أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2874

انتقال العرش السعودي: لماذا، ماذا ومتى؟

سايمون هندرسون

متاح أيضاً في English

18 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2017


في حزيران/يونيو الماضي، منح العاهل السعودي الملك سلمان، أحد أكبر رؤساء دول الخليج العربي سناً، ابنه المفضل محمد بن سلمان لقب ولي العهد. وكان الأمير، البالغ من العمر 32 عاماً، الشخص الثالث من العائلة المالكة الذي يحصل على هذا اللقب منذ اعتلاء الملك سلمان العرش في عام 2015، لكنه يُعتبر على نطاق واسع خيار والده الحقيقي ليكون الملك التالي. وقد يكون لموعد وظروف حصول ذلك تبعات مهمة بالنسبة للسعودية، والعالم الإسلامي الأوسع، وسوق النفط الدولي.

ولا يضع قانون الخلافة السعودي نظاماً صارماً لحق البكورية - بل ينص فقط على انتقال الحكم إلى أبناء وأحفاد مؤسس البلاد، عبد العزيز (ابن سعود). ويسمح هذا المرسوم الفضفاض بانتقال الخلافة من شقيق إلى شقيقه، مما يولّد مشكلةً لم تنفك تكبر مع كل عملية انتقال - وقد كان أبناء ابن سعود يعتلون العرش في أعمار متقدمة ويعيشون لمدة أطول وهم في سدة الحكم، وفي نهاية المطاف يستنزفون قدراتهم الجسدية والعقلية في القيادة (لاحظ الرسم البياني أدناه). وقد يؤدي تولّي محمد بن سلمان العرش إلى حل هذه المشكلة خلال السنوات القادمة.

الملك

تاريخ اعتلاء العرش

السن عند اعتلاء العرش

السن عند انتهاء العهد

سبب انتهاء العهد

عبد العزيز (ابن سعود)

1932

52

73

وفاة لأسباب طبيعية

سعود

1953

51

62

تنازل

فيصل

1964

60

71

اغتيال

خالد

1975

63

70

وفاة لأسباب طبيعية

فهد

1982

61

84

وفاة لأسباب طبيعية

عبدالله

2005

82

92

وفاة لأسباب طبيعية

سلمان

2015

79

 

 

 

ويحمل الملك سلمان لقبين آخرين أيضاً، وهما خادم الحرمين الشريفين ورئيس الوزراء، مما يوسّع نطاق احتمالات نقل المسؤوليات إلى محمد بن سلمان. وقد تتبلور السيناريوهات المحتملة على النحو الآتي:

تخلّي سلمان وانتقال الحكم إلى محمد بن سلمان. لا يعتبر "التنازل" على الأرجح خياراً مفضلاً في المملكة. وقد تمّ اللجوء إليه في المرة الأخيرة عام 1964 عندما اضطر الملك سعود الذي أسرف في التبذير إلى التنازل بعد توترات دامت ست سنوات مع أخيه غير الشقيق فيصل، الذي حل محله. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، في عام 2013، تخلّى أمير قطر حمد آل ثاني لابنه تميم لكنه احتفظ بنفوذ كبير إلى جانب لقبه الرسمي "الأمير الوالد". ونظراً إلى العلاقة العدائية والضغائن بين الرياض وقطر، تنعدم فرص سلمان لتقليد نموذج "الملك الوالد"، غير أن حقبة مختلفة من التاريخ  قد تجعل التنازل الكامل أكثر قبولاً.

في عام 1902، قاد ابن سعود (الذي كان في الثانية والعشرين فقط من عمره في ذلك الوقت) مجموعة من المقاتلين من المنفى لاستعادة قرية أجداده "الدرعية" الواقعة في وسط الجزيرة العربية. ورداً على ذلك، تنازل والده عبد الرحمن عن قيادة بيت آل سعود إليه. واليوم، يُقال إن الملك سلمان يرى شخصية ابن سعود في نجله، وقد نقلت صحيفة "وول ستريت جورنال" أنه سبق أن أعدّ شريط فيديو يعلن فيه أن محمد بن سلمان سيكون ملكاً.

تخلي سلمان عن العرش لكن مع الحفاظ على لقب خادم الحرمين الشريفين. منذ أن استولى ابن سعود على المدينتين المقدستين مكة المكرمة والمدينة المنورة عام 1925، تولى الحكام المتعاقبون مسؤولية هذين المقامين الإسلاميين. وقد أضفى الملك فهد طابعاً رسمياً على هذا الدور عام 1986، فغيّر لقبه من "جلالة الملك" إلى "خادم الحرمين الشريفين". وسيكون الحفاظ على اللقب الديني وسط التخلي عن القيادة السياسية متسقاً مع اعتبار اللقب الأول أكثر أهميةً - فهو عنصر أساسي في مطالبة السعودية بقيادة العالمين العربي والإسلامي الأوسع.

