أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2782

منع المتطرفين من أن يصبحوا إرهابيين:

استراتيجية لإدارة ترامب

راند بيرز, سامانثا رافيچ, و ماثيو ليفيت

متاح أيضاً في English

7 نيسان/أبريل 2017


"في 31 آذار/ مارس، خاطب راند بيرز وسامانثا رافيتش وماثيو ليفيت منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن بمناسبة نشر تقرير مجموعة الدراسة من الحزبين الجمهوري والديمقراطي، "هزيمة التطرف العنيف المستلهم من العقيدة: استراتيجية لبناء مجتمعات قوية وحماية الوطن الأمريكي". وبيرز هو أستاذ زائر في "كلية دارتموث" ومستشار أقدم سابق للرئيس أوباما. ورافيتش هي مستشارة بارزة فى "مجموعة شيرتوف" ونائبة مستشار الأمن القومي السابق لنائب الرئيس ديك تشيني. وليفيت هو زميل "فرومر- ويكسلر" ومدير برنامج "ستاين" للاستخبارات ومكافحة الإرهاب في المعهد. وفيما يلي موجز المقررة لملاحظاتهم".

راند بيرز

بدأت أفكّر في المفاهيم الأساسية الكامنة وراء "مكافحة التطرف العنيف" قبل خمسين عاماً بصفتي قائد سرية ومجموعة من الجنود خلال حرب فيتنام. ففي ذلك الوقت، أدركنا أن الهدف لا يتمثل بالحفاظ على الأرض فحسب، بل بالحفاظ أيضاً على دعم الناس للجهود الأمريكية. وقد استخلصتُ الفكرة بأن العنف العشوائي والإكراه اللذين يتركّزان على طبقة كاملة من الناس عوضاً عن العدو، لا يؤديان سوى إلى بروز معارضة الأهداف الأمريكية أو تأكيدها.

وعندما عدتُ إلى الحكومة في عام 2009 في "وزارة الأمن الداخلي"، اكتشفتُ أن الإدارة السابقة كانت تفكر في أفضل السبل للتعامل مع التطرف على المستوى المحلي. وعندما بدأت إدارة أوباما بمتابعة الجهود التي بذلتها إدارة بوش، عوّلت على دراسة أجراها "مكتب التحقيقات الفدرالي" نُشرت قبل عدة سنوات من ذلك الوقت ووردت فيها أنماط من السلوك المشترك بين منفّذي الهجمات الإرهابية في الولايات المتحدة. وكان بالإمكان ملاحظة هذه المسببات للعنف، وقد حدّد "مكتب التحقيقات الفدرالي" أربع مجموعات هي الأكثر ترجيحاً لملاحظة مثل هذه التغيرات السلوكية، وهي: الرفاق، وأفراد الأسرة، وشخصيات مؤسسية (أي الأساتذة أو رجال الدين)، وأفراد آخرين من المجتمع المحلي.

ثم برز السؤال التالي: إذا كان الناس يلاحظون هذا السلوك، فلماذا لا يبلغون السلطات عنه؟ هناك ثلاث إجابات سائدة لهذا السؤال: (1) هم لا يدركون ما يحمل هذا السلوك من معانٍ، (2) هم في حالة إنكار لما قد يعنيه هذا السلوك الصادر عن أحبائهم، أو (3) يترددون في الإبلاغ عنه لأن السبيل الوحيد للقيام بذلك هو عبر إنفاذ القانون.

وبينما تسعى الولايات المتحدة للحصول على إجابات للتطرف العنيف المحلي، يتعين عليها النظر في تطوير أو تعزيز خيارات غير مرتبطة بإنفاذ القانون للأفراد الذين قد يشكّلون مصدراً للمشاكل. وعلى الرغم من أنه لا يمكن استبعاد إنفاذ القانون عن هذا الحل، يحتاج الأمريكيون إلى وسيلة للفت نظر الآخرين للسلوك المضطرب، لا سيما للذين بإمكانهم تقديم المساعدة أولاً، على غرار المتخصصين في الصحة العقلية وموظفي الخدمات الاجتماعية. ولا بدّ من جمع برامج التدخل مع التوعية العامة لإحاطة الناس علماً بأنماط التطرف والخيارات المتاحة أمامهم للإبلاغ عنها. وفي إطار هذه المقاربة للمجتمع ككل، يمكن التصدي للسلوك المثير للقلق قبل أن يتبلور ليصبح إجرامياً.

