أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2878

إنقاذ «إقليم كردستان» أمر حيوي للمصالح الأمريكية والعراقية على السواء

بلال وهاب

متاح أيضاً في English

25 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2017


أسفرت الأزمة المستمرة بين الحكومة الاتحادية في العراق و«حكومة إقليم كردستان» عن خسارة هذه الأخيرة الكثير من الأراضي والنفط والسلطة التي بدأت تكتسبها بعد الإطاحة بصدام حسين عام 2003. وفي الإقليم، يخسر القادة الأكراد شرعيتهم، كما أن استمرار «حكومة إقليم كردستان» نفسها قد يكون على المحك نظراً للخلاف السياسي الداخلي والعمليات العسكرية المستمرة من قبل قوات الأمن العراقية. 

وعموماً، تتحمل القيادة السياسية في «حكومة إقليم كردستان» بحدّ ذاتها مسؤولية المصائب التي تواجهها. ومع ذلك، يشعر الكثير من الأكراد أيضاً أن الولايات المتحدة خذلتهم، فهي تبدو غير راغبة في التدخل من أجل حماية منطقتهم. فلأكثر من عقدين من الزمن، ساعدت الإدارات الأمريكية المتعاقبة على إنشاء «حكومة إقليم كردستان» والدفاع عنها، وها هي تحتاج مرة أخرى إلى الإنقاذ - ليس فقط من نفسها بل أيضاً من جيش عراقي تشتد عزيمته ويخضع لنفوذ إيراني كبير. ولأسباب قانونية وجيوسياسية، خلصت واشنطن أساساً منذ فترة طويلة إلى أنه لا يمكنها دعم كافة المكاسب الإقليمية التي حققتها «حكومة إقليم كردستان» عقب عام 2003 في غياب دعم من داخل العراق أو من أوساط الدول المجاورة. والسؤال الذي يطرح نفسه الآن هو ما إذا كان المسؤولون الأمريكيون يدركون أنه قد تكون هناك حاجة إلى اتخاذ خطوات طارئة بغية حماية كيان «إقليم كردستان» المكرّس في الدستور من التفكيك أيضاً.

شبح الغزو أو الانهيار الداخلي

على الرغم من أن هذه ليست المرة الأولى التي تواجه فيها «حكومة إقليم كردستان» تهديداً وجودياً، إلّا أن العديد من السيناريوهات الرهيبة - والتي تم دحرها بالكامل على يد قوات الأمن العراقية والميليشيات المرافقة لها، أو تفككها بحسب الخطوط الحزبية، أو انهيارها وسط صراع داخلي بين الأشقاء على فطيرة اقتصادية آخذة في التقلص - تجعل من هذه الأزمة ربما الأكثر حدة حتى الآن. ففي صيف عام 2014، نجحت «حكومة إقليم كردستان» في تخطي سلسلة من الهجمات العسكرية التي شنها تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» إلى جانب المصاعب الاقتصادية الناجمة عن انهيار أسعار النفط وتدفقات اللاجئين الهائلة. وقد تمكنت من الصمود بفضل وحدتها الداخلية والدعم العسكري والاقتصادي الأمريكي.       

غير أن «حكومة إقليم كردستان» خسرت اليوم الدعم الدولي الذي تمتعت به في ما مضى بسبب استفتاء على الاستقلال أسيء تقدير تبعاته والذي أصرّ القادة الأكراد على إجرائه الشهر الماضي، على الرغم من المعارضة الأمريكية. كما أن ردود الفعل الساخطة الناتجة عنه قد شجعت قوات الأمن العراقية التي اكتسبت خبرة في ساحات المعركة على إخراج قوات "البيشمركة" الكردية من الأراضي التي سيطرت عليها منذ عام 2014 وإعادتها إلى حدودها الأساسية من عام 2003.   

وفي الموازاة، يتأجج التحزب الكردي الجياش على الصعيد المحلي. وفي ظل انسحاب "البيشمركة" من كركوك، لجأ كل حزب من الحزبان الرئيسيان اللذان يسيطران على «حكومة إقليم كردستان»، وهما «الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني» و«الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني»، إلى وسائل الإعلام والماكينات السياسية التابعة لخصمه الآخر من أجل تبادل اتهامات الغدر والخيانة. وكان اقتراح حزبي بانتزاع معقل «الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني» من السليمانية من «حكومة الإقليم» قد حظي بتأييد شخصيات وطنية مؤثرة مثل رئيس الوزراء العراقي السابق نوري المالكي. وفي المقابل، فإن نداء «الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني» للحصول على الدعم الخارجي قد دق ناقوس الخطر في أوساط مراقبي الشؤون الكردية الذين يذكرون أن هيكلية السلطة الحالية غير المتوازنة لـ «حكومة إقليم كردستان» نتجت عن طلب «الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني» مساعدة قوات صدام على طرد «الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني» من أربيل عام 1996، ومن ثم التماس دعم تركيا في العقد التالي. وبالمثل، أثبتت المدفعية الإيرانية فعاليتها في مساعدة «الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني» على الاحتفاظ ببعض الأراضي.     

