أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 1936

انتخابات «حماس» السرية تشير إلى صراع داخلي

إهود يعاري

متاح أيضاً في English

16 أيار/ مايو 2012


"ستؤدي انتخابات «حماس» الجارية إلى تقوية الجناح العسكري للحركة وتضعف خالد مشعل وتجعل المصالحة مع السلطة الفلسطينية أكثر صعوبة وتحافظ على تعاون وثيق مع إيران، وربما تصيغ علاقات أوثق مع مصر."

 

من المقرر أن تستمر الانتخابات السرية للهيئات القيادية الجديدة في «حماس» بشكل غير رسمي حتى أواخر هذا الشهر لكن يمكن الإشارة باطمئنان إلى بعض الاتجاهات الناشئة حيث تكافح الحركة من أجل التأقلم مع الجدل الحامي المتعلق بمسارها المستقبلي. فقد تم إضعاف القائد الأعلى خالد مشعل بشكل كبير في الوقت الذي كسب فيه منافسوه المزيد من النفوذ واضطلع قادة في الجناح العسكري بدور سياسي أكبر بكثير. ومن المرجح أن تسفر تلك التطورات عن المزيد من تعقيد جهود المصالحة المتعطلة بين الجماعة والسلطة الفلسطينية وتسريع تقدمها نحو تحقيق إنتاج ذاتي كبير للصواريخ الأطول مدى والأكثر دقة ومنع الطلاق السياسي - على الأقل في المستقبل المنظور - بينها وبين إيران.

تحول غير مسبوق

كقاعدة عامة لا تنشر «حماس» أية تفاصيل عن الانتخابات بما في ذلك أسماء المرشحين أو عدد الناخبين أو مواقع مراكز الإقتراع أو المؤسسات التي تُعقد الانتخابات من أجلها أو النتائج. وحيث استشهدت بــ "الاعتبارات الأمنية" فإن الجماعة تجعل مثل هذه المعلومات سرية وتحظر الحملات الدعائية. ورغم تلك الجهود، إلا أنه قد بدأت تتشكل بالفعل صورة شبه كاملة للصراع السياسي الداخلي القائم في الحركة. ووفقاً لأحد كبار المسؤولين في «حماس» فإن أكثر من ثلاثين في المائة من الأعضاء في مؤسسات القيادة المختلفة التابعة للمنظمة قد تم استبدالهم بوجوه جديدة مما يعد تغيراً جذرياً لحركة محافِظة كانت ترفض الإطاحة برموزها القديمة.

ومبدئياً كان من المقرر إجراء انتخابات منفصلة في كل منطقة من "المناطق" الأربعة المحددة للحركة، اثنان منها من المتوقع الآن أن تتخطى التصويت وبدلاً من ذلك تختار ممثليها عبر عملية من "المشاورات" (تعيينات، على سبيل المثال).

أولاً، لم يعد سجناء «حماس» يختارون مندوبيهم عبر نظام الاقتراع الشفهي المعقد كما كانوا يفعلون في الماضي. ولكن هؤلاء الذين يخدمون بالفعل بصفتهم "قيادة" لسجناء «حماس» - عادةً في التعاملات مع "مصلحة السجون الإسرائيلية" - سوف يتم ترشيحهم كأعضاء غيابياً للهيئات العليا للحركة. ومن بين هؤلاء المرشحين سيكون هناك كبار الإرهابيين المدانين مثل القائد السابق لـ "كتائب عز الدين القسام" في الضفة الغربية إبراهيم حامد، والعقل المدبر لمذبحة ليلة عيد الفصح في نتانيا عام 2002 عباس السيد، ومهندس التفجيرات الانتحارية للجماعة في التسعينات من القرن الماضي حسن سلامة، وقائد سابق في "كتائب القسام" في منطقة جنين جمال أبو الهيجا. وستكون مشاركاتهم في مداولات القيادة مقصورة على طلبات للحصول على آرائهم بين حين وآخر ويتم إرسالها عبر محاميهم والزوار من العائلة. إلا أنه ينبغي التوضيح هنا أنه خلال المفاوضات الأخيرة التي جرت لإنهاء الإضراب عن الطعام في السجون أملى أولئك القادة من "حركة السجناء" - كما تُعرف في المصطلحات السياسية الفلسطينية - بشكل جوهري على بقية قيادة «حماس» شروط عقد الاتفاق مع إسرائيل بوساطة المخابرات المصرية.