وتضطلع الحكومة الفدرالية بدور في هذه المقاربة، كما حصل في "برنامج المنح لمكافحة التطرف العنيف" الذي أنشأه الكونغرس الأمريكي العام الماضي والمبادرة ذات الصلة التي أطلقتها مكاتب المدعين العامين الأمريكيين في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة. غير أنه لا بدّ حتى من ترسيخ جهود "مكافحة التطرف العنيف" المدعومة فدرالياً على الصعيد المحلي من أجل بناء الثقة الضرورية لعلاقات عمل جيدة. 

سامانثا رافيتش

في أعقاب هجمات 11 أيلول/سبتمبر، هيمن اعتقاد أساسي على الولايات المتحدة بأنها دخلت حرباً مع "حركة إرهابية عابرة للحدود الوطنية تغذيها إيديولوجيا راديكالية قائمة على الكراهية والقمع والقتل". وقد تمّ التعبير عن هذا التوجه العقلي في "الإستراتيجية الوطنية لمكافحة الإرهاب" لعام 2006 التي ذكرت أن "الحرب على الإرهاب" هي حرب من نوع آخر. إنها معركة أسلحة ومعركة أفكار، تلزم الولايات المتحدة بمحاربة أعدائها الإرهابيين في ساحة المعركة وسط توفير بدائل للرواية الإرهابية القمعية. ويشمل نموذج مكافحة الإرهاب كافة جوانب القوة والنفوذ الوطني الأمريكي: العسكرية والدبلوماسية والمالية، وما إلى ذلك.

وبناءً على ذلك، اتسمت فترة الولاية الثانية لإدارة بوش بالاندفاع المشترك بين الوكالات لمواجهة التهديد الإرهابي. وقد تركزت هذه الجهود المبكرة على ما يمكن أن تفعله الحكومة الفدرالية للبلاد، من دون أن تولي اهتماماً كافياً لما يمكن أن تفعله المجتمعات المحلية لتمكين نفسها. وكما ورد في تقرير مجموعة الدارسة التابعة لمعهد واشنطن، تتمثل الخطوة الضرورية بمفهوم وقائي "لمكافحة التطرف العنيف" لا يستفيد من مقاربة الحكومة ككل فحسب، بل من مقاربة تصاعدية تشمل المجتمع ككل.

وفي هذا الصدد، سيكون من الخطأ تجاهل العنصر العابر للحدود الوطنية ضمن "مكافحة التطرف العنيف". فبعد هجمات 11 أيلول/سبتمبر، بدأت الولايات المتحدة العمل مع شركائها الأجانب لمواجهة نمو الإرهاب والتطرف في بلدانهم. ومع ذلك، فمن المفارقات، أنها كانت متهاونةً في تطوير برامج مماثلة محلياً. واليوم، هناك الكثير الذي يمكن أن تتعلمه واشنطن من المبادرات الناجحة التي أطلقها شركاؤها الأجانب.

ومع ذلك، تهدف توصيات المعهد الشاملة إلى تعزيز إنفاذ القانون وليس الاستعاضة عنه. بإمكان البرامج المجتمعية مساعدة [أجهزة] إنفاذ القانون على استباق التطرف العنيف، حيث تشكّل قاعدة دعم واسعة النطاق للسلامة العامة. كما يمكن تطبيق نماذج الصحة العامة في حين تقدّم الحكومة هذه البرامج إلى شريحة أكبر من السكان.    

واستناداً إلى تقرير لـ "دائرة أبحاث الكونغرس" الأمريكي لعام 2007، "يعتبر المحللون على نحو متزايد أنّ الإرهاب عمليةٌ تدريجية. فما إن يكتسب موطئ قدمٍ، يصبح مستداماً بذاته ... وبالتالي، فإن أي عملية إرهاب كان من الممكن أن يتمّ تعطيلها في مرحلة سابقة مع انفراج نسبي، غالباً ما تصبح قويةً على نحو متزايد إذا تُركت دون رقابة، وخاصة فيما يتعلق بتلقين العقيدة للشباب". لذلك، يمثل منع التطرف العنيف ومحاربته جزءاً أساسياً من ذلك الجهد المبكر.   

ماتيو ليفيت

في الوقت الذي تحاول فيه أجهزة إنفاذ القانون الأمريكية تعطيل تهديدات المتطرفين للوطن، فإنها تواجه عدداً هائلاً من قضايا الإرهاب المحتملة، بما في ذلك أكثر من 900 تحقيق مرتبط بتنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» وحده. وبالتالي، ليس من المفاجئ أن تكون سلطات إنفاذ القانون الداعم الرئيسي لإنشاء برامج تحدث تغييراً في عملية التطرف في مرحلةٍ مبكرة. و[اليوم]، تحتاج الولايات المتحدة إلى المزيد من الموارد التي يمكنها التدخل على مستوى الأفراد المعرضين للتطرف قبل أن يدخلوا مرحلة الإجرام. 

