أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2896

"العبودية" في ليبيا: أزمة المهاجرين تبلغ مستويات جديدة

بين فيشمان

متاح أيضاً في English

4 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2017


أثار التقرير الذي بثته شبكة "سي أن أن" حول مزادات "العبيد" في ليبيا منذ عرضه في 11 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر موجة غضب دولية. فقد احتج فنانون أفارقة وشخصيات رياضية بارزة في أوروبا خلال تقديم عروضهم وخلال المباريات على هذا الأمر، واندلعت التظاهرات أمام السفارات الليبية في بروكسل ولندن وباريس وغيرها من المدن. وفي 21 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، قال الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة أنطونيو غوتيريس إنه "شعر بالرعب" لمشاهدة اللقطات السرية، داعياً "جميع السلطات المختصة إلى التحقيق في هذه الأنشطة دون تأخير وتقديم الجناة الى العدالة". ومن جهتها، دعت فرنسا إلى اجتماع طارئ لمجلس الأمن الدولي؛ وخلال الاجتماع الذي عٌقد في 28 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، سلّط المسؤولون الضوء على الحاجة إلى فرض عقوبات واتخاذ تدابير صارمة أخرى بحق المتاجرين بالبشر إلى جانب تعزيز التعاون مع السلطات الليبية. وقد طغت هذه المسألة أيضاً على القمة السنوية للاتحاد الأفريقي- الاتحاد الأوروبي التي عُقدت في 29 و30 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، حيث اقترح الرئيس الفرنسي إيمانويل ماكرون إعادة المهاجرين إلى بلادهم ونشر قوات أمن أوروبية لمعالجة الأزمة. بدورها، وعدت الحكومة الليبية بالتحقيق بتقارير بيع "العبيد" لكنها طلبت المزيد من المساعدات الدولية للتعامل مع التحديات التي تطرحها مشكلة الهجرة.

وناهيك عن موجة الغضب، أثارت الأزمة توترات على صعيد أهداف الاتحاد الأوروبي المخصصة لليبيا. فمن جهة، يدعم الأوروبيون عملية إحلال السلام التي تقودها الأمم المتحدة لاستئناف عملية الانتقال السياسي في البلاد، ويوافقون على أن استقرار ليبيا يصبّ في مصلحتهم. ومن جهة أخرى، غالباً ما تسعى إيطاليا وفرنسا وغيرهما من الدول إلى الحدّ من تدفق المهاجرين من خلال إبقائهم في ليبيا، مما يؤدي إلى تفاقم أوضاعهم وتعزيز المؤسسات الإجرامية مثل "أسواق العبيد" السرية. وستتواصل على الأرجح الجهود القصيرة الأمد للتخفيف من الأزمة الإنسانية، ولكن من دون وجود حكومة مستقرة وعملية ترمي إلى دمج الميليشيات ضمن العمل الشرعي لحماية الدولة، ستستمر ظاهرة "استعباد" المهاجرين واستغلالهم.

العمالة القسرية وأزمة الهجرة

في نيسان/أبريل المنصرم، بدأت "المنظمة الدولية للهجرة" بدق ناقوس الخطر بشأن العمالة القسرية في ليبيا بعد إجراء مقابلات مع مهاجرين فارين. فالفارون في ليبيا والنيجر رووا قصصاً متشابهة جداً: قام مهربون كانوا قد دفعوا لهم المال لنقلهم إلى الساحل ببيعهم أو خُطفوا على يد المتاجرين بالبشر على طول الطريق. وتعرّض الكثيرون للابتزاز من أجل دفع مبالغ إضافية لقاء حريتهم؛ أما آخرون فأُسروا مجدداً بعد فرارهم أو تحريرهم من قبل جماعات مختلفة. وخلال فترة احتجازهم، غالباً ما تعرضوا لسوء المعاملة وسوء التغذية والاعتداء الجنسي. وقد صوّر تقرير "سي أن أن" هذا الإجرام على أفضل وجه. وإذ ادعت الصحافية من أصول صومالية أنها مهاجرة تبحث عن أحد أقاربها، تمكّنت مع منتجها سراً من تسجيل مزاد لبيع البشر وحملت معها الدليل على ذلك.