وفي ظل توافر الكثير من السلطة والنفط القابلين للاستيلاء الآن، وبروز قيادة أصغر سناً وأكثر طموحاً وأقل براغماتية، يلوح في الأفق شبح إبرام صفقات جانبية وحتى اندلاع حرب أهلية كردية. وبناء على ذلك، يعتمد صمود «حكومة إقليم كردستان» على إقامة وحدة داخلية من أجل وقف استنزاف رأس المال السياسي والاقتصادي، والاستعداد لمواجهة أزمات اقتصادية وشيكة، والتفاوض بصوت واحد في بغداد.

الجميع بحاجة إلى «حكومة إقليم كردستان»

إن صمود «حكومة إقليم كردستان» أمر حيوي لاستقرار العراق والمنطقة الأوسع. وإذا كان يمكن استخلاص أي عبر من السابق فهي أن «حكومة إقليم كردستان» المجزأة تفسح المجال أمام تدخلات إيرانية وتركية من شأنها تقويض سيادة العراق كما حصل في تسعينيات القرن الماضي. فضلاً عن ذلك، حتى لو كانت بغداد تتمتع بالشرعية المحلية المطلوبة، إلّا أنه لا يمكنها أن تفرض من جديد حكماً مباشراً في المناطق الكردية الواقعة في شمال العراق، والتي كانت تتمتع بحكم ذاتي منذ عام 1991. ولتحقيق الاستقرار في البلاد والحكم بشكل فعال، تحتاج بغداد إلى نظير قوي ومعتمد ومسؤول في أربيل. وسواء أدرك العراقيون ذلك أم لا، فإنهم بحاجة إلى سياسيين أكراد في العاصمة لإدخال وجهات نظر ومصالح غربية في هيكلية السلطة التي تهيمن عليها إيران. ومن جانبهم، ربما لا يزال الأكراد يعتقدون أن الحفاظ على «حكومة إقليم كردستان» كجزء من عراق اتحادي هو المسار الأكثر حكمةً - ففي النهاية، صوتوا لصالح الدستور الوطني خلال حقبة ما بعد صدام بنسبة فاقت تلك التي شهدها استفتاؤهم الخاص على الاستقلال.

ولعل الأهم من ذلك أن وجود «إقليم كردستان» مُكرّس في الدستور العراقي، لذلك فإن الدعوات الأخيرة لتقسيمه وممارسة السيطرة الاتحادية على محافظاته الكردية الثلاث تتعارض مع القوانين النافذة. وكما كان من الخطأ بالنسبة لقادة «حكومة الإقليم» أن يوسعوا رقعة الاستفتاء بشأن الاستقلال ليشمل الأراضي المتنازع عليها، كذلك فمن الخطأ بالنسبة لبغداد أن تتخلى عن الدستور وكافة مزاعم التفاوض حول الخلافات لمجرد أن كفة ميزان القوة تميل إلى صالحها حالياً. وكما أشارت وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية في 20 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، فإن "إعادة تأكيد السلطة الاتحادية على المناطق المتنازع عليها لا تغير وضعها بأي حال من الأحوال - فستبقى موضع نزاع إلى أن يتمّ حل وضعها وفقاً للدستور العراقي". وينطبق الأمر نفسه على الخلافات التي طال أمدها بين أربيل وبغداد على النفط والإيرادات النفطية وتقاسم السلطة.  