تعيين سلمان لمحمد بن سلمان في منصب رئيس الوزراء. في الوقت الراهن، يشغل الملك منصب رئيس الوزراء، في حين يشغل ولي العهد منصب نائب رئيس الوزراء. غير أن الاجتماعات الأسبوعية لمجلس الوزراء التي يرأسها رئيس الوزراء، لا تعدّ اللقاءات الأهم لاتخاذ القرارات في البلاد، بل يضطلع بهذه المهمة "مجلس الشؤون السياسية والأمنية السعودي" و"مجلس الشؤون الاقتصادية والتنمية"، وهما هيئتان تمّ تأسيسهما في عام 2015، ويرأسهما حالياً محمد بن سلمان. ومن الناحية الإدارية، يمكن القول بأن تعيين الأمير محمد رئيساً للوزراء قد يكون أكثر تنظيماً من الترتيب الحالي. ولكن هذه المسألة قد تكون حساسة: فقد دخل فيصل والملك سعود في شدّ الحبال من أجل السيطرة البيروقراطية قبل إرتقاء الأول العرش، لذلك يجب أن يكون سلمان راغباً حقاً بالتخلي عن هذه المهمة إذا كان هذا التقسيم للأدوار سينجح اليوم.

محمد بن سلمان يصبح الوصي على العرش. وفقاً لوكالة الأنباء السعودية "واس"، عندما يسافر سلمان إلى الخارج، كما فعل عندما توجه إلى موسكو في وقت سابق من هذا الشهر، "ينيب" محمد بن سلمان "لإدارة شؤون الدولة ورعاية مصالح الشعب خلال فترة غيابه". وتبرز نسخة عن خيار - الوصاية - هذا في حالات المرض أو العلاج الطبي الطويل في الخارج. ومع ذلك، يمكن أن تكون الوصاية المطوّلة مثيرة للجدل. فبعد إصابة الملك فهد بجلطة دماغية شديدة في أواخر عام 1995، تمّ تعيين ولي العهد الأمير عبدالله وصياً على العرش، لكنه شغل هذا المنصب لأسابيع قليلة فقط - على ما يبدو لأن إخوته الأشقاء النافذين (سلطان ونايف، وسلمان) حرصوا على عدم السماح لعبد الله بالتمتع بالسلطة المطلقة. وعلى الرغم من الحالة الصحية السيئة للملك بعد ذلك، لم يتولَّ عبدالله الصلاحيات الرسمية الكاملة إلى حين اعتلائه العرش عام 2005.

وفاة سلمان. بصفته ولياً للعهد، سيصبح محمد بن سلمان ملكاً شرط أن يقرّ كبار أفراد بيت آل سعود، الذين يجب أن يبايعوه، بقيادته. غير أن الانشقاقات داخل العائلة المالكة التي تمّ تداولها قد تدفع ببعض الشخصيات إلى تحدي سلطته الجديدة. وعندما قرر العاهل السعودي تعيين محمد بن سلمان ولياً للعهد قبل أربعة أشهر، صوّت ثلاثة من الأمراء الأربعة والثلاثين في "هيئة البيعة" ضده. ووفقاً لصحيفة "نيويورك تايمز"، لم يتخلَ سلفه، محمد بن نايف، عن الدور ولم يعلن ولاءه لمحمد بن سلمان إلا بعد حرمانه من النوم والأدوية؛ وتردّد أنه لا يزال مسجوناً في قصره حتى اليوم. ويبرز خصم محتمل آخر هو متعب بن عبدالله، ابن الملك السابق ورئيس "الحرس الوطني"، وهذا الأخير يشكّل قوة عسكرية كبيرة في حال نشوب نزاع على الخلافة.

وفي حال وفاة الملك، سيتمكن محمد بن سلمان من المناورة لتذليل هذه العقبات العائلية من خلال اختيار ولي عهد جديد بعناية، وهو حق يتمتع به الملك. ولكن في الوقت الحالي، لم تتضح بعد هوية ولي العهد. وكحل بديل، بإمكانه أن يؤخر ذلك التعيين، كما فعل الملك فيصل في ستينيات القرن الماضي قبل أن يسمي الأمير خالد في نهاية المطاف. وفي وقت سابق من هذا العام، سعى الملك إلى الحد من معارضة العائلة المالكة لتعيين نجله ولياً للعهد من خلال تغيير قانون الخلافة في المملكة؛ فالقانون الجديد يجعل أبناء محمد بن سلمان اليافعين غير مؤهلين لهذا اللقب. كما أن الأمير خالد، شقيق محمد بن سلمان وسفير المملكة لدى واشنطن، غير مؤهل أيضاً. 