يشار إلى أنه يصعب تحديد نطاق هذه المشكلة، لكن يُقدر أن يكون 20 ألف مهاجر يعيشون حالياً في مراكز اعتقال تابعة للدولة في ليبيا، بمن فيهم أفراد باءت محاولاتهم لعبور البحر المتوسط بالفشل أو أُلقي القبض عليهم قبل أن يتمكنوا من الإبحار. وتشير بعض التقديرات إلى أن مئات آلاف من المهاجرين الآخرين قد هربوا من الاحتجاز ولا يزالون يبحثون عن طرق لمغادرة البلاد. وفي هذا الإطار، صرّح المفوض السامي للأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان زيد رعد الحسين بعد عدة زيارات قام بها فريقه إلى المراكز الليبية في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر بأن "العديد من المحتجزين سبق أن تعرضوا للاتجار والخطف والتعذيب والاغتصاب وأشكال أخرى من العنف الجنسي والعمالة القسرية والاستغلال والعنف الجسدي الحاد والتجويع والفظائع الأخرى خلال رحلاتهم عبر ليبيا، وغالباً ما كانت هذه الممارسات على يد المتاجرين أو المهربين". وقد وَصف ظروف المهاجرين المحتجزين بأنها "وصمة عار على ضمير الإنسانية".

الأسباب الجذرية

يبدو أن تنامي ظاهرة الاتجار بالبشر في ليبيا واستغلال المهاجرين الأفارقة عموماً ينتجان عن عاملين أساسيين. أولاً، يقوم عدد كبير من المتاجرين باستغلال يأس المهاجرين للوصول إلى أوروبا، فينصبون لهم الأفخاخ ليعلقوا في ليبيا، ويعمدون إلى ابتزاز أسرهم للحصول على المزيد من الأموال وإلى بيعهم كـ"عبيد" أو استغلالهم في تجارة الجنس إذا لم يقبضوا المال. ولدى هؤلاء المهربين مُطلق العنان في ليبيا، مستغلين غياب القانون في البلاد، تماماً كما فعل تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» بين عامي 2015 و2016 عندما سيطر على سرت. ويتداخل المهربون وأفراد العصابات مع مشهد الميليشيات السائد، مما يجعل من الصعب للغاية تقليص أنشطة إحدى الجماعات من دون التأثير على مجمل الأرباح.

فعلى سبيل المثال، بعدما تمّ تكليف ميليشيا ودفع أجرها للحدّ من المهاجرين في صبراتة، التي تعتبر نقطة انطلاق مهمة إلى أوروبا، تعرضت لهجوم من قبل ميليشيا منافسة استاءت من تراجع عائداتها من عمليات التهريب نتيجة ذلك. وقد دفع العنف المتأتي بحوالي 13 ألف مهاجر للانضمام إلى نظام الاحتجاز المكتظ أساساً في أيلول/سبتمبر وحده. وتماشى هذا الارتفاع مع انحدار ملحوظ في أعداد الوافدين الشهرية إلى إيطاليا، من 23500 في تموز/يوليو إلى 4 آلاف في آب/أغسطس. وقد هبطت أنماط الهجرة العامة على مسار وسط البحر المتوسط بنحو الثلث في 2017، بالمقارنة مع حوالي 160 ألفاً اعتباراً من الأول من تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2016.

ثانياً، لم تتمّ معالجة العوامل الرئيسية التي تدفع بالمهاجرين إلى المخاطرة وخوض هذه الرحلات غير الآمنة - أي الفقر وغياب الفرص في بلدانهم الأصلية - بشكل مناسب. وفي عام 2015، أنشأ الاتحاد الأوروبي صندوق ائتمان للطوارئ برأسمال قدره 3.2 مليار يورو من أجل تسهيل إدارة الهجرة عند نقطة المنشأ في أفريقيا. وقد تمت الموافقة حتى الآن على برامج تنمية اقتصادية وأخرى تركّز على الهجرة بقيمة 1.9 مليار يورو، لكن نظراً إلى الفقر والقدرات المتدنية للغاية التي لا تزال تسود الدول المستهدفة، لا بدّ من توسيع المبادرة التي يقودها الاتحاد الأوروبي بشكل كبير وإلا سيكون مصير المساعي الرامية إلى الحدّ من الهجرة إما الفشل أو التسبّب بازدياد انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان داخل دول مثل ليبيا.    

وخلال قمة الاتحاد الأفريقي- الاتحاد الأوروبي، انضمّت فرنسا وألمانيا إلى عدد من الدول الأفريقية في الموافقة على تسهيل الإعادة الطوعية للمهاجرين الأفارقة إلى بلادهم الذين اختاروا ليبيا منصة انطلاقهم إلى أوروبا. وسوف تطبّق "المنظمة الدولية للهجرة" المشروع بتمويل من الاتحاد الأوروبي كما ستحدد السفارات الأفريقية العاملة في ليبيا مواطنيها وترتّب مغادرتهم مع السلطات الليبية - في مهمة لوجستية معقّدة. وفي البداية، ستتمّ إعادة سكان مخيّم يضمّ 3800 مهاجر بينما تعمل السلطات المعنية على تحديد أهداف إضافية.     