ثانياً، ستتجاوز الضفة الغربية على الأرجح انتخابات «حماس» للمرة الأولى على الإطلاق بالنظر إلى الصعوبات التي تمثلها المضايقات المتواصلة واحتجاز أفراد الجماعة من قبل كل من السلطة الفلسطينية وأجهزة الأمن الاسرائيلية. إن الرجل الرئيسي في تحديد أعضاء «حماس»  في "المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني" المنحل الذين سيتم اختيارهم لملء حصة هذه المنطقة في هيئات القيادة هو الآن صالح العاروري الذي أسس "كتائب القسام" في الضفة الغربية وأُفرج عنه من سجن إسرائيلي في آذار/ مارس 2010. وقد ظل العاروري يعمل لبعض الوقت من تركيا - بمباركة ضمنية من أنقرة - في محاولة لإحياء البنية التحتية لـ «حماس» في الضفة الغربية. وهو الآن يعتبر القائد الأعلى الفعلي للجماعة في الضفة الغربية وذلك على حساب الشخصيات السياسية المحلية المخضرمة، وبالتالي فقد اكتسب مكانة مهمة في التراتبية الجديدة لحركة «حماس».

وفي المنطقة الثالثة وهي غزة، تم إجراء الانتخابات في أواخر نيسان/ أبريل حيث أدلى 12000 ناخب بأصواتهم وحققوا هزيمة ساحقة لأنصار مشعل - رئيس اللجنة التنفيذية لحركة «حماس» (وهي هيئة أُنشئت في عام 2009 إلا أنها لم تعلن أبداً بأنها البديل الرسمي لـ "المكتب السياسي" القديم). وقد نجح القليل - هذا إن وجدوا أصلاً - من أنصار مشعل في المؤسسات المنتخبة المختلفة مثل العديد من مجالس الشورى في أحياء متنوعة، مثل "مجلس شورى غزة" البالغ عدد أعضائه سبعة وسبعين شخصاً (والذي تم توسيعه من تسعة وخمسين عضواً)، و"المكتب السياسي في غزة" البالغ عدد أعضائه خمسة عشر شخصاً (صلاح البردويل، محمد الجماسي، عصام دغلس، وأعضاء رئيسيين آخرين خسروا مقاعدهم في الهيئة الأخيرة). أما أولئك الذين يطلق عليهم معتدلين مثل أحمد يوسف وغازي حمد فقد هُزموا في الانتخابات، في حين فاز ألد خصوم مشعل وهو عماد العلمي - الرئيس السابق للجنة العسكرية (أو الانتفاضة) الذي عاد مؤخراً من دمشق بعد سنوات طويلة من التوتر مع مشعل - وانتخب نائباً لاسماعيل هنية (رئيس وزراء «حماس») في وظيفته الأخرى غير المعلنة وهي رئيس "المكتب السياسي" المحلي.

صعود عسكري

على الرغم من أن هنية قد أثبت مرة أخرى أنه القائد الأكثر شعبية في «حماس» في قطاع غزة إلا أنه يرفض تماماً المطالبة بقيادة عامة بل ويتجنب في الغالب الدخول في جدل ويترك لزملائه الأكثر صراحة يتحدثون عما يجول بخاطرهم. ويمثل العلمي - الذي يُنظر إليه بشكل واسع باعتباره خليفة مشعل المحتمل - بشكل أفضل الاتجاه الأكثر بروزاً وهو ما يمكن تسميته بـ "بَسْدرة" «حماس»: أي تحويلها إلى نموذج مماثل لـ "فيالق الحرس الثوري الإسلامي" (أو "الباسداران")، من ناحية تمكنها من السيطرة على أجهزة الدولة الإيرانية خلال العقد الماضي. ووفقاً لذلك يستحوذ الآن جناح «حماس» العسكري على المسار السياسي للحركة.

