أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

تأمين وقف فوري لإطلاق النار في العراق و «إقليم كردستان العراق»

مايكل نايتس و ديفيد بولوك

متاح أيضاً في English

20 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2017


تنتظر الولايات المتحدة مهمّة حفظ توازن دقيقة في العراق تقضي حماية المصالح الأمريكية وسط أزمة عسكرية بين العراق الفدرالية و«إقليم كردستان العراق». بشكل سرّي، قدّمت واشنطن إلى بغداد توجيهات بشأن السلوك غير المقبول الذي قد يقوّض العلاقة بين الولايات المتحدة والعراق، مثل بدء العراق لمعارك نارية أو استخدام «قوات الحشد الشعبي» في عملية التقدم نحو الأراضي التي يسيطر عليها الأكراد. كما رأت واشنطن التقدم العراقي في بعض الأحيان كإشارة إلى العودة إلى الخطوط الأمامية بين العراق و«إقليم كردستان العراق» قبل الهجوم الذي شنه تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في حزيران/ يونيو 2014. وتعكس هذه الخطوط الأمامية تفسير واشنطن وبغداد لمذكرة التفاهم المبرمة في تموز/ يوليو 2016 بين الولايات المتحدة والعراق والقادة الأكراد قبل هجوم الموصل على تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية».

وتكمن المشكلة في أنّ التقدم المحرز في بعض المواقع المحدّدة من جانب القوات العسكرية العراقية يفسح المجال بسرعة [لإمور] يكون فيها كل شيء متاح [ومن دون قيود]. إذ تتجه العراق حالياً إلى ما هو أبعد من خط حزيران/ يونيو 2014، كما هو الحال في التقدم الذي أحرزته في 20 تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر في شمال كركوك على الطريق السريع بين أربيل وكركوك في مدينة ألتون كوبري. وقاوم الأكراد هذا التقدم بقوة، وتبع ذلك وقوع اشتباكات عنيفة. وبعدها، قامت القوات العراقية بدفع البيشمركة الكردية حتى أطراف محافظة أربيل، وهي إحدى المحافظات الأربع المتعارف عليها عالمياً في «إقليم كردستان العراق» - المحافظات الأخرى هي دهوك والسليمانية وحلبجة. وكانت القوات العراقية تحارب للسيطرة على المناطق التي كانت خاضعة للسيطرة الكردية الكاملة في حزيران/ يونيو 2014. وفي هذا الصدد، سقط جنود [في هذه المعارك] حتى تستطيع العراق أن تدّعي أنّها تحرّكت نحو الحدود الرسمية لكردستان بدلاً من البقاء على بُعد بضعة أميال فقط منها. وقد تؤدّي هذه التطورات إلى إثارة الذعر في أربيل، التي لا تبعد سوى ثلاثين كيلومتراً عن منطقة المعركة بالقرب من ألتون كوبري.

وفي الإطار نفسه، شهدت المناوشات في ألتون كوبري الاستعانة على خط الجبهة بـ«قوات الحشد الشعبي» التي انضمت إلى المعركة عندما واجهت القوات العراقية النظامية معارضة. وكانت هناك آراء كثيرة حول مشاركة «قوات الحشد الشعبي» في عملية التقدم العراقية الحالية، ولكن أدلة قوية تشير إلى الواقع التالي: لا يريد رئيس الوزراء حيدر العبادي أن تقود «قوات الحشد الشعبي» عمليات تقدّم كهذه، كما أن هذا الدور مخصّص للقوات المنضبطة مثل جهاز مكافحة الإرهاب والجيش العراقي إلاّ أنها تحتشد بشكل متزايد في عمليات تقدّم كهذه. والجدير بالذكر أن عناصر «قوات الحشد الشعبي» هم أكثر نشاطاً في المناطق غير الكردية والتي فيها مجموعات عرقية مختلطة كانت قد انسحبت منها القوات الكردية. وعلى الرغم من أن رئيس الوزراء العبادي قد أمرهم بالانسحاب من هذه المناطق، إلّا أن إنفاذ الأمر ضعيف، كما أن إعادة تسلل مقاتلي «قوات الحشد الشعبي» أمر متكرر.