أما بالنسبة لاقتراح ماكرون بأن اللجوء إلى خطوة عسكرية قد يكون ضرورياً لمكافحة المهربين، فهو لم يَخض في تفاصيله بعد. وحالياً، يشارك نحو 4 آلاف جندي فرنسي في جهود مكافحة الإرهاب في الساحل. كما تدعم باريس المبادرة المشتركة بين بوركينا فاسو وتشاد ومالي وموريتانيا والنيجر (المعروفة باسم الدول الخمس في الساحل الأفريقي) الرامية إلى تعزيز جهود أمن الحدود في المنطقة. وقد يسعى ماكرون إلى تمديد رقعة انتشار هذه الجهود من أجل استهداف الاتجار بالبشر في الصحراء الجنوبية في ليبيا. لكن أي تواجد عسكري فرنسي على الساحل الليبي سيكون أكثر صعوبة في التنفيذ من الناحيتين السياسية واللوجستية، وسيعقّد على الأرجح مساعي السلام التي يقودها الممثل الخاص للأمم المتحدة غسان سلامة.    

معالجة الأزمة

يسلّط الكشف عن "أسواق العبيد" في ليبيا الضوء على الطابع الملح لخطة سلامة الرامية إلى إعادة الانتقال السياسي إلى مساره الصحيح وترسيخ حكومة وحدة متفق عليها. وحتى الآن، أَبلغ عن التقدم المحرز في تعديل "الاتفاق السياسي الليبي"، ويجري مفاوضات ناشطة بشأن شروط هذا الاتفاق بين "مجلس النواب" و"المجلس الأعلى للدولة"، غير أن الانقسامات الداخلية ضمن كل فصيل منافس قد اتسعت خلال هذه العملية. ويكتسي الحوار العسكري بين الجماعات المسلحة أهميةً مماثلة، حيث يجب أن يتطرق إلى خطوات مشتركة لمواجهة العصابات والمتاجرين بالبشر. ولا بدّ من إيجاد حل لعناصر الميليشيا الذين يشاركون في هذا الاتجار - سواء من خلال عفو عام مقابل التخلي عن السلاح والتسريح الواضحين أو المحاكمات الجنائية.      

وعلى الرغم من أن أزمة المهاجرين ليست ملحةً كثيراً بالنسبة للولايات المتحدة، يتعين على واشنطن أن تضطلع بدور مهم يتمثل بضمان أن تكمّل الجهود الأوروبية المتعلقة بالهجرة الجهود السياسية التي يقوم بها سلامة بدلاً من معارضتها. ويؤدي ذلك إلى حوار وثيق أمريكي- فرنسي حول نطاق أفكار ماكرون العسكرية. فالولايات المتحدة تدعم أساساً الجهود العسكرية الفرنسية في المنطقة وتمدّها بوسائل النقل والتزود بالوقود والمساعدات الاستخبارية، ويمكن توسيع هذا الدعم لتمكين الجهود الفرنسية الرامية إلى مكافحة الاتجار بالبشر والإرهاب في جنوب ليبيا الشاسع. وإذا سعت باريس إلى توسيع عملياتها نحو الساحل، سيتوجب على واشنطن ضمان أن تكون المهمة مكمّلة لمصالح الولايات المتحدة والأمم المتحدة. فضلاً عن ذلك، في وقت يتعين فيه على الاتحاد الأوروبي تمويل معظم العمل الذي تقوم به "المنظمة الدولية للهجرة" لإعادة المهاجرين إلى بلادهم بالتزامن مع تحرك ليبيا لإغلاق مراكز احتجاز المهاجرين، يمكن أن توفر الولايات المتحدة للمنظمة المزيد من التمويل لحالات الطوارئ لتحقيق هذا الغرض، كما فعلت عندما قدّمت مساهمة بقيمة مليون دولار في عام 2016.