إن أعضاء المجتمع هم في موقع أفضل للتعرّف على السلوكيات المقلقة وتوجيه الأفراد إلى المتخصصين القادرين على التدخل. وبدورهم يتعيّن على هؤلاء المتخصصين تحذير سلطات إنفاذ القانون إذا ما كشفوا تهديداً وشيكاً. وبالفعل، إن هذه السلطات بأمس الحاجة إلى شركاء في المجتمع المدني. وقد حصلت أربع حالات مأساوية على الأقل حقّق فيها "مكتب التحقيقات الفدرالي" مع أفراد مشتبه بهم ولم يجد أي أسس قانونية للاستمرار في التحقيقات، وأغلق التحقيق، إلا أن المشتبه بهم نفذوا في وقت لاحق هجمات إرهابية، ومنها: تفجيرات "ماراثون بوسطن" عام 2013، وعملية إطلاق النار في غارلاند في ولاية تكساس عام 2015، والهجوم على النادي الليلي في أورلاندو عام 2016، والتفجيرات في نيو جيرسي ونيويورك خلال العام نفسه. وفي كل حالة، كانت يدا المكتب مكبّلتين - فلم يكن لدى السلطات أي شركاء يمكنها الاعتماد عليهم في مثل هذه الحالات، وكانت النتائج كارثية. لذلك، على الحكومة بناء أنسجة ترابط بين "مكافحة التطرف العنيف" المرتكزة على الخدمة وسلطات إنفاذ القانون بطريقة غير قائمة على الشرطة.  

ويتطلب المستوى الأول من نموذج المجتمع ككل الموصى به في تقرير المعهد بناء قدرة على الصمود تمتد على مساحة واسعة، في حين يركّز المستوى الثاني على الأفراد والأحياء والمدارس والمجتمعات العرقية التي تتعرض بشكل أكبر لخطر التطرف بسبب انكشافها على إيديولوجيات متطرفة وتواصلها مع شبكات متطرفة أو غيرها من العوامل المماثلة. أما المستوى الثالث، فيشمل خيارات التدخُّل عند بروز التطرف. وينبغي أن تستند الجهود الوقائية لـ "مكافحة التطرف العنيف" على الجغرافيا بدلاً من الإيديولوجيات المحددة مسبقاً، نظراً إلى اختلافها من مجتمع إلى آخر. ويجب تطبيق هذه الجهود على مجموعة كاملة من الإيديولوجيات المتطرفة: اليمين المتطرف واليسار المتطرف والإسلاميين، وإلى غير ذلك.

كما أنه من الضروري تغطية دورة الحياة بكاملها، من التطرف إلى إعادة التأهيل وصولاً إلى إعادة الدمج في المجتمع - وهو واقع تدركه بسرعة الدول الأوروبية الشريكة لواشنطن. وفي حين لا تواجه الولايات المتحدة التهديد نفسه الذي تواجهه أوروبا (أي عودة آلاف المقاتلين من ساحة المعركة في سوريا)، إلا أنه لا يمكنها تجاهل المشكلة. ويُذكر أنه من المقرر إطلاق سراح الأمريكية الأولى المدانة بتهم مرتبطة بتنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في الشهر المقبل، لتكون من بين المئات الذين سيتمّ الإفراج عنهم خلال العامين إلى العشر سنوات المقبلة. وتفتقر السجون الأمريكية إلى برامج "مكافحة التطرف العنيف" وإلى أي مبادرات لما بعد إطلاق السراح تركّز على مواضيع "مكافحة التطرف العنيف". وعلى الرغم من أن البعض يستهزئ  "بنتيجة" البرنامج ويصفها بالمتهاونة، إلا أن هذه الجهود تشكل سياسةً ذكية وتندرج تماماً ضمن الجهود الأوسع نظاقاً الرامية إلى حماية الأمن القومي في الولايات المتحدة.