ربما كان قادة "كتائب القسام" وشركائهم السياسيين أكبر الفائزين في انتخابات غزة (حيث توضع عادة صناديق الإقتراع في المساجد أو الجمعيات الخيرية). فعلى سبيل المثال، إن محمد الضيف - المسؤول عن "كتائب القسام" وراء الكواليس والذي ما يزال يتعافى من إصابات خطيرة تعرض لها خلال محاولة اغتيال إسرائيلية قبل عشر سنوات - لم يقم بترشيح نفسه مفضلاً أن يحتفظ بحضور اعتاد أن يكون محدوداً. غير أن آخرين قد فازوا بانتصارات مثيرة للإعجاب في طريقهم إلى "المكتب السياسي" وهم: زعماء "كتائب القسام" مثل أحمد الجعبري ومروان عيسى ويحي السنوار وروحي مشتهى وقادة من "كتائب القسام" أفرج عنهم من السجون الإسرائيلية في إطار صفقة جلعاد شليط، ووزير داخلية «حماس» فتحي حماد وهو متعاون وثيق مع القادة العسكريين. وفضلاً عن محمود الزهار (الذي استطاع التغلب على المحاولات العسكرية لإفساد ترشحه) فإن جميع الـ "مدنيين" المنتخبين الآخرين قد تم دعمهم بنسبة كبيرة من الأصوات التي تتحكم بها "كتائب القسام"، بما في ذلك شخصيات مثل خليل الحية و نزار عوض الله.

الأعضاء "الخارجيون" ما يزالون يصوتون

في الوقت الحاضر، ما تزال «حماس» تجري انتخابات في المنطقة الرابعة التي تتكون من بضعة آلاف من الأعضاء "في الخارج" (بما في ذلك نحو ألف عضو من المقر الرئيسي المنحل لجماعة دمشق، المنتشرين حالياً في مختلف البلدان العربية والإسلامية). ويجري التصويت في فروع «حماس» في دول الخليج الفارسي ولبنان والسودان واليمن وأوروبا، وتشير التوقعات إلى أن البعض على الأقل من مساعدي مشعل قد يخسرون مقاعدهم في المكتب السياسي "الخارجي" البالغ عدد أعضائه خمسة عشر عضواً. كما أن أحد البارزين من الخارج - وهو مصطفى اللداوي، أحد قادة «حماس» من الجيل الأول الذي أبعدته إسرائيل من قطاع غزة - كان أول من تحدث علناً ​​ضد مشعل. وفي وقت لاحق تم اختطاف اللداوي، من منزله في مخيم اليرموك للاجئين بالقرب من دمشق، لبضعة أيام في أواخر نيسان/ أبريل. ويعتقد على نطاق واسع أن المسلحين المجهولين الذين ألقوا القبض عليه كانوا من التنفيذيين الذين وظفهم بقايا حاشية مشعل.

ويأتي التحدي الرئيسي لفصيل خالد مشعل في خارج المنطقة من نائبه ومنافسه موسى أبو مرزوق، الذي سمحت له السلطات المصرية بأن يستقر في القاهرة بعد حل المقر في دمشق، في حين اضطر مشعل إلى "نصب خيمته" في العاصمة القطرية الدوحة. وكونه مواطن من مدينة رفح في جنوب قطاع غزة حقق أبو مرزوق علاقات أوثق مع القيادة في غزة أكثر مما قد يأمل خالد مشعل (في الأصل من قرية في الضفة الغربية) في تحقيقه. ولا ينبع التنافس بين الاثنين من الخلافات الأيديولوجية، ولكن بصورة رئيسية من المنافسة الشخصية القائمة بين الإثنين منذ فترة طويلة، [وبالذات] منذ أن حل مشعل محل أبو مرزوق كرئيس «حماس» عندما اعتُقل الأخير في الولايات المتحدة.