وأخيراً، يتعين على واشنطن ممارسة الضغوط على السلطات الليبية لتكون متجاوبةً بقدر الإمكان في معالجة أزمة الهجرة. ويشمل ذلك مساعدة دول أفريقية أخرى على إعادة مواطنيها قدر المستطاع عوضاً عن وضع عوائق بيروقراطية غير ضرورية. وخلال زيارة رئيس الوزراء فايز السراج الأولى إلى واشنطن في 30 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر والأول من كانون الأول/ديسمبر، تجنبت الإدارة الأمريكية التطرق إلى جدل ظاهرة "الاستعباد" في القراءات الخاصة باجتماعه مع الرئيس ترامب ووزير الخارجية ريكس تيلرسون ووزير الدفاع جيمس ماتيس، لإبقاء التركيز على الأرجح منصباً على دعمه ودعم "المؤتمر الوطني العام" وعملية الأمم المتحدة. لكن تُعلّق الآمال حتماً على أن يكون قد تمّ تناول هذه المسألة خلف الأبواب الموصدة. فالفضائح التي برزت مؤخراً شوّهت سمعة ليبيا، وعلى جميع الذين يطمحون إلى قيادة البلاد معالجة هذه القضية بسرعة بهدف التركيز على المشاكل الداخلية الملحة الأخرى.

 

بين فيشمان، هو زميل مشارك في معهد واشنطن، وقدعمل مديراً لشؤون شمال أفريقيا في "مجلس الأمن القومي" الأمريكي في الفترة 2011-2013.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2896

Slavery in Libya: The Migration Crisis Reaches New Heights

Ben Fishman

Also available in العربية

December 4, 2017


The international outcry over a videotaped slave auction underscores the urgency of addressing the country's broken political system.

Since being broadcast on November 11, a CNN report on slave auctions in Libya has prompted international outrage. African artists and sports figures in Europe have protested during performances and matches, and demonstrations have erupted outside Libyan embassies in Brussels, London, Paris, and elsewhere. On November 21, UN secretary-general Antonio Guterres stated that he was "horrified" by the undercover footage, calling on "all competent authorities to investigate these activities without delay and bring the perpetrators to justice." Meanwhile, France called for an emergency UN Security Council session; when that meeting was held on November 28, officials highlighted the need for sanctions and other aggressive measures against human traffickers as well as better cooperation with Libyan authorities. The issue also overshadowed the annual African Union-European Union summit on November 29-30, where French president Emmanuel Macron proposed repatriating migrants and suggested deploying European security forces to address the crisis. For its part, the Libyan government promised to investigate the slavery reports but appealed for more international assistance to deal with the migration challenge.

Alongside the outrage, the crisis has exposed tensions in the EU's goals for Libya. On the one hand, Europeans support the UN-led peace process to restart the country's political transition, and they agree that a stable Libya is in their own best interests. On the other hand, Italy, France, and other countries often seek to limit the flow of migrants by keeping them in Libya, which tends to worsen their situation and foster criminal enterprises such as underground slave markets. Short-term efforts to alleviate the humanitarian crisis will likely proceed, but without a stable government and a process for incorporating militias into the legitimate business of protecting the state, slavery and abuse of migrants will continue.

FORCED LABOR AND THE MIGRATION CRISIS

This April, the International Organization for Migration (IOM) began sounding alarms about forced labor in Libya after conducting interviews with escaped migrants. Escapees in Libya and Niger told very similar stories: they were sold by smugglers whom they had paid to transport them to the coast or kidnapped by traffickers along the route. Many were extorted for additional money to earn their freedom; others were recaptured after escaping or being freed by different groups. While detained, they often faced abuse, malnutrition, and sexual assault. The CNN story was the most high-profile exposure of such criminality. Posing as a migrant looking for a relative, the Somali-origin journalist and her producer secretly recorded and confirmed a human-trafficking auction.

The scope of the problem is difficult to quantify, but an estimated 20,000 migrants currently reside in state-affiliated detention centers in Libya, including individuals who failed in their attempts to cross the Mediterranean Sea or were captured before they could set sail. Some estimates suggest that several hundred thousand more migrants have evaded detention and are still seeking ways out of the country. After his staff visited several of the Libyan centers in November, UN High Commissioner for Human Rights Zeid Raad Al Hussein stated, "Many of those in detention have already been exposed to trafficking, kidnappings, torture, rape and other sexual violence, forced labor, exploitation, severe physical violence, starvation and other atrocities in the course of their journeys through Libya, often at the hands of traffickers or smugglers." He called the condition of migrants in detention "an outrage to the conscience of humanity."

