released in January by the reputable Tunisian firm Sigma Consulting suggested that abstention rates could reach as high as 62 percent. Of the 5.3 million Tunisians who were registered to vote by early April (out of a total population of 11.4 million), those who do venture to the polls will be responsible for electing 7,212 municipal council members.

POLICY IMPLICATIONS

For Washington, Tunisia’s elections will provide a useful indicator of where Islamist politics are headed in the “post-Spring” Arab world. Specifically, the results will show the relative strength of the leading contenders—Ennahda and Nidaa Tounes—nearly four years after national elections propelled them to dominant positions in the legislature, and just over one year before the next round of parliamentary and presidential elections.

Ennahda in particular has invested heavily in broadening its base of support since 2014. In addition to entering a coalition with the leading secular party, it has built up a presence across localities, disavowed the label of “political Islam” in favor of “Muslim democracy,” begun separating its religious and political activities, and generally eschewed overt references to religion in its public discourse. Likely inspired by a desire to avoid the fate of Egypt’s Muslim Brotherhood, many of these moves were hotly contested within the party, reportedly costing Ennahda support among certain younger activists frustrated by the perceived dilution of the movement’s Islamist identity and its commitment to the original aims of the 2011 uprising. To the extent the election vindicates or undermines Ennahda’s pragmatic wing, it will likely influence the near-term political strategy of one of the region’s few remaining Islamist parties in government.

Successful local elections would also represent another significant step in Tunisia’s transition to democracy—one that the Trump administration should publicly applaud. The country has registered many important achievements in the past five years, including the establishment of broadly representative, relatively well-functioning national institutions such as the parliament, along with substantial improvements in managing security threats from neighboring countries and within its own borders.

Yet the political and security gains have not been matched by progress in the economic realm, where persistent unemployment, high inflation, and a dizzying currency drop over the past two years have left many Tunisians worse off than they were before Ben Ali’s ouster. These problems are especially acute in the interior, where the 2011 uprising began and where demonstrations have since erupted on a nearly annual basis to protest the lack of jobs, slow progress on infrastructure development, and general neglect from lawmakers in Tunis.

Ultimately, the vote’s tangible impact will largely depend on the powers delegated to the elected bodies. To the extent the election lays the foundation for local mechanisms of governance and accountability, it could also usher in improvements for marginalized communities, thereby helping to stabilize pockets of unrest.

Washington should reassure its ally that it intends to remain a partner in that process. It can do so by redirecting the bulk of its governance assistance away from political party development at the national level and toward capacity building with local councils, as well as with programs that facilitate coordination between municipalities and relevant ministries in Tunis. In this respect, the Trump administration’s recent proposal to cut assistance to Tunisia from $180 million to $85 million warrants reconsideration.

Sarah Feuer is a Soref Fellow at The Washington Institute and author of Regulating Islam: Religion and the State in Contemporary Morocco and Tunisia (Cambridge, 2018).