التداعيات السياسية

بغض النظر عن العقبات الداخلية، يبدو أن عملية تسليم العرش إلى محمد بن سلمان أصبحت راسخة أساساً، ويتمثل السؤال الرئيسي في موعد إتمام ذلك. ورغم أن الأعمال الداخلية لبيت آل سعود هي عامل الحكم النهائي، فقد تكون عوامل السياسة الداخلية والخارجية مهمة أيضاً. فطموحات ولي العهد لإحداث تغييرات اقتصادية واجتماعية، المصورة ضمن مشروعه «الرؤية 2030»، والإعلان مؤخراً عن السماح للنساء بقيادة السيارات، يعززان مكانته وشعبيته في الوقت الراهن. لكن كيفية التعامل مع عوامل خارجية على غرار الطريق المسدود الذي وصلت إليه الحرب في اليمن والتوترات بين دول الخليج وقطر ومجموعة من المشاكل مع إيران، قد ترسم بدورها معالم عملية الخلافة. 

لدى الولايات المتحدة مخاوف سیاسیة متعددة تتركز في موضوع الخلافة، ولکنها لا تملك سبلاً كثيرة للتأثير على سياسات البلاط الملكي. فغالباً ما يصعب فهم طريقة تفكير العائلة المالكة، حيث أن القرارات السعودية الماضية اتسمت بالحذر والتوافق في الآراء، لكن أياً من هاتين الخاصيتين لا تنطبق على شخصية محمد بن سلمان. ولا تزال بيروقراطية واشنطن تحاول تقبل مسألة إنهاء دور محمد بن نايف الذي كان محاوراً أساسياً في قضايا مكافحة الإرهاب عندما كان وزيراً للداخلية وولياً للعهد. وفي الوقت الحالي، يبدو أن أكبر مناصر لمحمد بن سلمان هو والده، مما يشير إلى ضرورة اتخاذ الخطوات النهائية الأساسية على صعيد الترقية - لا سيما استخدام قوة العرش لصدّ المعارضة والتصديق على الترتيب الجديد - عاجلاً وليس آجلاً.

 

سايمون هندرسون هو زميل "بيكر" ومدير برنامج الخليج وسياسة الطاقة في معهد واشنطن، وقد ألّف الكتابين "بعد الملك فهد: الخلافة في المملكة العربية السعودية" (1995)، و "بعد الملك عبد الله: الخلافة في المملكة العربية السعودية" (2009).

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2874

Saudi Royal Transition: Why, What, and When?

Simon Henderson

Also available in العربية

October 18, 2017


Speculation is widespread that King Salman may soon abdicate in favor of Crown Prince Muhammad, but that is just one of several possible options.

Last June, King Salman of Saudi Arabia, one of the oldest heads of state in the Persian Gulf region, gave the title of crown prince to his favorite son Muhammad bin Salman, known as MbS. The thirty-two-year-old prince was the third to hold that title since Salman ascended to the throne in 2015, but he is widely regarded as his father's true choice to become the next king. When that happens and under what circumstances could have important consequences for Saudi Arabia, the wider Muslim world, and the international oil market.

Saudi succession law does not lay out a strict system of primogeniture -- it merely states that rule passes to the sons and grandsons of the country's founder, Abdulaziz (Ibn Saud). This loose edict allows succession from brother to brother, creating a problem that has been growing with each transition -- the sons of Ibn Saud have been acceding to the throne at older ages and living longer while in power, eventually straining their physical and mental capacities for leadership (click on chart below for high-resolution version). The accession of MbS could resolve that problem for years to come.

King Salman has two other titles as well: "Custodian of the Two Holy Places" and prime minister. This broadens the range of possibilities for transferring responsibilities to MbS. The scenarios could unfold as follows:

Salman abdicates and MbS becomes king. "Abdication" is probably not a favored option in the kingdom. It was last used in 1964 when the spendthrift King Saud was forced to give up after six years of tension with his half-brother Faisal, who replaced him. More recently, in 2013, Emir Hamad al-Thani of Qatar abdicated in favor of his son Tamim but retains much influence, along with the official title of "Father Emir." Given Riyadh's current bad blood with Qatar, the chances of Salman emulating the "Father King" model are likely zero, but a different slice of history could make full abdication more acceptable.