ROOT CAUSES

The growth of human trafficking in Libya and the general abuse of African migrants seem to stem from two main factors. First, many traffickers exploit migrants' desperation to reach Europe, often trapping them in Libya, extorting more money from their families, and selling them as slaves or into the sex trade if they do not receive payment. These traffickers enjoy free rein in Libya, exploiting the country's lawlessness in the same manner that the Islamic State did in 2015-2016 when it took control of Sirte. Smugglers and gangs overlap with the militia landscape, making it extremely difficult to curtail the activities of one group without impacting the overall profit stream.

For example, after one militia was paid to limit migrants in Sabratha, a key departure point to Europe, it was attacked by a rival militia angry about the resultant decline in its own trafficking revenue. The ensuing violence forced some 13,000 migrants into the already overcrowded detention system in September alone. That surge corresponded with a marked drop in monthly arrivals in Italy, from a high of 23,500 in July to a low of 4,000 in August. Overall migration patterns on the Central Mediterranean route are down by nearly a third in 2017, compared to around 160,000 as of November 1, 2016.

Second, the main push factors that compel migrants to risk these treacherous journeys -- namely, poverty and lack of opportunities in their home countries -- have not been adequately addressed. In 2015, the EU established an emergency trust fund of 3.2 billion euros to facilitate migration management at the point of origin in Africa. To date, 1.9 billion euros in economic development and migration-focused programming have been approved, but judging from the poverty and extremely low capacity that continue to prevail inside the target countries, the EU-led initiative needs to be greatly expanded. Otherwise, efforts to curb migration will either fail or cause spikes in humanitarian abuses inside countries like Libya.

At the AU-EU summit, France and Germany joined several African countries in agreeing to facilitate the voluntary repatriation of African migrants who had chosen Libya as their launchpad to Europe. IOM will implement the project with EU funding, and African embassies working in Libya will identify their citizens and arrange their departures with Libyan authorities -- a complicated logistical task. Initially, one camp comprising 3,800 migrants will be repatriated while the relevant authorities work to establish additional targets.

As for Macron's suggestion that military action might be necessary to combat traffickers, he has not yet provided details. Currently, around 4,000 French troops are engaged in counterterrorism efforts in the Sahel. Paris also supports the joint initiative by Burkina Faso, Chad, Mali, Mauritania, and Niger (known as the G5) to strengthen border security efforts in the region. Macron may seek to extend these efforts in order to target smuggling in Libya's southern desert. Yet a French military presence on Libya's coast would be more difficult to implement politically and logistically, and would likely complicate the peace efforts of UN special representative Ghassan Salame.

ADDRESSING THE CRISIS

The revelation of slave markets in Libya underscores the urgency of Salame's plan to get the political transition back on track and stabilize an agreed unity government. So far, he has reported progress on amending the Libyan Political Agreement and is actively negotiating its terms between the House of Representatives and the High State Council, but internal divisions within each rival faction have widened in the process. Equally important is the military dialogue between armed groups, which should address joint steps against gangs and human traffickers. A solution must be found for those militia actors who participate in such trafficking -- whether a general amnesty in exchange for clear disarmament and demobilization, or criminal prosecution.

Although the migrant crisis is not as urgent for the United States, Washington should still play the important role of ensuring that European efforts on migration complement rather than contradict Salame's political efforts. This entails close U.S.-French dialogue on the scope of Macron's military ideas. The United States already supports French military efforts in the region with transportation, refueling, and intelligence assistance, and this support could be broadened to enable French efforts against human trafficking and terrorism in Libya's vast south. If Paris seeks to extend operations to the coast, Washington would need to ensure that the mission complements U.S. and UN interests. Moreover, while the EU should fund the majority of IOM repatriation work as Libya moves to shut down migrant detention centers, the United States can provide more emergency funding to the organization for that purpose, as it did with a $1 million contribution in 2016.

Finally, Washington should press Libyan authorities to be as responsive as possible in addressing the migration crisis. This includes helping other African countries repatriate their citizens as much as possible rather than putting up unnecessary bureaucratic hurdles. During Prime Minister Fayez al-Sarraj's first visit to Washington on November 30-December 1, the administration avoided the slavery controversy in readouts of his meeting with President Trump, Secretary of State Rex Tillerson, and Secretary of Defense James Mattis, likely to keep the focus on supporting him, the General National Congress, and the UN process. Hopefully, concerns about migration and slavery were addressed privately. The recent revelations have put a stain on Libya's reputation, and all those who aspire to lead the country should address the matter quickly in order to concentrate on other pressing internal problems.

Ben Fishman, an associate fellow of The Washington Institute, served as director for North Africa on the National Security Council staff from 2011 to 2013.