وعلى الصعيد الجيوسياسي، يتنافى تفكيك «حكومة إقليم كردستان» مع المصالح الأمريكية في المنطقة، خاصة بالنظر إلى رأس المال العسكري والسياسي الكبير الذي استثمرته واشنطن أساساً في تأسيسها وبقائها. فقد برزت «حكومة إقليم كردستان» بفضل ملاذ آمن ساعدت القوات الأمريكية على إقامته وحمايته اعتباراً من عام 1991. وخلال ذروة الحرب الأهلية الكردية بين عامي 1994 و1996، دعت وزيرة الخارجية الأمريكية آنذاك مادلين أولبرايت رئيس «الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني» مسعود بارزاني وزعيم «الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني» جلال الطالباني إلى واشنطن لتوقيع اتفاق سلام. وفي وقت لاحق، ساعدت الحماية التي وفرتها الولايات المتحدة الأكراد على الاستفادة إلى حدّ كبير من الإطاحة بصدام حسين عام 2003. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، قامت الولايات المتحدة بحماية أربيل من هجمات تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في عام 2014، ثم قامت بتسليح قوات "البيشمركة" وتدريبها لمواصلة المعركة.

وفي المقابل، لطالما كانت «حكومة إقليم كردستان» حليفاً مفيداً ضد صدام وتنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» وأعداء آخرين للولايات المتحدة، فضلاً عن قوة معتدلة في السياسة العراقية، على الأقل حتى وقت قريب. وبشكل أوسع نطاقاً، كانت هذه الحكومة بمثابة تجربة أمريكية فريدة في مجال تعزيز الديمقراطية وبناء دولة لا يجب التخلي عنها ببساطة. وكما كتب السيناتور الأمريكي جون ماكين في 24 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، "إذا لم تستطع بغداد ضمان الأمن والحرية والفرص التي یرغب فیھا الشعب الكردي في العراق، وإذا اضطرت الولايات المتحدة إلى الاختيار بين الميليشيات المدعومة من إيران والأكراد، شركاءنا منذ زمن بعيد، سأختار الأكراد".

الوساطة الأمريكية التي تشتد الحاجة إليها

لا يمكن لبغداد وأربيل التفاوض بمفردهما على نحو عادل نظراً للتطورات المفاجئة ميدانياً، والتي يمكن أن تتعارض مع الدستور في غياب وسيط نزيه وغير متحيز. فبغداد تحقق الانتصارات وتبدو قادرة على دفع القوات الكردية خارج حدود عام 2003 وعزل «إقليم كردستان» اقتصادياً. ويخشى الأكراد أيضاً من عدم قيام بغداد بالتفاوض معهم بحسن نية بسبب ما ولده الاستفتاء الذي أجروه من حقد وضغينة. وطالما تهدد بغداد جدياً بشنّ تحرك عسكري داخل حدود "كردستان 2003" وقطع أوصال المنطقة الاتحادية، فإن فرصة مساهمة المحادثات في تحسين الوضع تكاد تكون معدومة، على الرغم من دعوات بارزاني ورئيس الوزراء حيدر العبادي إلى استئناف المفاوضات وفقاً للدستور.

ولتذليل هذه العقبات التي تحول دون إجراء محادثات مفيدة، على الولايات المتحدة أن توضّح أنه يتعين على «حكومة إقليم كردستان» أن توحّد أقوالها وأفعالها قبل التوجه إلى طاولة المفاوضات. ومن شأن تجميد تطبيق نتائج الاستفتاء وجعل بارزاني يقدم استقالته من منصب رئاسة «حكومة الإقليم»، أن يخففا من التوترات الفورية، ولكن هذه الخطوات لن تجيب على سؤال حول هوية ممثل «حكومة إقليم كردستان» الشرعي في المفاوضات.

يجب على واشنطن أيضاً تذكير الطرفين المعنيين بأنه في حين تشكل الأحداث الراهنة فرصة لإعادة صياغة العلاقات بين العراق و«حكومة إقليم كردستان» على أسس قانونية أكثر صلابةً، فإن معالجة مسائل عملية مثل تدفقات النفط وتقاسم الإيرادات تُعتبر أكثر إلحاحاً. وعلى الرغم من النكسات التي مني بها اقتصاد «حكومة إقليم كردستان» منذ عام 2014، إلّا أنه كان يتعافى ببطء قبل وقوع الأحداث الأخيرة. وإذا ما تعثر مجدداً على المدى القريب، وقامت أربيل في النهاية بحجز رواتب كافة الموظفين الحكوميين، فعندئذ من المرجح أن تندلع احتجاجات جماعية، مع احتمال كبير لتصاعدها إلى أعمال عنف نظراً للشرعية المزعزعة للقادة الأكراد. إن انتشار العنف - أو حتى العجز المطوّل عن دفع د الرواتب وبالتالي الحكم - سيمنح خصوم «حكومة إقليم كردستان» في بغداد العذر الذي يحتاجون إليه لتفكيك الإقليم. ولذلك، يجب على واشنطن حثّ الأكراد على إجراء الإصلاحات التي وعدوا بها في الماضي، لكنهم لم يفوا بها، مثل اعتماد المزيد من الشفافية في قطاعهم النفطي.