الدلالات

في النهاية من المرجح أن يسيطر مزيج من جيش غزة ومعسكر أبو مرزوق على مؤسسات القيادة العليا، أي "مجلس شورى «حماس» العام" الذي يتكوّن من ستين عضواً من جميع المناطق و"اللجنة التنفيذية" المكونة من تسعة عشر عضواً التي تدير الشؤون اليومية للجماعة.

ومن جانبه سوف يتمتع مشعل بدعم معظم (ولكن ليس جميع) ممثلي الضفة الغربية، إلا أنه لن يحظى بأغلبية. وثمة بعض الدلائل التي تشير بأنه ربما يعاد انتخابه كرئيس لـ "اللجنة التنفيذية" على الرغم من أنه أعلن في لقاء سري لـ «حماس» في الخرطوم في وقت مبكر من هذا العام بأنه لا ينوي الترشح لولاية ثالثة. وكان يأمل على ما يبدو أن يناشده زملاؤه بأن يغير رأيه لكن ذلك لم يحدث. ومع هذا، لا يسعى منافسيه إلى الإطاحة به بل يريدون أن يحدّوا من قدرته على المناورة وإخضاعه لحكم الأغلبية. وليست لديهم مصلحة في خلق انقسام علني في الحركة، وحتى أشد منتقديه يدركون مدى شعبيته بين الفلسطينيين.

لقد سعى مشعل قبل الانتخابات إلى قيادة «حماس» باتجاه اتفاق مصالحة شامل مع «فتح» وكان مستعداً للتضحية باحتكار الحركة للسلطة في غزة لتحقيق هذه الغاية. وكان أمله الفوز في انتخابات مقبلة في الضفة الغربية والاستيلاء على "منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية." وتم بشدة رفض هذه السياسة وفي النهاية أحبطها خصومه في غزة حيث رفضوا تفكيك حكومة «حماس» هناك معتبرين القطاع "حصناً" تم الاستيلاء عليه ويجب عدم التخلي عنه مطلقاً وأنه - وفقاً لكلام هنية - "أقصر طريق إلى المسجد الأقصى".

وعلاوة على ذلك، بينما يتطلع مشعل إلى إعادة صياغة «حماس» باعتبارها حركة «إخوان مسلمين» فلسطينية تمشياً مع اتجاه "الربيع العربي" في بلدان أخرى، يريد خصومه الحفاظ على مكانة الحركة كمقاومة مسلحة. ومثله مثل بعض أعضاء غزة، يؤمن مشعل أيضاً بأنه ينبغي على «حماس» أن تحتفظ بمسافة بينها وبين إيران على الرغم من أنها تتلقى نحو 400 مليون دولار سنوياً من طهران. غير أن الجناح العسكري - وبالتأكيد العَلَمي - لا يرى بديلاً لقيام تعاون وثيق مع الجمهورية الإسلامية كونها المورد الرئيسي لهم. ويريدون أيضاً الحد من الدعم الإيراني المكثف لتعزيز حركة "الجهاد الإسلامي الفلسطيني" من الناحية العسكرية للمنافسة مع "كتائب القسام".

وقبل أن يقرر مغادرة دمشق، كان مشعل يتمتع بالميزة على مسؤولي «حماس» في غزة، بسبب تحكمه في الأمور المالية وإشرافه على تهريب الأسلحة إلى القطاع. وقد تحول مركز الثقل الآن مرة أخرى إلى القيادة في غزة، القادرة على تطوير شبكة الدعم الخارجي الخاصة بها نظراً للاضطرابات في مصر المجاورة.