وخلال اجتماعات مجموعة الدراسة التي أفضت إلى صدور تقرير المعهد الذي لقي دعم الحزبيْن الجمهوري والديمقراطي، أعرب الخبراء عن انتقادات مشروعة لـ "مكافحة التطرف العنيف" بحالته الحالية. كما "تصارع" المشاركون مع مصطلح "مكافحة التطرف العنيف" بالإنكليزية CVE، وهو اختصار فقد قيمته لدرجة أنّ معظم البرامج المحلية في الولايات المتحدة تتجاهله. ولا يكون الردّ على مثل هذه الانتقادات من خلال تغيير المصطلحات، بل بوضع أنظمة تعالج المخاوف المشروعة المرتبطة بهذه المصطلحات - مع الاعتراف في الوقت نفسه بأنه بالنسبة إلى بعض الأشخاص، سيكون من المستحيل الدفاع عن هذا البرنامج بغض النظر عن إسمه.    

ويتمثّل أحد مصادر القلق بإضفاء الطابع الأمني على سياسة "مكافحة التطرف العنيف". وليس هذا الأمر بالمفاجئ نظراً لأن سلطات إنفاذ القانون حضّت على إنشاء هذا البرنامج عقب تفجيرات "ماراثون بوسطن". وفي وقت لا يمكن فيه إلغاء إنفاذ القانون من المعادلة، يجب ألّا يشكّل هذا الأخير الواجهة الأمامية للبرامج المحلية، وعلى السلطات تكييف مقاربتها على هذا الأساس. يتعيّن على المجتمعات المحلية وسلطات إنفاذ القانون والحكومة الفدرالية العمل معاً من أجل تعزيز أمن الأمريكيين جميعاً.  

 

أعدت هذا الملخص ماكسين ريتش.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2782

Stopping Extremists from Becoming Terrorists: A Strategy for the Trump Administration

Rand Beers, Samantha Ravich, and Matthew Levitt

Also available in العربية

April 7, 2017


The authors of a bipartisan study discuss their recommendations for preventing and countering violent extremism.

On March 31, Rand Beers, Samantha Ravich, and Matthew Levitt addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute to mark the publication of the bipartisan study group report "Defeating Ideologically Inspired Violent Extremism: A Strategy to Build Strong Communities and Protect the U.S. Homeland." Beers is a visiting professor at Dartmouth College and a former senior advisor to President Obama. Ravich is a senior advisor in the Chertoff Group and former deputy national security advisor to Vice President Dick Cheney. Levitt is the Institute's Fromer-Wexler Fellow and director of its Stein Program on Counterterrorism and Intelligence. The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks.

RAND BEERS

I first began thinking about the basic concepts behind countering violent extremism (CVE) fifty years ago as a platoon and company commander during the Vietnam War. At the time, we realized that the goal was not just to hold territory, but also to hold the people in support of the American effort. I came away with the notion that indiscriminate violence and coercion focused on an entire class of people, rather than the enemy, only creates or confirms opposition to American aims.

When I returned to government in 2009 at the Department of Homeland Security, I discovered that the previous administration had been thinking about how best to deal with extremism domestically. As the Obama administration began to carry on the Bush administration's efforts, it drew on an FBI study published several years prior that had found patterns of behavior common to perpetrators of terrorist attacks in the United States. These precursors to violence were observable, and the FBI identified four groups most likely to notice such behavioral changes: peers, family members, institutional figures (i.e., teachers or religious leaders), and other community members.

The question then arose: if people are observing this conduct, why aren't they reporting it to authorities? There are three prevailing answers to this question: (1) they do not realize the significance of the behavior, (2) they are in denial as to what it may mean about their loved one, or (3) they are reluctant to report it because the only avenue for doing so is law enforcement.

As the United States seeks answers to homegrown violent extremism, it must consider developing or bolstering non-law enforcement options for potentially problematic individuals. Although law enforcement cannot be excluded from the solution, Americans need a way to bring troubling behavior to the attention of others who may be able to help first, such as mental health professionals and social workers. Intervention programs should be combined with public outreach to inform people about radicalization patterns and the options available for reporting them. In this whole-of-community approach, disconcerting behavior can be confronted before it progresses into criminality.

The federal government has a role in this approach, as seen in the CVE Grant Program established by Congress last year and the related initiative taken by U.S. Attorneys' offices around the country. Nevertheless, even federally supported CVE efforts must be grounded locally in order to build the necessary trust for good working relationships.

SAMANTHA RAVICH

In the wake of the 9/11 attacks, the United States was guided by the fundamental belief that it was at war with "a transnational terrorist movement fueled by a radical ideology of hatred, oppression, and murder." This mindset was articulated in the 2006 National Strategy for Combating Terrorism, which notes that the "war on terror" is a different kind of war. It is a battle of arms and a battle of ideas, requiring America to fight its terrorist enemies on the battlefield while also providing alternatives to the oppressive terrorist narrative. The paradigm for combating terrorism includes all aspects of U.S. national power and influence: military, diplomatic, financial, and so forth.