وأخيراً، يُعتبر بقاء «حكومة إقليم كردستان» بمثابة خط رجعة بالنسبة للولايات المتحدة إذا خسر العبادي الانتخابات العام القادم ضد منافسيه النافذين الموالين لإيران. وفي إطار هذا السيناريو، من المرجح أن تعلو الأصوات المناهضة للولايات المتحدة في العراق، وقد تصبح «حكومة الإقليم» الشريك الأمريكي الوحيد الموثوق به للحفاظ على سياسة وطنية معتدلة، وعلى استقلال البلاد، وتقويض عودة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». ولتجنب مثل هذه النتائج في عام 2018، على واشنطن أن تكبح العبادي اليوم وتطلب منه عدم تخطي حدود عام 2003 التي يكرسها الدستور لـ«حكومة إقليم كردستان».

 

بلال وهاب هو زميل "سوريف" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2878

Saving the KRG Is Vital to U.S. and Iraqi Interests

Bilal Wahab

Also available in العربية

October 25, 2017


If the Kurdish region is rolled back by federal forces or implodes into civil conflict, the consequences would threaten Iraq's constitutional structure and undercut U.S. efforts to contain Iran.

The ongoing crisis between Iraq's federal government and the Kurdistan Regional Government has resulted in the KRG losing much of the land, oil, and power it began to acquire after Saddam Hussein's 2003 ouster. At home, Kurdish leaders are losing legitimacy, and the KRG's very survival could be at stake given the internal political discord and continuing military operations by Iraqi security forces (ISF).

For the most part, the KRG political leadership has itself to blame for the calamities it is enduring. Yet many Kurds also feel let down by the United States, which seems unwilling to intervene to protect their enclave. For more than two decades, successive U.S. administrations helped create and defend the KRG, and it needs saving once again -- not only from itself, but also from an emboldened Iraqi military under significant Iranian influence. For legal and geopolitical reasons, Washington already concluded long ago that it could not support all of the KRG's post-2003 territorial gains absent support inside Iraq or among its neighbors. The question now is whether U.S. officials understand that urgent action may be needed to protect the core, constitutionally enshrined KRG from being rolled back as well.

SPECTER OF INVASION OR IMPLOSION

Although this is not the first time the KRG has faced an existential threat, the multitude of dire scenarios -- being fully rolled back by the ISF and accompanying militias, disintegrating across party lines, or imploding into fratricidal internal fighting over a shrinking economic pie -- make this perhaps the most acute crisis to date. In summer 2014, the KRG survived a perfect storm of military onslaught by the Islamic State and economic hardship due to crashing oil prices and mass refugee flows. It survived thanks to internal unity and U.S. military and economic support.

Today, however, the KRG has lost the international backing it once enjoyed due to a miscalculated independence referendum its leaders pushed for last month, despite U.S. opposition. The resultant backlash has also emboldened the battle-hardened ISF to push Kurdish Peshmerga forces out of territory they have controlled since 2014 and back to their core 2003 boundaries.

Meanwhile, simmering Kurdish factionalism is now boiling over at home. As the Peshmerga withdrew from Kirkuk, the two main parties controlling the KRG, the Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP) and Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK), used their rival media and political machines to exchange accusations of treachery. A partisan proposal for removing the PUK stronghold of Sulaymaniyah from the KRG was endorsed by influential national figures such as former Iraqi prime minister Nouri al-Maliki. The PUK's appeal for outside support has alarmed Kurdistan watchers, who recall that the KRG's current unbalanced power structure resulted from the KDP asking Saddam's forces to help eject the PUK from Erbil in 1996, then soliciting Turkey's support in the decade that followed. Similarly, Iranian artillery proved instrumental in helping the PUK hold some ground.

With much more power and petroleum now up for grabs, and the rise of a younger, more ambitious, and less pragmatic leadership, the specter of side deals and even a Kurdish civil war looms. Accordingly, the KRG's survival hinges on establishing internal unity to stop the hemorrhage of political and economic capital, bracing for imminent economic hardships, and negotiating with one voice in Baghdad.