ونتيجة لذلك فإن قدرة مشعل على قيادة الحركة قد ضعفت بشكل حاد، فلم يعد هو الأول بين مناظريه بقدر ما يبقى مجرد رئيس صوري. وأي خطوة يخطوها من الآن فصاعداً يجب الموافقة عليها سلفاً من قبل شركائه في غزة، وستكون المصالح العسكرية هي الغالبة على الأرجح في الحسابات السياسية في كثير من الحالات.

وفيما يتعلق بقضايا محددة، ليس هناك شك بأن «حماس» ستستأنف الحوار مع محمود عباس، لكن سيلزم الآن التوصل إلى مصالحة وفق شروط غزة. وتميل الجماعة أيضاً إلى أن تكون أكثر انتباهاً إلى الأولويات المصرية، وخاصة في الحفاظ على وقف إطلاق النار الفعلي مع إسرائيل، وتجنب المواجهات المفتوحة مع مصالح القاهرة في سيناء. وربما يفترض المرء أيضاً أن يتنامى نفوذ قطر لا سيما وأن مساهماتها لخزانة «حماس» قد وصلت في العام الماضي إلى أكثر من 200 مليون دولار. وأخيراً وعلى نحو يشبه كثيراً الطريقة التي أزاحت بها مؤسسة السلطة الفلسطينية "منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية" فإن قيادة غزة المحلية تكسب الآن أرضاً على حساب القيادة الخارجية.

 

إهود يعاري هو زميل ليفر الدولي في معهد واشنطن ومقره في إسرائيل.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 1936

Secret Hamas Elections Point to Internal Struggle

Ehud Yaari

Also available in العربية

May 16, 2012


The ongoing Hamas elections will strengthen the military wing, weaken Khaled Mashal, make reconciliation with the PA more difficult, preserve close collaboration with Iran, and, perhaps, forge closer ties with Egypt.

The secretive elections for new Hamas leadership bodies are unofficially scheduled to continue until later this month, but it is already safe to point out some emerging trends as the movement struggles to cope with fierce debate over its future course. Top leader Khaled Mashal has been considerably weakened as his rivals in Gaza gain more influence and commanders in the military wing assume a much broader political role. In all likelihood, these developments will further complicate the group's stalled reconciliation efforts with the Palestinian Authority, accelerate its dash to achieve mass self-production of longer-range, more accurate missiles, and prevent -- at least for the foreseeable future -- a political divorce from Iran.

UNPRECEDENTED TURNOVER

As a rule, Hamas does not publish any election details, including the names of candidates, the number of voters, the location of polling stations, the institutions for which elections are held, or the results. Citing "security considerations," the group keeps all such information secret and prohibits campaigning. Despite these efforts, a fairly complete picture of the group's internal political struggle is already emerging. According to one senior Hamas official, more than 30 percent of members in the organization's different leadership institutions have been replaced by new faces. That is a dramatic change for a conservative movement that has been very reluctant to oust veteran figures.

Initially, separate elections were to take place in each of the movement's four designated regions. Two of these "regions" are now expected to bypass voting and instead select their representatives through a process of "consultations" (e.g., appointments).

First, Hamas prisoners will no longer choose their delegates through a complex system of mouth-to-ear ballot casting as they did in the past. Instead, those who already serve as the "command" for Hamas inmates -- usually in dealings with the Israeli Prison Service -- will be nominated as members-in-absentia to the movement's supreme bodies. Among these nominees will be convicted arch-terrorists such as Ibrahim Hamed, former chief of the Izz al-Din al-Qassam Brigades in the West Bank; Abbas al-Sayyed, mastermind of the 2002 Passover Eve massacre in Netanya; Hassan Salameh, architect of the group's suicide bombings in the 1990s; and Jamal Abu al-Haija, former Qassam commander in the Jenin district. Their participation in leadership deliberations will be limited to occasional requests for their opinions, submitted through their lawyers and family visitors. Yet it should be pointed out that during recent negotiations to end a prison hunger strike, these leaders of "the prisoners movement" -- as it is known in Palestinian political jargon -- essentially dictated to the rest of the Hamas leadership the terms for a deal with Israel, brokered by Egyptian intelligence.