وبصرف النظر عن الحقائق على أرض الواقع، يتعيّن رصد التصوّرات الهامة. وقد يتم تحقيق المصالح الأمريكية في نهاية المطاف والتخفيف من النفوذ الإيراني، من قبل العبادي [إذا تمتّع] بسلطة أكثر قوة وجرّاء قومية عراقية أقوى. لكن من المحتمل أن تلحق هذه الأزمة الضرر بالمصداقية الأمريكية في العراق وبلدان أخرى إذا لم تبادر واشنطن وتتصرف مع بغداد بشكل حازم وعلني في هذه المرحلة وتُظهر قوّتها العسكرية، مثل القيام بعمليات تحليق جوية ومراقبة جليّة ووضع مراقبين في الجانب الكردي للدلالة على أن "الكيل قد طفح". وفي هذا الصدد، تعتَبِر وسائل الإعلام ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي العربية والإيرانية التحرّكات العسكرية الأخيرة انتصاراً واضحاً لإيران وحلفائها الشيعة وهزيمة للولايات المتحدة. كما أنّ السنّة سيشكّكون في إمكانية واشنطن دعم حلفائها ومساندتهم، مع العلم أنّهم قد بدأوا يأخذون هذا الانطباع أصلاً. ومن ناحية أخرى، سيصدّق الشيعة العراقيون الشائعات بأن الجنرال قاسم سليماني، رئيس فيلق «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» الإيراني، قد دبّر هذه الأزمة لمعاقبة الأكراد، ما سيقلّل من أي مكاسب قد يحققها رئيس الوزراء العبادي أو العراق من هذا الحدث. وغالباً ما يكون تقديم المشورة من وراء الستار الطريق الصحيح في مثل هذه الحالة، لكن ما هو مطلوب اليوم هو مطلب واضح جداً من قِبَل الولايات المتحدة بتوقف القتال. ويمكن أن تقترن المبادرة العامة بتهديدات خاصة بتعليق التعاون العسكري مع وعود بالمساعدة التفاوضية الفورية.

 

مايكل نايتس هو زميل "ليفر" في معهد واشنطن، وقد عمل في جميع محافظات العراق وأمضى بعض الوقت ملحقاً بقوات الأمن في البلاد. ديفيد بولوك هو زميل "كوفمان" ومدير "منتدى فكرة" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Securing an Immediate Iraq-KRI Ceasefire

Michael Knights and David Pollock

Also available in العربية

October 20, 2017


To prevent Baghdad from overplaying its hand, Washington must demand publicly that the fighting stop.

The United States has a delicate balancing act to perform in Iraq, protecting U.S. interests amid a military crisis between larger federal Iraq and the Kurdistan Region of Iraq (KRI). Privately, Washington has provided Baghdad with guidance on unacceptable conduct that would undermine the U.S.-Iraq relationship, such as Iraqi initiation of firefights or the use of Popular Mobilization Forces (PMF) in advances into Kurdish-held territory. Washington has also viewed some of the Iraqi advances as indicating a return to the Iraq-KRI frontlines from before the Islamic State offensive in June 2014. These frontlines reflect an interpretation by Washington and Baghdad of the July 2016 memorandum of understanding signed by U.S., Iraqi, and Kurdish leaders ahead of the Mosul offensive against the Islamic State.

The problem is that the focused advances on specific locations by regular Iraqi military forces is quickly giving way to a free-for-all. Iraq is presently pushing well beyond the June 2014 line, such as in its October 20 advance north of Kirkuk onto the Erbil-Kirkuk highway at Altun Kupri. This advance was resisted strongly by the Kurds, and heavy fighting ensued. The Iraqi forces cleared Kurdish Peshmerga up to the edge of Erbil province, one of the four universally accepted component provinces of the KRI -- with the others being Dahuk, Sulaymaniyah, and Halabja. The Iraqi forces were fighting for areas that were entirely under Kurdish control in June 2014. Soldiers thus died so that Iraq could claim to have moved up to the formal borders of Kurdistan rather than just a few miles back from them. The development also threatens to spark panic in Erbil, which is only thirty kilometers away from the battle zone near Altun Kupri.

The skirmish at Altun Kupri also witnessed frontline use of PMF troops, who joined the battle when regular Iraqi forces faced opposition. Much has been opined about the PMF in the current Iraqi advances, but strong evidence suggests this reality: these forces are not intended by Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi to lead such advances -- that role is set aside for disciplined forces like the Counter-Terrorism Service and Iraqi army -- but they are increasingly crowding in to such advances. PMF elements are also more and more active in non-Kurdish and mixed-ethnicity areas from which Kurdish forces have withdrawn. Although Abadi has issued orders for them to withdraw from such areas, enforcement is spotty and reinfiltration of PMF fighters is frequent.

Aside from the realities on the ground, important perceptions must be monitored. U.S. interests may ultimately be met, and Iranian influence reduced, by a stronger Abadi and stronger Iraqi nationalism. But this crisis is likely to damage U.S. credibility, in Iraq and beyond, if Washington does not assertively and publicly demarche Baghdad at this point, and make demonstrations of military force -- overflights, visible surveillance, observers on the Kurdish side -- to show that "enough is enough." Arab and Iranian media and social media are already interpreting the latest military movements as a clear victory for the Islamic Republic and its Shia allies, and a defeat for the United States. Further, Sunnis will doubt that Washington can stand up for its allies, an impression they already harbor. Iraqi Shia will believe the rumors that Gen. Qasem Soleimani, head of Iran's Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps, orchestrated this crisis to punish the Kurds, diminishing any gain Abadi and Iraq may take from the episode. Behind-the-scenes advice is often the right path in such a situation, but what is needed today is a high-visibility and crystal clear U.S. demand that the fighting must stop. The public demarche can be accompanied by private threats of suspended military cooperation along with promises of immediate negotiating assistance. 

Michael Knights, a Lafer Fellow with The Washington Institute, has worked in all of Iraq's provinces and spent time embedded with the country's security forces. David Pollock is the Kaufman Fellow at the Institute and director of Project Fikra.