In 1902, Ibn Saud (only twenty-two at the time) led a group of fighters from exile to recapture his family's ancestral village of Dariyah in central Arabia. In response, his father Abdulrahman ceded leadership of the House of Saud to him. Today, King Salman is said to see Ibn Saud's character in his son, and the Wall Street Journal reports that he has already made a video announcing that MbS will be king.

Salman gives up the throne but remains Custodian. Since Ibn Saud captured the holy cities of Mecca and Medina in 1925, successive rulers have taken responsibility for the Islamic shrines. King Fahd formalized this role in 1986, changing his title from "majesty" to "Custodian of the Two Holy Places." Retaining the religious title but relinquishing political leadership would be consistent with the sense that the former is more important -- a key ingredient in Saudi Arabia's claim to leadership of the wider Arab and Muslim worlds.

Salman appoints MbS prime minister. At present, the king is prime minister and the crown prince is deputy prime minister. Yet the weekly meetings of the Council of Ministers, which are chaired by the prime minister, are not the country's most crucial decisionmaking forums. That honor goes to the Council of Political and Security Affairs and the Council of Economic and Development Affairs, two bodies that were created in 2015 and are now chaired by MbS. Administratively, naming MbS as prime minister would arguably be tidier than the current arrangement. But this may be a delicate issue: Faisal and King Saud engaged in a long tug-of-war over bureaucratic control before the former's accession, so Salman would have to be truly willing to give up the job if this division of labor is to work today.

MbS becomes regent. When Salman travels abroad, as he did to Moscow earlier this month, he "deputizes" MbS "to administer the state's affairs and take care of the interests of the people during his absence," according to the Saudi Press Agency. A version of this option -- regency -- is available in circumstances of illness or lengthy medical treatment abroad. Yet a protracted regency could be contentious. After King Fahd suffered a debilitating stroke in late 1995, Crown Prince Abdullah was appointed regent, but he held the title for only a few weeks -- apparently because Fahd's powerful full brothers (Sultan, Nayef, and Salman) were anxious to deny Abdullah complete authority. Despite the king's poor physical condition thereafter, Abdullah did not assume full formal power until his own accession in 2005.

Salman dies. As crown prince, MbS would become king provided his leadership is acknowledged by senior members of the House of Saud, who must give him the oath of allegiance. Yet reported schisms in the royal family could lead some figures to contest his new authority. When Salman made MbS crown prince four months ago, three of the thirty-four princes on the Allegiance Council voted against him. According to the New York Times, his predecessor, Muhammad bin Nayef, did not give up the role and swear loyalty to MbS until he had been denied sleep and access to his medication; he reportedly remains confined to his palace today. Another potential opponent is Mitab bin Abdullah, son of the previous king and head of the National Guard, a significant military force if the succession is contested.

If his father passes away, MbS may be able to manoeuver around these family obstacles by carefully selecting a new crown prince, as is the king's right. At present, though, it is far from obvious who that might be. Alternatively, he could delay that appointment, as King Faisal did in the 1960s before eventually naming Khalid. Earlier this year, the king sought to reduce royal family opposition to his son's appointment as crown prince by changing the kingdom's law of succession; the new law makes the young sons of MbS ineligible for that title. Prince Khalid, brother to MbS and ambassador to Washington, is ineligible as well

POLICY IMPLICATIONS

Regardless of internal hurdles, the transition toward MbS becoming king is already well established, and the main question is when it will be completed. Although the inner workings of the House of Saud are the ultimate determinant, domestic and foreign policy factors may be important as well. The crown prince's ambitions for economic and social change, typified by his "Vision 2030" project and the recent announcement allowing women to drive, are currently enhancing his credentials and popularity. But the succession process could also be shaped by how he deals with external factors such as the stalemated war in Yemen, intra-Gulf tensions with Qatar, and a host of problems with Iran.

The United States has multiple policy concerns wrapped up in the succession, but few ways of influencing palace politics. Royal family thinking is often difficult to discern. Past Saudi decisionmaking has been marked by caution and consensus, but neither characteristic fits the personality of MbS. The Washington bureaucracy is still coming to terms with the demise of Muhammad bin Nayef, who was a key interlocutor on counterterrorism issues when he served as interior minister and crown prince. For now, the greatest advocate for MbS appears to his father, which suggests that the crucial final steps in promotion -- namely, using the power of the throne to block opposition and authenticate the new arrangement -- need to be taken sooner rather than later.

Simon Henderson is the Baker Fellow and director of the Gulf and Energy Policy Program at The Washington Institute, where he authored the books After King Fahd: Succession in Saudi Arabia (1995) and After King Abdullah: Succession in Saudi Arabia (2009).