Accordingly, the Bush administration's second term was marked by an interagency push to counter the terrorist threat. These early efforts focused on what the federal government could do for the country, and not enough on what local communities could do to empower themselves. As the Washington Institute study group report points out, what is needed is a preventive CVE concept that leverages not just a whole-of-government approach, but a bottom-up, whole-of-society approach.

In this regard, it would be a mistake to ignore the transnational element of CVE. After 9/11, the United States worked with its foreign partners to counter the growth of terrorism and extremism in their countries. Ironically, however, it was lax in developing such programs at home. Today, there is much Washington can learn from the successful initiatives established by its foreign partners.

Yet the Institute's broad recommendations are intended to augment, not supplant, law enforcement. Community programs can help law enforcement get ahead of the curve on violent extremism, forming a broad base of support for public safety. Public-health models may also be applicable as the government brings these programs to a larger swath of the population.

According to a 2007 Congressional Research Service report, "Increasingly, analysts view terrorism as a process. Once it gains a foothold, it becomes self-perpetuating...Thus a process of terrorism that could potentially have been dislodged at an earlier stage with relative ease often becomes increasingly robust if left unchecked, particularly with respect to indoctrination of the young." Preventing and countering violent extremism is a key part of that early dislodging effort.

MATTHEW LEVITT

As U.S. law enforcement attempts to disrupt extremist threats to the homeland, it faces an overwhelming number of potential terrorism cases, including more than 900 investigations related to the Islamic State alone. Unsurprisingly, then, law enforcement authorities are the leading advocates for establishing programs that move the needle earlier in the radicalization process. America needs more resources that can intervene with at-risk individuals before they cross the Rubicon into criminality.

Community members are best positioned to recognize disconcerting behaviors and refer individuals to professionals capable of intervening. Those professionals in turn have a duty to warn law enforcement if they detect an imminent threat. Indeed, law enforcement is desperate for civil society partners. There have been at least four tragic cases in which the FBI investigated suspicious individuals, found no legal basis to continue, and closed the investigation, only to have the suspects later carry out terrorist attacks: the 2013 Boston Marathon bombing, the 2015 shooting in Garland, Texas, the 2016 Orlando nightclub attack, and the bombings in New Jersey and New York that same year. In each case, the bureau's hands were tied -- authorities had no partners to whom they could refer these cases, and the results were disastrous. The government needs to build connective tissue between service-oriented CVE and law enforcement in a way that is not police-driven.

The first level of the whole-of-society model recommended in the Institute's report involves building resilience over a broad area. The second level focuses on individuals, neighborhoods, schools, and ethnic communities that are at higher risk of radicalization because of their exposure to extremist ideologies, contacts with radical networks, or similar factors. The third level comprises intervention options when radicalization does occur. Preventive CVE efforts should be based on geography rather than predetermined ideologies, since they will differ from one community to the next. These efforts should be applied to the full spectrum of extremist ideologies: far-right, far-left, Islamist, and so forth.

It is also critical to cover the full life cycle from radicalization to rehabilitation and reintegration -- a fact that Washington's European partners are quickly realizing. While the United States does not face quite the same threat as Europe (i.e., thousands of fighters returning from the Syrian battlefield), it does not have the luxury of ignoring the problem. The first American convicted on Islamic State-related charges is set to be released within the next month, and she will be among hundreds released in the next two to ten years. There are no CVE programs in U.S. prisons, nor any post-release initiatives that focus on CVE issues. Although some deride the "back end" of CVE as soft, such efforts constitute smart policy and fall squarely within the broader effort to safeguard America's national security.

In the study group meetings that produced the Institute's bipartisan report, experts expressed legitimate criticisms of CVE as it stands today. Participants also grappled with the term CVE, an acronym so toxic that it is disregarded in most every local program across the country. The answer to such criticism is not to change terms, but rather to put systems in place that address the legitimate concerns associated with these terms -- while recognizing that for some people, CVE will be untenable no matter its name.

One such concern is the securitization of CVE policy. This is unsurprising given that law enforcement led the push for CVE after the Boston Marathon bombing. While law enforcement cannot be removed from the equation, it should not be the face of local programs, and authorities should adjust their approach accordingly. Local communities, law enforcement, and the federal government must work together to make all Americans safer.

This summary was prepared by Maxine Rich.