EVERYONE NEEDS THE KRG

The KRG's survival is crucial for the stability of Iraq and the wider region. If the past is any indication, a fragmented KRG amounts to inviting Iranian and Turkish military interventions that undermine Iraq's sovereignty, as happened in the 1990s. Moreover, even if Baghdad had the requisite local legitimacy, it could not reimpose direct rule in the Kurdish areas of northern Iraq, which have been self-governing since 1991. To stabilize the country and govern effectively, Baghdad needs a strong, representative, and accountable counterpart in Erbil. And whether Iraqis realize it or not, they need Kurdish politicians in the capital to introduce Western views and interests to the otherwise Iranian-dominated power structure. For their part, the Kurds may yet believe that preserving the KRG as part of a federal Iraq is the wisest route -- after all, they voted in favor of the post-Saddam national constitution at a higher rate than their own independence referendum.  

Perhaps most important, the KRG's existence is enshrined in the Iraqi constitution, so the recent calls for dividing it and exerting federal control over its three Kurdish governorates are contrary to the laws of the land. Just as it was wrong for KRG leaders to extend their independence referendum to disputed territories, so is it wrong for Baghdad to sidestep the constitution and all pretense of negotiating disputes just because the balance of power is currently in its favor. As the U.S. State Department pointed out on October 20, "The reassertion of federal authority over disputed areas in no way changes their status -- they remain disputed until their status is resolved in accordance with the Iraqi constitution." The same goes for Erbil and Baghdad's longstanding disagreements over oil, revenue, and power sharing.

In geopolitical terms, dismantling the KRG runs counter to U.S. interests in the region, especially given the significant military and political capital Washington has already invested in its creation and survival. The KRG emerged thanks to a safe haven that American forces helped establish and protect from 1991 onward. During the height of the Kurdish civil war in 1994-1996, Secretary of State Madeleine Albright called KDP leader Masoud Barzani and PUK leader Jalal Talabani to Washington to sign a peace deal. Later, U.S. protection helped the Kurds benefit greatly from Saddam's 2003 ouster. Most recently, the United States shielded Erbil from Islamic State attacks in 2014, then armed and trained the Peshmerga to continue the fight.

In return, the KRG has long been a useful ally against Saddam, the Islamic State, and other U.S. antagonists, as well as a force for moderation in Iraqi politics, at least until recently. In broader strokes, it has served as a unique U.S. experiment in democracy promotion and nation building that should not simply be abandoned. As Sen. John McCain wrote on October 24, "If Baghdad cannot guarantee the Kurdish people in Iraq the security, freedom, and opportunities they desire, and if the United States is forced to choose between Iranian-backed militias and our longstanding Kurdish partners, I choose the Kurds."

MUCH-NEEDED U.S. MEDIATION

Baghdad and Erbil cannot negotiate fairly on their own given the sudden developments on the ground, which could supersede the constitution in the absence of an honest, impartial broker. Baghdad is on a winning streak and seems capable of pushing Kurdish forces beyond the 2003 borders and isolating the KRG economically. Kurds are also afraid that Baghdad may not negotiate in good faith given the bad blood their referendum created. As long as Baghdad is seriously threatening to launch military action inside "2003 Kurdistan" and dismember the federal region, then sitting down for talks has little chance of helping the situation, despite Barzani and Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi's calls for reopening negotiations based on the constitution.

To overcome these impediments to viable talks, the United States should make clear that the KRG needs to speak and act as one before approaching the table. Freezing implementation of the referendum and having Barzani resign as KRG president could ease immediate tensions, but such steps would not answer the question of who legitimately represents the KRG at negotiations.

Washington should also remind the parties that while current events present an opportunity to reformulate Iraqi-KRG relations on more solid legal grounds, addressing practical matters such as oil flows and revenue sharing is more urgent. Despite suffering setbacks since 2014, the KRG economy was slowly recovering before recent events. If it stumbles again in the near term and Erbil winds up withholding all public salaries, then mass demonstrations would likely break out, with great potential for escalating into violence given the bruised legitimacy of Kurdish leaders. Widespread violence -- or even a protracted inability to pay salaries and otherwise govern -- would be just the excuse KRG opponents in Baghdad need to dissolve the region. Washington should therefore push the Kurds to make reforms they promised in the past but did not deliver, such as more transparency in their oil sector.

Finally, the KRG's survival is a necessary U.S. fallback if Abadi loses his reelection bid next year against empowered pro-Iran rivals. In that scenario, anti-American voices in Iraq would likely intensify, and the KRG could become the only reliable U.S. partner in moderating national politics, maintaining the country's independence, and undercutting the Islamic State's reemergence. To avoid such outcomes in 2018, Washington needs to restrain Abadi today, asking him to avoid pushing beyond the KRG's constitutionally protected 2003 borders.

Bilal Wahab is a Soref Fellow at The Washington Institute.