Second, the West Bank is likely to skip Hamas elections for the first time ever given the difficulties posed by continuous harassment and detention of group members by both PA and Israeli security agencies. Saleh al-Aruri, who founded the Qassam Brigades in the West Bank and was released from an Israeli prison in March 2010, is now the key man in determining which Hamas members in the defunct Palestinian Legislative Council will be selected to fill this region's quota in the leadership bodies. Aruri has been operating for some time out of Turkey -- with Ankara's tacit blessing -- in an effort to resurrect Hamas infrastructure in the West Bank. He is now recognized as the group's de facto top leader in the West Bank at the expense of veteran local political figures, and has thus acquired important standing in the new Hamas hierarchy.

In the third region—Gaza—elections were concluded in late April, with 12,000 voters delivering a severe defeat to supporters of Mashal, head of the Hamas Executive Committee (a body established in 2009 yet never proclaimed as the official replacement for the old Political Bureau). Few if any Mashal loyalists made it to the different elected institutions: namely, the various district shura councils, the seventy-seven-member Gaza Shura Council (expanded from fifty-nine seats), and the fifteen-member Gaza Political Bureau (Salah al-Bardawil, Muhammad al-Jumasi, Issam Daghlas, and other key members lost their seats in the latter body). So-called moderates such as Ahmed Yousef and Ghazi Hamad were defeated, while sworn Mashal rivals enjoyed victories: Imad al-Alami -- former chief of the "military (or intifada) committee" who recently returned from Damascus after long years of tension with Mashal -- was elected deputy to Hamas prime minister Ismail Haniyeh in the latter's unannounced other capacity as head of the local Political Bureau.

MILITARY ASCENDANCE

Although Haniyeh once again proved to be the most popular Hamas leader in Gaza, he is quite reluctant to claim overall leadership and often avoids controversy by letting more outspoken colleagues speak their minds. Alami, now widely perceived as a potential future successor to Mashal, better represents the most salient trend: the "Pasdaranization" of Hamas. Similar to the way the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (or Pasdaran) have managed to take over Iran's state apparatus over the past decade, the Hamas military wing is now assuming control over the movement's political course.

For example, perhaps the biggest winners at the Gaza polls (which are usually placed in mosques or charities) were Qassam Brigades commanders and their political partners. Muhammed Deif -- the behind-the-scenes Qassam shadow supremo who has yet to fully recover from the severe injuries he suffered during an Israeli assassination attempt ten years ago -- did not run himself, preferring to maintain his traditional low profile. Yet others won impressive victories on their way to the Political Bureau: Qassam leaders Ahmed Jabari and Marwan Issa; Yahya al-Sinwar and Rawhi Mushtaha, Qassam commanders who were released from Israeli prison as part of the Gilad Shalit deal; and Hamas interior minister Fathi Hamad, a close collaborator with the military chiefs. Aside from Mahmoud al-Zahar (who managed to overcome military attempts to subvert his candidacy), all of the other elected "civilians" were supported by the significant percentage of votes controlled by the Qassam Brigades, including such figures as Khalil al-Hayya and Nizar Awadallah.

"OUTSIDE" MEMBERS STILL VOTING

At present, Hamas is still conducting elections in the fourth region, which consists of a few thousand "outside" members (including around a thousand from the group's disbanded Damascus headquarters, currently scattered in different Arab and Muslim countries). Voting is taking place at Hamas branches in the Persian Gulf states, Lebanon, Sudan, Yemen, and Europe, and the expectation is that at least some of Mashal's lieutenants may lose their seats in the fifteen-member "outside" Political Bureau. One key outside member -- Mustafa al-Leddawi, a first-generation Hamas leader deported from Gaza by Israel -- was the first to come out publicly against Mashal, and was subsequently kidnapped for a few days in late April from his home in the Yarmouk refugee camp near Damascus. The unknown gunmen who seized him were widely believed to be enforcers employed by the remnants of Mashal's entourage.

The main challenge to Mashal's faction in the outside region comes from his deputy and rival Mousa Abu Marzouk, whom Egyptian authorities permitted to settle in Cairo after the dissolution of the Damascus headquarters, whereas Mashal was compelled to pitch his tent in Doha, Qatar. A native of Rafah in southern Gaza, Abu Marzouk has cultivated much closer contacts with the Gaza leadership than Mashal (originally from a West Bank village) can hope to achieve. The rivalry between the two stems not from ideological differences, but mainly from longstanding personal competition, since Mashal replaced Abu Marzouk as Hamas chief when the latter was detained in the United States.

IMPLICATIONS

In the end, a combination of the Gaza military and the Abu Marzouk camp will likely control the top leadership institutions: that is, the Hamas General Shura Council, composed of sixty members from all regions, and the nineteen-member Executive Committee, which runs the group's daily affairs.

For his part, Mashal will enjoy the support of most, but not all, of the West Bank representatives, though he will not command a majority. There are some indications that he may be reelected as Executive Committee head even though he announced in a secret Hamas gathering in Khartoum early this year that he does not intend to run for a third term. He was apparently hoping that his colleagues would plead with him to change his mind, but that did not happen. Still, his rivals aim not to depose him, but rather to limit his room for maneuver and submit him to majority rule. They have no interest in creating an open divide in the movement, and even his harshest critics realize the extent of his popularity among Palestinians. 

Prior to the elections, Mashal sought to lead Hamas toward comprehensive reconciliation agreement with Fatah and was willing to sacrifice the movement's monopoly of power in Gaza to this end. His hope was to win future elections in the West Bank and take over the Palestine Liberation Organization. This policy was vehemently rejected and, in the end, foiled by his opponents in Gaza, who refused to dismantle the Hamas government there. They view the strip as a captured "fortress" that should never be relinquished, and as "the shortest route to al-Aqsa Mosque," in Haniyeh's words.

Moreover, while Mashal aspires to reshape Hamas as a Palestinian Muslim Brotherhood in line with the Arab Spring trend in other countries, his adversaries want to maintain the movement's standing as an armed resistance. Like some Gaza members, Mashal also believes that Hamas should maintain its distance from Iran despite receiving some $400 million annually from Tehran. Yet the military wing, and certainly Alami, see no alternative to close collaboration with the Islamic Republic as their main supplier. They also want to curb intensive Iranian support for Palestinian Islamic Jihad's military buildup in competition with the Qassam Brigades.

Before deciding to leave Damascus, Mashal had an advantage over Hamas officials in Gaza, since he held the purse strings and supervised arms smuggling to the strip. The center of gravity has now shifted back to the Gaza leadership, which is capable of developing its own network of foreign support given the upheaval in neighboring Egypt.

As a result, Mashal's capacity to lead the movement has been severely impaired. He is no longer first among equals, but more of a figurehead. Every move he makes from now on will need to be approved by his partners in Gaza beforehand, and military interests will likely trump political calculations in many situations.

Regarding specific issues, Hamas will no doubt resume the dialogue with Mahmoud Abbas, but reconciliation will now need to be reached on Gaza's terms. The group is also bound to be more attentive to Egyptian priorities, especially in maintaining the de facto ceasefire with Israel and avoiding open clashes with Cairo's interests in the Sinai. One may also assume that Qatar's influence will grow as its contributions to the Hamas treasury increase beyond the $200 million provided last year. Finally, in much the same way that the PA's establishment sidelined the PLO, the local Gaza leadership is now gaining ground at the expense of the outside leadership.

Ehud Yaari is an Israel-based Lafer international fellow with The Washington Institute.